Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $55 rental?
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
785 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2013
Perfect for a night out!
I rented this dress to wear out to the bars for my Birthday. I really liked it but it is not the most forgiving dress. Spanx were a must here. I paired it with black tights and a leather jacket since it was freezing outside. This is a dress I will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 4, 2013
Perfect fit!
I ordered this dress in an 8 and a 10, as I like tighter-fitting dresses and saw this was stretchy. However, the 10 fit me perfectly! The fabric is a little thicker than expected but worked well because I wore it on a snowy evening with black panty hose and chunky heels- looked amazing. Everyone was complementing me on it! I plan on stalking the dress in retail to see if I can buy it for keeps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2013
I rented this for a semi-formal dance and i LOVED IT!
The fit is very true to size. Can be a bit short when you bend over. I matched it with a gold necklace and it looked stunning! I received tons of compliments all night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2013
Perfect little black dress!
The dress is so flattering, it fits beautifully in the chest and waist and has a fun flair at the bottom. It is perfect for girls that don't want to draw attention to their lower half. Very comfortable all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2013
Fun dress!
Heavy, stretchy material. I really liked the full skirt and exposed zipper. I got it as my backup dress, but wished I could have worn it. The bodice is very tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 12, 2013
Easy to wear and great for dancing!
Simple, elegant, and comfortable dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 13, 2013
The dress fit like a glove!
Thanks to all the reviews, I ordered my normal size (2) and a size down (0). The 0 fit, but was a little tight around my underarms. The 2 fit perfectly! It hugged me in all the right places. The fabric was heavier than I expected, but I liked it because I wore the dress on a chilly night. I was worried it would be super short because of my long legs, but it hit right about mid-thigh. I was very very happy with this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
February 15, 2013
The rental, delivery and return was so easy that I will definitely rent again!
This dress was the perfect dancing dress! The material has a lot of stretch to it and does not wrinkle which was great because I flew across the country with it in my suitcase. You can dress it up with a statement necklace and killer shoes.And the exposed zipper gives it a little edge. I chose the 6 because the 4 was a little too tight around the bust and gave me the hated "armpit fat"! So comfy and sexy, two words that never go together!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2013
Very flattering, but a touch small!
I wore this for a work event, and I chose to wear the 6 (a size up from my normal size). I would be comfortable wearing a 4 (my normal size) for a wedding, a date, or a non-work function, but I decided to go with the 6 for work, even though I wore it with black tights, ankle booties and a large stone necklace (which was really cute). It was a bit tight on the bust and waist, and a bit short for work but great and mostly true to size for a personal or non-work social event. Comfortable material, flattering cut, and modest at the neckline regardless of shortness in length. I recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 18, 2013
Loved this dress!
Wore this dress for a more formal party. It was perfect! It fits tight around the waist and is really flattering! Loved the exposed zipper in the back. I would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2013
The Dress was pretty, fun for a night out.
It was not quite how we thought it would look. I have hips so the dress flared out more. But all the same fit well and was cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2013
This dress is so flattering! Perfect LBD to wear to a dance!
Super flattering flare at the waist for an hourglass figure. Very comfortable to wear all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2013
Fun party dress!
Nips in perfectly at the waist - a little short and I've got longer legs so you'll definitely want some good tights to go with it. I wore it with some bright red lipstick, big black earrings and a fun ponytail. Really felt fun and pretty in the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 3, 2013
Fun night out dress
I wore this to a night out on the town and it was perfect! It was black which allowed for me to eat and drink whatever I wanted without having to be conscious and the material was thick enough to hide all imperfections. The bottom of the dress flared out so it was a fun dress for the dance floor. Overall this is one of my fav rents from rtr.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2013
Flattering and fun dress
I wore this dress for an event where I was receiving an award and speaking....it needed to be comfortable and different. I paired it with the Dannijo Omala necklace and the combination was perfect. My boyfriend said is " is there any way you can buy this dress, it's so flattering". Both the 6 zand the 8 fit, but I decided on the 8 as I'm full-busted. The material is a stretchy, thick material akin to a lightweight scuba material. The cut of the dress makes it very form fitting through the torso/waist and then a great flare out in the skirt. It is a short, so I wore it with sheer black tights and black boots. If it had been a more formal event fun heels would have been great as well. This dress is very versatile. I would not likely rent this in the summer given the weight if the fabric, but would definitely rent again any other time of year. Rent this and a big statement necklace and you can't go wrong.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2013
Unflattering on my figure.
Rented for my organization's black tie gala. Staff were instructed to wear cocktail attire, and I wanted to look polished and keep it conservative. The raised seaming on the bodice was very distracting, and the overall silhouette did not flatter my shape. Returned for a credit and wore something I already owned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 7, 2013
Great LBD!
I wore this dress for a company holiday party. It ws a little too short for me, but with tights it was perfect. Super comfortable too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 11, 2013
It was a perfect fit!
It was comfortable and super cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 14, 2013
great dress, great fit
I work in fashion and had to wear all black for our show at fashion week. This dress is perfect for any event that is neither formal nor casual. It fits great and is very slimming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
March 17, 2013
Amazing dress! I will say, I got a belt to go with it...I liked it with a belt even more.
It is a little short, but not TOO short. It was still appropriate for me to wear to speak at an event. Super cute with opaque tights too, if it s cold. I do recommend wearing with a belt!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2012
Perfect fit!
I wish I could own this and have it in my closet at all times! The fit is amazing and the flared skirt could not be more flattering. It has a lot of stretch to it which makes it comfortable to boot. Can not say enough how great this dress is!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2012
I needed to change my delivery date and RTR was more than willing to get everything I needed changed. I got tons of compliments throughout the evening on both my earrings and my dress. I've been raving to all my girlfriends about the experience and they have already been scoping out dresses and jewels for an upcoming girls night out. Thanks, RTR!
The dress was true to size. I normally wear between a size 4 and 6 and the 4 was comfy and fit very well. I am tall (5'9"), so the dress was a bit short as I was dancing and moving around throughout the night, but I didn't have any problems with it. The fabric is stretchy and lightweight - perfect for me! I also ordered the "Mystery Bling" with the dress and received the Anton Heunis Emerald Stone Drop Earrings. They are something I would have normally never picked out for myself, but they paired perfectly with my shoes and dress. I got a ton of compliments on them :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2013
Great fit and very slimming
Wore it for a Holiday Party for work and it was a great and comfy fit! Would definitely rent again! Loved the zipper detail on the bag.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 24, 2013
Great dress, quality fabric.
I loved this dress! The fabric was thick and had a lot of stretch. It was a little shorter than I expected, but still long enough to be acceptable. Really flattering dress overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
March 24, 2013
Flirty, and smart looking
Loved this look. The material is really wonderful with a bit of stretch. It fit like a glove! My dress actually still had the tag on it when I received it! I wore my usual size 6 but I would recommend sizing up for backup. It is great for someone who doesn't want a dress to be fitted in the hips. The swing skirt was so fun and flirty. I paired it with the Bea Necklace for some color. I wish I could own this LBD! Perfect for so many occasions!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 25, 2013
Great dress!
I wore this dress for a more casual dinner party, but it easily could be dressed up with jewelry and shoes. The bodice is very fitted. It fit me perfectly, but the back zipper does a funny "bunching thing" at the waist in the back. I I chose to wear a belt to cover this up. Overall- great, versatile dress. I wanted to keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 25, 2013
New Year's Eve Party!
The 0 fit snugly, so I went for the comfort and extra length of the size 2. The dress is perfectly stretchy in all the right places, and the pleats made me want to spin around all night long! Such a perfect dress, especially for someone who wants to pair it with bold makeup and big accessories!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2013
Super flattering LBD!
Loved the fit of this dress. I'm between a size 6 and 8 - the 6 fit but the hemline was a little shorter. I wore this dress to a work event so moved up to the size 8. Dress was super comfortable and looked great with a big statement necklace. LOVED this dress and will rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2013
Great fit, versatile and classic
The fit on this dress is incredible - I sometimes have trouble with a "0" being small enough, but the stretch on the bodice ensures that it fits like a glove - extremely flattering, and the flare is great. Paired with a statement necklace, this can be dressed up or down for any occasion. Customer service was also incredible - I ordered two dresses that were both too large, and they overnighted this dress to me, just in time for my event. I spoke with a customer service agent on the phone and she was incredibly helpful with finding a dress that fits with my taste and style. Overall, highly recommend for a variety of events!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 30, 2013
My dress looked amazing at my first formal!
The dress is very fitted in the waist so i wore Spanx to smooth out my bumps and lumps. Its a very versatile dress. I wore it for a formal event, but it could be dressed down for a less formal even too! I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
April 1, 2013
I didn't want to send this back.
I am completely obsessed with this dress, and really wish that I could buy it after this weekend. It's pretty simple, but the material is stretchy and somewhat thick at the same time. It really complemented my body because it was tight through the chest, and then flaired out. I'm hitting up the RTR sample sale just to see if I can find anything remotely close that I can keep forever.I wore it with my favorite statement necklace from BaubleBar and royal blue pumps. The awesome thing about this dress is it could really be dressed up or down based on how you accessorize it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 1, 2013
Loved the fit.
This dress was gorgeous. I ended up picking the smaller size and pairing it with the Kenneth Jay Lane coral earrings for a rehearsal dinner. The material is almost wetsuit like, so could be a little hot.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 2, 2013
This dress is perfect for daytime, I wore my backup since this was on the casual side for evening
fit was true to size and the shape is flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
April 4, 2013
flattering and cute!
This dress was really cute and flattering. I'm very pear shaped, and this dress still fit me well and looked great on. No complaints!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2013
Beautiful
Very flattering for hourglass figures. Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2013
Loved the flare of the skirt.
Such a fun dress - i loved the flare of the skirt. It is fitted down through the hips though so if you were hoping to hide any hips by having the flared style this dress will not do that. The material is very thick which is nice but would still recommend spanxs since its very fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Wore this for an interview and it was perfect!
The dress is the perfect length and the material is a little heavy but very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Great little skater dress
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party and it fit like a glove. It fit perfectly in the bust area and had just the right amount of flair at the bottom to not be frou frou. It was very chic and I accentuated the neckline with a bright red tribal bib necklace. It was the perfect dress to dance the night away in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 25, 2013
Adorable Party Dress
Although I did not wear this dress because of size issue, I would definitely recommend for someone looking for a fun party dress. It would have been to casual for the wedding I attended, but I would consider it for a party or less formal function.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2013
Adorable, flattering dress
I LOVED this dress, but in person it was unfortunately much dressier than I had been anticipating so I didn't end up wearing it. I was planning on wearing it to a somewhat casual anniversary party (people were in jeans) but this could definitely be worn to a wedding or similarly formal affair. I even think it could work for black tie / black tie optional with the right hair, shoes & accessories. Just something to be aware of, but everything else in the other reviews was spot on - it's incredibly flattering, comfortable, etc. The flare is a bit big at the bottom, so just something to be aware of - definitely a very girly dress. Will rent again in the future, just for a different occasion!
See more reviews:
3 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×