Sizzling Red Dress

$100 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Twist and twirl on the dance floor in this flirty Halston Heritage one shoulder dress. A fresh style for a cocktail party for you to strut your stuff. Pair with trendy accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Super Nova Cuff and Rodrigo Otazu's Flash Crystal Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red silk charmeuse(100% silk; 100% polyester lining). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size48
Small28
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
August 15, 2012
Someone I don't know very well said "You look stunning!"
This dress is comfortable to wear. I'm sort of a pear/hourglass and so it was perfect for accentuating a smaller waist while hiding bigger hips. I could have also worn the size 10, but it didn't flatter as much as the 8. There was very little difference in the sizing between 8 and 10. The color is so vibrant. It did make me look a tad flat chested, just because of the pattern of the rouching. Overall a terrific choice for a fun, formal dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2012
Perfect holiday party dress
I wore this to a holiday party and felt glamorous but very fun and not over dressed. It's better at an event where people will be on the more dressed up side, as there is a very subtle sheen to the fabric and the layers of the skirt feels very luxurious. I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it since the pleating is forgiving. The waist and flare skirt is very flattering as well, great if you have a small waist. I'd consider getting it again for a holiday party this year.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
August 11, 2012
Beautiful fit!
Although this Halston "Sizzling Red Dress" looked beautiful on, it was not the look I wanted for a summer wedding. Therefore, I did not wear the dress anytime over the weekend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 1, 2012
I want to buy this dress!!
I cannot say enough good things about this dress. It was absolutely gorgeous and was loved by everyone, including my hubby. My chest is smaller so the size 6 was snug, but flattering. Anyone with a larger chest probably wants to go up a size. The dress itself was comfortable, beautiful red color and had pockets (welcome surprise!) I was the belle of the ball. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
July 30, 2012
Beautiful!
This dress was absolutely beautiful! It was very comfortable, and looks just like the pictures. It ran a bit small, so I´d recommend ordering one size up for your 2nd size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 24, 2012
WAY TOO SMALL!
I'm a 4, and I fit into (almost) any designer as a 4, but this dress wouldn't even come close to zipping up. They didn't have a 6 available so I was left scrambling for a dress for my birthday last minute. I was sad because the dress looked super cute and flirty. The color and fabric was beautiful so I'd recommend it to people. Beware though, you'll need to order a size up to be sure!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 7, 2012
I got tons of compliments on this dress!! Perfect for the event I attended and I had a wonderful experience. The dress was on time and in awesome condition. Definitely renting another dress soon!!
I rented this dress for my junior prom and it was perfect!!! The dress fit amazing. The red color of this dress is gorgeous. The material is very nice and so much fun to dance in! Made my night :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 21, 2012
"I just can't get over how amazing you look."
This dress was so beautiful. The fabric is beautiful and the skirt is so flowy and twirls easily. I personally feel that the placement of the shoulder strap is a little bit strange, but that's just my taste. I loved the way the fabric was twisted in the upper part. I wore this to my high school prom and it was great to dance in. I received a number of complements and one person told me that she "couldn't get over how good [I] looked." I usually wear a 2 and that size fit me perfectly, but I also have a very small chest. The 4 was barely any bigger than the 2. Overall, fantastic experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2012
Beautiful color
Dress was lovely but a little snug. I wore it the same way as in the picture and got lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
May 2, 2012
Perfect dress
This dress fit very well, although I think I could have gone with a smaller size since the dress loosens up a little after wearing it for a while. On a smaller person like me, the dress is much longer than it looks on the model, it hit me a little above the knee, but I thought it still looked good that way. The flair at the bottom is so pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2012
Great Dress
This dress fit amazingly! I could have worn either the 6 or 8 but ended up wearing the 8 because it was in better shape. By the end of prom it had stretched out a tiny bit and the side without the strap started to sag. The pockets are great for holding lipstick or lipgloss, however to get to them you have to navigate through the super flowy layers of silk chiffon. I would be willing to buy this dress as it is a great staple, I would most certainly rent it again if I don't end up buying it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 29, 2012
the service was amazing, it came right on time, the dress was in impeccable shape and the opportunity to wear a designer dress was incredible!
i anxiously anticipated the arrival of the dress, and i was not disappointed! the dress was SPECTACULAR! it's a gorgeous red, the silky material is soft and flowy, and overall, it's just an amazing dress. however, it is a bit snug on top, so anyone with a larger chest may have trouble fitting into it. the dress fell to just above my knees, but it was so flattering. i'm also short-waisted, so i had to use some of the complimentary fabric tape to pull up one side of the dress. the fabric (since it's 100% silk) also gets very static-y but as long as you're careful there shouldn't be any problems. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS DRESS. i wanted to keep it! it's just that amazing. i recommend this dress to everyone! i had so much fun wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2012
This dress was great! It wasn't too short and fit really well. Loved it!
I wore this to a semi-formal and it was great! It was simple and elegant, and not too short. I wore it without tights and it looked perfect. Loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
March 28, 2012
The comfortable fit of the dress and the simplicity of the return process!
I ordered this dress for a sorority formal last November. The color is true to the picture and I would agree that the fabric provides no stretch. Regardless of the fabric, the dress was comfortable and allowed me to dance freely. The bodice detail is absolutely fantastic! I received many compliments throughout the night. Perfect dress for my event!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 16, 2012
Fun Dress - Very Small
I was relieved to finally get this zipped. The largest of the two sizes ordered was still super snug on my rib cage. This is truly a dress where you should swallow your pride and order up a size! In the end, the dress was fun to wear and dance it and looks beautiful in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2012
People said it was their favorite dress of the night!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I was a little hesitant to wear a red dress considering I have red hair, but it looked great. It was so flattering and comfortable! Not one complaint :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 3, 2012
Valentines Day to Remember!
This adorable dress fits the body with the most impeccable fluid looking rouching! This dress is really made my Valentines day and photographed amazingly well too! Perfect for anyone self conscience of either their tummy or hips area, and looks flawless on! I didn't even notice until the night was up, that it had cute little pockets on either side! The strapless side is not too low either, so any regular strapless bra will work, though personally I wore a VS bra that had removable straps to go strapless, and I was able to keep the strap on one side without it peeking out from the dress too! Highly highly highly reccommend! <3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 2, 2012
Meeting the NY Rangers was amazing. My husband continually saying how beautiful I looked was perfect. :)
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it for a NY Rangers charity event, and I got a ton of compliments. It was the perfect mix of short cocktail fun and classy sophistication. The red is an awesome bright color and really stands out. I guess it's a bit small on top (I fit into a 6 in my back-up Halston confetti dot dress), but it wasn't terribly small. I was concerned because they didn't have a 10 available, but no need! This dress is perfect for pear shapes -- I'm a 6/8 on top and a 10/12 on bottom. It felt a tad short without tights (especially since it's so flowy) -- I liked it with black tights, but it was better with neude for me. Pairing with large earrings made the outfit. RENT THIS DRESS! :) If you are between sizes, as most women are, go with the higher one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2012
Gorgeous for dancing
Dress runs small on top. Twirls beautifully. Very comfortable fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
An amazing dress complimented my amazing night at my engagement party!
I was very worried about this dress fitting based on all the reviews I read. I believe that it does run about true to size, I am a size 2 or 4 and the size 4 fit perfectly. The material does NOT stretch whatsoever, so Im guessing thats why people say it runs small. There was like a 2 inch section on the zipper that was a little difficult to get past, but once the dress was zipped it fit perfectly, and was comfortable. The color is awesome and this dress is perfect for a small to medium chest. I am a 34 B and I didn't wear a bra and it was perfect. Any chest larger might be a little tough. I wore this to my engagement party and got a lot of compliments and it looked great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
February 8, 2012
Awesome Party Dress
I rented this dress for an event this winter. The I ordered a size 2, but was worried because the backup size wasn't available. Fortunately the 2 was perfect and was the size that I thought that I would wear anyway. For reference, I am 5'9" and measure 32.5, 26, 35.5. The bodice was fitted, but I had no problem getting into it. I really liked that the arm holes weren't too small. I'm not sure if it's because I am tall and thin, but I generally have problems with arm holes being cut to high. The skirt on this dress is so much fun! The event that I went to involved dancing and luckily the lining on the dress is not as full as the actual skirt, so even when my boyfriend "spun" me, I wasn't exposed. The fabric is super soft and rich in color as well. I'd definitely recommend!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
January 5, 2012
Great dress!
This dress looked and felt fantastic. The dress arrived with a zipper that was not working properly. I zipped it up all the way, was trying on shoes and all of the sudden the zipper split from the middle. Luckily I was able to get it to a tailor to get that situation fixed, which didn't take much time at all. It does run small. I'm very small up top and the size 0 left practically no room in the dress to move.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2012
Truly beautiful gown!
I can't say enough good things about this dress, the fabric, the pockets, the flowiness...it's the perfect combination of sexy, cute & beautiful! I had ordered the 0 which they ran out of (but replaced with another style) I was worried the 2 would be too big (I have a small bust) but it looked great & I wore a little black belt to Cinch the waist! If your hesitating on this dress - Dont!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 29, 2011
Stunning
This dress is gorgeous and very flirty. It is tight in the bodice as others have mentioned but with some spanx and a good long line strapless bra it fits beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2011
Everyone wanted to know where I got the dress. And everyone wanted to join RTR!
I always wanted to have that "Julia Roberts in 'Pretty Woman'" moment (who could forget her red dress?) With this dress, I definitely had that feeling. There are so many shades of red out there, but this red is flattering on most anyone. The silk in the skirt flows beautifully...perfect for a festive party. I have a medium bust and was worried that the smaller sizes would be too snug there (as some of the reviews suggested), but I was surprised at how great the 0 fit. Received many compliments. It's the ultimate holiday cocktail dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2011
Feeling confident!
We throw an annual holiday party at our house every year. This year, I picked this dress and it was perfect. It fits true to size and is very flattering. The color is beautiful. It may be difficult if you have a large chest, as that area provides a snug fit. If you run small or average in your bust, then you can wear the dress with no bra and no one would know. I wore the dress with black tights, with a little design, and my Hunter boots (so I could run around the house).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2011
I wore this dress to my best friends wedding and got so many compliments since it was right before christmas! It was a hit! I loved it :)
It was a little tight because there is no stretch but i could have just gained a little weight since i had tried it on in the store!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2011
Lady in Red
After I was able to get myself zipped up with the help of a wire hanger, all was good. This is the second Halston Heritage dress I've rented and they are just so gosh darn cute, but run soooooooooo small! I wore it to a wedding reception and got a lot of compliments for the color, its rich and saves the dress. The dress also has pockets which is nice, and so fun when you spin on the dance floor. I probably won't rent again, but it served its purpsose :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 15, 2011
Did not disappoint!!
I've been in love with this dress from the moment I saw it and I was so excited when I finally received it and saw that it was just as beautiful in person! I'm usually a 4 or 6 in dresses like this, so I had ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 probably would have fit a little better, but unfortuntely they couldn't find it in the warehouse and I had to choose another style in a 6. No complaints on that though because customer service was amazing!! I got a ton of complaints on this dress and I think I changed all of my friends minds who were skeptics about renting a dress in the first place. Next occassion is my work Holiday party and I've already started looking.
TiffanyNovember 26, 2011
did you get complaints or compliments?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 11, 2011
Too small, but gorgeous!
I rented this as my backup for homecoming, sizes 4 and 2 for my backup. Both were waay too small, and luckily I had my other dress because I couldn't have fit in it. Order large, because otherwise it's a stunning dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2011
i love wearing red
true color to picture, really like the bodice part and shoulder. looks great on small chests and fitted. wish the waist was either a little lower or the skirt longer actually - didn't look bad, just something was slightly off. skirt hits accurate in the model picture. could get staticy. dress has pockets!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2011
This is a gorgeous dress that fit wonderfully! It's true to size and the material on the bottom is light and flowing. I am an A and wore a strapless bra with this, because I found that I looked flat without one, due to the tight fit at the top. The color looks even better in person, and is sure to get complimented! Added bonus: there are hidden pockets on both sides of the dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
November 2, 2011
Wow! I wore this dress to a wedding and loved it. It was beautiful and fun to dance in because of the full skirt. And it has pockets! Very delicate material -- so much so that it arrived with the material near one of the pockets torn at the seam. I whipped out my sewing kit and stitched it with red thread and no one was the wiser. I do wish RTR had noticed it and fixed it themselves, but... As far as fit goes, I had no problem with a strapless bra and think my back would have been killing me otherwise. I did have to adjust the strapless side periodically, but it wasn't a big deal. I ordered what I expected to be my size and a size up. The size up was not good; it was just too big -- the waist really needs to be fitted. A size down probably would not have allowed me to zip it over my chest, but might have fit my waist even better.
TiffanyNovember 26, 2011
All the other reviewers say it works better with a small bust, is it possible to know your bra size, I'm a bit busty myself.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 31, 2011
Beautiful dress but runs small. I'm 5'8, 130, 32 C, and I've rented from RTR in the past. I've always ordered a 4 and a 6 and been able to wear one of them. Not with this dress. The 6 wasn't even close to zipping up. A lovely dress but I would only recommend it for those with small chests.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
October 4, 2011
I'm 5'5", 130lbs and 34B. The size 4 fit perfectly and I didn't have to wear a bra with it, just breast petals (bought from Target). This dress probably would be too small on top for very busty women. I wore this to a wedding and got a lot of compliments!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 30, 2011
This dress is awesome. Even prettier in person because the fabric is light and soft! The 0 fit me like a glove, and it's tight enough that you don't have to wear a bra (I'm a B). The length was perfectly mid thigh. I wore the dress with black hose like the model and it looked great.
AlisonMay 29, 2012
I'm 5'7", 115 lbs, B cup. Do you think the 0 would be a good size?
RTRJune 4, 2012
Hi Alison, we recommend a size 0 with a free back up size 2 with your measurements!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 30, 2011
This is a lovely dress! It is fitted on top and poofy on the bottom. Because it is hard to hide a strapless bra in this dress, I would recommend wearing a size down and skipping the bra altogether. It's fitted enough that I was comfortable without a bra (I'm a C).
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×