Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
466 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(300)
Small
(72)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2015
Simple, sexy cocktail dress
This dress fit true to size and is a sexy and bright alternative to the LBD. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because the color was slightly faded and appeared more of a deep pink than the bright red in the advertisement. Overall, I'm very happy with it and would rent it again for a cocktail event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
October 29, 2015
Loved it! Felt classy, sexy, and got tons of compliments.
I ordered the 4 and the 6. I ended up wearing the smaller size. It fit my shoulders better and I was able to wear it as shown on the model. Perfect!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2015
My last barristers ball!
The dress is absolutely stunning. When I first tried it on I thought it was a bit big in the belly (the fabric was not skin tight) but this just allowed me to eat/drink freely the night of my event with no fear. The top needs some fabric tape to stay down which I did for the pictures only. I wound up wearing a sticky bra due to the reviews and I don't regret it
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 28, 2015
XX
The dress was really cute, wish I wore the 0 instead. Every body is different and I have a short torso and large bust, finding a bra to fit this dress was difficult. Also there is absolutely no wiggle room with moving your arms up and down, I was forced to mimic a T-Rex all night with limited mobility. I think the dress is beautiful but probably best for small chested gals.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 25, 2015
Great dress!
I received many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
October 20, 2015
This dress in this color is an attention-getter for sure!
You definitely don't fade into the background in this dress. I wore this to a fundraiser and got a lot of compliments. The color makes it stand out and the fit means it's definitely not for the self conscious. I ordered a 12 and an 8 as backup (size 10 was unavailable). The 12 was loose around the shoulders and top half and showed a decent amount of side boob and the 8 was a perfect fit on the top and slightly tight around the legs. I went with the tighter fit because I didn't want to have to worry about any x-rated incidents at a work function. (A size 10 probably would've been perfect)! Word to the wise- it's probably not a good dress to wear if you think it might get hot and sweaty, it'll definitely show. BUT overall it's a great dress with structure that will turn heads when you wear it! As my friend described it, it's very Jessica Rabbit ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 20, 2015
This is a beautiful and flattering dress for most body types. It's sexy without being inappropriate.
I usually wear a size 2, but based on reviews, ordered a size 4 (the 2 wasn't avalable for my second size anyways). It was a pretty dress and fun to wear something different, but I don't think I'd rent it again. It was faded and looked sort of cheap and worn out, and the top was a stretched out so it didn't lay right across my shoulders and chest. Also, it wasn't very conducive to dancing (I wore it to a wedding). You can't really raise your arms and the dress creeps up. I'm pretty small-chested and have very narrow shoulders, so maybe this would be better for someone with a fuller chest and broader shoulders.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 20
October 18, 2015
Perfect Dress!!!!
It's a really pretty true red! I was afraid it would be too tight and would be too bodycon but it really hugs you in all the right places. It really stands out from the average black tight dress! I also have a big bust but it really makes your boobs look a lot smaller! I'd recommend going braless because the arm holes are cut a little deep so your bra will show.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 18, 2015
Hot Like Fire!
I rented this for a night on the town for my bachelorette party. What I love most about this dress is its understated on the hanger. However when you put it on, it's just wow. It's definitely a head turner and it's as comfortable as wearing a t-shirt. The neckline was a little hard to figure out but you'll find there is there is no wrong way to wear it. For me it ran a little big because it's not a totally form fitting dress. I would say it has a slight a line to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 17, 2015
Great, stand-out dress! Unlike other dresses, felt great in it all night!
The size fit perfectly! I wore a spanx style skirt underneath which was great because it didn't twist or cling when dancing. Also wore a sticky strapless/backless bra that didn't show through/from sides of dress. Loved the red color too!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
October 13, 2015
Loved the dress! Felt amazing wearing it and certainly turned heads
The dress fit a little big but I'm also 5'2" so thats typical. Overall, very flattering, gorgeous color and I got loads of compliments. I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2015
Stunning, sexy (but classy) dress - tons of compliments!
I wore this dress for a wedding and it was SO flattering. Spanx were necessary to smooth everything out - this dress is clingy and EVERYTHING shows if you don't wear Spanx. I wore a strapless bra with it but noticed that it showed on the sides through the arm holes (you can see it in this picture), but I couldn't go braless, so, oh well. Anyway, this dress is so sexy while still being classy. Great dress, and I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
October 5, 2015
Great summer dress
Wore this to an indoor wedding. The off-the-shoulder look is adorable. Thick (but not super soft) fabric, I opted for a size 2 (I'm usually size 0 but with my wider hips the size 0 looked too tight on me) which worked out fine. I think it's a great dress for the price!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 5, 2015
everything about this dress is amazing!!
This dress is amazing! I did not want to return it! It's sexy but classy and the most perfect color red!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
September 30, 2015
I wore this for a formal leaning cocktail party.
The fit of this dress was excellent for me and I received gushing compliments from everyone all night. This dress is the perfect amount of elegant and sexy - just what you would expect from Halston. For the specifics, I have an hourglass shape with a slender build and this dress was made for such a body type. If you have more ample curves I might suggest going up a size from your normal as this dress is very fitted but on the whole it is true to size. Both the 2 and 4 fit me; however, the 2 fit best with this off the shoulder style. You need excellent undergarments for this dress and I would suggest doing an all-in-one piece versus separates. That being said, any undergarment will need to be relatively thin and smooth as the fabric is very form fitting and you wouldn't want straps, etc. showing their outline. I would unequivocally rent this dress again - so much so that I've considered buying it to have for my permanent collection. Yes, it’s that good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2015
The red really pops!
Awesome dress! Only downside is that you can see the side of your bra out the sides.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
September 22, 2015
Stunning dress
The material of this dress was really nice. Although it was fitting and very body conscious, it was still flattering since the material was nice and thick to hold you in. I found the off the shoulder part to be too big for me, so I opted to fold it down for a sleeker look. I'm on the shorter side (5'2-5'3) so I was worried this dress would be too long on me but the length was perfect. Received a ton of compliments when I wore this dress for my birthday party. This was my first RTR experience. Would definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2015
Flattering and comfortable
The dress is super comfortable & doesn't wrinkle. FYI you cannot wear a bra with this dress--it will show on the sides if you do and you will also be able to see the whole outline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2015
Little Red Dress
This is a fitted yet comfortable dress. It has a lovely punch red color. It is a little unforgiving so if you have tummy troubles, I would get the orange dress that flares out at the bottom instead (by the same designer & everything). It will ride up but it isn't bad. I didn't have trouble with my strapless bra showing though the under arms come down low.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2015
Perfect fit - Chic, and sexy at the same time.
Got many compliments all night long. Was able to stand like a lady in it while also getting down on the dance floor late in the evening. Must make sure to have the shoulders sit perfectly so your bra doesn't peek out the side but it wasn't an annoying thing to me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 10, 2015
I felt fabulous in this dress. I have never received so many compliments in my life!
It fit like a glove. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6 and went with the 6. It was stretchy and forgiving. I danced all night and felt amazing in it. The length was perfect for a wedding. This was definitely a classy dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 31, 2015
My boyfriend loved it even more than I did
This dress is very flattering and the color is striking, yet it's so simple...an anomale. Be careful of the arms (in pics) because the gap underneath is big and you can see skin; so make sure no pinching of bra straps etc. I wore a sticky bra so I didn't have to worry about that. I'm tall so the liner for the zipper kind of stuck out higher by the tailbone, but apparently I was the only one (and my mom, of course) who even noticed. I'm glad I got a 2 because I had room to dance and feel comfortable. I didn't have to grab at it or push it down, it was so much more comfortable than I initially thought and if I could, I'd buy it in white for my wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 31, 2015
Gorgeous Dress - Hugs Everything
I rented this dress for an out of town wedding. It was perfect for the party, and I had a ton of fun in it - it felt very sexy with the off-the-shoulder straps, which was my favorite part of the dress!! The dress is very form-fitting, so I did have to wear a pair of Spanx to smooth it out underneath. I was pretty self-conscious about my midsection all night so I wasn't too relaxed. However, it turned out well and my boyfriend loved it on me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 26, 2015
Being with friends.
It was very comfortable. The only two things are: it was difficult to raise your arms and it ran a little big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 24, 2015
Sexy and flattering dress!
This dress was incredible! I wore it to a nice dinner with my boyfriend and the picture I posted on Facebook got tons and tons of compliments. I wore a size up because the dress is really sexy on its own and I didn't want it too tight. I wore it with gold jewelry and neutral heels. I would totally rent this dress again. It's amazing
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 19, 2015
The color of the dress was fantastic - perfect for the event!
The dress was a little loose around my hips and booty, so there was some excess fabric in the back; otherwise I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
August 6, 2015
Really pretty dress for a wedding!
Really liked the dress - it felt well with the exception of the sleeves. I think if I had broader shoulders, it would have fit better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2015
The color really popped. The 8 was a little snug but sexy. Stretched out a bit as the night went on
True to size. Arm holes were a little large but I have broad shoulders
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 4, 2015
Once again RTR saves the day! the dress was HOTT!!! got soooo many compliments
amazing
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 29, 2015
Bright color and amazing fit!
Loved the sleeves off the shoulders. Everyone kept complimenting the dress the entire night. Great fit and great color. Would definitely rent again. Wore it to my engagement party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 22, 2015
Sexy yet classic
This dress was selected for me by an RTR stylist when I didn't like the way my original order fit. We went through my style and the event I was attending and decided we liked this dress and another more formal lace choice. I tried both and my boyfriend LOVED this dress-- couldn't take his hands off me when i tried it on. I ultimately decided on the other though because I didn't want to be too sexy for a wedding. But I will definitely rent this dress for another occasion. I gave 4 stars because there is no forgiving in this dress. You can't wear any undergarments due to its material- they will definitely show. You also can't have a big dinner, either! I was also worried about sweat with it being an outdoor wedding- this material would show sweating especially because it clings to every part of you. However, I felt sexy in the dress and would definitely rent for a date night or bachelorette party etc
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2015
Lots of Potential
This dress could be really great, but I had some issues. The zipper duck tailed at my butt, it looked like the seam had been stretched out from where people had held it to be zipped up too many times. The place where my strapless bra strap clasped also flared out to the point it looked like I was wearing a microphone pack. I wasn't comfortable with all of that, so I didn't end up wearing it. But the dress is vibrant, the fabric is nice and thick but stretchy, it hit me at a good length.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
July 17, 2015
loved this dress! very flattering. would def rent this again
The dress size was accurate to the size chart listed on Neiman Marcus. Size 4: 34" Bust, 26" Waist, 37" Hips. for earrings I recommend the Kendra Scott Rose quartz.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2015
I received compliments all night!
This dress was my first RTR experience. It was amazingly stunning. I originally thought I needed a 4 but glad I got the 2 as a back up size. I wanted it to my a little more fitting so the 2 was perfection! The color was also amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 13, 2015
Great color for bodycon dress
I love the color. I normally wear a size 6 but there was a tiny spot on the collar front & center so I wore the back up 8. It looked quite nice except that with all the dancing I felt I was fussing with the twisting & the neckline too much. I do think the right size would have been better. Also, make sure to stay cool in the dress so you do not have show-through. I received several compliments, telling me the outfit was Hot but once I was moving around I felt self-conscious (and usually do not). I ended up styling with a top-knot 'do, pairing with strappy black stilettos, blingy drop earrings & bangle. I was able to wear a VS Very Sexy strapless bra, too, which didn't show when the dress was in place. This is my fitting room pic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
July 5, 2015
Classy
I've rented this dress twice now. Dress was a little stretched out the second time I got it, but still fit fine. I'm not the most fashion forward gal, so straight up copy RTR's model look, and I thought it turned out very classy. I never had any issue with the off the shoulder sleeves bunching up or anything. Stayed put the whole night, no tape needed. I wore it with a strapless bra, but did have to push my bra down on the sides to prevent it from showing. No biggie. All in all, highly recommend. Great price and super easy. And as always, RTR A+ for customer service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 28, 2015
From the easy selections to how and how quickly my dress was delivered...I loved it all!
I loved the fit, the material was somewhat stretchy which was nice. I received a lot of praise for my selection.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
June 25, 2015
I loved this dress and had so many compliments. I wish I could have kept it.
This dress definitely doesn't hide anything, but it isn't skin tight in a way that you can't breathe. The material is stretchy and comfortable. The 6 fit me but I had a bruise on my thigh that I wanted to hide so I went with the 8 since it was a bit longer. Luckily this fit well also, but the top part was a bit big, so I folded over some of the material. The top part fit perfectly for the 6. If you're trying to wow your significant other, then this is definitely the dress that will do it. So glad I picked this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 24, 2015
The dress was really an impression for my husband! I felt beautiful
The dress was extremely flattering but I have to pull it down because it was riding up my legs everywhere I walked so that was a real issue for me. I don't want to worry about what my dress is doing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 24, 2015
Sexy Dress!
Loved this dress. Hugs your curves and is super sexy and flirty with the off-shoulder neckline. My husband still says this was one of his all time favorite dresses I've ever worn.
See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×