Moon Goddess Gown

$75 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Turn heads at the gala walking in wearing this sexy Halston Heritage gown. A flattering color that can be pumped up with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Belted waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large89
True to Size64
Small3
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
May 23, 2016
Very comfortable
Loved the dress. Length was perfect. Neither size came with the belt that it was meant to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 20
April 27, 2016
This was a back up dress...
Dress was beautiful, especially in the back. But, it was very sheer, came without the belt, and the side boob was way too much to handle. There was no way it could've been worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
March 1, 2016
I wore this to a masquerade party inspired by the 70's!
I feel like this runs a little big - the Long size is definitely LONG but all in all this dress was perfect for my event. I felt sexy and glamorous and more importantly because the dress is very forgiving I could eat and drink all that I wanted. I was going to forgo the belt - it doesn't need it - but ended up wearing it to complete the look. I feel like this could be worn to a very formal event or even a more casual party. Just watch it if you get the long version, I am tall and it was still super long with 4' heels.
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
February 29, 2016
Loved it!!
Great dress!!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 15, 2016
This gown was gorgeous and super comfy - perfect for a long night of dancing.
I absolutely loved this gown. The fit was on the large size, especially if you aren't full-busted so I would order a size down. I'm 5'6" and wore 4 inch heels which made the length perfect. I would definitely recommend using fashion tape to keep the neckline in place because it can go from classy to trashy in one wrong move if you have much up top. I got so many compliments on this gown and wish I had it as a permanent piece of my wardrobe. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is because it arrived without the belt. Otherwise, an amazing experience. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
February 9, 2016
.
.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
.
I needed double sided tape to keep everything in place. Would not be good for someone with a large bust. Beautiful navy color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 23, 2015
Dress was a good fit however the belt was missing on both sizes and the chest area was too large
Fit well around the waist for my "normal" size 6. The belt was missing and the chest area was way too large. Even If I had much larger breasts there was too much fabric around the rib cage area that bulged out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 28, 2015
I was literally getting compliments all night!
This was so elegant and flowy, super easy to wear while still being formal enough for a wedding. I was able to go braless but didn't feel over exposed because of all of the extra fabric around the chest. The belt was falling apart but my sister was able to see it together and it was good to have because it gives the dress a waist in otherwise really flowy fabric. Overall super beautiful and classic, sexy and feminine and easy to wear! Would absolutely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 19, 2015
Loved the color and fit!
This dress was fantastic for a gala I attended. The halter-style is fantastic for those with broader shoulders, and it's extremely flattering given the pleating. The back is also sexy and stunning. I received countless compliments on this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
November 19, 2015
got a ton of compliments, especially on the back of the dress! Very flattering.
the dress was so very comfortable. however, a little hot with all the layers.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2015
The top of the dress is baggy around the breasts makes one look much wider than you really are.
This is a tougher breast fit than you were think. With the waist, if the top doesn't fit just right it's quite baggy and frankly makes one look fatter than they are.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
November 11, 2015
This dress completed my engagement photos!
#engagementpics #lovethisdress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 28, 2015
Loved The dress i went into the nyc store and my stylist Heather was amazing as well !
Fit was perfect, it highlighted all my assists and hid my problem areas like my stomach very well. I wore this for a #wedding and received tons of Compliments ! Felt like a total star! The only thing is that it runs a bit big in the top area and you will need double sided tape to keep in place since its a brawless style, it was a challenge keeping it all in place, but all in all a total princess dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
October 4, 2015
I loved how beautiful this dress made me feel!
Rented dress for a Mother/Daughter formal portrait session. The dress fit amazingly. I have a very large chest (36DDD) and smaller waist in comparison, making dress shopping hard. This dress was flattering to every part of my body. It was extremely comfortable too! I did not want to return it!!! Color is very dark, more black looking. Mine did not come with the belt, but I found a matching sash to tie around the middle.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 8, 2015
I was confident that I look great in what I'm wearing
This is a gorgeous and an elegant dress. I got a lot of compliments that night. Only thing is you have to use fashion tape to the keep the top part in place. But overall I loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
July 14, 2015
Such a gorgeous dress!
This dress was stunning and so classic. As the other reviews say, it does run large, so I went a size down and it was perfect. If you're short like me, the regular length is perfect with 3-4 inch heels and will just barely touch the floor. Would recommend using fashion tape on the side boob to avoid the fabric from gaping. Five stars!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 8, 2015
The fabric felt expensive & moved really well but the belt was for a smaller size so I adapted :-)
only downsides: 1. dress runs lage so, sideboob is a potential hazard 2. they sent a small belt soi skipped it all together
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 29, 2015
Gorgeous gown
Classy and the perfect neutral shade of navy. It was just much too tight in the waist, too long and too large in the bust.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
June 24, 2015
Having such a gorgeous dress and excellent customer service
This dress was my backup dress , which was shipped overnight . It was elegant, sexy , and most important I felt comfortable and beautiful in it . The reviews say it runs large , but I believe the fit of this dress is suppose to be somewhat flowy on top. I also received excellent customer service from The Rent the Runway staff . They were helpful, quick , and accurate . I felt I was taking a big risk by renting a dress , but even when my first option did not work for my body type , Rent the Runway made it all work out for me .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 15, 2015
Elegant and a bit daring
This dress was very pretty. I loved the fabric and the skirt part. The top was a bit tricky since I have a larger chest. I had to use a self adhering bra and fashion tape to make it look right but it was worth it. I did not love the open back as much on me because my back is wide. I think that is probably just a hang up I have about my own body more than the dress's fault though.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
June 15, 2015
Dress was perfect!
I'm 5'9 so the long with 4 inch heels was the perfect length. Definitely get the extra size one smaller than your normal size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2015
Great postpartum dress
Wore this a few weeks postpartum. Usually am size 0-2, was about 15 pounds over from pre-pregnancy weight, fit into the 2 perfectly so definitely runs larger. Very forgiving in the tummy area as the belt cinches the waist and the dress flows over the rest. Also was 32D pre-pregnancy, and not certain about the exact size postpartum/breastfeeding, but the girls are large and in charge - and this dress was a tad revealing in the chest area. Decided to just go with it. I wore flats with this dress purposely, and it would be too short if I wanted heels. Compliments all night long and so comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
June 1, 2015
backup dress
This was my backup dress and it arrived without the belt. The dress is very elegant but I did not wear it because I loved my first dress. This dress will work for any bust size. It si loose on the top so I would recommend ordering a size smaller. The length was also long enough to wear 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 159lbs
May 27, 2015
Dress came in perfect condition and on time
This dress was absolutely stunning, got so many compliments. This dress runs big so I went down a size and still could of went smaller. My whole experience with RTR was awesome. Once I put my dress in the mail was looking for my next rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
May 21, 2015
Easy to adjust and fit to your body with pins.
Great for hard to fit body types. The belt was cheap and didn't fit the dress so I exchanged for a colorful scarf. Super comfortable as well. A little long for me, 5'2" and I stepped on it and was difficult to go up and down stairs with the layers. But worth the risk!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
May 17, 2015
Glamorous dress, but runs way too large in the bust
I had rented this for a ball, but after receiving it in the mail, I decided to wear my backup style. If you have small boobs (< C cup), then please size two sizes down. I sized down a size and was still swimming up top in this dress. It can be fixed with fashion tape and still looks super classy, but you need the boobs to fill this dress. Absolutely stunning otherwise!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2015
Gorgeous - I've never felt more glamorous! Sexy, elegant and very comfortable.
Runs big - I needed a size 0R but wasn't available - was able to make the 2R work using lots of fashion tape but definitely opt for the smaller size if you are torn between two.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 22, 2015
Classic and easy to wear.
Love this dress! I wore this for a gala and it was perfect. The dress definitely runs big, I probably could have sized down even more to a 4. I had to get creative with the top and pin the chest area down because it was pretty loose. Other than that, super classic and elegant style. I didn't wear any jewelry besides earrings and it was dressed up enough. Would definitely wear again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 22, 2015
Classy and sexy all in one dress!
I rented this gown for a black tie gala. I received a ton of compliments. The name is quite accurate. Everyone stopped me and said "you look like a goddess!" The dress fits true to size except the top is a little large and loose. I ended up having to pin it up and used a little fashion tape. It was missing the belt, but looked fine without. Also if you are short (I'm 5'2") prepare to wear high heels! Mine were 4 inches and the dress was still a little long. Overall very happy with the dress. Looked and felt great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2015
Va va voom
This was my first pick dress that I didn't get to wear. I ordered the 10R and the 8L. And let me just say that the long is LONG. I'm 5'5" and had 4 1/2" shoes and it was too long. Unfortunately, it was too big in the top too and there were no 6R's available. Great dress- very pretty.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2015
Great dress, extremely comfy. Can be great for larger bust.
Loved this dress--super comfortable and formal at the same time. I'm 5'3 and it was a bit long w/ 3.5" heels. I have a 36G bust so the ample fabric covered my chest but did not hang like it does on the model. It became more like an empire waist dress but still very flattering. There is excess fabric on he sides that i just tucked in without even using fashion tape. It can accentuate your waist a lot if you have a much smaller waist vs your bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
April 7, 2015
i return the dress cause it was too big unfortunately didn't get credit for it.
none to be described at this time ,disappointed all across the board.
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2015
Absolutely gorgeous! I had never felt so beautiful!! I got a ton of compliments all night!!
I used a lot of fashion tape... Wore "long" with 5inch heels and the skirt hit the floor. I had to make the belt tighter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
March 31, 2015
I absolutely loved the dress. It was so comfortable and was super easy to dance in.
I usually wear a size 6 but I saw reviews that it ran big so I also got a size 4 and the size 4 fit perfectly. The dress was great because it was revealing but not too revealing and perfect for a formal events. I got a ton of compliments on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2015
sexy but tasteful little number!
I usually wear a 6 but was able to wear the 4 so I do recommend sizing down. this dress is the perfect amount of sass with the open back and deep v without being too revealing. the length of the 4R was perfect on my short frame. wasn't dragging or tripping at all. loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
March 26, 2015
Loved this dress! I received so many compliments!! I'm tall, and this dress goes to the ground on me
Fits true to size. I am a DD and I had plenty of room in the cup area. Loved the length, being 6'0".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 24, 2015
Beautiful gown!
I ordered a 2 regular and 4 long. I am 5'6 and wore 4 inch heels with the 2 regular dress. The dress fit true to size and was super comfortable. With the dress being backless no bra was worn. The fit of the dress was perfect and I never had any concern of "falling" out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2015
Easy breezy black tie appropriate, comfortable all night long and light weight.
I rented this dress for a spring black tie wedding that was mostly outdoors. The material was light but still felt rich/substantial without feeling hot. I thought it was very true to size, I didn't end up using fashion tape like some of the other reviews and also didn't need a bra as the material in the bust is thick and lined. The belt on the 6R was very worn but mine on the 4R was in good shape and helped create a more cinched waist. I loved this dress and the length was perfect, I wore 3 1/2 inch heels and it didn't drag at all. Thanks RTR... Another great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
March 1, 2015
Unfortunately, I never wore the dress so I didn't have a gown for the ball :(
I am normally a dress size 8. Due to the comments on the dress running large, I ordered the size 6 as well. I have a large bust, 36D. Despite that, I could not fill out the dress on the top. There is way too much fabric and engulfs your top torso. One reviewer stated that the topped laid like parachutes and I have to agree. The dress made me look huge and was not flattering at all. I am 5'3" and with 4 inch heels the dress was still too long. I never wore the dress and had to scramble to find a dress locally. I would not recommend this dress at all but the RTR customer service is fantastic.
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×