Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
482 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(310)
Small
(74)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2016
Beautiful dress but runs small
This dress does not lie! It is a beautiful color and sexy fit but it runs very,very small. I am usually a size 4 and the size 6 was too tight to wear. Thankfully RTR has great customer service and was able to help me find a new dress. This dress would be best on a very thin body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2016
Very form fitting dress
Ended up wearing a different dress that I ordered because it was fit better. This dress fit and would've been great for a fancy date night, but it fit tight across my bum and seemed a little snug for the holiday party we attended. Arm straps were very stretchy and comfortable, but they popped over my shoulders when I raised my arms. Since the fit was tight across my bum, the zipper kinda poked out from my body and didn't lie flat.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Age: 19
November 7, 2016
Red Dress Date Night!
The dress was true to size and very comfy! Felt great about it. The top was a little big, but if I was bigger chested it would probably fill it out! Would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 5, 2016
Rented for a summer wedding in LA
I LOVED this dress! It is true to size and so comfortable! The material is that kind of stretchy material that hugs your. Pay in a flattering way. The dress was a great length for me because I don't like anything to short. I was even able to wear my baby in her Ergo and dance with her. Again, love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2016
Sexy and Comfy
Loved this dress and so did my husband. Fabric is stretchy and hugs you. Perfect for a night out on the town.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 22
October 18, 2016
I love the feel of this dress - it's comfy, stretchy, and stayed put. However, I think that the two dresses I received had been stretched out a little too much. My backside had a difficult time filling out the dress, which I had never happened to me before, and the bottom of the zipper was literally sticking up off of me like there was a rock under it. I would have worn the size 2 because of that, but it was so loose on me the dress didn't look right. Other than that, I had so many compliments and loved the night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 18, 2016
So flattering and classic
Runs tight, but is still so flattering. Classy and sexy at the same time. The material was different than I expected - very stretchy, and I expected the arm bands to be a bit thicker and "sturdier" for lack of a better word. Looks good still, just not as formal as I was expecting. Still highly recommend.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2016
Great dress for my boyfriend's holiday work party!
They ended up not being able to ship the correct size (2R) last minute. After some adjusting I was able to make the 4R work and ended up loving the dress! I used fashion tape to shorten the dress as it was a bit of an awkwardly long length at first; I was also able to wear a strapless bra, which was nice. It was very comfy, with a good amount of stretch. Due to the bigger size, I had make adjustments somewhat frequently, and the straps would slip over my shoulders occasionally (especially on the dance floor), but overall the dress was a success! It was perfect for the event, classy enough for a work event, but not too formal for a holiday party. (For reference, I'm 5'4", 120 lbs, athletic build)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
October 16, 2016
loved it! True to size and great material
no cons about this dress. good material
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
October 14, 2016
Love this dress! Wore it to a premier and it was the perfect alternative to a LBD.
Fit was great. I like the material and it fits very nicely over your curves. There is a little space under the arms area where you get a little side boob but other that than a great dress. Would rent again <3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2016
This dress was perfect for my sorority formal! I would highly recommend it!
The dress fits like a glove and hugs in all of the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 3, 2016
This dress fit like a glove! I received many compliments on it and it was absolutely great to wear.
The dress length was perfect for my professional function. Th color was on point!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2016
Very comfortable dress, the top wasn't too tight and the dress didn't ride up !
The only thing I disliked about the dress was it showed some side cleavage do to the fit of the dress, but overall amazing fit & very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2016
Sassy little number!
Fit: true to size, very form fitting but comfortable. Pros: sexy yet can be worn to a variety of events if you keep your makeup and accessories simple. I did opt to wear a pashmina with it during the wedding ceremony. I didn't need to wear a bra, but I am avg to small chested. Love the color and the off the shoulder look. I have broad shoulders, but I did not find the arms too restricting at all. The material is not super thick, but it is good quality. Felt great all night! Cons: due to the tightness, finding the right undergarments can be difficult... Even though the material is not is not too thin – it's not super forgiving. Food babies can definitely be made known ;) I felt like it rode up just a little bit when I walked, but it wasn't too big of an issue. While I do see how the side boob thing could be a problem, as some others have mentioned, it wasn't a big deal for me. But, again, my boobs are small. Overall, a great and fun dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 9, 2016
The quality for the price was amazing!
There isn't another LRD for the price that will show off like this
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2016
one of my absolute favorite dresses to ever wear
I loved this dress and if it was up to me I would wear it all day every day to every event! I received more compliments that night and from my pictures posted from this party all of my friends reached out to me to say it looked amazing. RTR was great also, I ordered at first a 8 and 10 but I asked for the 6 and it was sent the following day. the 6 fit however i felt the 8 was better to move in there were no lines and overall it was just a great fit! I recommend this to anyone looking to wear for a wedding or formal party!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 21, 2016
Birthday girl
Loved this. It really made a statement without looking over the top. It was a little big on me since I don't have much bust to fill it out but thought it was a nice length. The material held you in without coming off bulky. It was exactly what I he expected. The only thing is that it's hard to keep the top looking nice and lying flat while you move around.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 15, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
While I didn't end up wearing this dress, I did try it on for the fit/look. The 2 fit perfectly! Definitely recommend wearing spanx or something underneath because the fabric shows everything. Will definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
August 8, 2016
Loved it! Felt so sexy for my anniversary date.
Loved the fit of this dress! It fit true to size and I felt amazing in it. I'm giving it 4 stars for 2 reasons. 1. The garment straps were annoying and kept coming out of the sides in the back. My husband was on strap patrol all night. Lol 2. The band at the top was awkward how they have it pictured on the model. I ended up folding it over. It looked great like that, but I had to re adjust it a couple times throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 8, 2016
Form Fitting
The stunning red to this was beautiful, however I found it almost to tight, that caused the off the shoulder to adjust funny when I moved. would go up a size of renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
August 7, 2016
This was my 1st experience with RTR. I'm hooked! Super easy process & so fun!
Loved this dress! Super classy, sleek & sexy. I thought I could get away with wearing my strapless bra but the arm holes are very large so I ended up buying a bra with sticky sides & that worked. I love the neckline & felt so glamorous in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 25, 2016
Va-va Voom!
I normally don't like to wear form fitting dresses, but this dress accentuated my curves. It made me feel like Pinup model. The color red was not too bright and it was the perfect shade of red. Highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
July 20, 2016
Head turning hot dress!
I saw this dress and knew I wanted to wear it on a date night with my boyfriend ! The material was high quality and made for a great curve hugging fit! I loved the off the shoulder look although it can be hard to adjust the material just right when you first put the dress on. Also I was very aware of shoulder material because as I moved it would move up of shoulder or the fold would start to unfold! It was little bit bothersome but I still really enjoyed the dress and felt great wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 20, 2016
I had a wonderful night dancing the night away at a Chicago summer wedding.
This dress is the perfect medium between classy and sexy. The fabric is thick and just has that quality look to it. Only issue is that it came smelling a bit weird. I wish I could've found the right shapewear to hold in my tummy, but I ended up just wearing some high-rise panties to smooth out the lines. I rarely can find a sheath or body-con dress that looks right on me, so I was impressed with how flattering this dress was. No regrets on renting this one, I got plenty of compliments!
RTR CustomerDecember 2, 2016
did you wear a bra?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 23
July 14, 2016
Great for a party!
I loved this dress! I ordered a size 6 and 8. I was almost too scared to even try on the 6 because on the hanger they look like they run small. However, when I tried on the 6 I was pleasantly surprised with how well it fit and it was the one I went with.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 140lbs
July 6, 2016
This dress was beautiful, received many compliments!
Form fitting, beautiful dress - classy & sexy at the same time. The only con is that you can't really lift your arms to dance or hug someone without having to adjust the neckline.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
July 4, 2016
On trend & great color
This is called a "sheath," but it's definitely a bodycon dress! Thank goodness for the backup size-- I usually take a 4, but the 6 fit without looking SO snug. Wore it to a wedding in Brooklyn and got tons of compliments, very happy with the rental.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
June 29, 2016
Lots of compliments!
Loved this dress! It fit me perfectly and I was only able to order one size. It's a stretchier material but is very flattering and hugs in the right spots!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2016
Flattering but requires some strategy.
This dress is very flattering in shape. The color is closer to an orange-red than to a true red or a purple-red. I got a lot of complements on the dress and it looked good despite the fact that I am petite (5'1"). The dress did require some finesse in pictures though, as sometimes I took a picture without adjusting the sleeves, and they rode up and looked generally awkward in some photos.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 10, 2016
Gorgeous dress
The dress was beautiful & fit true to size. The arms were a bit restricted, but didn't really bother me. Overall, I loved it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
June 9, 2016
This dress is a dream!!
The dress fit like a glove. I wore the 0. It was perfect! the compliments rained down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 8, 2016
Very sexy, but in a more slightly more understated way, without my chest or legs exposed.
Very comfortable and I felt like a rockstar wearing it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34C
June 6, 2016
n/a
Fit like a glove. Couldn't wear underwear though because it showed but otherwise great dress! I got a ton of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 5, 2016
Lady in red!
Love this dress! Got a lot of compliments and had a blast wearing it! My only complaint would be I had to wear spanx because it showed EVERY detail!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2016
As my first RTR purchase, I was very happy with the quality, style, and overall experience. Great!
I am 5'7 and weigh 125. Fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 25, 2016
Beautiful! But not great for dancing.
This dress was beautiful and I got compliments all night! I thought since it was fitted I would be pulling it down all night but that wasn't a problem at all. I was comfortable enough to dance all night. The only negative of the dress I would say is that since it's off the shoulder every time I raised my arms when dancing I had to readjust the straps. Wore with a (faux) fur shrug to an outside wedding and people LOVED it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2016
Stand out color-perfectly form fitting.
VERY short with a tendency to ride up; even so, would rent again.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2016
Headturner!!
I rented this dress for a wedding. At first I was nervous the off the shoulder straps would be annoying when dancing, but they did not ride up as much as I thought. It has an elastic band around the bottom and did not ride up. Fits true to size. My boyfriend loved this dress and I got compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2016
Amazing dress. Looks stunning on and fits like a glove.
True to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2016
Loved the style of this dress!
I ordered this as a back up and didn't end up wearing it because I felt like it was faded and had been worn too many times. It fit true to size though and I loved the style of the dress.
See more reviews:
1 / 13
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×