Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

359 reviews

Fit
Small 64
True to Size 247
Large 17
Photos 247
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Show-stopper!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a little RED dress that is not to be missed. It's a tight fit, so order a size up at least. The shoulder straps were a little annoying in that they don't stay down perfectly, but they were fine for our dinner date since I wasn't lifting my arms up. My husband couldn't stop saying how great I looked. Another solid rental here, for sure.
Lauren
Age: 32
Dec 16, 2014

Great dress, got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Dress was a nice thick material. Great silhouette and loved the off the shoulder look. I ordered both the 6 and the 8, but decided to wear the 8 because it was a little longer and had a bit more room in the cut. I'm definitely a 6 up top but I'm more curvy and liked having the room in the butt. Overall, great dress and perfect for a holiday party!
Cheryl
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Beautiful, high quality dress for fraction of the price.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Fit was great. 8 fit very well. True to size. Only downside was arm holes were quite large. Bought a backless strapless bra, which did not work at all. Even if it would have stuck, you cannot wear a bra, because it will show through the side arm holes. Material of the dress was thick and form fitting. Overall, pleased with my first experience using RTR. Will recommend and use again.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Both sizes didn't work, RTR was great in getting another dress to me overnight... Saving the night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is such a great shade of red... I was so bummed that both the 2 and the backup size 4 puckered in the back, at the bottom of the zipper... It looked like a mini tail was trying to pop thru. This was ultimately the reason why I didn't wear it. I did notice a little bit of the side boob issue that other gals had mentioned. You won't be able to wear every strapless bra because of the side boob problem but I had one that worked out well.
celia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Got compliments on it all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The arm holes, while some reviews have mentioned can show your bra, I had no problem when worn correctly on my shoulders, though I have broader shoulders and large enough bust to fill it out. I imagine for someone with small shoulders it could be difficult. The length was perfect and fit well. Nice fabric but not too thick. Was actually worried that throughout the night it would stretch out and not be as flattering, but it didn't. The red has undertones of orange and was a tad lighter than I thought but still popped, and looked great.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

I was stopped by people all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a major hit at my club's Christmas party. I was stopped by people multiple times to compliment it and boy boyfriend loved the tight fit and the different neckline. As other reviews have mentioned the fit in the armpit area was a bit odd. However, I expected it to be much worse based on the reviews. I did not wear a bra (I have a small chest) and pasties were perfect for covering up where I needed to. A sticky backless bra would work as well. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look great at a fun holiday night or perhaps a bachelorette party with a red theme. I can definitely see it being a hit at a New Year's Eve party also.
Krissy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

I felt beautiful, sexy and comfortable all night!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing and highlighted all the right spots. I received compliments all night and I wish I didn't have to return it. I ordered the zero and two and ended up wearing the two because the zero was a little too tight around my butt and thighs which also caused it to rise up more. The two fit great and also stayed in place all night and did not have a weird side boob like some other reviewers mentioned. This was my first experience with RTR and I have nothing but positive things to say. I can't wait for my next order!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Stunning!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress! I received a lot of compliments. It is very tight and not structured at all, so you definitely want to wear spanx. I really liked the neckline, but it was hard to find a bra that wouldn't show on the side of the dress.
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Red hot

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was looking different and classy for my senior semi formal and this dress was the perfect mixture. The neck line was so flattering and recieved endless compliments the entire night! The straps were a bit annoying while dancing but it was well worth the bother. I definitely stood out out from my friends and that is exactly what I was going for!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Sleek.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
You'll feel like an urban sophisticate in this dress! The off-shoulder neckline ups the starlet feeling, while the bold color and fit will have all eyes in the room on you. It's definitely not a dress for the meek. If you can handle the attention, go for it; I felt like a million bucks in this dress.
Rezzan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

The color of the dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove. It was comfortable to wear. I loved the lengths. The arms were kinda hard to move because of the top. #derby #sororitysemiformal
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Fits like a glove but still classy. A definite WOW.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding and received a ton of compliments. This dress fits great but was still comfortable. Pros; Popping color, fits great Cons: NONE!
Eloura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Good for summer wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore to a wedding and was comfortable all night. The arm holes came down too much to wear a regular bra, so I wore a sticky one and it worked out fine. It was tight enough to hold everything in, but stretched enough to be comfortable.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 7, 2014

Not-Too-Sexy Red Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for Halloween as I was Ms Scarlett from the game Clue. Fits snug but not too tight. I was comfortable all night except for the top the dress was a little restrictive. The material is thicker than usual but comfortable. I would rent again.
Laurel
Top Contributor
Age: 30
Nov 6, 2014

Perfect little red dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hot little form fitting number Iove my shoulders And this showcases them perfectly. Got tons if compliments. It does ride up a tad but not overly so. Material is thick enough that I didn't feel or look bloated even after drinking
Kerri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 14, 2014

This is a great fitting dress and the color gives it that extra wow!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 6, but opted for the 8 because it was a wedding and did not want it to be tight and red! I loved the fabric it holds everything in and the red is really beautiful!
Cori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Such a knockout!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding! The bright color made me feel like I stood out from the crowd and the uncommon neckline gave the dress a different feel. The material was a bit thicker and hugged the body nicely, although it did stretch out a bit as the night went on. I would say order a size down if you're unsure at all... I went with the 0 because the 2 would have been far too big in the waist. Overall, I absolutely loved the dress and received compliments all night. It was the perfect mix of sexy and classy to see old friends and dance the night away in!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

Hot red dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress so much. And for the price, you can't beat it! It fits really true to size. There is a little side boob if you wore it like it's meant to be worn in the model picture (off the shoulder), but it wasn't a big deal. Great color, great length, great fabric.. I was very happy!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Amazing color! Super comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
A bit tight in the shoulders- I have an athletic build. Would recommend going up one size if you know you are more broad in the shoulder area.
Felicia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Super comfortable & flattering dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Received tons of compliments on this dress. This was not my first choice but the one I had wanted to wear wasn't available in the size I needed. This was a risk but it definitely paid off. Very nice dress.
Nareeya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

RTR was on point with delivery

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fits me like a glove. The top was abit restricting if you are trying to dance in this but other than that I felt classy and sexy at the same time. I had pasties on for the "girls" . It wasn't skin tight and still gives me curves. Loved the dress which I could keep it.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 29, 2014

Such a beautiful dress! Very flattering, classy, and elegant .

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First RTR rental ever.:)The dress was very well-made! Fantastic quality. The way the material is cut around the waist is very slimming! It gives the illusion of a smaller waist! The off-the-shoulder look was beautiful, however, the straps kept coming up above my shoulders. It was still beautiful though. It was so sad to send this dress back.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Sep 29, 2014

Great color!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly and was flattering. A little hard to lift your arms but it is a great dress!
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Dress in great shape despite popularity!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit true to size and looked new! I was going to wear the 6 but the arm part was too loose and showed bra. It was very comfortable.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Stunning dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits true to size. My only issue was that it would ride up so it became a little shorter than I would prefer when I was walking and dancing. I'm 5'7 so this was mainly because I'm tall. Dress is gorgeous, and despite being a 'little red dress' managed to look extremely classy as well. Definitely recommended!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a fundraiser gala in Boston in September. The 0 fit perfectly - the dress is stretchy but the material is thick and supportive. I have a smaller waist and a bit of a butt, so the stretchiness was key. The dress did ride up a bit when I was walking, but I feel like most form fitting dresses do. I had also ordered the size 2 but it was loose/rumpled around my stomach and hips, and although the 0 was tight, it was the better fit. Small price to pay for a gorgeous sexy dress! I thought that the top was supposed to be folded down, but the tag is actually in the way to really do this, so I think the key to avoiding side boob is just pulling the dress up high enough. I wore a regular strapless bra underneath and it was fine. I had no problem dancing or moving my arms. My date loved it and I got many compliments at the event. Size down if you want a tighter/smoother fit.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Bright red! Fun dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this bright red dress to a summer wedding. The material is well-made, thick and stretchy. I wore spanx and a sticky bra to avoid seeing any material come thorough on the sides and smooth out as it's body-hugging. I am typically a 4 on top, 6 on bottom (more pear shaped) and chose the 6 as the 4 was tight around my hips. Fun, standout dress! Would rent again.
bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

My husband loved having me on his arm in this little number.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. At my age, there aren't many body parts that you feel good showing off. I like my shoulders, and this was a great dress for showing off the shoulders. I normally wear a 12 and the 12 fit me just fine. The only issue I had was that the top of the dress seemed to fall down a little and pool a little at the top of the bustline. I solved the problem with fashion tape. I needed it around the top in the front and the back. This may be because I'm a little bustier than the model in the picture, not sure. I was going to advise Spanx, but honestly, if you have a young body, the dress itself could probably hold whatever you need held in. I had so much fun with this, can't wait for my next event.
Kat
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

I wore this dress for my engagement party and absolutely loved it! I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress hit to about mid thigh so it was modest but sexy. The material is nice and stretchy but it did wear spans underneath just to be safe. My only complaint is that the dress rode up while I walked but it wasn't a huge deal.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

Extremely comfortable so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable-a little too much shown under the arm (side boob) great otherwise. Wore the size 8 for more room
Juno
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit well, looked new, only issue was the side boob problem and it was difficult to raise my arms while wearing the dress when trying to put my hair up.
AP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Loved this dress- great for dinner and a show!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Gorgeous! The shoulder part was a little restrictive at times-- probably not a good dress if you're conscious of that part of your body (especially side view of arms for pictures as it tends to flatten them), but definitely a sexy dress with thick, flattering material (no bra needed!). My favorite RTR experience so far!
lexi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 9, 2014

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Only reason this dress isn't 5 stars is because it doesn't sit we'll on my shoulders and I constantly have to pull it down. The material and fit was vey comfortable!
Tirena
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Simple clean lines and a snug fit make this dress elegant and sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits best off the shoulder for that old Hollywood style. The waist has clean lights that are fitted. The material does provide enough stretch. I have a curvy back side and small waist the dress fits like a glove. Fashion tape is recommended if you plan on dancing in this dress. Overall appropriately length and form fitting.
Kyla
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Red is the New Black Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 0 and the 2 based on other reviews of the dress because I was unsure how tightly the material would fit. I am normally a 0, and this size worked beautifully! I didn't have any trouble moving around or sitting and it was extremely breathable and comfortable! The fold over on the top was very chic--I wore minimal jewelry. It did not constrict my arms like other wearers complained of in other reviews. If I didn't already have a ton of pictures in the dress I would consider renting it again!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

LOVED THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was actually my second choice, but when I put it one I fell in love. The fit is true to size, the material is stretchy and comfortable. I got compliments all night. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
Christina
Age: 29
Sep 2, 2014

Dress was fun to dance in!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very fitted but was comfortable because of the stretch fabric. Felt beautiful in it!
Jocelyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Beautiful dress that's easy to dance around in!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 and 6 fit both fit, with marginal differences between the two but I opted for the 6 just because it was a wedding and I didn't want to look too risque with a super form-fitting dress. The color in person is very similar to the picture- bold but not flashy. The material was stretchy, and pretty forgiving in my opinion although there was just a tiny bit of fabric that puckered at the end of the zipper in the back. I'm not sure if that's a defect, or just the unfortunate result of having no butt. I didn't let the neckline lay flat against/horizontally across like its shown on the model, but rather let it sit a little higher, creating a faux- semi- cowl neck which I liked a lot better. I have broad shoulders so I thought I'd play around with the straps. Overall, this was such a fun dress to wear and super easy to dance/move around in! Would definitely recommend it.
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Sophisticated (and sexy!) LRD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the Halston Heritage Smooth Operator Sheath dress to wear at an outdoor wedding. After reading the reviews, I decided to order my normal size 6 and a size 8 as my back-up. When the dresses arrived, I noticed that the zipper pull on the size 6 dress was broken off. The dress zipped up with a little work, but there was definitely some wear and tear. I have broad shoulders which caused some wrinkling in the back of the size 6. Luckily, the size 8 fit like a glove - and it arrived in mint condition too! The bold red color of the dress was eye-catching and I definitely stood out among the crowd (without overshadowing the bride or bridal party, of course). The length of the dress was conservative enough to wear to a family event, but the off-the-shoulder cut provided just the right amount of sex appeal. The high-quality material was super comfortable and the dress stayed wrinkle-free throughout the evening. I felt incredibly sophisticated in this dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again. TIP: The side arm cut-out of this dress is pretty deep and it prevents you from being able to wear a strapless bra. I have a relatively small chest and felt comfortable going bra-less for this event. However, if you have a larger chest, you may have issues with "side boob." Happy renting! xo. Kristin
Soph
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Pretty good dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was simple yet classy and sexy at the same time. My fiance and I have been to at least 6 weddings this season and this was by far his favorite amongst the collection of dresses I purchased for all of these weddings. The color is orangy-red and it stands out. If you lift your arms up the straps also come up but thats inevitable with that style. It makes it a little difficult to dance with the straps around the arms but that didn't bother me much. I am petite but curvy and I'm usually a 0 but the 0 was way tight so i wore the 2. The 2 fit perfectly to my body.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×