Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
789 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
December 17, 2014
Was my first time using the service and it was pretty easy.
The front looks perfect and fits well. The back of the dress was rippling in the zipper because it was a little loose. The length isn't too short, hits right at the finger tips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it, but really loved it.
It was a lovely, heavy material with a fun and twirly skirt. I really liked it, but decided against it bc I didn't have shoes that I liked with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2014
Heavy fabric, great silhouette!
This was my backup dress so I didn't wear, although I wish I had an even during my timeframe that would've allowed me to. Great, heavy fabric that gave the dress a great shape! Small details like the stitching and zipper make the dress unique. Would definitely rent again...
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2014
Amazing dress!
Wore to my niece old Hollywood theme sweet 16 party and I was going for the Audrey Hepburn look and I received a lot of compliments all night. Fit perfectly and very comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32C
December 24, 2014
I had so many compliments on the LBD. It fit perfectly and made me look like I have a bigger bust
It fit like a glove! True to size and a few inches above the knee. I went to a work party and it was perfect. I felt pretty. I will definitely rent again. Perfect condition
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
December 30, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering choice!
I wore this for my 10 year high school reunion and thought it was a great choice for the occasion. I paired it with a gray blazer and opaque black tights since sleeveless/bare legs felt to dressy for the occasion. The fabric is pretty heavy, but it gives the dress a very durable feel and it definitely is only noticeable to the person wearing it. The weight also helps since it was somewhat short and the full skirt could potentially end up all over the place without the extra weight. I only give it 4/5 stars since, despite normally being a fan of fuller skirts on dresses, this one was a bit much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 35
January 6, 2015
Felt confident and flirty!
I'm large busted and this dress fit like a dream. Nice thick fabric, snug in the right places. Great little date dress for taking a swing on the dance floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2015
This dress was perfect for a bachelorette party!
Definitely felt comfortable all night long! Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2015
Bummer for sure!
This dress fit really tight! I'm a pretty standard 6 and the 8 was tight. But the bigger problem was the hem being completely crooked. It looked like someone had taken a pair of scissors to the bottom. This was not my finest RTR rental. Good thing I've had so many other successes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
January 14, 2015
The moment I put the dress on I immediately felt confident and loved the way I looked!
I have a petite frame with a large bust so sometimes it's difficult to find dresses that fit my body the way I'd like. The minute I zipped up the dress, it felt like the dress was made for me. I absolutely loved wearing it! #classy #simple #lbd #perfection
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 9, 2015
Dress was perfect for dancing!
The dress fit perfectly! A great LBD. Very flattering and comfortable. I'm 5'6" and this was not too short but still sexy. Needs a statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 11, 2015
Easy to dress up or dress down!
I've rented long gowns from RTR many times and have always had a great experience!! This time I decided to go with a short dress for my sorority's formal and was nervous about the lengths of all the short dresses because I'm 5'11, but I decided to try one anyway! I rented both the 6 (my normal dress size) and the 8, and decided to go with the 8 because it was just a tad bit longer than the 6! This dress is incredibly comfortable and the perfect dress for dancing! Just don't spin too fast! The only issue I had with this dress is that my hips are rather large and I felt like it didn't help hide that. Other than that Id recommend this dress along with any other dresses from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 15, 2015
Perfect for everyday glam
The dress fit perfectly ! It is super comfortable and easy to dress up or dress down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2015
Classic black dress
I tried this dress on at the Vegas store so I knew that it would fit me. It was a great dress for a charity semi-formal event. Very easy to dress up or down based on jewelry. I didn't see much of a difference between the 6&4 but chose to wore the 6 so I had a little more room for food and wine ;) rtr is a great option since I live in a community with not a lot of close clothing options, yet we go to many semi-formal events!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 2, 2015
Elegant, comfortable and just perfect!
Fit absolutely perfectly. So comfortable and flattering. Not too short and perfect for a rehearsal dinner. Or really for anywhere LBD appropriate.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2015
Great last minute dress for wedding
Fits perfect. Fun to twirl. Classic piece.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 32
May 19, 2015
It's a pretty dress basic black.
It was shorter than I thought being 5'10 I liked the way the 6 fit it was fitted in the right places
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
June 1, 2015
The material of the dress was wonderful! It fit like a glove
Very happy I got two sizes. I am normally a 4 but the 2 ended up fitting so much better. The dress is a little heavy, but I didn't mind since it fit so wonderfully. The length is also great for a more formal event. It hit right at mid thigh.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2015
Such a fun party dress!
Stretch fit and so flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2015
Very plain
This is an ok dress but you'd need some serious accessories to dress it up. It is VERY plain. My usual size 4 fit on top but I couldn't even walk in it it was that short. The 6 was too large. I had rented this for my birthday dinner and just ended up returning it.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
June 15, 2015
It was great to have something to wear once that looked great.
The fit was great, it was stretchy but flowed at the bottom so was cute on the dance floor. Plus you can wear a normal bra, which is nice since I'm bigger up top. I loved the exposed seams and zipper, it added extra to the dress. I will definitely use RTR again. I rented two dresses for the rehearsal and then the wedding but only wore this one. They overnighted me another dress since the zipper was broken on the first one. This dress is adorable!!! I wish I had a picture of just me in it- I forgot to take one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 4, 2015
Awesome dress! I got a lot of compliments. Great opportunity for pops of color in jewelry and shoes!
It fit very well. The material is durable but not too heavy for summer. Definitely sucks you in and hides some imperfections! The skirt flares out really nicely. Comfortable too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2015
Absolutely love this dress! So flattering. I wore to a rehearsal dinner.
Fit true to size and is stretchy material.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 20, 2015
Perfect LBD
The material is a bit heavy and stretchy, but it was extremely comfortable! I wore this to a summer bachelorette party on a hot & humid day. The skirt is full and is fun for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 21, 2015
Didn't wear this dress
Ordered this as a back up for a wedding. Didn't end up wearing it because it just seemed so plain and unimpressive. Fit true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
July 26, 2015
Love this dress!
The fabric is heavy and stretchy and uber comfortable! I was worried about it being too short. It was mud-thigh, but the skirt is full and it looked great. Definitely wear spanx! It's form fitting I the tummy area.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 1, 2015
Speedy shipping
Love love loved this dress! It was so easy to zip up and very comfortable. Great for summer weddings. Everyone loved it. Thank God this was true to size because my first choice dress didn't fit, this dress was my second choice. I am glad the others didn't fit because this dress was perfect. My only caveat about the dress is that it's a little short. I had to pull it down a few times. I will definitely recommend this dress to anyone. It's fun and flirty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2015
Classy and comfortable !
Very flattering dress - extremely comfortable. I wore this for a girlfriends bachelorette party - had a wonderful time dancing and the dress was comfortable enough to wear all afternoon and night! I would highly recommend and definitely rent this again. Such a cute LBD!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2015
Standard LBD
Fits true to size. Top is stretchy so room for error in the size department. Not a super memorable dress & can give the appearance of a little tummy. Was my back-up dress and ended up wearing my first choice. Very safe back-up dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for my best friend's Bridal Shower. I
originally ordered a size 2 as my first choice size and a size 0 as my free backup size. I was notified by RTR customer service the day before my order was delivered that the size 0 would not be available. They were very nice and offered me another dress style which I appreciated. Thankfully the size 2 worked perfectly! It was form fitting and an appropriate length for the shower. It was a medium weight material which I prefer so it doesn't blow away in the wind! Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
August 22, 2015
Love the length.
I wore this for my dad's wedding. Love the length, however, it's a tad tight in the midsection. I am very conscious of my stomach after having kids and it was definitely too tight for my liking.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
August 23, 2015
Arrived on time, love the free back-up but didn't need to use it.
This dress was true to size and fit my bust pretty well (34DDD) though I had a bit more of the armpit/top breast chub sticking out than I would have liked. Very comfortable, love the fit and flare style. Tight around the waist- definitely recommend a shaper/control top, but hides flattering for tummy and thighs bc of the flare. This is a simple LBD, needs a statement necklace for sure. I wore it to an evening wedding, great to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 31, 2015
When in doubt, wear black.
When I first took this dress out of the bag and tried it on, I thought I had a RTR miss on my hands. I couldn't understand the rave reviews and thought it just fit me weirdly. Having no other option, the following day I got ready for my event and put the dress on. For some reason it felt like a whole new dress. The fabric is thick and has a lot of give and I will say that I probably should have sized down but the 2 fit me well enough. I thought the length was perfect on me but might be a tad short on someone with a longer torso. One thing I will say is that the back of the dress doesn't look like the photo .. The material was the same over the whole dress, not different from the top to the skirt. Overall I enjoyed this rental way more than I would have thought. Can't go wrong with a LBD paired with a fun necklace and heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 7, 2015
Easy as always!
The fabric on this dress is thick. It's really nice, flows nicely and feels great on. Flirty and fun to wear while still being conservative enough with the length and high neck. Worn with flat sandals it transitioned well from early cocktails into dinner attire. I could have worn a size 2 but the 4 worked out for what I was looking for!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 8, 2015
Customer service is superb.
Great LBD. Very slimming and comfortable. Made my waist look tiny and held everything in very nicely! Great to dance in! Wish I could own this piece.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2015
Many compliments and comfortable, amazing dress
Dress runs a bit small. I usually wear a 4 but the 6 fit more comfortably. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable and looked amazing. I got a lot of compliments and would wear it again in a heartbeat. So flattering and easy to style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2015
So comfortable!
Wonderful comfortably, beautiful, simple dress. Perfect for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
September 24, 2015
Beautiful dress, flowing hemline, flattering fit!
I LOVED this dress!! The fit is very flattering. The length was perfect, not too short! Length is a constant concern for me, as it is sometime difficult to find a cute fun party dress that is cute and fun, but not flashy in a bad way!! I am 5'8 and this dress was the perfect length. The material was quite thick, which makes it a little warm in hotter climates, but it is also very slimming! The dress was a little big in the waist, it seemed like it might have been stretched out, but otherwise this dress is a knock out!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 27, 2015
Comfy, beautiful, form-fitting in the right places
Fit like a glove. No pics from the actual wedding but it was perfect and fun with the suggested necklace. Would wear again any day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
September 28, 2015
Nice Black Dress
I rented this dress as a back up and didn't need to wear it. It is really cute and fit well. It was a little tight around the arms but otherwise comfortable and flattering. Had I worn this dress with heels it might have been a little short, but it flows nicely so it might have been ok.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×