Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

310 reviews

Fit
Small 61
True to Size 224
Large 14
Photos 214
Stefanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

This dress is great because the sleeves can be worn three different ways.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a great red color. Spanx would be great with it. My bra showed a bit under the arms.
Isis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Shoulders are too high maintenance for me. The rest of the dress fits amazing.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The rest of the fit of the dress was amazing, but the shoulders were just not working for me. The shoulder fold is not sown. The tag is options to wear the dress in different ways. I attempted wearing it as in the picture but it kept coming unfolded. I tried some of the other options and none of it was working for me. This is too high maintenance for me but for someone creative and some pins on hand could wear this well. Also the arm holes came really low on me.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

I cannot explain how many compliments I got on this dress. It was so sexy and I loved the color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got the 12 and the 10 because I saw that people said it runs small, but the 10 is what I went with and it fit great. It is definitely meant to be a tight dress though, so if you have spanx this would be the time to wear them.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Boyfriend said he was thinking about me all night in this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is one sexy dress. Great color! The straps came out of place a bit too much. I recommend Spanx for this number even if you don't have much of a bulge to keep the fabric from bunching too much.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Definitely unforgettable and versatile

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The marterial of the dress is thin and shows off the contours of your abs/general tummy area. The sleeves can be worn up or down as shown in the picture. I wore them up making a slight cowl neck with the extra fabric which definitely gave the dress a more formal look. Oh, and it's really body hugging... especially on your backside.
Jack
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 15, 2012

A fabulous Dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful. There is no stretch in the fabric so if you have bigger bust or butt you will need to go up a size. When you do you will feel it is a little looser on the top area so the sleeves will need tape or safety pins. The arm holes near the bust are a bit oversized and have the potential to show side breast. You should also note it will show every line so watch those undergarments girls!
Nelda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

Gorgeous, but didn't like the fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The color was beautiful, but I really did not like the neckline. Even though I used Fashion Tape to keep the neck fabric folded, it still kept moving around so I had to constantly fiddle with it. My waist is relatively small (25"), so the dress had a tendency to ride up and wrinkle in that area.
Muffin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Great dress but just not the perfect!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I am normally a 10 but I ordered the 10 and 12 as I didnt want it to be too tight for the date since it was afterwork. Unfortunately, a size 11 (if there were such a thing) would have been just right. The 10 was too tight more for a party and the 12 while it fit didn't stay in place as it could have. Overall, the dress turned heads but I was aiming to "snap a few necks". Great coloring, fabric, length! Just chose the wrong dress for the occasion.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Oct 21, 2012

Love the dress!!! So pretty in pics. The red pops

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress had been stretched out for sure. Should have got a 0. There was signs of wear and a fee pulls throughout the dress. The zipper stops awkwardly at the butt and sticks out. That was the worst part of the dress but I assume if I had the zero it wouldn't have done that!
B.K.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Oct 26, 2012

Great color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The red is very bright and fun but the dress was not as sexy or flattering as I hoped. The sleeves are a bit awkward and make it hard to move. Lookswise, they seem almost too thick or too thin (you can fold them in half to make them thinner). Stil, it's a very fun dress and might be cuter on someone a bit less curvy than me. Ran very true to size.
Ali
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

Great color! Super fun dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sholders ride up but runs true to size
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

Great red dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Stunning dress and received lots of compliments, but the fold over at the top did not stay which got a little frustrating.
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

I am not sure this is a dress for a petite woman.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It bunched to much, didn't like the fabric and the shoulder piece needed constant adjusting.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Very Sexy! Sleeves annoying...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, definitely wear spanx and your butt will look awesome. Arms were a bit fussy, probably better if you're doing more standing around than dancing.
Joan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

Great date dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Beautiful red color, the fabric was of high quality. It looked nicer in person than it did on the website. The length was an inch or two above my knees, and I am barely 5'2". My husband loved how sexy I looked in this dress.
PRgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 17, 2012

Erin was so great and helpful!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits perfectly! I ordered the size 0 and it was Definitely true to size. It looked great on and the color was fun and vibrant. However, the material is starting to become a bit fuzzy probably from overuse/cleaning. But that is hardly noticeable unless you are close. I did not end up wearing this dress because of the inside detailing of the end of the zipper (the bottom area)-- the "boning" of the zipper made an awkward lump or bump which made me look like I have a mini tail at the bottom of my back. Otherwise, the dress would have been perfect!.
Krystin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

The cherry red color really made an impact.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning, but it runs small and isn't lined. I was particularly annoyed that it wasn't lined, as the other Halston Heritage dress I have rented was thoroughly lined. Good thing I ordered both a 4 and a 6; in other brands and styles a 4 can be a bit big, but this brand seems to run rather small.
A
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Great color, thick, stretchy fabric, and great silhouette

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
For a night of dancing, the sleeves were a bit tricky. They kept sliding up my shoulders. But otherwise it was a great dress that was form-fitting but not too revealing. Iit was tight enough that I didn't need to wear a bra, but for those who do, you might want a stick on/backless one. The way the dress is cut might expose a traditional strapless bra under your arms.
A
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

RED HOT!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love, love, love, LOVE this dress. When I first put it on I was nervous it made my hips look big but let me tell you....try it n a second time and you will be in love. I wore it with black strappy shoes and long black earrings for my black tie formal. MAKE SURE YOU FOLD THE STRAP THAT GOES AROUND YOUR SHOULDERS DOWN!!!!! It makes a huge difference. Some of the reviews said the armpit holes were huge but when you fold the shoulders down like the model it totally solves the problem and makes the proportions on the dress so much better. Also, I wore a stick on bra the just covers the front. This prevented me from puling up my bra all night. I ordered the 2 and 4 and the 4 was to baggy around my waist. I wore the 2 and it fit perfect. The dress was right above my knees which was perfect because it added some elegance to such a sexy dress. Some reviews say it rides up and it does but it was totally worth it. I put fashion tape on the side of my arms to keep the straps down and it worked really well. I felt great in it all night! Definitely a show stopper and looks fab in pictures...I was too busy having fun showing off my dress to take any :(
AN82
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Dec 10, 2012

I needed a dress that was fun, yet not too sexy, for a cocktail party. This dress was perfect.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was between a size 4 and a 6, but ultimately went with the 4 since the 6 was too large in the sleeves chest. Received tons of compliments!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 11, 2012

Great Color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress, it fit great. The only downside were the strap, they kept riding up but that probably something that will always happen wearing a dress like this. But I still loved it!
Tabitha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 11, 2012

Sexy but didnt get a chance to wear it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hugs every curve, I did not prepare myself by getting Spanx, so this dress was out of the question for me :) It was beautiful though
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

I wore this dress for a Christmas party and it was stunning! It is simple and sexy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is a slim fit. I am 5"11 and it was a great length for me! The off the shoulder style was so fun. I wore my hair up and a big necklace...it all came together beautifully. Dress is comfortable. I normally wear a size 6 and I got a size 6 and 8...I wore the 6. This was my first experience with RTR and it was great! I have another event coming up and plan to do this all again! Thank you!
Coco
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 13, 2012

I didnt wear it...

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Its a beautiful dress, but the the arm piece that connects to the dress leaves a lots of space open on anyone who has a substantial sized chest i didnt wear it because i didnt feel the dress was very flatterin on me. But i think if you have a smaler bust then this dress would be amazing.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 14, 2012

Nice dress, but the top is a little too tricky for my taste.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a back-up dress and although it is very nice on a form-fitting, the top is a little bit of a pain. I would recommend if you have any type of bust you MUST have fashion tape on hand to keep it in place in the folded-over position as seen in the picture.
kk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Dec 15, 2012

Gorgeous cherry red

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love love loved this dress. Very unique. I ordered the 0 and 2 but unfortunately the 0 was unavailable to send with my order :( The 2 was just a little too roomy for me so I returned for fit. I was so bummed but will be renting the 0 in the future for sure! hot dress!
AAD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Great dress - super easy to wear

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is awesome. It's very comfortable and easy to wear. The off the shoulder look is daring, but not too scandalous. The fabric is thick and the dress is very well constructed. I would recommend a little shapewear - like I said, the fabric is thick, but not thick enough to hold everything in place. I've never worn spanx, even when I've gotten Herve, and I definitely needed some for this dress. Last but not least, be careful with the armholes in photos. If you're not careful, they expose some side-boob, which may not be appropriate for all settings. Otherwise, great dress; wanted to keep it.
Knwalk
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Perfect holiday party red!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately the dress ended up being inappropriate for my boyfriend's work party since it was shorter on me than the model. I'm going to put it on being a little bustier and having more in back than the gorgeous model. It did look great and I definitely would have worn it had it been a different event! It really hugs your body though, but the fabric isn't quite as forgiving as Herve so be prepared to Spanx it up.
Trimommy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Not right for the venue

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up getting my second size and the 4 was just a tad too short, too tight and ill fitting in the arm area for my frame. I'm 5' 11" and was planning to wear this to a company Holiday Party. I felt just a little too exposed with the dress being so tight (in a good way for my hubby), too short and off the shoulder. I think if I had the size 6 I would have felt a bit more comfortable. That all being said it is very pretty and this was the dress my husband REALLY wanted me to wear. I think I'll try the size 6 for a date night soon.
Liobov
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

Gorgeous but...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress and color but extremely uncomfortable since you can't really lift your arms
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×