Halston Heritage

Mai Tai Dress

$113 to buy
$374 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel the heat! This colorblock dress by Halston Heritage is what you need for a red hot time on that date or on the dance floor with your girls. Add accessories in a similar shade to really make the bold colors pop!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolored matte jersey (69% acetate, 23% nylon, 8% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with keyhole opening. Pencil skirt with ruched body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37.5" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(55)
True to Size
(96)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2014
A great night out with the girls looking fabulous!
I wore this to my friend's bachelorette party and got lots of compliments! I loved the colors and they fit right in line with the girls night out. It does run large so I wore the 2. I would definitely size down for the back up. The rouching is super flattering and it shows off your curves. The slit was on the front wasn't obscene (I always worry since I'm large chested). Another success with rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 150lbs
June 29, 2014
Fun dress! Got lots of compliments!
Very comfortable great for body type!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 29, 2014
Great dress, beautiful color, tons of compliments
I rented this dress for a wedding. When I first put it on, I was a little self conscious about the way the color blocking made my middle look, but I received tons of compliments throughout the night. Both sizes fit; however, the 8 was a bit big and the extra fabric on the ruching sagged a little which made it look baggy. I ended up wearing the 6 which fit perfectly. The ruching also does wonders for your backside. One thing to note, the slit in the front is a bit low so be sure to have either fashion tape or a low cut bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 11, 2014
Runs large, but great colors and comfortable!
This was my back up dress which I didn't end up wearing. But it fit my friend so she ended up wearing it even though she's closer to a size 6. The ruching in the dress was really stretched out in the stomach area and I had to tuck the excess fabric in. It was wearable but fit much nicer on my friend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2014
Beautiful dress!
My boyfriend was in love with this dress. We went to a charity event and I thought I picked a pretty conservative look but it was also very flattering. The keyhole cutout was a sexier touch than what I was expecting from the pictures. I'd wear it again for sure, the only thing that makes it 4 stars instead of 5 is I felt like it made my hips look bigger than normal, especially from the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
August 6, 2014
Great dress, hid problem areas, easy to wear
I wore this to my mother in laws retirement party. it was easy to wear and didn't show off to much sex appeal, but i still felt young and pretty. i usually wear a 8 but the 6 fit fine, the 8 probably would have just been longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 22, 2014
So many compliments!
I had a blast in this unique and comfy dress. Great for curvy ladies!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
August 24, 2014
Simple, Sexy yet still Elegant
I wore this for a bridal shower and I received multiple compliments on it! I have a large bust (34dd) and i didn't have any trouble with the size 4 fitting me in the bust, which in itself is a miracle. The dress is very pretty and prefect for multiple occasions! I absolutely would consider renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
August 25, 2014
Great Dress! Wish I could keep it!
I can’t say enough about this dress! It hugs in all the right places. My post baby body is currently sportin a less than attractive mid section at the moment and this dress camouflages it nicely. I was a bit worried ordering a smaller size, but SO glad I did.. The dress does run on the larger side. At 5 feet, the dress hit right at my knees which I felt very appropriate for a more conservative formal wedding. My only issue was the peeka boo game my bra was playing. Thankfully a lil fashion tape did the trick but I would suggest wearing a love V bra instead. This is my first rental and am absolutely thrilled with the service. Love the dress so much I didn’t want to send it back. For moms and moms to be, I feel this dress will grow with you.
KatpAugust 25, 2014
I meant wear a "low" v bra :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2014
Birthday party fun!
I wore this dress to a friend's 30th birthday party. It was very comfortable and the colors looked great on me. I could have worn an 8 if it had been available, but the 10 was fine. It was a tad bit baggy in the hips (I'm bigger up top than in my waist). Overall, a good dress to wear for a hot summer night - not too short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 11, 2014
Standout color combo!
Beautiful color and flattering fit. The fabric hides the mid sections flaws well! The slit in the chest area was a little more revealing than I had anticipated. Be prepared for a million compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 15, 2014
Nice dress but not spectacular.
This is honestly a fine dress but I wasn't wowed like I have been with most of the other dresses I have rented. It was honestly just "ok". The rouching is somewhat flattering but this just isn't a head turner. I wouldn't rent this one again. However, the experience of renting the dress through RTR was flawless as always!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2014
Beautiful!
Loved it. Fit great a little large in the mid section but the extra room was great for dancing.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 152lbs
August 18, 2014
Wore for a friends wedding
Although it showed up wrinkled, I was very happy with this dress. Comfy and looked great.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2013
Great color, great fit. Eye-catching dress!
This dress was amazing! It hugs all of your curves and is the right length for a formal affair. My only complaint is that the dress is a little baggy in the stomach area due to the layering of the fabric. I definitely could have gone a size down but opted not too because I knew I would be doing a lot of eating and drinking at the wedding. I was able to wear a regular bra with the dress, which is always a big plus for me. Overall, it was a perfect dress for a summer wedding and I loved my first experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 22, 2014
Cute, but not gorgeous.
Rented this for a summer wedding, the colors were beautiful, but I think the thickness of the fabric was slightly unflattering. Yes, the gathering does hide any trouble spots, but I think with the gathering and thick fabric, it makes you look a little bigger than you actually are. I don't regret wearing the dress, but I wouldn't wear it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
January 17, 2015
Fun Tropical Dress
I loved the colors and how the front and back of this dress was designed. I ordered a 6 and thought the length was too long. I'm on the short side and I like dress lengths to be mini. So I would have ordered a size smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 6, 2013
Easy
My first RTR experience was a great one. I've wanted to try it out since I got a Gift Card from my birchbox back in December! This dress has all of my favorite colors and was probably the most comfortable dress I've ever worn. I would say it runs large. Im usually between a 0 and 2 and the 2 was very loose at the bottom. The material is stretchy and the rouging is flattering. The length is also perfect. It does not ride up while dancing or walking around. I received several compliments on this dress and I would recommend it to anyone who wants something light, comfortable and easy to move around in. Perfect for a summer wedding, birthday, or cocktail party!
SuzanneMarch 26, 2014
Comfort and style, thanks for the review.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 24, 2014
Great colors and great fit!
It ran bigger than I expected so I was able to size down and wear the 4. Might have even been able to get away with the 2! It was very comfortable and a great length, not too long or short.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
May 11, 2014
Beautiful colors!
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended on lake Travis in Austin. The coral colors were a perfect color scheme with the gorgeous venue. The dress definitely runs big and got a little baggier by the end of the night and I could have worn a smaller than 0 if it existed but it wasn't a big deal. Overall I was very happy with this rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2014
This dress was happy, cheerful, and just sexy enough. Perfect for a Newport Beach wedding!
I usually wear a 4, but wore a 2 in this. The fit was great there was enough fabric so that it is somewhat forgiving. It was also very comfortable. This is a little embarrassing, but I forgot to pack a bra and this dress still looked good.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
June 5, 2014
My a$$ looked amazing...ruching = no spanks necessary!
I gave the 4th star because the ruching on the backside made the dress for me. I sized up per the suggestions but I should have sized down, I felt a little lost in the top part of the dress and think a 6 would have been perfect. It looks better on than when it arrives, nothing like a fully wrinkled dress from shipping when you're staying in a hotel. A lovely pop of color for an out door wedding in Cali.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 27, 2013
Beautiful Dress that Runs BIG!!
I rented this dress to wear to a sorority formal and it was beautiful. The fabric is really soft and a very stretchy material and the design itself is pretty. However, the dress overall runs really big. I am always a 0 and I ordered this dress in a 0 and it just looked baggy. Also I'm on the shorter side, 5'3'' so I am used to having dresses be slightly longer on me but this dress came all the way down to my knees. I suggest this dress for taller people and size down!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2013
The colors were beautiful but this dress runs so large. Go two sizes down!
The colors were wonderful on and the dress was stretchy and comfortable. However, the 0 still wasn't tight enough to hug my body and therefore the middle was a little loose and unflattering. I feel like this could be a beautiful dress if one could wear 2 or 3 sizes down. Also shows bra and panty lines.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
Pretty dress but was too big
I rented this dress for a wedding and did not end up wearing it, as the size 4 was way too big (even though I usually wear a 4 or sometimes a 6). I was also not a fan of the fabric on the dress as it was a little heavier than I thought it would be and the draping was a little too busy for my personal taste. Overall I think it is a pretty dress but in person the fabric and fit did not work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2013
na
na
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 3, 2013
Colorful and Sexy!
Loved this dress. I was comfortable and sexy. I wore it for a girls trip to Vegas and it was perfect for a night out. Highly recommend. I usually wear an 8 but the 6 fit perfect.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 6, 2014
was a great dress and very forgving
was a great dress and very forgving
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
July 4, 2014
Wore this for a bachelorette party, very comfortable - fabric is a little heavy though
I would stay it ran a little on the large size - but only because i think it looks best when it is form fitted. It might have been a little stretched out when I wore it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 12, 2014
This dress was perfect!
Great colors and soooo flattering! It hugged my body but was not too short or too low-cut. The slit in the front did provide a glimpse of chest, but it was not too much. Great dress. I wore the smaller of my 2 sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 23, 2014
Perfect Party Dress!
I rented this dress in a size 8 and a size 10. The 8 fit a little snug so I went with the size 10, which fit perfectly. The ruching was very flattering and I didn't need to wear Spanx. I danced all night in the dress and never had to worry about the dress riding up. #partydress
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 25, 2014
The material is stretchy and hugs your curves in all the right ways!
Because it's stretchy, I was able to do a size 8 as opposed to my normal 10 when the material doesn't have much 'give'. It was a super comfortable dress and I felt great in it all night. The only time I worried about it creeping up was when I was dancing, which is natural and does not reflect on the dress itself.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 194lbs
December 17, 2014
Fun color, but did not work for me.
I loved the colors of this dress, but everything about the fit was just wrong. It was too big in the chest. The ruching was stretched funky on my body. The back made my rear look huge. Definitely a dress for skinny gals only.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
May 2, 2013
Comfortable and great for dancing!
I wore this to a club on the top of the Rio in Vegas. It was easy to move in. I got compliments all night long. It must have flattered my rear end because it was grabbed twice! LOL! I love the colors! I am 5"8" and 148lbs. It wasn't too short either! Big plus not to tug at the bottom while you are dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
The dress wraps all your curves
You can wear this dress a night out at vegas, wedding, cocktail party and etc. Very flattering and unforgettable. True to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 21, 2013
Super sexy, comfortable dress!
I actually rented this dress for a charity event. In the picture online, the bottom of the dress look red, but it's actually hot pink. Luckily, the RTR stylist was able to send me another red dress overnight! I was SO lucky that I was bale to wear this dress to a cocktail party the night before. TONS of compliments and very comfortable. I was worried about the length since I am 5'2 but it was fine (if I owned it I would def hem). Great experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2013
Hot summer dress!
Wore this beautiful creation to an outdoor cocktail hour and graduation ceremony and dinner at a 5 star hotel. The colors were amazing! I wore spanx just to keep everything in place. Fabric is stretchy, forgiving. Pretty true to size. I usually wear a 6-8. The 6 fit perfectly. This dress is very well made, there are snaps to keep your bra in place. I would buy and wear again if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2013
Comfy elegance!
This dress was worn to a graduation - and could also be worn to a wedding, date night, party - whatever. Very versatile. If you are a fan of the LBD, try some color and try out this dress - gorgeous. The 12 was a little tight and I didn't feel like wearing Spanx, so I wore the 14 and it was very comfortable - I could have worn it for days!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
June 18, 2013
Great color and very comfortable
This dress fits like a glove, so if you have spanx I suggest you wear them, im pretty busty so the slit in the front for cleavage was pretty much open lol but other than that the dress was very pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
July 1, 2013
This dress is amazing! It looks short on the model but the lenght is very nice.
If you are looking for something stylish comfortable this is the dress. I got many compliments on it hugging in all the right places.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×