Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

637 reviews

Fit
Small 37
True to Size 540
Large 35
Photos 267
Kate
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 24, 2012

Cute LBD, not too fancy and can be worn many ways.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and easy to wear. I would get a size smaller the next time. Very easy to dress up.
naheed
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

Super cute and fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was really great, it had enough stretch in it to hug me in all the right places and the flair was forgiving for a big NYE meal! I loved the skirt, so fun and flirty but not too short ;)
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 1, 2013

expedient RTR service + awesome dress = Great night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a local Opera with my mother and boyfriend and it was perfect for the occasion: classy with a hint of sexy. It is short, which I was fine with, but not too short to cause an issue (I'm 5'8 3/4"). Thick and flowy material. Very stretchy. I was able to wear the 6 but as other reviewers said, it bunched up weirdly in the back. Most importantly, I am long-waisted so the accents to the waist of the size 6 dress just did not lay right on my torso. Depending on your body type slimming garments may be needed. It is very slim-fitting in the torso. Loved the flare of the skirt at the waist. Overall great quality dress. Perfect for more conservative occasions.
Kiesha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

The dress was beautiful. Great/comfortable material and the skirt gave it a fun flare.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting across the chest and through the hips with a flared skirt. I wore the size 4 which was really comfortable but it was borderline too tight across the chest/under the arms. Overall, LOVED the dress and can't wait to rent again!
Kiesha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

The dress was beautiful. Great/comfortable material and the skirt gave it a fun flare.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting across the chest and through the hips with a flared skirt. I wore the size 4 which was really comfortable but it was borderline too tight across the chest/under the arms. Overall, LOVED the dress and can't wait to rent again!
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is so flattering, it fits beautifully in the chest and waist and has a fun flair at the bottom. It is perfect for girls that don't want to draw attention to their lower half. Very comfortable all night!
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

The dress fit like a glove!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Thanks to all the reviews, I ordered my normal size (2) and a size down (0). The 0 fit, but was a little tight around my underarms. The 2 fit perfectly! It hugged me in all the right places. The fabric was heavier than I expected, but I liked it because I wore the dress on a chilly night. I was worried it would be super short because of my long legs, but it hit right about mid-thigh. I was very very happy with this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got compliments all night!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

This dress is such good quality and fits like a glove!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a daytime retirement party. The fit was so fun and flirty! The fabric is stretchy and it fits true to size. I received compliments all day and was extremely comfortable. I had originally wanted to wear nude pumps with bare legs, but it was too cold, so I decided to wear black pumps and stockings. I paired the dress with a coral necklace and stud earrings to add some color. The only negative I would say about the dress is I have a larger bust and the neck did stretch down a little more than I wanted. It looked like a higher neckline in the model picture. Also, I'm very petite and I think the flare skirt was a little overwhelming for my small frame. I think I will rent a dress next time that is more fitted in the hips to give me some shape.
Allison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 19, 2013

The Dress was pretty, fun for a night out.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was not quite how we thought it would look. I have hips so the dress flared out more. But all the same fit well and was cute.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Fun party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nips in perfectly at the waist - a little short and I've got longer legs so you'll definitely want some good tights to go with it. I wore it with some bright red lipstick, big black earrings and a fun ponytail. Really felt fun and pretty in the dress.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

It was a perfect fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was comfortable and super cute!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Amazing dress! I will say, I got a belt to go with it...I liked it with a belt even more.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is a little short, but not TOO short. It was still appropriate for me to wear to speak at an event. Super cute with opaque tights too, if it s cold. I do recommend wearing with a belt!
Lizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Great fit and very slimming

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore it for a Holiday Party for work and it was a great and comfy fit! Would definitely rent again! Loved the zipper detail on the bag.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Flirty, and smart looking

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this look. The material is really wonderful with a bit of stretch. It fit like a glove! My dress actually still had the tag on it when I received it! I wore my usual size 6 but I would recommend sizing up for backup. It is great for someone who doesn't want a dress to be fitted in the hips. The swing skirt was so fun and flirty. I paired it with the Bea Necklace for some color. I wish I could own this LBD! Perfect for so many occasions!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

New Year's Eve Party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The 0 fit snugly, so I went for the comfort and extra length of the size 2. The dress is perfectly stretchy in all the right places, and the pleats made me want to spin around all night long! Such a perfect dress, especially for someone who wants to pair it with bold makeup and big accessories!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 30, 2013

My dress looked amazing at my first formal!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very fitted in the waist so i wore Spanx to smooth out my bumps and lumps. Its a very versatile dress. I wore it for a formal event, but it could be dressed down for a less formal even too! I loved it!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 1, 2013

I didn't want to send this back.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am completely obsessed with this dress, and really wish that I could buy it after this weekend. It's pretty simple, but the material is stretchy and somewhat thick at the same time. It really complemented my body because it was tight through the chest, and then flaired out. I'm hitting up the RTR sample sale just to see if I can find anything remotely close that I can keep forever.I wore it with my favorite statement necklace from BaubleBar and royal blue pumps. The awesome thing about this dress is it could really be dressed up or down based on how you accessorize it.
JG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

Loved the fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was gorgeous. I ended up picking the smaller size and pairing it with the Kenneth Jay Lane coral earrings for a rehearsal dinner. The material is almost wetsuit like, so could be a little hot.
A STYLd LIFE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Having the perfect dress! It was fun telling people which designer I was wearing as they asked

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice and fitted in the torso and flares out at the hips in just the right way. Perfect fit!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

My engagement party was incredible. I got compliments all night. :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit would be nice for a girl that has a narrower body. My hips are much fuller than my waist so they were obvious through the dress, which isn't always flattering. Luckily the dress is black so it hides a lot. It's very thick, high quality material. The 6 fit but the 8 was less clingy.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 27, 2013

Love this dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fabric and fit! Wore to NYE event... great to dance in, so comfortable, and VERY flattering!
Renee
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2013

Classic & Comfortable LBD

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as my 'backup' and loved it more than my original choice. The fabric is so soft it made it comfortable to wear for several hours at a networking cocktail and dinner event in NYC. I was hesitant to wear black in spring but adding a pop of color with my shoes made it OK. While this dress does not reveal anything, it is a flattering fit for a curvy figure- which is always a plus! I really enjoyed this dress and will consider renting it again in the future!
Michelle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 13, 2013

Perfect LBD for any occasion!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was absolutely perfect. It fit true to size and was incredibly comfortable, I didn't want to send it back, I would highly recommend it for any events you have coming up.
Elinor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013

Excellent and comfortable dancing dress~

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric was heavy but comfortable. The waist was a bit lower than expected, but it still looked great! Turned out to be a fun night and I really enjoyed wearing my dress!
katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 17, 2013

Great dress! Perfect for an evening party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely love this dress!!! It fit perfectly--I received many compliments. I usually wear a size 2 or 4, and ended up wearing the 4. It was very comfortable and flattering. I highly recommend this dress!!!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 20, 2013

Perfect for a casually elegant rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit perfectly and the flair was both cute and classy!
Kat
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 23, 2013

LOVE!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was really fun. It fit a little big (I'm between a 2 and 4). I would go with the size 2 the next time. Highly recommend! Good with black tights or without any. A necklace is needed!
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 26, 2013

loved this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
was so simple and able to pair with fun jewelry / shoes. material was a little heavy but it fit perfectly!
Kristi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 23, 2013

Great dress for an evening wedding in Seattle - just what I was looking for.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super comfortable and fit very true to size. The fabric is fairly thick but it makes the flare skirt hang nicely. (It also made it travel well without wrinkling.) The bodice is form fitting but not overly tight. The back zipper is exposed, giving a bit of an edgy look which I liked. Since the neckline is relatively high, it sets off a piece of statement jewelry perfectly (like this Kate Spade necklace - also an RTR rental!) I was afraid the length would be a little too short based on the RTR picture, but it was a great length for my 5' 7" frame (perhaps the model was just super tall!) All in all a wonderful "fit & flare" little black dress.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Great option!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress, easy fit and fantastic for multiple different occasions. Wore my true size as the dress does have a fair amount of stretch so you can size down! Highly recommend if you're looking for an easy LBD!
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 8, 2013

Form fitting but not too tight!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super comfortable. It is form fitted in the bust area and the 'skirt' flairs out in such a cute way. The fabric was a bit on the heavier side, so I would not recommend this dress for an outdoor event during a heatwave. Luckily, the wedding I attended was indoors and the dress was perfect.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 1, 2013

So many compliments on this dress, I felt great in it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So comfortable. Didn't squeeze in any places. Figure flattering.
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 2, 2013

Comfortable, movable, sexy, and flirty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress -- fit great, was extremely comfortable, and was perfect for a long night of dancing at a friend's wedding. Highly recommended!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Classic LBD for my engagement pictures

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Perfect little black dress for my engagements. Very flattering.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

The bell shape of the bottom of the dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Great fit, very flattering, simple Cons: none
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Aug 19, 2013

Wore this dress for my bachelorette party and all the girls loved it!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress hugs your body on the top portion through your stomach and then flares exactly at the hip as pictured so if you don't like dresses being tight on your stomach, it's not for you. I happened to love the fit and flare aspect. I'm also short (5' 3") and wore a size 6 which I thought might be too long because I was deciding between the 4 and 6 but it wasn't too long at all, hit me mid-thigh. I'm curvy and felt this dress hit me in all the right places, accentuating the waist. The material is thick but I wore it out on a summer night in a packed club and was fine. Definitely recommend it for going out or daytime, depending how you accessorize, very versatile!
Libby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Classic LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. The fabric is thick but had just enough stretch to hug the right places, but also held its shape perfectly. It almost feels like neoprene...is that weird? The length was also great for me since it still felt flirty without being scandalous. The neck line is very conservative...which you can probably tell from the pictures. Great to pair with nearly any shoes or jewelery. I wore a pale pink bib necklace with it and got tons of compliments on the whole outfit.
Marybeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

classic LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and loved it! not only was I comfortable, it was a great quality dress! The fabric is a little stretchy but looks formal! loved it and recommend for anything - and can add almost any accessories to make more edgy, classy, or casual
Jenny
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 28, 2013

Perfection!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Felt so amazing in this dress!! Perfect length and got tons of compliments!! The fabric is amazing and the entire RTR experience was awesome!! You have to try this dress! Perfect for "cocktail attire"!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

I wore this to my sister's wedding rehearsal and got compliments all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Like the other reviews, the material is heavy but I loved it. It didn't wrinkle at all and was so comfortable! Where the skirt flared out was perfect. I rented the necklace that was shown on the model and it was a huge hit as well. Perfect all around; I didn't want to send it back!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×