Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Night Crawler Dress

$86 to buy
$485 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You are mod and in charge! This beyond chic Halston Heritage dress is the ultimate fashion forward style to strut your stuff in at the event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silk Cotton Faille (81% Cotton, 19% silk). Silk Cap Sleeve. Pockets. Crew Neckline. Full Skirt. Hidden Back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

84 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 46
Large 2
Photos 29
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Loved the flared skirt!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The structure in this dress is so unique, it made me feel so great! The bust is fitted but the skirt has a structured flare which is so flattering. The pockets are such a fun added bonus! Perfect dress for any occasion. Love it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

This dress is simple, yet chic! It's amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for one of my wedding showers and I absolutely loved it! My fiance said it was one of his favorite dresses he'd ever seen on me! I loved the pockets in the front. My jewelry is also from Rent the Runway. I LOVED the necklace!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

LOVE this dress! simple, classic, flattering LBD.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I've worn this now to a wedding and a black tie event, and it was great for both occasions! The perfect black dress that doesn't require much beyond a great pair of heels and a bold lip for a stunning look. The structured skirt and bodice make for a very flattering, feminine look and feel. This dress does not stretch, so for more busty woman (not myself), I would suggest going up a size. I wore the 6 to one event and was fine, but chose the 8 this time and the bodice was much more comfortable. After years of searching, I think I've finally found the perfect little black dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Amazing and effortless. Fitted & feminine. I can't wait to rent again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Good for small chest. It's fitted in that area. Bottom flares out nicely. Hits a little below knees. There is a different fabric trimming the sleeve that's cool & adds a futuristic edge. Good with statement necklace or statement shoes.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2012

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Love, love, love this dress and would definitely rent it again. I usually wear between a 4-6, and the 6 fit perfect (runs on the small side). Could definitely dress this up or down, depending on the accessories you choose. I wore it with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar Black Ice Bangle Set from Rent the Runway and got lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

This dress is so much more gorgeous (and unique) in person - and perfect for a black tie affair!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was really skeptical about this dress, so I ordered it as a backup to another RTR dress. I have a large bust, small waist and wide hips, so I thought the full skirt would make me look bigger than I am, but it did just the opposite! It was so flattering and the fit was perfect from top to bottom. I usually wear a 4 or 6, but heeded the advice of other reviewers and sized up to an 8 for this one because I thought my regular size would be tight on top. I'm a 34D, and the fit in the chest was snug but very comfortable - a smaller size definitely would not have fit. The dress fell to just above my knee, making it appropriate for a church wedding. As I mentioned before, this was my backup but I loved it so much that I chose this for the wedding, and it's my favorite RTR rental so far! I paired it with black pumps and minimal jewelry (earrings and a bracelet) to highlight the unique shape of the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

Holly GoKaraoke!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was looking for a fun little dress to wear to a karaoke bachelorette party. Usually, I shy away from wearing black because it can look a little severe with my complexion and hair color, but I loved the playful shape of this dress. I wore it with a statement necklace (also RTR), tight weave nude fishnets and gold heels. I felt like a modern Holly Golightly out on the town.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 8, 2013

I felt very chic wearing this in Las Vegas!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Overall this is a great LBD and you can style it lots of different ways. Be aware that there is no stretch at all in this dress, so if you are in between sizes, you should order a size larger. It has a great flare at the bottom and was lots of fun to wear!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

so pretty, loved this dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this is a fabulous dress, so fun and well constructed.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

Who knew my bday dress would end up being the dress I wore when my boyfriend proposed to me!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I bought this dress for my birthday as I needed something fun and formal to wear. I didn't know what I was doing on my birthday (It was a surprise) so I thought LBD was the way to go. This dress was adorable! It was a little tighter in the bodice than I would have liked but it is a nice thick material so still looked great. The black was faded in some areas from ironing (You can tell it has been worn a lot) but you couldn't really tell from a far. The high neck made it perfect since I saw all my family that night after I was proposed to! I would suggest renting up a size or two.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jul 25, 2013

Perfect LBD...absolutely PERFECT!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fit of this dress, it was so flattering!! I normally wear a size 8, but decided to order the 10 (because my have a larger bust) and it was perfect! So glad I did that. I got so many compliments on it, I felt just amazing in it! It was just stunning on. I rented it for a black tie wedding, but will def be renting this dress again...maybe for NYE!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 4, 2013

Simple and chic! I felt amazing in it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. The shape is great, its a little more than the classic LBD. normally wear an 8 but the 10 fit like a glove, I didn't need a bra. (it runs a little small in the chest so if you're larger than a C, size up!) I got so many compliments all night. I will be renting it again! I paired it with the Kate Spade Pink Hot Chip Statement Necklace to complete the look!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 5, 2013

This dress exudes class and sophistication. The shape it creates is phenomenal.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore it to daughters senior formal. I zipped it up and felt like the First Lady, so classy and beautiful. It made my waist look so tiny, and the cupcake skirt was playful and fun. Paired with a string of pearls , some nude pumps, and sparkly studs, I felt very JFK era/ Audrey Hepburn/ belle of the Ball in this Halston dress. Beware large breasted women, there isn't any stretch in the bust area, so deep breaths are hard to come by and this dress may be better for the flatter chested ladies. I would rent again in a heartbeat.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. I did not see much difference between the 0 and 2. It was very comfortable and the hidden pockets are fun!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

wore this dress for wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
received tons of compliments on this dress. will definitely rent again
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Loved this dress! I have ordered multiple times since I initially tried last year.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Perfect LBD. Very flattering and comfortable. Great A line shape.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Loved this dress! I rented it for a bachelorette party and received many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The only down fall to this dress were the sleeves were a little tight but definitely something to overlook considering the quality of the material and look. Would recommend it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Super cute!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress and another one for a charity event in LA. I ended up wearing the other dress because it was more formal, however I had such a hard time not wearing this one because it was so cute!!! And it has pockets!!! I have several weddings and parties coming up this year and will most definitely be re-renting this dress to wear to one of those events. Dress fits fairly true to size, it was a tad big in the waist for me.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

I felt very comfortable in this dress. It was fun to dance in too.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well, flattering to all figures, not too long or too short, very classy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Mar 3, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a perfect LBD for any occasion! It's a simple dress with a cute shoulder detail but a perfectly sized fit-and-flare silhouette makes this dress so great. It does run a little small so I would size up for the back-up size.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

i felt like an absolute princess. the dress fit perfectly, it was so unique and crisp.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great! It accentuated my waist and I loved the fit and flare look!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 11, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This LBD is so flattering to your figure! It does run a little small and the fabric does not have much give. I loved the pockets in the front as well. I felt like a million bucks in this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 14, 2014

The perfect, chic LBD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering and comfortable. A great "no fuss" dress that still looks elegant. The fabric wasn't as nice as I expected to be, but it still looked good. Pockets are fun. I ordered a 6 & an 8... the 6 was tight around the ribcage, so I wore the 8. Although I am normally a 4/6 in dresses. This is the perfect dress if you want to be comfortable sitting, standing, or dancing!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 16, 2014

Comfortable and nicely designed dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress itself is very simple and comfortable. The dress in size 4 wasn't available so I got 6 which was a little big, but still looked okay. This dress showed signs of multiple dry-cleaning trips and looked a little old. It wasn't really that special since I have about 10 dresses in my closet that are very similar. My own fault for waiting till the last minute to find an outfit for the benefit I was attending.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Great fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits tight around the bust to mid-waist, then flares out from there. If you have a bigger bust, you'll need to go up a size, but this size fit me to a tee! Loved the fun simplicity of the dress (definitely a more classy than sexy vibe), especially paired with a statement necklace also from RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Better in pictures

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Nice, classic black dress. More structured than the picture looks. Shorter than expected but overall nice. The dress was a little more worn/faded than I would have liked but at night it wouldn't be too noticeable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

Love the pockets! Nice little black dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, true to size. A little shorter than I normally wear, but not indecent or anything like that. Love the pockets and the way the sleeves are cut since they do emphasize nice arms. My only complaint is that maybe it's a little too simple - I normally get compliments on RTR dresses, but none on this one!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 23, 2014

Absolutely LOVE it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is wonderful! Very flattering, and very nice looking. The satin detail on the sleeves, the little pocket in front, and the tight fit make for a great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect little black dress. Stunning simple style.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I absolutely loved the style of this dress. Very well made and flattering fit. However, I couldn't wear it because the arm holes were a bit too narrow for my shoulders. I have broad shoulders, so perhaps it's just me. The dress fit perfectly everywhere else.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Audrey Hepburn comments all night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A flattering simple little black dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
May 1, 2014

Loved the Style

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress. Very comfortable, made me feel amazing. And it was easy to add little touches with accessories and great shoes! No complaints here!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 12, 2014

Great Little Black Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was simply easy, yet i still felt dressed up! It was a great length and I loved how there was a subtle flare in the skirt. A little snug in the waist/mid section, but comfortable and flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again. RTR couldn't send me the 6, but I did still receive my backup size which was the 8. It fit great, so I would say it runs a little small.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 29, 2014

Flattered my figure

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. It wasn't too short and the skirt flattered my curves. I felt amazing in this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Beautiful, perfect dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit small, and was very tight in the torso area. The ribbing is very strong and makes an amazing silhouette. I'm not tall, so the dress was long enough to be demure and classy. I can't say enough about this dress; it fit perfectly, it looked wonderful, it was comfortable to wear all night, and I got a ton of compliments! Very easy to accessorize as well. I easily went from black slingbacks for the ceremony, to nude pumps for the reception, to my pink Tieks for dancing.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Beautiful dress! Classic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, but tight in the chest. Girls who are larger than a B may encounter issues.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Didn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cute dress but way too tight in the stomach area - didn't end up wearing this dress because I could barely breathe in it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

One of my favorite dresses by far!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size and it was so comfortable! It is a great LBD with a twist from the detail on the shoulders to the front pockets. I received so many compliments and people wanted to know where they could get it...I myself have been keeping my eye out to purchase it I loved it so much!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Great shape.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is definitely WORN but still had its structure.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134 lbs
May 3, 2015

Runs small

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty dress, flirty and short but great material. It has a really unique skirt but it kind of cut narrow at the underarm and made that weird arm cleavage. I was a little self conscious about it. Runs small!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
May 3, 2015

Great Black Dress.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
I ended up wearing the size two, because I liked the way it fit better than the size four.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×