Halston Heritage

Tidal Wave Dress

$55 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Slip into this Halston Heritage breezy silhouette for an effortless style! This waist cinching dress is great for all body types.

Also available in green and yellow.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

83 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 44
Large 0
Photos 47
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Great Color and Easy Fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous in person! I loved the green color! This dress is an easy fit because there is a ton of room in the skirt! The top of the dress is pretty fitted, so you definitely want to size up if you are larger chested. This dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee!
karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It fit perfectly and the color was beautiful.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

I wore this to a semi formal and it was a perfect party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly! I am 5'3, 130lbs, 36A and the size 4 was perfect! The fabric is really nice and the dress was comfortable all night long! It hit just about my knees and the color was a beautiful cobalt blue. I would definitely wear this dress again.
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Wish I had time to wear it out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful and the skirt hung very well. I didn't end up wearing it out due to missing my flight and a shortened vacation, but I wish I would have been able to keep it for one more day. Would probably rent it again for a wedding or other nice affair. It was tight in the bust - so beware that there's no give.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color was bright and festive, the fit was perfect! I received so many compliments, and felt like a million bucks wearing it!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

Beautiful dress, bodice runs very small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress. I wasn't able to wear it because the bodice was too small. The color is awesome and I'm sure on the right person it would be great. I think it would be a great fit on a slightly smaller frame- my rib cage was a little large.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Wore to my sorority's X-mas Semiformal w/ diamond cuff and diamond drop earrings w/ silver MK shoes.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit: Runs true to size. I am fairly busty, and I could not wear a bra with this dress. I am kind of short-waisted, so unfortunately the side zipper bunched up a little bit. This was only really a problem when I was sitting down, but even then it was mostly hidden by the ruching. Pros: Great bold color! Would pair well with any color jewelry. Not heavy, but also doesn't feel like it might fly off of your body if there was a breeze. Feels comfortable, and breathes well also. Would be good any time of year. The skirt fans out when you twirl :) Cons: It might be difficult to pair a necklace with this dress because the one-shoulder cuts across pretty high up on your chest. Again, I'm short-waisted so there was a bit of bunching of the zipper, but it was not a huge problem by any means! Other info: I paired this dress with silver/diamond bracelet and earrings and silver Michael Kors heels, but I think any color metal or stone even would look great with it! Highly recommend this dress.
Ash
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 4, 2013

It was a beautiful dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using rent the runway, and I was a little disappointed. Although it was a beautiful dress, I did not even get to wear it to the wedding and had to scramble to find a last minute dress! It runs small, which contrary to what was on the comments did not follow along. It was WAY too small in the bust, and when I called to return the dress they stated that these dress do run small in the dress. I usually wear a size 2 or a 4 and I ordered both. The two fit perfectly in the waist, however I could not zip it up once it got to my chest...the same with the four. Although I did not get to wear the dress, they were very helpful and reimbursed me, with the exception of the shipping cost.
Marie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

I was unable to wear this dress because it was WAY too small in the bust!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was unbelievably beautiful, but I couldn't wear it because it was too tight in the bust, even up one size. It fit perfectly everywhere else. It made me very sad that it didn't fit. I've never had this problem before, and don't even have a large chest, so be wary. My advice would be to go up at least one size or more. Luckily I was able to send the dress back without any problems and received a credit back on my account, so it truly is a risk-free purchase! I'm at least grateful for that.
Amelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Amazing - I stole the show!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely AMAZING!!! After a bit of a debacle with my original dress choice, this one was overnighted to me, and I have to say, I should've picked this one from the beginning! It was just the right amount of stretch and the skirt was really flirty and fun to spin and dance around in. I got complements ALL night! I wore it with peep-toe black pumps with a feather on the front and some sparkle in the back to match my feather hair piece, and the smokey mirrored bangles and a black clutch (both also from RTR). The whole outfit really came together and the stylist was integral in me picking an awesome dress! This dress definitely runs small (I'm usually a 4 and had to go up a size), so keep that in mind, and the skirt is pretty short. It was fine on me since I'm short but I can see it being a problem on some taller gals out there.
Kristina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Felt gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal and it was absolutely wonderful. Halston Heritage also makes this dress in a full-length, which I've worn before, so I was prepared for the style and fit of the dress when I rented its shorter incarnation.The fabric is amazingly comfortable and I had no problems with anything becoming uncomfortable. If you're larger chested, the one-shoulder cut might feel a little weird - at least on me, it hit a a little lower on my chest than I would have liked, but I wasn't terribly worried about any possible wardrobe malfunctions. The cut and draping of the dress made it incredibly flattering.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly, I absolutely loved it! I ordered an 8, usually wear an 8 on bottom or a 6/8 on top. I was a little worried it might be too short- I am 5' 10" in heels- but the length was just fine. It was fitted thru the smallest part of my waist, very flattering. The zipper was tricky, I had to have my husband help me with it- but once it was on, no problems. I wore a convertible bra with one shoulder strap (clear), but could have gone without if need be, as the top was tight and the material thick enough. This shade of blue would be flattering on anyone. Highly recommend- I liked it so much, I may rent in yellow for an upcoming wedding!
Virginia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

Loved it! (except the zipper)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is a really pretty blue and a fun material that has a lot of movement, so it would be great to dance in. I am generally a 6 on top and an 8 on the bottom, so it just depends on the dress what size fits. In this case, I think the 8 was the right size (that was the only one I had). But BEWARE - you must have another person help you to get the side zipper up! The zipper is this silly, tiny, squat thing (about 4 millimeters long. Seriously.), and since the top of the dress is totally ruched (which always makes zippers harder to get up), it was completely impossible to get the zipper up the bodice by myself. And I live by myself, so I was SOL. Tightness was absolutely not the problem, as I could hold the dress completely closed easily, but I just could not get the zipper to work. As long as I know I'll have another person handy when I'm getting dressed, I'd totally rent this again!
Allie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 14, 2013

Loved dancing in this dress all night!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fits a little smaller than normal size around the waist, but bust was perfect. The skirt part is great - nice and flowy. Very fun on the dance floor. It was a little warm after awhile of dancing, but still worth it.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
May 15, 2013

Didn't wear

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't wear this because the zipper was tough to close. Fabric is really comfy and color stands out.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 21, 2013

Gorgeous color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color was amazing and the shape was super flattering. I sized up to accomodate the bust running small and was glad I did. It was VERY tight. However, that meant that I didn't have to worry about complicated bust support under the dress.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 24, 2013

Adorable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The color was great with my blonde hair and even though I am very petite, it still fell above the knee. I am pretty busty, so the 0 held me me with no need for a bra, but it it may be problematic for girls with less up top :)
Jenn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

This dress was super small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs very small. I usually wear a size 4 in dresses, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. Both sizes were very small in the chest and I couldn't zip up the dress. I was unable to wear this dress to the event. I even had a friend try it on and it was VERY small on her as well.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Great Color!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my back up dress. It was a pretty blue color and the length wasn't too short. The top did fit a little snug when worn with a strapless bra. I didn't end up wearing it because my first choice dress fit and this dress had a burn hole in the skirt when I received it so I couldn't have worn it anyways. Luckily RTR staff was amazing and gave me a discount code for the inconvenience.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Cute dress for summer wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a good dress for a summer wedding; the material was very comfortable and the color is beautiful. The skirt flows nicely and is pretty for twirling on the dance floor!. I agree with the other reviewers that the top is a bit on the small size - was great for me, but better endowed ladies may want to size up.
ying
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Pretty but dress was a bit worn

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a beautiful color for a summer wedding. However, I was not very happy about the pulls and stains on the skirt. I assume its from previous rentals. Luckily it was pretty hidden in the pleats and the dim lighting of the venue. I was pretty disappointed but didn't have time to call RTR for help as it was delivered late. Overall, glad I had a dress to wear to the wedding. I still got compliments on the dress and danced the night away but I dont think I will be renting this one again.
eugenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Pretty dress but ended up wearing the back up dress. Back up was much more flattering.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Pretty but waist hits high and is not as comfortable as it could be
kate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 25, 2013

Didn't get a chance to wear it.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got this as my second option, but I was truly hoping it would work. I am usually an 8, but this dress I couldn't even close, it fit as if it was a size 4. Pretty color, but order a size to two sizes up.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Two thumbs up!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! I'm almost 5'11 and usually wear a 4 but the 6 worked better length-wise. It is a bit short but is an adorable, flirty dress and great color.
Blaze
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Classy dress for a high school dance, fit perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My daughter is 5'4 and the length hit her a few inches above the knee so was a very appropriate length, and style for a 15 yr old. This is a very classy elegant look so I was so proud of her choice and she looked stunning in this statement color. She stood out from all the black dresses. She wore nude closed toe shoes since we had 10 inches of snow! I was thrilled that the dress showed up as promised since snowmagedden had hit the east coast, & the midwest, I wasn't sure if UPS could deliver but it came the day it was promised!
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

didn't end up wearing this dress but...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was so pretty, but there is absolutely no stretch. i rented the 4 which would not zip over my 34 C boobs (even without a bra... i tried to squeeze). the 6 wasn't available, but i would definitely rent this dress in a 6 :) size up!
Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Gorgeous Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Initially when I received the dress the ruching in the boddess was torn but thanks to the great customer service at RTR I had a new one before me event. Dress for great. Very forgiving. Easy to dance in. Feels and looks high quality. Color really popped in my photos and also in the candid ones done by the professional photographer. I've been tempted to rent this dress again.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Gorgeous color, beautiful, flowy dress, runs VERY small in the bust

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Order 1-2 sizes up, and expect to wear the dress that's at least 2 sizes too big. The dress is much longer than pictured, and is actually a perfect length for a wedding. I'm 5'11" and it was a few inches above the knee.
Candace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 5, 2014

Runs Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Like many other reviewers have noted, this dress runs small. No matter what size your chest is, I would advise you size up one size and then get a back up in two sizes bigger. I normally wear a size 4 and I could not get this dress zipped up for the life of me. I didn't even wear a bra! I had ordered the size 6 for my backup size, but RTR contacted me the day my order was going to ship to notify me that the size 6 had been damaged so badly by the previous renter that it had to be discontinued. I was really bummed, however, thanks to RTR's awesome customer service, they sent me a second style in two sizes for FREE. Huge thanks to RTR! Back to the dress - The color is gorgeous - very vibrant and I imagine it photographs well... just keep the sizing in mind.
Marta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 6, 2014

Gorgeous colour, flattering cut, great dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little tight around the bust and the zipper was a little stiff but once it was done up it felt great - beautiful colour, perfect length, really gorgeous dress. Loved it!
Karolina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2014

Loveeedddd the dress prefect if you want a little color in your life!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall was tight to get my boobs in but I managed. If you have a big bust I do no recommend this dress you will be squeezing your boobs into it. Dress was awesome!!!
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Wore this for a formal dinner and it was perfect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the shape of the dress, although it did mash down my chest a bit so maybe not the best dress for larger-chested girls!
Tasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

Wish I had the 0!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the color of the dress and the length. Really wish the 2 would have fit!! Originally ordered the 0 and the 2 but got a call from RTR that the 0 wasn't in good condition. So i ordered a back up dress just in case. Turned out to be a smart decision since the 2 was too big for me. Ended up wearing the backup which was great! Going to try to get the 0 again for future event.
ML
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 23, 2014

Very pretty dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. If you have a full bust definitely go up a size I usually wear an 8 but the 10 fit perfectly
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 9, 2014

Nice dress, no wow factor

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It was nice - I was a little indifferent about it. It def ran small - in the bust area especially. I almost always wear a size 2, and had trouble zipping the size 4! Zipper was tough in general. I did love the color and the flow of the bottom. Worked well for an outdoor beach wedding.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Loved this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super cute dress. Only complaint was the top was a little snug. Size up if you are larger chested.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

Loved this dress! It was so easy and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a little small in the torso/chest area. I'm a 32D, though - usually wear a 0 or 2, but wore the 4. Got lots of compliments all night … and even my cousin who is a fashion designer and celebrity stylist in LA went on and on about it!
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Feels like a (nice) bridesmaid dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered this to attend a wedding. Once it was here, it was nice, but I was afraid I would be mistaken for a bridesmaid. This turned out to be very close to the truth, and I did not wear it. I would consider it for a different type of event or outing. Other reviews are correct that the sizes run small. I'm usually an 8 but rented the 10, and it was an exact fit. Also, this is more of a royal blue than in the picture.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Looks like a bridesmaid dress...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My original rental did not fit and the RTR stylist recommended a few dresses, this being one of them. I ended up wearing another dress. This one was not as pretty in person. It looks too much like a bridesmaid dress. It was boring, shapeless, and unflattering. I appreciated the recommendation, but am glad they sent me more than one dress.
Val
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Wore this dress for a 5 year anniversary date. Stunning, got a lot of flattering comments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Length is longer than shown on the model; I am very appreciative of that.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×