Halston Heritage

Metallic Python Dress

$44 to buy
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Try out this season's animal print trend with this sexy Halston Heritage one shoulder dress. With a little bit of shine this style is sure to be a hit.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Python printed stretch velvet with sequins. One shoulder neckline. Hidden shoulder pad. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(55)
Small
(6)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2010

This dress fit horrible in both sizes I ordered. It was nothing like I expected. Its not fitted a the bottom, it just has this loose flap at the back. Its really pretty and its a shame that it's ill fitting. I had nothing to wear for my birthday.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2011
Pretty

I rented this dress for a formal, and I got a few compliments. It is definitely a very pretty dress that doesn't look too tight or too young for anyone. Pros: Beautiful material, and very soft. It was the perfect length for someone of my height. It fell mid-thigh. Cons: I wore the size 0, however the dress was still loose on me, and I am by no means "thin" or "skinny" -- I am normal sized for someone of my height. It was loose right below the bust, and because the dress is looks form fitting, it made me look like I had some extra inches between my bust and stomach. Also, the bottom of the dress is not tight at all. It flairs out a little bit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2011
Fun for a date night

I am usually a size 4, but I was really glad I got a 2 as a back up size. From the photo, I expected the dress to be shorter and tighter than it was - even when I wore the 2! I definitely couldn't have sized down further, because the shoulder fit perfectly in the 2, but the bottom of the dress seemed to have a very slight flare to it rather than hugging the hips. That's probably a plus on most occasions, and it still turned out to be a hot date night dress, but I was a bit misled from looking at the photo. Ended up really enjoying the dress for the evening though - would recommend to others.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2012
perfect for new years - got lots of compliments from friends & family!

Rented this for New Years Eve out in Boston with my girl friends. I have been losing weight but in general have worn a L or 12 in any dresses I have rented but got the 10 as a back up and glad I did - the 12 fit but was loose and did nothing for my figure. The 10 was a little shorter but fit like a glove so I actually went with the smaller size. Beware if you are tall and have long legs this dress is DEFINITELY short!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2012
Good for a night out.

I am short and this dress was short on me. Very flattering and the fabric is very forgiving as it is stretchy. I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 4 worked for me. The fabric is not as shiny as it appears in the picture and the dress was a bit work when I received it. I didn't wear it because it was my backup, but definitely a safe bet for a night out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 2, 2012
Runs way big

Unfortunately I wasnt able to wear this because I ordered a 2 and 4, and both were large. Wish I would have gotten a 0.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Classy dress worn for a winter party

I rented this dress for a Russian birthday party in February. I wore it with black patent heels and black tights. The fit was absolutely perfect for an hourglass-shaped girl like me.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
August 24, 2012
RTR is so helpful, and i got a lot of compliments about the dress.

This dress is great ! I thought it would be tighter fitting, but i was happy with the way it loosened a little at the bottom.It's not amazing for dancing, but it's pretty good. I would recommend it !

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 28, 2013
PERFECT LBD!

Oh, wow, I absolutely adore this dress! The fit is flattering and beautiful! I love that it's a true mini dress. Although it seems loose fit-wise, it doesn't bother me since it is so short. Very sexy, yet still classic. I can't wait to wear it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2012
New Years Dress

Dress was short and fitting at the top but not at the bottom. However, it was a fun and sparkly dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
September 1, 2013
Not sure yet... gorgeous buts fits a little odd.

I love the fabric and the detail of this dress, but I'm not sure if it's going to fit my body type. It bunches up in the back, so my torso may be too long or I may be too large breasted for this dress. It fits perfectly, except for the little bit of bunching. If it doesn't end up working for me, then I'll give it to one of my younger, less curvy cousins. Either way, I'm totally happy that I bought it for only $44 during the clearance!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
August 19, 2013
I wish this one fit!

This was one of the dresses that I ordered for New Years Eve. I ended up wearing my backup dress because this dress just fit very weird. The top was very tight and the arm hole was too small, but then the bottom was large and actually fit more A-line rather than clinging to my hips. If you have a large bust or small hips, I don't think this would be a good pick.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 20, 2012
Gorgeous on, but tight in the arms.

I loved the way this stretchy mini fit, but it was tight on the left arm (went high into my armpit) and the material was scratchy at armpits The material scratched up my back when I put the dress on, but once the pain faded and so did the marks I really liked the dress (and after ignoring the armpit tightness).

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
October 18, 2011

This dress is entirely too short if you are a leggy lady. Better fit for petite, shorter build. Just walking is a challenge if you don't want yor backside revealed. Had to pass on this one, although it is a gorgeous dress for teh right person.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
December 7, 2011
Cute, but not perfect

This dressing is very cute and great for holiday parties. However, I did find that it runs rather small.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 3, 2010

A really fun dress and I would have loved to wear it but it was way too short.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 12, 2010

I read the reviews that the dress was too short, but a size 0 on me hit mid-thigh, definitely not a minidress. It's also not that tight on. Still cute though, would probably look better on someone a little taller.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
November 30, 2010

I loved this dress - finally something that fits and looks hot if you are a thin person! The velvet is not slimming, but I was ok with that.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2011

Great dress! I thought the python print may be a tad flashy but it was more subtle. I have a full bust and a size 4, my normal size, fit great with a strapless bra. The length hit me below the mid thigh (I have short legs though). Hugs curves.. could probably fit most body types!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 21, 2011

in person this dress is nice.. im 4'11 and wore a size 0. I have a petite body, it wasn't too long but it was a little big in the lower half. overall the print is really pretty.. you cant really see it that well in pictures but good dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 26, 2011

This dress looks beautiful on the hanger but didn't wear well. Another reviewer mentioned how the sequins hurt under the arms after wearing it - which is true. It is not tight fitting. It is a very classic dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2011

This dress is stunning on. My 14 year old daughter wore it to her high school homecoming and had awesome feedback. She looked stunning! The dress is short, but I didn't feel it was too short. Definately one to rent!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
April 8, 2011
Great customer service

I thought the dress was beautiful, and I got amazing compliments, however it gave me a rash under my arm from the zipper hook, and the sequence.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2011

I received SO MANY compliments on this dress and the 0R fit perfectly. I read that it was too short but it hit mid-thigh for me and the sequins did not bother my arms at all. Great dress!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 20, 2011

This dress was amazing. It fit like a glove, and the fabric was incredibly soft and comfortable. Not too tight, and the sequins weren't at all irritating.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2011

Wow it was great to try a dress like this. The dress was lovely and beautifully made. I looked like a million bucks. :)

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 3, 2011

LOVED this dress. Kinda want to buy it now. It perfect for a nice date

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2011
This dress was a dream to wear! Perfect for the party, so comfortable to dance in, and overall fit was fabulous!

Loved this dress! Wore to my sister's bachelorette party and received many compliments! I wanted to keep it, so when it goes on sale, I may buy it! The material is so soft, and it's very comfortable to wear. I thought it would be so tight that I may need to go up in size, but that was not the case. I absolutely love this dress!

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Body type: Full Bust
October 17, 2011

I think this dress ran true to size. It was very short. I'm way larger on top than the rest of my body and the dress just didn't fit properly.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2011

I really enjoyed this dress. However, after you put it on you cant bend over very well because you might show your underwear or other things. Also it is really itchy under your arm and around the neck area. BUT! It was cute and fit well! Great for homecoming! :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2011
Looking awesome

Well, the dress is more awesome in person that on the site. The detail is beautiful and its SUPER COMFORTABLE. I love that its not super tight at the bottom, but not "bell shaped" either. Just an awesome dress I wish I could wear again and again. Thanks so much..the pleasure was all mine! (and my husbands :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 30, 2011
Being out in Vegas w friends.

This was a nice little dress, but it did bunch up in the back a little and did not lay completely flat. I wouldn't wear it again but it worked for an evening out in Vegas.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 8, 2011
Sexy and fun!

Had fun wearing this dress to a holiday cocktail party over the weekend. The only downside is the sequins. They are a gorgeous detail, but I had scratches on my shoulder and bra line where they touched my skin. Not a comfortable dress, but enjoyed it anyway! I'm short so it wasn't quite as "mini" as on the model. Very flattering fit, however!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
February 29, 2012
Best Dress Ever

This is the hottest dress I've ever rented. So hot that I went out and bought it!!!! I highly recommend. The fit was great, and it was very sexy even though I was fully covered. I wore it for New Years Eve and was VERY comfortable all night. Cheers!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2012
Dream Dress

I LOVED this dress! It fit perfect, flattered in all the right places and received dozens of compliments. A definite winner!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
May 13, 2012
Great dress but...

This was a great dress and sexy but I agree with the other reviews that the zipper came up too high under your arm pit and was very uncomfortable. I was unable to wear the dress except for a picture. Too bad they can't do something about that.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 30, 2012
Super comfortable dress!

Wore this dress in Vegas for a girls night out. I expected it to be a bit shorter. I was a little tight in the sleeve and the sequins were itchy under the armpit but overall super comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2012
Loved it

This dress is really great. It was simple but caught the light really well. There's a shoulder pad there, I didn't really notice it before. Very classy

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Fit well. Short enough on a petite girl which is what I wanted.

Loved the one shoulder and it had a little shoulder pad which made it look even better. Great for a Christmas party. I loved this dress. This was my first of many rentals from rent the runway! Love rent the runway!!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 21, 2012
Fun and Flirty!

Loved the look of the dress. A bit disappointed the bottom was more "A line" than fitted (in other words, this is not a skin hugging dress). Also disappointed with the fabric which was very thin and flimsy (like wearing a halloween costume); may want to think about that in terms of weather/temperature. Overall though, the dress was very fun and flirty.

See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×