Halston Heritage

Mai Tai Dress

$113 to buy
$374 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel the heat! This colorblock dress by Halston Heritage is what you need for a red hot time on that date or on the dance floor with your girls. Add accessories in a similar shade to really make the bold colors pop!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Multicolored matte jersey (69% acetate, 23% nylon, 8% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with keyhole opening. Pencil skirt with ruched body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large
(55)
True to Size
(96)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
April 27, 2014
A fun & light beautiful dress!
I ordered this dress to wear for my bachelorette party. It is a beautiful dress and fits and looks great but I didn't end up wearing it. Will be renting this again for a date night!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 27, 2014
Meh
The colors were great and the keyhole neck was nice but the twist was bulky and a bit messy-looking. The knot/twist hits at my waist and adds volume in the worst place possible. Would not rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
April 30, 2014
Colors are beautiful and I got a ton of compliments!
It fit just great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148lbs
May 4, 2014
Felt unbelievable in this dress.
Loved, loved this dress. The size 6 seemed a little big and the draping didn't look right. The size 4 fit perfectly. Got compliments all night. Rented it again for a wedding in May.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 10, 2014
Fun colored dress lights up the night!
I wore this dress for a fund raiser that required cocktail attire. I received numerous comments about how great I looked and how flattering the dress fit me. I have an hour glass shape that almost borders on being a pear shape and this dress fit wonderfully. It is stretchy and form fitting. I would get it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 12, 2014
This dress was perfect!
Great colors and soooo flattering! It hugged my body but was not too short or too low-cut. The slit in the front did provide a glimpse of chest, but it was not too much. Great dress. I wore the smaller of my 2 sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
May 15, 2014
Fun dress that accommodated my growing belly!
I wore this dress to a summer wedding in Florida at 19 weeks pregnant. Overall I liked the dress and got several compliments. As others have noted, the keyhole at the top does show some cleavage. I wore Spanx with this dress mostly to feel more comfortable. Due to my bump I did not feel the dress ran large, in fact I ordered the 0 as recommended by RTR for my backup and didn't even try it on because the 2 was tight enough. This is a good option to wear as a maternity dress, if you are looking to show off your bump instead of trying to camouflage it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2014
Had the flu but tried the dress on and it was so comfortable!
I had the flu so I never got to wear the dress but it was so comfortable and was super flattering. definitely hides some minor bumps and bulges if you need it to
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 23, 2014
definitely runs large!
To say this dress runs large is an understatement. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6, so I rented a 4 and a 2 based on other reviews. I probably could have easily fit into the 0. The 2 fit ok, but the ruching looked a little droopy since it was loose through the bottom half. I'm very short, and the dress hit just about 1 inch above my knees. The colors in this dress are very vibrant in person and looked great against my very, very pale skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 23, 2014
Perfect Party Dress!
I rented this dress in a size 8 and a size 10. The 8 fit a little snug so I went with the size 10, which fit perfectly. The ruching was very flattering and I didn't need to wear Spanx. I danced all night in the dress and never had to worry about the dress riding up. #partydress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 26, 2014
The colors on the dress are gorgeous!
The colors in the dress are so vibrant! The dress has stretchy material so size down. You can wear it for a classy affair or make it more sexy! The keyhole is perfectly placed and gives just a peak of cleavage
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2014
Dress was beautiful.
Was a bit baggy around waist. I usually wear a 4. I wore the 2 but may have been able to wear 0. Got tons of compliments!! Great colors on this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 3, 2014
Fun color, easy to wear!
Both the size 8 and size 10 fit me, but the 10 was more comfortable in the neckline and armholes. It was a great dress to wear for a night out with my girlfriends! The color-blocking and ruching is very flattering, and the stretchy fabric makes it easy to wear.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
June 9, 2014
Wore this for a bridal shower and was scared to wear a non-black dress... This did not disappoint!
Fits really well. Great for women with hourglass bodies like mine because it's stretchy and comfy. The area by the chest is very sexy but shows just enough.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 9, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering fabric.
Runs true to size- a stretchy type of fabric that is flattering. Love the details on the front- got compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
June 10, 2014
I enjoyed the party without sacrificing comfort for cuteness.
The dress fit incredibly well. I usually wear size 0 in brands such as BCBG and BEBE, but I ordered a size 2 in the case I was bloated that day. Thank goodness for the free second size rental RTR provides. I tried on the size 2 and didn't even bother looking at the size 0. Dress fit well. The dress was a bit longer on me (than the model on the site) and hit me right above the knees. The ruching allows room to eat, drink, and MOVE without discomfort. Also, the style of the dress hid all my problem areas and accentuated my butt and boobs. Awesome.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 14, 2014
Perfect for the Newport venue
At first I wasn't wild on the fit. This dress needs to be tight so that the rouching is pulled tight. The 4 was a bit loose around the tummy so the rouching added some volume (my usual size is a 6 due to my very wide upper back). Otherwise it was perfect for the occasion and was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2014
I didn't wear this dress for my black tie event. I love this dress but felt it lacked glamour
I typically wear a 6 but the 4 looked amazing! I will rent this dress again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2014
The colors are amazing on this dress, really photographs well.
Material is a little different than in the picture. I was hoping for a more cotton materials where as the material is actually a little shinier. The slit in the front shows off a lot of cleavage so beware of that. Overall it was a great dress! VERY comfortable and easy to dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2014
Love this dress. It is so comfortable and flattering. I will definitely rent it again!
Dress fits true to size. Big pro that you can wear a regular bra. I used tape to make sure I didn't flash anyone. I wore it to a summer wedding outdoors in Austin and it was light enough to make it through the ceremony without having any sweating issues. I was comfortable in the dress for over 6 hours..a definite must rent! I got a 6 as my backup size. I never tried it on but it might have fit. I actually enjoyed this dress being a little loose.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Color makes you stand out!
I usually wear a 2-4 in dresses, but this one has a lot of stretch in it and I could have worn the 0. Only downside is the runching in the middle can make your stomach look a little large, going down a size would help flatten that out I'm sure. Super comfortable dress! Head turner for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2014
MY favorite rental yet!!!
I ordered the 14 with the 12 as the backup size. They both fit so when I was invited to an awards dinner the day after the wedding I rented the dress for, I just wore the second one. I felt like a million bucks. Great colors, great details. Compliments all night!!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 25, 2014
Hip hugging, Comfortable and gorgeous.
The dress was very flattering. It fit me like a glove. It was in great condition. I kept getting compliments all night. The theme of the party was for Star Diamond Coaches, so I definitely picked the right dress for the right occasion. I definitely stood out and was told how beautiful i looked in the dress.It was a celebration for my 45 lb weight loss as well as a celebration as a coach for helping all of my challengers do the same. If you are interested in joining my group add me at www.facebook.com/jasmine.pascual.102, also you can find me on instagram at ojosverdes430
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 25, 2014
The material is stretchy and hugs your curves in all the right ways!
Because it's stretchy, I was able to do a size 8 as opposed to my normal 10 when the material doesn't have much 'give'. It was a super comfortable dress and I felt great in it all night. The only time I worried about it creeping up was when I was dancing, which is natural and does not reflect on the dress itself.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2014
A great night out with the girls looking fabulous!
I wore this to my friend's bachelorette party and got lots of compliments! I loved the colors and they fit right in line with the girls night out. It does run large so I wore the 2. I would definitely size down for the back up. The rouching is super flattering and it shows off your curves. The slit was on the front wasn't obscene (I always worry since I'm large chested). Another success with rent the runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 150lbs
June 29, 2014
Fun dress! Got lots of compliments!
Very comfortable great for body type!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 29, 2014
Great dress, beautiful color, tons of compliments
I rented this dress for a wedding. When I first put it on, I was a little self conscious about the way the color blocking made my middle look, but I received tons of compliments throughout the night. Both sizes fit; however, the 8 was a bit big and the extra fabric on the ruching sagged a little which made it look baggy. I ended up wearing the 6 which fit perfectly. The ruching also does wonders for your backside. One thing to note, the slit in the front is a bit low so be sure to have either fashion tape or a low cut bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 4, 2014
Form fitting, a little long, more pink than red
This dress was form fitting -- as it seems from the picture. The rueshing (sorry for spelling) was good for covering the midriff section (although I could have added spanx to be a little more comfortable and not sucking in the whole night). The dress was a little longer than I anticipated, and since I have a larger chest, the gap was more prominent than in the picture. Dress was also more hues of pink (the bottom was more magenta than red). Not my favorite rental but was definitely different than what I usually wear, which was a nice change.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
July 6, 2014
20th Anniversary Essence Music Fest in NOLA
Very comfortable dress that looks great on anyone. This dress gives which allows for you to enjoy your dinner and not be elf conscious afterwards :-) Perfect for dinner and partying.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 11, 2014
Runs large, but great colors and comfortable!
This was my back up dress which I didn't end up wearing. But it fit my friend so she ended up wearing it even though she's closer to a size 6. The ruching in the dress was really stretched out in the stomach area and I had to tuck the excess fabric in. It was wearable but fit much nicer on my friend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
July 11, 2014
Lots of compliments
Great dress and I received lots of compliments. The fabric has a nice amount of give/stretch and the dress is really comfortable while the ruching helps hide some problem areas. Loved the colors too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2014
This dress for perfectly and was an awesome color!
I wore this to an outdoor wedding in California. It was lightweight so I wasn't super hot. I'm usually between a 2 and a 4, so the 2 was the perfect fit for my body shape. The length was also great, I was afraid that it would be short because I have long legs. I would totally recommend this dress for an event or wedding
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 24, 2014
I LOVED this dress. Comfortable, easy to dance in and the colors were glorious!
This dress was absolutely stunning. I wore it for my friend's wedding and got compliments the whole night! The ruching on the front was gorgeous and allowed me to eat and drink comfortably. I could have slept in this dress-- the material was gorgeous and so comfortable. The only downside was having to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2014
Beautiful dress!
My boyfriend was in love with this dress. We went to a charity event and I thought I picked a pretty conservative look but it was also very flattering. The keyhole cutout was a sexier touch than what I was expecting from the pictures. I'd wear it again for sure, the only thing that makes it 4 stars instead of 5 is I felt like it made my hips look bigger than normal, especially from the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2014
Looked great on, comfortable, wish I had a pic!
Nice colors with a tan skin tone
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 4, 2014
Comfortable, fun, flattering dress.
The dress came on time and was in good condition, aside from a slightly weird smell (maybe from the dry cleaning?) and a little wrinkling. The smell was fixed with Febreze and the wrinkling didn't matter because the dress is very stretchy and smooths out once you put it on. The fabric is very soft but sturdy enough to give good support and coverage, and the gathering really does wonders for covering problem areas. You can wear a standard bra and the length was comfortable - not too short and didn't ride up throughout the night. Like other reviewers mentioned, the front knots can be a little tricky if the fit is not tight, but they didn't cause too much of a problem for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Weight: 115lbs
August 5, 2014
Lots of compliments and my husband absolutely loved it!!!!
It fit perfectly and it was so comfortable! I danced all night!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
August 6, 2014
Great dress, hid problem areas, easy to wear
I wore this to my mother in laws retirement party. it was easy to wear and didn't show off to much sex appeal, but i still felt young and pretty. i usually wear a 8 but the 6 fit fine, the 8 probably would have just been longer.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2014
...
This dress was really cute. It covered all my problem areas. I am a bit busty so the slit by the breast area was a bit revealing. Other than that it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2014
Perfect no fuss dress
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it to a friends wedding and was extremely comfortable the entire time. I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 fit fine, but I felt the 4 was more flattering across my chest and arms. The dress required no maintenance (no riding up, no readjusting, completely fuss-free). It was extremely soft and not heavy at all. I received many compliments and am extremely satisfied with this rental!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×