Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
438 reviews
Fit
Large23
True to Size289
Small71
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
April 21, 2016
Heads turned when I entered the room!
The 0 fit perfectly, I wore this for a college organization's end of the year party and I loved it! I had to keep adjusting the dress (it would ride up and I had to pull it back down), but aside from that, I had no issues with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2016
Comfortable for hours!
As soon as I put the dress on I felt comfortable and confident! I got compliments all night! The dress runs true to size with a durable material. The straps stayed down and it photographs beautifully!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2016
Lady in red
It's definitely a curve hugger, but the off the shoulder look takes away focus on my worst parts (stomach and love handles) and brings focus to my shoulders and hips.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2016
Non-stop compliments at a formal event!
I rented the 4 and 6. I am normally a size 4. the 6 fit great but was too baggy in the shoulders so I went with the 4. I wore it with shape wear because it does have a tight fit. I also bought a new sticky bra (one that doesn't stick to my torso, but rather just stick on cups). This was my first RTR rental and I loved it. I highly recommend this dress
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
April 11, 2016
Fun color, very snug but stretched a bit as the night went on so it became more comfortable
very body hugging but flattering! spanx were helpful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2016
Rented this dress for a Christmas in July party and it was perfect!
I loved this dress and felt amazing in it! It was definitely more fitted than what I normally wear but it was still flattering somehow:) Cons include that I was messing with it all night. Lots of adjusting the shoulders and keeping it pulled down... but I would still recommend it because I felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 23, 2016
This was a semi-formal event for my sorority. My friend had rented it before and loved it! I did too
Fits pretty nicely. I could have worn a size smaller because it was a little loose, and you have to be careful with the bra (I wore sticky boobs.)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
March 23, 2016
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the wedding and received compliments all night
I decided on the 2 just so I could have a little extra room and so that I could eat whatever I wanted and I wouldn't be worried about sucking in all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
March 17, 2016
Beautiful, standout dress for Valentine's Day party.
Great fit. Very comfortable. The only downsides are that the straps require adjustment every so often (wasn't really problematic) and that you have to be conscientious of your stomach since the dress is too tight for concealing underwear. Beautiful, comfortable, and got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 9, 2016
looks great but not of the greatest quality. you get what you pay for. very sexy though
very fitted. not very forgiving
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2016
Great dress for standing out in a crowd
The fit was good, I was expecting it to be a little smaller due to other comments saying that it runs small but it definitely wasn't too big. I did have the problem with the bottom of the zipper sticking out in the back. In the end I decided it wasn't bad enough for me to not wear the dress, but it was an issue. Besides that though, the dress was great - I received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
March 4, 2016
I got alot of compliments on the dress, it fit great!
The hanger straps kept popping out, it was almost impossible to tuck them away. The dress looked really worn and had a big stain on it that you could only see in sunlight, but I was able to cover it up with my arm most of the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 1, 2016
Show-stopping dress perfect for semiformal
I wore this to a law school prom with semiformal-black tie optional attire. It is a super flattering dress! I would recommend a little fashion tape to secure the fold-over band to the dress: every once in a while it would flip up when I raised my arms. Overall, a fantastic color for a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 29, 2016
Killer dress
The dress is very form fitting so be prepared to stand tall and suck in all night! But it's stretchy and easy to move in. The color is fantastic. I had a great time wearing the dress. I ordered a 6 and 8, but liked the fit of the 6. It felt true to size. The fabric is thick and very high quality.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
February 15, 2016
Wine Train Valentines Date
The dress was a great fit apart from the top band. It seemed quite large and baggy. Maybe it is meant to be folded over? Not sure. Otherwise, the dress looked fantastic! I loved it and had so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
February 12, 2016
Did not love this dress.
I did not love this dress. They didn't have my original size, so sent me the next size up. Even with it being a little too big, I did not care for the fit/cut of the dress. The armpit area made it very difficult to not show your bra / looked a little awkward on that inner part of your arm.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
February 7, 2016
I had rented this for my anniversary date night.
Was a bit tight on me. I have quite a butt, and it flipped at the bottom. I didn't have a bra issue, but you could definitely see some skin. It was definitely not my favorite, it simply wasn't super flattering and I ended up wearing something else. However, it came perfectly packaged, smelled great, and I will try another rental at some point, this one just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 7, 2016
This dress was stunning. The 2 felt small so I went with the 4 and it was quite comfortable.
Fabulous, showstopping dress. Felt like the best dressed (& sexiest) girl in the room. Aside from the bride, of course!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 1, 2016
Perfect fit and color
I loved the color and style of this dress. It held me in all the right places. The only con would be I wish the top were a little tighter, the straps kept riding up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 31, 2016
Sexy, Self-Confidence Inspiring Dress!
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner with my boyfriend - he loved it, and I felt amazing in it! This dress is form-fitted, true to size, and the color is perfectly vibrant. I didn't wear a bra, but you could easily wear a strapless or backless bra with this dress. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
January 25, 2016
Dress was beautiful, but damaged. I wish it could've looked better.
Fit was body con, flattering, sucked everything bad in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 22, 2016
Classy & Sexy
Fit is true to size and dress looks great on; but you do have to be aware of the holes around the arms/bust. I would definitely rent this or the black version again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
January 17, 2016
Classy, not trashy, and a bit sexy!
I've never worn red before, but after seeing this dress on RTR i knew i had to try it out! I was looking for a dress for an extremely formal event (charity banquet) , that required suits and classy dresses. However, i loved how this dress added a pop of color, yet looked sophisticated and beautiful. It fit really well, the only downside is the top was slightly loose, but i honestly didn't really mind. Also, the dress fit not too tight! I'm normally a size 4, and i wore a size 4. Size 2 fit as well, but it didn't highlight my figure as well as the 4. Worn with nude heels and killer earrings i loved it (; Made me feel awesome and sophisticated. First RTR experience!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2016
Classy and sexy!!!
It did have a weird space under the arm but great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
January 13, 2016
Comfortable and RTR is so easy!
Very comfortable and stayed in place! The color isn't as red as it seems in the model's photo but still is eye-catching.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
January 12, 2016
very flattering
the top part comes unfolded and looks funny
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 4, 2016
The COLOR!
I got the 6 and 8 as the listing said size up, upon trying the 6 on, it notices it could definitely been a little more snug especially in the shoulders. I wore this without a bra and seamless undies. The fabric is thick enough that it will hold you in if you order the proper size and I did not experience issues with the dress riding up. Overall, a fantastic dress for a party!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
January 1, 2016
Sexy, fun, and classy!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress to my friend's wedding! I received a lot of compliments from people both at the wedding at randomly on the street. I rented the 4 and the 6 for backup but ended up wearing the 4, which is my normal dress size. The dress is form-fitting but not too tight where you can't breathe or can't have a real meal. Also, I never had to fuss with the dress when I was dancing or worry that it would ride up. This was my first RTR purchase, I felt beautiful in it, and I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 29, 2015
I got SO many compliments on this dress!
I tried the 4 on first and felt that the back didn't lay right; even though the 2 was much better, the back did bunch up a little bit. The most bothersome thing was the little hanger straps that tried to poke out throughout the night--usually I cut them but since this isn't my dress I couldn't very well do that! My fiancé pulled strap duty. The fit, color, and shape of this dress were awesome. I felt great and comfortable the whole night. I wore a sticky bra to avoid issues, but think I could've worn a standard strapless and been fine also. I would absolutely rent this again and would love to own it! My fiancé was obsessed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
December 23, 2015
Favorite Dress Rental Ever!
I rent frequently and this is my favorite dress I've rented! It was so much fun to wear. I felt sexy & classy. It definitely is tight so size up. The 2 was a little loose in the shoulders but manageable and I felt more comfortable in it as opposed to the 0. There were many comments about the arm holes being a problem but I didn't have any trouble. I have a small bust and wore a basic strapless bra and normal panties. It was fun to wear and very comfortable. I highly recommend giving this one a try!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2015
Great inexpensive party dress. Loved the color!
Runs a bit small. But loved the color and neckline. Great value.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2015
Gorgeous Color and Super Glam
Very beautiful dress. Great color, loved the off the shoulder straps. I have more of a pear shape- the size 2 fit much better in my chest and torso but a little too tight around the hips- so went with the 4. With the 4 it felt a little bunchy around my torso (mainly the reason for the 4 star review) but better than skin tight around my hips! Fabric is of good quality but will slow and bumps, add spanx for an extra peace of mind! This is definitely a show-stopper of a dress; if you're more of a wall flower or looking for something comfortable this might not be for you.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 28
December 20, 2015
Loved it!!
Fit perfectly, sleeves weren't annoying, stayed snug!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 20, 2015
Restrictive arms and thinner material than expected.
Not good for dancing. Dress fit well after going a size up from normal. Wore a 2. Usually wear 0. Spanx even showed under the thin material. Couldn't move arms without having to readjust the sleeves again. Won't rent again. First bad dress with RTR. Though I did receive a lot of compliments...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
I received compliments. Cute color!
The fit was not as flattering as I expected it to be based on other reviews. I would not recommend for pear shaped women. It was hard to walk in because the fit was tight. Only cute for standing still and sitting down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
December 13, 2015
The annual office holiday party.
I LOVED the dress - gorgeous and perfect if you want to balance a sexy and bold look for a more conservative affair. I would recommend spanx for the mid section and breast petals in place of a bra. I went with a size up so that it would be more appropriate for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 9, 2015
Lady in Red rocking it!
I loved this dress and of course received a ton of compliments. You also can't beat the great rental price! I was about 135 when I wore this dress; a little different than my current measurements. Very flattering on many accounts. I would recommend a silicone adhesive bra over a strapless due to the cut underneath the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 8, 2015
Classic Sexy
I am sorry that I do not have a photo to submit. Nonetheless, this is a beautiful dress. It fits true to size. The material is comfortable and not sheer. I would love to own this dress. The red is a shade that I believe would look good on warm/cool/or neutral skin tones- This is RARE!!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 8, 2015
Great hue mixed + classic, yet attention-grabbing, style
I wore this dress to a office Christmas party. Based on previous reviews, I was quite nervous about the cut being too much/tight and the side cut-outs being problematic for dancing. Fortunately, neither was a problem! Not only were the side arms completely fine (caveat: I'm an average bust), but I kept the straps pulled down and was able to wear a strapless bra *and* dance. (Note: There will be a few adjustments/checks needed throughout your time wearing this dress, but that happens with 50% of dresses anyway.) One final note - if you're tight in a certain dress size (e.g., "Size 6 dresses are tighter but flattering on me"), this is the kind of dress where you'll probably want to grab a size up (e.g., Size 8) for some breathing room. For instance, I often wear size 6 dresses but can be an 8 as well. Ordered both sizes here and ultimately wore the 8 because the underwear line wasn't an issue. Have fun with this one!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
December 7, 2015
This is a beautiful, form-fitting, dress for the daring.
The dress fit well but is designed to be very tight. I found that I needed to wear a thong with it. I am short (5'2") and the dress hit about three inches above my knee. I imagine it will be quite short on a taller person.
See more reviews:
1 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×