Halston Heritage

Classic Jet Halter Gown

$80 to buy
$455 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This iconic gown from Halston Heritage epitomizes disco glamour. Gold accessories are a must!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black shiny jersey. Halter neckline with back tie. Gathering at waist. Includes self belt. Front slit. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 25, 2010

I wore it to a black tie event and it fit perfectly. I ordered the regular because the long was not available- the length still worked with 2 3/4 inch heels. It's a hot dress for a great rental price.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2010

I ordered this dress in a size 2R and a back up size 4R for a black tie event that I am going to tomorrow night. The night before the dress was supposed to arrive I received a call from RTR saying that the size 2 I had ordered had been damaged. They sent me a beautiful size 2R Robert Rodriguez gown that I will be wearing instead. I wish I could have worn this dress but the size 4 which was sent was to large, the self belt was not included, and the front slit was 1/2 as long as the one in the picture.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2010

I ordered this dress as a backup for a black tie event. Although I didn't end up wearing it, I still tried it on and it fit well but I just didn't love it like the previous reviewers. I don't feel it "looks" like a designer dress. I modeled it for my mom and she said "this one just doesn't look like anything special". Also sent pictures to some friends and they agreed. I'd recommend checking out some of the other dresses that will look much more glamorous (I went with the Badgley Mischka Belle of the Ball gown - fabulous.) Also, the slit only came slightly above my knee which was disappointing.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
December 6, 2010

I'm tall, so I ordered a long but I still had to wear my back up flats because it hit right at my ankle. I wore this dress to a white tie event and left for a gala. I looked wonderful and tasteful (i'm a 36DD) and there is enough fabric to cover me up. Over all a great gown!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2010

So disappointed. This was my first rental from RTR. Fabric was awful, and definitely not even worth $75 rental fee, let alone $455 price tag! Belt didn't look anything like the pic, no matter how I tied it!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2011

I rented this dress for my bridesmaids and they both thought it was beautiful, only problem is that the dress is very thin, material is so-so (gives it a feel of a jcpenney dress).

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2011

The dress is beautiful but I think the long is extremly long. I had almost 5'11" and I had a big heel and the long size was very much too long. Going to try again with the regular length b/c it's just stunning.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
August 1, 2011

This dress was absolutely beautiful. I wore the regular and it was perfect with heels. Very flattering cut. The material just flowed, which was great on a hot summer night. I never felt sticky or constricted.

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011

I personally found that there was far too much material in this design around the bust area. I am a 34C but cannot imagine it looking any better on a bigger chest. I also felt it looked cheap like something from Joyce Leslie. I would not recommend this dress.

Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011

This dress runs really big.. I had to get an x-small and even that seems big to me.. I am 5'4" 127 lbs.. usually i wear like a Small or sometimes even Medium.. Its however beautiful.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011

The front of the halter is VERY roomy, almost baggy (I'm a C cup) which made me uncomfortable, so I had to use lingerie tape to secure it. The back is too low for a strapless bra, you need a NuBra or similar. Also, the belt is a tie-it-yourself, it does not come neatly tied like I thought. The material is very slippery so if you have a tummy (I do from a recent c section), the belt tends to slip toward your ribs and accentuate the belly. The slit in the front is in the middle, not off to the side like I expected. I'm glad I had a coupon or I would have been very disappointed.

Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
February 6, 2012
Beautiful comfortable dress

I rented this dress for my husband's formal work gala. I ordered the ML which fit great for length. I am 5'8 and the dress hit right above the floor with 2 inch heels. My only challenge with the dress was the top. I struggled with filling out the dress and I am a 36C. There seemed to be a lot of fabric which it turn needed lots of taping to make sure things stayed where they needed to be. The dress itself is very comfortable...the belt does slip alttle due to the slick fabric of the dress. A backless bra would not work with this dress as the back is to low; you will need another alternative. Overall though..I would rent this dress again.

Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 11, 2012
Plain and Simple

I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, definitely a safe bet dress but was a little too plain jane for me. The fabric also looked a little cheap and was not the black tie elegance I was going for. I'm usually a size 4 and this dress was good in length and size, so fits very true to size but made my 34C bust look huge!

Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
July 26, 2012
compliments such as, " you make pregnancy hot." and my husband beaming with pride telling me how beautiful i looked.

going to weddings pregnant isn't always fun. especially if you have to pony up for a formal maternity dress that you may only wear once. thats when i thought i'd check out rent the runway, and i'm glad i did. not only was i one of the most glam guests but i was 27 weeks pregnant! i felt beautiful and comfortable. the top was a lil big, but i customized it with some double sided tape and twisting of the alter ties. i love the bump friendly section! i love RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
Loved this dress.

Easy to wear, simple but still trendy. Extremely comfortable.

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Great overall experience!

Not only was everything delivered on time and I loved the options, but the customer service was flawless! I am a little type A and asked a few questions about fit, length, style, etc, and the online chat helpers were amazing! RTR is amazing and this dress was gorgeous-- make sure you ask questions and take length into consideration as it was a little long depending on what heels you wear!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was amazing, got tons of compliments. The go to dress for black tie.

Fit was very flattering, dress is forgiving because its jersey knit. You can't wear a bra with it. Small was big and medium was way too big. It runs big, I am 5'8 and didn't need the long.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 19, 2012
LOVED this dress, LOVE RTR customer service even more!

Dress is wonderful! I'm tall - 6'0" and was worried it would be too short and awkward but the 4L not only fit perfectly, but I was so comfortable all night. Simple, understated dress that made me feel lovely!

RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
what height heels did you wear? and with those heels, did the dress touch the ground?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 6, 2012
I had just had ACL surgery, so I needed to wear a floor length dress. This Halston was perfect!

A little big in the top but overall great for the night.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2012
This dress was so comfortable to dance in all night, but still made a great statement!

Loved wearing this dress to formal, but it was a lot shorter than I expected. I am 5'4 with pretty short legs, and I had to wear flats. Even with flats, the dress still barely grazed the floor. The two panels of fabric were great because you could wrap them any way you liked which was fun. I also made the dress look a little different than the model by twisting the straps before making them into a halter.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 18, 2012
formal wedding

i liked this dress a lot, but i'm a bit large chested and think it would look better on a smaller chested woman, less flashy. very comfortable though and easy to wear. looks great with hair up and large drop earrings.

Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 13, 2012
Great dress that can be worn for multiple events!

Ran true to size in my opinion, but if you're on the fence go with a smaller size!

Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2012
Making everyone's head turn when I walked in the room!

This dress was AWESOME!! I wore it to an Army ball with my husband and it was a HIT! It was classy, elegant, and comfortable! The dress feels like a jersey knit but it's shiny. The sash accentuates your waist and the slit in the front adds a unique touch. I got comments all night that the dress was like an old Hollywood/Marilyn Monroe-esque dress. Only con was the length! I'm 5'9 and it was just perfectly on the ground. I wore 2" heels and it was off the ground a touch. I would have preferred it dragged but it really wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't get this dress if you were taller than 5'10.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
January 25, 2013
Good basic long black dress.

This dress was pretty good for my needs--I needed something long and formal, but comfortable enough to wear for a 7-hour event. The fit was pretty good, though it definitely runs short. I'm only 5'4" and could have used a few more inches on the bottom. I'll agree with other renters that the material feels and looks pretty cheap up close, but it's fine from a distance. The belt is also a little weird, as it bunches in the front.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 3, 2013
Very comfortable!

I rented this dress for my husband's Military Ball. It was not very forgiving if you have any extra skin (in my case from losing a lot of weight!) and so I wore Spanx underneath. The sash for the SR was too short so I ended up using the sash to the MR dress. The length was a little too short for 2-3" heels but I didn't mind and liked that I didn't have to worry if the bottom was getting dirty. I also wore a NUBra since the dress was backless and it worked great and gave my 36D chest nice looking cleavage!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 24, 2012
Stunning.

I loved wearing this dress! It is perfect classic elegance.

Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 24, 2013
The back of this dress is to die for! I felt very sexy while also being super comfortable!

Im 5.2 so I thought the xs regular would be long enough but with heels it was a little too short so I was happy that I also ordered the xs long it was a perfect fit! I usually wear a zero in dresses.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
This dress is amazing!

I found out that I needed a gown 2 days before my event and it on time and fit like a glove, and was super comfortable to wear. I used fashion tape to hold down the neckline in a place that I found more flattering but other than that everything was perfect! I highly highly highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 2, 2013
This dress was perfect. I felt very sexy and the fit was exactly what I wanted.

I ordered the SL and the XSR. The XS would have been a great fit, but it was shorter than I wanted. It runs a little big, but the belt helped with getting the prefect fit on the SL. This was my first RTR dress, and I will definitely be back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2013
So comfortable!

Beautiful and comfortable, but....II ordered a regular because I am 5'4, but it was a bit too short. I would order a long if you are 5'3 and up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2013
I rented this as a second style -- wasn't my first choice!

There was a lot of material at the top, and wasn't very flattering. The back is really low, but the waist is more like an empire waist. Overall, I didn't think the dress had a super flattering shape.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 23, 2013
Cheap fabric, weird fit - Did not wear

I rented both the SL and ML assuming that one of the two would fit. The ML was a lot like a Moo Moo. The SL was still too large. The halter seemed to have way too much fabric and gave me an uneven look. To add to the unflattering fit, the fabric was identical to cheap yoga pant material. Overall, this dress reminded me of a nightgown. I did not wear either size to my event. For $75 there are way better dress choices.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 7, 2013
This dress is very flattering!

I loved this dress! It is very comfortable and flattering! The only thing that I would tell girls who are looking to rent this is that the dress runs short. I am only 5' 1" and the regular length size of the dress was way too short with only 3 inch heels. The long version worked with my heels, but was by no means long. This is a great dress for a girl who is low to the ground like I am!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2013
I loved this dress mainly because I've gained a little weight. It hid much but I felt sexy!

I noticed some girls wore this dress differently--a little low. The halter needs to be snug around your neck which brings it up to your mid-back. If you wear it low, the girls aren't covered properly and even though your entire back is exposed you miss the most wonderful part. The sash needs to be wrapped around the smallest part of your waist. It beautifully accentuates your waist and properly lays around your hips. It was so forgiving if you have a little weight you're trying to hide. LOVED it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2013
Nice dress but runs large

This runs really big. I wore the medium because the small seemed even more stretched out. But there was a bit too much extra material in the bust area. It worked out okay though. The length was good - definitely go with the long if you are tall. The front has a slit in the middle - which I didn't notice in the picture. But it was really flattering. As other mentioned, the material is really thin. But I don't think it looked cheap. RTR was great as always and my dress even came a day early.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 22, 2013
received many compliments!

true to size except runs a little short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
March 19, 2013
hot

comfortable yet chic

Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
December 31, 2013
I love the packaging.

I loved this dress. It was the right length. I didn't realize it had a split in the front but it made me love the dress more. It was light and flowy. Overall, I felt amazing in it and it fitted perfectly.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2014
I have never felt more attractive!

I am really glad I read other reviews and ordered the long because it hit the floor perfectly with my, maybe, 2" heels. The fabric had just the right amount of shine to it and did not hug in all the wrong areas like some dresses in that material would. I literally felt like a million dollars. It was exactly what I was looking for, sexy with a lot of class. I did end up using the double sided tape because I did not wear a bra, lucky for me it worked in this instance with the slight pleating. All in all a fabulous dress, would rent it again in a second.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 4, 2014
Great simple dress! Very comfortable!

The dress was a great dress however it did run a little large. I am tall and was planning wearing heels so I ordered the 8L and 6L. The dress was way too long, even with 4 inch heels. The fit was a little large too so I was going to wear the 6 but the elastic band was broken so I had to wear the 8 but it did not look bad. Customer service was great and gave me discounts off my next rental to apologize for the state of the size 6 dress.

See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×