Halston Heritage

Tidal Wave Dress

$74 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Slip into this Halston Heritage breezy silhouette for an effortless style! This waist cinching dress is great for all body types.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
92 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(43)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 18, 2014
beautiful dress!
The dress is a vibrant color and a very flattering fit. It was a bit tight in the arm holes even though I do not have particularly large arms. I was worried about the length as I'm 5'10" but it was perfect. The dress was a hit and looks great in pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2014
didn't end up wearing this dress but...
this dress was so pretty, but there is absolutely no stretch. i rented the 4 which would not zip over my 34 C boobs (even without a bra... i tried to squeeze). the 6 wasn't available, but i would definitely rent this dress in a 6 :) size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 13, 2014
Gorgeous Dress
Initially when I received the dress the ruching in the boddess was torn but thanks to the great customer service at RTR I had a new one before me event. Dress for great. Very forgiving. Easy to dance in. Feels and looks high quality. Color really popped in my photos and also in the candid ones done by the professional photographer. I've been tempted to rent this dress again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2014
Gorgeous color, beautiful, flowy dress, runs VERY small in the bust
Order 1-2 sizes up, and expect to wear the dress that's at least 2 sizes too big. The dress is much longer than pictured, and is actually a perfect length for a wedding. I'm 5'11" and it was a few inches above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 4, 2014
Perfect fit
I wore it to prom and it was great! I usually wear a 10 and got a 10 and a 12. The 10 was just right, though the bust was really tight so I didn't wear a bra. I'm only a 34B so definitely size up if you have a large bust. The only thing I would change is that it is a little long. It was fine since I am 5'10" but I would imagine some issues for someone who is 5'2".
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
Runs Small
Like many other reviewers have noted, this dress runs small. No matter what size your chest is, I would advise you size up one size and then get a back up in two sizes bigger. I normally wear a size 4 and I could not get this dress zipped up for the life of me. I didn't even wear a bra! I had ordered the size 6 for my backup size, but RTR contacted me the day my order was going to ship to notify me that the size 6 had been damaged so badly by the previous renter that it had to be discontinued. I was really bummed, however, thanks to RTR's awesome customer service, they sent me a second style in two sizes for FREE. Huge thanks to RTR! Back to the dress - The color is gorgeous - very vibrant and I imagine it photographs well... just keep the sizing in mind.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 6, 2014
Gorgeous colour, flattering cut, great dress!!
A little tight around the bust and the zipper was a little stiff but once it was done up it felt great - beautiful colour, perfect length, really gorgeous dress. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2014
Loveeedddd the dress prefect if you want a little color in your life!
Overall was tight to get my boobs in but I managed. If you have a big bust I do no recommend this dress you will be squeezing your boobs into it. Dress was awesome!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
June 3, 2014
Wish I had the 0!
Love the color of the dress and the length. Really wish the 2 would have fit!! Originally ordered the 0 and the 2 but got a call from RTR that the 0 wasn't in good condition. So i ordered a back up dress just in case. Turned out to be a smart decision since the 2 was too big for me. Ended up wearing the backup which was great! Going to try to get the 0 again for future event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 9, 2014
Nice dress, no wow factor
It was nice - I was a little indifferent about it. It def ran small - in the bust area especially. I almost always wear a size 2, and had trouble zipping the size 4! Zipper was tough in general. I did love the color and the flow of the bottom. Worked well for an outdoor beach wedding.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
May 13, 2014
8th Grade Formal
Loved it! Snug in the chest, but great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
July 26, 2014
Loved this dress! It was so easy and comfortable.
It's a little small in the torso/chest area. I'm a 32D, though - usually wear a 0 or 2, but wore the 4. Got lots of compliments all night … and even my cousin who is a fashion designer and celebrity stylist in LA went on and on about it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 1, 2014
Vibrant color. Size up!
This dress is gorgeous, and has a very flattering, feminine fit. I would definitely recommend going up one size. My back-up dress was one size larger than I normally wear, and I needed it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 3, 2014
Feels like a (nice) bridesmaid dress
Ordered this to attend a wedding. Once it was here, it was nice, but I was afraid I would be mistaken for a bridesmaid. This turned out to be very close to the truth, and I did not wear it. I would consider it for a different type of event or outing. Other reviews are correct that the sizes run small. I'm usually an 8 but rented the 10, and it was an exact fit. Also, this is more of a royal blue than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
September 22, 2014
Beautiful color and comfortable dress.
I liked this dress but I didn't love it. The color is beautiful and it was overall very comfortable and easy to move in. It's true that it runs small, I wore a size larger than usual. The bust fit perfectly, but the torso was a bit long that led to bunching on the sides and skirt made my bottom half look wider than usual. The zipper can be very tricky, so get a friend to help you with the last two inches.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 25, 2014
Wore this dress for a 5 year anniversary date. Stunning, got a lot of flattering comments.
Length is longer than shown on the model; I am very appreciative of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 14, 2014
I wore this dress to my lithe brother's summer wedding. Got tons of compliments.
This dress was gorgeous. The fabric was light and it was fun to dance in. I actually wore a backless bra with it and it was perfect. The zipper was a little tough, but other than that I loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2014
Good dress, nothing special
Good dress, nothing special. Fit wonderfully, fabric was nice, just felt a little plain. Otherwise good dress, but opted for another one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 22, 2013
Halston is my fave designer!
Fit was small but that is good, because the size up (which I thought would be baggy) was loose. So I had the option. Zipper is the con. It is difficult to zip. You know it is when the paint on it is worn off before you get to put your hands on it. Didn't need a bra, but then, I am not flat chested nor am I well-endowed. I'm just enough. So it worked for me, sizing down. I imagine you'd have to go TWO sizes up if you are well endowed. the dress is just THAT fitted on top. Well made/construction wise. Compliments on it all night. The color (blue) was popular at the wedding I was at last nite but my dress was definitely something different. Not run-of-the-mill.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2015
Everyone loved the dress. I got tons of comments on how great it looked and the perfect color!
The arm hole was a little small for me but i loved how tight the top was (didn't have to wear a bra!). The zipper buckled a bit and I tried the larger size to see if it helped but I think girls with hips will just have to deal with it. The skirt had a great flow and it was so comfortable to dance in all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 20, 2015
The fit of the dress is absolutely fabulous. The ruching of the top is extremely flattering!
Make sure you size up! I normally wear a size 8 and had to go with the 10 because of how small the top is. Absolutely no stretch. The color is a beautiful royal blue. I got tons of compliments all night. Id say that the only downfall is that if you sweat, it will show! Other than the mild marks if you sweat, this is a great dress and would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Weight: 135lbs
August 3, 2015
Beautiful dress!
Thanks to everyone's advice, I ordered 1 size up, and I'm glad I did. It still fit very snug around the bust and waist. I'm glad the dress provided enough bust support, so you don't need to wear a bra, otherwise I don't think the top would've zipped. I would advise other girls to order 1 size up with the backup 2 sizes up! I wouldn't recommend this dress if your bust size is larger than a C cup. I got lots of compliments on this dress. The color is beautiful and the dress quality was top notch!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
October 18, 2015
Super comfortable and appropriate for semi formal affair.
Great Color. Dress it up with a fun statement necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 3, 2015
Great dress
Wore this to my friends wedding. It was the prefect dress. Great color, great fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 44
April 13, 2016
Fun and great color!
Very well-made and comfortable! Loved the supportive fit of the top of the dress. My daughter received many compliments during her school's spring court.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
It came on time, packaged great, with a great dress.
The dress was gorgeous! It was tight in the bust, so I had to size up. It was perfect for homecoming, but a little longer than I would have liked, but still above the knee on my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2012
Beautiful color
The reviews were not kidding when they said small in the top. Other than that it was a beautiful dress- but like the reviews said- order up a size if you are larger on top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2013
Fit beautifully, very comfortable and I got a lot of compliments - even from strangers!
The dress hit me right above the knee. I didn't have to wear a bra with it. The color is very pretty in person. It is a little tough to zip up but fine if someone else is helping you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 28, 2013
Beautiful Color, Flowy and Comfortable Dress
The color of this dress was beautiful and I received compliments on it all night. Other reviewers were right, the top portion of the dress was a bit tight, but that would be my only complaint. The length of this dress was just right and I loved the flowy skirt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Beautiful Party Dress!
I rented this as a bridesmaid dress for a wedding. I found it to run a little small. I usually order 0/2 as my two sizes, and in this I rented the 2/4 and though I ended up wearing the 2, the 4 would have worked as well. I was REALLY happy with this dress. It is a beautiful, rich, blue color. The material is super soft and expensive feeling. It doesn't wrinkle as easily as most dresses with a chiffon layer. It is super flattering, and flows beautifully. I have nothing bad to say about this dress - definitely a great one for any spring/summer wedding or other fun event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 13, 2013
Very tight bodice
There is no give in the bodice, so I barely fit! The color and the fabric were both beautiful and flattering. The dress is pretty long even on me, I'm 5'10" and it was almost at my knees.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
July 8, 2013
Comfortable and Flowy
I tried this dress on in the studio with my MOH for potential bridesmaid dresses. It fit her figure as nicely as it did mine, and we are so opposite. The dress is A LOT darker and richer in color than the image shows. It is a cobalt blue, but still pretty. I did not have to wear a bra with it because it is so tight, and my MOH could NOT zip it up with a bra, but was able to without one. It is definitely snug around the rib cage and bust. I felt more comfortable in the 12, but the stylist said it was too big, and I needed to go down to a 10, which is my normal size. We ended up ordering these for the wedding! I can't wait for all my girls to be donning these dresses!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
July 15, 2013
Perfect dress for a beach wedding!
This dress is a bright, beautiful blue color in person. I wore it a friend's wedding on the beach and it was the perfect style. I loved the length. I'm 5'10 and the dress hit right above my knees. Like so many other reviewers have noted, the top is pretty snug - I didn't even need to wear a bra and everything stayed perfectly in place. I usually wear a 6 so I ordered a 6 and 8. Ended up wearing the 6 mostly because the zipper of the 8 was broken and incredibly hard to zip. Loved the dress overall and would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2013
Beautiful dress with a very flattering style!
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid. They were fun and flattering. We did have some trouble with the zippers but overall they looked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
Great beautiful dress for the wedding of some close friends.
Runs a tad bit small as other commenters have mentioned. But, didn't need a bra with it, and once zipped in it fit like a glove and was incredibly comfortable! I managed to eat, drink and dance the night away without feeling like it was restricting my movements. Got a million compliments on the color, which is truly a gorgeous shade of blue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2013
Loved it!!
This was my first time renting, and it was an awesome experience. Everyone thought I was crazy for renting a dress instead of buying, but I loved it! I ordered an 8 and a 10 (I normally wear an 8). The 8 would not zip up because of my boobs, so I had to use the 10, which fit great. It wasn't too tight on my chest at all. The zipper is definitely hard to zip up though, I couldn't do it by myself. It came on time, with all the stuff I needed to return it and even some free goodies! I got tons of compliments on the dress the whole night at the wedding we attended. I will definitely be renting again!! Another note--in this picture, it looked like I was sweating a lot because it's dark around my underarms, but it was actually pretty cool that night and I wasn't sweating at all. I think it just might be the shadow on the folds of the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
May 11, 2014
Beautiful color, easy fit!
Worked great for pear shape body. Fitted at top but loose and comfortable at waist. Fun dress for dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
The perfect wedding guest dress!
The dress was incredible. It was so flattering, I loved how it flows and the cut was perfect. The only negative was the zipper was awful, it took two people to zipper up and get off, I was so worried it was going to rip!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 26, 2014
Great dress for dancing; definitely size up
I'm really glad I read the reviews. I sized up from my normal dress sizes and was glad I did. The size 4 gave me enough room for my large chest and fit without any issues. The zip was a bit tricky to zip the last couple inches, so I had a friend assist. Other than the zip issue, I loved this great. The color was bright and great for a summer wedding. The skirt was super light and flowy--great for hitting the dance floor. I'd definitely rent this again in this color--or one of the other two!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2014
Beautiful bright blue dress!
Wore this for a summer wedding and it was gorgeous! It is a little tight up top, but I ended up going with the two anyways because the four was just a teensy bit loose in the chest. It was comfortable regardless and I got plenty of compliments, especially from my boyfriend. Great dress and AMAZING color!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×