Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

303 reviews

Fit
Small 60
True to Size 219
Large 14
Photos 210
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Slim and sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfect!! Made out of nice fabric, pretty color, and it is really slimming. Only thing you have to watch out for is the arm hole so it doesn't show your bra or too much side-boob. The off-the shoulder look was so fun and I had no problems with the fabric slipping as noted in some other reviews.
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Dress in great shape despite popularity!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit true to size and looked new! I was going to wear the 6 but the arm part was too loose and showed bra. It was very comfortable.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Sep 29, 2014

Great color!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly and was flattering. A little hard to lift your arms but it is a great dress!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 29, 2014

Such a beautiful dress! Very flattering, classy, and elegant .

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First RTR rental ever.:)The dress was very well-made! Fantastic quality. The way the material is cut around the waist is very slimming! It gives the illusion of a smaller waist! The off-the-shoulder look was beautiful, however, the straps kept coming up above my shoulders. It was still beautiful though. It was so sad to send this dress back.
Nareeya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

RTR was on point with delivery

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fits me like a glove. The top was abit restricting if you are trying to dance in this but other than that I felt classy and sexy at the same time. I had pasties on for the "girls" . It wasn't skin tight and still gives me curves. Loved the dress which I could keep it.
Felicia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Super comfortable & flattering dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Received tons of compliments on this dress. This was not my first choice but the one I had wanted to wear wasn't available in the size I needed. This was a risk but it definitely paid off. Very nice dress.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Amazing color! Super comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A bit tight in the shoulders- I have an athletic build. Would recommend going up one size if you know you are more broad in the shoulder area.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

Hot red dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress so much. And for the price, you can't beat it! It fits really true to size. There is a little side boob if you wore it like it's meant to be worn in the model picture (off the shoulder), but it wasn't a big deal. Great color, great length, great fabric.. I was very happy!
Cori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Such a knockout!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding! The bright color made me feel like I stood out from the crowd and the uncommon neckline gave the dress a different feel. The material was a bit thicker and hugged the body nicely, although it did stretch out a bit as the night went on. I would say order a size down if you're unsure at all... I went with the 0 because the 2 would have been far too big in the waist. Overall, I absolutely loved the dress and received compliments all night. It was the perfect mix of sexy and classy to see old friends and dance the night away in!
Kerri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2014

This is a great fitting dress and the color gives it that extra wow!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 6, but opted for the 8 because it was a wedding and did not want it to be tight and red! I loved the fabric it holds everything in and the red is really beautiful!
Laurel
Top Contributor
Age: 30
Nov 6, 2014

Perfect little red dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hot little form fitting number Iove my shoulders And this showcases them perfectly. Got tons if compliments. It does ride up a tad but not overly so. Material is thick enough that I didn't feel or look bloated even after drinking
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 7, 2014

Not-Too-Sexy Red Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for Halloween as I was Ms Scarlett from the game Clue. Fits snug but not too tight. I was comfortable all night except for the top the dress was a little restrictive. The material is thicker than usual but comfortable. I would rent again.
Eloura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Good for summer wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore to a wedding and was comfortable all night. The arm holes came down too much to wear a regular bra, so I wore a sticky one and it worked out fine. It was tight enough to hold everything in, but stretched enough to be comfortable.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Fits like a glove but still classy. A definite WOW.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding and received a ton of compliments. This dress fits great but was still comfortable. Pros; Popping color, fits great Cons: NONE!
Rezzan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

The color of the dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove. It was comfortable to wear. I loved the lengths. The arms were kinda hard to move because of the top. #derby #sororitysemiformal
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Sleek.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
You'll feel like an urban sophisticate in this dress! The off-shoulder neckline ups the starlet feeling, while the bold color and fit will have all eyes in the room on you. It's definitely not a dress for the meek. If you can handle the attention, go for it; I felt like a million bucks in this dress.
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Red hot

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was looking different and classy for my senior semi formal and this dress was the perfect mixture. The neck line was so flattering and recieved endless compliments the entire night! The straps were a bit annoying while dancing but it was well worth the bother. I definitely stood out out from my friends and that is exactly what I was going for!
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Stunning!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress! I received a lot of compliments. It is very tight and not structured at all, so you definitely want to wear spanx. I really liked the neckline, but it was hard to find a bra that wouldn't show on the side of the dress.
Krissy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

I felt beautiful, sexy and comfortable all night!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing and highlighted all the right spots. I received compliments all night and I wish I didn't have to return it. I ordered the zero and two and ended up wearing the two because the zero was a little too tight around my butt and thighs which also caused it to rise up more. The two fit great and also stayed in place all night and did not have a weird side boob like some other reviewers mentioned. This was my first experience with RTR and I have nothing but positive things to say. I can't wait for my next order!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

I was stopped by people all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a major hit at my club's Christmas party. I was stopped by people multiple times to compliment it and boy boyfriend loved the tight fit and the different neckline. As other reviews have mentioned the fit in the armpit area was a bit odd. However, I expected it to be much worse based on the reviews. I did not wear a bra (I have a small chest) and pasties were perfect for covering up where I needed to. A sticky backless bra would work as well. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look great at a fun holiday night or perhaps a bachelorette party with a red theme. I can definitely see it being a hit at a New Year's Eve party also.
celia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Got compliments on it all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The arm holes, while some reviews have mentioned can show your bra, I had no problem when worn correctly on my shoulders, though I have broader shoulders and large enough bust to fill it out. I imagine for someone with small shoulders it could be difficult. The length was perfect and fit well. Nice fabric but not too thick. Was actually worried that throughout the night it would stretch out and not be as flattering, but it didn't. The red has undertones of orange and was a tad lighter than I thought but still popped, and looked great.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Both sizes didn't work, RTR was great in getting another dress to me overnight... Saving the night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is such a great shade of red... I was so bummed that both the 2 and the backup size 4 puckered in the back, at the bottom of the zipper... It looked like a mini tail was trying to pop thru. This was ultimately the reason why I didn't wear it. I did notice a little bit of the side boob issue that other gals had mentioned. You won't be able to wear every strapless bra because of the side boob problem but I had one that worked out well.
Cheryl
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Beautiful, high quality dress for fraction of the price.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Fit was great. 8 fit very well. True to size. Only downside was arm holes were quite large. Bought a backless strapless bra, which did not work at all. Even if it would have stuck, you cannot wear a bra, because it will show through the side arm holes. Material of the dress was thick and form fitting. Overall, pleased with my first experience using RTR. Will recommend and use again.
Lauren
Age: 32
Dec 16, 2014

Great dress, got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Dress was a nice thick material. Great silhouette and loved the off the shoulder look. I ordered both the 6 and the 8, but decided to wear the 8 because it was a little longer and had a bit more room in the cut. I'm definitely a 6 up top but I'm more curvy and liked having the room in the butt. Overall, great dress and perfect for a holiday party!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Show-stopper!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a little RED dress that is not to be missed. It's a tight fit, so order a size up at least. The shoulder straps were a little annoying in that they don't stay down perfectly, but they were fine for our dinner date since I wasn't lifting my arms up. My husband couldn't stop saying how great I looked. Another solid rental here, for sure.
Adina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Such a beautiful shade of red! Classic elegant look!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved mostly everything about the dress! Super easy to wear but slightly loose in midsection.
Devaroti
Age: 35
Dec 22, 2014

Show stopping dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This dress is a lot of fun. Fabric is thick, so no need for spanx. Arm holes are a bit weird, but I sized down and was able to wear a regular strapless bra. Dress is short and rides up a bit while walking, but not a huge issue. Neckline is versatile, I wore it asymmetrically.
RTR Customer
Dec 29, 2014

Pretty dress... Fit a little ackward

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Very pretty holiday dress. I actually fit into the size 2 great but it was a little tight for Church on Christmas Eve so I decided to wear the 4 which wasn't as form fitting . Wearing a bra with this dress was hard since you could see on the sides under your arm pit. Braless would have worked out great if I wasn't attending church :) Overall very pretty dress and great first experience with RTR! Happy Holidays !
Willie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

22 weeks pregnant and felt sexy and comfortable in this dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Great fit!!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Wore this dress for a New Year's Eve Party, got lots of compliments! Love a good red dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs a bit small, I asked for a 12 to be sent out after requesting an 8 and 10...ended up wearing the 10. I think that the cut around the armpits is super weird...lots of potential for side boob. And the way the collar fit is a bit off if you don't have the right torso -- but I let it ride high and made the "off shoulder look" more of a "cool collar look" -- which was really fine with me. Not sure if I would rent again, but I am happy with the end results either way!
Ling
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Gorgeous color, got compliments all night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a NYE wedding, perfect for the night! The RTR pic is true to the color, it's a beautiful shade of red. Minus one star since there is a pretty decent side-boob factor. Finding a strapless bra for this was really annoying, I decided to use a strapless low back bra. It's VERY comfortable but also form fitting so it tends to ride up if you're dancing (also mind your pantylines). The sleeves/straps ride up also but that's normal with an off the shoulder dress. I definitely plan on using RTR again.
Keri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Great dress, perfect red color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for NYE party, was comfortable and easy to dance in (though had to adjust skirt and shoulders a few times). Got lots of compliments, wish I could keep it! Didn't wear a bra 'cause I didn't have a strapless on hand, the material is supportive enough to go without.
----
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Beautiful, unique dress -- tricky to get the right fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, but the sleeves are tricky to get the right fit. The 4 was a little loose in the shoulders, but fit elsewhere; the 2 was perfect in the shoulders, but too tight elsewhere. My first RTR experience was great overall!
elise
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 25, 2015

Love this off-the-shoulder dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Photographs beautifully. Great cocktail length dress for a formal affair.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

Super tight, but super hot

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is pure sexy. It's REALLY tight and fits like a glove, but good for a date night. The upper part fits oddly (for me) when off the shoulder (too loose, slipped down), but I was able to put it up on my shoulders and it looked better. I got the 6 and the 8 (I usually wear a 6) but ended up going with the 8. It's not very comfortable, and not great if you want to dance and not worry about your dress. But if you just wanna look hot and not eat a lot, this is the dress for you! Great color, I might add! I had a baby 4 months ago and this dress definitely made me feel like a hot mama! Hahaha :)
MO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Fits true to size, form fitting stunner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. The color pops! I styled it with dangly gold earrings, black shoes, no necklace and dangly gold and black bracelets.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

Best rental yet

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a sales meeting award dinner. I was worried the sleeves would roll up but it fit perfectly all night. Loved the color and fit. I would rent again for sure!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

This dress is formal without being boring or stuffy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress will show off any 'flaws' on your body, so be prepared! It fits like a glove and is unforgiving. I had to keep pulling it up/down to make adjustments (mostly around my hips) for a nice fit. That being said, it's a lovely dress and a great shade of red.
shessavvy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Showstopper of a Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Wore this dress to dinner with my husband for Valentine's Day. I ordered it in a size 2 and 4 but after looking at the two dresses, I knew there would be no way I'd fit in the size 2. The size 4 fit but was pretty tight. I wore pantyhose with a control top so they helped to smooth everything out. The material was pretty thick so it was perfect for the chilly evening. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress for someone with curves because it definitely accentuates them.
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Perfect Valentine's Day Dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Date
This dress fit perfectly other than the small bump in the lower back area due to the zipper. I tried on the 2 to see if maybe the 0 was too tight but the two had the same effect. It was not as noticeable as I thought and if you pulled the dress down every so often it would go away. The sleeves were perfect - not so tight that you couldn't lift your arms but definitely challenging to do without the sleeves moving up to your shoulders. I wish it had been warmer so I didn't need to wear black sheer tights and black boots (it was a blizzard here). Overall; My boyfriend thought the dress was beautiful. I would rent again but more likely in the summer.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×