Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
497 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(317)
Small
(76)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
June 7, 2015
Classic.
The color was perfect. I did not have a problem with my bra showing that others did. I did find the dress a little stretched out so the fit wasn't perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress! Loved it.
#cocktail #simple #greek
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 24, 2015
The dress was really an impression for my husband! I felt beautiful
The dress was extremely flattering but I have to pull it down because it was riding up my legs everywhere I walked so that was a real issue for me. I don't want to worry about what my dress is doing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 13, 2015
I received compliments all night!
This dress was my first RTR experience. It was amazingly stunning. I originally thought I needed a 4 but glad I got the 2 as a back up size. I wanted it to my a little more fitting so the 2 was perfection! The color was also amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 22, 2015
Sexy yet classic
This dress was selected for me by an RTR stylist when I didn't like the way my original order fit. We went through my style and the event I was attending and decided we liked this dress and another more formal lace choice. I tried both and my boyfriend LOVED this dress-- couldn't take his hands off me when i tried it on. I ultimately decided on the other though because I didn't want to be too sexy for a wedding. But I will definitely rent this dress for another occasion. I gave 4 stars because there is no forgiving in this dress. You can't wear any undergarments due to its material- they will definitely show. You also can't have a big dinner, either! I was also worried about sweat with it being an outdoor wedding- this material would show sweating especially because it clings to every part of you. However, I felt sexy in the dress and would definitely rent for a date night or bachelorette party etc
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2015
The color really popped. The 8 was a little snug but sexy. Stretched out a bit as the night went on
True to size. Arm holes were a little large but I have broad shoulders
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2015
Little Red Dress
This is a fitted yet comfortable dress. It has a lovely punch red color. It is a little unforgiving so if you have tummy troubles, I would get the orange dress that flares out at the bottom instead (by the same designer & everything). It will ride up but it isn't bad. I didn't have trouble with my strapless bra showing though the under arms come down low.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2015
The red really pops!
Awesome dress! Only downside is that you can see the side of your bra out the sides.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
October 18, 2015
Perfect Dress!!!!
It's a really pretty true red! I was afraid it would be too tight and would be too bodycon but it really hugs you in all the right places. It really stands out from the average black tight dress! I also have a big bust but it really makes your boobs look a lot smaller! I'd recommend going braless because the arm holes are cut a little deep so your bra will show.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2015
Head turner!
Straps were a little annoying, but overall not bad. I wore a strapless bra. Really enjoyed this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2015
Great dress but maybe not for a wedding
I liked the dress but would recommend the fit for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
Gorgeous dress! The color pops and the stretchy fabric is very comfortable.
The dress has stretchy fabric so even as a tight dress it's comfortable. I'm happy I wore the size up of my two choices b/c you can easily see any underwear/panty line in the back so with the bigger size it was a little less noticeable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
December 6, 2015
Curve hugging
I loved this dress! I wore to a wedding in which my boyfriend was a groomsman and felt perfectly matched to his tux. The 6 was a perfect fit, but I felt better wearing the 8 so it wasn't too tight for a wedding. Could not have picked a better dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
I received compliments. Cute color!
The fit was not as flattering as I expected it to be based on other reviews. I would not recommend for pear shaped women. It was hard to walk in because the fit was tight. Only cute for standing still and sitting down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 20, 2015
Restrictive arms and thinner material than expected.
Not good for dancing. Dress fit well after going a size up from normal. Wore a 2. Usually wear 0. Spanx even showed under the thin material. Couldn't move arms without having to readjust the sleeves again. Won't rent again. First bad dress with RTR. Though I did receive a lot of compliments...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2015
Gorgeous Color and Super Glam
Very beautiful dress. Great color, loved the off the shoulder straps. I have more of a pear shape- the size 2 fit much better in my chest and torso but a little too tight around the hips- so went with the 4. With the 4 it felt a little bunchy around my torso (mainly the reason for the 4 star review) but better than skin tight around my hips! Fabric is of good quality but will slow and bumps, add spanx for an extra peace of mind! This is definitely a show-stopper of a dress; if you're more of a wall flower or looking for something comfortable this might not be for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2015
Great inexpensive party dress. Loved the color!
Runs a bit small. But loved the color and neckline. Great value.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2015
I got SO many compliments on this dress!
I tried the 4 on first and felt that the back didn't lay right; even though the 2 was much better, the back did bunch up a little bit. The most bothersome thing was the little hanger straps that tried to poke out throughout the night--usually I cut them but since this isn't my dress I couldn't very well do that! My fiancé pulled strap duty. The fit, color, and shape of this dress were awesome. I felt great and comfortable the whole night. I wore a sticky bra to avoid issues, but think I could've worn a standard strapless and been fine also. I would absolutely rent this again and would love to own it! My fiancé was obsessed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2016
Classy and sexy!!!
It did have a weird space under the arm but great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 29, 2016
Killer dress
The dress is very form fitting so be prepared to stand tall and suck in all night! But it's stretchy and easy to move in. The color is fantastic. I had a great time wearing the dress. I ordered a 6 and 8, but liked the fit of the 6. It felt true to size. The fabric is thick and very high quality.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2016
Show-stopping dress perfect for semiformal
I wore this to a law school prom with semiformal-black tie optional attire. It is a super flattering dress! I would recommend a little fashion tape to secure the fold-over band to the dress: every once in a while it would flip up when I raised my arms. Overall, a fantastic color for a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
March 17, 2016
Beautiful, standout dress for Valentine's Day party.
Great fit. Very comfortable. The only downsides are that the straps require adjustment every so often (wasn't really problematic) and that you have to be conscientious of your stomach since the dress is too tight for concealing underwear. Beautiful, comfortable, and got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
March 23, 2016
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the wedding and received compliments all night
I decided on the 2 just so I could have a little extra room and so that I could eat whatever I wanted and I wouldn't be worried about sucking in all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2015
Too sexy for event I was at
I selected this dress as my back up, but it was too sexy for the event I was at. Besides that, it was a beautiful dress. Only issue I had with the fit was in the armpits area.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2015
I wore this for a charity event. So many compliments!!
It fit perfectly, no issue with the shoulder straps. It did ride up a little bit when I was walking but not enough to be a nuisance, overall it stayed in place. I wore with 6" nude peep toe pumps. This is a real head turner of a dress, color was perfect.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2016
Lady in red
It's definitely a curve hugger, but the off the shoulder look takes away focus on my worst parts (stomach and love handles) and brings focus to my shoulders and hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 29, 2016
Stunning and form fitting
I was looking for a bandage dress but they were all sold out. I was happy to find this dress that Is body hugging with a sexy off the shoulder fit. I was able to wear a NuBra with it and while both the size 4 and 6 fit, the 6 gave me just a bit more room to move. I didn't have any issues with the shoulder falling down but was a bit restricted raising my arms above my head. That is a minor flaw though. Overall an amazing dress and vibrant color.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 11, 2015
Show-stopping dress, but tricky for undergarments
I felt very glamorous and received many compliments when I wore this for an award banquet. The hardest part was finding undergarments that didn't show through the clingy material. I wore spanx and it was still a little visible along my mid-section. I also bought a sticky bra since a regular strapless bra was visible through the very open arm holes. Overall, a red hot outfit I would definitely recommend for a special occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2015
I felt comfortable and beautiful!
It was a very snug dress but I ended up loving it! The material is very stretching but not too forgiving
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 34B
June 25, 2015
I loved this dress and had so many compliments. I wish I could have kept it.
This dress definitely doesn't hide anything, but it isn't skin tight in a way that you can't breathe. The material is stretchy and comfortable. The 6 fit me but I had a bruise on my thigh that I wanted to hide so I went with the 8 since it was a bit longer. Luckily this fit well also, but the top part was a bit big, so I folded over some of the material. The top part fit perfectly for the 6. If you're trying to wow your significant other, then this is definitely the dress that will do it. So glad I picked this!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 28, 2015
From the easy selections to how and how quickly my dress was delivered...I loved it all!
I loved the fit, the material was somewhat stretchy which was nice. I received a lot of praise for my selection.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 5, 2015
everything about this dress is amazing!!
This dress is amazing! I did not want to return it! It's sexy but classy and the most perfect color red!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 17, 2015
Simple but beautiful
The zero looked a little too tight on me so I went with the two. For being such a simple dress I didn't think I'd get any compliments but I did. The red and open shoulders really makes it romantic. The material is thicker and if it was a little more body con I think it would've looked better under the arms. Either way it was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 21, 2016
Heads turned when I entered the room!
The 0 fit perfectly, I wore this for a college organization's end of the year party and I loved it! I had to keep adjusting the dress (it would ride up and I had to pull it back down), but aside from that, I had no issues with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2015
It just would not have worked with big boobs. (Natural ones that don't stay where they are put.)
It was tight but not super flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2015
Not my favorite
Great color but fits really strange at the top. The 10 was not available and by the end of the night the 12 was swimming on me
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2017
Sleeves and hem are way too small
Sleeves are meant to fold down but the cowl is way too tight to do so, and the hem is not as stretchy as the dress so ends up being too tight around your legs. Would t recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2017
It's a miss
Wasn't flattering on me at all, ended up not wearing it
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2017
Comfortable and classy!
I rented this dress for my company holiday party! It fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I got compliments all night on the off the shoulder look and the bright red color. Definitely a great choice! I wore the 6 and I am 5'2 and my measurements are 34C, 30, 39.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
December 20, 2016
The dress was sooo very comfortable. I loved the fit and color.
Amazing dress. I would definitely recommend renting this dress. Runs a bit big. Very high quality design and materials.
See more reviews:
2 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×