Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
421 reviews
Fit
Large21
True to Size282
Small70
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
June 7, 2015
This is a "wow" dress.
It has the perfect balance of sexy and classy. It is very form-fitting, but the material is stretchy. I wore a strapless bra, which was occasionally visible in the armpit area, but not too much of an issue. The color of the dress is beautiful and eye-catching. This dress will set you apart from the sea of little black dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2015
Classic.
The color was perfect. I did not have a problem with my bra showing that others did. I did find the dress a little stretched out so the fit wasn't perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
June 6, 2015
Sexy dress
Rented this dress for a weekend trip to Vegas Pros- loved how the dress hugged my curves and made me feel so beautiful and sexy No cons! Will definitely rent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2015
ssssmokin'!
This dress hugged all the right places and allowed me to move freely (aside from some restrictions of the off-the-shoulder straps-- but that's to be expected with the style of dress). I ate and danced and played the night away in Vegas- without much fuss. The only bugger of it all was the off the shoulder straps. I had to adjust them if I got excited and wanted to lift my arms up, but it was absolutely worth it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 3, 2015
Hugs your curves and the color is stunning
Major side boob action and the dress constantly rides up. The fabric is thick and no need to wear spanx. You can't wear a bra with this dress, but it looks and feels great. The size was right on.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 1, 2015
This fit great! I got a lot of compliments all night, even from the bride!
The only thing I didn't like was the straps were a bit unruly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
June 1, 2015
Perfect for a work cocktail party
I wore this dress to a work cocktail party/dinner. It's a pretty color, the actual fabric is more casual then it appears online but was still appropriate for this kind of affair and got a lot of compliments. Runs true to size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 1, 2015
I was very noticeable.
It is very curvy, It showed off my hips.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2015
The dress fit wonderfully!
When I received the dress (a day early...thAt made me happy) I looked over the dress, the zippers on both dresses were a little worn but not totally noticeable. Both the 0 and 2 fit well but the 0 fit better. The dress is pretty short but I'm 5'1 so it wasn't a big deal. I got a lot of compliments for the dress so the mission was accomplished!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 25, 2015
Tight, Bright, and Perfect for the Night!
This was my 1st RTR experience and it was FAB ! I rented this dress for my spring sorority formal in Newport, RI. I read many of the reviews and viewed photos before choosing this dress to make sure it would flatter my small up top, large on the bottom "pear" body type. Both the 4 and the 6 fit, but since the dress was so tight I chose the 4 to hold me in a bit more (the 6 also had some excess fabric that created wrinkles). The main difference in fit between the 4 and 6 was the tightness in the shoulders. I wore a sticky bra and had no issues with the "awkward" arm hole gap that other reviewers mentioned. Although the fabric is well made and thicker, the dress is still VERY tight (not uncomfortable or painful though) and shows all. If you are the type of person to fixate on a tummy pooch spanx would definitely be needed or I'd advise you to choose another dress. I chose to fold the shoulder piece down since I have a smaller frame, but it still looked nice not folded (as pictured on the RTR model). I had no problems dancing in this dress and the shoulders stayed in place pretty well all night, it may have been since I sized down. Additionally, the zipper did not "duck tail" in the back on me as it has for some other wearers. Overall this was a great dress perfect for my occasion, my SO loved it !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2015
The easy shipping is what keeps me coming back
It began to ride up a little but nothing unexpected for me. It was a gorgeous dress. I want to rent it again for another event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
May 17, 2015
i love the dress! it's very casual. I wore it to a wedding dress and party later. it's perfect!
you can't move your arms that much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
May 11, 2015
Stunner!
I loooved this dress. My hair is black and looked awesome with this dress. I loved the fit. It's so sexy and received a ton of compliments. My favorite rental so far
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
May 11, 2015
It was my 30th birthday.
I really liked the color and cut of the dress, however, it didn't run true to size. It runs big and there was bunching in the midsection. I ended up making another dress selection because the dress didn't lay right on my body. I have a thin-athletic build, and I'm not curvy at all.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2015
Gorgeous, but ran a bit large!
Ran a little bigger than expected! Absolutely gorgeous dress, but there was some bunching/gapping and I didn't end up wearing it. Beautiful cut/color but would maybe recommend ordering down!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 29, 2015
LOVED the dress and the color
The fit was great. The only issue I had with the dress was that the off the shoulders flap kept riding up and looked strange, so I had to keep pulling it down.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2015
I felt like a movie star! I received so many compliments!
It fit absolutely great, it is a tight dress but ran true to size. I received non stop compliments about the color and style of the dress. I did not have any issues with it at all. Definitely wear a nude heel!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 22, 2015
Comfortable and stunning
I wore this for an outdoor summer wedding and it was so much fun to wear. It was easy to wear, I was able to eat, dance and overall it was a great dress. I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2015
Very hot! Doesn't allow for much arm movement, but worth it.
Skin tight, fabric can be revealing of every little bump
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
April 21, 2015
I absolutely loved it!
I got a lot of compliments on this dress and I love it so much! It is simple, yet unique and classy, wish I just get to keep it forever haha.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2015
Not my favorite
Great color but fits really strange at the top. The 10 was not available and by the end of the night the 12 was swimming on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 20, 2015
Formfitting Gorgeous Red Dress
Rented for a date night in San Francisco. Absolutely loved this dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2015
It was very easy.
I took the site's advice an ordered a size bigger. It fit like glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2015
Dress was beautiful
Dress was perfect! I chose to wear shape wear to smooth everything out. I had to be very cautious though on the type of shape wear I wore (needed to be very thin) because the material the dress was made out of was not very thing. Length was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2015
Perfect dress for the occasion
Rented this dress to attend a night out with the family for a Christmas themed symphony event in town. It was as expected, fits true to size and was perfect. I got many compliments. Easy to move around in but fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 6, 2015
I received a ton of compliments. The dress color was great and it was perfect for the event.
I'm an hourglass shape with wide hips. The top fit a little loose in the boob area, and was a little long on my petite frame. I had to keep pulling it down all night to keep it from looking scrunched up. Overall it looked great, I felt super comfortable in it, the fit just left a little more to be desired. Also, don't plan to raise your arms up at all. Help was needed to reach anything on the table or put anything around me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 2, 2015
This is an absolute stunner!
I wore this dress for a Valentine's Day date and it made the night perfect. I had one woman come over to our table just to compliment me on this dress. It was fitted but not too tight. It was the perfect length, above the knee but not too short (I am 5'1 however). The material is very thick and sturdy so it smooths in all the right places. I had to fiddle a bit with the top part of the dress that goes around the shoulders. I think the key to getting it to lay properly is to pull the dress up a little and fold the band over more. That way I was able to wear a strapless bra without anything showing. Another renter mentioned a "duck tail" at the bottom of the zipper in the back. I had the same issue but it didn't really bother me. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again. It was a hit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
April 2, 2015
got a lot of complement about this dress.
it's little bit open under the arm, large bust size watch out for the under arm opening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 30, 2015
Red and sassy
This dress just didn't work for me. The top gapped on the 6 and the shoulder was too tight on the 4. Ended up not wearing it then was overnighted a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 23, 2015
Didn't want to send it back!
GREAT fit and color! The fabric is stretchy so it's comfortable and easy to get on, and you can't really go wrong if you order your size. I was afraid that the sleeves would make my shoulders look too broad, but I was wrong. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2015
Red Hot Dress for a Red Hot Date Night!
I wore this for NYE dinner with my hubby, and he loved it! Got compliments for other ladies as well, and that's always a good sign. I felt very sexy and classy in this off-the-shoulder dress. Pros: thick fabric that hugs curves like second skin; long enough to wear Spanx Cons: so tight that I could almost see the Spanx seam through the dress's fabric (in the dress's defense, I know I was a touch on the heavier-for-me side around NYE time hehe); there was a tiny hole right below the zipper in the back; the spot where the hole was did a little "duck tail" sticking out thing which I wasn't fond of Overall, four stars. Not my favorite dress, but I would wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 19, 2015
Fit is amazing! Compliments all night.
The fit is amazing which means it either fits true to or a bit small. It clings to every inch of your body, so it's rather not forgiving to any "trouble" areas, but it was beautiful yet simple....
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2015
It just would not have worked with big boobs. (Natural ones that don't stay where they are put.)
It was tight but not super flattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 18, 2015
I wore this dress to a semi-formal dance.
The zero fit, but the two was a little longer and just about as form fitting. I folded over the top part around the shoulders because when it was all the way up it bunched together. Overall I was very satisfied with the dress, but make sure you stand up straight in photos!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 8, 2015
i felt like a princess, the off-the-shoulder cut was gorgeous
it looks great with green earrings and red lipstick
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
March 5, 2015
I got tons of compliments and lots of admiring glances!!!
Be warned though, even a strapless bra shows under the arms. I wore a self stick bra with no straps or back. Very form fitting and flattering. This is NOT for the feint of heart though. If it isn't right on you it won't look good, you'll end up looking like you're trying too hard. I wore a Spanx tube slip (topless) undergarment to make sure everything was smooth. Great dress, real head-turner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 28, 2015
Amazing line!
Very sexy cut. Got lots of compliments. Great find!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2015
Rented this for my engagement party!
Loved this dress and will rent again. I gave it 4 stars as it was just a tad too tight around my lower abdomen but everywhere else fit like a dream!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day Dress
This dress fit perfectly other than the small bump in the lower back area due to the zipper. I tried on the 2 to see if maybe the 0 was too tight but the two had the same effect. It was not as noticeable as I thought and if you pulled the dress down every so often it would go away. The sleeves were perfect - not so tight that you couldn't lift your arms but definitely challenging to do without the sleeves moving up to your shoulders. I wish it had been warmer so I didn't need to wear black sheer tights and black boots (it was a blizzard here). Overall; My boyfriend thought the dress was beautiful. I would rent again but more likely in the summer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 16, 2015
Showstopper of a Dress
Wore this dress to dinner with my husband for Valentine's Day. I ordered it in a size 2 and 4 but after looking at the two dresses, I knew there would be no way I'd fit in the size 2. The size 4 fit but was pretty tight. I wore pantyhose with a control top so they helped to smooth everything out. The material was pretty thick so it was perfect for the chilly evening. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress for someone with curves because it definitely accentuates them.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×