Day and Night Dress

$45 rental
$370 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Let the dress speak for itself. Wear this fabulous Halston Heritage navy one shoulder dress for day and night. Pair with a statement necklace to dress up your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so women with very full bust sizes and rib cages should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at empire waist with ruched band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bar and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so women with very full bust sizes and rib cages should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at empire waist with ruched band
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bar and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy jersey. One shoulder neckline with draping. Ruching at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size90
Small61
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 29, 2013
Beautiful option and easy to do, as usual!
A little short, but sassy! Perfect for a party or date night. Easily dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
August 29, 2013
Great! Great! Wonderfully beautiful dress,,,
I got this dress because I have a larger bust and I knew the neckline would work for me. I tried on this dress and it fit like a glove. I would suggest wearing Spanx just to smooth "everything" out, but it is still a free flowing dress. I got compliments all night and felt sexy, confident, and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
August 26, 2013
This was a great dress for a fall evening wedding.
Material was great, not clingy but form flattering. Color was a brillant navy, not too dark. Great to dance in. I received lots of compliments on the dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 25, 2013
I rented this dress for a wedding rehersal in Vegas. It fit great and looked amazing!
True to size. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2013
Runs Small
Ordered this in a 4 & 6 after reading the reviews. RTR sent me the 4 as requested but was out of stock of the 6 at shipping time. They sent me a similar dress for backup. Unfortunately, neither of them worked. They overnighted me to the hotel 2 alternative dresses for the mixup :-)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2013
Beautiful but small
I typically wear a size 4 in cocktail dresses. The dress was skin tight on the bottom and was extremely short. I was very uncomfortable and opted not to wear it. The top was beautiful though! I have a feeling the 6 would have even been small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
August 2, 2013
I received countless compliments on the length and empire waist style of this dress.
The fit of this dress was incredible and fit my body shape perfectly.I would recommend this dress for someone with a small bust and fuller hips as that is my body shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 18, 2013
Really small
I ordered this dress for a wedding in May and ended up not even wearing it. I normally wear a size 2. However, depending on the dress sometimes i can fluctuate between sizes 0 to 4. Since the reviews say that this dress runs small, I decided to get the 4 and the also a 6 just in case the 4 was too small. It was. I tried on the 6 and i was even very uncomfortable in that. Ladies, if you have a bigger rear end and athletic legs, do not rent this dress. It hugs you and is very very short. It was not appropriate for the wedding at all. Granted, I have a very athletic lower body from sports, but I was very surprised how short and snug it was! If you still want to rent it, i suggest renting 2 to 3 sizes up from what you normally wear. Luckily I had another dress from college that I could throw on, but I was sad that this one didn't work out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
Was not what I expected. Very short and odd fitting. Did not end up wearing.
Too short & tight for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 26, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE!
I wore this event for my fiance's brother's med school graduation soiree. I loved it and I got many complements. It is very elegant. I have a small upper body and a larger butt/hip area and while the two fit me, the bottom of the dress was a little tight for a family affair. So I went with the four. The style of the top, was able to hide that it was a little loose there. I would recommend to anyone! It is wonderful :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 25, 2013
Loved this dress so much, am going to buy it!
I rented this dress for a friend's summer wedding, and it was absolutely perfect! It's very flattering and very pretty in-person. I especially recommend this dress for petite ladies: at times I have to get 0s altered so that they're not too big, but this fit perfectly as-is. The fabric is a bit clingly, and Spanx just didn't look right with it when I tried the dress on, so it might not be the best option if you're trying to pull attention away from belly fat. I wore the dress with a strapless bra and it worked well. As others have mentioned, the zipper is a bit tricky! The dress looks especially stunning with a statement necklace. For reference, I'm 32B-23-32, and have a longer than average torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2013
Loved it, but too short for work event
Will have to rent this dress again for a social event, it was so cute, however a tad short for the work event I rented it for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 12, 2013
Great shipping and love the goody bag that comes with an order.
This dress was TOO TIGHT! I didn't even wear it. Luckily I had ordered a second dress, same size, and that one felt better. This dress reminded me of a dress you wear to a club, which would have been great if i was going to a club and not a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
June 10, 2013
One thing I love about RTR is that there is NO chance of someone else having the same dress as you!
I really liked this dress from when I first saw it on the RTR website. I read all the other reviews and looked at photos of "real people" (i.e. not models) in the dress. It takes me a while to commit to something and I definitely waited too long for this one because when I went to make the official decision to order the dress, it was unavailable for the day before my event. Now, previously RTR orders have come through U.S. Mail so I wasn't worried about it getting to me in time for my event. However...the shipping policy has changed and they now use UPS....which delivers up to 8pm. I was unaware of this change. Unfortunately, it did not arrive by the time I had to leave for the wedding, but my AMAZING husband offered to go home during cocktail hour (we were about 25 minutes away) in the pouring rain to get the dress so I could wear it. What a guy <3 :) LADIES make sure your order will arrive the day before your event due to this change in shipping! I am normally a size 8 in dresses and always order an 8 and a 10. I am larger on the bottom (thighs/bum) and this dress was a little tighter and shorter than I thought it would be so I went with the size 10, but I recently lost 8 lbs so it really looked ok. I was a little self conscious at first but felt better as the night went on. I wore brief underwear that extended up to just under my ribs (tummy tucker underwear from Target) which was very comfortable unlike Spanx which I find to make me feel like a sausage. At first I took off my strapless bra because I was having trouble finishing up the side zip due to the extra material. But then I got cold and managed to get it back on without having to unzip the dress. All my jewelry was sparkly and pretty from Charming Charlie.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 10, 2013
RUNS SMALL!!!!
I rented this dress and when i got it there was no way it was zipping! i usually wear a 2/4. I rented a 2 and would have probably need a 6 or 8. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wish I could have worn this dress. I had ordered a 6 and a 8 but the 8 wasnt available so I was going to take my chances and just hope the 6 fit. However, the day before my event, RTR emailed me saying the 6 actually wasnt available so they would send me the 4 and would credit my acct. I got the 4 and it was obviously way too small. I tried it on though and it was BEAUTIFUL. very classy! I wish i could have worn this dress but ended up wearing another navy on shoulder dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2013
Lives up to it's name!
Really is perfect for day and night, I wore this to a wedding on a beach, the ceremony took place during the day and the reception went through the night, it was perfect for the occasion and looked great! The only two complaints I had was that the zipper was hard to zip and I was so surprised at how small the size 4 (my usual size) was, it was almost like a club dress! Thankfully the size 6 fit perfectly, I would just make sure to order a size up rather than down if you're not sure. Otherwise, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 4, 2013
Perfect for a wedding..great fit!
The fit was great! Super flattering dress that I would definitely recommend. I was recieving compliments all night. If you are super tall...it might be a little short on you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 3, 2013
Was supposed to be a back up.
This dress is entirely too small and short. I couldn't get it zipped up and even if I could have, it barely covered my butt. Cute, but not for my body type. At.all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2013
Fun to wear dress for a wedding, highly recommend!
The fit of this dress is true to size. Pretty shade of navy blue. I expected it to be sort of loose in the shoulders from how it looked in some of the photos but it was actually very well structured and I never felt like it was sliding off. Good for dancing and lots of movement!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 26, 2013
Classic Blue Halston Dress.
Fun cut. Love adding the necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
April 12, 2013
The groomsmen voted me best dressed!
Overall, the dress was great. It had a flattering cut and I got a ton of compliments. Three groomsmen even told me that they had voted and they decided I was the best dressed! (That's a lot coming from these guys, b/c they usually don't notice details) The only reasons this dress didn't get 5 stars are 1) the zipper issue and 2) this dress condition wasn't at its best. As stated by other reviewers, the zipper is very hard to get up. I would not have been able to get it zipped if I didn't have someone helping me--so don't get this dress if you'll be getting ready alone! Also, the dress needed some TLC. There were a couple of little holes in the front and some discoloration. That wasn't a big deal, but the hem was totally out in the back so that it flipped down. I didn't notice that until after I put it on. Luckily, the hotel had a sewing kit and I tacked it up, but it caused me to run late and I literally got to the church minutes before the wedding started. Moral of the story: check your dress thoroughly when you first get it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2013
Great dress - runs small!
Very comfortable dress. Definitely pair it with a great necklace to make it bold and interesting. I chose RTR's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 8, 2013
Way too tight!
I planned on wearing this post baby to a wedding...it looked way too tight! Maybe I didn't pick the correct size but it looked like a club outfit on me, not a tasteful dress like it does on the model. I ended up wearing something else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
February 24, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this to a dinner party at our Yacht Club. The dress is stunning and I received so many compliments! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the zipper is VERY difficult! Other reviewers have shared this, so I was prepared, but still surprised at how much effort it took! The dress is certainly not too tight, so that wasn't the issue... I think it's due to the fabric. Overall, though, I felt great and actually had two strangers come up to me to tell me how much they loved my dress! Sorry about the picture in my bathroom... I forgot to have anyone take a picture all night, and only realized that I needed one after we got home. So you can see it still wears well, even after a 5 hour dinner and 3 martinis! :)
MaryMarch 22, 2013
I am your height and am nervous the dress will be too long. Did you use tape to hem it?
KristjanaMarch 26, 2013
The dress is very short! I didn't do anything to alter it/ I am longer in the legs than in the torso, so it may not be as short on another 5'2" gal... it's a great dress, though.. good luck!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2013
material and fit did not flatter my body at all, I end up purchasing a new dress for the event.
the dress did not look as elegant as the picture, I was disappointed and not sure if I will attempt to rent again even though they credit my account. I have trouble ordering clothes online because I really need to try them on first.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
I received sooo many compliments on this dress.
It fits somewhat tight so get a size above what you normally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
I felt incedible and looked it too!
The dress held me and supported me where I needed it the most yet let me move and breathe at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 9, 2013
Runs small
This dress is very tight and very short. Order 1-2 sizes bigger. Does not look good on pear-sized women.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 8, 2013
Shorter and tighter than expected
I ordered this dress to wear to a military reception/cocktail party. When I tried the dress on, it was definitely shorter and tighter than I expected. While I loved the top of the dress (the draping is beautiful!), it just wasn't appropriate for this occasion.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2013
Amazing! Fit like it was made for me
Fit perfect! Looked even better
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2013
Very flattering dress!
I rented this for New Year's Eve - I normally wear in between a 0/2, but decided to just get the 2 after talking with one of the stylists. (the 4 wasn't available, or else I would have gotten that for the backup). The 2 fit almost perfectly - it was a bit tight under the bust, but my rib cage sticks out a bit, so I have this problem occasionally. It was very flattering in the hip area, and made my figure even more defined. The length was perfect too - about 5-6 inches from my knees. However, if your butt is on the flatter side, the dress might be a bit longer. I paired this with earrings that I also rented from RTR, and got compliments all night! The material feels really nice - a tiny bit of stretch, not too heavy nor too light, and party-appropriate. Would definitely rent this again and recommend to others!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
Loved the color and the style of the dress!
The dress did not give at all--I had problems getting the zipper to close over my bust. I am a 36D and have a large rib cage, so I would have liked to size up. The 8 was not available, so I wore the six and it was fine. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 30, 2012
This dress was better than expected!
I was worried about the size because many times a size 0 usually ends up running big for me. This dress was the perfect size!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2012
Got lots of compliments on the necklace.
The dress was beautiful, but arrived in less than stellar condition. The zipper was worn, and sort of pulled near the hip area (hard to explain). RTR offered to exchange it for a different dress (there were no more in my size), but there were really not very many dresses left that late in the week. Overall, I would say my experience was so-so. Love the concept, wish they would rent out dresses in top-notch condition.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Loved this dress!
Perfect for cocktail party and I wore it for my 3oth birthday it was comfortable and classy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
felt like the best dressed lady in the room. so many compliments!
was a little hard to zip up only because the zipper was stuck. the dress formed well to my body and the material was comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Bust size: 32D
November 21, 2012
My 34th Birthday dress!
I love blue! This was a grey/blue and I thought it looked great! I felt it hugged my body just right and it wasn't so fancy that I felt out of place. It fit great! It's so nice how clothes can make the occassion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
November 21, 2012
Comfortable and stylish
Enjoyed weaering it and received many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 6, 2012
Such a great dancing dress. It works so well with a statement necklace.
I thought the dress ran a little small so I went up to a size 2. It could also be the case that the dress was more snug then I would wear to a family wedding in size 0. But over all, such a great dress with such a great rich color. I would strongly suggest renting this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×