Halston Heritage

Day and Night Dress

$45 rental
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself. Wear this fabulous Halston Heritage navy one shoulder dress for day and night. Pair with a statement necklace to dress up your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so women with very full bust sizes and rib cages should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at empire waist with ruched band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bar and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline with draping. Ruching at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
152 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(89)
Small
(61)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Rent this NOW!!
Loved, loved, loved this dress!! The fit is extremely flattering and the richness of the color is beautiful. I rented this for a rehearsal dinner and felt fabulous all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 27, 2012
Great dress!
I rented this dress at the last minute and wasn't too sure about it, but I absolutely LOVED it. It was so flattering and I received a ton of compliments! I definitely plan on renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 1, 2012
AWESOME DRESS!!!
Absolutely LOVE this dress and would like to buy it!!! I normally wear a 0-2 and was able to squeeze into this 0 (as the 2 was not available). I do believe the 2 would have fit me better, not as snug - Praise the Lord for Spanx! I received a TON of compliments all night, especially from my Husband! :) The zipper was super snug at my ribcage, just like the rest of the reviews - there is A LOT of fabric in that area so it makes it more difficult. Stunning Dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
September 22, 2011
As much as I loved this dress, I wasn't able to wear it. I had all the measurements correct from what was said here but it just didn't work out. Its very pretty though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2012
Stunning dress for hourglass
This dress is absolutely stunning for those with an hourglass body or an athletic figure. I'm a 36D with a small waist and full hips. I find most "couture" dresses best fit those with straight bodies, billowy on my waist while unsavory across my chest. But this dress is a godsend. I looked like a knockout and felt extremely comfortable. The thick material felt like high-end workout gear yet looked classic. I wore Southern Plantation earrings and my engagement ring, strapless bra, spanx and heels. I typically dress conservatively and this dress fit the bill: fitted without showing much skin. I danced all night long, throwing my arms up in the air without worry. The only surprise was that this dress is quiet short - most definitely mid-thigh or shorter. Mine fit shorter than the model despite being only 5'4" because of my hips are bigger than the model's. I would not wear this to a Bar Mitzvah or christening but it's great for any cocktail event, wedding or anniversary. (I wore it to a wedding).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Gorgeous dress & color!
The dress definitely ran a little small. Specifically, I thought was shorter/tighter than I expected (I'm 5'6, 125 lbs). I recommend getting your second size bigger! I wore silver shoes with silver jewelry (also rented from RTR) and loved the ensemble!
ShanaNovember 1, 2012
Which necklace from RTR are you wearing?
kirstenNovember 1, 2012
It's the Ciner, Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 17, 2012
I got so many compliments!
I had originally ordered a 0 and a 2. However, after reading some of the reviews, I decided to switch to a 2 and a 4 and I am SO glad I did. The 2 was way too short/tight for a wedding, but the 4 fit perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again, it was definitely appropriate for the occasion. One caveat, the material is thin, so wear spanx.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 19, 2012
Way too short and tight
I rented this for a formal wedding, but ended up returning it. I am a bit curvy and tall, so this dress was a little too inappropriate for the event I was going to. Definitely not as pretty in person.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
super cute dress. but the skirt is super short and tight. better for the club.
Dress was great but didn't end up wearing it. They didn't have my backup size. The size 4 fit perfecty on the top but was a little too short and tight on the bottom. It didn't drape like the picture. I think that perhaps someone who is a straight versus curvy build may have better luck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Great Dress, but Short!
I rented this dress as a second option for a wedding. I loved it and wished I could have worn it but it was SO short, like something I would only wear for a night out. I'm only 5'5 so for something to be short on me, I would be worried it'd be super short on others. Maybe if it was in a bigger size it would've been longer. But, I love the navy and the draped upper is gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
How easy this process is!
I know, tacky photo. I ended up not being able to wear this dress as it was my backup. I was so sad that I didn't get to though, I LOVED it!! I was originally hesitant to order this because I am self aware of my hips but it didn't end up hugging them as much as I thought it would.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 6, 2012
Classy yet sexy
Beautiful dress, great color. A little sheer. I had to hold my purse in front of my dress in the sunlight. :). Great fit - flattering. Definitely recommend!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 14, 2012
I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and it looked great!
The dress was beautiful but the bust was VERY small. I normally wear a 0, but the 2 was hard to zip up. I have a 34C. I would recommend renting up a size or two!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
Great dress, little skimpy, but good overall.
I would say it's a great dress overall, but the material is much more clingy/skimpy than I would have thought. I initially considered sending it back even. Definitely needs to be worn with spanx as it's a little bit see-through and shows every little curve. If you want something that is a thicker material (read: more forgiving) this might not be the dress for you. If you're cool with that, definitely go with a chunky silver necklace - I ordered a Badgley Mischka crystal cluster necklace from RTR and it worked out great with a low side ponytail.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 6, 2012
Such a great dancing dress. It works so well with a statement necklace.
I thought the dress ran a little small so I went up to a size 2. It could also be the case that the dress was more snug then I would wear to a family wedding in size 0. But over all, such a great dress with such a great rich color. I would strongly suggest renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
November 21, 2012
Comfortable and stylish
Enjoyed weaering it and received many compliments
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
November 21, 2012
My 34th Birthday dress!
I love blue! This was a grey/blue and I thought it looked great! I felt it hugged my body just right and it wasn't so fancy that I felt out of place. It fit great! It's so nice how clothes can make the occassion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
felt like the best dressed lady in the room. so many compliments!
was a little hard to zip up only because the zipper was stuck. the dress formed well to my body and the material was comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Loved this dress!
Perfect for cocktail party and I wore it for my 3oth birthday it was comfortable and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2012
Got lots of compliments on the necklace.
The dress was beautiful, but arrived in less than stellar condition. The zipper was worn, and sort of pulled near the hip area (hard to explain). RTR offered to exchange it for a different dress (there were no more in my size), but there were really not very many dresses left that late in the week. Overall, I would say my experience was so-so. Love the concept, wish they would rent out dresses in top-notch condition.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 30, 2012
This dress was better than expected!
I was worried about the size because many times a size 0 usually ends up running big for me. This dress was the perfect size!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
Loved the color and the style of the dress!
The dress did not give at all--I had problems getting the zipper to close over my bust. I am a 36D and have a large rib cage, so I would have liked to size up. The 8 was not available, so I wore the six and it was fine. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2013
Very flattering dress!
I rented this for New Year's Eve - I normally wear in between a 0/2, but decided to just get the 2 after talking with one of the stylists. (the 4 wasn't available, or else I would have gotten that for the backup). The 2 fit almost perfectly - it was a bit tight under the bust, but my rib cage sticks out a bit, so I have this problem occasionally. It was very flattering in the hip area, and made my figure even more defined. The length was perfect too - about 5-6 inches from my knees. However, if your butt is on the flatter side, the dress might be a bit longer. I paired this with earrings that I also rented from RTR, and got compliments all night! The material feels really nice - a tiny bit of stretch, not too heavy nor too light, and party-appropriate. Would definitely rent this again and recommend to others!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
January 8, 2013
Shorter and tighter than expected
I ordered this dress to wear to a military reception/cocktail party. When I tried the dress on, it was definitely shorter and tighter than I expected. While I loved the top of the dress (the draping is beautiful!), it just wasn't appropriate for this occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 162lbs
January 9, 2013
Runs small
This dress is very tight and very short. Order 1-2 sizes bigger. Does not look good on pear-sized women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
I felt incedible and looked it too!
The dress held me and supported me where I needed it the most yet let me move and breathe at the same time.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
I received sooo many compliments on this dress.
It fits somewhat tight so get a size above what you normally wear.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2013
material and fit did not flatter my body at all, I end up purchasing a new dress for the event.
the dress did not look as elegant as the picture, I was disappointed and not sure if I will attempt to rent again even though they credit my account. I have trouble ordering clothes online because I really need to try them on first.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 19, 2012
Great dress
Love the dress - a little small in the length but besides that worked perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
February 24, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this to a dinner party at our Yacht Club. The dress is stunning and I received so many compliments! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the zipper is VERY difficult! Other reviewers have shared this, so I was prepared, but still surprised at how much effort it took! The dress is certainly not too tight, so that wasn't the issue... I think it's due to the fabric. Overall, though, I felt great and actually had two strangers come up to me to tell me how much they loved my dress! Sorry about the picture in my bathroom... I forgot to have anyone take a picture all night, and only realized that I needed one after we got home. So you can see it still wears well, even after a 5 hour dinner and 3 martinis! :)
MaryMarch 22, 2013
I am your height and am nervous the dress will be too long. Did you use tape to hem it?
KristjanaMarch 26, 2013
The dress is very short! I didn't do anything to alter it/ I am longer in the legs than in the torso, so it may not be as short on another 5'2" gal... it's a great dress, though.. good luck!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 8, 2013
Way too tight!
I planned on wearing this post baby to a wedding...it looked way too tight! Maybe I didn't pick the correct size but it looked like a club outfit on me, not a tasteful dress like it does on the model. I ended up wearing something else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2013
Great dress - runs small!
Very comfortable dress. Definitely pair it with a great necklace to make it bold and interesting. I chose RTR's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
April 12, 2013
The groomsmen voted me best dressed!
Overall, the dress was great. It had a flattering cut and I got a ton of compliments. Three groomsmen even told me that they had voted and they decided I was the best dressed! (That's a lot coming from these guys, b/c they usually don't notice details) The only reasons this dress didn't get 5 stars are 1) the zipper issue and 2) this dress condition wasn't at its best. As stated by other reviewers, the zipper is very hard to get up. I would not have been able to get it zipped if I didn't have someone helping me--so don't get this dress if you'll be getting ready alone! Also, the dress needed some TLC. There were a couple of little holes in the front and some discoloration. That wasn't a big deal, but the hem was totally out in the back so that it flipped down. I didn't notice that until after I put it on. Luckily, the hotel had a sewing kit and I tacked it up, but it caused me to run late and I literally got to the church minutes before the wedding started. Moral of the story: check your dress thoroughly when you first get it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2013
Fun to wear dress for a wedding, highly recommend!
The fit of this dress is true to size. Pretty shade of navy blue. I expected it to be sort of loose in the shoulders from how it looked in some of the photos but it was actually very well structured and I never felt like it was sliding off. Good for dancing and lots of movement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 4, 2013
Perfect for a wedding..great fit!
The fit was great! Super flattering dress that I would definitely recommend. I was recieving compliments all night. If you are super tall...it might be a little short on you.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
Lives up to it's name!
Really is perfect for day and night, I wore this to a wedding on a beach, the ceremony took place during the day and the reception went through the night, it was perfect for the occasion and looked great! The only two complaints I had was that the zipper was hard to zip and I was so surprised at how small the size 4 (my usual size) was, it was almost like a club dress! Thankfully the size 6 fit perfectly, I would just make sure to order a size up rather than down if you're not sure. Otherwise, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 12, 2013
Great shipping and love the goody bag that comes with an order.
This dress was TOO TIGHT! I didn't even wear it. Luckily I had ordered a second dress, same size, and that one felt better. This dress reminded me of a dress you wear to a club, which would have been great if i was going to a club and not a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 25, 2013
Loved this dress so much, am going to buy it!
I rented this dress for a friend's summer wedding, and it was absolutely perfect! It's very flattering and very pretty in-person. I especially recommend this dress for petite ladies: at times I have to get 0s altered so that they're not too big, but this fit perfectly as-is. The fabric is a bit clingly, and Spanx just didn't look right with it when I tried the dress on, so it might not be the best option if you're trying to pull attention away from belly fat. I wore the dress with a strapless bra and it worked well. As others have mentioned, the zipper is a bit tricky! The dress looks especially stunning with a statement necklace. For reference, I'm 32B-23-32, and have a longer than average torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
Was not what I expected. Very short and odd fitting. Did not end up wearing.
Too short & tight for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
Really small
I ordered this dress for a wedding in May and ended up not even wearing it. I normally wear a size 2. However, depending on the dress sometimes i can fluctuate between sizes 0 to 4. Since the reviews say that this dress runs small, I decided to get the 4 and the also a 6 just in case the 4 was too small. It was. I tried on the 6 and i was even very uncomfortable in that. Ladies, if you have a bigger rear end and athletic legs, do not rent this dress. It hugs you and is very very short. It was not appropriate for the wedding at all. Granted, I have a very athletic lower body from sports, but I was very surprised how short and snug it was! If you still want to rent it, i suggest renting 2 to 3 sizes up from what you normally wear. Luckily I had another dress from college that I could throw on, but I was sad that this one didn't work out!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×