Halston Heritage

Night Crawler Dress

$86 to buy
$485 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You are mod and in charge! This beyond chic Halston Heritage dress is the ultimate fashion forward style to strut your stuff in at the event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silk Cotton Faille (81% Cotton, 19% silk). Silk Cap Sleeve. Pockets. Crew Neckline. Full Skirt. Hidden Back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2012
LOVE this dress! simple, classic, flattering LBD.
I've worn this now to a wedding and a black tie event, and it was great for both occasions! The perfect black dress that doesn't require much beyond a great pair of heels and a bold lip for a stunning look. The structured skirt and bodice make for a very flattering, feminine look and feel. This dress does not stretch, so for more busty woman (not myself), I would suggest going up a size. I wore the 6 to one event and was fine, but chose the 8 this time and the bodice was much more comfortable. After years of searching, I think I've finally found the perfect little black dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 28, 2012
Very feminine dress!
I loved the dress overall, but the size 4 was a bit tight in the chest area. A little uncomfortable for that reason, but I would def rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 12, 2012
Flair bottom is too exaggerated. Looks unnatural
Bodice fits beautifully, high quality fabric. However the bottom skirt flairs out at the hips as such an exaggerated angle and since the fabric is thick and "firm" - I felt like I looked like I was wearing a tutu. Unfortunately the length of the dress further exaggerates the flair of the skirt making it look even more awkward for a cocktail dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2012
pretty
full skirt
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 17, 2012
Amazing and effortless. Fitted & feminine. I can't wait to rent again!
Good for small chest. It's fitted in that area. Bottom flares out nicely. Hits a little below knees. There is a different fabric trimming the sleeve that's cool & adds a futuristic edge. Good with statement necklace or statement shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2013
I wore this to go to the courthouse and sign my wedding certificate with my grandparents and hubby.
It is an amazingly flattering and modern cut. It runs tight in the chest but better to get it to fit your waist since the cut is what makes it so amazing. I ended up tracking it down and buying it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 5, 2013
Great detail on shoulders
The detail on the shoulders was great, but the tailoring along the zipper was unflattering (created a tail). Tight on bust, roomy in waist - good for small bust & large hips. Color is greyish black. Would not rent again because of the zipper section.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 8, 2013
I felt very chic wearing this in Las Vegas!
Overall this is a great LBD and you can style it lots of different ways. Be aware that there is no stretch at all in this dress, so if you are in between sizes, you should order a size larger. It has a great flare at the bottom and was lots of fun to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2013
Fun and Flirty and Fit perfectly!
I wore this to an networking event for school. I paired with fun accessories and had a great night. I received a lot of complements.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 5, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!
If I could buy this dress I would. It's classic LBD and can be dressed up or down. I wore this for an outdoor wedding and received tons of compliments when I was wearing my coat (it was 35 degrees, yes and outdoors!). I'd likely rent this dress again as it fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 14, 2013
Great black dress... But more casual than dressy
The fabric wasn't as dressy as expected. But was an awesome fit
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Best LBD
Would buy this if there was an option. Perfect fit in all the right places, and received many compliments. This was by far my favorite dress I have worn since my wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2013
Love this dress - perfect LBD with beautiful details.
Love the pleating detail on the shoulders and the pockets. The waist really cinches you in.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 8, 2013
Stunning classic!
I usually wear a 0-2 and this dress was perfect. Fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
November 12, 2013
Perfect LBD!
Loved this dress. I did not see much difference between the 0 and 2. It was very comfortable and the hidden pockets are fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2013
Perfect little LBD!!
I ordered this for a wedding in a 4 and a 6 and the 6 fit perfectly! I love the structure and it was super comfortable. I wore it with the Oscar De La Renta Music Box Drop Earrings and they were the perfect statement earring to complement the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2013
Simple and sexy!
The dress is very simple but was perfect for a cocktail party. It is not as short as it appears on the model. The dress runs true to size. I paired the dress with the Badgley Mischka crystal cluster necklace and it looked great. I received many compliments throughout the night. I will rent this dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2015
Great shape.
This dress is definitely WORN but still had its structure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Fun Party Dress
very large/stiff skirt, but if you like/can get past that its really a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Loved it
Loved the fit and structure of this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 29, 2014
Loved this dress! I have ordered multiple times since I initially tried last year.
Perfect LBD. Very flattering and comfortable. Great A line shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 8, 2014
Super cute!!
I rented this dress and another one for a charity event in LA. I ended up wearing the other dress because it was more formal, however I had such a hard time not wearing this one because it was so cute!!! And it has pockets!!! I have several weddings and parties coming up this year and will most definitely be re-renting this dress to wear to one of those events. Dress fits fairly true to size, it was a tad big in the waist for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 9, 2014
I felt very comfortable in this dress. It was fun to dance in too.
Fit well, flattering to all figures, not too long or too short, very classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
March 16, 2014
Comfortable and nicely designed dress
The dress itself is very simple and comfortable. The dress in size 4 wasn't available so I got 6 which was a little big, but still looked okay. This dress showed signs of multiple dry-cleaning trips and looked a little old. It wasn't really that special since I have about 10 dresses in my closet that are very similar. My own fault for waiting till the last minute to find an outfit for the benefit I was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 6, 2014
Love the pockets! Nice little black dress
Fit was great, true to size. A little shorter than I normally wear, but not indecent or anything like that. Love the pockets and the way the sleeves are cut since they do emphasize nice arms. My only complaint is that maybe it's a little too simple - I normally get compliments on RTR dresses, but none on this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
Audrey Hepburn comments all night
A flattering simple little black dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 1, 2014
Loved the Style
This was a great dress. Very comfortable, made me feel amazing. And it was easy to add little touches with accessories and great shoes! No complaints here!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 29, 2014
Flattered my figure
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. It wasn't too short and the skirt flattered my curves. I felt amazing in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Beautiful dress! Classic!
True to size, but tight in the chest. Girls who are larger than a B may encounter issues.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
This dress is simple, yet chic! It's amazing!
I wore this dress for one of my wedding showers and I absolutely loved it! My fiance said it was one of his favorite dresses he'd ever seen on me! I loved the pockets in the front. My jewelry is also from Rent the Runway. I LOVED the necklace!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2013
Holly GoKaraoke!
I was looking for a fun little dress to wear to a karaoke bachelorette party. Usually, I shy away from wearing black because it can look a little severe with my complexion and hair color, but I loved the playful shape of this dress. I wore it with a statement necklace (also RTR), tight weave nude fishnets and gold heels. I felt like a modern Holly Golightly out on the town.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 5, 2014
i felt like an absolute princess. the dress fit perfectly, it was so unique and crisp.
The fit was great! It accentuated my waist and I loved the fit and flare look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2014
Great fit!
The dress fits tight around the bust to mid-waist, then flares out from there. If you have a bigger bust, you'll need to go up a size, but this size fit me to a tee! Loved the fun simplicity of the dress (definitely a more classy than sexy vibe), especially paired with a statement necklace also from RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2014
One of my favorite dresses by far!!!
The fit is true to size and it was so comfortable! It is a great LBD with a twist from the detail on the shoulders to the front pockets. I received so many compliments and people wanted to know where they could get it...I myself have been keeping my eye out to purchase it I loved it so much!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 3, 2012
Great Dress
Nice LBD, runs true to size, although the bottom half exagerates your hips a little more than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2012
Classic LBD
I loved this style because it was sleek and great for a night out! It is pretty tight fitting especially in the bust and waist. There's actually a band sewn in the hem to make it bubble out which I thought was really cute and made a simple dress interesting!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2012
So fun and easy to wear
This dress was a fun, flirty, modern alternative to the typical LBD. The full skirt makes it really fun to dance in. I usually wear a 0, but the 2 fit also (was just a little loose around the midsection). I was nervous about the full skirt being unflattering/overwhelming on my petite frame, but it hit a couple inches above the knee so it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2012
Great dress!
This was so cute and flattering. It flailed out a little but in a fun way!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2012
Super chic dress. I wore it out in Vegas to dinner and a night out on the town.
It was pretty true to size, maybe a little small. It was tight around the chest but I'm busty. I just went without a bra and was fine. My bf loved the dress. It's definitely more stylish than "sexy" but it's sexy in a less obvious way. Great dress for petite women because it still hits mid thigh. I paired it with a chunky necklace and some sleek and sexy black and gold strappy heels. I'm actually considering ordering it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Amazing LBD! So many compliments!! I need to own this!
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. I was slightly worried about the exaggerated flare skirt but it was super flattering and mirrored the flared shoulders. The dress fit like a glove. The top was just barely tight on me, so if you're my size, but with a larger chest- size up. The only thing about this dress was the band at the bottom that keep the skirt flared out; It was a bit awkward to sit on. I just had to make sure, not unlike any other dress or skirt, that I was smoothing it out before sitting so as not to sit on it weird. But after sitting the skirt popped right back to life. I paired this dress with magenta suede heels and the Kendra Scott Phoenix Necklace.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×