Halston Heritage

Tidal Wave Dress

$74 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Slip into this Halston Heritage breezy silhouette for an effortless style! This waist cinching dress is great for all body types.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
93 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(43)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 8, 2015
Great dress for dancing!
This dress is a really pretty color and fits great. I wish I had gone up a size because it was very tight on top and a little difficult to zip. But overall, a great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 2, 2015
Cute and simple bridesmaid dress!
Dress ran quite small on top; I normally take a size 0 but wore the 2 for this event, could have possibly even used a 4! Wore a normal strapless bra with this, but if you are smaller on top you could probably go without. Overall the dress was cute and a perfect royal/cobalt blue! I wore it as a bridesmaid dress and it matched perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 23, 2014
Very pretty dress!
Loved this dress. If you have a full bust definitely go up a size I usually wear an 8 but the 10 fit perfectly
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Loved dancing in this dress all night!
Fits a little smaller than normal size around the waist, but bust was perfect. The skirt part is great - nice and flowy. Very fun on the dance floor. It was a little warm after awhile of dancing, but still worth it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2013
Gorgeous color
The color was amazing and the shape was super flattering. I sized up to accomodate the bust running small and was glad I did. It was VERY tight. However, that meant that I didn't have to worry about complicated bust support under the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2014
Loved this dress
Super cute dress. Only complaint was the top was a little snug. Size up if you are larger chested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Great Color and Easy Fit!
This dress is gorgeous in person! I loved the green color! This dress is an easy fit because there is a ton of room in the skirt! The top of the dress is pretty fitted, so you definitely want to size up if you are larger chested. This dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2012
This dress is gorgeous. Simple and classic.
The cut on this dress is so flattering. With the structured bodice and the skirt starting and flaring from the natural waist, I can’t imagine there would be many figures that wouldn’t look good in it. The color is beautiful. It’s this wonderful cobalt blue in person. I think it would work on every skin tone – tan or pale. The fabric just flows and feels very soft. You can tell the second you put it on that it’s a very well made dress. Im 5’10” and it hit about mid-thigh. A very tasteful but still fun length. (My sister held it up to her, she’s 5’4” and it fell just above the knees.) Unfortunately for me, I wasn’t able to wear it because of the shoulder straps Im not sure if it was my height alone, or the fact I have quite defined swimmers shoulders. I just wasn’t able to wear the dress comfortably without it lifting too high into my armpits (which also raised the waist.) I’m an average size chest (small C) and the dress set very well there, however I would definitely recommend those with large busts size up because there isn’t much room to accommodate a bigger chest – with the structure of the dress and the fabric, there really isn’t anywhere to go. On the plus side, a strapless or one shoulder bra would work perfectly with it. Because of the color, it wouldn’t have needed much. I was planning on wearing a pair of vintage chandelier earrings I inherited from my grandma… and maybe cocktail ring or bracelet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
Dress was perfect!
Everything about the dress was perfect. Didn't even have to wear a bra because of the thicker material around the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2012
I wore this to a semi formal and it was a perfect party dress!
This dress fit perfectly! I am 5'3, 130lbs, 36A and the size 4 was perfect! The fabric is really nice and the dress was comfortable all night long! It hit just about my knees and the color was a beautiful cobalt blue. I would definitely wear this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2012
Wish I had time to wear it out!
The dress was beautiful and the skirt hung very well. I didn't end up wearing it out due to missing my flight and a shortened vacation, but I wish I would have been able to keep it for one more day. Would probably rent it again for a wedding or other nice affair. It was tight in the bust - so beware that there's no give.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
December 20, 2012
Perfect dress!
The color was bright and festive, the fit was perfect! I received so many compliments, and felt like a million bucks wearing it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Fun and comfortable party dress!
This dress was fitted yet comfortable. I added a black belt at the waist just to break up the blue and define my waist better. I loved wearing this dress and the color was so pretty in person! The top is so well fitted that I didn't even have to wear a bra!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 3, 2013
First time renter, it couldn't have been easier!
I usually wear a 0 or a 2 and I ordered both in case the sizing was weird. I could have worn the 0 and have been fine, but I wanted to be able to breathe all night so I wore the 2. I got so many compliments on the color and cut of the dress and now many of my sorority sisters are planning to rent for RTR. I could not have asked for a better experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 25, 2013
Wore to my sorority's X-mas Semiformal w/ diamond cuff and diamond drop earrings w/ silver MK shoes.
Fit: Runs true to size. I am fairly busty, and I could not wear a bra with this dress. I am kind of short-waisted, so unfortunately the side zipper bunched up a little bit. This was only really a problem when I was sitting down, but even then it was mostly hidden by the ruching. Pros: Great bold color! Would pair well with any color jewelry. Not heavy, but also doesn't feel like it might fly off of your body if there was a breeze. Feels comfortable, and breathes well also. Would be good any time of year. The skirt fans out when you twirl :) Cons: It might be difficult to pair a necklace with this dress because the one-shoulder cuts across pretty high up on your chest. Again, I'm short-waisted so there was a bit of bunching of the zipper, but it was not a huge problem by any means! Other info: I paired this dress with silver/diamond bracelet and earrings and silver Michael Kors heels, but I think any color metal or stone even would look great with it! Highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 6, 2013
Lots of girls wore royal blue to this dance, but this dress was by far the winner!!
I wanted to rent this dress in red, but at the last minute the warehouse couldn't fulfill my order. The staff set me up with this dress, and blue was probably the better color on me anyway! This dress is flowy and very princess-esque. If you are athletic or slender this is the dress for you! Its longer than most dance dresses but not in a lame and conservative way. You are going to have the best dress at your event if you order this one.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 3, 2013
Felt gorgeous!
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal and it was absolutely wonderful. Halston Heritage also makes this dress in a full-length, which I've worn before, so I was prepared for the style and fit of the dress when I rented its shorter incarnation.The fabric is amazingly comfortable and I had no problems with anything becoming uncomfortable. If you're larger chested, the one-shoulder cut might feel a little weird - at least on me, it hit a a little lower on my chest than I would have liked, but I wasn't terribly worried about any possible wardrobe malfunctions. The cut and draping of the dress made it incredibly flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
This dress fit perfectly, I absolutely loved it! I ordered an 8, usually wear an 8 on bottom or a 6/8 on top. I was a little worried it might be too short- I am 5' 10" in heels- but the length was just fine. It was fitted thru the smallest part of my waist, very flattering. The zipper was tricky, I had to have my husband help me with it- but once it was on, no problems. I wore a convertible bra with one shoulder strap (clear), but could have gone without if need be, as the top was tight and the material thick enough. This shade of blue would be flattering on anyone. Highly recommend- I liked it so much, I may rent in yellow for an upcoming wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 27, 2013
Loved it! (except the zipper)
This dress is a really pretty blue and a fun material that has a lot of movement, so it would be great to dance in. I am generally a 6 on top and an 8 on the bottom, so it just depends on the dress what size fits. In this case, I think the 8 was the right size (that was the only one I had). But BEWARE - you must have another person help you to get the side zipper up! The zipper is this silly, tiny, squat thing (about 4 millimeters long. Seriously.), and since the top of the dress is totally ruched (which always makes zippers harder to get up), it was completely impossible to get the zipper up the bodice by myself. And I live by myself, so I was SOL. Tightness was absolutely not the problem, as I could hold the dress completely closed easily, but I just could not get the zipper to work. As long as I know I'll have another person handy when I'm getting dressed, I'd totally rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2013
Great dress!
I wore this for an outdoor wedding in spring and it was perfect for the occasion. The color is bold, and the dress twirls when you dance (big perk). I like that this style comes in several colors. As always, I was sad to return. On the fit-I am between a 0 and a 2 most of the time, and the 2 fit perfectly, I could not have gone any smaller. I'm very petite, but have curves and sometimes it's hard to find a good fit. This one was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2013
Had a sizing problem with my original dress, RTR sent let me choose this one and sent it overnight!
This dress was beautiful! The picture online doesn't do it justice! The color is so vibrant and it's super flattering. I'm not usually a fan of one shoulder, but I loved this dress! The dress was mainly true to size, but I'd suggest ordering your usual size and one size up. Really comfortable too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2013
Flirty and fun!
Fit and Flare! The dress is a great, vibrant blue with a flowy skirt thats great for dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 24, 2013
Adorable
The color was great with my blonde hair and even though I am very petite, it still fell above the knee. I am pretty busty, so the 0 held me me with no need for a bra, but it it may be problematic for girls with less up top :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 27, 2013
LOVE IT!
This is so much fun. I loved wearing this dress. It's a beautiful color, so much fun to dance in, and just exquisite. I didn't wear a bra as the dress was tight enough not to need one. It was just so flattering and I got so many compliments. I was nervous about the "Tarzan" look of one shoulder, but it's really wonderful. This is a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
May 31, 2013
It fit wonderfully!! Great for pear shaped bodies!
The tight top part of the dress accented my smaller upper half, while the bottom half skimmed over my heavier set bottom half. This dress is great and great for pear shaped girls! The color is beautiful also!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 8, 2013
Cute dress for summer wedding
This was a good dress for a summer wedding; the material was very comfortable and the color is beautiful. The skirt flows nicely and is pretty for twirling on the dance floor!. I agree with the other reviewers that the top is a bit on the small size - was great for me, but better endowed ladies may want to size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 10, 2013
Great cocktail dress for weddings! Very flowy and easy to dance!
Definitely fits to size! Better for women with less up top because was tight there - very comfortable and great cocktail dress for any occasion. Love the one shoulder!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2013
Loved this back-up as much as my first choice... so I wore them both!
This was my back-up (rented the Shoshana Liz Love Dot in a size 4), and I ended up liking it enough to wear it for one of the two performances. The reader comments were all accurate, down to the somewhat frustrating zipper. I am small on the top, and I can see why some reviewers struggled to fit in the top -- it's cut very slim. Also, the straight waist line didn't fall at the thinnest part of my waist (it was about 2" lower), which was my ONLY complaint. The color is fabulous, and the fabric has great movement. I got as many compliments on this as I did on my first choice... glad I got to wear them both! GREAT first RTR experience!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
April 7, 2013
Comfy and pretty.
The dress was occasion perfect and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2014
Classy dress for a high school dance, fit perfect!
My daughter is 5'4 and the length hit her a few inches above the knee so was a very appropriate length, and style for a 15 yr old. This is a very classy elegant look so I was so proud of her choice and she looked stunning in this statement color. She stood out from all the black dresses. She wore nude closed toe shoes since we had 10 inches of snow! I was thrilled that the dress showed up as promised since snowmagedden had hit the east coast, & the midwest, I wasn't sure if UPS could deliver but it came the day it was promised!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
This dress made me feel on top of the world at my engagement party!
The bodice of the dress is VERY fitted. Would recommend for small busted girls. The length was perfect! I'm planning on renting the green and yellow at some point too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 18, 2014
beautiful dress!
The dress is a vibrant color and a very flattering fit. It was a bit tight in the arm holes even though I do not have particularly large arms. I was worried about the length as I'm 5'10" but it was perfect. The dress was a hit and looks great in pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 13, 2014
Gorgeous Dress
Initially when I received the dress the ruching in the boddess was torn but thanks to the great customer service at RTR I had a new one before me event. Dress for great. Very forgiving. Easy to dance in. Feels and looks high quality. Color really popped in my photos and also in the candid ones done by the professional photographer. I've been tempted to rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 4, 2014
Perfect fit
I wore it to prom and it was great! I usually wear a 10 and got a 10 and a 12. The 10 was just right, though the bust was really tight so I didn't wear a bra. I'm only a 34B so definitely size up if you have a large bust. The only thing I would change is that it is a little long. It was fine since I am 5'10" but I would imagine some issues for someone who is 5'2".
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 6, 2014
Gorgeous colour, flattering cut, great dress!!
A little tight around the bust and the zipper was a little stiff but once it was done up it felt great - beautiful colour, perfect length, really gorgeous dress. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2014
Loveeedddd the dress prefect if you want a little color in your life!
Overall was tight to get my boobs in but I managed. If you have a big bust I do no recommend this dress you will be squeezing your boobs into it. Dress was awesome!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
June 3, 2014
Wish I had the 0!
Love the color of the dress and the length. Really wish the 2 would have fit!! Originally ordered the 0 and the 2 but got a call from RTR that the 0 wasn't in good condition. So i ordered a back up dress just in case. Turned out to be a smart decision since the 2 was too big for me. Ended up wearing the backup which was great! Going to try to get the 0 again for future event.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
May 13, 2014
8th Grade Formal
Loved it! Snug in the chest, but great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 25, 2014
Wore this dress for a 5 year anniversary date. Stunning, got a lot of flattering comments.
Length is longer than shown on the model; I am very appreciative of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 14, 2014
I wore this dress to my lithe brother's summer wedding. Got tons of compliments.
This dress was gorgeous. The fabric was light and it was fun to dance in. I actually wore a backless bra with it and it was perfect. The zipper was a little tough, but other than that I loved the dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×