Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$30 – $40 rental?
$425 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
784 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(622)
Small
(42)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 25, 2015
True to size, slim fitting, and the perfect dress for both casual and formal
The dress is very classy and not too short or too long. You can wear it for a cause event or dress it up with some jewelry and look formally classy. I highly recommend it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 24, 2015
Wore this for my engagement pictures and loved it!
Heavy material, sucks you in in all the right places. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
December 21, 2015
This beautiful dress made me feel great at my company holiday party!
I ordered my regular size and a size up because I read other reviews that indicated the dress is a really snug fit. My usual size (4) was great, and the 6 would have been much too large. I could have comfortably worn a 2 in this dress, but it would have been a tad more snug than I would have wanted for a work event. The length is modest but flirty, the flare of the skirt and seaming were great details, it has a nice neckline and great weight of fabric. I could comfortably move around and, happily, the dress stayed nice and smooth-- no wrinkles! This was absolutely perfect for a festive work party but I would love to wear it to a birthday dinner, or a cocktail party, or even to a VIP client meeting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2015
So cute! Definition of lbd!!
The fit was great and material was very nice. Just too short for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2015
Super cute, can be dressed up or down
I rented this to wear to an event that I ended up not going to. But I tried it on and it was really cute. I'll absolutely rent it again. It hits at just the right spot for someone just under 5'4". Long enough to be classy but short enough to be fun and flirty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2015
Great for holiday party!
I LOVE this dress. After I returned it, I tried to find it online to buy it. It was SO flattering, I got so many compliments at my work party. It fits great, and I felt like the way it's cut could make anyone look good. It was fun and comfotable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2015
I rented this dress for my sisters bridal shower at Fig & Olive in New York City.
I rented this dress for my sisters bridal shower at Fig & Olive. I wore an enormous pink hat so I wanted a simple dress. This dress fit what I needed. It was basic, but had some fun details. I would recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2015
Fit great!
Loved this dress! Very flattering and comfortable!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
December 10, 2015
This dress was comfortable enough to dance and move around easily all night
The dress has the perfect amount of structure for those looking to accentuate a slimmer waist but not cling to hips and thighs
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 8, 2015
The necklace I got from RTR was beautiful and a perfect layering piece for this holiday party.
The night before when I tried on the dress, the 6 looked perfect. Flattering through the waist, and made the girls look big and good. Then the day of the event I was feeling fluffy and the dress seemed very tight and unforgiving in my terrible living room light, so I opted for the 8 so it wouldn't be so tight on my mid section. Photo is of the 6 just so you can see what the bad of the dress is..... most reviews are good, and I would still recommend the dress as a perfect -can make it as fancy or not as you want- black dress. Be careful when you spin though, the skirt can fly up and show your booty ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 5, 2015
Loved the dress! Fit perfectly!
I'm 5'4" with augmented 34DDD, so short with boobs. Finding a dress that doesn't need to be altered is tough. This was my first RTR and dress fit as the reviews stated. The dress and accessories showed up one day early, perfect. Great price!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 1, 2015
comfortable, great fit, easy to accessorize!
The fit was great, anything goes with this dress -- very easy to wear fun shoes or statement pieces. The only thing was the fabric was a little more casual (and thick) than I assumed from the pictures. I had dressed it up though with shoes and accessories so it worked great for the August wedding I was a greeter in. Thanks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2015
Love love love this dress!
I had to rent a black dress for a bachelorette party so I randomly chose this dress at the last minute, not expecting anything special. I ended up absolutely loving the dress! It was super comfortable and fit beautifully. The flare at the bottom of the dress was really cute too. Would definitely rent this again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 27, 2015
This dress is super flattering!!!!!
I could have worn the 8 but didn't feel like having a tight dress while chasing kids at a wedding. The 10 just gave more room to breathe and chase kids! Amazing beautiful dress. It fits any body type. I did wear a regular bra and wish I had some tape to keep it from slipping out every now and then. Perfect for a wedding!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
November 26, 2015
Perfect!!
It fit like a glove! I have a big bust and small waist so finding the right fit can be difficult! This dress was absolutely perfect!!! I received so many compliments the entire night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2015
Great dress for any occasion!
I got lots of compliments on it. It fits true to size, I went with the 6 instead of the 4 because I felt like the 4 gave me a little too much underarm fat sticking out. The material stretches a little bit and it will be form fitting but I recommend going a size up from your normal size. I paired it with a necklace that ran along the hemline. It is very simple and it can be dressed up or dressed down. I didn't think it was too short, as some of the other reviews said, it was longer than most of the dressed I own, and I'm 6'0. Overall great dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2015
Comfortable and Classy
This dress was so easy to wear and I loved that I could wear a real bra with it. The material was comfortable and the length was perfect! It has great lines and details that you have to see in person but I wanted to buy this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 24, 2015
Great dress, very comfortable
Great fit, so cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 19, 2015
Cute & Comfy
This dress was super easy - I wore it for a charity event and was comfortable all night. The material is thick, so it holds in the tummy, the flared skirt makes it fun, and the simple style allows you to add your own flair with accessories. It probably runs true to size, but I didn't even try on the 0 (my normal size) because the 2 fit perfectly. It's a little short so it may not be appropriate for a more formal or professional event, but the back didn't look sheer to me, which I've seen on some of the other reviews. All in all, a solid rental!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
November 16, 2015
I wore the dress to a gala for a non-profit, in which I serve on the board of directors.
The dress was very flattering. It was very fitted, but stretchy and forgiving. But since it was so fitted, everything underneath could be seen, including my ribcage. Instead of going a size up (because it was so flattering), I threw on a corset underneath. I was working the event, so I was glad it was so comfortable. I received lots of complements. I was so busy, I didn't get any pictures. If someone sends one to me, I will post it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2015
I would highly recommend this dress. It is the perfect LBD. Very comfortable and flattering.
Cons: It picks up every little piece of lint/dust/hair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 16, 2015
Perfect simple little black dress!
This is a great and flattering LBD. I wore it for a black tie optional work event and it was exactly what I had wanted. I dressed it up with lots of jewelry, and it really added to the look! Its a very simple dress, but I mean that in the best way. The fabric is so nice and the cut is very flattering. It's short enough to be fun, but not too short that it wasn't appropriate. It does run a little big, I usually wear a 10 but the 8 fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 15, 2015
Good quality LBD for party or casual wedding
Cute, simple black dress made of thick, high-quality fabric! "Flippy" at the bottom. The 0 and 2 both were fine, but I liked having a little bit of room, so I wore the 2. No complaints, but I probably wouldn't choose this one again because it doesn't really bring a wow factor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 15, 2015
Comfortable, doesn't wrinkle, easy to wear
This is a cute dress, doesn't wrinkle (so great for traveling) but other reviews are right that it's a bit unflattering in the stomach/ab area with how the seams are and where it is tight. Was still very stylish but required spanx underneath. Great dress for something simple that you can dress up with accessories/shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 30
November 11, 2015
I felt elegant and like a classic beauty! Absolutely gorgeous! Would buy it in a heartbeat
RENT IT! You won't regret it. It showed off my curves and covered my tummy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
November 10, 2015
Pearls and sass.
This dress was unbelievably comfortable! It's a thicker and heavier almost sweater like material, which was perfect for a November evening in Ohio. The fabric was also pretty stretchy. It had a lot of give and didn't cling to me too tightly in any places. The length was perfect too. I wasn't worried about any accidents in that area. I would absolutely rent this dress again for pretty much any event. It's a fantastic little black dress. I paired this with the Kate Spade Put A Bow On It necklace to make a really classic look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 9, 2015
So convenient and easy.
This dress fit perfect. I just had a baby 2 months ago so I wasn't sure what size I would be and the fact that I could get two sizes was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 49
November 8, 2015
I wore this dress to a 50th birthday evening cocktail party at a country club.
The dress fit like a glove and was so comfortable and flattering. The material was thick and nice. I almost always wear a tight-fitting sheath dress but tried this dress with a full skirt. It worked for me because of the fitted drop waist and I was so happy to wear a different style. It was sexy and fun but also sophisticated and classy. What really made the look great was the falling leaves necklace.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 25
November 4, 2015
Made My Halloween Even Better
This was one of my dress choices for my Halloween costume of Breakfast at Tiffany's. It wasn't my first choice, but the Rent the Runway people really helped me out by sending me two different dresses. I loved the feel and the way that it looked on me. It was a little bigger (like a tad) than my size, but at the same time I have man shoulders. My students loved the way it looked and I got so many compliments because of it. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 1, 2015
I actually ordered this dress as my back-up but wore it instead because I liked it so much!
Very flatting and incredibly comfortable. If you like skin-tight dresses, you could probably even size down, but I liked having a bit of breathing room. The skirt was a great length--short enough to be fun, but no worries at all with dancing and sitting. It is a simple dress but easily spiced up with shoes and jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 26
October 29, 2015
Easy, simple black dress - looks great with colored shoes and a statement necklace. Comfy too!!
Tight around the waist but not uncomfortable. Very form fitting.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
October 26, 2015
Classic LBD with a fun, flirty side
Wore this to a wedding and everyone commented on how great it was. The front exposed seems and long exposed back zipper make this a unique LBD and the skirt was so fun to twirl. Great dress to dance all night in!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2015
So many compliments! Perfect for everyone!
Made everyone happy, extremely sliming in the mid section, the bottom was a little more than I liked but nothing noticeable! Perfect for so many things! Can dress it up or make it simple. Would recommend to ANY body type!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2015
Homecoming
Dress fit nicely - but the model looks like the arm opening is much more fitted - On me, the openings seemed to dip a lot further. Perhaps would have been a tighter fit if I had ordered a size 2 and a 4 instead of a 4 and a 6. Comfortable dress - heavy enough fabric that I didn't worry about a breeze lifting up the dress at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 21, 2015
Great for the occasion (drinks and dessert after the rehearsal dinner)
Great fabric weight, conservative neckline and hemline, love the flare at the end
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
October 19, 2015
Not For Me
Pros: The material was great; heavy and nice quality. Cons: The fit was off on the top of the dress. It seemed to be large and there was a gap which kept showing my bra so I was unable to wear it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34A
October 19, 2015
Perfect LBD!
So comfy and so cute! Used gold accessories and shoes and wore my hair up in a half high pony-tail. Very 70's and very adorable. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 19, 2015
Fits like a dream!
The perfect LBD. Comfy, swirly skirt, and very versatile.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 56
October 15, 2015
I wore this dress to a sweet 16; it was comfortable and fun dress
Was fitted on top and fit perfectly. I'm a size 8 and 5'7--it was a comfortable length (not too short); I received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
October 13, 2015
RTR was great! No fuss!
True to size. This dress did flare out a bit more than I wanted on a wider part of my hips. It was fun to twirl in! If you're a bit curvier like me, just note that it might hit you in a weird spot. Still super cute!
See more reviews:
2 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×