Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
773 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size614
Small42
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 28, 2015
Short & tight!
I'm 5'5" and the 6 was pretty darn short on me, so much so I couldn't wear it to a wedding and feel comfortable in it. It is skintight on the top so beware. This was my first RTR fail, I knew it was going to happen sooner or later :) Oh well, Ill keep renting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 24, 2015
Did not wear this dress as it was a back up.
My favorite thing about this dress is the material. It is high quality and snug, but not too tight. However, I'm 5'4 and the dress was too long. I would have chosen this dress for my event if it was shorter - it hit my knee which was a bit awkward for the fullness of the skirt and the drop waist.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
March 24, 2015
It arrived early, fit perfectly, and was fun to dance in! 5 star first RTR experience!
The dress fit perfectly and I received so many compliments! Great LBD! My biggest trouble was fitting the box into the UPS bag for return and finding a UPS store open on Sunday's. Luckily, first thing Monday morning I called RTR and they were able to help me out! Can't wait to order my next dress! Great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2015
Breakfast at Tiffany's Bridal Shower
I needed a little black dress for a themed bridal shower. This dress was perfect! Fit was true to size and accentuated all the right areas. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 9, 2015
Dress was perfect for dancing!
The dress fit perfectly! A great LBD. Very flattering and comfortable. I'm 5'6" and this was not too short but still sexy. Needs a statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 6, 2015
Absolutely loved the fit of this dress. I thought it was so flattering! Would definitely rent again!
I thought the dress was true to size. I am 5' 0" and about 105 lbs and the dress fit very nicely. It was pretty fitted to by body and was a great length, falling a few inches above my knees! Was able to dance the night away!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 3, 2015
Perfect for a party, special event, etc. I wore it to an opening of a restaurant. Many compliments.
Fits extremely well. Holds tight to your body, but is thick enough to where it doesn't show every single flaw. Very flattering fit for an athletic figure, and I imagine for many more. Wasn't too short. I am almost 6' tall and it worked well without tights.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2015
Winter Wedding
Perfect fit and SOO COMFORTABLE! Super cute!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 27, 2015
Great for a Company Holiday Party
The fit was true to size and was long enough to be office party appropriate. I did feel like the flair made my hips look a little wider than I would have liked, It was very comfortable to wear and easy to accessorize with.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2015
Very cute, trendy LBD!
Fit was true to size, I am pear shaped and it was very flattering. I am 5'8" tall and needed tights underneath to feel covered as it is short. Received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2015
didnt wear
I can be hard to fit but usually this style is easy. I am long waisted and I was surprised to find that the dress bowed out at the zipper as if it was too long - the top of the 4 was quite fitted (I am 34C) but the bottom was pretty big and the hip area was way too wide. The quality of the fabric was nice however.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2015
Fits very nicely, super comfortable and easy to wear.
Wore this for my senior piano recital, wasn't too short and looked great. Loved the fabric and fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 18, 2015
Fit great! Super comfortable and classy. I received many complimates!
Not too short
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 13, 2015
Perfect fit
Loved this dress! I wore it for a work event for my husband. It was classic and perfect for a dinner party. The fit was overall great-just a little tight in the arms but it wasn't uncomfortable. The middle was fitted just right and made me feel awesome! My husband also loved it :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2015
Great, Simple, Black Dress!
Loved the thick material! It was very form fitting and made me look like I had a nice hour glass shape. The skirt flared out a tiny bit which made it flirty and fun to dance in! Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2015
I had two events in one night, both being somewhat formal and this dress was perfect!
It is a thick, stretch knit fabric. The seams are visible on the outside, which makes a bit less dressy or more funky. Depends on your perspective. It was very comfortable and easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 25, 2015
This dress was a great simple dress for a formal event. I absolutely loved it!
Form fitting bodice, very comfortable, stretchy and forgiving material
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
January 19, 2015
Cute dress, but fit was just OK
Cute dress, but the fit was just OK. The material was a lot heavier than expected, and the seams gave an inside/out look. I requested the size 10 and size 12, and ended up not being able to wear either. A lot of bunching in the middle section too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
Elegant & Classy & Flirty
I'm 5'9, 32DDD and was looking for something to wear to my boyfriend's company holiday party. I ordered a 4 & 6, and wore the 4. I wish i would have ordered the 2 as a backup size instead of the 6. The dress was conservative yet still looked flirty and young.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
January 14, 2015
The moment I put the dress on I immediately felt confident and loved the way I looked!
I have a petite frame with a large bust so sometimes it's difficult to find dresses that fit my body the way I'd like. The minute I zipped up the dress, it felt like the dress was made for me. I absolutely loved wearing it! #classy #simple #lbd #perfection
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
January 14, 2015
Cute flare!
Fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
January 14, 2015
Quality, flattering dress
I wore this to my husband's holiday party. It was perfect! Nice heavy fabric that can be nicely dressed up with a statement necklace and bracelet. I am between a 0 and a 2 and the 0 worked for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2015
Bummer for sure!
This dress fit really tight! I'm a pretty standard 6 and the 8 was tight. But the bigger problem was the hem being completely crooked. It looked like someone had taken a pair of scissors to the bottom. This was not my finest RTR rental. Good thing I've had so many other successes!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2015
Wanted to love it but...
So, I think if I had smaller hips or a more straight figure it would have looked awesome. The fit was fine, but really, really accentuated the hip area making it look extremely unflattering. Otherwise, the dress would have been great. The material is of a nice thickness and the shaping of the skirt gives it a little extra. Too bad I wasn't able to pull it off!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2015
Super cute, very flattering & comfortable.
very good basic black, flattering & still trendy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2015
I rented this for New Years Eve. It was perfect!
Material is thicker so you don't lines.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2015
This dress was perfect for a bachelorette party!
Definitely felt comfortable all night long! Highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
January 6, 2015
Felt confident and flirty!
I'm large busted and this dress fit like a dream. Nice thick fabric, snug in the right places. Great little date dress for taking a swing on the dance floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2015
I didn't end up going out, rented for New Years but got sick. :(
Cute dress overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2014
PERFECT LBD
I am officially obsessed with this dress. I love it so much that I have been checking ebay periodically to see if I can purchase it. I will definitely be renting this dress again. I wore it dressed up with booties to go out in Boston and then dressed it down with a chambray shirt on top the next day for brunch. It's extremely versatile and very flattering. My biggest disappointment is that I didn't take a photo in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
December 30, 2014
Very comfortable and flattering choice!
I wore this for my 10 year high school reunion and thought it was a great choice for the occasion. I paired it with a gray blazer and opaque black tights since sleeveless/bare legs felt to dressy for the occasion. The fabric is pretty heavy, but it gives the dress a very durable feel and it definitely is only noticeable to the person wearing it. The weight also helps since it was somewhat short and the full skirt could potentially end up all over the place without the extra weight. I only give it 4/5 stars since, despite normally being a fan of fuller skirts on dresses, this one was a bit much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
December 29, 2014
Great Flattering Dress
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner (was more of a party with a band) and it was a great choice. The fabric is thick and flattering but is also great for dancing.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2014
Great dress, lots of compliments!
Easy, comfortable dress that is great for any occasion!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
December 24, 2014
I had so many compliments on the LBD. It fit perfectly and made me look like I have a bigger bust
It fit like a glove! True to size and a few inches above the knee. I went to a work party and it was perfect. I felt pretty. I will definitely rent again. Perfect condition
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2014
Dress was lovely!
Really cute fit, loved the flare. Bigger than I expected.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 19, 2014
Amazing dress!
Wore to my niece old Hollywood theme sweet 16 party and I was going for the Audrey Hepburn look and I received a lot of compliments all night. Fit perfectly and very comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2014
Worn as a work uniform. It's a super basic, safe style.
perfect fit. not too long, not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
December 18, 2014
I love it!
The dress was well made and was a wonderful heavy material. The way the skirt was, it hid any belly bulge. I loved it! I wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2014
Heavy fabric, great silhouette!
This was my backup dress so I didn't wear, although I wish I had an even during my timeframe that would've allowed me to. Great, heavy fabric that gave the dress a great shape! Small details like the stitching and zipper make the dress unique. Would definitely rent again...
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 17, 2014
Was my first time using the service and it was pretty easy.
The front looks perfect and fits well. The back of the dress was rippling in the zipper because it was a little loose. The length isn't too short, hits right at the finger tips.
See more reviews:
5 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×