Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Flip Switch Dress

$40 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little black dress by Halston Heritage at the work party. A classic but trendy style to look and feel confident in. Add a bit of bling like the Lulu Frost's Drifting Leaves Necklace and Miriam Haskell's Secret Garden Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Sleeveless. Seamed detailing. Crew Neckline. Nylon sheer back. Full skirt. Exposed back copper zipper. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

664 reviews

Fit
Small 38
True to Size 554
Large 37
Photos 277
Stephanie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so comfortable and true to size. I still have some baby weight to lose and it fit perfectly where it needed to and flared where it needed to. LOVED this dress! Received many compliments and was so comfortable! This was my first RTR and I loved it.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 26, 2014

I felt wonderful in this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was so comfortable and flattering. Loved the exposed zipper. I liked that I Could wear any bra with it due to thicker material. Length was perfect as well! Overall awesome dress and I will definitely be renting again soon!
Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Great night with a great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was really comfortable but very structured and form fitting. Great dress
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect. Nice material. Fit was great. I was worried about how much it would flare out but it was the perfect amount. Would definitely rent this dress again.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit snugly in the ribcage area, and the skirt had a nice flare to it. The dress definitely needs to be paired with a nice necklace, but it was perfect for the occasion. It is a great dress for those of us who have an athletic butt and legs, but have a smaller waist.
Melynda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Fun and flirty

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented for Vegas based on phone stylist recommendation. I told her I like to show a little skin but not over the top and tend to be understated. She suggested this immediately and described as "fun and flirty" . Very right on! Love dancing in it. It had some great twirl and was a perfect length to not worry about bending over or anything. Pair with a statement necklace and some interesting shoes.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party. It was perfect for the occasion. The material is very thick and sturdy.
Candice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So I loved this dress with the exception of one thing... The middle was a little more form fitting than I would have liked. The material is a beautiful stretchy thick material, however because of that the middle left no room for covering any stomach issues. I have a little bit of a belly pooch so I was wearing spanx but still would have liked to have a little more camo there but that's just me. I am typically a 4 which I probably could have gotten away with but was a little tight in the armpits and I have a full bust so u wanted a little room. The 6 fit better for my taste- just a little loose on the back where the zipper was but I didn't want it super tight. The dress is kind of like a peplum where the tip is right and the bottom flairs out. I did love the flair and when I was dancing it moved beautifully. All in all it was a beautifully constructed dress with the exception of that one thing but that's not an issue with the dress it's just how my body is. Wore with red wedges and pearl necklace to give it some oomph! I did get so many compliments and the photographer kept taking pictures of me! Great night with a great dress! :)
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Sister's Bat Mitzvah

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Professional dress that was comfortable and looked great
Luci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

The look on my husband's face when I walked out in this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was very happy with this dress. I had a baby 8 months ago. The fit of this dress highlighted the areas I'm comfortable showing off (upper body & waistline) and camouflaged the areas (lower abs & hips) that I prefer not to accentuate at the moment. Additionally, I appreciated that this dress did not wrinkle easily and was very comfortable. I would rent this piece again.
Jorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

Great bachelorette party dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was pretty good.If you have any tummy at all, it will show. Wear spanx. Thick material. Felt pretty good in it :) Wore it with cowboy boots and it was definitely a fun dress to wear for my friends Nashville bachelorette party!
Sabrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Aug 17, 2014

Flattering waistline

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress to accentuate your waist. BUT, fabric felt cheap and smelled questionable. Wasn't the quality I expected.
Teah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my 10 year high school reunion. PERFECT! I wanted something simple without looking too overdressed. I rented the 10 & the 12. The 10 was a TINY bit snug across the chest, so I ended up wearing the 12. It didn't show off my waist as well as the 10, but I liked that it gave me a little extra length as well (I'm 6 feet!) The weight of the fabric kept the full skirt down so I never had to worry about flashing anything. I paired it with the RJ Graziano Turq Isle Necklace & some matching turquoise flats. This is a WONDERFUL dress that would look great on any body type. Tall girls don't be afraid! I'm always very conscious of the length of the dresses I rent on RTR & this one is fantastic!
Mphillips
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Great for and fun skirt

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a work dinner and it was great! The fabric is thick and stretchy and quite comfortable. It does have a drop waist so it's quite fitted down to the hope. Shape wear is required for the best fit and look. It does have a very high neckline which is hard for bigger chested woman but I was still able to make it work :)
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Versatile dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 4 or a 6, and the 4 fit in this dress. It's a tank stye but you can wear a regular bra, and it has a flippy skirt. You can't really tell from the pictures but the seams stick out on the dress, but I thought it was a good style. This has a nice, substantial fabric, and you could easily dress it up or down depending on your accessories. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be renting again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me amazingly. The fabric felt expensive and was in great condition. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Classy & Comfy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this for a birthday weekend trip to Boston. I wore it to walk around the city for sightseeing and then dinner and drinks out at night. First of all, the material is great. It was thick and stretchy, super comfy. I loved the way the dress is cut - super flattering. I even opted to not wear my Spanx under because the cut flared out at just the right spot that I didn't feel uncomfortable. I wore a regular bra and the straps didn't show - a big plus. I added some color with the Kate Spade Chip necklace.
maureen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

My dress was perfect for and outdoor wedding at an Estate! I loved the flared skirt. Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 6 fit perfect. I ordered the 8 as well just in case. The dress was very flattering and I felt great in it. I will be ordering from Rent the Runway again in the near future!
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

Amazing fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a fun and flirty dress. It was a little short and be careful if you spin on the dance floor as it can twirl rather high. I received so many compliments on it. I paired it with the turquoise necklace and peep toe platforms.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a nice, simple dress. The material is a good quality and has some stretch to it. I am a usually a size 6, but ordered the 8 backup as suggested. The 6 could have worked, but I just had surgery the week before and I felt I wanted a bit more room since stitches were still in (sorry, TMI!) I received a lot of compliments. I wore my own necklace and rented a cuff bracelet. I paired it with gold heels.
KTD
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Tons of compliments! And comfortable too!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit wonderfully. Form fitting, it showed off my curves but was still flattering. Yes, you could see I have a bit of a tummy, but it wasn't super apparent. The material is thick and stretches. A little warm for a summer day. The skirt flowed our towards the bottom and added that special flair while dancing. i didn't need to adjust it at all throughout the day. I felt fantastic in it and would definitely wear it again if I could! Dressed it up with a statement necklace and some nude and black flats.
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

So easy and fun to rent! I had a blast looking through all of the dress choices! Very convenient!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I wore it to a friends wedding. I paired the dress with nude heels, a nude belt, and gold jewelry. Fit pretty true to size. I rented the 0 and 2 and ended up wearing the 2 because it was a little more comfortable. So fun to dance in this dress! Felt classy and beautiful!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Fun and flirty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved everything about this dress. Other reviewers commented that the dress was heavy but I didn't find it to be a bad heavy - just a better fabric heavy vs. something flimsy. The thing I loved the most about this dress was the way it fell over all. The skirt was flirty and I felt the dress camouflaged traces of belly well so don't be afraid of this dress if you have some pouchiness going on. Maybe size up for your back up. Skin tight anything accentuates the good and the bad. At the end of the day, I felt very confident in this dress. For the cons, I can't say I can name something I liked the least but I did notice that the hem and seams are inverted/exposed meaning the stitching you would normally see INSIDE the seams were on the outside. And the hem was an exposed stitch as well. It didn't look bad by any means, it was just different. It's a safe rental but certainly not a boring one. Spin around and you'll agree.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Age: 39
Sep 16, 2014

Easy, fun, comfortable dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I ordered a size larger based on previous rentals. There was no need to as the dress was a little too big, but was able to make it work. True to size.
Carlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Simple yet elegant.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a fall outdoor wedding. The material is thick but not hot at all. I wouldn't have worn a bra but, needed the extra padding. The flare was so pretty and was perfect. It was windy that day but, the dress was heavy enough it didn't blow up at all. I felt great in this dress and loved it. Not to mention it was a back up dress that RTR shipped on a Friday and I had it by 8:30 Saturday morning. They saved the day for me!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 21, 2014

Great LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Basic black dress, loved the flowiness of the skirt. Was great for a cool late summer wedding outside. Definitely recommend.
Kellie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

LBD with a little flair

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a Labor Day wedding - it was very comfortable and flattering. It also traveled well in a suitcase (and through the mail) because of the heavier stretchy material. I was worried when I first tried it on that it would be too casual but wore a big statement necklace with it (rented Kate Spade Tropical Jungle necklace) and it was perfect for the occasion. The size ran slightly small. I usually wear a 0 for dresses but had to wear the 2 because the smaller size was tight around the mid-section and arms.
RTR Customer
Sep 29, 2014

This dress was amazing! It fit perfectly and was so much fun to dance in!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly.
Kristin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Amazing dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!! So comfortable and beautiful. I could have worn the 10 but figured the 12 would give me a little extra room to chase after 2 kids! I will definitely rent this dress again! So many compliments!!
Katelyn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved everything about this dress! Others commented on the weight of the dress but I did not find it to be heavy but just a better quality. I loved the flare of the dress and it hid the belly area. I went with the 8 because I felt it wasn't as tight in the chest area. If you are bigger in that area I would size up. I also paired it with a RTR necklace. I highly recommend this for any occasion!
Noelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Fun LBD that you can dress up

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Nice thick material. Stretches so it fits nicely to the body. Cute full skirt, but don't spin too fast!
Ariane
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

I received so many compliments and it was so comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit like a glove and was so flattering!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 7, 2014

Sexy, comfy & fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a hot day and a wedding on a yacht! It has a very flattering flare to it and it brings in the waist at the right place. I got many compliments on it and even one person said it made my legs looks nice and tone! I felt so comfortable in it and it was really fun to dance in as well. Definitely needs a statement necklace to take it to the next level! I highly recommend it.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Didn't care for exposed seams...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size and figure flattering. Material has ample stretch so it was comfortable and forgiving. BUT...I didn't like the exposed seams which prompted both my mother and my niece to ask, "is it inside out?!?" Went with my other dress instead.
Selene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Oct 16, 2014

Dress fit perfectly

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Homecoming dress worked well, nice quality, great fit for larger busted young woman
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

So many compliments and I just felt super fancy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. I could have worn the 2, but it was a little looser up top and I wanted it to be more snug. Having the 0 and the 2 was the perfect pair of sizes to choose from. The dress is just gorgeous and the material is thick so it just feels like you are wearing something that is great quality. I got so many compliments on it!
Izzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Oct 19, 2014

Classy and comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress had a great fit. The material was a bit heavy, which helped with keeping a nice silhouette. Despite being heavy, the skirt still had great movement. The length was just right (very important for a shorty like me). Not the most attention grabbing dress, but certainly the most comfortable and classic dress I have rented. A great LBD that you can dress up or down!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Amazing Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a fundraiser/art auction. It was so comfortable and fit perfectly. I also have large breasts, so it's hard to find dresses that will fit. This dress did that. Hugged all the right curves and covered the less desirable ones. It also was the perfect length for the event (wouldn't wear it to a club, but would be great for a wedding or party, etc) Im sorry to have to return this dress!! I wish I could keep it.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

The dress fit perfectly! I received compliments all day about how great it looked.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress did pick up some lint, but you can't tell in any of the pictures. Very comfortable to wear, went well with the gold necklace I rented as well.
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Highlights all your best assets ;)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner. I absolutely LOVED it! I'm small up top and have wide hips so it was super flattering in that it highlighted my thinnest area. The material is stretchy so it sucks in at the places you need it to and gives a little at the places that you need it to as well. Overall, super fun and flirty dress that I was complimented on all night! Would rent again a million times over!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×