Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
499 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(317)
Small
(77)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 1, 2015
22 weeks pregnant and felt sexy and comfortable in this dress

Great fit!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
May 11, 2015
Stunner!

I loooved this dress. My hair is black and looked awesome with this dress. I loved the fit. It's so sexy and received a ton of compliments. My favorite rental so far

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2014
The color of the dress.

The dress fit like a glove. It was comfortable to wear. I loved the lengths. The arms were kinda hard to move because of the top. #derby #sororitysemiformal

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 6, 2014
I felt beautiful, sexy and comfortable all night!

This dress was amazing and highlighted all the right spots. I received compliments all night and I wish I didn't have to return it. I ordered the zero and two and ended up wearing the two because the zero was a little too tight around my butt and thighs which also caused it to rise up more. The two fit great and also stayed in place all night and did not have a weird side boob like some other reviewers mentioned. This was my first experience with RTR and I have nothing but positive things to say. I can't wait for my next order!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2014
Beautiful, high quality dress for fraction of the price.

Fit was great. 8 fit very well. True to size. Only downside was arm holes were quite large. Bought a backless strapless bra, which did not work at all. Even if it would have stuck, you cannot wear a bra, because it will show through the side arm holes. Material of the dress was thick and form fitting. Overall, pleased with my first experience using RTR. Will recommend and use again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
December 16, 2014
Great dress, got tons of compliments!

Dress was a nice thick material. Great silhouette and loved the off the shoulder look. I ordered both the 6 and the 8, but decided to wear the 8 because it was a little longer and had a bit more room in the cut. I'm definitely a 6 up top but I'm more curvy and liked having the room in the butt. Overall, great dress and perfect for a holiday party!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 22, 2014
Show stopping dress!

This dress is a lot of fun. Fabric is thick, so no need for spanx. Arm holes are a bit weird, but I sized down and was able to wear a regular strapless bra. Dress is short and rides up a bit while walking, but not a huge issue. Neckline is versatile, I wore it asymmetrically.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
December 29, 2014
Pretty dress... Fit a little ackward

Very pretty holiday dress. I actually fit into the size 2 great but it was a little tight for Church on Christmas Eve so I decided to wear the 4 which wasn't as form fitting . Wearing a bra with this dress was hard since you could see on the sides under your arm pit. Braless would have worked out great if I wasn't attending church :) Overall very pretty dress and great first experience with RTR! Happy Holidays !

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress is sexy and classy.

The dress is form fitting. I also used fashion tape to hold the straps off the shoulder.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2015
Best rental yet

I wore this dress to a sales meeting award dinner. I was worried the sleeves would roll up but it fit perfectly all night. Loved the color and fit. I would rent again for sure!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 22, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day Dress

This dress fit perfectly other than the small bump in the lower back area due to the zipper. I tried on the 2 to see if maybe the 0 was too tight but the two had the same effect. It was not as noticeable as I thought and if you pulled the dress down every so often it would go away. The sleeves were perfect - not so tight that you couldn't lift your arms but definitely challenging to do without the sleeves moving up to your shoulders. I wish it had been warmer so I didn't need to wear black sheer tights and black boots (it was a blizzard here). Overall; My boyfriend thought the dress was beautiful. I would rent again but more likely in the summer.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 19, 2015
Fit is amazing! Compliments all night.

The fit is amazing which means it either fits true to or a bit small. It clings to every inch of your body, so it's rather not forgiving to any "trouble" areas, but it was beautiful yet simple....

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 30, 2015
Red and sassy

This dress just didn't work for me. The top gapped on the 6 and the shoulder was too tight on the 4. Ended up not wearing it then was overnighted a different dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2015
Very hot! Doesn't allow for much arm movement, but worth it.

Skin tight, fabric can be revealing of every little bump

Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2015
I felt like a movie star! I received so many compliments!

It fit absolutely great, it is a tight dress but ran true to size. I received non stop compliments about the color and style of the dress. I did not have any issues with it at all. Definitely wear a nude heel!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2015
The easy shipping is what keeps me coming back

It began to ride up a little but nothing unexpected for me. It was a gorgeous dress. I want to rent it again for another event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
May 28, 2015
The dress fit wonderfully!

When I received the dress (a day early...thAt made me happy) I looked over the dress, the zippers on both dresses were a little worn but not totally noticeable. Both the 0 and 2 fit well but the 0 fit better. The dress is pretty short but I'm 5'1 so it wasn't a big deal. I got a lot of compliments for the dress so the mission was accomplished!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Weight: 120lbs
June 1, 2015
Perfect for a work cocktail party

I wore this dress to a work cocktail party/dinner. It's a pretty color, the actual fabric is more casual then it appears online but was still appropriate for this kind of affair and got a lot of compliments. Runs true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
June 1, 2015
This fit great! I got a lot of compliments all night, even from the bride!

The only thing I didn't like was the straps were a bit unruly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
June 6, 2015
Sexy dress

Rented this dress for a weekend trip to Vegas Pros- loved how the dress hugged my curves and made me feel so beautiful and sexy No cons! Will definitely rent again

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2015
Classic.

The color was perfect. I did not have a problem with my bra showing that others did. I did find the dress a little stretched out so the fit wasn't perfect.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress! Loved it.

#cocktail #simple #greek

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 24, 2015
The dress was really an impression for my husband! I felt beautiful

The dress was extremely flattering but I have to pull it down because it was riding up my legs everywhere I walked so that was a real issue for me. I don't want to worry about what my dress is doing.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2015
I received compliments all night!

This dress was my first RTR experience. It was amazingly stunning. I originally thought I needed a 4 but glad I got the 2 as a back up size. I wanted it to my a little more fitting so the 2 was perfection! The color was also amazing!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 22, 2015
Sexy yet classic

This dress was selected for me by an RTR stylist when I didn't like the way my original order fit. We went through my style and the event I was attending and decided we liked this dress and another more formal lace choice. I tried both and my boyfriend LOVED this dress-- couldn't take his hands off me when i tried it on. I ultimately decided on the other though because I didn't want to be too sexy for a wedding. But I will definitely rent this dress for another occasion. I gave 4 stars because there is no forgiving in this dress. You can't wear any undergarments due to its material- they will definitely show. You also can't have a big dinner, either! I was also worried about sweat with it being an outdoor wedding- this material would show sweating especially because it clings to every part of you. However, I felt sexy in the dress and would definitely rent for a date night or bachelorette party etc

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2015
The color really popped. The 8 was a little snug but sexy. Stretched out a bit as the night went on

True to size. Arm holes were a little large but I have broad shoulders

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2015
Little Red Dress

This is a fitted yet comfortable dress. It has a lovely punch red color. It is a little unforgiving so if you have tummy troubles, I would get the orange dress that flares out at the bottom instead (by the same designer & everything). It will ride up but it isn't bad. I didn't have trouble with my strapless bra showing though the under arms come down low.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2015
The red really pops!

Awesome dress! Only downside is that you can see the side of your bra out the sides.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
October 18, 2015
Perfect Dress!!!!

It's a really pretty true red! I was afraid it would be too tight and would be too bodycon but it really hugs you in all the right places. It really stands out from the average black tight dress! I also have a big bust but it really makes your boobs look a lot smaller! I'd recommend going braless because the arm holes are cut a little deep so your bra will show.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2015
Head turner!

Straps were a little annoying, but overall not bad. I wore a strapless bra. Really enjoyed this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2015
Great dress but maybe not for a wedding

I liked the dress but would recommend the fit for a wedding.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
Gorgeous dress! The color pops and the stretchy fabric is very comfortable.

The dress has stretchy fabric so even as a tight dress it's comfortable. I'm happy I wore the size up of my two choices b/c you can easily see any underwear/panty line in the back so with the bigger size it was a little less noticeable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
December 6, 2015
Curve hugging

I loved this dress! I wore to a wedding in which my boyfriend was a groomsman and felt perfectly matched to his tux. The 6 was a perfect fit, but I felt better wearing the 8 so it wasn't too tight for a wedding. Could not have picked a better dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
I received compliments. Cute color!

The fit was not as flattering as I expected it to be based on other reviews. I would not recommend for pear shaped women. It was hard to walk in because the fit was tight. Only cute for standing still and sitting down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 20, 2015
Restrictive arms and thinner material than expected.

Not good for dancing. Dress fit well after going a size up from normal. Wore a 2. Usually wear 0. Spanx even showed under the thin material. Couldn't move arms without having to readjust the sleeves again. Won't rent again. First bad dress with RTR. Though I did receive a lot of compliments...

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2015
Gorgeous Color and Super Glam

Very beautiful dress. Great color, loved the off the shoulder straps. I have more of a pear shape- the size 2 fit much better in my chest and torso but a little too tight around the hips- so went with the 4. With the 4 it felt a little bunchy around my torso (mainly the reason for the 4 star review) but better than skin tight around my hips! Fabric is of good quality but will slow and bumps, add spanx for an extra peace of mind! This is definitely a show-stopper of a dress; if you're more of a wall flower or looking for something comfortable this might not be for you.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2015
Great inexpensive party dress. Loved the color!

Runs a bit small. But loved the color and neckline. Great value.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2015
I got SO many compliments on this dress!

I tried the 4 on first and felt that the back didn't lay right; even though the 2 was much better, the back did bunch up a little bit. The most bothersome thing was the little hanger straps that tried to poke out throughout the night--usually I cut them but since this isn't my dress I couldn't very well do that! My fiancé pulled strap duty. The fit, color, and shape of this dress were awesome. I felt great and comfortable the whole night. I wore a sticky bra to avoid issues, but think I could've worn a standard strapless and been fine also. I would absolutely rent this again and would love to own it! My fiancé was obsessed!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2016
Classy and sexy!!!

It did have a weird space under the arm but great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 29, 2016
Killer dress

The dress is very form fitting so be prepared to stand tall and suck in all night! But it's stretchy and easy to move in. The color is fantastic. I had a great time wearing the dress. I ordered a 6 and 8, but liked the fit of the 6. It felt true to size. The fabric is thick and very high quality.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×