Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
491 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(315)
Small
(75)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2013
So sexy!
I ended up not wearing this for a wedding, but would definitely rent again to wear for a girls night or a fun social night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 4, 2013
Stand out dress!
I'm not surprised at all on how many people have commented the strap won't stay in place. You are not supposed to fold it! I did at first, then re-looked at the pictures, & realized that no, it is supposed to lie flat. With the strap flat as-is, it was very comfortable & did not move at all. There IS some side boob action - I initially tried on the 4, as it looked tiny out of the box, but it left a little gap under my arm where this would have been an issue. So, I sucked in & went for the 2. It honestly didn't feel any tighter, & there was no side gap. Spanx were not an option, as the dress is so tight it showed the line at the top when I tried putting them on. Oh well...I was able to wear a sticky bra, which was fine. I was also a little worried the first time I put this on, thinking it was very pretty, but almost looks like your typical dress from the mall. Once I had the shoes, makeup & hair done, I felt better about it. It's not my favorite rental ever, but definitely a stand out dress. Red is always fun!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
Beautiful but Not Perfect
I thought about the dress I would wear for my one-year wedding anniversary in Vegas for months, and this one always escaped my attention. I had a few others in mind but decided to stay within a budget, so went with this one as a backup to a Nicole Miller dress on a whim because I love off-the-shoulder styles. My typical choice is black so I decided to go with red to step out of my comfort zone. This is a true red. It is very attention grabbing (but if you're looking to rent a red dress, you probably know that already). I am a true hourglass and this dress accented every curve. Spanx are mandatory for those with any bumps (I have many). I really appreciated the more modest length. I decided to go braless as I had no time to find a bra that would work with the arm cutout situation. It wasn't a terrible choice but if I had more time, I probably would have invested more energy in finding a flattering bra. Overall, this dress made me feel pretty foxy, but since I had to wear Spanx, it was more of a "eat food and regret it" kind of dress. My husband did like it (but ended up loving another dress I already owned more, I went with this one anyway). If you have the shape, you should totally rock it though. It is very sexy and a moderately priced swap-out for all of the available red Herve's. I would size down and wear Spanx.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 10, 2013
Stunning color, but a little uncomfortable
The top was a annoying because you have to keep pulling it up and down to avoid the side boob or the straps sticking up. Very form fitting, so it got a little uncomfortable to be in all night. Not my favorite in comparison to other dresses I've rented.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
August 5, 2013
Fit great
Beautiful dress, fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2013
Fell short of expectations
I had high hopes for this dress however it fell short of my expectations. The color was flattering and the fit was true to size, however my biggest issue was that I could not raise my arms .... like, ever. The second issue is there is a gape underneath the arm, so there is some major side boob action going on, and no bra can be worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
October 13, 2013
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and LOVED IT!!
Overall, this dress is stunning. A fabulous color red and adoring neckline. The hemline is perfect sitting right at mid-thigh. My only complaint is that the neckline kept sliding up and had to be pulled down to create the dramatic, straight effect. The fit is slimming and hugged all the right spots. I had help with my accessories (Alexis Bittar earrings and Rebecca Minkoff clutch) because my ideal clutch was out of reach for my perfect night...but as always a successful evening with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
This dress is a show stopper!
Wore size up because attended event with coworkers. Also wore hair long and loose. Hair up really accentuates the shoulders (in a good way!). Classy with an edge of sex appeal. Definitely pair with a neutral shoe to let the dress shine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Pretty party dress, but not a favorite
I have mixed feelings on this dress. I rented it for a formal rehearsal dinner and ended up not wearing it (unfortunately). I wasn't comfortable in it because it felt more like a party/nightclub dress rather than a formal family wedding type of event. It really hugs every single curve and is the type of dress that you do not want to eat a big meal in! The other thing I didn't like about it was that the off the shoulder was beautiful, but very tight so it kind of smashes your arm into your body, which isn't very flattering. If I did wear this, I wouldn't wear a bra with it but again, I would only do that if I was going to a nightclub type of event where it would be dark and not super noticeable that I wasn't wearing a bra. A pretty dress, but not one of my favorites from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Pretty ...
This was a pretty dress, but definitely had been worn alot. The red on the zipper had started to come off. Besides that, I got several compliments. Definitely runs true to size. I wore a 0 ... the size 2 was brand new with the tag on it still ...
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 12, 2013
I wore this dress for my birthday/Michael Buble concert. The dress was stunning.
I found the dress to be true to size. It's a nice fitted material. It rides up a little but other than that, it's amazing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 13, 2013
Be ready to be the center of attention!
The dress definitely boosted my confidence! I'd give this 5 stars, but the back zipper was a little long and bunched up a bit towards the bottom (and my torso is pretty long).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2013
Backup Dress
It was very form fitting, as depicted in the stock photo. It looked great! IF you were standing completely still, the second I moved it would bunch up around the waist and the sleeves would move over my shoulders. It is a very flattering dress, I wouldn't recommend wearing it for a dance if you're looking to have a good time.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2013
Sexy with a touch of class!
I got this gorgeous dress to wear for my 9 year wedding anniversary. My husband loved the way the dress hugged my curves, this dress is a show stopper! I received so many complements, I loved that is was super stretchy, it really is true to it size didn't event have to try on the size 4. There were a lot of complaints about the straps riding up. You are not supposed to fold it, leave it flat. I never had to tug or adjust them. Overall, this was my first RTR rental and was beyond impressed. I will be ordering again soon!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
Flattering!
So beautiful and an amazing fit. The color is vibrant; I would recommend this for any date or party. I didn't want to return it!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2013
Loved it!
I wore this for my work holiday party. Although the 6 fit well, I decided to wear the 8. Both sizes fit great! Got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
Not my favorite rental
As other reviews mentioned, the arm holes are awkward. If I pulled the dress up (in the arm hole areas) there was a weird bunching over my chest, and if I pulled the dress down so the material was flush, my strapless bra would show. Also, the hanging ribbons were short and difficult to keep tucked in. I felt like I was fussing with the dress all night. However, I did get many compliments and felt very sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2013
Great dress
Great valentine's day dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2013
The dress was beautiful, but it was much smaller than I expected. I didn't end up wearing it.
The fabric was not forgiving at all. Spanx would have been an absolute necessity if I would have worn it so you couldn't see my belly button. The color was stunning, and I wish it would have worked. Unfortunately, it was not what I expected, but RTR was awesome and immediately credited my account!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 19, 2013
Don't fold the neckline!
Don't fold the neckline! It will fall down, and it just doesn't look as sleek.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2013
Classic dress and sexy silhouette perfect for any occassion.
I rented this dress to wear to a formal work Christmas party. It wasn't my first choice but the first two I rented from RTR didn't work out. I opted for this because of the bold color and off-the-shoulder look. Fabric is very stretchy and slimming. Even if you don't need it I recommend wearing Spanx just to give your body a smoother look since there is no room for error in this dress. The shoulder strap does ride up even when you lie it flat across the shoulders. Although this wasn't my favorite rental, it did end up looking hot. I paired it with sparkly gold glitter pumps, gold chandelier earrings, and gold bangle bracelets.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 29, 2013
I loved this dress!!
Great dress for girls with broad shoulders for their size. I could see how this dress may not fit well for girls with a more slight build on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
December 31, 2013
GREAT potential, but sadly did not work out for me
The 0 fit very close to the body & was pretty smoking hot, but there was a stain on the interior in the back that showed slightly on the outside. When I use chat RTR, go to girl Didi - I didn't want RTR to think I had left that stain on it - offered to refund the charge for that part of my rental. Another amazing service experience with RTR, which is why I went "Pro". My backup size 2 actually looked better from the front (shown in pictures) but had a little "pooch" out under the zipper in the back so it was too big. The length is perfect for a glove fitting dress. It might have worked better for me if I had more behind to fill in the size 2. I could definitely see the potential for this being a fabulous dress if only the 0 was clean! The dresses also looked a little worn out, but it's possible the red was originally a bit faded out.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2014
The size worn was actually a L
I did love the color and collar of the dress. Definitely stood out. However the sleeve part of it is really tricky and I was constantly fidgeting with it. The dress isn't forgiving at all so you have to be comfortable with your figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
January 2, 2014
'Lady in red!' as my bartender friend remarked
Great color. Very slim fit so I tried the size 12 but the top band was too lose so I stuck with the size 10 and wore SPANX. I wore it with the top band folded down and safety pinned to hold it in place so that I didn't have to fuss with it at all throughout the night. Wearing it with the top folded down solved the "side boob / side bra" issue others experienced.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2014
Great New Year's Eve Dress!
Great dress. Fit like a glove! Runs a little small; I am typically a size 4, but the size 6 fit perfectly. Only problem was my bra showed a little under the left arm.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2014
It didn't happen..
Had to return it both sizes were way too tight..not flattering at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 4, 2014
Wore this to a New Years Eve Wedding and got SOOOOO many compliments! Definite head turner!
I wore this gorgeous Halston dress for NYE.... I felt amazing and got so many compliments on it... But the best part was that my boyfriend said those special three little words for the first time during the countdown. I will always remember that moment and that perfect little red dress. Thank you RTR! #NYEwithRTR. Very comfortable and flattering. Appropriate for any occasion. I LOVED this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2014
Such a spectacular dress - wish I got to wear it :(
The dress came in and looked exactly like the picture, on the hanger at least, but unfortunately didn't fit. I usually wear a 4 and opted to take the second size in a 2 for some reason or another and ended up finding the size for to be beyond tight - unflatteringly tight. There was a few reviews that mentioned that this isn't really made for a bigger-chested girl and those are absolutely true. I felt as though I was spilling out the underarms and not so much the top, but I'm sure the appropriate undergarments could help that for someone that does fit the dress. I would absolutely rent this again, just consider going a few sizes up just in case!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2014
This dress was bold, flattering, & attracted compliments like no other!
This is one of my favorite RTR purchases of all time. The dress overall helped me pull off an old Hollywood type look once my hair & makeup were done. The neckline was gorgeous and the color didn't wash me out (I usually have to be careful with reds) I'm 5'1 and 125 lbs with a 34c cup and the dress fit like a glove. It was also easy to move around in when it was time to hit the dance floor! I highly recommend it.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2014
Perfect for NYE
The color totally popped...especially since so many women were wearing black. The fabric is flattering and hugs your body without squeezing. I have very broad shoulders so I allowed the straps to sit on top and pulled them down for a few photos. Great for athletic build.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2014
That neckline! Unfortunately, not for those with small derrières.
I loved the color and style of this dress! Unfortunately, borrowing the infamous words of Sir Mix-A-Lot, I have a small butt, and I cannot lie. Because my rump is on the flatter (rather than fuller) side, the fabric in the back wasn't completely stretched out, and the zipper took on an awkward shape. Not flattering, like, AT ALL. HOWEVER, my sister (who was genetically blessed with more curves; pictured), WAS able to wear the dress, and looked absolutely STUNNING! Seriously. That neckline. For me, this is definitely the dress that got away.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
January 18, 2014
Great Dress! Liked but didn't Love it.
There was really nothing wrong with the dress at all, it just wasn't the best choice for me stylistically.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 5, 2014
My boyfriend wanted me to keep it.
The dress has a lot of stretch. I ordered the 2 and 0, but wore the 2. You can wear it with the neck line unfolded for a more elegant look or folded down for a more sexy look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2014
Great party dress.
As noted in most reviews, great color/fabric. I didn't find the arms to be too constricting but the dress does run small. I typically wear a 4 but ended up wearing the 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2014
Classiy, Simple, & Sexy
I wore this for Valentine's Day. The fabric is a bit stretchy which is nice and comfortable. I would not recommend this dress to anyone with a large bust. I'm not very top-heavy but it was even somewhat tight on my chest. The off-the-shoulder look is very flirty; however, you won't have full range of your arms because of this so I would not recommend wearing this dress to go dancing (very tight on the shoulders). The overall fit is amazing and definitely a head-turner. Sometimes, a classic look like this paired with the right accessories is all you need to stand out.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 16, 2014
The dress was Beautiful! The fit is very tight, but flattering. I received compliments all night.
The dress is Very Tight and was a little ackward on the top, I had issues figuring out how to properly fold the top and it wouldn't stay folded through the night. Overall I really liked the dress and I felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2014
Great color and neckline
The dress was very snug on top, but I loved the neckline. Overall the dress fit well but the bottom of the dress by my legs could have been tighter. I wore it for valentine's day and it was perfect for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2014
This dress fits beautifully! i actually own it in black and always get compliments on it.
Unfortunately, I did not get to wear this dress to my event :( A major cold front came in and I had to improvise and wear something else last minute that had long sleeves. I was so sad!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
February 18, 2014
Great Valentine's Day Dress!
It was a very sexy dress! I think the off the shoulder look makes it unique and a look I wouldn't usually go for which is why Rent the Runway is such a good idea. Like others said the dress was it was pretty tight around the arms so you couldn't lift them very high but that didn't really matter, especially if you know that going into the rental. Beside that the dress was comfortable and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×