Green Tropics Dress

$40 rental
$295 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This one shoulder Halston Heritage dress is great to wear to a friend’s wedding any time of the year. Trendy emerald colors always transition well from Spring into Fall.
Also available in blue and yellow.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size75
Small35
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 14, 2015
The color
Very snug but perfect if your small chested like me. Very comfortable and light!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 30, 2015
I loved this dress!
I normally wear a 4, and the size 2 fit perfectly. I think if you carry your weight in your bust, it will run true to size, but I carry my weight in my hips, and since the dress flows away at the rib cage, I was able to wear the 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 20, 2015
Bold color and classy but flirty style
Went to a wedding in this dress. So comfortable but fitted on top and flows on the bottom. More of a sheen to it than the picture suggests which is a good thing. Loved the way it fit and got compliments all night!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2015
The green is darker in person...
I rented this dress for a wedding & thank goodness it came in a day early! It fit perfectly everywhere else, and based on the reviews I expected it to be tight on top. However, I didn't think my 36Cs would be an issue! I was able to clip it closed, but not zip it by myself. I didn't even ask my fiance to help me because I knew I would've been uncomfortable all night long. I ordered the 6 & the dress was so popular for the date I needed, the back up size 8 wasn't available...such a shame because it was a really pretty dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123lbs
April 9, 2015
I loved this dress! It stayed comfortable the whole night.
Wasn't itchy A little tight around the torso in both sizes that I got (2/4).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 6, 2015
the dress flowed beautifully and fit great through the waist!
I ordered the 4r and the 2r and wore the 2. It fit very snug, which was nice bc I didn't have to wear a bra, although I am very top heavy. The dress was very short but great for prom my sophomore year, where underclassmen have to wear short dresses if they get asked by upper classmen dates! the color was gorgeous and I loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
March 26, 2015
Beautiful Green Color, True to Size,
True to Size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 24, 2015
Beautiful dress
This dress was comfortable and fit very well. Overall it is a very flattering dress, I received lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2015
Perfect Dress for the perfect dance
The dress was a perfect fit. The zipper was a little hard to get up but I felt secure when I got it on. Chunky necklace is a must.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 6, 2015
Outstanding color
I have actually worn the long version of this dress before, so I figured I couldn't go wrong with the short version. I rented this for an NYE party at a roller rink, and had a blast skating around in it. Received lots of compliments on it as well. I wore the size 2 but probably could have sized down to a 0 (it was unavailable). As other reviewers have mentioned, the zipper is very tricky because of the ruching, so you may need to enlist some help.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 25, 2014
This dress made my night!
The bodice runs a bit tight, but I was able to fit a bra underneath. Amazing color!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2014
Anniversary date at Disney World Resort Narcoossee's Restaurant
I wore this in Florida for a date night while on vacation. The fit is true to size. I got both the 2 and 4. The 4 was way too loose around the waist. Im short and it hit above the knee. The color is deeper than in the photo. You definitely dont need a bra with this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2014
Color!
It fit well, the color is gorgeous! People loved it, especially my husband!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2014
Gorgeous green.
The color of this dress is fantastic and it photographed very well. I was afraid it would be a little short, but the length was great, even with heels on.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2014
Sophomore year homecoming
I'm normally a 2 but this dress ran small. The other comments I read about the zipper were right - it takes four hands to get the zipper up due to the rouching (sp?) on the sides of the dress. No bra needed since the dress had plenty of padding (and there wasn't much room for one anyway). The dress was very comfortable and flattering to my athletic shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2014
I did not wear this dress. Was too small and had to send it back.
If you have a larger rib cage area this dress is not for you. My usual size did not fit. Had to send it back and get another one overnighted. It was a beautiful dress but definitely small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2014
Beautiful green dress!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and it was absolutely perfect! It was comfortable, true to size and the color really stood out! Loved this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
September 25, 2014
Dress was very cute and flattering! Good for girls with a long and narrow abdomen like myself!
Good for girls with a long and narrow abdomen like myself!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
September 24, 2014
Pretty Color
Honestly, this isn't one of my favorites. I got it because I liked the neckline and color for a photo shoot I was doing. First, it runs REALLY small, and there is no give. I typically wear a 4, but there was no way the 4 was going to zip. Thank goodness I got the six, but that barely zipped up around the ribcage as well. Like I mentioned, there is no give in the bodice, so it really flattened me out like pancake, and you can see from the photo, it made any arm fat I had jut out of the arm hole. It really wasn't flattering on me at all. The pros...the color is pretty. It's a kelly green, and the chiffon skirt was fun and flirty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2014
Great color!
Fits a little snug compared to other Halston dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2014
Dress was really pretty - color was fantastic - didn't wear this dress because it was my backup
Dress def ran small through rip cage as other people said. Fit through hips was loose and flawy and very flattering. Order a size up for rib / cage bust if you want to be able to zip it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 2, 2014
Loved it!
Loved this dress! It's longer than the photo on the model (thankfully) and the top is snug - I had a bit of trouble zipping it (but once I did it was fine) and wasn't able to wear a strapless bra underneath, but it's tight enough that you don't need one. The color is amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 17, 2014
I ADORE THIS DRESS!! Perfect fit, amazing color, and SUPER comfortable!
The dress was amazing. I got soooo many compliments all night! It fit true to size, and was super comfortable. It was beautiful, the way the top lays is great, the bottom is very flowy (perfect for dancing!). I am 5'5" and the dress fell right at my knee which was nice for a formal wedding. I am very small-chested so this dress fit perfectly, if you have a large chest, the top might be a little snug. This is the most amazing dress I have ever worn, I don't want to send it back! If you rent this, you won't regret it! I have nothing but good things to say about it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
July 28, 2014
The color and skirt were amazing
I have a large chest so the top looked a little stretched but it was something only I noticed. It hit right at the knee which was perfect for a formal affair.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 8, 2014
Perfect dress for a summer wedding!
I was initially worried the dress would be too tight at the top and a little too long. However, it ended up fitting perfectly; I just could not wear a bra (I didn't need to anyway).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 4, 2014
I wore this dress to an outdoor summer wedding.
This dress was perfect. It fit me like a glove and I received compliments from 16yo girls to older women. It's a classic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2014
Perfect for the Christening
Beautiful dress and the modesty of it was perfect for the event I was attending. It runs slightly small which actually worked out well since the size 2 I ordered for was damaged so they sent me the size 4. Rent the Runway also sent me 3 other dresses due to the situation and I still liked this one the best, but great customer service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 14, 2014
Amazing color and fit!
This dress was a breeze. Easy to dance in and fit perfectly - plus the color was beautiful. Not too short and I wore heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 9, 2014
Wore this for my cousin's wedding in SC in June
I absolutely loved this color green! I kind of wish I had ordered a 0 and 2 instead of 2 and 4 since the bust was a tad loose on me but it didn't show to anyone else and I received numerous compliments. It was light and airy which was perfect for the southern heat and humidity. Although i am only 5'1" with short legs, the length was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 29, 2014
Great fit but not for athletic builds
Wonderful dress and a great quality. I didn't even have to wear a bra and it supported me nicely. However I have an athletic body so it made me look a bit manly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 10, 2014
Dress is fine
Not a particularly flattering color on Asian skin and the cut is fine but nothing special. This dress doesn't feel expensive and I wouldn't have worn it to my New Year's Eve party if I had other options (was out of town).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2014
I didn't wear this dress.
In person, the color of this dress looks nothing like the color of the one on the model. I was expecting a more blue/green but it was actually a dark hunter green. I ordered the 2 and the 4, and the 2 was too small. The 4 fit, however the latch and zipper were broken and I decided to go with a different dress. It didn't look good on my body type, maybe if I had bigger boobs it would have looked better, I just felt like I was draped in a sheet. Wasn't impressed with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2014
Pretty dress, much darker in color.
Not cut for a woman with large breast. Very tight up top.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
April 2, 2014
gorgeous, flattering, emerald/kelly green dress!
fit is perfect for my body type. Fit like a glove! Not too big or too small. I am long and lean...with long legs and was afraid it would be short. It was the perfect length and hit a few inches above my knee. Very elegant and a trendy one-shoulder design. Material and dress is light-weight, but with good quality material and stitching. Overall stunner and tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
March 29, 2014
Loved it! So many compliments!
The dress fit nicely. Good length and comfy! I had to keep pulling up the top on the side without a strap while I was dancing (but tape could have fixed that).
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2014
I wore this to my friends fraternity formal I got so many compliments! It's a beautiful dress
Fits pretty true to size, wonderful hemline and the bottom flows beautifully ! I love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 3, 2014
Perfect dress for the occasion!
I wore this dress to a fraternity formal in Nashville and it was a hit! I was slightly worried because the only size left was a 2 and I normally wear a 0, but the fit was perfect. The top was fitted and flattering while the skirt hit about 2" above the knees and was perfect for a night of dancing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2014
Overall had a great fit and I was asked where I got my dress multiple times.
If you have a larger chest, I would suggest the 4. I am a 2 when it comes to all other measurements but a C and the 2 would not fully zipper. I wore it without a bra, due to the top being a little snug. It had full coverage and was not too short, came to my knee. I suggest a chunky necklace to go with it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 21, 2014
Ended up wearing a back up dress
I always wear a size 0, but RTR sent me the 2 and informed me they didn't have a 0. I couldn't wear the dress it was too big:(
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 20, 2014
I wore this dress for my school's winter formal, and I loved it! Fits great and the color is lovely.
I ordered size 0, and it fit true to size. It had a nice, classy fit, not too tight, and was perfect for my school's event.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×