Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
497 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(317)
Small
(76)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2013
It was a great color!

I usually wear a 0 but this dress felt very tight in a 0 to the point where I didn't think I could sit comfortably at the wedding or dance! So I wore the 2 instead but it was a little bit too big and started bunching up at the wedding in the middle area (as you can see in the picture). If I had worn the 0, it might have stretched out through the night but it was so uncomfortable when I tried it on that I didn't want to take the risk! It still looked very nice but I wasn't the most comfortable in either size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 23, 2013
Awesome!! Got so many compliments on this dress. Sexy but classy. Highly recommend it!

I usually wear a 4, but the 6 was more comfortable across the bust area. The material was stretchy, so very comfortable. Loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2013
Amazing dress! I actually ended up buying it! Makes you stand out in the crowd.

This dress runs a tad small, so opt for a size up. I usually wear a size 2, sometimes even a size 0, and I ended up going with a size 4. It was very comfortable and fits to your shape. I highly recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 13, 2013
This dress is fantastic!

I ended up wearing my second style dress to the Valentine's Day Party I went to, but only because the other dress was a little more "office party appropriate." This dress is SEXY!!!! Wear it out for your boyfriend or husband. Render him speechless all night long. I will rent this one again! It does run small, this was the first time my back up size fit (I rented a zero and a two, and the two fit better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
July 10, 2013
Stunning color, but a little uncomfortable

The top was a annoying because you have to keep pulling it up and down to avoid the side boob or the straps sticking up. Very form fitting, so it got a little uncomfortable to be in all night. Not my favorite in comparison to other dresses I've rented.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
This dress is a show stopper!

Wore size up because attended event with coworkers. Also wore hair long and loose. Hair up really accentuates the shoulders (in a good way!). Classy with an edge of sex appeal. Definitely pair with a neutral shoe to let the dress shine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Pretty party dress, but not a favorite

I have mixed feelings on this dress. I rented it for a formal rehearsal dinner and ended up not wearing it (unfortunately). I wasn't comfortable in it because it felt more like a party/nightclub dress rather than a formal family wedding type of event. It really hugs every single curve and is the type of dress that you do not want to eat a big meal in! The other thing I didn't like about it was that the off the shoulder was beautiful, but very tight so it kind of smashes your arm into your body, which isn't very flattering. If I did wear this, I wouldn't wear a bra with it but again, I would only do that if I was going to a nightclub type of event where it would be dark and not super noticeable that I wasn't wearing a bra. A pretty dress, but not one of my favorites from RTR.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
Not my favorite rental

As other reviews mentioned, the arm holes are awkward. If I pulled the dress up (in the arm hole areas) there was a weird bunching over my chest, and if I pulled the dress down so the material was flush, my strapless bra would show. Also, the hanging ribbons were short and difficult to keep tucked in. I felt like I was fussing with the dress all night. However, I did get many compliments and felt very sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2013
The dress was beautiful, but it was much smaller than I expected. I didn't end up wearing it.

The fabric was not forgiving at all. Spanx would have been an absolute necessity if I would have worn it so you couldn't see my belly button. The color was stunning, and I wish it would have worked. Unfortunately, it was not what I expected, but RTR was awesome and immediately credited my account!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
January 2, 2014
'Lady in red!' as my bartender friend remarked

Great color. Very slim fit so I tried the size 12 but the top band was too lose so I stuck with the size 10 and wore SPANX. I wore it with the top band folded down and safety pinned to hold it in place so that I didn't have to fuss with it at all throughout the night. Wearing it with the top folded down solved the "side boob / side bra" issue others experienced.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2014
Great New Year's Eve Dress!

Great dress. Fit like a glove! Runs a little small; I am typically a size 4, but the size 6 fit perfectly. Only problem was my bra showed a little under the left arm.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2014
It didn't happen..

Had to return it both sizes were way too tight..not flattering at all.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2014
Such a spectacular dress - wish I got to wear it :(

The dress came in and looked exactly like the picture, on the hanger at least, but unfortunately didn't fit. I usually wear a 4 and opted to take the second size in a 2 for some reason or another and ended up finding the size for to be beyond tight - unflatteringly tight. There was a few reviews that mentioned that this isn't really made for a bigger-chested girl and those are absolutely true. I felt as though I was spilling out the underarms and not so much the top, but I'm sure the appropriate undergarments could help that for someone that does fit the dress. I would absolutely rent this again, just consider going a few sizes up just in case!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2014
Great party dress.

As noted in most reviews, great color/fabric. I didn't find the arms to be too constricting but the dress does run small. I typically wear a 4 but ended up wearing the 6.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2014
So hot, but runs tight

I'm usually a size 2 or 4, but this ended up fitting better in a 6 unless you want it super tight. My husband wasn't complaining :) I would definitely rent this again for a special date night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2014
too small for me unfortunately

the off the shoulder detail was awkward and wouldn't stay put, thank goodness my backup dress worked out! runs about two sizes too small for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2014
Passed on this dress.

I ended up going with another option for the black-tie event. This dress was was a little bit shorter than I had anticipated (I'm 5'10") and I did not want to feel uncomfortable/spend the night pulling the hem down. Such a shame, because the dress is beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2014
Could not wear and could not get new dress delivered in time for event

Beautiful dress but highlighted my problem areas. Very tight through middle. So sad I could not wear to my event. Not the best fit for apple shapes

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 5, 2014
Amazing color but side boob was pretty significant; suggest ordering a size up

I didn't end up wearing this, actually. I love the concept and color but: - the side boob was serious for a very photographed event - the fit was snug for sure but had good coverage to not make it too unflattering - the chest is generally unflattering here as its hard to find a bra that works and isn't exposed -- I went with a strapless but the sides still showed and so switched to nothing and the dress flattened me out quite a bit - its really a legs and shoulders dress, but not super flattering on the chest or midsection (wish it was actually tighter at the waist - would have given me a bit more shape)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 14, 2014
Stand out red color and neckline made for a HOT yet classy dress!

Loved loved loved this dress. It fit like a glove but had some length to it so it was appropriate for a formal event. The only downside that might discourage people from renting is the sleeves kind of restrict arm movement-- but I really didn't mind at all because the dress itself was so amazing. It was a little tight- but that is how it was structured to be, so if you don't like form fitting dresses, I would rent a different one. I received tons of compliments and the people at RTR were incredibly helpful! Already rented my next dress!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 12, 2014
Weird fit

I thought this dress was nice but it ran a bit small. I am busty and need to wear sturdy bras so there was no way I would be able to keep the girls in line because it has these weird sideboob openings that would have shown the bra. The fabric is also pretty thick so I wouldnt wear it to an outdoor wedding. Its is really curve hugging so I would invest in some shapewear or you are going to be unconsciously thinking to suck it in lol Good dress just not the one for me :/

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2014
4 year anniversary!

Boyfriend was WOW-ed by this dress... It's tight but in all the right ways, defiantly wear a shaper and go for your size and the next size up.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 19, 2014
Beautiful dress. Very flattering

The top limits arm movement. I went a size up than what I would normally do and it fit perfectly.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2014
Beautiful dress...very classy. Got so many complements!

Loved it, but I normally wear a 4 and I was in an 8! It runs QUITE small

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 18, 2014
Sophisticated (and sexy!) LRD

I rented the Halston Heritage Smooth Operator Sheath dress to wear at an outdoor wedding. After reading the reviews, I decided to order my normal size 6 and a size 8 as my back-up. When the dresses arrived, I noticed that the zipper pull on the size 6 dress was broken off. The dress zipped up with a little work, but there was definitely some wear and tear. I have broad shoulders which caused some wrinkling in the back of the size 6. Luckily, the size 8 fit like a glove - and it arrived in mint condition too! The bold red color of the dress was eye-catching and I definitely stood out among the crowd (without overshadowing the bride or bridal party, of course). The length of the dress was conservative enough to wear to a family event, but the off-the-shoulder cut provided just the right amount of sex appeal. The high-quality material was super comfortable and the dress stayed wrinkle-free throughout the evening. I felt incredibly sophisticated in this dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again. TIP: The side arm cut-out of this dress is pretty deep and it prevents you from being able to wear a strapless bra. I have a relatively small chest and felt comfortable going bra-less for this event. However, if you have a larger chest, you may have issues with "side boob." Happy renting! xo. Kristin

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 19, 2014
Did Not Wear

Rented in a 6 and 8, the 6 was too small and 8 was too large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 27, 2014
This dress looks great if you have a full bust and tiny waist. Otherwise dont rent

the overall off the shoulder look I was very excited to wear but when I got the dress it did not sit right on my shoulders. I had to wear a jacket over it to cover up the whole reason why I rented the dress. I would advise those who have small chests to not rent this as you will not fill out the dress and the sides will be loose. The fit is tight.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
September 2, 2014
Dress was fun to dance in!

Very fitted but was comfortable because of the stretch fabric. Felt beautiful in it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 9, 2014
Simple clean lines and a snug fit make this dress elegant and sexy!

The dress fits best off the shoulder for that old Hollywood style. The waist has clean lights that are fitted. The material does provide enough stretch. I have a curvy back side and small waist the dress fits like a glove. Fashion tape is recommended if you plan on dancing in this dress. Overall appropriately length and form fitting.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 11, 2014
I had several compliments. Great dress

Hugs your curves. Choose a size up if you are little and curvy

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2014
One word...spanx!!

Such a hottie hot hot dress. Definitely form-fitting, so pass on the carbs leading up to your event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2014
This is a great fitting dress and the color gives it that extra wow!

I usually wear a 6, but opted for the 8 because it was a wedding and did not want it to be tight and red! I loved the fabric it holds everything in and the red is really beautiful!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
October 16, 2014
NA

Color is great but does run a bit small. Spanx work great underneath!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2014
Too snug for a parent/child function.

I may have been able to wear spanx and get away with the size 6 but I didn't want to feel uncomfortable.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 29, 2014
Could not wear the dress and had to return

Did not fit at all - bunched in the middle. Meant for a longer torso.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2014
Yikes

I felt like a sausage casing in this dress, no joke, but luckily it was my back-up dress. I think you need to be slender with no lumps and bumps for this dress to look good (b/c if you order it a size up - that isn't the correct way the dress is supposed to fit).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2014
Did not wear it, too small and too tight.

I didn't wear it, it was too tight in all the wrong places. 34D+ do not choose this dress, it's awkward in the chest area.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2014
The color is amazing. Definitely a show stopper.

The top of the dress that folds down into the over the shoulder look constantly rides up. I think this has a lot to do with being bigger busted. That said it still looked great. The fabric hides the pooch so I actually didn't have to wear heels.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2015
Wore this dress for a New Year's Eve Party, got lots of compliments! Love a good red dress!

The dress runs a bit small, I asked for a 12 to be sent out after requesting an 8 and 10...ended up wearing the 10. I think that the cut around the armpits is super weird...lots of potential for side boob. And the way the collar fit is a bit off if you don't have the right torso -- but I let it ride high and made the "off shoulder look" more of a "cool collar look" -- which was really fine with me. Not sure if I would rent again, but I am happy with the end results either way!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2015
Super tight, but super hot

This dress is pure sexy. It's REALLY tight and fits like a glove, but good for a date night. The upper part fits oddly (for me) when off the shoulder (too loose, slipped down), but I was able to put it up on my shoulders and it looked better. I got the 6 and the 8 (I usually wear a 6) but ended up going with the 8. It's not very comfortable, and not great if you want to dance and not worry about your dress. But if you just wanna look hot and not eat a lot, this is the dress for you! Great color, I might add! I had a baby 4 months ago and this dress definitely made me feel like a hot mama! Hahaha :)

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×