Halston Heritage

Classic Jet Halter Gown

$80 to buy
$455 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This iconic gown from Halston Heritage epitomizes disco glamour. Gold accessories are a must!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- stretch fabric accommodates all bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - thin jersey highlights hips and backside - should be worn with seamless underwear
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'3-5'6''. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black shiny jersey. Halter neckline with back tie. Gathering at waist. Includes self belt. Front slit. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 18, 2012
formal wedding

i liked this dress a lot, but i'm a bit large chested and think it would look better on a smaller chested woman, less flashy. very comfortable though and easy to wear. looks great with hair up and large drop earrings.

Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
November 13, 2012
Great dress that can be worn for multiple events!

Ran true to size in my opinion, but if you're on the fence go with a smaller size!

Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2012
Making everyone's head turn when I walked in the room!

This dress was AWESOME!! I wore it to an Army ball with my husband and it was a HIT! It was classy, elegant, and comfortable! The dress feels like a jersey knit but it's shiny. The sash accentuates your waist and the slit in the front adds a unique touch. I got comments all night that the dress was like an old Hollywood/Marilyn Monroe-esque dress. Only con was the length! I'm 5'9 and it was just perfectly on the ground. I wore 2" heels and it was off the ground a touch. I would have preferred it dragged but it really wasn't bad at all. I wouldn't get this dress if you were taller than 5'10.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
January 25, 2013
Good basic long black dress.

This dress was pretty good for my needs--I needed something long and formal, but comfortable enough to wear for a 7-hour event. The fit was pretty good, though it definitely runs short. I'm only 5'4" and could have used a few more inches on the bottom. I'll agree with other renters that the material feels and looks pretty cheap up close, but it's fine from a distance. The belt is also a little weird, as it bunches in the front.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 3, 2013
Very comfortable!

I rented this dress for my husband's Military Ball. It was not very forgiving if you have any extra skin (in my case from losing a lot of weight!) and so I wore Spanx underneath. The sash for the SR was too short so I ended up using the sash to the MR dress. The length was a little too short for 2-3" heels but I didn't mind and liked that I didn't have to worry if the bottom was getting dirty. I also wore a NUBra since the dress was backless and it worked great and gave my 36D chest nice looking cleavage!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 24, 2012
Stunning.

I loved wearing this dress! It is perfect classic elegance.

Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 24, 2013
The back of this dress is to die for! I felt very sexy while also being super comfortable!

Im 5.2 so I thought the xs regular would be long enough but with heels it was a little too short so I was happy that I also ordered the xs long it was a perfect fit! I usually wear a zero in dresses.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
This dress is amazing!

I found out that I needed a gown 2 days before my event and it on time and fit like a glove, and was super comfortable to wear. I used fashion tape to hold down the neckline in a place that I found more flattering but other than that everything was perfect! I highly highly highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2013
So comfortable!

Beautiful and comfortable, but....II ordered a regular because I am 5'4, but it was a bit too short. I would order a long if you are 5'3 and up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 7, 2013
This dress is very flattering!

I loved this dress! It is very comfortable and flattering! The only thing that I would tell girls who are looking to rent this is that the dress runs short. I am only 5' 1" and the regular length size of the dress was way too short with only 3 inch heels. The long version worked with my heels, but was by no means long. This is a great dress for a girl who is low to the ground like I am!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2013
I loved this dress mainly because I've gained a little weight. It hid much but I felt sexy!

I noticed some girls wore this dress differently--a little low. The halter needs to be snug around your neck which brings it up to your mid-back. If you wear it low, the girls aren't covered properly and even though your entire back is exposed you miss the most wonderful part. The sash needs to be wrapped around the smallest part of your waist. It beautifully accentuates your waist and properly lays around your hips. It was so forgiving if you have a little weight you're trying to hide. LOVED it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 22, 2013
received many compliments!

true to size except runs a little short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
March 19, 2013
hot

comfortable yet chic

Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
December 31, 2013
I love the packaging.

I loved this dress. It was the right length. I didn't realize it had a split in the front but it made me love the dress more. It was light and flowy. Overall, I felt amazing in it and it fitted perfectly.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2014
I have never felt more attractive!

I am really glad I read other reviews and ordered the long because it hit the floor perfectly with my, maybe, 2" heels. The fabric had just the right amount of shine to it and did not hug in all the wrong areas like some dresses in that material would. I literally felt like a million dollars. It was exactly what I was looking for, sexy with a lot of class. I did end up using the double sided tape because I did not wear a bra, lucky for me it worked in this instance with the slight pleating. All in all a fabulous dress, would rent it again in a second.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 26, 2014
Cute!!!

Cute dress but it felt very casual to me. I wish the fabric was a little better.

Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
February 28, 2014
I was 8 months pregnant and felt glorious!

Great dress for the growing belly or no belly at all. I would have rented this dress even if I was not pregnant. My bust line at that time was a DD. I twisted the straps twice loosely to give the neckline some much needed definition. If I wanted a more retro look, I would have used my vintage broaches at the bust line. If you are unsure about how your growing belly is going to show, rent this dress. The style is comfortable and elegant. Supposedly, I didn't look pregnant from the back, which apparently is a good thing. Perhaps this dress is the pregnancy mullet... pregnancy in the front, pre-baby skinny in the back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 2, 2014
different

i didn't like the dress to but it was definitely versatile enough for me to change it in a way to fit me best ! I enjoyed the night with the flow of the bottom of the dress over all I worked it the best I could

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 5, 2014
this dress was beautiful! i got so many compliments and It was a great first experience with rtr.

the dress fit true to size. i wasn't sure which size i would need between the medium and the small. i ended up wearing the small. one thing to be weary of is that this dress is not undergarment friendly. you can get sticky bras that work well at any convenient store.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2014
Stunning dress!!!

First experience and I am hooked. The dress was stunning! I ordered a XSL and so glad I did. I am 5'6 and wore 3 inch heels. It was the perfect length on me. Highly recommend this dress. Very comfortable and sexy!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 98lbs
June 30, 2014
Great dress!

Stretchy material so it fits perfect

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2014
I wore it to a formal event and it was great and so comfortable

I'm tall so I went with the long and it was perfect with high heels

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2014
This dress didn't fit and I had to scramble to find something else to wear.

Dress did not fit well. Top was oversized and the material was clingy in all the wrong spots. The earrings I rented were pretty but the bottom piece fell off all night long.... overall, not a great experience.

Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
April 16, 2013
Perfect for my Black Tie event!

I rented this dress for a black tie event and it was perfect! I do agree with the other reviewers it runs short!! I'm 5'5'' and with 2 inch heels it was a few inches off the floor. If I were wearing flats it would have been 1/2 an inch from the ground. I have a small bust, so I had to do some twists with the straps and it fit great. I got compliments all night. The material (jersey) was super comfortable, but shiny enough to look formal. I would def rent this dress again!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2014
I felt classy and comfortable all night!

I wore this dress for my senior prom, and overall was very happy with it! It does run short though, I am almost 5'6 and it was just long enough in flats. Fashion tape is a must, especially if you are planning on dancing in it, i taped it on both of the sides. Overall, it had a very sophisticated feel to it, and I got a lot of compliments! i should also add that this was not the dress I originally ordered, but due to a sizing issue, I had to quickly order a new dress just a few days before my event. I talked to one of the stylists on the phone, and they were extremely helpful in choosing a dress that was both flattering and available! I liked it so much that instead of ordering a different dress for my second prom, I just rented this one again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
August 3, 2014
Simple sexiness

This dress is true to size. I am 5'4 and 115lbs- the XS fit perfectly but I ordered the XSL and it was too long even with 4inch heels. I wore the SR. The length was perfect and I did not notice much difference in the overall fit between the XS and S. I loved the feel and flow of this dress. I wish I owned it. I received many compliments from both women and men alike.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 44
April 2, 2014
fabric was a bit cheap & belt a challenge.it was a nice neckline and I did get compliments on it

Belt always moved around - not great - fabric kind of cheaper looking in person than expected - still gives off the right appearance of formal glam

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 24, 2010

Loved this dress. I ordered the "long size" and it was still a bit long with 4inch heels. Very flattering cut and extremely comfortable. Will definitely order again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2010

great flowy dress. clings to every curve, so don't forget you spanx!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 132lbs
November 9, 2010

Loved this dress! It looks even better in person than in the photos. I ordered both a size 8 and 10 in regular length. The 8 was too short to wear with heels, but was a better fit. Because of the length I wore the size 10. It is a very flattering cut and very comfortable too. I also ordered the gold Halston Heritage belt (shown in the photos) and it made the dress! I can't imagine wearing the dress without the belt.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2010

This dress worked beautifully for me. Since I'm a tad on the short side of regular, I had to wear 5 inch platforms to avoid treading on the hem, but the effect was amazing. I paired it with deco-tiered earrings and a deco bracelet by Badgley Mischka, rented from RTR as well. Received many compliments. The neckline is gorgeous -- works well with a u-shaped bra taped very low in the back. Would definitely wear again.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2011

This is the first dress i have rented from RTR, and i am very impressed with the customer service. Recently i had lost a few pounds and normally fit into a size 6. So when ordering i ordered a 6 and 8, when i received both the dresses they were both too big. I called RTR and they sent me a 4 to my work the very same day. I wore the dress to a black tie event and it looked fabulous! the pictures dont give the dress justice, its even better in person. it truly is a beautiful designer dress, the way it draped my body was amazing! thanks rtr

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 25, 2011

A solid formal dress. Flattering and comfortable. The fit was true to size. I definitely recommend it!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2011

I wore this dress to a wedding recently and received so many compliments. I am normally a size 8. I ordered a small and medium. The small fit perfectly, but was not long enough. The medium fit well. This dress is very flaw-forgiving and extremely comfortable! I would definitely order it again!

Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 10, 2012
classic

This dress is amazing! however, LENGTH WISE size up! I am 5"9 and I wore 4 inch heels the SMALL LONG was TOO SHORT! If you're up against the wall about what size to order and your're tall like me, order the medium long. This dress is so simple and elegant and very comfortable!

Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2012
A bit disappointed

Thought this dress was a classic, can't fail basic formal gown. The material, however, feels like that of a cheap Halloween costume and even at 5'2 I found the dress to be a bit short when worn with heels. It also has a seam all the way up the middle that was sort of awkward, and the bust area has a LOT of fabric (granted, I'm a 32B). Overall I wouldn't recommend is dress...there are so many better options on this site!

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2013
Incredibly comfortable and flattering, perfect dress!

This dress fit me perfectly. It was sexy without showing too much (thanks to the included fashion tape!) and was super figure flattering. I have smaller hips and larger chest (size 2/4 hips and 30G bust) and the dress fit perfectly because I could "tailor" it to be tighter/looser as needed. I would absolutely rent it again. The entire RTR experience was absolute perfection.

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×