Halston Heritage

Classic Jet Halter Gown

$80 rental
$455 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This iconic gown from Halston Heritage epitomizes disco glamour. Gold accessories are a must!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black shiny jersey. Halter neckline with back tie. Gathering at waist. Includes self belt. Front slit. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

76 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 52
Large 17
Photos 32
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 24, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress. I ordered the "long size" and it was still a bit long with 4inch heels. Very flattering cut and extremely comfortable. Will definitely order again.
LA fun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 25, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore it to a black tie event and it fit perfectly. I ordered the regular because the long was not available- the length still worked with 2 3/4 inch heels. It's a hot dress for a great rental price.
Pippa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered this dress in a size 2R and a back up size 4R for a black tie event that I am going to tomorrow night. The night before the dress was supposed to arrive I received a call from RTR saying that the size 2 I had ordered had been damaged. They sent me a beautiful size 2R Robert Rodriguez gown that I will be wearing instead. I wish I could have worn this dress but the size 4 which was sent was to large, the self belt was not included, and the front slit was 1/2 as long as the one in the picture.
SuzieQ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 24, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
great flowy dress. clings to every curve, so don't forget you spanx!
Liza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 6, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered this dress as a backup for a black tie event. Although I didn't end up wearing it, I still tried it on and it fit well but I just didn't love it like the previous reviewers. I don't feel it "looks" like a designer dress. I modeled it for my mom and she said "this one just doesn't look like anything special". Also sent pictures to some friends and they agreed. I'd recommend checking out some of the other dresses that will look much more glamorous (I went with the Badgley Mischka Belle of the Ball gown - fabulous.) Also, the slit only came slightly above my knee which was disappointing.
ef
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 9, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! It looks even better in person than in the photos. I ordered both a size 8 and 10 in regular length. The 8 was too short to wear with heels, but was a better fit. Because of the length I wore the size 10. It is a very flattering cut and very comfortable too. I also ordered the gold Halston Heritage belt (shown in the photos) and it made the dress! I can't imagine wearing the dress without the belt.
FrenFem
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 28, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress worked beautifully for me. Since I'm a tad on the short side of regular, I had to wear 5 inch platforms to avoid treading on the hem, but the effect was amazing. I paired it with deco-tiered earrings and a deco bracelet by Badgley Mischka, rented from RTR as well. Received many compliments. The neckline is gorgeous -- works well with a u-shaped bra taped very low in the back. Would definitely wear again.
jojo
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 6, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm tall, so I ordered a long but I still had to wear my back up flats because it hit right at my ankle. I wore this dress to a white tie event and left for a gala. I looked wonderful and tasteful (i'm a 36DD) and there is enough fabric to cover me up. Over all a great gown!
MelmelT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 23, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
So disappointed. This was my first rental from RTR. Fabric was awful, and definitely not even worth $75 rental fee, let alone $455 price tag! Belt didn't look anything like the pic, no matter how I tied it!
Shannon
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is the first dress i have rented from RTR, and i am very impressed with the customer service. Recently i had lost a few pounds and normally fit into a size 6. So when ordering i ordered a 6 and 8, when i received both the dresses they were both too big. I called RTR and they sent me a 4 to my work the very same day. I wore the dress to a black tie event and it looked fabulous! the pictures dont give the dress justice, its even better in person. it truly is a beautiful designer dress, the way it draped my body was amazing! thanks rtr
Chloe
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for my bridesmaids and they both thought it was beautiful, only problem is that the dress is very thin, material is so-so (gives it a feel of a jcpenney dress).
MB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress is beautiful but I think the long is extremly long. I had almost 5'11" and I had a big heel and the long size was very much too long. Going to try again with the regular length b/c it's just stunning.
Cricket
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was absolutely beautiful. I wore the regular and it was perfect with heels. Very flattering cut. The material just flowed, which was great on a hot summer night. I never felt sticky or constricted.
Jill
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Sep 15, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Perfect gown for a wedding. I wore grey/black jewelry and it was a hit! Worth every $ of the rental fee.
ChristinaK
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Sep 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
A solid formal dress. Flattering and comfortable. The fit was true to size. I definitely recommend it!
long island
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I personally found that there was far too much material in this design around the bust area. I am a 34C but cannot imagine it looking any better on a bigger chest. I also felt it looked cheap like something from Joyce Leslie. I would not recommend this dress.
Maria
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress runs really big.. I had to get an x-small and even that seems big to me.. I am 5'4" 127 lbs.. usually i wear like a Small or sometimes even Medium.. Its however beautiful.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding recently and received so many compliments. I am normally a size 8. I ordered a small and medium. The small fit perfectly, but was not long enough. The medium fit well. This dress is very flaw-forgiving and extremely comfortable! I would definitely order it again!
CR
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The front of the halter is VERY roomy, almost baggy (I'm a C cup) which made me uncomfortable, so I had to use lingerie tape to secure it. The back is too low for a strapless bra, you need a NuBra or similar. Also, the belt is a tie-it-yourself, it does not come neatly tied like I thought. The material is very slippery so if you have a tummy (I do from a recent c section), the belt tends to slip toward your ribs and accentuate the belly. The slit in the front is in the middle, not off to the side like I expected. I'm glad I had a coupon or I would have been very disappointed.
Kathleen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Feb 6, 2012

Beautiful comfortable dress

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my husband's formal work gala. I ordered the ML which fit great for length. I am 5'8 and the dress hit right above the floor with 2 inch heels. My only challenge with the dress was the top. I struggled with filling out the dress and I am a 36C. There seemed to be a lot of fabric which it turn needed lots of taping to make sure things stayed where they needed to be. The dress itself is very comfortable...the belt does slip alttle due to the slick fabric of the dress. A backless bra would not work with this dress as the back is to low; you will need another alternative. Overall though..I would rent this dress again.
vanessa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 10, 2012

classic

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing! however, LENGTH WISE size up! I am 5"9 and I wore 4 inch heels the SMALL LONG was TOO SHORT! If you're up against the wall about what size to order and your're tall like me, order the medium long. This dress is so simple and elegant and very comfortable!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 11, 2012

Plain and Simple

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, definitely a safe bet dress but was a little too plain jane for me. The fabric also looked a little cheap and was not the black tie elegance I was going for. I'm usually a size 4 and this dress was good in length and size, so fits very true to size but made my 34C bust look huge!
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Loved this dress.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Easy to wear, simple but still trendy. Extremely comfortable.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 19, 2012

Great overall experience!

Size worn: SR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not only was everything delivered on time and I loved the options, but the customer service was flawless! I am a little type A and asked a few questions about fit, length, style, etc, and the online chat helpers were amazing! RTR is amazing and this dress was gorgeous-- make sure you ask questions and take length into consideration as it was a little long depending on what heels you wear!
Shasta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Sep 24, 2012

Stunning.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved wearing this dress! It is perfect classic elegance.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

formal wedding

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i liked this dress a lot, but i'm a bit large chested and think it would look better on a smaller chested woman, less flashy. very comfortable though and easy to wear. looks great with hair up and large drop earrings.
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Great dress that can be worn for multiple events!

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ran true to size in my opinion, but if you're on the fence go with a smaller size!
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

A bit disappointed

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Thought this dress was a classic, can't fail basic formal gown. The material, however, feels like that of a cheap Halloween costume and even at 5'2 I found the dress to be a bit short when worn with heels. It also has a seam all the way up the middle that was sort of awkward, and the bust area has a LOT of fabric (granted, I'm a 32B). Overall I wouldn't recommend is dress...there are so many better options on this site!
2ofHearts
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

hot

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
comfortable yet chic
Kimberly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

This dress was perfect. I felt very sexy and the fit was exactly what I wanted.

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the SL and the XSR. The XS would have been a great fit, but it was shorter than I wanted. It runs a little big, but the belt helped with getting the prefect fit on the SL. This was my first RTR dress, and I will definitely be back.
mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

So comfortable!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful and comfortable, but....II ordered a regular because I am 5'4, but it was a bit too short. I would order a long if you are 5'3 and up.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

I rented this as a second style -- wasn't my first choice!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
There was a lot of material at the top, and wasn't very flattering. The back is really low, but the waist is more like an empire waist. Overall, I didn't think the dress had a super flattering shape.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Cheap fabric, weird fit - Did not wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented both the SL and ML assuming that one of the two would fit. The ML was a lot like a Moo Moo. The SL was still too large. The halter seemed to have way too much fabric and gave me an uneven look. To add to the unflattering fit, the fabric was identical to cheap yoga pant material. Overall, this dress reminded me of a nightgown. I did not wear either size to my event. For $75 there are way better dress choices.
Kylie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Length was perfect - glad I was able to try 2 different sizes, the XS ended up being a better fit

Size worn: XSR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Length was perfect for my 5'4 body and 3 1/2 inch heels. Both the S and the XS fit, but I liked having less material on top that the XS provided. I thought my shoulders looked wider in the S. What a great dress, very flattering and great to accessorize. It's a shinier jersey material but didn't look cheap at all. Highly recommend!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 30, 2013

Incredibly comfortable and flattering, perfect dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me perfectly. It was sexy without showing too much (thanks to the included fashion tape!) and was super figure flattering. I have smaller hips and larger chest (size 2/4 hips and 30G bust) and the dress fit perfectly because I could "tailor" it to be tighter/looser as needed. I would absolutely rent it again. The entire RTR experience was absolute perfection.
CNP
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

This dress is very flattering!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It is very comfortable and flattering! The only thing that I would tell girls who are looking to rent this is that the dress runs short. I am only 5' 1" and the regular length size of the dress was way too short with only 3 inch heels. The long version worked with my heels, but was by no means long. This is a great dress for a girl who is low to the ground like I am!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×