Halston Heritage

Twist Of Fate Dress

$85 rental
$485 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this body con Halston Heritage twisted sheath for the party. A figure flattering style that you can strut your stuff in all night long. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Emerald Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust area is very fitted and does not have any stretch
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow and is very form fitting
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Shiny jersey (100% polyester). Short sleeved. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(79)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 10, 2012
I was unable to wear the dress. Both sizes were too large.
The reviews said it ran small so I ordered two sizes up and a size up for the backup side. I was unable to wear the dress because both sizes were just too large. The fabric has stretch so I could have ordered my size and been fine.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99lbs
December 13, 2012
Perfect Dress for an Office Christmas Party!
I normally wear petite sizes, and this dress fit perfectly. The length was conservative but not too long, and the cut was very flattering. I received compliments all evening long! The zipper did bulge a bit at times but it wasn't as much of an issue for me since this party was a sit-down dinner. And, this dress paired perfectly with the Kenneth Jay Lane Emerald Drop Earrings. Overall, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
So Disappointed
I was so excited about this dress, b/c all the reviews were awesome. When I received my package, I found out that my second size in the dress did not arrive. Of course that was the size that I needed. I would have absolutely loved to wear this dress, but unfortunately I won't get to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Great dress that turns heads without trying too hard
I loved wearing this dress--I'm so glad I saw the reviews beforehand and knew to order a size up, it is VERY tight but amazingly draped so any imperfections are totally hidden. I was worried my chest would be too big for it, but I was able to wear it just fine, it fit like a glove. It is subtely sexy and the quality is really rich, I am going to keep my eye out for it to buy for myself if it ever comes up at a reasonable price! Only little thing that bothered me was that the side zip buckles a bit so you do find yourself pulling the dress down every now and then to smooth that out, and the sleeves are a bit tight, but overall none of that held me back. Would definitely recommend. So mad I was having too much fun to get a good photo!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2012
Classy and elegant!
Ladies, there is NO STRETCH, I repeat, NO STRETCH in this fabric. It looks beautiful on and is a nice length but definitely size up for your extra size. I'm a 2/4 and the 4 was snug. Also, the sleeves are also on the tight side. Love the dress, but just be careful about the fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 21, 2012
Feel sexy and confident!
I loooved this dress. It does run small - I usually wear a 6 in clothes and rented an 8. I only gave it 4 stars because the only thing that I did not like was that I felt like it kept twisting on me during the night, especially with dancing. If you are going somewhere to look good and not dance, then for sure I'd give it a 5 star rating, but the twisting part was just annoying. Others complained about the zipper on the side, but as long as the dress is pulled down and taught, it's not an issue. I would definitely rent this dress again and I received many, many compliments on how "hot" and "sexy" I looked in the dress and also asked where the dress was from. Definitely rent this dress!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 24, 2012
This dress fit me perfectly and made me look and feel like a million bucks!
The dress material is so comfortable. It's a jersey-like feel so I felt comfortable, yet it didn't feel cheap. I got a size 4 and 6. I only wore the 6 because the 4 was a little snug and I knew I'd feel more comfortable with a little room. It wasn't too short. Overall, an amazing dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 18, 2013
Extremely flattering.
It was slimming but not tight. Very classy and I would like to rent it again for another occasion. It could be dressed up or down. I rented a 4 which is my usual size but would go up to a 6 if I rented again. The dress road up a little bit...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 28, 2013
Lovely dress, good for a corporate/office party
Nice dress, lovely ruching across the along the front and sides. The neckline is quite high, which I normally love, but I rented this for a Saturday night party and felt it was a bit conservative. I rented this option as a back up, but ended up wearing the black Dolce & Gabbana dress from RTR, which was my first choice. Also important to note that the size zipper on this dress did not lay perfectly flat, there was a bit of a bump which did not lead to a perfect silhouette at the waistline. If that is something that would bother you...it is noticeable on the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 4, 2013
Sexy Dress!!
I usually wear a 10, but the 8 was great for a night out. This dress hugged every curve. My only complaint was the arm area didn't stretch as much, so if you have big arms like myself, It may be a little uncomfortable. I pushed the fabric around the arm area up a little more towards my shoulder- everyone thought the dress was made like that because of the twist and crinkle in the fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2013
Different dress, flattering cut, but so small!
I ordered this dress in a 10 and 12 because of all the reviews saying this dress ran small. And they are right! I initially put on the 12, and could barely get my arms through the holes. Once zipped, it was baggy and unflattering on the top, but it fit pretty well through the waist. The length was also just awkwardly long (I'm 5'7", and it was just above the knee). i figured I would try on the 10 as well, just to compare; somehow, the 10 was more comfortable than the 12? I'm assuming it has been stretched from different people wearing it, but that was a little bizarre. While the 10 fit pretty well, the side zipper really ruins the dress. It kept bunching up and making it look like there were love handles where there weren't. A back zipper would work wonders for this dress. It's a shame I couldn't make either work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
February 13, 2013
PERFECT SLEEK BLACK DRESS AND EARRINGS!!!
I ordered size 4 and back up size 6. The 6 fit better however it would scrunch up on the side where the zipper was and it made the dress look weird. I went with the 4 which fit fine except for the arms - it was a bit tight. The earrings I rented were sooooo GLAMOROUS. I thought they would be a bit heavy but they weren't. They were the perfect length as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 16, 2013
RTR was amazing! They overnighted me this dress and jewelry, just in time for a last minute affair!
The fit was great and the dress was so comfortable. My only (minor) negative, was that the zipper up like side kept bubbling up. Nothing a little hand on hip couldn't hide in pictures.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 19, 2013
Love Halston!
fit wonderfully, the arms were a little tight but overall happy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 21, 2013
Cute, but not a great fit.
This is a cute dress, but perhaps not so much for my body type. I am a size four, but am "top heavy" with wide shoulders and heavy chest; the way this dress is sewn is "poofy" up top, and tight as it goes down... kind of made me look like a line-backer up high before tapering off around the waist. That almost would have been ok except for the zipper. The side-zipper is absolutely awful. It keep bunching up and gave the good thing about the dress (the tiny waist) look bad with that weird lumpy look to the side. This may be a great dress for someone who is really petite or isn't as upside-down triangle as I am, so if you fit the bill go for it! If not, maybe consider another dress (my back up was Christian Siriano Sapphire Sophisticate and it is PERFECT).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 25, 2013
Cute dress, didn't wear.
The cris-cross that goes over the boobs is very unflattering. This is why I did not wear the dress. It cuts one boob in half and highlights the other because the lining runs underneath it. Makes for a very unflattering fit. I tried to reconcile it with a thickly padded bra to no avail. Maybe a size up would have helped? All in all it just wasn't flattering enough to wear out and I went with another choice.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2013
Too small had to return.
Did not have the size I was looking for (sent in an order that wasn't processed) so I tried a size smaller, didn't fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
March 5, 2013
Lovely Dress!
I wore this dress for a girls night out. My friends absolutely loved it. The dress fit great! It hugged all my curves in the best possible way!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 11, 2013
Loved the dress! Got so many compliments.
Runs a little small, andIt is a little tight around the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2013
Someone asked my friend if I was model!
I unfortunately have no photo that shows off the dress (most pictures were neck up) but the fit was classic yet sexy. I wore this to a friend's work function and my dress was definitely a hit! I paired it with the Gwen Blue Agate earrings, cobalt blue stiletto pumps and a matching clutch. It gave this very classy LBD the pop of color it needed. The only reason the dress didn't get 5 stars was because the side zipper tended to bunch up when I walked which was a little uncomfortable and definitely not flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 24, 2013
This dress made me feel sexy and it was super comfortable. Interesting asymmetry.
Runs small. I'm a definite size four and the four was really tight in the arms but fit everywhere else (i.e. I would not have been able to stretch above my head). Easy to wear. I wore it to a garden party in New Orleans on a hot night of dancing and it was really comfy. Also, super sexy and short. Loved it! I never wear black, I usually go for color but the asymmetrical cut on this caught my eye.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2013
very flattering ruching, but rides up a little
very flattering with the draping and ruching, but i thought the skirt became SUPER mini on me very fast (ie, with like 10 steps) and also was kind of tight across the bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 12, 2013
Gorgeous dress with no give.
This dress is incredibly flattering around the hips and waist for my pear shaped-ness, but unfortunately the top has no give and was just too tight around my arms, so I would have worn it, I would not have been able to raise my arms at all. I think a larger size might have been too big around the hips and ok around the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 12, 2013
loved the dress!
glad I got one size bigger than I thought i was, ran small!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Easy easy easy
. A little tight around the arms but fit great everywhere else. I usually wear a 4 but sized up
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
April 17, 2013
The dress was perfect for the event and my body type
I had no issue with the fit, only a little trouble with the zipper. I danced in it all night with no issues.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 22, 2013
This dress was incredible! I got so many compliments on how it fit and I felt so beautiful in it!
I ordered a size 0 and a size 2 as my back up. The size 2 was a little more comfortable, but I ultimately ended up going with the 0 because the tighter fit accentuated the beautiful draping more. I'm 5'3" and the length of this dress hit me much lower than where it hit the model in the image - it came down to just above my knee, which was fine because I was at a business event, but something to be aware of if you're under 5'5" and are hoping for a short dress. Overall, I loved the dress and wished I could have kept it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 24, 2013
runs small.
i was going to wear this dress to a wedding rehearsal. i usually wear a size 4 sometimes a 6 so i ordered the 4 thinking this dress would have some stretch. i have an hourglass shape with wider shoulders and wider hips but small waist and legs. i couldn't even zip this dress! if you're in between sizes typically, i would definitely order a size up! beautiful material, i so wish it would've fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2013
Solid LBD
This was a solid LBD and got the job done. I felt like it ran small - I'm usually a comfortable 4 or sometimes 2, and I had a fair amount of trouble zipping this up. It was shorter and tighter than I would have liked, I wish I had ordered the 6, but it worked. The fabric also doesn't stretch that much. Looking back at pictures, since many of them were from the waist up it looked like I was wearing a black tee shirt and I wished I had gone with something more colorful. But the dress is really cute and like I said, very solid LBD, though I think there are more interesting choices on RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2013
Great take on the classic LBD
I rented this dress for a girls night out and was not disappointed. The fit is a little bit small, I ended up going a size up from what I typically wear for comfort reasons. I usually wear a 0 and found my arms were restricted in this dress. One negative to mention, the reason I only gave 4 stars, the zipper tends bunch up around the midsection (at least it did on me) and creates an odd looking lump sticking out. I was constantly adjusting the dress while standing but was comfortable while sitting.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013
Many many compliments!!!!
Great Dress. Fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2013
It looked great, and was so comfy!!
Hugged my bod perfectly, the material was amazing!! Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
May 11, 2013
Cute dress, company party appropriate!
I didn't receive my back-up size, and this dress runs a bit small. I usually wear a size 4, and this 4 was snug. Nonetheless, it was still an appropriate dress for a corporate holiday party - simple, not too flashy, and flattering with all the material overlay. Minus the back-up size issue, the experience with RTR was nice and easy - I'll definitely rent again!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
As one of many girls in the standard LBD, I sparkled.
The dress is unforgiving, and just as form fitting as it indicates on the dress's page. But it fit like a dream, and all the ruching highlighted my hourglass frame. For a woman with curves, or a woman attempting to create some, there is no greater asset.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 29, 2013
Tight, but it's intended to be.
Tight-ish but still wore my regular size. The material has some give so although it was snug it wasn't too difficult to put on/ take off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2013
Runs very small! Looks great on and is great for all body types - really emphasizes curves.
This dress is great for any party or date night. It runs quite small. I am normally a six - and sometimes wear a 4 (like in Shoshanna) but I got the 6 and the 8 and wore the 8. I didn't have any issues with the dress being too short. It was also great to eat and drink in, it didn't show an bulge! But the zipper on the side is kind of annoying - it pulls and tucks and creates a weird line. Very comfortable and I received a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
LBD on PEDs
Gorg! Gorg! Gorg! Gorg! and did I mention Gorg?! Halston did a great job with this one. It's like an LBD on PEDs :) The draping and multi directional fabric is so flattering and provides a great textural element to a conservative silhouette. I read this one ran small so I ordered the 6 and the 8, ended up going with the 6 and was so comfortable. Got a ton of compliments. This dress is great for a myriad of occasions and I would love to wear it again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 14, 2013
I felt like a million bucks in this outfit! The emerald earrings were the perfect finishing touch!
I ordered 2 sizes (4,6) and ended up wearing the 4 because the loose pleated material fit my body better. This dress is absolutely stunning. I wore it to an awards show and was comfortable the whole time and for the after party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
July 27, 2013
Runs Small
Rented for a party. This the cutest dress. It runs small, my arms didn't fit comfortably. Thank goodness for the backup rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 6, 2013
Sleek and sexy
Very glad I sized up to a 6 because there was no way I was going to be able to pull off my regular size 4. The only problem I had otherwise was the skirt rides up as you walk due to being fitted and the zipper on the side would bulge out a little. Wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner and felt comfortable but sexy. The Pirate Treasure necklace was a great addition as well.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×