Twist Of Fate Dress

$85 rental
$485 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this body con Halston Heritage twisted sheath for the party. A figure flattering style that you can strut your stuff in all night long. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Emerald Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Shiny jersey (100% polyester). Short sleeved. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(79)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
very flattering ruching, but rides up a little
very flattering with the draping and ruching, but i thought the skirt became SUPER mini on me very fast (ie, with like 10 steps) and also was kind of tight across the bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 24, 2013
This dress made me feel sexy and it was super comfortable. Interesting asymmetry.
Runs small. I'm a definite size four and the four was really tight in the arms but fit everywhere else (i.e. I would not have been able to stretch above my head). Easy to wear. I wore it to a garden party in New Orleans on a hot night of dancing and it was really comfy. Also, super sexy and short. Loved it! I never wear black, I usually go for color but the asymmetrical cut on this caught my eye.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2013
Someone asked my friend if I was model!
I unfortunately have no photo that shows off the dress (most pictures were neck up) but the fit was classic yet sexy. I wore this to a friend's work function and my dress was definitely a hit! I paired it with the Gwen Blue Agate earrings, cobalt blue stiletto pumps and a matching clutch. It gave this very classy LBD the pop of color it needed. The only reason the dress didn't get 5 stars was because the side zipper tended to bunch up when I walked which was a little uncomfortable and definitely not flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 13, 2013
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. It was very flattering and I got a ton of compliments!!!!
The dress is snug but flattering. The style accentuates wanted curves and hides unwanted curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2013
Loved the dress! Got so many compliments.
Runs a little small, andIt is a little tight around the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
March 5, 2013
Lovely Dress!
I wore this dress for a girls night out. My friends absolutely loved it. The dress fit great! It hugged all my curves in the best possible way!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2013
Too small had to return.
Did not have the size I was looking for (sent in an order that wasn't processed) so I tried a size smaller, didn't fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 25, 2013
Cute dress, didn't wear.
The cris-cross that goes over the boobs is very unflattering. This is why I did not wear the dress. It cuts one boob in half and highlights the other because the lining runs underneath it. Makes for a very unflattering fit. I tried to reconcile it with a thickly padded bra to no avail. Maybe a size up would have helped? All in all it just wasn't flattering enough to wear out and I went with another choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 21, 2013
Loved it!
Runs small, there is no give to the fabric so order a size up! But very flattering and I got many compliments!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 21, 2013
Cute, but not a great fit.
This is a cute dress, but perhaps not so much for my body type. I am a size four, but am "top heavy" with wide shoulders and heavy chest; the way this dress is sewn is "poofy" up top, and tight as it goes down... kind of made me look like a line-backer up high before tapering off around the waist. That almost would have been ok except for the zipper. The side-zipper is absolutely awful. It keep bunching up and gave the good thing about the dress (the tiny waist) look bad with that weird lumpy look to the side. This may be a great dress for someone who is really petite or isn't as upside-down triangle as I am, so if you fit the bill go for it! If not, maybe consider another dress (my back up was Christian Siriano Sapphire Sophisticate and it is PERFECT).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 19, 2013
Love Halston!
fit wonderfully, the arms were a little tight but overall happy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 16, 2013
RTR was amazing! They overnighted me this dress and jewelry, just in time for a last minute affair!
The fit was great and the dress was so comfortable. My only (minor) negative, was that the zipper up like side kept bubbling up. Nothing a little hand on hip couldn't hide in pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
February 13, 2013
PERFECT SLEEK BLACK DRESS AND EARRINGS!!!
I ordered size 4 and back up size 6. The 6 fit better however it would scrunch up on the side where the zipper was and it made the dress look weird. I went with the 4 which fit fine except for the arms - it was a bit tight. The earrings I rented were sooooo GLAMOROUS. I thought they would be a bit heavy but they weren't. They were the perfect length as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2013
Different dress, flattering cut, but so small!
I ordered this dress in a 10 and 12 because of all the reviews saying this dress ran small. And they are right! I initially put on the 12, and could barely get my arms through the holes. Once zipped, it was baggy and unflattering on the top, but it fit pretty well through the waist. The length was also just awkwardly long (I'm 5'7", and it was just above the knee). i figured I would try on the 10 as well, just to compare; somehow, the 10 was more comfortable than the 12? I'm assuming it has been stretched from different people wearing it, but that was a little bizarre. While the 10 fit pretty well, the side zipper really ruins the dress. It kept bunching up and making it look like there were love handles where there weren't. A back zipper would work wonders for this dress. It's a shame I couldn't make either work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
Easy, black dress.
The dress fit well, but I was glad that I ordered a couple sizes up. I can usually wear a 4 or 6, but the 8 did the trick. I ended up adding a skinny gold belt with gold earrings.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 4, 2013
Sexy Dress!!
I usually wear a 10, but the 8 was great for a night out. This dress hugged every curve. My only complaint was the arm area didn't stretch as much, so if you have big arms like myself, It may be a little uncomfortable. I pushed the fabric around the arm area up a little more towards my shoulder- everyone thought the dress was made like that because of the twist and crinkle in the fabric.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 28, 2013
Lovely dress, good for a corporate/office party
Nice dress, lovely ruching across the along the front and sides. The neckline is quite high, which I normally love, but I rented this for a Saturday night party and felt it was a bit conservative. I rented this option as a back up, but ended up wearing the black Dolce & Gabbana dress from RTR, which was my first choice. Also important to note that the size zipper on this dress did not lay perfectly flat, there was a bit of a bump which did not lead to a perfect silhouette at the waistline. If that is something that would bother you...it is noticeable on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 18, 2013
Extremely flattering.
It was slimming but not tight. Very classy and I would like to rent it again for another occasion. It could be dressed up or down. I rented a 4 which is my usual size but would go up to a 6 if I rented again. The dress road up a little bit...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 16, 2013
I ordered 2 sizes - ran too small for me. Got me to start exercising hard pre-holidays.
The dress was beautiful - the fabric travels well. Unfortunately both sizes were way to small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
January 15, 2013
Unexpected arrival
I didn't actually intend to rent this dress, but it came with my order for some reason. It was kind of a struggle to get into- I felt like I was going to rip something. Yet when it was successfully on, it was both too long and too baggy in the shoulders and bottom. The fabric was also looked heavy and overwhelming on my small frame. Definitely better for taller girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 14, 2013
Great dress but runs small
Shorter than I was hoping but very cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2013
The dress was perfect for a winter cocktail party!
The dress fit great! It's form-fitting while still being classy. My only complaint is that the zipper made the fabric on my side poke out. I had to keep pulling the end of the dress to straighten it out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 24, 2012
This dress fit me perfectly and made me look and feel like a million bucks!
The dress material is so comfortable. It's a jersey-like feel so I felt comfortable, yet it didn't feel cheap. I got a size 4 and 6. I only wore the 6 because the 4 was a little snug and I knew I'd feel more comfortable with a little room. It wasn't too short. Overall, an amazing dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
Feel sexy and confident!
I loooved this dress. It does run small - I usually wear a 6 in clothes and rented an 8. I only gave it 4 stars because the only thing that I did not like was that I felt like it kept twisting on me during the night, especially with dancing. If you are going somewhere to look good and not dance, then for sure I'd give it a 5 star rating, but the twisting part was just annoying. Others complained about the zipper on the side, but as long as the dress is pulled down and taught, it's not an issue. I would definitely rent this dress again and I received many, many compliments on how "hot" and "sexy" I looked in the dress and also asked where the dress was from. Definitely rent this dress!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2012
Felt Gorgeous in this Dress!
Fit was perfect, did not rise up as expected, loved the ruching! Wore the drifting leaves necklace with the dress and received so many compliments!
MariaDecember 21, 2012
she looks great!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2012
Classy and elegant!
Ladies, there is NO STRETCH, I repeat, NO STRETCH in this fabric. It looks beautiful on and is a nice length but definitely size up for your extra size. I'm a 2/4 and the 4 was snug. Also, the sleeves are also on the tight side. Love the dress, but just be careful about the fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Great dress that turns heads without trying too hard
I loved wearing this dress--I'm so glad I saw the reviews beforehand and knew to order a size up, it is VERY tight but amazingly draped so any imperfections are totally hidden. I was worried my chest would be too big for it, but I was able to wear it just fine, it fit like a glove. It is subtely sexy and the quality is really rich, I am going to keep my eye out for it to buy for myself if it ever comes up at a reasonable price! Only little thing that bothered me was that the side zip buckles a bit so you do find yourself pulling the dress down every now and then to smooth that out, and the sleeves are a bit tight, but overall none of that held me back. Would definitely recommend. So mad I was having too much fun to get a good photo!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2012
Great LBD.... awesome fit!
I rented this dress for a corporate Christmas Party and, of course, the entire expreience was seemless. The fit is as great as it looks on the website. I received compliments all night long and it was super comfortable. It is a little bit longer than it looks on the model. I am 5'6" and it came almost all the way down to my knees. All in all, an awesome dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
So Disappointed
I was so excited about this dress, b/c all the reviews were awesome. When I received my package, I found out that my second size in the dress did not arrive. Of course that was the size that I needed. I would have absolutely loved to wear this dress, but unfortunately I won't get to.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99lbs
December 13, 2012
Perfect Dress for an Office Christmas Party!
I normally wear petite sizes, and this dress fit perfectly. The length was conservative but not too long, and the cut was very flattering. I received compliments all evening long! The zipper did bulge a bit at times but it wasn't as much of an issue for me since this party was a sit-down dinner. And, this dress paired perfectly with the Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald Drop Earrings. Overall, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner and everyone commented how much they loved it! I'm glad I read other's comments and went a size up. The dress definitely runs small, plus the side zipper makes it run tighter. Depending the designer, I usually wear a 4 or 6 but I opted for the 8 in this dress. It hugged all the right spots but wasn't so tight I couldn't breathe.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 10, 2012
I was unable to wear the dress. Both sizes were too large.
The reviews said it ran small so I ordered two sizes up and a size up for the backup side. I was unable to wear the dress because both sizes were just too large. The fabric has stretch so I could have ordered my size and been fine.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
It runs small. Side zipper seemed to not lay flat to curve my body....looked 'snake-like'
I am a 'DD' and the bust was extremly tight. In fact, so tight that it was hard to get off and on. The zipper was on the side and did not lay to the curve of my body. So other than making me look like a size 'B', one side of the dress looked good, and the side with the zipper poked out in different areas. However the hip area and the bum are looked really good. So I think I just needed to order the next size up. Although, if i did that, it may seem a little longer...to my knees. The other dress that I wore was a size 6 which is the size that i normally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2012
Great dress to celebrate my birthday in!!
I wore this dress for a holiday party & a girls night out to Atlantic City!! Partied the night away at the Pool After Dark with DJ Pauly D and the dress worked fabulous!! The only con was that the arms were a little tight but other than that it fit great everywhere else. I took everyone else's advice and ordered a size up. The necklace I rented as well and it added a bit of sparkle which was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 10, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS worn for company xmas party cocktail attire, this number was perfect !!!
This dress is amazing at helping to hide tummy bulge just wear your spanx and control top pantyhose and your set, the many layers or folds of the dress help mask any flaws, only thing I was disappointed in was the end of the zipper on the side had a bulge that made me keep pulling that side down !! not enough to not wear it but it is there or maybe because I knew it, but not that noticeable to others or that anyone said anything if they did notice, I felt very good in wearing this style even at my age !!! Probably the last time I could show off figure hugging dresses !! I usually never wear this tight of one but went for it and was extremely pleased once I did !!! and this was my back up dress !!!! I wore jewelry of diamonds and pearls, which did not take away from the dress but felt they looked fantastic with the black, gave the outfit an conservative look of which being a company party it was perfect without distracting from the dress. Once again RTR you made the day for another satisfied customer !!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
December 10, 2012
Super sexy but classy!
I normally wear a 0, but the dress was snug since you have to put it on over your head. Even in the 2 the arms were a little tight, but overall it fit well. It is very form fitting and flattering. I wore a chunky necklace and patent peep toe heels. Lots of compliments on this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
December 10, 2012
Too tight under the sleeves
One should consider sizing up two sizes on this one. The 8 was OK but lifting my arms would have been a challenge at the fundraising dinner for which I rented the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 7, 2012
Besutiful dress, very stylish and chic but all covered up!
The side zipper did not lay toally flat, but maybe because it was snug, not sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2012
It is very flattering and hugs the curves
The arms in this dress run very very small.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Beautiful dress, just ran too small. I had to keep pulling the dress down.
The side zipper kept bunching up.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×