Halston Heritage

Day and Night Dress

$45 rental
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself. Wear this fabulous Halston Heritage navy one shoulder dress for day and night. Pair with a statement necklace to dress up your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so women with very full bust sizes and rib cages should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at empire waist with ruched band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bar and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline with draping. Ruching at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(90)
Small
(62)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 6, 2012
Obsessed
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this dress. I wore this dress for a cocktail business party. It was very work appropriate hit right above the knee and with the one shoulder style it showed just enough skin. I would highly recommend this because of the style and how comfortable it was...i wish i could of kept the dress :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 29, 2012
Perfect Dress for a Wedding
I rented this dress for an evening wedding. The color and fit were great. I ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit perfectly. I would definitely rent again! Paired with simple earrings and some tan shoes, I got tons of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
March 28, 2012
A+ Customer Service!!!
This is a great dress. I really loved this dress!! I rented it for my Aunt's wedding; a cold and snowy January wedding. Had a little mishap with my order and their customer service was phenomenal and they were able to same day courier the dress to my office. The dress fit like a glove! I was not only comfortable in it, I was able to dance freely, eat what I wanted, and even jump for the bouquet. I was complimented all night.
LindsayMarch 28, 2012
Amazing review, thank you! So few dresses for women with actual chests. Your stats are almost mine (I'm 5'4).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 20, 2012
Compliments all night from friends and strangers. And, most importantly, from my husband! :)
I wore this to a ball and got tons of compliments from friends and strangers. I can't say enough about it. I wish I could BUY this dress! The fit, the fabric, the comfort, the style, the class... it's just a wonderful dress overall. Especially for the price. You can't beat it. A chunky necklace and nude shoes pulled it all together.
KiaraApril 20, 2012
Your look gorgeous in this dress. Your seriously the reason why I'm renting this dress for a wedding. You accessorized wonderfully!
VanessaApril 20, 2012
Thank you! :) I hope you had a wonderful experience too.
CBApril 20, 2012
Love the necklace, where is it from?
VanessaApril 20, 2012
The necklace is from Boston Proper. They always have some great statement jewelry.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2012
Fits Like A Glove
I got lots of compliments on this dress and it was a beautiful color, but it was not lined -- in the sun, I felt you could see straight through it -- and it did not have a lot of wiggle room. If you are between sizes, I would suggest ordering up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2012
Receiving many compliments on my dress
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. It fit perfectly and I received many compliments. The zipper snagged a bit when I was zipping the dress up, but I was prepared for this having read other reviews. Wish I owned this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
July 19, 2012
Wish it would have worked
Loved this dress, unfortunately neither size worked for me. The 2 was a bit tight in the bust through shoulder and the 4 was too loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2012
Great dress!
Versatile and beautiful dress! I loved the color and the fit. Would definitely recommend! Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress!
I loved this dress! I am usually a 2-4 and I wore the 4. The 2 was too small. I wore this to a wedding in late April and it was a big hit! I received tons of compliments on this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Rent this NOW!!
Loved, loved, loved this dress!! The fit is extremely flattering and the richness of the color is beautiful. I rented this for a rehearsal dinner and felt fabulous all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 27, 2012
Great dress!
I rented this dress at the last minute and wasn't too sure about it, but I absolutely LOVED it. It was so flattering and I received a ton of compliments! I definitely plan on renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 1, 2012
AWESOME DRESS!!!
Absolutely LOVE this dress and would like to buy it!!! I normally wear a 0-2 and was able to squeeze into this 0 (as the 2 was not available). I do believe the 2 would have fit me better, not as snug - Praise the Lord for Spanx! I received a TON of compliments all night, especially from my Husband! :) The zipper was super snug at my ribcage, just like the rest of the reviews - there is A LOT of fabric in that area so it makes it more difficult. Stunning Dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2012
Stunning dress for hourglass
This dress is absolutely stunning for those with an hourglass body or an athletic figure. I'm a 36D with a small waist and full hips. I find most "couture" dresses best fit those with straight bodies, billowy on my waist while unsavory across my chest. But this dress is a godsend. I looked like a knockout and felt extremely comfortable. The thick material felt like high-end workout gear yet looked classic. I wore Southern Plantation earrings and my engagement ring, strapless bra, spanx and heels. I typically dress conservatively and this dress fit the bill: fitted without showing much skin. I danced all night long, throwing my arms up in the air without worry. The only surprise was that this dress is quiet short - most definitely mid-thigh or shorter. Mine fit shorter than the model despite being only 5'4" because of my hips are bigger than the model's. I would not wear this to a Bar Mitzvah or christening but it's great for any cocktail event, wedding or anniversary. (I wore it to a wedding).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Great Dress, but Short!
I rented this dress as a second option for a wedding. I loved it and wished I could have worn it but it was SO short, like something I would only wear for a night out. I'm only 5'5 so for something to be short on me, I would be worried it'd be super short on others. Maybe if it was in a bigger size it would've been longer. But, I love the navy and the draped upper is gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
How easy this process is!
I know, tacky photo. I ended up not being able to wear this dress as it was my backup. I was so sad that I didn't get to though, I LOVED it!! I was originally hesitant to order this because I am self aware of my hips but it didn't end up hugging them as much as I thought it would.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
October 6, 2012
Classy yet sexy
Beautiful dress, great color. A little sheer. I had to hold my purse in front of my dress in the sunlight. :). Great fit - flattering. Definitely recommend!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
Great dress, little skimpy, but good overall.
I would say it's a great dress overall, but the material is much more clingy/skimpy than I would have thought. I initially considered sending it back even. Definitely needs to be worn with spanx as it's a little bit see-through and shows every little curve. If you want something that is a thicker material (read: more forgiving) this might not be the dress for you. If you're cool with that, definitely go with a chunky silver necklace - I ordered a Badgley Mischka crystal cluster necklace from RTR and it worked out great with a low side ponytail.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
November 21, 2012
Comfortable and stylish
Enjoyed weaering it and received many compliments
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
November 21, 2012
My 34th Birthday dress!
I love blue! This was a grey/blue and I thought it looked great! I felt it hugged my body just right and it wasn't so fancy that I felt out of place. It fit great! It's so nice how clothes can make the occassion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
felt like the best dressed lady in the room. so many compliments!
was a little hard to zip up only because the zipper was stuck. the dress formed well to my body and the material was comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Loved this dress!
Perfect for cocktail party and I wore it for my 3oth birthday it was comfortable and classy.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 30, 2012
This dress was better than expected!
I was worried about the size because many times a size 0 usually ends up running big for me. This dress was the perfect size!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
Loved the color and the style of the dress!
The dress did not give at all--I had problems getting the zipper to close over my bust. I am a 36D and have a large rib cage, so I would have liked to size up. The 8 was not available, so I wore the six and it was fine. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2013
Very flattering dress!
I rented this for New Year's Eve - I normally wear in between a 0/2, but decided to just get the 2 after talking with one of the stylists. (the 4 wasn't available, or else I would have gotten that for the backup). The 2 fit almost perfectly - it was a bit tight under the bust, but my rib cage sticks out a bit, so I have this problem occasionally. It was very flattering in the hip area, and made my figure even more defined. The length was perfect too - about 5-6 inches from my knees. However, if your butt is on the flatter side, the dress might be a bit longer. I paired this with earrings that I also rented from RTR, and got compliments all night! The material feels really nice - a tiny bit of stretch, not too heavy nor too light, and party-appropriate. Would definitely rent this again and recommend to others!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
I felt incedible and looked it too!
The dress held me and supported me where I needed it the most yet let me move and breathe at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
February 24, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this to a dinner party at our Yacht Club. The dress is stunning and I received so many compliments! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the zipper is VERY difficult! Other reviewers have shared this, so I was prepared, but still surprised at how much effort it took! The dress is certainly not too tight, so that wasn't the issue... I think it's due to the fabric. Overall, though, I felt great and actually had two strangers come up to me to tell me how much they loved my dress! Sorry about the picture in my bathroom... I forgot to have anyone take a picture all night, and only realized that I needed one after we got home. So you can see it still wears well, even after a 5 hour dinner and 3 martinis! :)
MaryFebruary 24, 2013
I am your height and am nervous the dress will be too long. Did you use tape to hem it?
KristjanaFebruary 24, 2013
The dress is very short! I didn't do anything to alter it/ I am longer in the legs than in the torso, so it may not be as short on another 5'2" gal... it's a great dress, though.. good luck!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
April 12, 2013
The groomsmen voted me best dressed!
Overall, the dress was great. It had a flattering cut and I got a ton of compliments. Three groomsmen even told me that they had voted and they decided I was the best dressed! (That's a lot coming from these guys, b/c they usually don't notice details) The only reasons this dress didn't get 5 stars are 1) the zipper issue and 2) this dress condition wasn't at its best. As stated by other reviewers, the zipper is very hard to get up. I would not have been able to get it zipped if I didn't have someone helping me--so don't get this dress if you'll be getting ready alone! Also, the dress needed some TLC. There were a couple of little holes in the front and some discoloration. That wasn't a big deal, but the hem was totally out in the back so that it flipped down. I didn't notice that until after I put it on. Luckily, the hotel had a sewing kit and I tacked it up, but it caused me to run late and I literally got to the church minutes before the wedding started. Moral of the story: check your dress thoroughly when you first get it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2013
Fun to wear dress for a wedding, highly recommend!
The fit of this dress is true to size. Pretty shade of navy blue. I expected it to be sort of loose in the shoulders from how it looked in some of the photos but it was actually very well structured and I never felt like it was sliding off. Good for dancing and lots of movement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 4, 2013
Perfect for a wedding..great fit!
The fit was great! Super flattering dress that I would definitely recommend. I was recieving compliments all night. If you are super tall...it might be a little short on you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
August 2, 2013
I received countless compliments on the length and empire waist style of this dress.
The fit of this dress was incredible and fit my body shape perfectly.I would recommend this dress for someone with a small bust and fuller hips as that is my body shape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2013
I rented this dress for a wedding rehersal in Vegas. It fit great and looked amazing!
True to size. Great dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
August 26, 2013
This was a great dress for a fall evening wedding.
Material was great, not clingy but form flattering. Color was a brillant navy, not too dark. Great to dance in. I received lots of compliments on the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 42G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
August 29, 2013
Great! Great! Wonderfully beautiful dress,,,
I got this dress because I have a larger bust and I knew the neckline would work for me. I tried on this dress and it fit like a glove. I would suggest wearing Spanx just to smooth "everything" out, but it is still a free flowing dress. I got compliments all night and felt sexy, confident, and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 9, 2013
Felt sexy but classy...
This dress is definitely sexy and tight but also feels classy at the same time. I got many compliments on it throughout the evening. Looks great with a big statement necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2013
Winner
Another great rental, I can say I'm never disappointed. RTR customer service is excellent. This dress was beautiful, and it looked amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2013
Classy and Elegant!
I wore this dress out for a bachelorette party dinner in Las Vegas. We went to Tao to eat when we got in. This dress fits beautifully. The fabric is high quality and it's very flattering. I highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 13, 2013
Wore to a formal wedding & received TONS of complements. Great dress that can be formal or casual!
Zipper is very difficult, but it runs true to size otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
December 7, 2013
Great dress to wear when you don't want to wear black.
Very elegant looking. I wore long dangly earrings with it. Great for a wedding venue.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 1, 2014
Dress was great! Hugged all the right places and wasn't too sexy for a family wedding.
It's definitely snug fitting. I would get the size up as a back up size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
March 24, 2014
Felt like a celebrity
I would say the dress is true to size, very flattering with all of the material that kind of covers the mid section. The dress is a bit stretchy. And I also wore spanx. I can say I had a hard time zipping up the dress. It fell just above the knees. Material felt nice against my skin. Wore this to a company party. I would rent this dress again if it it wasn't so difficult to zip.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×