Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

352 reviews

Fit
Small 62
True to Size 243
Large 17
Photos 241
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

It was a great color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 0 but this dress felt very tight in a 0 to the point where I didn't think I could sit comfortably at the wedding or dance! So I wore the 2 instead but it was a little bit too big and started bunching up at the wedding in the middle area (as you can see in the picture). If I had worn the 0, it might have stretched out through the night but it was so uncomfortable when I tried it on that I didn't want to take the risk! It still looked very nice but I wasn't the most comfortable in either size.
Brady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

My boyfriend wanted me to keep it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress has a lot of stretch. I ordered the 2 and 0, but wore the 2. You can wear it with the neck line unfolded for a more elegant look or folded down for a more sexy look.
Lex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Classiy, Simple, & Sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for Valentine's Day. The fabric is a bit stretchy which is nice and comfortable. I would not recommend this dress to anyone with a large bust. I'm not very top-heavy but it was even somewhat tight on my chest. The off-the-shoulder look is very flirty; however, you won't have full range of your arms because of this so I would not recommend wearing this dress to go dancing (very tight on the shoulders). The overall fit is amazing and definitely a head-turner. Sometimes, a classic look like this paired with the right accessories is all you need to stand out.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

The dress was Beautiful! The fit is very tight, but flattering. I received compliments all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is Very Tight and was a little ackward on the top, I had issues figuring out how to properly fold the top and it wouldn't stay folded through the night. Overall I really liked the dress and I felt great in it!
Tracy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit beautifully, vibrant color, just loved this dress!
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Great Valentine's Day Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a very sexy dress! I think the off the shoulder look makes it unique and a look I wouldn't usually go for which is why Rent the Runway is such a good idea. Like others said the dress was it was pretty tight around the arms so you couldn't lift them very high but that didn't really matter, especially if you know that going into the rental. Beside that the dress was comfortable and I would definitely recommend it!
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Wore this for Valentine's Day & in celebration of our engagement earlier that day. Special night! <3

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Perfect fit and true to size. Hugs curves in all the right places. Both alluring and classy.
Brooke
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

I wore this dress to a philanthropy formal dinner for my sorority. I had such a great time!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a size 2, however, the dress was stretchy enough that I could have gone down a size if I had wanted to. The material is very comfortable as and It is a very flattering and slimming dress. It would definitely look good on all women, from women with more curvier figures to women with straight figures. I received lots of compliments and, though I only got to wear it for a few hours, I never wanted to take it off! Everyone at the event was also wearing red for our philanthropy and I really feel like this dress made me stand out!
Tatyana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Incredible dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm glad I chose this dress and I received so many compliments on it! I ordered it in a 6 and an 8, in case it was too tight, but was fine with the 6. I may have been able to fit a 4, but it probably would have been too tight. I was comfortable in the size 6 and found it very easy to move around in; however, I folded over the thick neck line because that was more flattering on me. I noticed although it was thick, the material of the dress showed outlines of body parts (abdominal muscles, stomach) under the dress. This was easily handled by wearing shape wear under my dress - I ate at my event and didn't want to worry about holding my tummy in to hide a food baby. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone going to a formal event!
Lainey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

The color, the cut and the length. Sexy, classy and a real head turner!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore one size bigger to avoid "side-boob"
dewi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Hugs in all the right places!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress! I've also worn it in black and am obsessed! The only slightly bad thing is the way the sides fall...if you're not very heavy chested like me you'll play with them for a good portion of the night until you decide to just let them fall wherever!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Incredibly flattering fit makes this un embellished dress PERFECTION

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a Mayor's Inaugural Ball and it was a huge hit. The color is rich and the fit is perfect. I ordered both the 6 and 8 and wore the 8 for extra length and more wiggle room (the event required lots of sitting). I plan to order it in black, it's too well made not to wear again!
Kelsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Apr 16, 2014

The beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It fit like a glove and was very flattering overall. It was a little more form fitting than I had expected but it kept everything in place all night! I had originally planned to wear the 0 but the 2 gave more stretch around the butt and hips area which looked a lot better. You do not need to fold the strap it just simply stays in place. It was extremely comfortable and I received a lot of compliments on the dress! I was unable to wear a bra because of how the dress cut near the armpit area. There was a little bit of sideboob, but nothing terribly noticeable. I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

I received so many compliments and felt stunning for my 35th bday Great first experience with RtR!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fits like a glove, incredibly comfortable to wear. only issue was with the off shoulder design which should be sewn in place - had to do a lot of adjusting as it kept rolling up and out of place
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
May 4, 2014

Could not wear and could not get new dress delivered in time for event

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but highlighted my problem areas. Very tight through middle. So sad I could not wear to my event. Not the best fit for apple shapes
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 14, 2014

Stand out red color and neckline made for a HOT yet classy dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved loved loved this dress. It fit like a glove but had some length to it so it was appropriate for a formal event. The only downside that might discourage people from renting is the sleeves kind of restrict arm movement-- but I really didn't mind at all because the dress itself was so amazing. It was a little tight- but that is how it was structured to be, so if you don't like form fitting dresses, I would rent a different one. I received tons of compliments and the people at RTR were incredibly helpful! Already rented my next dress!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 18, 2014

Absolute knockout dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome awesome dress! I had compliments all night. It hugs in all the right places and is very comfortable! I ordered the 4 and the 6 and both fit but I went with the 4. The top is supposed to lay flat on your chest, and the 6 was loose. One of my favorite RTR rentals!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
May 18, 2014

Sophisticated off-the-shoulder dress in a red hot color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress but didn't love it. The dress is definitely curve hugging and doesn't leave much wiggle room. Some of the other reviewers mention a bulge in the back where the zipper is. This was true for me too, I'm guessing it's a combination of the dress being a little loose in and me not having a shapely back side. But it didn't bother me enough not to wear it. The length is perfect for a wedding. And the red is definitely a stand out red color that I loved. The biggest issue I had with the dress were the straps, I couldn't figure out if it was supposed to be folded down, half down, or just left as is. I ended up folding it a little more than half way down and securing it with a lot of double sided tape and 2 safety pins. Folding the straps down also helped avoid the side boob problem. Overall I liked the dress enough to wear, but I wouldn't rent it again.
Keely
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 18, 2014

This dress was smoking hot...actually too hot!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was smoking hot...actually too hot for my event so I couldn't wear it! Fit was true to size, and it definitely hugs the body TIGHT. It looked great on, and I felt sexy. I would surely rent it again for a different occasion. I only gave it four stars because the dress, although beautiful, didn't look that expensive.
D.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
May 20, 2014

This was my back-up dress and I chose the other dress. But it was beautiful -- color & cut

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was very tight & I couldn't figure out what kind of undergarments to wear. I tried it with Spanx & paste on cup/bra 1st & it looked awful. You could see all the lines of the undergarments through the dress. Even the seems from the Spanx. But when I tried it on without any undergarments, it looked great.
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Sexy but weird armholes

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
You will need a backless bra or petals for this number - it exposes a lot of side boob to the point where I felt uncomfortable. I ended up not wearing it for the event, but it may have been ok if I kept my arms by my side all night!
Clare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Wore this to a June wedding and got so many compliments! Loved how it looked and fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not too formal or casual. Probably could have worn a 4, but the 6 fit perfectly fine. The fabric had a lot of stretch.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

I stood out from the rest in this flattering red number!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The length of this dress allowed me to feel appropriate for a wedding, while the color and off-the-shoulder style made me red hot. I would definitely rent again. I was very comfortable all night.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 17, 2014

Loved the little RED dress rather than the usual black dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits like a glove! It has some length to it making it an appropriate form fitting dress to wear to a formal occasion. The arm cutouts make it a bit difficult to wear a bra underneath but I found that the dress had enough structure to where you didn't need to wear one. Loved it and Rent the Runway!
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was nice and I got a lot of compliments. It was a little restrictive at the arms but really that was no big deal throughout the night. A lot of strangers complimented me on the fit of the dress but it didn't have the wow effect that I would have liked.
Madison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Came to late due to inclement weather but loved the fit, will definitely order for another event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sexy fit!
Deana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 5, 2014

Wow! Absolutely stunning!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Worn at the Miss Texas Scholarship pageant gala event. So many beautiful dresses and this was a standout!!
Colleen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Love this dress!! You feel like a bombshell in the red. I received tons of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a formal wedding and it was perfect! I wore a size 0 and it fit almost perfectly. It was a tad bit loose around the hips and stomach but that made room for food at the wedding. I had read a lot of reviews about people complaining about the straps but they didn't seem to bother me at all. I also matched these with RTR's Kenneth Jay Lane Aqua drop earrings and they looked amazing. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Zakiyyah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

You cannot go wrong with red! I truly stood out.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I knocked off a star because the shoulder part felt a bit odd and restricted.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Sexy but still classy, very feminine. Loved this for our anniversary dinner!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This might be my new favorite RTR dress. I ended up wearing the 4, the 6 body similarly but gaped in the back with the off shoulder fabric. The 4 was tight (curve hugging, in a good way) so I opted to wear spanx to avoid any panty lines. I had no trouble with a strapless bra- didn't show from the side at all. I will definitely rent this dress in the black next time! The off shoulder cut is so feminine and the length was perfect. I can't say enough good things :)
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

4 year anniversary!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Boyfriend was WOW-ed by this dress... It's tight but in all the right ways, defiantly wear a shaper and go for your size and the next size up.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Liked, but didn't love

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress on the hanger. I didn't like how it showed my side boob. It was also hard to dance in the dress. The back also had an awkward "duck tail" where the zipper ended.
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Dress was perfect!!! So comfy, and could easily move around it the dress. Lots of compliments!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect in every way! everyone loved it ! i did not want to take it off! The size 4 was a good fit not too tight, i tried the size 2 but it was very tight in the bust for me. Perfect for the occasion <3
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 1, 2014

Great color, very elegant silhouette

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Excellent fit, came just above the knee on my shorter frame. The material was thicker but had just the right amount of stretch to make it comfortable for the whole night. Loved it!
Sarabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 3, 2014

I got so many compliments! And the dress was so comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit really well. It kind of bunched in the back, but I got tons of compliments. I did have to wear a very low cut strapless bra because it cuts down low on the sides. All in all this was my first rent the runway rental and I'm totally sold!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I really loved this dress! I'm 5'6 and I felt the length was long enough to be tasteful, but the color and style still gave an overall youthful approach I was going for! As for the small comments that I have seen, I disagree, I am a true size zero and my friend is a true two and we both tried the two dresses on for fun before our wedding and they fit us both pretty well. The only negatives were the sleeves are not super easy to dance in, but that's obvious by the picture and I got a bit of water on the front of the dress and the way the material is it kind of dried weird. I loved the dress and would rent again!
Farah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 9, 2014

Stand out and look Va-va-voom!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Oh I loved this dress! I wore it to my engagement party because I needed something classy but yet stood out in a party of 100. I wore spanx underneath since it was tight-er (I went with the size 2 over the 4 because the length fit me better, I'm 5'2" afterall!) and I did have to pull the sleeves down every now and then but I did not mind at all because the dress was just so beautiful. Would definitely recommend this one!
Kyra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is a really flattering dress, but it is very snug. After dancing the fabric seemed to stretch out a little bit which helped.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 2"
Aug 11, 2014

So sexy, spot on color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got told a hundred times that I looked incredible in this dress. The color accents a summer tan perfectly. The dress is very form-fitting, shows every bump underneath so wear some Spanx!
meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Hot little number in an eye catching color.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress a lot. I felt it fit beautifully. My only complain is that it's supposed to be off the shoulders and the straps kept riding up higher than I wanted them to. I think you can kind of see it in the second photo. When going out for a night of dancing your arms are not going to be at your sides all night and after my arms would go up the straps would stay up, I'd like it a lot better if they fell back down with my arms. The stylist also suggested I wear it without a necklace, and I really wish I had one.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×