Halston Heritage

Night Crawler Dress

$86 to buy
$485 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You are mod and in charge! This beyond chic Halston Heritage dress is the ultimate fashion forward style to strut your stuff in at the event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silk Cotton Faille (81% Cotton, 19% silk). Silk Cap Sleeve. Pockets. Crew Neckline. Full Skirt. Hidden Back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
May 3, 2015
Runs small
Pretty dress, flirty and short but great material. It has a really unique skirt but it kind of cut narrow at the underarm and made that weird arm cleavage. I was a little self conscious about it. Runs small!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 3, 2015
Great Black Dress.
I ended up wearing the size two, because I liked the way it fit better than the size four.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 6, 2012
21st Century Audrey Hepburn ;)
I ordered this dress, pre Hurricane Sandy for a cocktail party a couple of days after it. I was surprised the dress made it for the occasion! Kudos, RTR! Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get my back up size. (Totally understandable.) I had ordered both a 2 & a 4 after reading the reviews but was only sent the 2. The 2 fit, but it was a little snug in the chest area. I wore the dress anyway, and got compliments all night, but I do think that the 4 would have been a little more comfortable. I loved the shape, the pockets, everything about it and I would recommend anyone on renting it for a cute alternative to the LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Cute dress!
Very pretty, nice material. Loved the pockets & capped sleeve. Dress runs big!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
September 17, 2012
I loved this dress for my son's rehearsal dinner. Got lots of compliments and would rent it again!
The bodice was very tight on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
September 20, 2012
Fabulous!
Might want to get a size larger. It runs small in the chest area Can be worn during the day not only for an evening event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2012
An adorable dress-for the right body type. Too bad it wasn't for my body type
About the dress: it is a stiff cotton twill with a little stretch to it and satin pleated shoulder detail. The hem of the dress has a stiff "tape" (almost like what they use for collar stays in men's dress shirts) sewn in the hem of the dress to give it that cute flare to the dress. I wish this dress would have fit. I know this dress would have been perfect if I had had the right size. I rented this dress before RTR posted any fit specifications. I rented a 6 and a backup size 8 thinking that it might run small in the bust area being a high neck dress and all. Well when I finally got the size 8 zipped up I noticed that it flattened my chest in a very unflattering way. This dress will be adorable for a pear shape or an hourglass body but go TWO sizes up if you are a C cup or larger.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2012
Meh.
Out of all of the dresses I've rented from RTR this was one of my least favorite. It's cute, but not overly special or exciting. Both dresses arrived extremely wrinkled. The dress is VERY structured and because of this when you sit down the dress pulls up in an odd way. It's just something you have to be consious off so that you aren't showing too much leg when you sit. As others noted, the dress is very tight around the chest and torso in general. I'm regularly a size 4 and have a small chest (34B) and although the 4 zipped up and actually looked perfect- I couldnt breathe! So needless to say I went with the 6. I wore this with a little leather coat and some big funky earrings. Again, it's cute, but for the price I think I could have purchased an inexpensive black dress from H&M or Topshop and achieved the same look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 18, 2012
Great lbd! Ran a bit small in the chest and I don't have much of one...I'd go a size up.
If you have a big bust stay away from this one. Length is great, above knee. Pockets are always a plus for me but these were quite close together and in the front, not on the sides.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
pretty dress for a wedding
This runs teensy! I usually wear a 6/8, the 8 was too small so i lent it to a friend who wears a 4/6 and she could barely get the zipper up. Def order up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 27, 2012
This dress is so much more gorgeous (and unique) in person - and perfect for a black tie affair!
I was really skeptical about this dress, so I ordered it as a backup to another RTR dress. I have a large bust, small waist and wide hips, so I thought the full skirt would make me look bigger than I am, but it did just the opposite! It was so flattering and the fit was perfect from top to bottom. I usually wear a 4 or 6, but heeded the advice of other reviewers and sized up to an 8 for this one because I thought my regular size would be tight on top. I'm a 34D, and the fit in the chest was snug but very comfortable - a smaller size definitely would not have fit. The dress fell to just above my knee, making it appropriate for a church wedding. As I mentioned before, this was my backup but I loved it so much that I chose this for the wedding, and it's my favorite RTR rental so far! I paired it with black pumps and minimal jewelry (earrings and a bracelet) to highlight the unique shape of the dress.
ashleyJuly 30, 2013
Helpful review.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2013
It was perfect for a formal wedding.
I'm normally a size 2 and the size 4 fit perfectly. I received lots of compliments. Wore it with two different pairs of shoes for two different looks, kitten heels for the ceremony then platform peep toes for dancing, both suited well. It's a high quality, timeless dress and I wish I could own it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2013
Adorable and original!
I rented this dress for my husband's office Christmas party, and it was perfect for the occasion: pretty and fun, but not overtly sexy. The chest doesn't stretch, so I had to go up a size (to an 8 from a 6) to get it to zip, but from the waist down it a comfortable fit and flare shape. The pockets in front are also great and really cute! In some ways, because of the satin and shape, the shoulder area looks like a dress Judy Jetson would wear! But because it's still such a classic color and silhouette that extra detail just gives it point of interest. If you're looking for classic but not boring, this is your dress! I wasn't disappointed.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
March 9, 2013
I didn't wear it
The material wasn't as nice as I expected and the skirt flare was much larger than I had expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 17, 2013
so pretty, loved this dress
this is a fabulous dress, so fun and well constructed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2013
Great style, flattering, classy but fun!
I typically would wear a 4 or 6 but based on other reviewers' feedback I ended up going with an 8. It was snug around the chest, a tiny bit large in the waste (though it looked fine). I loved the fit of the dress, very sharp. The bottom "hoop" wasn't as prominent as I was expecting which was a nice surprise. Just enough flair! Loved this dress and would wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2013
Who knew my bday dress would end up being the dress I wore when my boyfriend proposed to me!!
I bought this dress for my birthday as I needed something fun and formal to wear. I didn't know what I was doing on my birthday (It was a surprise) so I thought LBD was the way to go. This dress was adorable! It was a little tighter in the bodice than I would have liked but it is a nice thick material so still looked great. The black was faded in some areas from ironing (You can tell it has been worn a lot) but you couldn't really tell from a far. The high neck made it perfect since I saw all my family that night after I was proposed to! I would suggest renting up a size or two.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 149lbs
April 9, 2013
Classic Elegance
I rented this dress 6 weeks after I had a baby. The 10 (used to be a 6) was a bit snug but the fit of the dress was very flattering. I don't think it's the best dress for someone with a large bust but would work very well for someone with a small waste and bigger hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
Classy, but NO STRETCH
I have a broad shoulders and I guess big ribs, and this would NOT zip. I was really sad because I was unable to wear it. There was no stretch to this fabric, and it would just not zip. I was disappointed that this dress looked as worn as it looked. It is clearly well loved. My friend tried it on, and it looked wonderful on her. Skip though if you have big shoulders or a big bust.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 24, 2013
N/A
This dress runs small. I am in between a 4 and a 6 typically, so I ordered both sizes, and even the 6 felt a little snug. Nonetheless, it was very stylish and is a great looking dress. I was happy with my selection.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
July 25, 2013
Perfect LBD...absolutely PERFECT!
Loved the fit of this dress, it was so flattering!! I normally wear a size 8, but decided to order the 10 (because my have a larger bust) and it was perfect! So glad I did that. I got so many compliments on it, I felt just amazing in it! It was just stunning on. I rented it for a black tie wedding, but will def be renting this dress again...maybe for NYE!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2013
Runs small!
Great dress but it does run small! I was unable to wear it because it was too tight at the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2013
This fabric has no give to it what-so-ever
The dress I received in the mail seemed very different than the one pictured. The fabric had no stretch at all, the dress seemed worn, was wrinkly, and much, much shorter than I expected. I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 was incredibly small and my backup size was actually a completely different dress that also didn't fit. As my first RTR experience, this was my nightmare coming true, especially considering it was 5pm by the time I received my dresses and I had a 7am flight the next morning. Long story short, after a phone call to RTR, the agent asked some discovery questions about the dresses and what about them didn't work, then found a new dress for me that was a similar style with much more giving fabric for my pear shape. We were able to have the dress overnighted to a different address and the new dress ended up working perfectly!! Long story short, the RTR agent saved my experience and I will definitely be renting again, just not this dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 23, 2013
too small!!!
i had ordered this as a back up for the next day of funeral. my sis ended up wearing it and she usually wears a size 2. the 6 fit her well. I put the dress and was able to to zip it up. but couldn't breathe and was uncomfortable. did go to waste though. my sis looked good in it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2013
This dress exudes class and sophistication. The shape it creates is phenomenal.
Wore it to daughters senior formal. I zipped it up and felt like the First Lady, so classy and beautiful. It made my waist look so tiny, and the cupcake skirt was playful and fun. Paired with a string of pearls , some nude pumps, and sparkly studs, I felt very JFK era/ Audrey Hepburn/ belle of the Ball in this Halston dress. Beware large breasted women, there isn't any stretch in the bust area, so deep breaths are hard to come by and this dress may be better for the flatter chested ladies. I would rent again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
March 3, 2014
Perfect LBD!
This is a perfect LBD for any occasion! It's a simple dress with a cute shoulder detail but a perfectly sized fit-and-flare silhouette makes this dress so great. It does run a little small so I would size up for the back-up size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2014
Perfect LBD!
This LBD is so flattering to your figure! It does run a little small and the fabric does not have much give. I loved the pockets in the front as well. I felt like a million bucks in this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 14, 2014
The perfect, chic LBD
Very flattering and comfortable. A great "no fuss" dress that still looks elegant. The fabric wasn't as nice as I expected to be, but it still looked good. Pockets are fun. I ordered a 6 & an 8... the 6 was tight around the ribcage, so I wore the 8. Although I am normally a 4/6 in dresses. This is the perfect dress if you want to be comfortable sitting, standing, or dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
March 29, 2014
Better in pictures
Nice, classic black dress. More structured than the picture looks. Shorter than expected but overall nice. The dress was a little more worn/faded than I would have liked but at night it wouldn't be too noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 28, 2014
Perfect little black dress. Stunning simple style.
I absolutely loved the style of this dress. Very well made and flattering fit. However, I couldn't wear it because the arm holes were a bit too narrow for my shoulders. I have broad shoulders, so perhaps it's just me. The dress fit perfectly everywhere else.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
Beautiful, perfect dress!
Dress fit small, and was very tight in the torso area. The ribbing is very strong and makes an amazing silhouette. I'm not tall, so the dress was long enough to be demure and classy. I can't say enough about this dress; it fit perfectly, it looked wonderful, it was comfortable to wear all night, and I got a ton of compliments! Very easy to accessorize as well. I easily went from black slingbacks for the ceremony, to nude pumps for the reception, to my pink Tieks for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2014
Didn't wear
Cute dress but way too tight in the stomach area - didn't end up wearing this dress because I could barely breathe in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2012
Perfect LBD
Love, love, love this dress and would definitely rent it again. I usually wear between a 4-6, and the 6 fit perfect (runs on the small side). Could definitely dress this up or down, depending on the accessories you choose. I wore it with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar Black Ice Bangle Set from Rent the Runway and got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2013
Simple and chic! I felt amazing in it!
I loved this dress. The shape is great, its a little more than the classic LBD. normally wear an 8 but the 10 fit like a glove, I didn't need a bra. (it runs a little small in the chest so if you're larger than a C, size up!) I got so many compliments all night. I will be renting it again! I paired it with the Kate Spade Pink Hot Chip Statement Necklace to complete the look!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2014
Great Little Black Dress!
This dress was simply easy, yet i still felt dressed up! It was a great length and I loved how there was a subtle flare in the skirt. A little snug in the waist/mid section, but comfortable and flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again. RTR couldn't send me the 6, but I did still receive my backup size which was the 8. It fit great, so I would say it runs a little small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2013
Feeling fun, but appropriate, at my office's work party!
I rented this for my company's New Year's party, and it was perfect. Appropriate enough but still super fun. If you want a more comfortable fit that isn't cutting off your arms, go up a size. I'm usually a 4 and I felt so constricted in it because the material has no give!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 12, 2013
Fit well, was a good go-to black dress
I wear between an 8 and a 10 usually. I ordered the 10 and it fit perfectly. The 8 wasn't available or I would have ordered both. I'm 5' 9" and it was a tad short on me when I would sit down, but when standing seemed like a perfect length. I have a smaller waist and bigger hips. It made my waist look small and didn't accentuate my hips, so I was happy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 23, 2014
Absolutely LOVE it!
This dress is wonderful! Very flattering, and very nice looking. The satin detail on the sleeves, the little pocket in front, and the tight fit make for a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2012
Loved the flared skirt!
The structure in this dress is so unique, it made me feel so great! The bust is fitted but the skirt has a structured flare which is so flattering. The pockets are such a fun added bonus! Perfect dress for any occasion. Love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
October 22, 2012
Very happy.
Dresses were perfectly clean, well packaged and delivered the morning it was scheduled to arrive. I loved the dress and it was perfect for the occasion. I will rent the runway again, and encourage my friends to do so as well!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×