Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $40 rental ?
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

611 reviews

Fit
Small 35
True to Size 524
Large 35
Photos 258
Kaelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Perfect NYE dress. If I had an extra $425 I would definitely buy it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable dress, fit perfectly, true to size.
courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

Perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for pref night during rush and it was perfect for the occasion! Incredibly comfortable and flattering. The dress came on time and in great condition. Would rent again.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect (slimming) LBD!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this for a girls night out while on vacation in FL. I run between a 0-2 and I ended up wearing the 0 because it was very forgiving around the torso. The material is thick and stretchy. I felt sexy but definitely classy. A+!
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

I wore this for my school's senior dinner dance!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely adored this dress, it was incredibly comfortable and fit perfectly! I felt so confident in it, really hated having to send it back though.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Casually Chic for a Superbowl Party...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is absolutely darling and I've rented it multiple times. This time around, I made it a little bit more casual with tights, flats and a tied up chambray shirt. Sorry for the selfie... a girls gotta do, what a girls gotta do. Highly recommended!
Sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Comfortable and good for winter.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material of the dress is perfect for winter and it looks good with or without tights. I wore it to a wedding and it was easy to dance in. Since it's so basic, I paired it with a big statement necklace. I was a bit nervous the chest would be tight, but based on other reviews' stature, I went with my regular size 2 and it fit like a glove.
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

GREAT dress. I would buy this dress to wear again & again.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering dress and I had many compliments. The fabric is thick and I loved the skirts "flowy" style. I wore red shoes but the fun style of the dress lends itself to almost any color shoes. I would love to pair it with a blue shoe next time. So many ways to style-up the dress. The arm holes are perfect.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

I rented this dress for a law school ball and it was the perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was true to size and had a good amount of stretch to the fabric. It was flattering and super comfortable. The length was great, above the knee but not too short. The neck line is very simple so you are able to add your favorite necklace to add some color! I would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2014

I wore this to a mardi gras party in Mobile, AL, and it was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got the size 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 4 because the dress is fitted at the top through the waist. I wore the dress all day and did not want to be worrying about a "food baby" after eating and drinking all day, haha! The dress was very comfortable, flirty, and perfect for my event. You could easily dress it up or down depending on what you were wanting to wear it for. My event was a cocktail attire day event for Mardi Gras, and this was perfect. I wore nude pumps and a statement necklace to dress it up a bit for this event. I would definitely rent again!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Great LBD!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was true to size - I'm usually a 0 and the 0 fit perfect! The length is cute but not too short and the fabric is a little heavier than i was expecting but nothing that would stop me from renting this dress for any occasion!
ALR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Great LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This is a nice, simple, LBD. I would say it runs slightly large- the material is a thick knit (like a ponte), so it's really stretchy, comfy, and flattering. It's a bit more drop-waisted than I expected, but it was still a fun, appropriate dress for my work party at a casino. It's a blank canvas and can be as fancy or as casual as you want - really a great dress for those "I don't know what's appropriate!" events.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

I rented this for Kansas City Fashion Week! Visit 26andnotcounting.com !

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The entire process couldn't have gone any better. Visit my blog 26andnotcounting.com for more photos!
Alix
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Perfectly classic.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so perfect for a wedding. The fabric has a give and a stretch to it and it cut in such a flattering way. It's extremely comfortable that I wore it for hours while being totally appropriate for a wedding. I have a large chest so fabric with give it ideal. I also usually prefer a higher necked dress because I don't feel so exposed. I rented the 8 and the 10 and had to wear the 10 because of my chest even though it was slightly baggy in the waist. I received compliments all night on how flattering this dress was.
Jeni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Felt great on the red carpet at event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits great true to size . Flattering on an hourglass figure . Was a fun dress yet classy . I enjoyed wearing it
Dania
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Classy LBD, great for any daytime event to dress up or dress down!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Super comfy, very flattering little black dress. Wore this dress for my best friend's bridal shower which was a Breakfast at Tiffany's theme. I dressed it up with some pearls which I also rented from RTR. I didn't want to over do it, and this dress was the perfect selection, it is versatile, where you can dress it up or dress it casually for any occasion. This is a great GO-TO dress!
Blaise
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

wore it to a formal at a country club

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
great fit, wore with pearls, really classic LBD look.
Claire
Age: 22
Mar 29, 2014

This dress was perfect for my sorority semiformal! Everyone loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is true-to-size. I love the stretch of the material. It was super comfortable and I literally didn't want to take it off!
Briana
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

I got tons of compliments on how it was the perfect little black dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was very comfortable and flattering. Perfect LBD.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Flattering fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great LBD. I didn't end up wearing this for my event, but it's a great dress and can be dressed up or down!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 31, 2014

This dress was hot, but definitely wasn't a LBD that flatters as well as I would have liked.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was true to size, and was just the right length for the occasion. I love little black dresses, but this wasn't as flattering as other LBDs.
Charmaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

I felt so beautiful yet comfortable in this dress. Wish I didn't have to return it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fits so perfectly and the fabric is very flattering. It was perfect for the first Capstone Weekend event this past weekend.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

arrived early and i felt beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
the dress came three days early which was amazing! unfortunately i sprained my ankle in that time so i couldnt actually go anywhere in it, but when i tried it on it fit in all the right places and was perfect! definitely will order again
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

This dress was incredible. I used it for my sororities semi formal in the winter

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit PERFECTLY. The material was really thick but comfortable and it flared a little on the bottom. It was so easy to dance and move around it. It just felt really effortless.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 7, 2014

A great LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such a great fabric and fit. Since you don't have to worry about the dress fitting in the hips, I recommend sizing down for your back up size. That option felt a bit better in the in the ribs and bust for me. The dress itself adds a bit of fun flare to the simple black dress and is a great opportunity to add flair with jewelry. Also, the online product photo makes it look like the back is a different fabric, perhaps even sheer, but it is actually the same fabric as the front/rest of the dress.
Raquel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Gorgeous well fitting LBD with extra personality

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried the 0 wouldn't fit but both the 0 and 2 seemed perfect, very forgiving but form fitting fabric. The seams in the front make it much more interesting than most LBDs. The flare was cute and it wasn't too short. I could have worn any bra or none so really no complaints! Really nice material, a little more structured and heavier but not too hot for dancing.
Natasha
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

I wore this to a fashion show for emerging designers.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This a great choice for anyone who is looking for something slimming and is nervous about if the garment is "true to size" or not. I could have probably fit into the 10, but I didn't even try it once I was comfortable with the fit of the 12. Its a versatile piece that you can dress up with accessories like I did here.
Thursia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Love Love Love

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was made for me! Fit was perfect. I was afraid it might be to short for my age, but I think I rocked it! It's beautifully made and was very comfortable to move and dance in. I will be back to rent again! Thank you RTR!
Angela
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 21, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not only was the dress absolutely beautiful but the reliability and service of Rent the Runway is fantastic. I love this website and will be continuing to order from here in the future!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Didn't want to return this one!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the perfect LBD! I truly didn't want to send it back. The fit was perfect, the fabric was comfortable, and the dress was so flattering! I'm always concerned when renting because I'm very tall, but the length on this was sexy while remaining very classy.
AnyoneButJordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Fun, easy-to-wear dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was simple but very comfortable. I love the flip the skirt had when dancing. I paired it with black tights, black heels and gold jewelry -- the dress definitely needs to be accessorized.
Maggieful
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 5, 2014

Really Pretty and Comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a memorial service because I don't own a black dress and I needed one in a hurry. The material is really comfortable; it feels like a really soft wetsuit. I'm short and the dress hit just above my knees, making it appropriate for a church ceremony. I wore this with nude heels, the Bronze Palace Chandelier Earrings and Grayce Necklace (I got those both from Rent the Runway, also). Normal undergarments work, but I noticed that the armpit area is cut a little slim so I had to safety pin my bra strips inside the dress to keep them from showing. The seams are also on the outside, making the dress seem like it's inside out, which I didn't particularly care for. Because of the seams and the armpit area, I gave the dress 4 stars instead of 5.
Olivia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 6, 2014

Made me feel confident!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this to my masters graduation ceremony and it was sooooooo comfortable! Fit perfectly! This dress is incredibly well made and very flattering, rent it!!!
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
May 8, 2014

Great simple dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect LBD. great fit and material. awesome silhouette. It is the great canvas to a great look- you need to add some exciting jewelry and shoes to spice it up! i would buy this dress if i could. You can wear it anywhere. Loved it!
Chelsey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2014

I felt great in this dress very comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is perfect it is so snug and comfortable it was perfect to dance all night in and I got so many complements!
Jacqui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 11, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was great. It is such a classic dress and easy to wear. The fabric has some stretch making it even more comfortable. The volume was greater than I thought it would be but I didn't mind. My boyfriend absolutely loved it and still asks me about renting it again.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 13, 2014

I was being awarded teacher of the year at a special banquet.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit like a glove. Perfect fit and flare for those that have a little more on bottom. This was a backup dress because the one I ordered was damaged. Rent the Runway picked this one out and I liked it better. So happy and will continue to use rent the runway!
Stef
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 20, 2014

Great for dancing!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Some friends and I were going swing dancing and I really wanted a dress that would have a full skirt. This dress was perfect for swing dancing! It was also super comfortable.
rhonda
Age: 29
May 25, 2014

Amazing cut

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything was amazing
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
May 25, 2014

Rented this for a wedding, felt pretty great!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Well I'm usually all about oversized things so it took me awhile to get used to this dress! It is tight but very flattering, especially for us true pear shapes. I did wear some pretty serious spanx for the tummy area so if that is your problem area I would not suggest this dress! Got a lot of compliments and really fun for a LBD. My husband wants me to buy it! I wore a statement necklace, a sock bun, and some black heels with it!
Dina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 1, 2014

Nice little black dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
A lot of stretch to this dress. The skirt is fun and I got a lot of compliments. I rented the 2 and 4 and wore the 2. The only thing is that if you are not comfortable with your stomach area it is difficult to hide. All in all would recommend.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×