Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
439 reviews
Fit
Large23
True to Size289
Small71
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2015
It was very easy.
I took the site's advice an ordered a size bigger. It fit like glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2015
Dress was beautiful
Dress was perfect! I chose to wear shape wear to smooth everything out. I had to be very cautious though on the type of shape wear I wore (needed to be very thin) because the material the dress was made out of was not very thing. Length was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2015
Perfect dress for the occasion
Rented this dress to attend a night out with the family for a Christmas themed symphony event in town. It was as expected, fits true to size and was perfect. I got many compliments. Easy to move around in but fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2015
I received a ton of compliments. The dress color was great and it was perfect for the event.
I'm an hourglass shape with wide hips. The top fit a little loose in the boob area, and was a little long on my petite frame. I had to keep pulling it down all night to keep it from looking scrunched up. Overall it looked great, I felt super comfortable in it, the fit just left a little more to be desired. Also, don't plan to raise your arms up at all. Help was needed to reach anything on the table or put anything around me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 2, 2015
This is an absolute stunner!
I wore this dress for a Valentine's Day date and it made the night perfect. I had one woman come over to our table just to compliment me on this dress. It was fitted but not too tight. It was the perfect length, above the knee but not too short (I am 5'1 however). The material is very thick and sturdy so it smooths in all the right places. I had to fiddle a bit with the top part of the dress that goes around the shoulders. I think the key to getting it to lay properly is to pull the dress up a little and fold the band over more. That way I was able to wear a strapless bra without anything showing. Another renter mentioned a "duck tail" at the bottom of the zipper in the back. I had the same issue but it didn't really bother me. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again. It was a hit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
April 2, 2015
got a lot of complement about this dress.
it's little bit open under the arm, large bust size watch out for the under arm opening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 30, 2015
Red and sassy
This dress just didn't work for me. The top gapped on the 6 and the shoulder was too tight on the 4. Ended up not wearing it then was overnighted a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 23, 2015
Didn't want to send it back!
GREAT fit and color! The fabric is stretchy so it's comfortable and easy to get on, and you can't really go wrong if you order your size. I was afraid that the sleeves would make my shoulders look too broad, but I was wrong. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2015
Red Hot Dress for a Red Hot Date Night!
I wore this for NYE dinner with my hubby, and he loved it! Got compliments for other ladies as well, and that's always a good sign. I felt very sexy and classy in this off-the-shoulder dress. Pros: thick fabric that hugs curves like second skin; long enough to wear Spanx Cons: so tight that I could almost see the Spanx seam through the dress's fabric (in the dress's defense, I know I was a touch on the heavier-for-me side around NYE time hehe); there was a tiny hole right below the zipper in the back; the spot where the hole was did a little "duck tail" sticking out thing which I wasn't fond of Overall, four stars. Not my favorite dress, but I would wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 19, 2015
Fit is amazing! Compliments all night.
The fit is amazing which means it either fits true to or a bit small. It clings to every inch of your body, so it's rather not forgiving to any "trouble" areas, but it was beautiful yet simple....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2015
It just would not have worked with big boobs. (Natural ones that don't stay where they are put.)
It was tight but not super flattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 18, 2015
I wore this dress to a semi-formal dance.
The zero fit, but the two was a little longer and just about as form fitting. I folded over the top part around the shoulders because when it was all the way up it bunched together. Overall I was very satisfied with the dress, but make sure you stand up straight in photos!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 8, 2015
i felt like a princess, the off-the-shoulder cut was gorgeous
it looks great with green earrings and red lipstick
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
March 5, 2015
I got tons of compliments and lots of admiring glances!!!
Be warned though, even a strapless bra shows under the arms. I wore a self stick bra with no straps or back. Very form fitting and flattering. This is NOT for the feint of heart though. If it isn't right on you it won't look good, you'll end up looking like you're trying too hard. I wore a Spanx tube slip (topless) undergarment to make sure everything was smooth. Great dress, real head-turner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 28, 2015
Amazing line!
Very sexy cut. Got lots of compliments. Great find!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2015
Rented this for my engagement party!
Loved this dress and will rent again. I gave it 4 stars as it was just a tad too tight around my lower abdomen but everywhere else fit like a dream!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day Dress
This dress fit perfectly other than the small bump in the lower back area due to the zipper. I tried on the 2 to see if maybe the 0 was too tight but the two had the same effect. It was not as noticeable as I thought and if you pulled the dress down every so often it would go away. The sleeves were perfect - not so tight that you couldn't lift your arms but definitely challenging to do without the sleeves moving up to your shoulders. I wish it had been warmer so I didn't need to wear black sheer tights and black boots (it was a blizzard here). Overall; My boyfriend thought the dress was beautiful. I would rent again but more likely in the summer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 16, 2015
Showstopper of a Dress
Wore this dress to dinner with my husband for Valentine's Day. I ordered it in a size 2 and 4 but after looking at the two dresses, I knew there would be no way I'd fit in the size 2. The size 4 fit but was pretty tight. I wore pantyhose with a control top so they helped to smooth everything out. The material was pretty thick so it was perfect for the chilly evening. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress for someone with curves because it definitely accentuates them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
February 11, 2015
This dress is formal without being boring or stuffy!
This dress will show off any 'flaws' on your body, so be prepared! It fits like a glove and is unforgiving. I had to keep pulling it up/down to make adjustments (mostly around my hips) for a nice fit. That being said, it's a lovely dress and a great shade of red.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 31, 2015
Best rental yet
I wore this dress to a sales meeting award dinner. I was worried the sleeves would roll up but it fit perfectly all night. Loved the color and fit. I would rent again for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
January 30, 2015
Fits true to size, form fitting stunner!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. The color pops! I styled it with dangly gold earrings, black shoes, no necklace and dangly gold and black bracelets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2015
Super tight, but super hot
This dress is pure sexy. It's REALLY tight and fits like a glove, but good for a date night. The upper part fits oddly (for me) when off the shoulder (too loose, slipped down), but I was able to put it up on my shoulders and it looked better. I got the 6 and the 8 (I usually wear a 6) but ended up going with the 8. It's not very comfortable, and not great if you want to dance and not worry about your dress. But if you just wanna look hot and not eat a lot, this is the dress for you! Great color, I might add! I had a baby 4 months ago and this dress definitely made me feel like a hot mama! Hahaha :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 25, 2015
Love this off-the-shoulder dress!
Photographs beautifully. Great cocktail length dress for a formal affair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress is sexy and classy.
The dress is form fitting. I also used fashion tape to hold the straps off the shoulder.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
Beautiful, unique dress -- tricky to get the right fit!
True to size, but the sleeves are tricky to get the right fit. The 4 was a little loose in the shoulders, but fit elsewhere; the 2 was perfect in the shoulders, but too tight elsewhere. My first RTR experience was great overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
Not my favorite rental
As other reviews mentioned, the arm holes are awkward. If I pulled the dress up (in the arm hole areas) there was a weird bunching over my chest, and if I pulled the dress down so the material was flush, my strapless bra would show. Also, the hanging ribbons were short and difficult to keep tucked in. I felt like I was fussing with the dress all night. However, I did get many compliments and felt very sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2015
Great dress, perfect red color
Wore this for NYE party, was comfortable and easy to dance in (though had to adjust skirt and shoulders a few times). Got lots of compliments, wish I could keep it! Didn't wear a bra 'cause I didn't have a strapless on hand, the material is supportive enough to go without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2015
Gorgeous color, got compliments all night.
Rented for a NYE wedding, perfect for the night! The RTR pic is true to the color, it's a beautiful shade of red. Minus one star since there is a pretty decent side-boob factor. Finding a strapless bra for this was really annoying, I decided to use a strapless low back bra. It's VERY comfortable but also form fitting so it tends to ride up if you're dancing (also mind your pantylines). The sleeves/straps ride up also but that's normal with an off the shoulder dress. I definitely plan on using RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2015
Wore this dress for a New Year's Eve Party, got lots of compliments! Love a good red dress!
The dress runs a bit small, I asked for a 12 to be sent out after requesting an 8 and 10...ended up wearing the 10. I think that the cut around the armpits is super weird...lots of potential for side boob. And the way the collar fit is a bit off if you don't have the right torso -- but I let it ride high and made the "off shoulder look" more of a "cool collar look" -- which was really fine with me. Not sure if I would rent again, but I am happy with the end results either way!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 1, 2015
22 weeks pregnant and felt sexy and comfortable in this dress
Great fit!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
December 29, 2014
Pretty dress... Fit a little ackward
Very pretty holiday dress. I actually fit into the size 2 great but it was a little tight for Church on Christmas Eve so I decided to wear the 4 which wasn't as form fitting . Wearing a bra with this dress was hard since you could see on the sides under your arm pit. Braless would have worked out great if I wasn't attending church :) Overall very pretty dress and great first experience with RTR! Happy Holidays !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2014
The color and fit are great!
Cons: you need to go braless, and while that didn't bother me, I could see it bother some folks.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 22, 2014
Show stopping dress!
This dress is a lot of fun. Fabric is thick, so no need for spanx. Arm holes are a bit weird, but I sized down and was able to wear a regular strapless bra. Dress is short and rides up a bit while walking, but not a huge issue. Neckline is versatile, I wore it asymmetrically.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 20, 2014
Such a beautiful shade of red! Classic elegant look!
Loved mostly everything about the dress! Super easy to wear but slightly loose in midsection.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 19, 2014
Beautiful dress. Very flattering
The top limits arm movement. I went a size up than what I would normally do and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2014
Show-stopper!
This is a little RED dress that is not to be missed. It's a tight fit, so order a size up at least. The shoulder straps were a little annoying in that they don't stay down perfectly, but they were fine for our dinner date since I wasn't lifting my arms up. My husband couldn't stop saying how great I looked. Another solid rental here, for sure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2014
The color is amazing. Definitely a show stopper.
The top of the dress that folds down into the over the shoulder look constantly rides up. I think this has a lot to do with being bigger busted. That said it still looked great. The fabric hides the pooch so I actually didn't have to wear heels.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
December 16, 2014
Great dress, got tons of compliments!
Dress was a nice thick material. Great silhouette and loved the off the shoulder look. I ordered both the 6 and the 8, but decided to wear the 8 because it was a little longer and had a bit more room in the cut. I'm definitely a 6 up top but I'm more curvy and liked having the room in the butt. Overall, great dress and perfect for a holiday party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2014
Beautiful, high quality dress for fraction of the price.
Fit was great. 8 fit very well. True to size. Only downside was arm holes were quite large. Bought a backless strapless bra, which did not work at all. Even if it would have stuck, you cannot wear a bra, because it will show through the side arm holes. Material of the dress was thick and form fitting. Overall, pleased with my first experience using RTR. Will recommend and use again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 15, 2014
Both sizes didn't work, RTR was great in getting another dress to me overnight... Saving the night!
Dress is such a great shade of red... I was so bummed that both the 2 and the backup size 4 puckered in the back, at the bottom of the zipper... It looked like a mini tail was trying to pop thru. This was ultimately the reason why I didn't wear it. I did notice a little bit of the side boob issue that other gals had mentioned. You won't be able to wear every strapless bra because of the side boob problem but I had one that worked out well.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×