Night Crawler Dress

$86 to buy
$485 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You are mod and in charge! This beyond chic Halston Heritage dress is the ultimate fashion forward style to strut your stuff in at the event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silk Cotton Faille (81% Cotton, 19% silk). Silk Cap Sleeve. Pockets. Crew Neckline. Full Skirt. Hidden Back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
84 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size46
Small34
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 24, 2013
N/A
This dress runs small. I am in between a 4 and a 6 typically, so I ordered both sizes, and even the 6 felt a little snug. Nonetheless, it was very stylish and is a great looking dress. I was happy with my selection.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2013
Classy, but NO STRETCH
I have a broad shoulders and I guess big ribs, and this would NOT zip. I was really sad because I was unable to wear it. There was no stretch to this fabric, and it would just not zip. I was disappointed that this dress looked as worn as it looked. It is clearly well loved. My friend tried it on, and it looked wonderful on her. Skip though if you have big shoulders or a big bust.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
May 13, 2013
Love love love!!
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and stylish! I would recommend!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Best LBD
Would buy this if there was an option. Perfect fit in all the right places, and received many compliments. This was by far my favorite dress I have worn since my wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 14, 2013
Great black dress... But more casual than dressy
The fabric wasn't as dressy as expected. But was an awesome fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 149lbs
April 9, 2013
Classic Elegance
I rented this dress 6 weeks after I had a baby. The 10 (used to be a 6) was a bit snug but the fit of the dress was very flattering. I don't think it's the best dress for someone with a large bust but would work very well for someone with a small waste and bigger hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 5, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!
If I could buy this dress I would. It's classic LBD and can be dressed up or down. I wore this for an outdoor wedding and received tons of compliments when I was wearing my coat (it was 35 degrees, yes and outdoors!). I'd likely rent this dress again as it fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2013
Who knew my bday dress would end up being the dress I wore when my boyfriend proposed to me!!
I bought this dress for my birthday as I needed something fun and formal to wear. I didn't know what I was doing on my birthday (It was a surprise) so I thought LBD was the way to go. This dress was adorable! It was a little tighter in the bodice than I would have liked but it is a nice thick material so still looked great. The black was faded in some areas from ironing (You can tell it has been worn a lot) but you couldn't really tell from a far. The high neck made it perfect since I saw all my family that night after I was proposed to! I would suggest renting up a size or two.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2013
Fun and Flirty and Fit perfectly!
I wore this to an networking event for school. I paired with fun accessories and had a great night. I received a lot of complements.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2013
Great style, flattering, classy but fun!
I typically would wear a 4 or 6 but based on other reviewers' feedback I ended up going with an 8. It was snug around the chest, a tiny bit large in the waste (though it looked fine). I loved the fit of the dress, very sharp. The bottom "hoop" wasn't as prominent as I was expecting which was a nice surprise. Just enough flair! Loved this dress and would wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 17, 2013
so pretty, loved this dress
this is a fabulous dress, so fun and well constructed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
March 9, 2013
I didn't wear it
The material wasn't as nice as I expected and the skirt flare was much larger than I had expected.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 8, 2013
I felt very chic wearing this in Las Vegas!
Overall this is a great LBD and you can style it lots of different ways. Be aware that there is no stretch at all in this dress, so if you are in between sizes, you should order a size larger. It has a great flare at the bottom and was lots of fun to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2013
Feeling fun, but appropriate, at my office's work party!
I rented this for my company's New Year's party, and it was perfect. Appropriate enough but still super fun. If you want a more comfortable fit that isn't cutting off your arms, go up a size. I'm usually a 4 and I felt so constricted in it because the material has no give!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 5, 2013
Great detail on shoulders
The detail on the shoulders was great, but the tailoring along the zipper was unflattering (created a tail). Tight on bust, roomy in waist - good for small bust & large hips. Color is greyish black. Would not rent again because of the zipper section.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2013
Adorable and original!
I rented this dress for my husband's office Christmas party, and it was perfect for the occasion: pretty and fun, but not overtly sexy. The chest doesn't stretch, so I had to go up a size (to an 8 from a 6) to get it to zip, but from the waist down it a comfortable fit and flare shape. The pockets in front are also great and really cute! In some ways, because of the satin and shape, the shoulder area looks like a dress Judy Jetson would wear! But because it's still such a classic color and silhouette that extra detail just gives it point of interest. If you're looking for classic but not boring, this is your dress! I wasn't disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2013
Holly GoKaraoke!
I was looking for a fun little dress to wear to a karaoke bachelorette party. Usually, I shy away from wearing black because it can look a little severe with my complexion and hair color, but I loved the playful shape of this dress. I wore it with a statement necklace (also RTR), tight weave nude fishnets and gold heels. I felt like a modern Holly Golightly out on the town.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
I wore this to go to the courthouse and sign my wedding certificate with my grandparents and hubby.
It is an amazingly flattering and modern cut. It runs tight in the chest but better to get it to fit your waist since the cut is what makes it so amazing. I ended up tracking it down and buying it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 12, 2013
It was perfect for a formal wedding.
I'm normally a size 2 and the size 4 fit perfectly. I received lots of compliments. Wore it with two different pairs of shoes for two different looks, kitten heels for the ceremony then platform peep toes for dancing, both suited well. It's a high quality, timeless dress and I wish I could own it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Amazing LBD! So many compliments!! I need to own this!
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. I was slightly worried about the exaggerated flare skirt but it was super flattering and mirrored the flared shoulders. The dress fit like a glove. The top was just barely tight on me, so if you're my size, but with a larger chest- size up. The only thing about this dress was the band at the bottom that keep the skirt flared out; It was a bit awkward to sit on. I just had to make sure, not unlike any other dress or skirt, that I was smoothing it out before sitting so as not to sit on it weird. But after sitting the skirt popped right back to life. I paired this dress with magenta suede heels and the Kendra Scott Phoenix Necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Fun Party Dress
very large/stiff skirt, but if you like/can get past that its really a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 27, 2012
This dress is so much more gorgeous (and unique) in person - and perfect for a black tie affair!
I was really skeptical about this dress, so I ordered it as a backup to another RTR dress. I have a large bust, small waist and wide hips, so I thought the full skirt would make me look bigger than I am, but it did just the opposite! It was so flattering and the fit was perfect from top to bottom. I usually wear a 4 or 6, but heeded the advice of other reviewers and sized up to an 8 for this one because I thought my regular size would be tight on top. I'm a 34D, and the fit in the chest was snug but very comfortable - a smaller size definitely would not have fit. The dress fell to just above my knee, making it appropriate for a church wedding. As I mentioned before, this was my backup but I loved it so much that I chose this for the wedding, and it's my favorite RTR rental so far! I paired it with black pumps and minimal jewelry (earrings and a bracelet) to highlight the unique shape of the dress.
ashleyJuly 30, 2013
Helpful review.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2012
Super chic dress. I wore it out in Vegas to dinner and a night out on the town.
It was pretty true to size, maybe a little small. It was tight around the chest but I'm busty. I just went without a bra and was fine. My bf loved the dress. It's definitely more stylish than "sexy" but it's sexy in a less obvious way. Great dress for petite women because it still hits mid thigh. I paired it with a chunky necklace and some sleek and sexy black and gold strappy heels. I'm actually considering ordering it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2012
Perfect LBD
Love, love, love this dress and would definitely rent it again. I usually wear between a 4-6, and the 6 fit perfect (runs on the small side). Could definitely dress this up or down, depending on the accessories you choose. I wore it with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar Black Ice Bangle Set from Rent the Runway and got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 17, 2012
Amazing and effortless. Fitted & feminine. I can't wait to rent again!
Good for small chest. It's fitted in that area. Bottom flares out nicely. Hits a little below knees. There is a different fabric trimming the sleeve that's cool & adds a futuristic edge. Good with statement necklace or statement shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
pretty dress for a wedding
This runs teensy! I usually wear a 6/8, the 8 was too small so i lent it to a friend who wears a 4/6 and she could barely get the zipper up. Def order up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2012
pretty
full skirt
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 12, 2012
Flair bottom is too exaggerated. Looks unnatural
Bodice fits beautifully, high quality fabric. However the bottom skirt flairs out at the hips as such an exaggerated angle and since the fabric is thick and "firm" - I felt like I looked like I was wearing a tutu. Unfortunately the length of the dress further exaggerates the flair of the skirt making it look even more awkward for a cocktail dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Cute dress!
Very pretty, nice material. Loved the pockets & capped sleeve. Dress runs big!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2012
Great dress!
This was so cute and flattering. It flailed out a little but in a fun way!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 28, 2012
Very feminine dress!
I loved the dress overall, but the size 4 was a bit tight in the chest area. A little uncomfortable for that reason, but I would def rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 18, 2012
Great lbd! Ran a bit small in the chest and I don't have much of one...I'd go a size up.
If you have a big bust stay away from this one. Length is great, above knee. Pockets are always a plus for me but these were quite close together and in the front, not on the sides.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2012
LOVE this dress! simple, classic, flattering LBD.
I've worn this now to a wedding and a black tie event, and it was great for both occasions! The perfect black dress that doesn't require much beyond a great pair of heels and a bold lip for a stunning look. The structured skirt and bodice make for a very flattering, feminine look and feel. This dress does not stretch, so for more busty woman (not myself), I would suggest going up a size. I wore the 6 to one event and was fine, but chose the 8 this time and the bodice was much more comfortable. After years of searching, I think I've finally found the perfect little black dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 6, 2012
21st Century Audrey Hepburn ;)
I ordered this dress, pre Hurricane Sandy for a cocktail party a couple of days after it. I was surprised the dress made it for the occasion! Kudos, RTR! Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get my back up size. (Totally understandable.) I had ordered both a 2 & a 4 after reading the reviews but was only sent the 2. The 2 fit, but it was a little snug in the chest area. I wore the dress anyway, and got compliments all night, but I do think that the 4 would have been a little more comfortable. I loved the shape, the pockets, everything about it and I would recommend anyone on renting it for a cute alternative to the LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2012
Very happy.
Dresses were perfectly clean, well packaged and delivered the morning it was scheduled to arrive. I loved the dress and it was perfect for the occasion. I will rent the runway again, and encourage my friends to do so as well!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2012
Meh.
Out of all of the dresses I've rented from RTR this was one of my least favorite. It's cute, but not overly special or exciting. Both dresses arrived extremely wrinkled. The dress is VERY structured and because of this when you sit down the dress pulls up in an odd way. It's just something you have to be consious off so that you aren't showing too much leg when you sit. As others noted, the dress is very tight around the chest and torso in general. I'm regularly a size 4 and have a small chest (34B) and although the 4 zipped up and actually looked perfect- I couldnt breathe! So needless to say I went with the 6. I wore this with a little leather coat and some big funky earrings. Again, it's cute, but for the price I think I could have purchased an inexpensive black dress from H&M or Topshop and achieved the same look.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2012
So fun and easy to wear
This dress was a fun, flirty, modern alternative to the typical LBD. The full skirt makes it really fun to dance in. I usually wear a 0, but the 2 fit also (was just a little loose around the midsection). I was nervous about the full skirt being unflattering/overwhelming on my petite frame, but it hit a couple inches above the knee so it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2012
An adorable dress-for the right body type. Too bad it wasn't for my body type
About the dress: it is a stiff cotton twill with a little stretch to it and satin pleated shoulder detail. The hem of the dress has a stiff "tape" (almost like what they use for collar stays in men's dress shirts) sewn in the hem of the dress to give it that cute flare to the dress. I wish this dress would have fit. I know this dress would have been perfect if I had had the right size. I rented this dress before RTR posted any fit specifications. I rented a 6 and a backup size 8 thinking that it might run small in the bust area being a high neck dress and all. Well when I finally got the size 8 zipped up I noticed that it flattened my chest in a very unflattering way. This dress will be adorable for a pear shape or an hourglass body but go TWO sizes up if you are a C cup or larger.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
This dress is simple, yet chic! It's amazing!
I wore this dress for one of my wedding showers and I absolutely loved it! My fiance said it was one of his favorite dresses he'd ever seen on me! I loved the pockets in the front. My jewelry is also from Rent the Runway. I LOVED the necklace!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
September 20, 2012
Fabulous!
Might want to get a size larger. It runs small in the chest area Can be worn during the day not only for an evening event.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×