Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

602 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 517
Large 35
Photos 253
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 26, 2013

loved this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
was so simple and able to pair with fun jewelry / shoes. material was a little heavy but it fit perfectly!
Kristi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 23, 2013

Great dress for an evening wedding in Seattle - just what I was looking for.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super comfortable and fit very true to size. The fabric is fairly thick but it makes the flare skirt hang nicely. (It also made it travel well without wrinkling.) The bodice is form fitting but not overly tight. The back zipper is exposed, giving a bit of an edgy look which I liked. Since the neckline is relatively high, it sets off a piece of statement jewelry perfectly (like this Kate Spade necklace - also an RTR rental!) I was afraid the length would be a little too short based on the RTR picture, but it was a great length for my 5' 7" frame (perhaps the model was just super tall!) All in all a wonderful "fit & flare" little black dress.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Great option!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress, easy fit and fantastic for multiple different occasions. Wore my true size as the dress does have a fair amount of stretch so you can size down! Highly recommend if you're looking for an easy LBD!
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 8, 2013

Form fitting but not too tight!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super comfortable. It is form fitted in the bust area and the 'skirt' flairs out in such a cute way. The fabric was a bit on the heavier side, so I would not recommend this dress for an outdoor event during a heatwave. Luckily, the wedding I attended was indoors and the dress was perfect.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 1, 2013

So many compliments on this dress, I felt great in it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So comfortable. Didn't squeeze in any places. Figure flattering.
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 2, 2013

Comfortable, movable, sexy, and flirty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress -- fit great, was extremely comfortable, and was perfect for a long night of dancing at a friend's wedding. Highly recommended!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Classic LBD for my engagement pictures

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Perfect little black dress for my engagements. Very flattering.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

The bell shape of the bottom of the dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Great fit, very flattering, simple Cons: none
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Aug 19, 2013

Wore this dress for my bachelorette party and all the girls loved it!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress hugs your body on the top portion through your stomach and then flares exactly at the hip as pictured so if you don't like dresses being tight on your stomach, it's not for you. I happened to love the fit and flare aspect. I'm also short (5' 3") and wore a size 6 which I thought might be too long because I was deciding between the 4 and 6 but it wasn't too long at all, hit me mid-thigh. I'm curvy and felt this dress hit me in all the right places, accentuating the waist. The material is thick but I wore it out on a summer night in a packed club and was fine. Definitely recommend it for going out or daytime, depending how you accessorize, very versatile!
Libby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Classic LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. The fabric is thick but had just enough stretch to hug the right places, but also held its shape perfectly. It almost feels like neoprene...is that weird? The length was also great for me since it still felt flirty without being scandalous. The neck line is very conservative...which you can probably tell from the pictures. Great to pair with nearly any shoes or jewelery. I wore a pale pink bib necklace with it and got tons of compliments on the whole outfit.
Marybeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

classic LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and loved it! not only was I comfortable, it was a great quality dress! The fabric is a little stretchy but looks formal! loved it and recommend for anything - and can add almost any accessories to make more edgy, classy, or casual
Jenny
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

Perfection!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Felt so amazing in this dress!! Perfect length and got tons of compliments!! The fabric is amazing and the entire RTR experience was awesome!! You have to try this dress! Perfect for "cocktail attire"!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

I wore this to my sister's wedding rehearsal and got compliments all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Like the other reviews, the material is heavy but I loved it. It didn't wrinkle at all and was so comfortable! Where the skirt flared out was perfect. I rented the necklace that was shown on the model and it was a huge hit as well. Perfect all around; I didn't want to send it back!!
hei
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 4, 2013

Classic dress. Fit a little loose, could have gone for a smaller size

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4 because I didn't want the dress to be too tight. I typically get between a 2-4 and I ordered a 4 to be on the safe side. The dress fit and it looked good but I could have gone for a size 2. But the dress did look good. I wore it with a collar necklace I got from Zaras and pearl earrings. I liked the outcome The fabric feels very thick and sturdy.
Tara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

Nice, smooth dress. Looks better in person than it does in pictures.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 2 and the 4. I wore the 4 because the 2 was tight enough to show my belly button crease through the fabric. The 2 did fit better up top, but I wasn't comfortable with the waist issue. The 4 wasn't as tight, so I didn't have to worry about indentations.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 14, 2013

Perfect for my Audrey Hepburn costume!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fits perfectly and is SO comfortable. I wore it for a New York themed party for my sorority and went as (blonde) Audrey Hepburn from Breakfast at Tiffany's. I was so comfy all night! I definitely recommend this dress.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Simple and classic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress! It's a simple and classic silhouette. The neckline is perfect for a statement necklace. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner, and felt beautiful! It was also very comfortable.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

perfect party dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
as usual, i wish i had a more adequate picture of the dress. wore it for a friend's bachelorette and it was perfect. didn't wrinkle in my suitcase, and I felt skinny all night!
Stacie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 19, 2013

Perfect dress! Classy, elegant but also fun and flirty. Fabric is wonderful.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit is amazing. I ordered the 0 and the 2. I was traveling for business and wore the 2 to my meetings and then switched to the 0 for my date and going out dancing. Both fit great the 0 was just a little shorter. Absolutely love this dress!!
Alessandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 20, 2013

Really great and easy LBD!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for Celebrating Night for my sorority and we all have to wear a black dress. It is thick, kind of stretchy material but not too thick...but since it isn't, it gives it a little bounce for a fit and flare look, which I love!!! It wasn't too sexy for the occasion, but definitely fun and flirty! I would definitely recommend! it runs true to size, I am usually a 2 in dressed and I rented the 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2, it definitely plays up your shape with the full skirt, totally worth it! Also, there is piping detail on the front, which you can't see in the picture and also a long zipper that runs down the back.
KATIE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Fun dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and luxurious fabric.
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

Adorable and sexy at the same time!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing!! The material was stretchy and forgiving which made it extremely comfortable. It was also a thicker material which made me not feel the need to wear spanx with it. It was a very versatile dress. I wore the dress for a corporate dinner then out all night to a casino, I received so many compliments. The flare skirt makes the dress fun and flirty. I LOVED IT!
Monica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Classic & Flirty LBD!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore it to my Junior Homecoming and it's perfect for a dance or formal event. It fit my size perfectly. The fabric is stretchy and SUPER comfy. I ordered 0 & 2 and either would have worked but 0 was more form fitting to my body type. We had a dresscode for my homecoming and it fit the rules perfectly! Over all loved it!! Adorable fun & flirty dress and it's so easy to dress up or down
LM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Twisting and Shouting never was so much fun in this dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding in Lake Tahoe. Sizing was perfect. The FABRIC was AMAZING. At first I was iffy about the stitching (I thought it was inside out). but I added a belt and an accent necklace and got so many compliments !! Wish I rented for 8 days so I could have worn it to a work event the next week! My boyfriend might have loved twirling me around the dance floor and watching it sway more than I did.
Leslie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 10, 2013

It was a great fit and comfortable. The style is classic and perfect for a wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Like the others before me that wore this dress, I received many compliments. I don't have anything bad to say about this dress. And it works for any age.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

First of all, the RTR ladies are fantastic. I had THE BEST experience and highly recomend RTR.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had originally ordered a 0 but when I got it, it was a tad to short, and tight in the bust. The fabric has stretch but I knew the 2 would be perfect. I called the The RTR gals in a panic and they immediately overnighted me the right size which came just in time for my event. (Now I know to always order two sizes at once). I LOVE this dress. It's flattering, flirty, and comfortable. I got so many compliments. I chose to wear it with a costume necklace with pale blue stones. I highly recommend this dress for any occasion (wedding, party, dinner, etc).
Pia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

This dress was the PERFECT little black dress =)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress really was true to size. I read the reviews and wasn't sure if I should get my backup a size up or down. This dress was super comfortable, not too short and not too long, was tight up top while still being flattering, and beautiful and flowy on the bottom. I got soo many compliments both at the wedding and after when people saw pictures. Wish I could own this one - HIGHLY recommend.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

Best LBD ever!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I actually could have worn the 2 or the 4, but wore the 4 for some extra length since I am taller. It fit very well on me. It is one of the comfiest dresses I have ever worn. I received many compliments on it and would definitely recommend this to anyone or I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

Wonderful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect little black cocktail dress that can be dressed up for a wedding or worn for a work meeting. Loved this dress, super comfortable and fit perfect. It was a little loose in waist but not crazy, I have a small waist so hard for me to judge. So many options for accessories with this little number. Would highly recommend it.
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

The perfect cute and stylish LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress, it fit perfectly and looks great with the right necklace. The only things to beware of are if like myself you have long legs the dress is a tad short. You CANNOT spin or bend over in it which isn't all that great if you are going to a wedding. Regardless I still thing it is a wonderful LBD and highly recommend it.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

LOVED THIS DRESS!! received TONS of compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved this dress. Went well with the theme of the formal "Putting on the (W)Ritz!" It was my second choice when looking for a formal dress. The fit was amazing. Accented my waistline very well.
Chelsea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Perfect Little Black Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit amazingly and wasn't too tight. I would definitely recommend this dress for any occasion as you can play it up or dress it down. I loved it!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress for a fall wedding up in Santa Barbara. It was extremely comfortable and very flattering. I could have worn the 4 but opted for the 6 since it felt a little more comfortable/roomy and I knew I would be doing some dancing :) Would rent again.
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Very elegant!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding, prior to receiving the dress I had some difficultly with ups! Then when I went to try the dresses on to my surprise it smelt of mothballs! I was very upset and contacted rtr right away. They were very accommodating and needless to say everything worked out! I went with the 4 because the 6 was to long and the skirt seem to be fuller. I added a statement necklace to give it a little pop! The dress was very comfortable to wear.
Mariel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Looking good at the altar

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great for me because of my hourglass shape, very forgiving and well made
Lora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

I wore this to Mercedes Benz Fashion Week and loved it! Cool, comfy, stylish

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit perfectly. Great stretchy material and very flattering!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

Perfect for my charity gala

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got the 2 and the 4. Could have pulled off the 2 but the 4 was a bit more comfortable. I am pretty short so the length was perfect for a formal event that I had to be semi conservative for. Great simple, classy black dress that you can glam up with big jewelry.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

I loved the flare of this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fabric is a little heavier, which was perfect for winter. There isn't a clearly defined waist with this dress, so shapewear definitely helps. Also, I ordered the stylist surprise with this, and was very disappointed. This dress calls for a statement necklace, and the stylist sent gaudy earrings that didn't go at all. I paired this with a statement necklace already had and black pumps. Loved the dress!!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

I looked sophisticated and felt comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this on the advice of the RTR lady when I was concerned about how I looked. She assured me it hid any flaws, and she was right! I didn't end up wearing it out, but I would definitely consider renting it again!
Sandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

Comfortable & classic

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved it. Never tried a flared skirt because I am so short & I thought it would make me look too stout but it was great. For a cold night I paired it with tights and a silver cardigan.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×