Mai Tai Dress

$113 to buy
$374 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel the heat! This colorblock dress by Halston Heritage is what you need for a red hot time on that date or on the dance floor with your girls. Add accessories in a similar shade to really make the bold colors pop!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolored matte jersey (69% acetate, 23% nylon, 8% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with keyhole opening. Pencil skirt with ruched body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(55)
True to Size
(96)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 17, 2014
Bachelorette perfection!
I was nervous renting this dress because i have wide hips but I was presently surprised with this one! It was extremely comfortable and the material was stretchy. It camouflaged the mommy belly just right. It was sexy but not too revealing. I felt great in this and got tons of compliments. Also- size down on this dress! I LOVE RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2014
Very flattering! Perfect Fit
The 6 and the 8 fit very similar, but I went with the 6 because the fabic did not bunch up as much. Was a perfect wedding event dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2014
Everyone LOVED this dress!
I could have worn a size smaller, but the fit was so close that I decided to go for a little extra comfort.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 194lbs
December 17, 2014
Fun color, but did not work for me.
I loved the colors of this dress, but everything about the fit was just wrong. It was too big in the chest. The ruching was stretched funky on my body. The back made my rear look huge. Definitely a dress for skinny gals only.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 28, 2014
Beautiful colors!
The dress is form fitting. However, all of the twists of fabric on the front of the dress hide and tummy issues. I just had a baby five weeks before wearing this dress and from the front I don't think you could tell. The dress was also super comfortable for a Vegas bachelorette party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
January 17, 2015
Fun Tropical Dress
I loved the colors and how the front and back of this dress was designed. I ordered a 6 and thought the length was too long. I'm on the short side and I like dress lengths to be mini. So I would have ordered a size smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 19, 2015
If you have a small rear, this would be a great dress.
I have a large rear and a small waist. This dress fit, it was just out of my comfort zone as it was form fitting. It accentuated every curve and I'm not used to that as I normally wear A-line dresses to hide my large rear. I ordered this dress to step out of my comfort zone of A-Line dresses that I typically wear, but it was a little too much out of my comfort zone. I ordered a size 4 and 6, didn't wear either of them.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
February 22, 2015
My boyfriend kept telling me how gorgeous I was and could not stop starring!
I wore it for my valentines date with my boyfriend. I loved the fit and the color. It was longer than I expected, which I liked! The knot hid my stomach so I was happy to see that. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2015
Incredibly flattering.
I loved this dress. It was definitely form fitting, which I normally hate, but this was really flattering -- the material and the ruching made it work. My only recommendation would be to wear a strapless bra, because my bra straps ruined some pictures.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 28, 2015
super comfortable, great colors.
fabric is stretchy. the colors are amazing picking up accessories from any of the 3 colors was easy and chic. overall a great dress and totally worth the rent.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2015
Fun, colorful & comfortable dress!
This dress was a fabulous choice for a Florida wedding! The dress is form-fitting without being too tight. The colors were bright and vibrant, the comfort was a plus.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2013
It was super flattering and the colors are fabulous!
I'm usually a four but the dress is stretchy so I went with the two. The two even fit a little bit loosely!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
May 2, 2013
Comfortable and great for dancing!
I wore this to a club on the top of the Rio in Vegas. It was easy to move in. I got compliments all night long. It must have flattered my rear end because it was grabbed twice! LOL! I love the colors! I am 5"8" and 148lbs. It wasn't too short either! Big plus not to tug at the bottom while you are dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 8, 2013
I received comments about this dress all night! Different, and one that draws attention.
I'm 5'3" and 115 lbs. Athletic build. I'm usually concerned with how long the dress is aka where it hits on my thighs. This is a great, slim fitting dress. It was a bit loose in the stomach area, but it wasn't a huge issues (only I probably noticed it). Super comfortable and attractive. I want to rent it again for another event! I would get a size smaller than you normally are to ensure it fits properly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
May 17, 2013
Loved this dress!! I would rent this again in a heartbeat!
This dress did run a little big. Other than that this dress was perfect!! I got a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2013
The perfect dress for VA Tech graduation dinner because it had the school colors.
The dress ran a little big, so I should have ordered a smaller size and it probably would have hugged my body better. The top was large on me and just made me look larger. The knot didn't fall in the right place either. However, it was very easy to wear in terms of style and comfort. I got extra points for wearing school colors to my husband's graduation dinner party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
The dress wraps all your curves
You can wear this dress a night out at vegas, wedding, cocktail party and etc. Very flattering and unforgettable. True to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 21, 2013
Super sexy, comfortable dress!
I actually rented this dress for a charity event. In the picture online, the bottom of the dress look red, but it's actually hot pink. Luckily, the RTR stylist was able to send me another red dress overnight! I was SO lucky that I was bale to wear this dress to a cocktail party the night before. TONS of compliments and very comfortable. I was worried about the length since I am 5'2 but it was fine (if I owned it I would def hem). Great experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
May 28, 2013
Cool design, strange cut
The cut of this dress is quite odd -- it's tight enough to expose flaws if you fill it out, but with enough extra fabric to hang awkwardly if you don't. That said, I enjoyed wearing it and found it comfortable. And I got a lot of compliments from friends who are much more fashionable than I am! I was nervous about renting the 2 since I usually wear a 4 or 6, but I think it ended up being the right size for me. The bright orange color at the very top was not ideal for my olive skin tone -- I bet this would work better on more people if the colors were reversed from bottom to top. Compared to the model I am shorter and bustier, so the skirt was longer on me (almost to the top of the knee when I pulled it down and mid-thigh when it rode up), and the slit in the front exposed more cleavage.
SuzanneMarch 26, 2014
Thanks, I'm similarly built and I was considering the 4, will try the 2.
LilyApril 9, 2014
Thanks Suzanne! I hope it works out for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2013
Blah
Looks great on the model but when I put it on, it left much to be desired. Runs big so I had all sorts of extra material on me that just made me disappear and gave me absolutely no shape. I really wanted it to look good because of all the bright colors - but just didn't POP for me. Luckily, I was only sent the dress to review... and I didn't actually have an event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2013
Hot summer dress!
Wore this beautiful creation to an outdoor cocktail hour and graduation ceremony and dinner at a 5 star hotel. The colors were amazing! I wore spanx just to keep everything in place. Fabric is stretchy, forgiving. Pretty true to size. I usually wear a 6-8. The 6 fit perfectly. This dress is very well made, there are snaps to keep your bra in place. I would buy and wear again if I could!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2013
Never felt better, fabulous dress!
This dress is perfect for a summer wedding - it's bright, comfortable and sassy. There was not much difference in size between the 2 and the 4. Since it is meant to be more form- fitting, I went with the smaller size. My husband could not stop saying how much he loved this dress - and that almost never happens! I felt confident and beautiful and was sad to send it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2013
Comfy elegance!
This dress was worn to a graduation - and could also be worn to a wedding, date night, party - whatever. Very versatile. If you are a fan of the LBD, try some color and try out this dress - gorgeous. The 12 was a little tight and I didn't feel like wearing Spanx, so I wore the 14 and it was very comfortable - I could have worn it for days!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
June 18, 2013
Great color and very comfortable
This dress fits like a glove, so if you have spanx I suggest you wear them, im pretty busty so the slit in the front for cleavage was pretty much open lol but other than that the dress was very pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
July 1, 2013
This dress is amazing! It looks short on the model but the lenght is very nice.
If you are looking for something stylish comfortable this is the dress. I got many compliments on it hugging in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
July 2, 2013
This is perfect for a summer wedding.
It fits and hugs all the right places all while concealing the places you dont want to show off. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2013
Great colors
This dress was a material that I wasn't expecting, it was therefore a bit less forgiving than I was ready for. The colors were great, if I had the appropriate undergarments I would have loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
July 12, 2013
Runs true to size, but clingy
Unfortunately, this was my backup dress and I ended up not gong with it. It was just a little too clingy, but if i had been 10 lbs lighter, I'm thinking it would have been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2013
Absolutely stunning!
I rented this dress for my parents 30th anniversary vow renewal. The material was light enough to keep me cool during the outside ceremony on one of the hottest days of July. It was long enough to be classy, yet sexy. I didn't like how the material bunched at the stomach and rear area but that was easily fixed with a pin.
SuzanneMarch 26, 2014
I wondered about overheating in June, thanks for the description.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 22, 2013
Loved the dress. Colors were gorgeous.
Definitely runs large. I wore an 8 and could of even done a 6. Got tons of compliments on color and dress all night. Perfect for summer wedding. There is extra fabric runching around middle which can sometimes create a pouch look but the dress is very forgiving.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 23, 2013
Love the color and the fit@
Ordered a 2 and 4 and the 2 fit--probably could have even worn a 0. Got tons of compliments and was a total hit.!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 4, 2013
Feeling sexy without sacrificing comfort.
I rented this dress for a dinner date with my husband to celebrate our anniversary. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 4 (to be honest, I never even tried on the 6; the 4 fit so well that I just went with it). The dress is incredibly comfortable and the stretch and ruched fabric make it very forgiving. I tried it on with a few different bras and found that wearing a traditional bra (with a deep v cut) was the best way to go. The dress has small straps on the shoulders to hold your bra straps in place, so you don't need to wear a strapless. I wore it with nude shoes (I think that a dark color would overwhelm the dress) and loved the overall effect. I received a lot of compliments and my husband loved it. I would recommend it for summer events (it would be great at an outdoor party), dates, and parties where you want to be a sexy without going overboard.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 5, 2013
In my opinion, it was just alright.
The dress is made up of a slickly material and since I'm 5'1 ft and about 95lbs I felt this dress was not as form fitting as I would have liked. Also, since I'm a bit short so the dress was longer on me and made me feel bigger than I am. (Like other reviews said, there is a lot of extra material on the dress near the gathering of colors- on the stomach area).
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dress!!!
The color was gorgeous! It went from Coral to Peach to Magenta/Pink (not red like pictured), and it was ruched all over. The placement of the colors and the ruching definitely accented the waist, so the dress was very flattering. I have definitely never gotten this many compliments on a dress before, and I did not want to return this dress...sigh! Consistent with a lot of the reviews, this dress definitely runs large. I generally wear a size 16, but I had lost some weight, so I thought the 14 would be perfect, but it was like a mumu on me. The 12 fit me well and was not tight at all (even though I was busty and had a big butt and wide hips), but still hugged in the right places. I definitely recommend getting a size smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2013
love the colors - great for summer parties!
The colors are beautiful and the dress fit like a glove. If you want to showcase your curves, definitely rent this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2013
Great Dress for Spring!
The dress was great for a spring wedding, lots of compliments, very comfortable and very flattering! would def rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 13, 2013
I loved this dress I wore it for my two year anniversary.
It was super comfortable and was awesome for going out to dinner. I would definitely rent this dress again in the future! I think it runs a little large, it's super stretchy so there's plenty of room for comfort (especially after a huge dinner).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 26, 2013
perfect dress for a wedding
This was the perfect dress for the end of the summer wedding I attended. Received lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 8, 2013
Great dress! I received so many compliments on it!
The material was great, so comfortable. I was nervous the knot was going to stick out and look weird in pictures, but it didn't. My strapless bra showed in some pictures when I was leaning forward, but it was an easy fix by just pulling the slit up and back together. The only complaint I have was that the zipper kept bunching up at the end. Nothing crazy, but my friends kept fixing it for me as they were the ones that saw it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2013
Very comfortable dress yet looked elegant!
I should have got a 2 to see how that would have fit, but I enjoyed this dress. I wish I would have taken more photos though. I rented a pink and gold ring that I wore with it as well. I have a pretty flat tummy. but had to make sure I sucked it in for photos because I noticed in a pic that it looked like I was pregnant. I could just be a little crazy...Great dress though! As always when I rent the runway, I received many compliments. :)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×