Halston Heritage

Sizzling Red Dress

$100 rental
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Twist and twirl on the dance floor in this flirty Halston Heritage one shoulder dress. A fresh style for a cocktail party for you to strut your stuff. Pair with trendy accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Super Nova Cuff and Rodrigo Otazu's Flash Crystal Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Red silk charmeuse(100% silk; 100% polyester lining). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(49)
Small
(28)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 1, 2012
Sadly, it didn't fit me- the 0 or the 2- so I had to return it! But overall, it's a beautiful dress!
It was beautiful, just way too big for me!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 31, 2011
Beautiful dress but runs small. I'm 5'8, 130, 32 C, and I've rented from RTR in the past. I've always ordered a 4 and a 6 and been able to wear one of them. Not with this dress. The 6 wasn't even close to zipping up. A lovely dress but I would only recommend it for those with small chests.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 11, 2011
Too small, but gorgeous!
I rented this as my backup for homecoming, sizes 4 and 2 for my backup. Both were waay too small, and luckily I had my other dress because I couldn't have fit in it. Order large, because otherwise it's a stunning dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2011
Lady in Red
After I was able to get myself zipped up with the help of a wire hanger, all was good. This is the second Halston Heritage dress I've rented and they are just so gosh darn cute, but run soooooooooo small! I wore it to a wedding reception and got a lot of compliments for the color, its rich and saves the dress. The dress also has pockets which is nice, and so fun when you spin on the dance floor. I probably won't rent again, but it served its purpsose :-)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
Great dress!
This dress looked and felt fantastic. The dress arrived with a zipper that was not working properly. I zipped it up all the way, was trying on shoes and all of the sudden the zipper split from the middle. Luckily I was able to get it to a tailor to get that situation fixed, which didn't take much time at all. It does run small. I'm very small up top and the size 0 left practically no room in the dress to move.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2012
People said it was their favorite dress of the night!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I was a little hesitant to wear a red dress considering I have red hair, but it looked great. It was so flattering and comfortable! Not one complaint :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
March 28, 2012
The comfortable fit of the dress and the simplicity of the return process!
I ordered this dress for a sorority formal last November. The color is true to the picture and I would agree that the fabric provides no stretch. Regardless of the fabric, the dress was comfortable and allowed me to dance freely. The bodice detail is absolutely fantastic! I received many compliments throughout the night. Perfect dress for my event!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2012
Beautiful color
Dress was lovely but a little snug. I wore it the same way as in the picture and got lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 24, 2012
WAY TOO SMALL!
I'm a 4, and I fit into (almost) any designer as a 4, but this dress wouldn't even come close to zipping up. They didn't have a 6 available so I was left scrambling for a dress for my birthday last minute. I was sad because the dress looked super cute and flirty. The color and fabric was beautiful so I'd recommend it to people. Beware though, you'll need to order a size up to be sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
July 30, 2012
Beautiful!
This dress was absolutely beautiful! It was very comfortable, and looks just like the pictures. It ran a bit small, so I´d recommend ordering one size up for your 2nd size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 1, 2012
I want to buy this dress!!
I cannot say enough good things about this dress. It was absolutely gorgeous and was loved by everyone, including my hubby. My chest is smaller so the size 6 was snug, but flattering. Anyone with a larger chest probably wants to go up a size. The dress itself was comfortable, beautiful red color and had pockets (welcome surprise!) I was the belle of the ball. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
August 15, 2012
Someone I don't know very well said "You look stunning!"
This dress is comfortable to wear. I'm sort of a pear/hourglass and so it was perfect for accentuating a smaller waist while hiding bigger hips. I could have also worn the size 10, but it didn't flatter as much as the 8. There was very little difference in the sizing between 8 and 10. The color is so vibrant. It did make me look a tad flat chested, just because of the pattern of the rouching. Overall a terrific choice for a fun, formal dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 16, 2012
perfect christmas dress!
I loved this dress! It was perfect for a christmas party. I ordered the 2 and 4, and decided to go for the 2. It was definitely a tight fit up top, but I got a ton of complements!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 29, 2012
No room for boobies
This dress was ok but was too tight on top. It gave me uniboob and a massive amount of armpit bulge. I didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 10, 2012
Made me feel like a cupcake
I wouldn't recommend this dress for the curvy ladies. Overall it fit a little small, it smashed my bustline, and made me feel like a cupcake. Not sexy! Perhaps on a taller girl it would work - this dress fit me at the knee, which I think is too long for the style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2012
Gorgeous for dancing
Dress runs small on top. Twirls beautifully. Very comfortable fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 30, 2012
Perfect!
I ordinarily wear a size 0, but the 0 was too tight for me so I went with the size 2. It was absolutely perfect. I got a lot of compliments. I really enjoyed this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2012
Fabulous dress!
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and couldn't have been happier. Despite reviews cautioning against this for full busts, I was able to fit into it (34E) and feel great by just going up two sizes and it still looked good everywhere else. I got a ton of compliments and felt amazing in it - one of my favorite rentals ever!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
Couldn't have chosen a better dress
Wore this dress to a black tie optional philanthropy event and got compliments all night - many saying it was the best dress there. Fabulous dress for dancing (I hope you like to twirl!) and such an amazing color -- the perfect red. The bodice is VERY form fitting, but that makes it easy to go braless for those of us that have that option. If you are more endowed I would definitely suggest sizing up. I wore this with sheer black tights, black suede pumps and equally red lips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 10, 2012
great dress!!
a little long for a homecoming dress but everyone loved it and it was super comfy!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2013
Color was great, style looks good on someone with slim curves.
The top smooshed my boobs, so there was "cleavage" coming out from the armpit area (I'm a 32C-D). With the right hairstyle, this could be hidden -- yet it was a hassle. The fabric will not stretch. It was a bit tough to zip up. The top is VERY slim cut - the size 2 felt like a 00. I think this is a good fit for B cup, C and above are risking it. Also, the side with the strap is cut deeper than at the shoulder -- so the armpit area is a bigger than a normal sleeveless cut. The skirt started a little above my waist, was very fitted here, and flared out to about 3 inches above my knees (I'm 5 3). Wind and spins on the dancefloor can be dangerous for this skirt - so wear appropriate undergarments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2013
Beautiful dress for Homecoming.
A little tight on the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2011
i love wearing red
true color to picture, really like the bodice part and shoulder. looks great on small chests and fitted. wish the waist was either a little lower or the skirt longer actually - didn't look bad, just something was slightly off. skirt hits accurate in the model picture. could get staticy. dress has pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2011
I wore this dress to my best friends wedding and got so many compliments since it was right before christmas! It was a hit! I loved it :)
It was a little tight because there is no stretch but i could have just gained a little weight since i had tried it on in the store!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
October 13, 2012
A little small but still Great!
I wore this for a charity event in January. I got so many compliments. It was snug on top, but still worked great.
LindaOctober 13, 2012
You look great NJL!!! Very pretty! I didn't know it had pockets until my friend saw your photo and told me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 29, 2011
Stunning
This dress is gorgeous and very flirty. It is tight in the bodice as others have mentioned but with some spanx and a good long line strapless bra it fits beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 16, 2012
Fun Dress - Very Small
I was relieved to finally get this zipped. The largest of the two sizes ordered was still super snug on my rib cage. This is truly a dress where you should swallow your pride and order up a size! In the end, the dress was fun to wear and dance it and looks beautiful in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
August 11, 2012
Beautiful fit!
Although this Halston "Sizzling Red Dress" looked beautiful on, it was not the look I wanted for a summer wedding. Therefore, I did not wear the dress anytime over the weekend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
Beautiful color, but...
I found that this dress does very small and it was quite short even on me (I'm only 5'2.) I'm not even sure I would have worn this dress though even if it did fit me properly, I didn't think the construction was that great and there was a big gap in the outer material where the zipper laid.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 30, 2011
This is a lovely dress! It is fitted on top and poofy on the bottom. Because it is hard to hide a strapless bra in this dress, I would recommend wearing a size down and skipping the bra altogether. It's fitted enough that I was comfortable without a bra (I'm a C).
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 30, 2011
This dress is awesome. Even prettier in person because the fabric is light and soft! The 0 fit me like a glove, and it's tight enough that you don't have to wear a bra (I'm a B). The length was perfectly mid thigh. I wore the dress with black hose like the model and it looked great.
AlisonSeptember 30, 2011
I'm 5'7", 115 lbs, B cup. Do you think the 0 would be a good size?
RTRSeptember 30, 2011
Hi Alison, we recommend a size 0 with a free back up size 2 with your measurements!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
October 4, 2011
I'm 5'5", 130lbs and 34B. The size 4 fit perfectly and I didn't have to wear a bra with it, just breast petals (bought from Target). This dress probably would be too small on top for very busty women. I wore this to a wedding and got a lot of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2011
Wow! I wore this dress to a wedding and loved it. It was beautiful and fun to dance in because of the full skirt. And it has pockets! Very delicate material -- so much so that it arrived with the material near one of the pockets torn at the seam. I whipped out my sewing kit and stitched it with red thread and no one was the wiser. I do wish RTR had noticed it and fixed it themselves, but... As far as fit goes, I had no problem with a strapless bra and think my back would have been killing me otherwise. I did have to adjust the strapless side periodically, but it wasn't a big deal. I ordered what I expected to be my size and a size up. The size up was not good; it was just too big -- the waist really needs to be fitted. A size down probably would not have allowed me to zip it over my chest, but might have fit my waist even better.
TiffanyNovember 2, 2011
All the other reviewers say it works better with a small bust, is it possible to know your bra size, I'm a bit busty myself.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2011
This is a gorgeous dress that fit wonderfully! It's true to size and the material on the bottom is light and flowing. I am an A and wore a strapless bra with this, because I found that I looked flat without one, due to the tight fit at the top. The color looks even better in person, and is sure to get complimented! Added bonus: there are hidden pockets on both sides of the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 15, 2011
Did not disappoint!!
I've been in love with this dress from the moment I saw it and I was so excited when I finally received it and saw that it was just as beautiful in person! I'm usually a 4 or 6 in dresses like this, so I had ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 probably would have fit a little better, but unfortuntely they couldn't find it in the warehouse and I had to choose another style in a 6. No complaints on that though because customer service was amazing!! I got a ton of complaints on this dress and I think I changed all of my friends minds who were skeptics about renting a dress in the first place. Next occassion is my work Holiday party and I've already started looking.
TiffanyNovember 15, 2011
did you get complaints or compliments?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2011
Feeling confident!
We throw an annual holiday party at our house every year. This year, I picked this dress and it was perfect. It fits true to size and is very flattering. The color is beautiful. It may be difficult if you have a large chest, as that area provides a snug fit. If you run small or average in your bust, then you can wear the dress with no bra and no one would know. I wore the dress with black tights, with a little design, and my Hunter boots (so I could run around the house).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2011
Everyone wanted to know where I got the dress. And everyone wanted to join RTR!
I always wanted to have that "Julia Roberts in 'Pretty Woman'" moment (who could forget her red dress?) With this dress, I definitely had that feeling. There are so many shades of red out there, but this red is flattering on most anyone. The silk in the skirt flows beautifully...perfect for a festive party. I have a medium bust and was worried that the smaller sizes would be too snug there (as some of the reviews suggested), but I was surprised at how great the 0 fit. Received many compliments. It's the ultimate holiday cocktail dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2012
Truly beautiful gown!
I can't say enough good things about this dress, the fabric, the pockets, the flowiness...it's the perfect combination of sexy, cute & beautiful! I had ordered the 0 which they ran out of (but replaced with another style) I was worried the 2 would be too big (I have a small bust) but it looked great & I wore a little black belt to Cinch the waist! If your hesitating on this dress - Dont!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2012
Awesome Party Dress
I rented this dress for an event this winter. The I ordered a size 2, but was worried because the backup size wasn't available. Fortunately the 2 was perfect and was the size that I thought that I would wear anyway. For reference, I am 5'9" and measure 32.5, 26, 35.5. The bodice was fitted, but I had no problem getting into it. I really liked that the arm holes weren't too small. I'm not sure if it's because I am tall and thin, but I generally have problems with arm holes being cut to high. The skirt on this dress is so much fun! The event that I went to involved dancing and luckily the lining on the dress is not as full as the actual skirt, so even when my boyfriend "spun" me, I wasn't exposed. The fabric is super soft and rich in color as well. I'd definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
An amazing dress complimented my amazing night at my engagement party!
I was very worried about this dress fitting based on all the reviews I read. I believe that it does run about true to size, I am a size 2 or 4 and the size 4 fit perfectly. The material does NOT stretch whatsoever, so Im guessing thats why people say it runs small. There was like a 2 inch section on the zipper that was a little difficult to get past, but once the dress was zipped it fit perfectly, and was comfortable. The color is awesome and this dress is perfect for a small to medium chest. I am a 34 B and I didn't wear a bra and it was perfect. Any chest larger might be a little tough. I wore this to my engagement party and got a lot of compliments and it looked great!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×