Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $40 rental?
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
785 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2013
Comfy & Cute! I wish I could buy it!
This dress was super comfortable and everyone complimented me on it. Its very fitted, but I didn't feel like it showed too much. I wish I could buy the dress actually, because its great for so many things - work events, weddings, cocktail parties.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
August 28, 2013
Perfection!!!
Felt so amazing in this dress!! Perfect length and got tons of compliments!! The fabric is amazing and the entire RTR experience was awesome!! You have to try this dress! Perfect for "cocktail attire"!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 2, 2013
Love, love, love it!
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was perfect! I loved the material and fit. The skirt had great movement and I felt great all night. I wore it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Renaissance Statement Necklace and it added a great punch of color. This is a fabulous dress and I was really sad to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 3, 2013
I wore this to my sister's wedding rehearsal and got compliments all night!
Like the other reviews, the material is heavy but I loved it. It didn't wrinkle at all and was so comfortable! Where the skirt flared out was perfect. I rented the necklace that was shown on the model and it was a huge hit as well. Perfect all around; I didn't want to send it back!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 8, 2013
perfect little black dress!
Beautiful dress! PERFECT for any occasion. You can dress it up or dress it down. Fits true to size and the necklace they recommended to pair with it goes great!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2013
Great material!
I wore this for a relatively conservative work cocktail and it worked great! The 2 and the 4 fit, but the 2 definitely felt better. The thick material is forgiving, and the detailed seaming is a nice touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 12, 2013
Simple style that allows you to have fun with accessories!
I wore this to a family wedding and LOVED IT! Super comfortable, true to size (maybe even a little loose), and overall easy to wear. I was able to have a lot of fun with accessories when I wore this dress because it was sort of like a blank canvas. The full, exposed, bronze zipper in the back looked great. This dress really photographs well too--super flattering! I would highly recommend this for any occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 14, 2013
Perfect for my Audrey Hepburn costume!
This dress is fits perfectly and is SO comfortable. I wore it for a New York themed party for my sorority and went as (blonde) Audrey Hepburn from Breakfast at Tiffany's. I was so comfy all night! I definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2013
Great dress but not for the short waisted!
Another RTR disapointment for me. While the dress came clean and looking brand new the overall fit was not what I was hoping for. I thought the dress would elongate my short torso and give me the appearance of more curves than I have but it just made me look short, stocky and wide hips. If you don't suffer from short torso syndrome I would recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 16, 2013
Simple and classic!
Love this dress! It's a simple and classic silhouette. The neckline is perfect for a statement necklace. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner, and felt beautiful! It was also very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2013
Great LBD
Got this as my backup dress and I really liked it. I will definitely rent it again as my top choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 18, 2013
Beautiful dress, so well made!
I wish I owned this dress. It would be a great staple for any wardrobe. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner with a large gold necklace and received compliments all night. The fabric is thick and the quality is perfect. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2013
Perfect dress! Classy, elegant but also fun and flirty. Fabric is wonderful.
Fit is amazing. I ordered the 0 and the 2. I was traveling for business and wore the 2 to my meetings and then switched to the 0 for my date and going out dancing. Both fit great the 0 was just a little shorter. Absolutely love this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2013
Really great and easy LBD!!
I rented this for Celebrating Night for my sorority and we all have to wear a black dress. It is thick, kind of stretchy material but not too thick...but since it isn't, it gives it a little bounce for a fit and flare look, which I love!!! It wasn't too sexy for the occasion, but definitely fun and flirty! I would definitely recommend! it runs true to size, I am usually a 2 in dressed and I rented the 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2, it definitely plays up your shape with the full skirt, totally worth it! Also, there is piping detail on the front, which you can't see in the picture and also a long zipper that runs down the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 20, 2013
Perfect for a Night Out!
Rented this for a bachelorette party---and it was perfect! Classy, but with a playful hemline, ran true to size. Can be dressed up or down with jewelery and shoes. A total win!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2013
Fun dress!
Great fit and luxurious fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2013
Great LBD
The fit was great and fun flared skirt for more volume than I usually wear. Great paired with leather jacket and studded belt. The fabric was thick, which was nice and comfortable, but added some extra weight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 27, 2013
Adorable and sexy at the same time!
This dress was amazing!! The material was stretchy and forgiving which made it extremely comfortable. It was also a thicker material which made me not feel the need to wear spanx with it. It was a very versatile dress. I wore the dress for a corporate dinner then out all night to a casino, I received so many compliments. The flare skirt makes the dress fun and flirty. I LOVED IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 29, 2013
fun well made dress but....
So for all you ladies who are self-concious after you eat/drink too much, this dress is not for you. I wore this out for a fun night out for my new job promotion. Its gorgeous, heavy, perect for fall. However, if you aren't stick thin or seld-concious about your bloated belly after you start drinking - let me tell you, it shows everything. It sticks to your body like underarmour. I wouldnt call this dress very formal. The material isn't "jersey" but its close. Its perfect for work, or a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2013
Sophisticated fun!
This was my second dress choice that I had rented for our engagement photos. I loved the look and feel of this dress, although I'm glad I ordered one size up for backup since I felt that the fit and flare style made it a little shorter on me (especially since I'm 5'9). Unfortunately, we had to reschedule our engagement photos due to bad weather so I only got to try this dress on, as opposed to actually wearing it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2013
It was a great fit and comfortable. The style is classic and perfect for a wedding.
Like the others before me that wore this dress, I received many compliments. I don't have anything bad to say about this dress. And it works for any age.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 13, 2013
Great Dress
I wore this to my husband college reunion and I thought it was great for the occasion. This dress is very comfortable. I went with the size 0 and it fit perfectly. It was great not having to worry about special undergarments either.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
October 14, 2013
First of all, the RTR ladies are fantastic. I had THE BEST experience and highly recomend RTR.
I had originally ordered a 0 but when I got it, it was a tad to short, and tight in the bust. The fabric has stretch but I knew the 2 would be perfect. I called the The RTR gals in a panic and they immediately overnighted me the right size which came just in time for my event. (Now I know to always order two sizes at once). I LOVE this dress. It's flattering, flirty, and comfortable. I got so many compliments. I chose to wear it with a costume necklace with pale blue stones. I highly recommend this dress for any occasion (wedding, party, dinner, etc).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2013
The perfect LBD!
I rented this dress for a fall wedding at a campground. I wanted something that could be dressed down, but still looked wedding appropriate. I paired the dress with patterned black tights and black boots. It looked cute and I received a lot of compliments. The dress was also super comfortable, so no complaints in that department! This dress runs true to size (at least for me it did - the 4 fit perfectly) and the material is thick, so it's a nice dress for a colder month. I highly recommend and would rent again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2013
A classic black cocktail dress that it very easy to dress up. Comfortable, flattering, and elegant.
form fitting through the waist; no cons- fabric is great; doesnt wrinkle
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
super flirty and fun!
I loved the dress, fabric and edging detail were great, skirt was so fun and twirly. Would have been perfect on a super flat mid section, as it is a drop waist. I got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2013
Cute Date Night Dress
Cute dress, but short for a tall girl. You canNOT wear spanx, lol. I kept hoping a strong wind wouldn't come along and blow the back up. Overall nice dress. Love the RTR process - so easy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 21, 2013
new favorite LBD
Loved this dress. I actually searched the web to see if I could buy it after I returned it. The fabric feels great on - it is a bit stretchy, super flattering and was just the right length for my 5'4 frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
October 22, 2013
Wonderful!
Perfect little black cocktail dress that can be dressed up for a wedding or worn for a work meeting. Loved this dress, super comfortable and fit perfect. It was a little loose in waist but not crazy, I have a small waist so hard for me to judge. So many options for accessories with this little number. Would highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2013
Simple, comfortable, classic little black dress
No complaints about this dress at all! The material was a bit thicker which was nice for a cool fall outdoor wedding. The fabric has a lot of give to it which made it extremely comfortable. Basically the perfect canvas to pair your favorite jewelry, shoes, etc. The options for accessorizing this dress were endless. Loved wearing it! I didn't even try on the size 2 because the size 4 fit just fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2013
This dress is SO comfortable and very figure flattering.
I got this as a backup, but ended up wearing it instead of my first choice. This was my first time wearing "fit and flare" and I was nervous that the fit would be too "fitted" but it was very figure flattering and comfortable. No spanx were even needed! Definitely much more exciting than the picture and I played it up with fun jewelry!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2013
Classy and comfortable dress!
I felt sexy and confortable wearing it at a wedding. I wish I owned this dress! I wore it will sheer black hose and black heels plus a sparkly statement necklace. I would definitely recommend this dress, it is very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2013
Comfy and beautiful dress for a wedding!
True to size, super comfy, loved how the skirt flared. Definitely would buy this dress if I had the choice!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2013
It was very comfortable and I loved the material!
It fits tight I should have gotten a small b/c my bust is too big for a 0. It's also tight around the stomach...so I should have gotten a 2. Overall, it was comfortable and great material!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2013
It was very simple and perfect for transitioning into Fall.
I thought this ran a little big. The material had a lot of give, so I would order smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2013
Very elegant!
I wore this to a wedding, prior to receiving the dress I had some difficultly with ups! Then when I went to try the dresses on to my surprise it smelt of mothballs! I was very upset and contacted rtr right away. They were very accommodating and needless to say everything worked out! I went with the 4 because the 6 was to long and the skirt seem to be fuller. I added a statement necklace to give it a little pop! The dress was very comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Wasn't thrilled with this dress. Flared out way too much on the bottom/sides.
Ran a bit small. Usually I am a 0 in dresses and in this one I had to use the 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2013
Looking good at the altar
Great for me because of my hourglass shape, very forgiving and well made
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 17, 2013
Comfortable!
Loved the dress! Pros: -Super comfortable and soft material -Flatters figure by flaring at the right place above your hips -Great length for tall girls! Cons: -I did not have a single problem with the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
November 19, 2013
I wore this to Mercedes Benz Fashion Week and loved it! Cool, comfy, stylish
Fit perfectly. Great stretchy material and very flattering!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×