Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
760 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size608
Small41
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2015
Perfect fit
Loved this dress! I wore it for a work event for my husband. It was classic and perfect for a dinner party. The fit was overall great-just a little tight in the arms but it wasn't uncomfortable. The middle was fitted just right and made me feel awesome! My husband also loved it :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
January 31, 2015
Great, Simple, Black Dress!
Loved the thick material! It was very form fitting and made me look like I had a nice hour glass shape. The skirt flared out a tiny bit which made it flirty and fun to dance in! Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2015
I had two events in one night, both being somewhat formal and this dress was perfect!
It is a thick, stretch knit fabric. The seams are visible on the outside, which makes a bit less dressy or more funky. Depends on your perspective. It was very comfortable and easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 25, 2015
This dress was a great simple dress for a formal event. I absolutely loved it!
Form fitting bodice, very comfortable, stretchy and forgiving material
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
January 19, 2015
Cute dress, but fit was just OK
Cute dress, but the fit was just OK. The material was a lot heavier than expected, and the seams gave an inside/out look. I requested the size 10 and size 12, and ended up not being able to wear either. A lot of bunching in the middle section too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
Elegant & Classy & Flirty
I'm 5'9, 32DDD and was looking for something to wear to my boyfriend's company holiday party. I ordered a 4 & 6, and wore the 4. I wish i would have ordered the 2 as a backup size instead of the 6. The dress was conservative yet still looked flirty and young.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
January 14, 2015
The moment I put the dress on I immediately felt confident and loved the way I looked!
I have a petite frame with a large bust so sometimes it's difficult to find dresses that fit my body the way I'd like. The minute I zipped up the dress, it felt like the dress was made for me. I absolutely loved wearing it! #classy #simple #lbd #perfection
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
January 14, 2015
Cute flare!
Fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
January 14, 2015
Quality, flattering dress
I wore this to my husband's holiday party. It was perfect! Nice heavy fabric that can be nicely dressed up with a statement necklace and bracelet. I am between a 0 and a 2 and the 0 worked for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2015
Bummer for sure!
This dress fit really tight! I'm a pretty standard 6 and the 8 was tight. But the bigger problem was the hem being completely crooked. It looked like someone had taken a pair of scissors to the bottom. This was not my finest RTR rental. Good thing I've had so many other successes!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2015
Wanted to love it but...
So, I think if I had smaller hips or a more straight figure it would have looked awesome. The fit was fine, but really, really accentuated the hip area making it look extremely unflattering. Otherwise, the dress would have been great. The material is of a nice thickness and the shaping of the skirt gives it a little extra. Too bad I wasn't able to pull it off!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2015
Super cute, very flattering & comfortable.
very good basic black, flattering & still trendy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2015
I rented this for New Years Eve. It was perfect!
Material is thicker so you don't lines.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2015
This dress was perfect for a bachelorette party!
Definitely felt comfortable all night long! Highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
January 6, 2015
Felt confident and flirty!
I'm large busted and this dress fit like a dream. Nice thick fabric, snug in the right places. Great little date dress for taking a swing on the dance floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2015
I didn't end up going out, rented for New Years but got sick. :(
Cute dress overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2014
PERFECT LBD
I am officially obsessed with this dress. I love it so much that I have been checking ebay periodically to see if I can purchase it. I will definitely be renting this dress again. I wore it dressed up with booties to go out in Boston and then dressed it down with a chambray shirt on top the next day for brunch. It's extremely versatile and very flattering. My biggest disappointment is that I didn't take a photo in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 30, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering choice!
I wore this for my 10 year high school reunion and thought it was a great choice for the occasion. I paired it with a gray blazer and opaque black tights since sleeveless/bare legs felt to dressy for the occasion. The fabric is pretty heavy, but it gives the dress a very durable feel and it definitely is only noticeable to the person wearing it. The weight also helps since it was somewhat short and the full skirt could potentially end up all over the place without the extra weight. I only give it 4/5 stars since, despite normally being a fan of fuller skirts on dresses, this one was a bit much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
December 29, 2014
Great Flattering Dress
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner (was more of a party with a band) and it was a great choice. The fabric is thick and flattering but is also great for dancing.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2014
Great dress, lots of compliments!
Easy, comfortable dress that is great for any occasion!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
December 24, 2014
I had so many compliments on the LBD. It fit perfectly and made me look like I have a bigger bust
It fit like a glove! True to size and a few inches above the knee. I went to a work party and it was perfect. I felt pretty. I will definitely rent again. Perfect condition
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2014
Dress was lovely!
Really cute fit, loved the flare. Bigger than I expected.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2014
Amazing dress!
Wore to my niece old Hollywood theme sweet 16 party and I was going for the Audrey Hepburn look and I received a lot of compliments all night. Fit perfectly and very comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2014
Worn as a work uniform. It's a super basic, safe style.
perfect fit. not too long, not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
December 18, 2014
I love it!
The dress was well made and was a wonderful heavy material. The way the skirt was, it hid any belly bulge. I loved it! I wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2014
Heavy fabric, great silhouette!
This was my backup dress so I didn't wear, although I wish I had an even during my timeframe that would've allowed me to. Great, heavy fabric that gave the dress a great shape! Small details like the stitching and zipper make the dress unique. Would definitely rent again...
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
December 17, 2014
Was my first time using the service and it was pretty easy.
The front looks perfect and fits well. The back of the dress was rippling in the zipper because it was a little loose. The length isn't too short, hits right at the finger tips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2014
Love this! It can be worn casual, or dressed up with nice jewelry!
Has a dropped waist- the flare begins around the hip area. Really cute and flirty! I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2014
So fancy and elegant!!
I rented this dress for law prom and it was a fantastic dress!!! I fit my curves and I wasn't constantly adjusting it every 5 seconds!! I got so many compliments and would definitely wear it again!! I also rented a bracelet, purse, earrings, and necklace and they definitely completed my look perfectly!!! Highly recommend!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2014
Great LBD!
Wore this dress for my office Holiday party - was a fantastic little black dress that you can dress up with a statement necklace, belt, fun tights, etc. The material is heavy weight and stretchy - the 6 fit well but wore 8 for a little bit more comfort knowing I was heading into a long night of drinks, food & dancing. I dressed it up with a black and gold belt - overall a great dress and safe pick!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2014
Fancy work dinner with boss and clients
This dress is so comfortable and the fabric is great quality! I wore this to a nice dinner with conservative clients and it looked great! I want to buy this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2014
Feeling super comfortable in my outfit and looking fabulous at the same time.
Fit perfectly. Loved the material. Looked classy. Short but not too short. Plenty of compliments. Able to wear with a regular bra, didn't have to go strapless or racer back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2014
Great Dress
The size 6 had a tear in the seam on the side, so i had to wear the 8 which fit fine. The dress was surprisingly tight on my chest since I only am a 32c and I don't usually have that problem. I had to wear a very thin bra so I didn't feel smushed. Other than that it was a great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it, but really loved it.
It was a lovely, heavy material with a fun and twirly skirt. I really liked it, but decided against it bc I didn't have shoes that I liked with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2014
Perfect party dress!
I'm 5'9 and was a little concerned about it being too short, but the length was perfect! The material is so comfortable and the fit is very flattering. I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 13
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
I did not wear this dress. :(
This dress was definitely not for me...very fitted in the top to the hips. On the model it looks like it flares at the hips, which would have been ok, but it actually flares below the hips so every "curve" is accentuated. I couldn't wear it which was very disappointing because it looked so cute.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 7, 2014
Professional and sexy!
Form fitting, very comfortable with stretch in the material. I wore with a black suit jacket at a formal event at The Capital and it looked perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2014
I wore it to a sorority formal.
The dress was a heavier material but very comfortable. It worked well to dress up and then after our event, I was able to dress it down with boots and a leather jacket.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2014
This was my first time using Rent the Runway, and I absolutely loved it! I felt like a princess.
I ordered this dress for my school's Homecoming DanceI'm a fairly average sized person, but my lower half is larger than my top. I'm curvy in the bottom and the dress neither hid nor drastically accentuated this feature. The material was very soft and comfortable, but fitting in the waist. I have a flat stomach, but it was obvious the dress hides nothing in the waist area. I wore 3 1/2 inch heels with the dress and the dress stopped a few inches from my knees. This was a comfortable length for me and met my school's dress code (strict Catholic School). Overall, I loved the dress and the experience was great. I plan on renting another dress in the next couple of months. Highly recommended to any girls looking for a simple and easy dress for a school dance. I ended up wearing the dress with a long green-stone necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 23, 2014
Fit like a glove!
Sizing was perfect. Great LBD to wear to a wedding. Easy to dress up with sparkly jewelry. Fun to dance in. Would rent again!
See more reviews:
5 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×