Halston Heritage

Green Tropics Dress

$40 rental
$295 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This one shoulder Halston Heritage dress is great to wear to a friend’s wedding any time of the year. Trendy emerald colors always transition well from Spring into Fall.
Also available in blue and yellow.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(75)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 30, 2012
Perfect for my boyfriends graduation!!
I ordered a 2 and a 4..with my height the 2 would have been better but my chest would NOT fit in the dress. So if you have a C or bigger size up. The 4 fit perfect and hit right below my knee. The dress was brand new with the tags still on them :) Its a gorgeous green and flows beautifully. I got so many compliments once again! It also looked great and was comfortable for a night of celebrating.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Loved the Color!
This dress is gorgeous in person! I loved the green color! This dress is an easy fit because there is a ton of room in the skirt! The top of the dress is pretty fitted, so you definitely want to size up if you are larger chested. This dress hit me about 2-3 inches above the knee!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2012
Beautiful dress and everyone had something to do with it!
It fit amazing extremely comfortable and the color was even more beautiful & richer in person. The dress was perfect for my best friends wedding. There was so many time where random guest would tell me how beautiful I looked. Thank You RTR!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
Beautiful dress!
This dress fit perfectly, no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 21, 2012
Gorgeous color!
I wore this dress to a close friend's wedding - perfect for dancing and twirling all night long! The material has some give, so eating, drinking, etc. was no problem at all. I was obsessed with the color - it's actually a little richer and more jewel-toned than what's shown in the photo. The dress runs a little small. 95% of the time I wear a size 2, but I definitely had to size up to a 4 in this dress. It was pretty tight in the torso and waist. However, when I sized up, the strap was a tiny bit loose in the shoulder area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Great for dancing, beautiful color
I let my boyfriend pick this one our for our college homecoming dance. It's very comfortable, not fussy at all, and the fabric has a ton of movement which makes it a great pick if you are going to a dance. The color is beautiful and stands out among a crowd of many dresses. I felt like the dress was true to fit for me, however it will be a bit difficult to zip up for girls with a larger bust so I would go a size up.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 2, 2012
I loved twirling around the dance floor at semi-formal in this gem of a dress!
The fit was perfect: the swingy skirt hit right at my waist and the top was just snug enough. The color was gorgeous, very versatile (could be paired with lots of other colors for a host of seasons), and I got so many compliments. The only thing I was a little disappointed in was that early in the evening I noticed that in picture, something about the texture or the rivets made funny shadows under my arms that resembled terrible pit stains (yikes!). I know that sweat wasn't not the culprit, but it still slightly embarrassing. Regardless, the dress was beautiful and I had a blast wearing it. Can't wait to rent again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
November 19, 2012
This dress is flowy but still figure flattering! You get to feel like a princess but still feel sexy
While the bodice is a little tight to zip up (the fabric has no stretch), once it is zipped it fit me perfectly. The length was right above the knee (I'm 5' 1'') so I wore it with taller heels to lengthen my legs. Otherwise, the color is gorgeous and the dress is perfect for any cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2012
all eyes were on me and I felt fabulous!
the fit was perfect and the color is GORGEOUS! it was a little longer than I wanted, but no one seemed to notice.I highly recommend this dress for a date night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
So fun to twirl in!
This dress has an incredible skirt that twirls straight out, so it is great for dancing! The skirt is longer that the photo. It comes just above the knees, not to the upper thigh, which is perfect for me (I actually went through the other RTR photos and noticed this before renting).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 13, 2012
The dress was perfect for the occasion (swing dance party) and every time I spun, the skirt spun out
It was a perfect dress for the occasion. I love the way the skirt spins out, but it was a little longer than I expected. Overall, iI loved this dress and I highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 13, 2012
Tons of complements
I wore this dress to a company Christmas party and nothing was wrong with it, it fit just a little big around the bust so I used fashion tape on the side without a strap. everyone thought it fit me perfectly and I looked so grown up, and since im the youngest there so it felt good to get those complements. it was alittle longer than my knee but im also short so its not like the model picture for me. I loved the twirl of the skirt and I bought a Big silver necklace for it. and black heals I went with a small heal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2012
Fit like a glove! SO many compliments. GORGEOUS color!
The fit was perfect! The zipper on mine stuck a little bit I believe it was due to the fabric. You know when the fabric is really thick around the zipper due to the bunching? Anyway, it turned out you just had to put some pressure on it and it was fine. Which BTW, the fabric, is SO much fun. It's light and flowy, and where the bunching hit was flattering. I wore with a set of festive lace tights and black pumps. I got so many compliments! RTR has this Halston Heritage dress in a few different colors and I will be renting it again :) Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2013
Gorgeous green dress!.
I was really excited to get this dress, It looked happy and elegant! I ordered size 4 but I had a very hard time zipping it up, so I tried size 6 which was still hard to zip but it fit perfectly. I found that it was hard to zip,especially if there if one has no help. The dress is wonderful and as soon as I put on some accessories it was magic!. I wore it for New Year's Eve and my friends loved its simplicity and yet its charm. Thank you rent the runway, you never disappoint!. Happy New Year!.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2013
great dress! true to size, a little long on a short girl like myself (5'0")
the dress was true to size. very easy to move in. great for most occasions
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2013
I Love this dress!
The color, style and overall look is beautiful! The zipper on the side it a bit hard to zip but and the chest area is a bit tight, it hugs around the waist a bit too much (but going up a size is not a huge issue); it still fits really well. Add a pair of earring and bangles and your set :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 28, 2013
Great cocktail dress!
I really liked this dress. It did fit small because there is no way it would have zipped if I wore a bra, so you well endowed girls might need to size up. I ordered a 6 with my second size a 4. Honestly I don't know what I was thinking because the 6 fit so perfect that I didn't event try on the 4. I probably should have gotten the 8 as a second size but thankfully I didn't need it. It was fun to dance in and I got a lot of compliments. The length come to a little above my knee, a lot longer than the model picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2013
Simple, yet elegant!
Wore this dress for a benefit auction in downtown Chicago, where I received many compliments. The color is stunning and works well with all skin colors. The dress is very flattering and eye catching; caught the attention of both men and women. This is a dress that can be worn year long for any occasion.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2013
Love the style and color! great deal!
Loved this dress so much! I ordered two sizes and it was a good thing because the smaller size was a little tight in the bust. The color was fabulous! i stood out and got so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for my Semi Formal!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2013
Wish it would have worked
Rented 2 sizes. The zipper was impossible are both sizes. Beautiful dress. Sadly had to send both back and take the credit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2012
Too small... couldn't wear, but gorgeous in the bag
I was so sad when I got this dress and it didn't fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2013
Gorgeous
This is a beautiful dress, I love the deep emerald color. It fits true to size, however I didn't end up wearing it as I was in between the 4 and 6 and it was my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 5, 2013
Jade Green Stands Out in a Crowd
I'm glad I got the 12 because the 10 was so tight around my bust it flattened my chest. The best part of this dress is the color; it's bold, beautiful, and definitely stood out in the crowd. I wore it on vacation and it looked great with a tan! The photo doesn't reflect it, but it was a tidge shorter than I'd normally wear. This was accentuated by how flowy the dress is; a twist or turn sent the skirt twirling up. Also had to be very careful bending over to pick something up. This is a great dress if you have good shoulders, legs, or a longer neck. I didn't do the necklace like the motel as I thought it detracted from the sexiness of the asymmetrical cut. My only real complaint is I wish the zipper went up the back or the right side to hide it better from photos; it's under the sleeveless side with is the side you want to show off.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2013
This dress made for a wonderful night because i was comfortable and felt pretty at the same time! :)
This dress was very true to size and was a great fit for me especially because it was long enough. Normally I have trouble finding dresses long enough for my height but it was perfect! It was also a good material that I could comfortably spin around in and dance in. I would highly recommend this dress for any nicer occasion because you could easily dress it up or down!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 10, 2013
Cute and girlish
This dress looks similar in real life to the picture. It's definitely longer than pictured. I don't love the material, but thats just a personal opinion (not necessarily bad). Very twirly and girly!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 25, 2013
Unfortunately it didn't fit like I wanted it too, and it ended being too formal for the party...
Love, Loved the color!!!! Very comfortable material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
April 13, 2013
I am obsessed with this dress!
I worse this dress for my law school's "prom," a.k.a. Barristers Ball. The dress fit perfectly. I felt so comfortable all night long! I also love the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2013
My boyfriend was so surprised when I showed up ready to attend his end of semester semi-formal!
Wicked tight in the chest. Zippers weren't great on either dress. Glad I went with a backup size that was larger than what I normally wear. I felt like it really flattened my chest, which I didn't love. I got a lot of compliments and really liked the color but wouldn't get it again because of the fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 14, 2013
The renting process was super easy and the dress was absolutely perfect!
I am usually a size 4, but I wore the 6 mainly because the zipper on the 4 was broken. The 6 wasn't that much bigger, it just gave me a little more room to breathe. On the model the dress looks super short, but I am 5'10" and it almost touched my knees, which was a relief. In person the dress is a bit darker than depicted on the model, but still a gorgeous color nonetheless. Overall, I was in love with this dress for many reasons, mainly the fact that it was very comfortable, simple, yet elegant. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
April 22, 2013
Love this dress! Second rental, different color!
Last July, I rented Halston's "Sunny Days Dress," that can be viewed on the dress site. It was such a fantastic fit and look, that when it came out in Emerald green, I rented the dress for this past wedding in March. Not knowing what the weather would be in D.C., I rented this dress plus a beautiful long sleeved Moschino dress from RTR. Unfortunately, there was no occasion to wear the Emerald green Halston this March, due to the cold weather.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 24, 2013
Received tons of compliments
This dress was really fun to dance in and I received tons of compliments the entire night. The only negative is that the zipper on the 4 was broken which made it really difficult to zip.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 28, 2013
400+ people, a stranger said to me, "You are wearing the best dress of the evening, gorgeous!"
The dress was gorgeous; a little darker green than it shows in the photos but still a beautiful color. The fit was exactly as I hoped. The top was snug where it needed to be but not so snug that a nice push up didn't fit underneath. The dress was lightweight and the skirt was very floaty! Love this dress; sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 14, 2013
Gorgeous color and fun to wear!
I loved this dress but it was really small on top. I'm glad I sized up, but even the bigger size was really really tight. Other than that, it's a beautiful dress. I'm 5'9 and the dress hit a couple inches above my knee, so it's definitely longer than it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2013
Didn't wear this
Didn't wear this because the zipper was really tough to close. Very pretty color and fabric.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect! I attended 4 different day events, & received so many compliments
I ordered a Size 4 and Size 6 just in case, and the 4 fit perfectly! I loved that I had the option to choose 2 sizes. The one shouldered neckline made it easy to pair with a solid chunky necklace. The side zipper did take another pair of hands to zip all the way up, but other than that I was incredibly pleased with the quality and the nicely made/wonderfully fitted chiffon-type fabric!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 20, 2013
Cute dress and great color. Well suited for a pair shape!
This was a cute dress and would have been great if I'd been a pair shape. This was way tight on top and squished me in, so my hour glass figure looked more pear shaped. I would have loved it if I'd been an athletic build or pear shape though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
May 22, 2013
Fit great on me!
Great for a wedding and a fun night of dancing. I got so many compliants too! The color looks much better in person, very bright emerald! looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
May 30, 2013
Classic, flattering, gorgeous!
I wasn't sure about this dress when it arrived. I'm very short and the proportions were a bit off. The length of the bodice and the skirt on the size 2 were too long. The 0 was still a bit long, but better. The bodice is also better for a straight/narrow body. It was tight on my rib cage but looser on my waist (though not needing a bra was great), and as others have said, the zipper is difficult. All of that said, once I came around it to, I loved it!! The color is spectacular. The skirt flows and camouflages hips very well. It was perfect for showing off my shoulders and arms. For a wedding, I think this was the perfect dress - sexy and stylish without being too tight or revealing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 10, 2013
Not a Fan
This fit really strange on me. The 2 was too big as was the 4 and normally I wear a four. Maybe it was the ruching I didn't like, but it went back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
Loved the color!
I wore this to a plantation wedding in the south. The color was really pretty and gave a lot of wow and the dress was very flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×