Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
773 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size614
Small42
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 1, 2015
comfortable, great fit, easy to accessorize!
The fit was great, anything goes with this dress -- very easy to wear fun shoes or statement pieces. The only thing was the fabric was a little more casual (and thick) than I assumed from the pictures. I had dressed it up though with shoes and accessories so it worked great for the August wedding I was a greeter in. Thanks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 28, 2015
Love love love this dress!
I had to rent a black dress for a bachelorette party so I randomly chose this dress at the last minute, not expecting anything special. I ended up absolutely loving the dress! It was super comfortable and fit beautifully. The flare at the bottom of the dress was really cute too. Would definitely rent this again!!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 27, 2015
This dress is super flattering!!!!!
I could have worn the 8 but didn't feel like having a tight dress while chasing kids at a wedding. The 10 just gave more room to breathe and chase kids! Amazing beautiful dress. It fits any body type. I did wear a regular bra and wish I had some tape to keep it from slipping out every now and then. Perfect for a wedding!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
November 26, 2015
Perfect!!
It fit like a glove! I have a big bust and small waist so finding the right fit can be difficult! This dress was absolutely perfect!!! I received so many compliments the entire night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2015
Great dress for any occasion!
I got lots of compliments on it. It fits true to size, I went with the 6 instead of the 4 because I felt like the 4 gave me a little too much underarm fat sticking out. The material stretches a little bit and it will be form fitting but I recommend going a size up from your normal size. I paired it with a necklace that ran along the hemline. It is very simple and it can be dressed up or dressed down. I didn't think it was too short, as some of the other reviews said, it was longer than most of the dressed I own, and I'm 6'0. Overall great dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2015
Comfortable and Classy
This dress was so easy to wear and I loved that I could wear a real bra with it. The material was comfortable and the length was perfect! It has great lines and details that you have to see in person but I wanted to buy this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 24, 2015
Great dress, very comfortable
Great fit, so cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 19, 2015
Cute & Comfy
This dress was super easy - I wore it for a charity event and was comfortable all night. The material is thick, so it holds in the tummy, the flared skirt makes it fun, and the simple style allows you to add your own flair with accessories. It probably runs true to size, but I didn't even try on the 0 (my normal size) because the 2 fit perfectly. It's a little short so it may not be appropriate for a more formal or professional event, but the back didn't look sheer to me, which I've seen on some of the other reviews. All in all, a solid rental!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
November 16, 2015
I wore the dress to a gala for a non-profit, in which I serve on the board of directors.
The dress was very flattering. It was very fitted, but stretchy and forgiving. But since it was so fitted, everything underneath could be seen, including my ribcage. Instead of going a size up (because it was so flattering), I threw on a corset underneath. I was working the event, so I was glad it was so comfortable. I received lots of complements. I was so busy, I didn't get any pictures. If someone sends one to me, I will post it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2015
I would highly recommend this dress. It is the perfect LBD. Very comfortable and flattering.
Cons: It picks up every little piece of lint/dust/hair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
November 16, 2015
Perfect simple little black dress!
This is a great and flattering LBD. I wore it for a black tie optional work event and it was exactly what I had wanted. I dressed it up with lots of jewelry, and it really added to the look! Its a very simple dress, but I mean that in the best way. The fabric is so nice and the cut is very flattering. It's short enough to be fun, but not too short that it wasn't appropriate. It does run a little big, I usually wear a 10 but the 8 fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 15, 2015
Good quality LBD for party or casual wedding
Cute, simple black dress made of thick, high-quality fabric! "Flippy" at the bottom. The 0 and 2 both were fine, but I liked having a little bit of room, so I wore the 2. No complaints, but I probably wouldn't choose this one again because it doesn't really bring a wow factor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 15, 2015
Comfortable, doesn't wrinkle, easy to wear
This is a cute dress, doesn't wrinkle (so great for traveling) but other reviews are right that it's a bit unflattering in the stomach/ab area with how the seams are and where it is tight. Was still very stylish but required spanx underneath. Great dress for something simple that you can dress up with accessories/shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 29
November 11, 2015
I felt elegant and like a classic beauty! Absolutely gorgeous! Would buy it in a heartbeat
RENT IT! You won't regret it. It showed off my curves and covered my tummy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
November 10, 2015
Pearls and sass.
This dress was unbelievably comfortable! It's a thicker and heavier almost sweater like material, which was perfect for a November evening in Ohio. The fabric was also pretty stretchy. It had a lot of give and didn't cling to me too tightly in any places. The length was perfect too. I wasn't worried about any accidents in that area. I would absolutely rent this dress again for pretty much any event. It's a fantastic little black dress. I paired this with the Kate Spade Put A Bow On It necklace to make a really classic look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 9, 2015
So convenient and easy.
This dress fit perfect. I just had a baby 2 months ago so I wasn't sure what size I would be and the fact that I could get two sizes was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 48
November 8, 2015
I wore this dress to a 50th birthday evening cocktail party at a country club.
The dress fit like a glove and was so comfortable and flattering. The material was thick and nice. I almost always wear a tight-fitting sheath dress but tried this dress with a full skirt. It worked for me because of the fitted drop waist and I was so happy to wear a different style. It was sexy and fun but also sophisticated and classy. What really made the look great was the falling leaves necklace.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 24
November 4, 2015
Made My Halloween Even Better
This was one of my dress choices for my Halloween costume of Breakfast at Tiffany's. It wasn't my first choice, but the Rent the Runway people really helped me out by sending me two different dresses. I loved the feel and the way that it looked on me. It was a little bigger (like a tad) than my size, but at the same time I have man shoulders. My students loved the way it looked and I got so many compliments because of it. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 1, 2015
I actually ordered this dress as my back-up but wore it instead because I liked it so much!
Very flatting and incredibly comfortable. If you like skin-tight dresses, you could probably even size down, but I liked having a bit of breathing room. The skirt was a great length--short enough to be fun, but no worries at all with dancing and sitting. It is a simple dress but easily spiced up with shoes and jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 25
October 29, 2015
Easy, simple black dress - looks great with colored shoes and a statement necklace. Comfy too!!
Tight around the waist but not uncomfortable. Very form fitting.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
October 26, 2015
Classic LBD with a fun, flirty side
Wore this to a wedding and everyone commented on how great it was. The front exposed seems and long exposed back zipper make this a unique LBD and the skirt was so fun to twirl. Great dress to dance all night in!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2015
So many compliments! Perfect for everyone!
Made everyone happy, extremely sliming in the mid section, the bottom was a little more than I liked but nothing noticeable! Perfect for so many things! Can dress it up or make it simple. Would recommend to ANY body type!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
October 22, 2015
Homecoming
Dress fit nicely - but the model looks like the arm opening is much more fitted - On me, the openings seemed to dip a lot further. Perhaps would have been a tighter fit if I had ordered a size 2 and a 4 instead of a 4 and a 6. Comfortable dress - heavy enough fabric that I didn't worry about a breeze lifting up the dress at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 21, 2015
Great for the occasion (drinks and dessert after the rehearsal dinner)
Great fabric weight, conservative neckline and hemline, love the flare at the end
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
October 19, 2015
Not For Me
Pros: The material was great; heavy and nice quality. Cons: The fit was off on the top of the dress. It seemed to be large and there was a gap which kept showing my bra so I was unable to wear it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 34A
October 19, 2015
Perfect LBD!
So comfy and so cute! Used gold accessories and shoes and wore my hair up in a half high pony-tail. Very 70's and very adorable. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 19, 2015
Fits like a dream!
The perfect LBD. Comfy, swirly skirt, and very versatile.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 55
October 15, 2015
I wore this dress to a sweet 16; it was comfortable and fun dress
Was fitted on top and fit perfectly. I'm a size 8 and 5'7--it was a comfortable length (not too short); I received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
October 13, 2015
RTR was great! No fuss!
True to size. This dress did flare out a bit more than I wanted on a wider part of my hips. It was fun to twirl in! If you're a bit curvier like me, just note that it might hit you in a weird spot. Still super cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 13, 2015
Flattering Fit
This dress was super comfortable and flattering. Great LBD. I ordered the 6 and the 8, both fit but I was worried about how tight the 6 was; the 8 was a little roomier in the waist without being too baggy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2015
Comfortable dress, lots of compliments!
The dress fit great! The top was fitted without being constricting and tight while the flared out bottom was fun to dance in! Got lots of compliments on the dress! It is pretty simple but some fun jewelry and/or shoes can liven it up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 11, 2015
Incredibly comfortable and fun to dance in!
Dress was fitted perfectly through the body and shoulders, with a skater flare skirt (very fun to twirl in but beware because it will fly up...) Incredibly comfortable, easy to move in. No chafing or discomfort. Thicker material was concerning for a summer wedding, but totally not a problem and actually kept me comfortable during the reception inside the AC at the venue. Would definitely order again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2015
Favorite RTR purchase yet. So many compliments!
This dress was so classic LBD while managing to be incredibly comfortable, and most importantly, not too short for my 5'11 frame! It hugs you in all the right places, and hides your belly :) I got so many compliments on this dress, I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
October 7, 2015
This was a dress for a high school homecoming, but I actually ended up wearing something else.
I ended up not wearing this dress. I am 5'6' and 117 pounds and I my friends told me the dress made me look too skinny, even though it fit well. Also, the dress had a bit of a funky smell which was off-putting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
October 3, 2015
Extremely flattering and the material was durable
Wore this for a rehearsal dinner. Wonderful fit!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 1, 2015
Cute LBD
This dress needs some serious accessories to make it look dressy enough for a wedding. There is some piping down the sides that is hard to see in the picture and it looks very casual without jewelry. Overall though very flattering fit and got a lot of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
September 30, 2015
Eazy does it! Comfortable, leggy, flattering. Solid option.
You can dress this one up, or dress it down based on your hair and accessories. I chose to style this outfit very much like the model here - hair up, bold necklace. I think without a bold necklace it would look quite plain, so be conscious of that when ordering. Hair down would dress it down as well. But this one is super easy because you can wear a normal bra with it, you won't find yourself fussing with the dress at all. This is a really solid choice. It's short (I'm 5'10), but I went for it. Boy you should have known by now, Eazy does it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
September 28, 2015
Perfect LBD!
This dress hides the imperfections in the belly, hips, and thighs but doesn't make you look like you're wearing a pillow case. It's a little on the short side, so I wore some shorts underneath for the dance floor - so watch out fellow tall ladies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
September 28, 2015
Nice Black Dress
I rented this dress as a back up and didn't need to wear it. It is really cute and fit well. It was a little tight around the arms but otherwise comfortable and flattering. Had I worn this dress with heels it might have been a little short, but it flows nicely so it might have been ok.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 27, 2015
Comfy, beautiful, form-fitting in the right places
Fit like a glove. No pics from the actual wedding but it was perfect and fun with the suggested necklace. Would wear again any day!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×