Halston Heritage

Day and Night Dress

$45 rental
$370 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself. Wear this fabulous Halston Heritage navy one shoulder dress for day and night. Pair with a statement necklace to dress up your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so women with very full bust sizes and rib cages should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at empire waist with ruched band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bar and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline with draping. Ruching at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(90)
Small
(62)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
April 10, 2014
Elegant and simple

The dress was snug and I had trouble zipping up the zipper around my chest. However I was fortunate enough to where I could leave the zipper slightly down and you couldn't notice the difference. After a night of dancing I was able to zip it up. It fits better than true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Great dress

This was a great dress for a wedding. The only downside was the zipper and it becomes very short when sitting. The material was great and it looks great on!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2014
Too, too short; Not for me

This dress runs very small. I'm one of those people who are between sizes depending on the day so I picked my usual size (the larger size was unavailable). When it arrived, it looked perfect on the hanger. However, when I tried the dress on, it was WAY TOO SHORT for a wedding. I'm 5'8" and I felt very inappropriate just standing in front of the mirror. In addition to the shortness, I felt like the dress was not flattering for my full bust. I am a DD and although it covered everything completely, the band below fully accentuated my assets. I'm not sure if that had something to do with my overall not liking the dress. I always do extensive research on dresses before ordering and this was the first time I was disappointed with my rental. The dress may look stunning on others but it wasn't flattering on me or appropriate for the venue.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2014
People were not joking when they said you can't have ribs to wear this dress..

I usually run between a 0 and a 2. I got the 2, based on the reviews, but I couldn't even zip it up! If you have any sort of large ribcage, or ribs that stick out a bit, as mine do, you will have problems getting into this dress. It's too bad, because it looked really pretty.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2014
This was a great dress and beautiful color!

I rented this dress for a wedding. It's very flattering but runs on the smaller side. I would recommend ordering a size up, instead of a size down if you aren't sure. In addition, the zipper is very difficult to get up. I needed someone to help zip the dress. Other than those two complaints, I would definitely recommend this dress. It looks great when paired with a necklace.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2014
Beautiful dress!

Overall a great dress! The 4 ended up being fine (6 was unavailable) but a little short. I only noticed this before we left. Once we arrived at the wedding, I did not feel uncomfortable in the length of the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2014
This dress was so easy, just slip it on and go! Got so many compliments!

Runs a little small. I wore it to a wedding and got so many compliments. It was so comfortable and no fuss! It's also very versatile, you can dress it up or down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 12, 2015
I received more compliments than I can even count! The dress fit like a GLOVE! Literally!

Definitely order the next size up. This dress runs small. And regardless of what kind of shape you are in, you WILL need spanx! I wish I owned this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2015
Neckline was a little snug and the material was very stretchy.

I rented this as a backup dress and might have chosen it if I got one size bigger. The material is super stretchy so at first I thought I wasn't getting into it at all because it seemed so small, but once I realized it has a spandex feel to the material I was able to get it on. Zipper is tough going over the ruched empire waist but dress itself is beautiful and very flattering and form fitting. Maybe next time!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
June 10, 2013
One thing I love about RTR is that there is NO chance of someone else having the same dress as you!

I really liked this dress from when I first saw it on the RTR website. I read all the other reviews and looked at photos of "real people" (i.e. not models) in the dress. It takes me a while to commit to something and I definitely waited too long for this one because when I went to make the official decision to order the dress, it was unavailable for the day before my event. Now, previously RTR orders have come through U.S. Mail so I wasn't worried about it getting to me in time for my event. However...the shipping policy has changed and they now use UPS....which delivers up to 8pm. I was unaware of this change. Unfortunately, it did not arrive by the time I had to leave for the wedding, but my AMAZING husband offered to go home during cocktail hour (we were about 25 minutes away) in the pouring rain to get the dress so I could wear it. What a guy <3 :) LADIES make sure your order will arrive the day before your event due to this change in shipping! I am normally a size 8 in dresses and always order an 8 and a 10. I am larger on the bottom (thighs/bum) and this dress was a little tighter and shorter than I thought it would be so I went with the size 10, but I recently lost 8 lbs so it really looked ok. I was a little self conscious at first but felt better as the night went on. I wore brief underwear that extended up to just under my ribs (tummy tucker underwear from Target) which was very comfortable unlike Spanx which I find to make me feel like a sausage. At first I took off my strapless bra because I was having trouble finishing up the side zip due to the extra material. But then I got cold and managed to get it back on without having to unzip the dress. All my jewelry was sparkly and pretty from Charming Charlie.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2013
Felt gorgeous and classy all night. No one knew the pieces weren't mine! :)

Necklace I originally wanted was not available, so I was suggested this Kate Spade one that worked out perfectly. Great fit, just a little sheer at the bottom; I would suggest spanx. Amazing that they send two sizes. Awesome overall experience, received email help right away, and it was super easy to drop off and return. Will definitely rent from RTR in the near future! New Years?! YES!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 6, 2012
Way too small!

I have always wore a size 0 in dresses due to my petite size, only 5 feet and 110 lbs. I fell in love with this dress and ordered it for a weddding in 0 and 2 just to be safe. I was so disappointed when they arrived because I couldnt fit in either size and the zipper was super difficult to get over the waist line. I would recommend ordering a size up for sure.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 13, 2012
Beautiful, but short...

The dress was beautiful, but a bit too short for my height and not appropriate for the wedding I was attending. The dress also arrived damaged, however when I called RTR they fully refunded my money for the rental. I will order again for my next wedding, the service really is great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 8, 2012
Very Lovely, Runs Small

I rented this as a back-up dress for a wedding I was in, so I didn't get to actually wear it. The dress itself is beautiful. It's a great color and great style and would look really good on a variety of different body types. I'm happy this was my back-up dress though because it did not fit at all! I'm quite petite and normally wear a 0-2. I couldn't even get the 2 to zip up! So definitely size up, and Spanx would be mandatory, but definitely worth the rental.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 144lbs
September 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, wish I could have worn it!

I ordered this dress as my back-up and wish it had fit! I ordered a 4, I typically wear a 4 or 6, and this was very small, and really short! I was surprised, perhaps if I had been able to get a 6, it would be made a better impression.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 27, 2012
very short!

I ordered the size 6, and I would have also gotten the 8, but it was not available. I planned on wearing the dress to a wedding but it was incredibly short! Even if I had gotten the 8, I don't think it would have worked on me. I am 5'10" It is a nice color tho!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 3, 2013
Was supposed to be a back up.

This dress is entirely too small and short. I couldn't get it zipped up and even if I could have, it barely covered my butt. Cute, but not for my body type. At.all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 10, 2013
RUNS SMALL!!!!

I rented this dress and when i got it there was no way it was zipping! i usually wear a 2/4. I rented a 2 and would have probably need a 6 or 8. :(

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2013
Loved it, but too short for work event

Will have to rent this dress again for a social event, it was so cute, however a tad short for the work event I rented it for.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2013
Nice dress, runs small.

I ordered this dress in a 2 and it was a bit too small around the thighs/stomach. Very nice material though, and would have been great for an evening cocktail event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
September 16, 2013
All eyes on me!

Ran small. Definitely thankful for my Spanx because this gave no room for flaws. Beautiful!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2013
I could not fit the 4. When I tried to get the 6, they were out. I had to get a different one.

If you have a wide ribcage go up a size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 3, 2013
classy, form fitting

vibrant shade of blue little small for size 2. definitely a dress that will get you noticed! little on short side too

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 26, 2011
Cute and Classy!

I wore this dress to an evening wedding. I ordered a size 2 to wear and a size 4 as my extra size. The size 4 gapped under the arm and the size 2 was a perfect fit except it was hard to zip at the ruching. Once I realized there was a hook at the top, it zipped up and fit perfectly. Also, with my height the dress came right above the knee. I would highly recommend this dress because it is true to size and looks very classy. I received many compliments and was very happy with this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 24, 2011
Loved stylist Emily's recommendation to pair this with the Etienne necklace!

I wore to this to a recent wedding and loved it. It is such a flattering dress and looks great with almost any jewelry. I rented the dress in a size 0 and it fit perfectly. The material also made it really comfortable and easy to dance in.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 9, 2011

I want to buy this dress. It is simple and beautiful--really elegant. A 4 fit beautifully, but it looked less drape-y on me than the picture...more fitted on top. It definitely cries out for statement shoes and/or necklace. Love it! The fabric is a simple jersey, so this is not extremely dressy. Perfect for my event, but not if you are wanting something formal.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 28, 2011
Confidence! The comments I received from friends & especially my husband made the night...as did this dress ;)

Loved this dress! Wore it to a yacht club wedding, it was perfect, not once did I have to fuss with the dress the entire night. I did have a little trouble with the zipper getting stuck on the rouching. The dress is great though, if this is your first rental....go for it, you won't be disappointed!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
October 3, 2011
My husband loved telling my RTR secret!

This dress is gorgeous and very comfortable. This was actually my back-up dress but it looked so good I decided to wear it! I'm almost 5' 5" and about 135 lbs. I ordered the 8 and it fit like a glove. Lots of compliments all evening.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2011

I wore this dress to a wedding this past weekend and got so many compliments. I was only able to get one size, but it fit perfectly. The fabric is stretchy and forgiving, though i'd suggest wearing with spanx even if you are petite to keep it smooth underneath. Accessorized with gold jewelry. It was a total win-I wish I could afford to buy it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 16, 2011

Wire to a fall, outside wedding. Perfectly appropriate and perfectly perfect. Classy, elegant, very flattering. Fits welll, true to size. Wore with nude heels and statement necklace. Wish I'd worn my hair up in hindsight, to really show off the dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2011

This was the perfect dress for a wedding. I paired it with silver dangle earrings and black peeptoes. I tried it with a necklace but it took away from the one shoulder effect. I had a ton of compliments. Overall, I great steal of a dress. I loved it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011

Beautiful dress... got a size 4 and fit just like the model in the picture. I have a smaller bust (34B) and the dress was nice aroudn that area. Loved teh material, but it was a little see through, so you might want to wear tights (like i did!) Another A+++ for rent the runway!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2011
Felt like royalty in this royal blue dress

I wore this dress to our rehearsal dinner and it was a hit! Everyone loved it and it complimented my skin tone as well. Considering renting it again.

Ashly MichelleNovember 28, 2011
You and I are about the same size, except for height. You look great in this dress! Did you find you had to wear any spanx or control wear, or a strapless bra?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2011
Many Compliments

The dress fit perfect! I was concerned it would be too tight over my hips since I am a true hourglass but it fit very well and I received many compliments throughout the night. I wore it with nude pumps and statement earrings and it seemed to balance out the plainness of the dress nicely. Fabric is also much nicer in person than it appears in the picture. Rent this one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 11, 2011
AWESOME DRESS

Loved loved loved this dress. It fit like a glove, accented my curves, looks great in photos. Couldn't have wished for a better dress!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2011
LOVED IT!

I chose this dress for a Holiday party. I ordered an 8 and 10...I chose to wear the size 8. It was VERY flattering, made my waist look tiny ;) I chose to wear chandelier earrings and sparkly silver strappy shoes, no necklace. It was AMAZING, so many compliments!!!! This was a great experience and I will no doubt rent from RTR again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
Pretty dress

This is a pretty dress that fit true to size. I wore it to a party, but I think it would be great for a nice wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2012
Celebrating our 2 year anniversary in this beautiful dress!

I absolutely loved the dress! It doesn't really fit with all of the draping like it's pictured but it's still gorgeous. Wore it for my 2nd year anniversary and my boyfriend loved it. I have a large chest area and could not wear a bra because it was a little tight there.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2012
It was New Year's!

I ordered a 2 and a 4 and the 4 fit perfectly--it couldn't have been an inch smaller. I loved that I didn't have to wear a bra with this and it was super comfortable, even after a big wedding/New Year's Eve dinner. The dress is definitely navy, not the ashy blue shown here and the waist band isn't quite as rouched as it appears in the picture. I got tons of compliments and would definitely wear this dress again. It doesn't need a necklace but does need earrings or bracelet.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 26, 2012
Receiving many compliments and being comfortable all night :)

I rented this dress as a backup dress and I'm very thankful that I did! The fit was perfect and draped very nicely. Even though I'm only 5'2 the dress came a few inches above my knees (probably due to the fact that I have a larger butt)... so if you have a little bit it may be longer on someone that is short. This is definitely a MUST rent!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×