Halston Heritage

Sunny Days Dress

$52 to buy
$295 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention when you walk into the cocktail party wearing this flashing yellow Halston Heritage party dress. A fun and flirty style that is perfect to light up a room.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Yellow crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(76)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
June 12, 2015
Nonstop compliments

Rented for a yellow party. Had several people, mostly women, give me compliments. I wore the 4; I'm smaller on top. This size was a perfect fit, but in no way meant for someone who's busty. I'm a 32B. Zipper was tough to work with, but I expected that from reading other reviews.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 11, 2015
Got so many compliments all night long.

This was the perfect dress for a spring wedding. It was a little tough to get it zipped up, but once I did, the fit couldn't have been better. I paired it with the Darling Daffodil earrings by Slate and Willow and a gold clutch by Laura Merkin (both pictured and available on RTR). I'd rent this dress again in a heartbeat!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
April 10, 2016
I loved this dress -- and so did ALL the people who stopped and complimented me on it!!

This dress was perfect for a summer wedding and the color was beautiful. It was very comfortable and very well made. As other renters had said, the zipper was tough to get up and the dress was tight across the chest. It was a good fit in the larger of the two sizes I ordered. This was my first RTR dress so I was thrilled!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 3, 2016
amazing dress!

wore this to a friend's wedding, it was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 18, 2016
Great dress! Great color!

Wonderful for a summer wedding and fun to dance in!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 28, 2012
Great color!

Even though I wasn't my tannest for this event, the color was still very flattering! The bodice is nice and snug, but not uncomfortably tight. I ended up wearing my smaller size because I`m short and it is definitely longer than on the model.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
January 21, 2013
Not the yellow it appears to be

The yellow is more of a mustard color, it isnt bright. THe dress runs long and isnt good for small chested girls since it is very overwhelming in your chest/ neck area

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 22, 2012
Loved it!

This dress is GREAT color (especially vibrant in pictures) but it is definitely snug across the rib cage. I usually wear a 4 in dress that are similarly cut, but had to go up one to be comfy. Very loose and forgiving in the hip area if that is a concern you have - also amazing for twirling haha. Lastly, it's not nearly as short as it looks on the model which was a concern for me before I got it. Overall, I loved it and I got lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
August 11, 2012
Looking and feeling so good for the entire weekend! RTR allowed me to splurge for the first special occasion in years. I had moved to Tucson for health reasons about 5 yrs ago, barely able to walk, (rheumatoid arthritis and hip bursitis), with chronic pain also from daily migraines and severe fibromyalgia. (And I'm an R.N.!) Feeling like a new person in the dry air has enabled me to visit my family back home, in the Philadelphia area. Best of all, I was able to dance at my nephew's wedding....and look smashing because of RTR! Thank you!

The Halston Heritage Sunny Days Dress was not chosen as my first pick to be worn at my nephew's wedding. Once I tried the dress on, it was pure elegance and perfect for the affair. The wonderful comments all evening, about the dress and me in this dress, confirmed the decision. Dress was very comfortable, also!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2012
Cute Dress

Loved this dress. It does run small in the ribcage area- I'm 5'4 so it was a little longer than I would have liked also. Pretty fabric.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Runs Small

I ordered this dress as a back-up and did not end up wearing it, although it's a beautiful dress. The color is a bit more of a mustard yellow, rather than a bright yellow, and the dress ran small. I wore a size 2 in a different designer, and I had a hard time zipping up the size 4 in this dress. Great flowy fabric though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Classically Pretty

I ended up not wearing this dress because it didn't quite fit (fortunately it was my 2nd dress option!) but here's my review: Really pretty dress, great ruching that really shows off your waste. Color is more of a pale yellow that bright yellow. For me everything fit really well except the last inch of zipper on the side. I have a wide ribcage, so i'd say if you do too, order one size up. Usually I'm an 8, but sometimes a 10 based on fit around torso, so in this case I think a 10 would've been perfect. Oh also, when I received, there was the tiniest stain along the zipper. Since I wasn't going to wear, I wasn't really worried, but called RTR anyway to make sure I wasn't charged for it upon return. Great customer service, they offered to overnight another and refunded my money.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2012
Cute, fun, bright dress!

The bodice of this dress was very tight (I couldn't wear a bra), but it was adorable!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
Fun & Flirty!

LOVE!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
I wore this adorable dress for my sorority formal and it was PERFECT!

I loved the dress, but I am very flat chested and the top was even tight on me! I would definitely recommend the dress for girls with a small bust and a small rib cage. That being said, the dress is very flowy and loose fitting below the waist, so it is really flattering for girls with bigger hips or legs. The color is really fun for a summer or spring event because it is bright, but not too bright. I was expecting the color to be bright yellow and it was more gold-yellow, which I thought was really flattering. I would absolutely recommend the dress for a cocktail party, sorority/frat formal, or wedding. I danced the whole night and had a blast in this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 3, 2012
Bright and unique!

Love this dress - very comfortable and the perfect mix of being fitted on to and flowy on the bottom. It does run a little small - I still wore my normal size but it was a little fitter at the top than most dresses this size for me. Love the ruching at the top - got so many compliments on this dress! I did the mystery bling with this order and received Badgley Mischka Dramatic Drop earring - normally not something I would order on my own. Pretty big and gold but they were the perfect compliment to this dress. The dress is unique enough that it doesn't need too much jewelry, but these were the perfect accessory to dress it up a little without being too overwhelming.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 10, 2013
beautiful dress!

I wore this dress for a sorority formal and I couldn't have been happier with it. It fit well, was comfortable, and the color was beautiful!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 2, 2013
Love the dress

It ran small up top and hard to zip. I thought it was going to be extremely tight once zipped but I was wrong. Very comfortable and the color was stunning.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 22, 2013
Beautiful color! I got so many compliments.

I am normally a size 2, but the 4 fit like a 2-runs small. I adore this dress. I wore it for an out door Spring wedding and received many compliments. Due to the wedding ceremony being outside, I paired it with some black strappy wedges and wore turquoise gem chandelier earrings and gold bangles. The only thing I must note is the zipper. It gets stuck! So give yourself time getting ready. I was in a hurry and I thought I was going to break the zipper/rip the dress. I'll definitely be a return customer of RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 28, 2013
Definitely size up!

As others wrote, the color is more gold than yellow in person. The bodice is extremely fitted and the side zipper is very hard to get up. My husband had to help me, it's a two person job for sure! Once the dress was on I thought it was surprisingly comfortable and the skirt is really fun and flows, great for dancing! I paired this with the Alexis Bittar Chantilly Garden earrings and I loved them.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2013
Beautiful color, perfect for wedding!

I've worn another HH dress in a 6, but had to size up because it's very tight in the chest. Definitely size up if you're busty. This was SUCH a fun dress for a wedding. The color was great (it's more of a daffodil yellow than a sunny yellow, I'd say). It looks great with fun jewelry - I wore earrings and a bracelet with lots of bright colors and I think it worked really well. I loved the flowy skirt for dancing and the top is perfect for looking sexy without being overexposed. Great rental!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 31, 2013
Beautiful dress in a fun color!

I ended up wearing this dress - but just barely. I'm usually a 2-4, and based on other reviews, I ordered a 4 and a 6. It took 2 of us to zip up the 6 because the chest was so tight. Once it was zipped, it was actually pretty comfortable. But if you have a decent size bust, SIZE UP!!! The dress really was such a pretty color and flowed beautifully. I thought it was quite flattering, but wish I had a little bit of wiggle room up top. Obviously at 5'4, the dress was longer on me than the model pic, but not so long to be frumpy. Wore it to a beautiful outdoor wedding - fit in great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 12, 2013
The Bodice is extremely small and stiff

I rented this dress for a wedding in a 12, which I generally wear a 10-12 dress. The bodice has no give or stretch and I was not able to wear for my event. Thankfully I did rent a second backup dress for $25 and that dress worked out great! The yellow is deeper than the picture; however, still very pretty. The skirt was flowy and would have likely been very fun to dance in. Definitely size up for this dress and for women with a bigger chest like me...this is not the dress for you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 20, 2013
First dress ever rented and it was amazing!

The dress was so comfortable and I received many complaints on it! The color is not as bright as the picture shows but that was fine with me. I ended up going with the 6 because the top was a little tight and I needed to wear a bra because I feel to flat chested without one. I normally wear a 4! The skirt was so flowy and i loved dancing it. The dress made me feel like million bucks! I would love to rent it again in another color! Defiantly rent this dress it really is everything it seems like!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
July 3, 2013
BEAUTIFUL DRESS!!! fit like a glove!!

This dress is so gorgeous!! I couldn't be happier with my choice to rent it! It's so feminine and fun to dance in. I loved the way it flows. It fit PERFECT!! I am an A cup and the top fit very snug ,so that is something to keep in mind if you are a busty girl. Overall I received tons of compliments and I wish I could have kept it!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 16, 2013
Pretty & Unique

This dress was lovely, but unfortunately I wasn't able to wear it. Because of my height it was shorter than I felt comfortable with to wear for a wedding. If it had been another occasion I would have.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 1, 2013
Gorgeous dress!

I received so many compliments, it's the perfect statement dress. The dress was more of a gold color than yellow but looked bright in the pictures. The bust was a little snug, however felt fine once the dress was zipped. I paired the dress with nude pumps and a turquoise necklace to add a pop of color. Definitely one of my favorites from RTR and can not wait to rent it in green!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2013
Zippers worn.

I rented both the 4 and 6. Unfortunately, the 4 was too small. The 6 fit but the zipper would not zip up. Then the zipper broke while zipping it up and the dress was stuck on me! This is not usual for RTR and I think the dress would have been really cute otherwise. I had to wear an old dress in my closet instead:(

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
September 4, 2013
Gots tons of compliments :)

Beautiful dress - great for dancing. The bodice is very hard to zip, but once it is on its pretty comfortable. Overall loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 29, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress the entire night!

I wear a size 4 pant, so I initially ordered the 4 and the 6 dress. The 6 dress wouldn't zip up my rib cage (I'm only a 36B). I would definitely recommend a size or two up from what you're used to for this one. It was a beautiful dress though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2014
small bust area

im not sure if it is just because i am bigger in the bust, but i could not even get the 8 to zip up. really unfortunate because it is a beautiful dress in person

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2014
Not my favorite dress, weird rouching in the chest!

This dress was just okay, not my favorite. I didn't end up wearing it. The color is more of a muted yellow rather than a pretty sunshine yellow like I was hoping, and the rouching in the chest makes in unnecessarily tight and seems to continue too far down by your ribcage. Also the shape of the bottom of the dress seemed to make me look too bottom-heavy and was not flattering. This dress was okay but I was glad that I had a backup!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 210lbs
April 27, 2014
Felt gorgeous in this colorful dress!

I can't rave enough about the cut and color of the sunny dress! I was supposed to wear the blue, but because of sizing issues I got the yellow as a backup. So happy I ended up with it though! The yellow is so beautiful in person and the flowy material is perfect for a spring wedding. My only only only downside is that the busy was so incredibly tight. In the hopes of being helpful, my measurements are 37, 29, 35. I'm more of an apple/full bust shape (currently wear a 34D). Even sizing up by two sizes wouldn't allow me to wear a bra and made it hard to zip (zipper is on the side). This didn't take away from the beauty of the dress though! Just helped me know what size to order next time!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36F
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 4, 2014
Busty girls, size UP!

Rented this dress for a wedding and was so disappointed! The yellow was much more of a mustard color in person, I could not get my normal size to zip over my bust, and my backup size up had a horrible zipper I could barely get up with the dress off. Thankfully the RTR staff was amazing and sent a second style free. Great customer service, this dress was just an all-around flop for me.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2014
The color was beautiful

I really liked this dress but the top was a very tight fit and it was not comfortable . I wore it to a beach wedding and I received many compliments but I think it would look nicer on less curvy girls. I wouldn't rent it again

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 16, 2014
Don't rent this dress if you aren't an A cup.

This is my 4th time using rent the runway and I always read reviews. I saw other women say that the chest area was tight and to size up, so.i did. I am a solid C cup and I usually wear an 8 in dresses, I tried the 8 and 10 and both zipped fine until I got to my chest and not even the hands of god could have made the zipper come together around my boobs. I don't even think a 12 would have fit it was so tight. This dress is clearly made for someone with a very small chest. Super sad since I had bought shoes to go with it and wanted to wear it to my graduation.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 20, 2014
Beautiful color and great fit!

Nice dress for any formal event. I used it for my cousin's graduation, received many compliments. It had the right length and its design was elegant and looked great. This is my first time I get a dress from this website and Im very happy :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 8, 2014
a statement quality dress

This was my first RTR experience, and I was very happy with how it turned out. I tend to be underdressed when attending events with my husband's family, so I was excited to try renting something that would make a statement, was out of my usual comfort zone, and that I could return when I was done without feeling bad about never wearing again. This dress did all that - I received many compliments and probably helped turn some ladies on to RTR :) After reading others' reviews, I had the general sense that the top would run small (it did) and that the zipper might be problematic (it was, and that was even to unzip it off the hanger). But because I knew what to expect (thanks, reviewers!!), I was prepared and able to work it out. I would have given this dress five stars, but the zipper issue really could have caused issues. All and all, gorgeous dress and great experience!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
July 16, 2014
Did not love the color on me

The dress fit small and I am a petite/straight and narrow person. I did not love the color on me as a blonde.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
August 20, 2014
Loved the pop of color!

I usually wear a 2 or Small from RTR. This dress in the 2 was a bit tight on my ribcage so I went with the 4. It was very comfortable and I felt beautiful even though it was a little tiny bit bigger than I would have liked.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×