Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
447 reviews
Fit
Large23
True to Size292
Small71
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2015
Gorgeous Color and Super Glam
Very beautiful dress. Great color, loved the off the shoulder straps. I have more of a pear shape- the size 2 fit much better in my chest and torso but a little too tight around the hips- so went with the 4. With the 4 it felt a little bunchy around my torso (mainly the reason for the 4 star review) but better than skin tight around my hips! Fabric is of good quality but will slow and bumps, add spanx for an extra peace of mind! This is definitely a show-stopper of a dress; if you're more of a wall flower or looking for something comfortable this might not be for you.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 28
December 20, 2015
Loved it!!
Fit perfectly, sleeves weren't annoying, stayed snug!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 20, 2015
Restrictive arms and thinner material than expected.
Not good for dancing. Dress fit well after going a size up from normal. Wore a 2. Usually wear 0. Spanx even showed under the thin material. Couldn't move arms without having to readjust the sleeves again. Won't rent again. First bad dress with RTR. Though I did receive a lot of compliments...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
I received compliments. Cute color!
The fit was not as flattering as I expected it to be based on other reviews. I would not recommend for pear shaped women. It was hard to walk in because the fit was tight. Only cute for standing still and sitting down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
December 13, 2015
The annual office holiday party.
I LOVED the dress - gorgeous and perfect if you want to balance a sexy and bold look for a more conservative affair. I would recommend spanx for the mid section and breast petals in place of a bra. I went with a size up so that it would be more appropriate for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 9, 2015
Lady in Red rocking it!
I loved this dress and of course received a ton of compliments. You also can't beat the great rental price! I was about 135 when I wore this dress; a little different than my current measurements. Very flattering on many accounts. I would recommend a silicone adhesive bra over a strapless due to the cut underneath the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 8, 2015
Classic Sexy
I am sorry that I do not have a photo to submit. Nonetheless, this is a beautiful dress. It fits true to size. The material is comfortable and not sheer. I would love to own this dress. The red is a shade that I believe would look good on warm/cool/or neutral skin tones- This is RARE!!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 8, 2015
Great hue mixed + classic, yet attention-grabbing, style
I wore this dress to a office Christmas party. Based on previous reviews, I was quite nervous about the cut being too much/tight and the side cut-outs being problematic for dancing. Fortunately, neither was a problem! Not only were the side arms completely fine (caveat: I'm an average bust), but I kept the straps pulled down and was able to wear a strapless bra *and* dance. (Note: There will be a few adjustments/checks needed throughout your time wearing this dress, but that happens with 50% of dresses anyway.) One final note - if you're tight in a certain dress size (e.g., "Size 6 dresses are tighter but flattering on me"), this is the kind of dress where you'll probably want to grab a size up (e.g., Size 8) for some breathing room. For instance, I often wear size 6 dresses but can be an 8 as well. Ordered both sizes here and ultimately wore the 8 because the underwear line wasn't an issue. Have fun with this one!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
December 7, 2015
This is a beautiful, form-fitting, dress for the daring.
The dress fit well but is designed to be very tight. I found that I needed to wear a thong with it. I am short (5'2") and the dress hit about three inches above my knee. I imagine it will be quite short on a taller person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
December 6, 2015
Curve hugging
I loved this dress! I wore to a wedding in which my boyfriend was a groomsman and felt perfectly matched to his tux. The 6 was a perfect fit, but I felt better wearing the 8 so it wasn't too tight for a wedding. Could not have picked a better dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2015
I took my jacket off and my date sat back down with a huge WOW!
Knock out dress!!! fit perfectly and the give to the dress acted like spanx. will rent this dress again! love it!! perfect length, and color.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
Gorgeous dress! The color pops and the stretchy fabric is very comfortable.
The dress has stretchy fabric so even as a tight dress it's comfortable. I'm happy I wore the size up of my two choices b/c you can easily see any underwear/panty line in the back so with the bigger size it was a little less noticeable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 2, 2015
I felt so confident in the bold red color :)
Such a lovely dress - fit like a glove. I wore it to a fall wedding and like many others said, I got tons of compliments all night! I'm normally a size 2 to 4 and ended up wearing the 2 because the neck on the 4 was a little big. The only minor qualm was that the off-the-shoulder style made dancing a little hard but other than that I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
November 30, 2015
I got tons of compliments and loved the way I looked in it
the fit was true to size and it was the perfect length with heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2015
Great dress but maybe not for a wedding
I liked the dress but would recommend the fit for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
November 19, 2015
I wore this for a charity event. So many compliments!!
It fit perfectly, no issue with the shoulder straps. It did ride up a little bit when I was walking but not enough to be a nuisance, overall it stayed in place. I wore with 6" nude peep toe pumps. This is a real head turner of a dress, color was perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 16, 2015
The dress a was very vibrant red but the straps were fussy.
I don't think I'd get it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
November 16, 2015
Loved it, felt confident and comfortable all night!
I absolutely loved this dress and it was perfect for a fall NYC wedding. I found the fit ran true-to-size. Some of the reviews I read noted that the arm holes were a little awkward and made wearing a strapless bra difficult, but I honestly had no problems. I felt it was stylish and classic, but the red pop added some pizzazz. I paired it with simple black pumps and the only jewelry I added were crystal drop earrings, I felt very confident and comfortable all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2015
I rented this dress to celebrate a friend's bachelor party in Vegas.
I loved this dress so much I actually purchased it used from Poshmark. Everything about this dress is awesome. The fabric is stretchy and very forgiving, hiding all of your bumps and lumps. The color is AMAZING! It's the perfect bright red. I recommend sizing down for your backup as there is PLENTY of stretch in this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2015
Felt like a head-turner all evening!
I was deciding between this dress and another that felt a bit more, ahem, forgiving...but every friend who saw me try this dress on absolutely insisted I wear it. I wore it for my date's work dinner and received a text a few days later saying "You are still getting compliments from my coworkers on your attire from dinner the other night." Fit is definitely on the short and tight side, and as others have mentioned would not be great for dancing as you can't really raise your arms above your shoulders. But overall, was defintiely an eye-catching dress that I would wear again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2015
Head turner!
Straps were a little annoying, but overall not bad. I wore a strapless bra. Really enjoyed this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2015
Simple, sexy cocktail dress
This dress fit true to size and is a sexy and bright alternative to the LBD. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because the color was slightly faded and appeared more of a deep pink than the bright red in the advertisement. Overall, I'm very happy with it and would rent it again for a cocktail event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
October 29, 2015
Loved it! Felt classy, sexy, and got tons of compliments.
I ordered the 4 and the 6. I ended up wearing the smaller size. It fit my shoulders better and I was able to wear it as shown on the model. Perfect!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2015
My last barristers ball!
The dress is absolutely stunning. When I first tried it on I thought it was a bit big in the belly (the fabric was not skin tight) but this just allowed me to eat/drink freely the night of my event with no fear. The top needs some fabric tape to stay down which I did for the pictures only. I wound up wearing a sticky bra due to the reviews and I don't regret it
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 28, 2015
XX
The dress was really cute, wish I wore the 0 instead. Every body is different and I have a short torso and large bust, finding a bra to fit this dress was difficult. Also there is absolutely no wiggle room with moving your arms up and down, I was forced to mimic a T-Rex all night with limited mobility. I think the dress is beautiful but probably best for small chested gals.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 25, 2015
Great dress!
I received many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
October 20, 2015
This dress in this color is an attention-getter for sure!
You definitely don't fade into the background in this dress. I wore this to a fundraiser and got a lot of compliments. The color makes it stand out and the fit means it's definitely not for the self conscious. I ordered a 12 and an 8 as backup (size 10 was unavailable). The 12 was loose around the shoulders and top half and showed a decent amount of side boob and the 8 was a perfect fit on the top and slightly tight around the legs. I went with the tighter fit because I didn't want to have to worry about any x-rated incidents at a work function. (A size 10 probably would've been perfect)! Word to the wise- it's probably not a good dress to wear if you think it might get hot and sweaty, it'll definitely show. BUT overall it's a great dress with structure that will turn heads when you wear it! As my friend described it, it's very Jessica Rabbit ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 20, 2015
This is a beautiful and flattering dress for most body types. It's sexy without being inappropriate.
I usually wear a size 2, but based on reviews, ordered a size 4 (the 2 wasn't avalable for my second size anyways). It was a pretty dress and fun to wear something different, but I don't think I'd rent it again. It was faded and looked sort of cheap and worn out, and the top was a stretched out so it didn't lay right across my shoulders and chest. Also, it wasn't very conducive to dancing (I wore it to a wedding). You can't really raise your arms and the dress creeps up. I'm pretty small-chested and have very narrow shoulders, so maybe this would be better for someone with a fuller chest and broader shoulders.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 20
October 18, 2015
Perfect Dress!!!!
It's a really pretty true red! I was afraid it would be too tight and would be too bodycon but it really hugs you in all the right places. It really stands out from the average black tight dress! I also have a big bust but it really makes your boobs look a lot smaller! I'd recommend going braless because the arm holes are cut a little deep so your bra will show.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 18, 2015
Hot Like Fire!
I rented this for a night on the town for my bachelorette party. What I love most about this dress is its understated on the hanger. However when you put it on, it's just wow. It's definitely a head turner and it's as comfortable as wearing a t-shirt. The neckline was a little hard to figure out but you'll find there is there is no wrong way to wear it. For me it ran a little big because it's not a totally form fitting dress. I would say it has a slight a line to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 17, 2015
Great, stand-out dress! Unlike other dresses, felt great in it all night!
The size fit perfectly! I wore a spanx style skirt underneath which was great because it didn't twist or cling when dancing. Also wore a sticky strapless/backless bra that didn't show through/from sides of dress. Loved the red color too!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
October 13, 2015
Loved the dress! Felt amazing wearing it and certainly turned heads
The dress fit a little big but I'm also 5'2" so thats typical. Overall, very flattering, gorgeous color and I got loads of compliments. I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2015
Stunning, sexy (but classy) dress - tons of compliments!
I wore this dress for a wedding and it was SO flattering. Spanx were necessary to smooth everything out - this dress is clingy and EVERYTHING shows if you don't wear Spanx. I wore a strapless bra with it but noticed that it showed on the sides through the arm holes (you can see it in this picture), but I couldn't go braless, so, oh well. Anyway, this dress is so sexy while still being classy. Great dress, and I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
October 5, 2015
Great summer dress
Wore this to an indoor wedding. The off-the-shoulder look is adorable. Thick (but not super soft) fabric, I opted for a size 2 (I'm usually size 0 but with my wider hips the size 0 looked too tight on me) which worked out fine. I think it's a great dress for the price!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
October 5, 2015
everything about this dress is amazing!!
This dress is amazing! I did not want to return it! It's sexy but classy and the most perfect color red!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
September 30, 2015
I wore this for a formal leaning cocktail party.
The fit of this dress was excellent for me and I received gushing compliments from everyone all night. This dress is the perfect amount of elegant and sexy - just what you would expect from Halston. For the specifics, I have an hourglass shape with a slender build and this dress was made for such a body type. If you have more ample curves I might suggest going up a size from your normal as this dress is very fitted but on the whole it is true to size. Both the 2 and 4 fit me; however, the 2 fit best with this off the shoulder style. You need excellent undergarments for this dress and I would suggest doing an all-in-one piece versus separates. That being said, any undergarment will need to be relatively thin and smooth as the fabric is very form fitting and you wouldn't want straps, etc. showing their outline. I would unequivocally rent this dress again - so much so that I've considered buying it to have for my permanent collection. Yes, it’s that good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2015
The red really pops!
Awesome dress! Only downside is that you can see the side of your bra out the sides.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
September 22, 2015
Stunning dress
The material of this dress was really nice. Although it was fitting and very body conscious, it was still flattering since the material was nice and thick to hold you in. I found the off the shoulder part to be too big for me, so I opted to fold it down for a sleeker look. I'm on the shorter side (5'2-5'3) so I was worried this dress would be too long on me but the length was perfect. Received a ton of compliments when I wore this dress for my birthday party. This was my first RTR experience. Would definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2015
Flattering and comfortable
The dress is super comfortable & doesn't wrinkle. FYI you cannot wear a bra with this dress--it will show on the sides if you do and you will also be able to see the whole outline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2015
Little Red Dress
This is a fitted yet comfortable dress. It has a lovely punch red color. It is a little unforgiving so if you have tummy troubles, I would get the orange dress that flares out at the bottom instead (by the same designer & everything). It will ride up but it isn't bad. I didn't have trouble with my strapless bra showing though the under arms come down low.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×