Halston Heritage

Cut It Out Dress

$70 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Stop them in their tracks by wearing this hot Halston Heritage cut out dress. You'll for sure be the talk of the party. Great dress to wear year round.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra and is very fitted in shoulders and sleeves
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist with back cutouts
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black ponte. Crew neckline. Square back with cut-out. Three quarter sleeves. Measures 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
217 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(140)
Small
(70)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
This dress made me feel like a Hot Diva
Loved how it stretched, beware of the skin that will show on either side of the dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 20, 2012
Loved it! Perfect!
I ordered a 0 and a 2 based on the other reviews I read and the 2 fit perfectly. The material is thick and holds everything in place nicely. I wore this for my work Holiday Party and received a tons of compliments. I was able to wear a bra and spanx without anything "peeking" out. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
Order a size up!
I'm usually a size 4 or 6 in dresses, but after reading some of the reviews I opted to go with sizes 6 and 8. Ladies, DO NOT BE ASHAMED TO GO UP A SIZE IN THIS DRESS! It looks better if you aren't squeezed into it, plus, the opening in the back can cut you off and make you look like you have back fat even if you don't. I wore the 8 and felt so comfortable and skinny all night...even though I was wearing two sizes larger than I usually do. Contrary to other reviews, there is a little bit of stretch in the dress. I would definitely wear this dress again.
RobynNovember 6, 2013
Great advice! Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 26, 2012
The cut-out details were showstopping.
I was disappointed at how small this dress runs. I think if I'd had a size up, I would have been completely in love with it. Instead, I was self-conscious the whole night. Other than the size issues, the dress is gorgeous and has good construction.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 28, 2012
Fantastic fit!
I wore this cut-out dress to a formal cocktail gala in winter and it was the perfect combination of edge and class. It fit like a glove and I received many compliments on the unique shape and design. Such a fun look and experience! I wish I owned the dress :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
November 30, 2012
Everyone who came up to say hello to me commented on how much they loved me in this dress.
Fit was awesome, great material. Length was to my knees because I'm 5'3" but I loved it because the cutouts were very sexy. Whenever I stood up I had to really pull it down because the fabric is kind of think and it would get bunched up around my waist if I sat down.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2012
Classy with a bit of adventure!
I wore this dress for my one year wedding anniversary, and my husband LOVED the dress! I was a little worried that the cut out back would be too big for me ( I have a really slender back) but the dress was perfect! I ordered the 0 & 2 and could have worn either, but I went with the 2 so the dress would be slightly longer. Also the material was thick enough that I didn't need a bra and everything stayed in place.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 19, 2012
I wore this dress for a banquet/my retirement party, and it was classy but sexy!
I had originally ordered the 6 because the other reviews said the shoulders were tight, but I found the the 4 fit perfectly! If you're tall like me, the skirt hits just below mid-thigh. This is a great dress for a colder night, the fabric is a little bit thicker and still stretchy so that it conforms to your body. I loved the open back. The only con would be that it was a little tight under the armpits, but overall great fit, great look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
Very conservative in the front and edgy in the back!
I did not end up wearing the dress because it was too small. I recommend ordering a size up
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 20, 2012
A real stunner coming and going!
The quality of this dress is unsurpassed and I received so many compliments on the amazing cut out back. However, when the other reviews say this dress is tight and there is no give in the fabric, they aren't kidding!!!! I usually wear a 0 or 2 but I squeezed into a 4 with the help of Spanx and hard core cardio for 2 days prior to the event. It was worth it though because it was a night to remember.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 23, 2012
Super fun LDB!
Ordered the dress in sizes 2 & 4. Size 2 ended up fitting better. Was a little hesitant to wear with the cutouts/open back but glad my friend encouraged me to wear it! Confidence definitely required to rock this number!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2012
I ended up using my other dress. This one was just for back up! The arms were to tight.
This dress would have been great if I could lift my arms up!.. It was too hard to dance with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 31, 2012
I had so much fun in this dress! It was classy AND sassy at the same time.
I ordered the 0 and the 2. This dress is extremely form fitting and I felt much better in the 2. I probably could have worn a bra because of the placement of the strap on the back, but the material was thick enough that I didn't need to. I received many compliments all night long from both men and women.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 12, 2013
I rented this dress for a music industry christmas party. But, I never got to wear it.
I rented this dress for a music industry christmas party. Unfortunately, I never got to wear this dress. I rented the size 2 but, the 0 came instead. I'm 5'2'' 114 lbs 32C/ 34B. I was able to get the size 0 on but, it didn't look right. It was just too small - with the cutouts, this isn't the type of dress you want to squeeze into! I was sad that the wrong size was sent, it would've been very hot. RTR representative gave me full credit (with shipping) and a promo to rent another dress at 50% off. Better luck next time :-/
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 13, 2013
Showstopping!
My very first RTR dress, I will surely be a returning customer! I should have indeed taken the advice here and rented two sizes up. I rented a 0 and a 2 and liked the 2, but a 2 and 4 would have been better fits. Loved the modest length, so elegant yet bold. The abundant compliments made it worth every penny. Excellent customer service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
Great Wedding Rental!
It was a perfect dress for a winter wedding! The dress was a nice, thick material and very flattering. It fit snug, but I was still able to dance and move around easily. I wore spanx and sicky bra with it, but could have gone without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
AMAZING! Classic but edgy.
I usually wear a 2 or 4. This dress has a thick, stretchy material and I ended up wearing the 4. Would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
Such a fun dress
I loved this dress. It was super tight in the sleeves, but fit well! It was the perfect length for me as well, not too short which can be an issue. The material was really thick but was stretchier than expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 11, 2013
Amazing dress!!
This dress is amazing. I wore this to my medical school formal, and I could not have been happier with the experience. I ordered both a 2 and a 4; both fit well, but the 4 allowed a little more arm movement, so I went with the larger size. The material is thick, so I didn't need to wear a bra. I would definitely rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2013
I loved this dress! It was stretchy but form fitting. Definitely recommend sticky boobs!
no cons really. I enjoyed the experience! :D
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
Gorgeous. Flattering. Sexy
This dress was amazing. Wish I could buy it. The cut, material, and fit is so flattering and sexy! Perfect for weddings, anniversaries, dates, parties. or anything really.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this for a night out with some friends and was SUPER happy with this choice!
Love this dress! Super flattering and got a ton of compliments. The fabric is thick/tight enough that I decided not to wear a bra. Could not have been more comfortable -- wish I could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 8, 2013
Perfect alternative LBD. Supportive and Stretchy!
Even though I pit "true to size" I feel like this dress (with the thick yet stretchy material) calls for going up a size. Sometimes I wear a size 4 and sometimes I wear a size 6. This dress in a 6 fit perfectly without being too tight or too baggy. I was able to move and I did not have to wear a bra.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
Simple, Classy, and Sexy!
Great dress!! Fit true to size, ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 6 only because the dress does not have much room to stretch. The sexy subtle cut out made it totally appropriate for my fiances law school cocktail party!! Got compliments all night!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Love this dress!
Got a lot of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
Loved it so much I rented it twice
What a great dress! I originally rented this dress for a date with my husband--I loved that it had a hit of sex appeal with the cutouts, but wasn't trying too hard. The hemline and sleeve length made it perfect for chillier weather. The dress was so great I rented it again a few months later for a bachelorette party! The dress runs true to size, but you may want to order a size larger for your backup just in case.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 8, 2013
I rented a size 8 and it couldn't get the dress over my thighs. I am not fat. This runs too small!
I would not ever rent this dress again. I rented a size 8 and a 10 as a backup size and neither one fit at all. It was very disappointing. The material of this dress isn't stretchy or comfortable at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2013
I felt fantastic in the dress, and people I hadn't seen in a while were very impressed
The dress fits great - the material is thick enough that it doesn't feel clingy or revealing, but is still extremely figure flattering and I felt very confident in it. Honestly, I can't think of any negatives, I wish I owned the dress! Felt very sexy, grown up, and classic at the same time. I dressed it up for a black tie event by having my hair done, etc. but it could totally be appropriate for something more casual, too. I read some of other reviews that said the arms were tight, but I have athletic arms and was still comfortable. The best part was not having to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
April 26, 2013
Flattering for a date!
Stretchy material that was a little bit thicker, hid all the things that needed hiding. Not as much of a "wow" factor as I maybe would have liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
Very sexy
The back is to die for! It's also a very body con dress and is on the tight side.... so plan accordingly!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2013
chic and sexy perfect dress
The dress fits you like a glove . It's looks so pretty coming and going . You don't need to wear a bra with this as the material is thick enough or wear a strapless bra . I cant think of any cons about this dress . I enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
Great Dress for my First Atlantic City experience
This dress is very class and sexy at the same time the open back is such a sexy part of the dress but it was not extremely short and it was very conservative in the front I felt awesome in this dress and would def rent it again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 29, 2013
Classy, with a bit of intrigue
Since RTR had a Memorial Day promo, I got this dress for a Friday night date: dinner and "Sleep No More" in NYC. I loved that the dress is quite classy, with a bit of intrigue. The cutouts are just right -- I could wear a regular black bra with it (would have been even better with tape). I am on the curvier side of XS/0 and went up a size, but then couldn't go braless. This dress will not look good if it looks too tight! It was really fun to wear with a mask, but it does ride up a bit running up and down stairs. A dress to make a night just a little more fun.
LeahNovember 6, 2013
Sleep No More is so much fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2013
YES!
Comfy. Cute. and fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
June 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a bachelorette! Felt super sexy without showing too much skin!!
What I really loved about this dress is how easy it is to wear! There was no adjusting or tugging all night - it just fits! I think everyone needs to rent this dress at least once!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 19, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress
I wore this dress for my sisters 40th birthday party. It was perfect for the occasion. This dress fit perfectly and I felt amazing in it. The fabric was unexpectedly thick so I didn't need to wear a bra which made the dress even more comfortable. I received so many compliments about how I looked in the dress and how cute it was. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2013
Sadly didn't fit -- too small :(
Tried to rent this dress for my college reunion, but sadly it was too small. I am typically a size 4/6 and both sizes were too small :( Wish it had worked b/c it is such a cute style. Def. order up a size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Great party dress!
I usually wear a 2. But after reading the reviews, I ordered a 4 (this was my second $25 dress, so I only got one size). The material is very thick. I'm glad I had the 4. I probably could have worn a smaller size, but because the material is stretchy, the 4 fit great. It's better to have the bigger size. If you squeeze into this dress, you run the risk of having some skin bulging out of the cut-outs!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
So wonderful, flattering, and beautiful!!!!
This is the perfect dress, you will love it. You can wear a normal bra but I had to pin the strap in the back. I didn't end up wearing it because my event got cancelled, but I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2013
The dresses showed up on a hanger, in a garment bag and came with free samples. I loved the samples.
The size 2 fit perfect everywhere except for the arms.If the dress had been sleeveless there wouldn't have been any issue, but I have muscular arms and the size 2s sleeves were tight. The 4 was noticeably looser all over but did not look bad. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the way the sleeves fit.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×