Classic Jet Halter Gown

$80 to buy
$455 retail
Stylist Notes

This iconic gown from Halston Heritage epitomizes disco glamour. Gold accessories are a must!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black shiny jersey. Halter neckline with back tie. Gathering at waist. Includes self belt. Front slit. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 26, 2014
Cute!!!
Cute dress but it felt very casual to me. I wish the fabric was a little better.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
February 28, 2014
I was 8 months pregnant and felt glorious!
Great dress for the growing belly or no belly at all. I would have rented this dress even if I was not pregnant. My bust line at that time was a DD. I twisted the straps twice loosely to give the neckline some much needed definition. If I wanted a more retro look, I would have used my vintage broaches at the bust line. If you are unsure about how your growing belly is going to show, rent this dress. The style is comfortable and elegant. Supposedly, I didn't look pregnant from the back, which apparently is a good thing. Perhaps this dress is the pregnancy mullet... pregnancy in the front, pre-baby skinny in the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2014
Only 5'4" and the Regular was TOO short!
FIrst off, I have a thing for Halston Heritage gowns. They are all classic and elegant with a tasteful amount of sexiness. I loved the concept of this dress and would consider renting again but would most definitely rent the tall length as the regular length was far too short for me to wear. I ended up going with the Halston Heritage Forever Mine gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 2, 2014
different
i didn't like the dress to but it was definitely versatile enough for me to change it in a way to fit me best ! I enjoyed the night with the flow of the bottom of the dress over all I worked it the best I could
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 5, 2014
this dress was beautiful! i got so many compliments and It was a great first experience with rtr.
the dress fit true to size. i wasn't sure which size i would need between the medium and the small. i ended up wearing the small. one thing to be weary of is that this dress is not undergarment friendly. you can get sticky bras that work well at any convenient store.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 7, 2014
Stunning dress!!!
First experience and I am hooked. The dress was stunning! I ordered a XSL and so glad I did. I am 5'6 and wore 3 inch heels. It was the perfect length on me. Highly recommend this dress. Very comfortable and sexy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 98lbs
June 30, 2014
Great dress!
Stretchy material so it fits perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 26, 2014
"That dress looks amazing on you. You should wear it everyday!"
Fit was a bit loose (I'm 5'7" about 137 lbs) but it was fine with a stick on bra and some garment tape. I dressed it up with some jewelry and received great compliments. So glad RTR sent this dress when my original choice was damaged.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 16, 2014
USMC Birthday Ball
Ran a little big. beautiful, comfortable dress but this was my backup dress and I wore my other choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 5, 2014
Sad not to have worn it!
I ordered this dress for a formal wedding. Unfortunately I was not able to wear this dress because I didn't feel comfortable wearing it. Long story short, I have small hips and decent top; however it was difficult to showcase both. The top and the hips failed to hug my curves appropriately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2014
It's Halston. Enough said.
Unbelievably comfortable, glamorous and easy to wear. Works well with a sticky backless bra. Runs a little short so if you're above 5'6" and wearing heels definitely opt for the long sizes. Such a fun and classic dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2014
I wore it to a formal event and it was great and so comfortable
I'm tall so I went with the long and it was perfect with high heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2013
Length was perfect - glad I was able to try 2 different sizes, the XS ended up being a better fit
Length was perfect for my 5'4 body and 3 1/2 inch heels. Both the S and the XS fit, but I liked having less material on top that the XS provided. I thought my shoulders looked wider in the S. What a great dress, very flattering and great to accessorize. It's a shinier jersey material but didn't look cheap at all. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
SL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2014
Fast door to door delivery! Great fit of the dress
Nothing is better than simple black dress! I wore size SL for my 5'8 height it was excellent full length with heels. I would say it runs a lil larger but you can easily fit it with long belt and style it however you want. Just loved that dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2014
This dress didn't fit and I had to scramble to find something else to wear.
Dress did not fit well. Top was oversized and the material was clingy in all the wrong spots. The earrings I rented were pretty but the bottom piece fell off all night long.... overall, not a great experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2015
I was unfortunately unable to wear this dress.
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress for a formal wedding in CA. The overall fit was very large and I was unable to tie the belt tight enough to keep the dress in place. RTR was great about giving me a credit for the dress.
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 8, 2015
This dress is perfect and so easy!
This dress actually runs a little large but is easy to adjust with the sash. Also, it's actually long enough! I'm 5'7" and wore 4" heels and it was still plenty long. Definitely invest in some dress tape though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2012
I loved this dress! The fit & material were super comfy, & it was perfect with colorful accessories!
I was really glad that I got 2 sizes, an extra small and a small. Surprisingly, the extra small fit better. I wore it low cut in the front and tied a knot in the back with the sash. Luckily, I wore this two nights in a row, once with red and gold accessories, and another with a almost Tiffany blue and gold. Perfect for lots of things!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
April 16, 2013
Perfect for my Black Tie event!
I rented this dress for a black tie event and it was perfect! I do agree with the other reviewers it runs short!! I'm 5'5'' and with 2 inch heels it was a few inches off the floor. If I were wearing flats it would have been 1/2 an inch from the ground. I have a small bust, so I had to do some twists with the straps and it fit great. I got compliments all night. The material (jersey) was super comfortable, but shiny enough to look formal. I would def rent this dress again!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
April 22, 2013
Walking down the beautiful staircase at the Jefferson Hotel wearing a gorgeous dress.
One of the links to hold the sash/belt broke right as I was putting it on. Other than that the dress was beautiful and fit great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
I felt classy and comfortable all night!
I wore this dress for my senior prom, and overall was very happy with it! It does run short though, I am almost 5'6 and it was just long enough in flats. Fashion tape is a must, especially if you are planning on dancing in it, i taped it on both of the sides. Overall, it had a very sophisticated feel to it, and I got a lot of compliments! i should also add that this was not the dress I originally ordered, but due to a sizing issue, I had to quickly order a new dress just a few days before my event. I talked to one of the stylists on the phone, and they were extremely helpful in choosing a dress that was both flattering and available! I liked it so much that instead of ordering a different dress for my second prom, I just rented this one again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
August 3, 2014
Simple sexiness
This dress is true to size. I am 5'4 and 115lbs- the XS fit perfectly but I ordered the XSL and it was too long even with 4inch heels. I wore the SR. The length was perfect and I did not notice much difference in the overall fit between the XS and S. I loved the feel and flow of this dress. I wish I owned it. I received many compliments from both women and men alike.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2014
Very fun and easy to work with. Love how everything was all ready for the return.
I am normally a small and wore the xtra small. Glad I got a size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2014
Very flattering dress! Perfect for the fall black tie wedding we attending.
The dress ran very short- which was great for me at 5'3''! However, it could pose a problem for others, I am sure!
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
April 2, 2014
fabric was a bit cheap & belt a challenge.it was a nice neckline and I did get compliments on it
Belt always moved around - not great - fabric kind of cheaper looking in person than expected - still gives off the right appearance of formal glam
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 13, 2013
So Beautiful
Stunning dress, ran a little big so I didn't end up wearing it. But I really loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 24, 2010
Loved this dress. I ordered the "long size" and it was still a bit long with 4inch heels. Very flattering cut and extremely comfortable. Will definitely order again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2010
great flowy dress. clings to every curve, so don't forget you spanx!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 132lbs
November 9, 2010
Loved this dress! It looks even better in person than in the photos. I ordered both a size 8 and 10 in regular length. The 8 was too short to wear with heels, but was a better fit. Because of the length I wore the size 10. It is a very flattering cut and very comfortable too. I also ordered the gold Halston Heritage belt (shown in the photos) and it made the dress! I can't imagine wearing the dress without the belt.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2010
This dress worked beautifully for me. Since I'm a tad on the short side of regular, I had to wear 5 inch platforms to avoid treading on the hem, but the effect was amazing. I paired it with deco-tiered earrings and a deco bracelet by Badgley Mischka, rented from RTR as well. Received many compliments. The neckline is gorgeous -- works well with a u-shaped bra taped very low in the back. Would definitely wear again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2011
This is the first dress i have rented from RTR, and i am very impressed with the customer service. Recently i had lost a few pounds and normally fit into a size 6. So when ordering i ordered a 6 and 8, when i received both the dresses they were both too big. I called RTR and they sent me a 4 to my work the very same day. I wore the dress to a black tie event and it looked fabulous! the pictures dont give the dress justice, its even better in person. it truly is a beautiful designer dress, the way it draped my body was amazing! thanks rtr
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
September 15, 2011
Perfect gown for a wedding. I wore grey/black jewelry and it was a hit! Worth every $ of the rental fee.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
September 25, 2011
A solid formal dress. Flattering and comfortable. The fit was true to size. I definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding recently and received so many compliments. I am normally a size 8. I ordered a small and medium. The small fit perfectly, but was not long enough. The medium fit well. This dress is very flaw-forgiving and extremely comfortable! I would definitely order it again!
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 10, 2012
classic
This dress is amazing! however, LENGTH WISE size up! I am 5"9 and I wore 4 inch heels the SMALL LONG was TOO SHORT! If you're up against the wall about what size to order and your're tall like me, order the medium long. This dress is so simple and elegant and very comfortable!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2012
A bit disappointed
Thought this dress was a classic, can't fail basic formal gown. The material, however, feels like that of a cheap Halloween costume and even at 5'2 I found the dress to be a bit short when worn with heels. It also has a seam all the way up the middle that was sort of awkward, and the bust area has a LOT of fabric (granted, I'm a 32B). Overall I wouldn't recommend is dress...there are so many better options on this site!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2013
Incredibly comfortable and flattering, perfect dress!
This dress fit me perfectly. It was sexy without showing too much (thanks to the included fashion tape!) and was super figure flattering. I have smaller hips and larger chest (size 2/4 hips and 30G bust) and the dress fit perfectly because I could "tailor" it to be tighter/looser as needed. I would absolutely rent it again. The entire RTR experience was absolute perfection.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×