Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Green Tropics Dress

$40 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This one shoulder Halston Heritage dress is great to wear to a friend’s wedding any time of the year. Trendy emerald colors always transition well from Spring into Fall.
Also available in blue and yellow.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. A-line skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

115 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 75
Large 3
Photos 70
Jenny
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 6, 2013

This dress is really pretty!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my school's Annual Ball. It was fun to dance in, and the color was great! I usually wear an eight, and it zipped, but bunched funny around my waist. The ten was a little big around the boobs, but I decided wear it anyway. Also, the dress was longer on me than it appears in the picture of the model. Overall, it was a good experience, and I look forward to my next dress from RTR.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

I am obsessed with this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I worse this dress for my law school's "prom," a.k.a. Barristers Ball. The dress fit perfectly. I felt so comfortable all night long! I also love the color!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

My boyfriend was so surprised when I showed up ready to attend his end of semester semi-formal!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wicked tight in the chest. Zippers weren't great on either dress. Glad I went with a backup size that was larger than what I normally wear. I felt like it really flattened my chest, which I didn't love. I got a lot of compliments and really liked the color but wouldn't get it again because of the fit.
Libby
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

The renting process was super easy and the dress was absolutely perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a size 4, but I wore the 6 mainly because the zipper on the 4 was broken. The 6 wasn't that much bigger, it just gave me a little more room to breathe. On the model the dress looks super short, but I am 5'10" and it almost touched my knees, which was a relief. In person the dress is a bit darker than depicted on the model, but still a gorgeous color nonetheless. Overall, I was in love with this dress for many reasons, mainly the fact that it was very comfortable, simple, yet elegant. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Love this dress! Second rental, different color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Last July, I rented Halston's "Sunny Days Dress," that can be viewed on the dress site. It was such a fantastic fit and look, that when it came out in Emerald green, I rented the dress for this past wedding in March. Not knowing what the weather would be in D.C., I rented this dress plus a beautiful long sleeved Moschino dress from RTR. Unfortunately, there was no occasion to wear the Emerald green Halston this March, due to the cold weather.
Michele
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

400+ people, a stranger said to me, "You are wearing the best dress of the evening, gorgeous!"

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was gorgeous; a little darker green than it shows in the photos but still a beautiful color. The fit was exactly as I hoped. The top was snug where it needed to be but not so snug that a nice push up didn't fit underneath. The dress was lightweight and the skirt was very floaty! Love this dress; sad to send it back!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
May 14, 2013

Gorgeous color and fun to wear!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress but it was really small on top. I'm glad I sized up, but even the bigger size was really really tight. Other than that, it's a beautiful dress. I'm 5'9 and the dress hit a couple inches above my knee, so it's definitely longer than it looks on the model.
Kaylie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2013

beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
lovely A-line one-shouldered dress!
Victoria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2013

This dress was absolutely perfect! I attended 4 different day events, & received so many compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered a Size 4 and Size 6 just in case, and the 4 fit perfectly! I loved that I had the option to choose 2 sizes. The one shouldered neckline made it easy to pair with a solid chunky necklace. The side zipper did take another pair of hands to zip all the way up, but other than that I was incredibly pleased with the quality and the nicely made/wonderfully fitted chiffon-type fabric!
Cimarron
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 20, 2013

Cute dress and great color. Well suited for a pair shape!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a cute dress and would have been great if I'd been a pair shape. This was way tight on top and squished me in, so my hour glass figure looked more pear shaped. I would have loved it if I'd been an athletic build or pear shape though.
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
May 22, 2013

Fit great on me!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great for a wedding and a fun night of dancing. I got so many compliants too! The color looks much better in person, very bright emerald! looked great.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
May 30, 2013

Classic, flattering, gorgeous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't sure about this dress when it arrived. I'm very short and the proportions were a bit off. The length of the bodice and the skirt on the size 2 were too long. The 0 was still a bit long, but better. The bodice is also better for a straight/narrow body. It was tight on my rib cage but looser on my waist (though not needing a bra was great), and as others have said, the zipper is difficult. All of that said, once I came around it to, I loved it!! The color is spectacular. The skirt flows and camouflages hips very well. It was perfect for showing off my shoulders and arms. For a wedding, I think this was the perfect dress - sexy and stylish without being too tight or revealing.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 11, 2013

Loved the color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a plantation wedding in the south. The color was really pretty and gave a lot of wow and the dress was very flattering.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Color not true to image

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress more to see the color, not the size itself. My size was not available, but I wanted to see it in person anyway, so this dress does NOT fit (though it wasn't the purpose!) The color is a lot darker. It is more of a forest-green instead of a kelly green. It was wintery instead of springy. It was pretty, but I opted against it. The smaller size not only is even tighter in the bust/rib cage area, but the skirt is significantly smaller as well.
gdubz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2013

Love!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a friend's wedding -- received so many compliments on the color and style! Def. stood out among the sea of royal blue and black dresses. Wish I would have rented a fabulous statement necklace to go with it, but I rented this dress at the last minute and I didn't even think to do that at the time. Reviews said the dress ran small, so I ordered my usual size 6 and a size 8. The 8 was a little too big and it didn't lay right. The 6 was a perfect except for one thing -- THE ZIPPER. I had no problem pulling the dress closed so I know it wasn't an issue with being too small, but it took my boyfriend a good 10 minutes of trying to pull the zipper up before it finally gave. It would go up the skirt portion easily but would not budge once it hit the waist/change in material. It was extremely frustrating but once he finally was able to get it up, I was in love. I'd recommend going bra-less unless you have a really good strapless bra otherwise you might look misshaped.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

lovely color, fun skirt!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for an evening wedding. Super pretty jewel green color! The top is a little snug (even with my small bust) and the arm hole bordered on almost uncomfortable but it really wasn't a big deal and the 4 was too big for me. The skirt is loose and flowy and fun! The material is kind of thick so it probably would have worked better for a winter or cooler weather wedding. Luckily, the wedding was indoors and the summer heat wasn't a problem.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable, flattering- so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
2 days before my event I found out that the dress I rented wasn't available. The stylist chose 2 similar dresses for me to try, and this was one of them. I loved it! It looked great on but it was also super comfortable. I had no problems eating a lot at dinner and dancing all night! And the color is so unique- it's not a bright or mint green but it's not too dark either. All night I kept getting compliments- it was definitely a hit. Even though this wasn't the dress I ordered RTR came through & I had a great experience. I will definitely be renting again.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

Fun, flirty, and great for dancing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a size 32D and it was pretty snug in the chest. Couldn't fit my bra in there, but it was secure enough that I didn't need it anyway.
wuliamatu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

This dress made my night!!!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was so worried after reading the reviews, when my dress revived, it fit perfect. I rented both 2 and 4, I wore the 2, I looked and felt amazing all night. I got so many compliments. It's sad that I have to return the dress but am glad I rented it and I highly recommend it!!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 30, 2013

With RTR, I got to wear something truly unique that I would never get to buy in a store!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
After reading everyone else's reviews, I ordered my regular size and a size up. However my back up size wasn't available so I ordered anyway and hoped for the best. The dress runs very small. It's very tight at the rib cage and the zipper is super tough so it required an extra set of hands. The dress I received even had a small tear by the zipper that I was self-conscious about all night. I know I should have had RTR overnight me another, but the dress was so beautiful, I didn't want to leave everything to chance so close to the date of the party. That being said, it really is a gorgeous dress and I have no regrets. I got tons of compliments on both the dress and the necklace and will be renting again soon for another event!
Debbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

I stood out in this lovely green dress at my company holiday party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments on it. I wore it to my company holiday party. The green color was so bright (emerald color). I loved it! The only con I can think of is the zipper is hard to zip up (on the bodice area). Other than that, this dress was a hit! Would definitely recommend it.
Cait
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

Dark green, tight in bust and waist, but nice classic dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is much darker than it is in the picture and looked great with black tights and the gold jewelry I wore. The dress hit a few inches above the knee for me (I'm 5'7) and was a nice dancing dress, very light and twirly. The bust was very tight and it felt like it was flattening out my chest on one side. Besides the uniboob, it was a nice dress for a formal evening wedding.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Weird rouching in the chest is very restricting, not my favorite dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress could be really pretty but has weird rouching all of the way down the chest and ribcage area. It was overly tight in the boobs (and I'm only a B cup!) but flowing in the stomach and seeming to make me feel heavier than I was. I didn't end up wearing this dress. Also, the color is a bit more muted in person, not really the gorgeous emerald green I was expecting, but more of a darker muted green shade.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Overall had a great fit and I was asked where I got my dress multiple times.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you have a larger chest, I would suggest the 4. I am a 2 when it comes to all other measurements but a C and the 2 would not fully zipper. I wore it without a bra, due to the top being a little snug. It had full coverage and was not too short, came to my knee. I suggest a chunky necklace to go with it!
megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

I wore this to my friends fraternity formal I got so many compliments! It's a beautiful dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits pretty true to size, wonderful hemline and the bottom flows beautifully ! I love this dress!
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 29, 2014

Great fit but not for athletic builds

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wonderful dress and a great quality. I didn't even have to wear a bra and it supported me nicely. However I have an athletic body so it made me look a bit manly.
Drayton
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Wore this for my cousin's wedding in SC in June

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this color green! I kind of wish I had ordered a 0 and 2 instead of 2 and 4 since the bust was a tad loose on me but it didn't show to anyone else and I received numerous compliments. It was light and airy which was perfect for the southern heat and humidity. Although i am only 5'1" with short legs, the length was perfect!
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Perfect for the Christening

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress and the modesty of it was perfect for the event I was attending. It runs slightly small which actually worked out well since the size 2 I ordered for was damaged so they sent me the size 4. Rent the Runway also sent me 3 other dresses due to the situation and I still liked this one the best, but great customer service!
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect dress for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was initially worried the dress would be too tight at the top and a little too long. However, it ended up fitting perfectly; I just could not wear a bra (I didn't need to anyway).
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

I ADORE THIS DRESS!! Perfect fit, amazing color, and SUPER comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was amazing. I got soooo many compliments all night! It fit true to size, and was super comfortable. It was beautiful, the way the top lays is great, the bottom is very flowy (perfect for dancing!). I am 5'5" and the dress fell right at my knee which was nice for a formal wedding. I am very small-chested so this dress fit perfectly, if you have a large chest, the top might be a little snug. This is the most amazing dress I have ever worn, I don't want to send it back! If you rent this, you won't regret it! I have nothing but good things to say about it!
Ruth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! It's longer than the photo on the model (thankfully) and the top is snug - I had a bit of trouble zipping it (but once I did it was fine) and wasn't able to wear a strapless bra underneath, but it's tight enough that you don't need one. The color is amazing.
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Great color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fits a little snug compared to other Halston dresses.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Pretty Color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Honestly, this isn't one of my favorites. I got it because I liked the neckline and color for a photo shoot I was doing. First, it runs REALLY small, and there is no give. I typically wear a 4, but there was no way the 4 was going to zip. Thank goodness I got the six, but that barely zipped up around the ribcage as well. Like I mentioned, there is no give in the bodice, so it really flattened me out like pancake, and you can see from the photo, it made any arm fat I had jut out of the arm hole. It really wasn't flattering on me at all. The pros...the color is pretty. It's a kelly green, and the chiffon skirt was fun and flirty.
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 4, 2014

Beautiful green dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fall wedding and it was absolutely perfect! It was comfortable, true to size and the color really stood out! Loved this one!
jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 12, 2014

Sophomore year homecoming

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I'm normally a 2 but this dress ran small. The other comments I read about the zipper were right - it takes four hands to get the zipper up due to the rouching (sp?) on the sides of the dress. No bra needed since the dress had plenty of padding (and there wasn't much room for one anyway). The dress was very comfortable and flattering to my athletic shape.
Shohreh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Outstanding color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have actually worn the long version of this dress before, so I figured I couldn't go wrong with the short version. I rented this for an NYE party at a roller rink, and had a blast skating around in it. Received lots of compliments on it as well. I wore the size 2 but probably could have sized down to a 0 (it was unavailable). As other reviewers have mentioned, the zipper is very tricky because of the ruching, so you may need to enlist some help.
Abby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 26, 2015

Beautiful Green Color, True to Size,

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to Size
ellie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

the dress flowed beautifully and fit great through the waist!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 4r and the 2r and wore the 2. It fit very snug, which was nice bc I didn't have to wear a bra, although I am very top heavy. The dress was very short but great for prom my sophomore year, where underclassmen have to wear short dresses if they get asked by upper classmen dates! the color was gorgeous and I loved the dress!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 30, 2015

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 4, and the size 2 fit perfectly. I think if you carry your weight in your bust, it will run true to size, but I carry my weight in my hips, and since the dress flows away at the rib cage, I was able to wear the 2.
Shannon K.
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 14, 2015

The color

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Very snug but perfect if your small chested like me. Very comfortable and light!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×