Halston Heritage

Metallic Accordion Dress

$38 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Halston Heritage dress will create quite the impact. With a subtle metalic floral print this dress will make you the life of the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black metallic floral chiffon. Scoop neckline. Accordion pleating. Overlay at bodice. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

45 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 25
Large 19
Photos 5
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Had to have this 'Carrie' dress from SATC 2 and it was beyond amazing - received so many compliments. Runs true to size but is a bit longer than expected. Rented both XS and S and ended up in the XS due to the length. Great for a night out!
EDB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 7, 2011

Overall fit: Small
In full disclosure, I rented this dress because I am 3.5 months pregnant and needed something to get me through a wedding as my current dresses are starting to get tight but I am not at the point of wearing maternity clothes. I did end up wearing this dress, but it was not flattering at all. I think it would look much better on tall thin women than shorter ones. The break in the dress happens at an odd place so it has the tendency to make you look bigger than you are or disproportioned. The dress itself was huge. I got a 6 and an 8 and could have used a 2 and a 4, even pregnant and even when I am not super skinny (just regular sized). I did rent the necklace shown with the dress and really liked that. It is heavy, but very cute. Lastly, the prior reviews are accurate that the straps are quite long on this dress and I too needed to pin them down. All in all, cute dress, but wasn't the best look for me. But then again, nothing is looking or fitting tremendously well right now!
JD
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
May 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! I'm usually a size 6, but the size 4 fit better. It has a pretty floral pattern within the metallic pleats, which gives it a dressier flair. Very comfortable. so impressed with this website!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jul 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Dress made me look larger than I actually am. You could probably size down if you're not super curvy! Fun to dance in and hides all midsection flaws!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Such a fun dress! Super easy to wear, catches the light just right. Smaller size actually fit better then my actual size, which is always a nice ego boost!
hairgirl
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments on it. I'm 5'6 weigh 140lbs. and bust size is 38D. I ordered size 12 and my backup was a size 10. The 10 fit perfectly. This dress hides any little tummy problems and the dress lays so great and perfect length for me just above the knee. I would highly recommend this dress and will be renting again.So easy to have so many choices. Delivery was right on time and so easy to return and thanks for all the little goodies you sent along with the dress. You guys really made my night and felt beautiful!!!!!!!Thanks.
Nina
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Wasn't crazy about the fabric, and it just didn't work for my body--I think it's best for super skinny people because it kind of accentuated my hips. That being said tho, I didn't mind because it was my back-up dress.
LPO
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Sep 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Dress is gorgeous, but I did not realize being 5'4 that it would not hit my body at the right length. If only it had been a little shorter it would have been perfect. Top of dress fit amazing, but the length just did not work well on my body. Even more gorgeous in person!! If you are tall this dress will be perfect for any occasion!
Fp
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 27, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I rented this for my birthday and had to return it since it was so long and big on me. I would definitely recommend going size down and keep in consideration how tall this model is - since I didn't! It's still a beautiful dress, but definitely not right for an hourglass shape
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I'm 5'10 and 138 lbs and normally wear a size 6, but ended up wearing the 4. It definitely runs a little big, like the other reviews said. I'm glad I ordered a smaller size. I'm somewhat "hippy" and while this dress is cute, it's definitely not the most flattering cut. Overall I was happy with it, but glad it wasn't the dress I rented for the wedding. I would have wanted something that was more figure flattering.
chelsa
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
this dress made me feel incredibly wide, i ended up not wearing it even though it was my first choice and going with the other dress i rented. was extremely disappointed because i really was hoping to wear it out for my birthday.
Charles
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Yeah, not for straight and narrow. It gave me a BIG lower half. So not good. The fabric is pretty. More shine and glitter than I thought. Was sad this couldn't be made to work using a belt or acc. so that it didn't seem as big.
Kells
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 3, 2011

Beautiful material - shimmery

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought this dress would not be as dressy upon me ordering it, but I was surprised at how dressy and classy it looked. The overlay on top is shimmery, which with the perfect accessories, looked beautiful and apporpriate for a semi-formal event. It is not flattering in the waist line, for the dress is pretty wide and it just hung there and there was a lot of cleavage action going on (I'm a 38DD). I could have worn a 10. But I wore it anyway and received a ton of compliments. On another note....Rent the Runway is the best! So far no problems and now it's my go-to website for special occasions. I've even done a return and did receive my money back (in a credit). Great website!
Kaylee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I would not recommend this dress if you have a figure. When I tried it on it made me look like I was wearing a bag!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Very Flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. In my opinion, the picture doesn't do it justice! I wore it to a wedding and was worried that the metallic would be a bit tacky but i was wrong and got MANY compliments! The only thing is that the 0 was tight at the top so a 2 fit much better on me. It was flattering, and a great dress if you plan on dancing! I would buy this dress to own in a heartbeat!!
HelloMontauk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Nov 17, 2011

gorgeous but not flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
i ordered a few dresses for a photo shoot i was having and the girls were beautiful, average small-ish sizes. however, unless you are amazon tall and stick shape - this dress does not flatter at all. it has no waist line and looks completely different then it does on the model. it worked for what i needed it for but i wouldn't recommend this dress.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 28, 2011

Who looks good in this?

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I ordered this in a 4 and a 6 and it looked bad, bad, bad! It's a very wide dress...I just couldn't get it to work. The 4 was hanging off of me, yet still made me look like a total pudge.
Jessie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 4, 2011

Just ok

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my 3rd in line selection so I did not end up wearing this. I am 4 months pregnant and it fit very well but also like other reviews was not exactly figure flattering. Overall, it was just "ok".
CC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 29, 2011

Awesome dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is exactly how I imagined it. I usually wear a size 2 but wore a 0. I wore this for a Xmas Eve party and received so many compliments on it. It is elegant but not over doing it. I would buy this dress in a heartbeat..it's gorgeous!
Siobhan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

I loved receiving the surprise 'Happy New Year' headband with my dress! (Not shown in this pic, but I did have it on later.) It's the little surprises like that that go a long way in customer service!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I ordered a size down for my backup size like the reviews suggested, and the smaller size fit perfectly. This was a fun swingy dress to dance around in, and had the perfect amount of sparkle for New Year's!
Erin
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 23, 2012

Party!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a HUGE hit at my office's 1 year anniversary party! It's sparkly, has a ton of movement and feels great to wear. The straps were a bit long (something you can get altered if it wasn't rented) and it's not the most flattering dress on someone with a little extra around the edges but I still got a ton of compliments!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Fun and flirty

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs a little large. Order a size down. I ended up not wearing it because it wasn't as flattering as the other dress I ordered.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fun dress for a party! 1920s flapper inspired.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the four, it was tight in the chest, but the top part covered that so it was not noticeable. Really fun and forgiving.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Oct 7, 2012

was not great

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
feels like cardboard and is HUGE! I couldn't wear it to my event because it looked ridiculous
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Not what I was expecting...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So I wore a dress from RTR a few months ago with a very similar-looking style and fit (which was amazing!) but this one was way different even though it looked so similar. The fit is not flattering at all, it's the combination of being really loose but the length is too long and gives you no definition. If you do rent it, be prepared to pin the shoulder straps, they are very long and I rarely have issues with that on dresses, but would have had to pin the 10.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Fun and easy to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress to wear to dinner and then out! It's pretty full in the skirt and can get slightly itchy but other than that very comfortable...definitely runs big so size down!
Suzy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Roaring 20s

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore for a roaring 20s costume party and got so many compliments! The dress really made the look! It runs large so I wore the smaller size. The dress is loose in general (especially around the hips) but fit well around the top.
kristin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering. Was perfect for a Christmas party where I didn't want to look too overdressed.
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Meh...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It runs VERY large. I recommend going down a size or 2. I normally wear a size 4 in this dress I got a size 2 and it was still swimming on me.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

Not great

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Fit was HUGE... I am normally a size 4 or 6, and the 2 was huge on me. I didn't end up wearing and returned right away. There was way to much material and it looked almost like a garbage bag. Not flattering at all!
Leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2012

Voluminizing.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear the dress -- it made me look 10x bigger than I was. It's so pretty but it just has too much volume. It would be great on someone who doesn't have much of a shape! I ended up wearing my other dress that I rented.
Cate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Jan 1, 2013

I got a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a little short on me, but fit great and was very comfortable. I didn't have to fuss with it at all.
Dot
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress, fit a little tight around middle chest. Could have worn the 12 for a more comfortable fit, but would have had to use a lot of tape to cover up bra on sides.
Erika
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Love this website, ditch the dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was HUGE. I'm usually a size 6 in a dress so I ordered this dress in size 4 & 6. I was falling out of the size 6 and the size 4 was still too large. RTR was so helpful with sending me a size 2 which finally fit but the dress wasn't very flattering. Although the dress in loose I wouldn't recommend wearing it unless you were very skinny or had little curves. I have normal curves and this dress made me look like I was wearing a garbage bag. But I've loved other dresses from this website!! I'd recommend it for any other dress!!!
Ann
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Twirling

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
If you are dancing, particularly swing dancing, this dress is a blast because it has so much movement. I wore it to a formal and my date seemed literally awe-struck by the skirt. It is not flattering in pictures however (unlike the sample photo) because of how shapeless the top drape part is. As long as you aren't hoping for a very fitted dress, it's a really fun dress which stands out from others. Definitely go for the smaller size if there are usually two sizes you go between.
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Way too large!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress had an excessive amount of material and was way too large. I wasn't able to wear it.
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

I didn't end up wearing the dress to my event because it fit so poorly.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs way large and is very awkward on the top. I would not recommend.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Pretty Dress but It's Got Alot of Volume

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE - I knew it was the black version of a dress SJP wore in SATC and had to have it. I felt like it kind of overwhelmed my figure - I'm 5'4 so it was a little long and it just looked baggy one me. Even though I wasn't thrilled, I still wore it out and had a blast in it!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

I loved this dress! I wore it for a 1920's theme wedding. It was perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable, but runs big. I went down a size and it was still pretty big.
Kasara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 12, 2013

Not flattering for women with larger busts.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top ruffle didn't do me any favors so I ended up not wearing it to my formal event. I tried it on for my boyfriend and his parents and everyone agreed it was awful.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×