Halston Heritage

Call The Kettle Black Dress

$30 rental
$455 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

138 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 93
Large 37
Photos 65
Elizabeth
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Nov 22, 2012

It was wonderful

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress a lot, it was a great mix of fun and fancy. The material is great, not too thin but not too thick. The v in the front was a little too deep for me but I safety pinned it and it was no problem. I got a lot of complements on this dress and felt great in my cousin's wedding!
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

great fit!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a perfect dress for NYE! it fit perfectly, and i got tons of compliments!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Great dress. The skirt and pockets made it so much fun.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great. Really comfortable for a long night out. Very low cut but the tape made it doable :)
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Awesome, Easy Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVED this dress. First off the stylist were amazing and helped me modify my order at the last minute. The fabric was beautiful and thick. I will say that it is not quite as short as it appears on the model and shows a bit more cleavage- So be prepared to tape yourself in because a bra is not an option! Overall it is one of my favorite dresses I have rented and I was comfortable all night and got tons of compliments.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

Elegant Party Dress!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress - the fabric was amazing and luxurious. As others have mentioned if you are busty you will see quite a bit of cleavage and a stick on bra is necessary. I ordered the Braza bra from RTR and it worked perfectly. Also taping it down help as well. I got a ton of compliments! And what girls doesn't love a dress with pockets!!! I am 5'5" and it hit me just above the knee so it wasn't nearly as short as on the model shown.
Virginia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 22, 2013

It made me feel so glam but also classy! Felt like Marilyn Monroe!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 6, but wore a 4 in this dress because the skirt is so flowy. I wore fashion tape for the neckline. It was very easy to dance in and stayed on extremely well. I am getting compliments about it to this day!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

Marilyn Monroe!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fits great! It's perfect for pear & hourglass girls. I'm a pear so I pinned up the top because it was a little bit big in the neck for me.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Not good if you've got hips

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wanted to love this dress so much, but it just isn't cut well. The fabric is gorgeous, the halter sexy, and I love dresses with pockets. But it runs pretty big; even the 10 was gaping at the top and I am no 8. The halter is nonadjustable; I had to use a black hair band to tighten it so it would stay up. The neckline is much, much lower than it looks on the model; she must have it closed with a pin or tape. I was surprised how good the length was given how short it looks on the model, but it was long enough even for my height. This dress would be great to give ladies without curves the illusion of hips, but if you already have hips this dress isn't for you. The cut of the skirt made my bottom half look 3 times its usual size. Not flattering in the least bit.
tamra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 30, 2013

beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, however; the material is that kind of material that stretches out as its being worn and gets loose. I was pulling up my dress by the armpits pretty frequently during the course of the night...Luckily there were safety pins in the bathroom and my friend help me pin the dress a bit. With that being said>> WOW.. it was beautiful and classy. Everyone said it was stunning and I agree. Just order a size down from what you normally do, F or example, I usually wear a 4 and i think a 2 would have been perfect .. trust me, you will thank me later.
Alli
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

The neckline took me out of my comfort zone, but yay fashion tape! I had so much fun in this dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
For me, the dress was much longer with a much lower neckline than the photo with the model indicates, so prepare for that if you are a shorter girl. I really loved wearing this and didn't want to give it back. And the pockets were amazing!
NewlywedRox
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2013

Classic Glam

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress yesterday for an evening wedding. The dress is made with quality material and preferred the full bottom of the dress to camouflage my hips a bit. The dress is low cut in the front so I didn't bother to wear a bra. However, be warned, when you sit down, it can get "spacey" in the chest area so some fashion tape may be helpful. I didn't bother with the fashion tape either because the effect was just beautiful: I paired this dress with the following: - Ben Amun Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops Earrings - Christian Louboutin Daffodile Platforms - Leopard Print Box Clutch with Skull Knuckles (a great knock off emulatin Alexander McQueen box clutch) - Revlon Lipgloss in Fire - Hair in a depp side part with soft waves to channel old Hollywood glamour
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Loved the fit- very flattering!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got tons of compliments! It was a great STAPLE dress that can be worn on anyone for a fun event. Loved the fit- very flaterring but yet classy and fun at the same time,. This was my "Emergency Help dress". I received another style on Thursday before the Saturday wedding and I did not like it at all. I was able to "Chat with a specialist" and Serena H was able to get me this dress sent overnight to the hotel on Saturday morning. It is a great Safety dress that you will fall in LOVE with! Highly recommend!
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

Simple Black Dress, but this one isn't for everyone

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my backup. I ordered the 6 & 8 based off of the size reviews others shared, and what I normally wear. However, I could not fit into or wear either size comfortably. The size 6 was too small in the waist. However, the quality of the material, buttons, steaming and "puffiness" of the size 6 was much better than the size 8. Not sure why, but the size 8 was VERY puffy (almost like a tutu) and I could not get it to flatten even a little. And even though it fit in the waist and chest, it was not comfortable in the waist, and the puffiness of the size 8 made my waist look MUCH larger than I am. I am a regular renter, and usually read through the reviews thoroughly before ordering. I've always received quality high-end dresses, in perfect condition, and perfect time. But this order arrived late at night, was not a quality material on the dress, and did not even come with the garment bag, and trademark handy dress kit it usually comes with (fashion tape, FAQ, etc). What is going on RTR? I usually can count on you guys for any occasion. But there are many other cheaper options with better quality out there.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 9, 2014

Neckline is too open for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to wear this dress but the neckline was too open for me. I don't mind a low neckline but it was open and showed lots of side-boob. There was no way to tack it closed. I wore the back-up dress.
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

What a great go to dress for any party! Simple and elegant, I got a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was true to size, I read prior reviews that had problems with the neckline gaping, I didn't have these issues. Fabric was a surprise as it was not a dressy material, but the dress still looked like a million dollars!!! Can't wait to rent this again!!
SongBird
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Easy classic styling.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Playful poof to skirt. Conservative length offsets low cut.
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 8, 2014

Cute but small!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
After reading the reviews I sized down but should've stuck with a 12. While it zipped, it looked tight and I couldn't wear it:(
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 18, 2014

Bachelorette Party Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my own bachelorette party- I know a lot of people would think wearing a black dress would be weird- but this dress was so classic. It fit perfectly! I have a large chest, and the halter was the best option for me. I could adjust the neck and I didn't even need to wear a bra because the dress material was think enough and large enough to hold me up. I would love to buy this dress so I could have it to wear at any moment!
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Very cute and comfy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this as a replacement dress for one that was damaged and unable to send out. It was very cute, and I got a lot of compliments on the dress! I received both the 0 and 2, and they seemed to fit the same aside from the torso of the 0 being shorter. I am 5'4 and the dress hit just above my knees, so it's not as short as it is on the model.
Natty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Bachelorette Party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered sizes 4 and 6 and wore the size 4 for my friend's bachelorette party in Washington, D.C. I love the length of the dress - it wasn't too long but not to short. The 4 was a little tight around my waist area - but the 6 was too big for my 5'4, 125 lb frame. I didn't wear a bra with the dress which was fine because the top part was thick enough and covered my whole chest area where even when I sat down, nothing popped out. The fabric of the dress was very thick - I was surprised by that but it wasn't uncomfortable or too hot. This dress was fun to wear and great for a night out around town. I would have to say this wasn't one of my favorite RTR dresses, but, I would still recommend it.
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

I loved this dress. It was super flattering in the waste and I loved the low cut front.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove! I didn't need to wear a bra and was not worried about having any wardrobe malfunctions throughout the night. I wore this dress at a bachelorette party and received tons of compliments. It was super flattering at the waste and I loved the sassy low cut in the front.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

I was unable to wear this dress and returned it as soon as I received it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
If you like a fuller bottom half this dress is for you. It did not flatter me at all! I am 5'9 150 pounds... it did not compliment me at all. Thick material.
Libby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Nice, but tricky

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very chic and just enough of a fashion edge to be exciting. I had it as a backup dress and didn't end up wearing it but it fit well and was great quality.
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

Classic LBD halter that flatters

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
A little loose fitting in the back, but beautiful, thick cotton material and overall great dress!
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Low cut so be prepared!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
While both the 8 & 10 fit me, I ended up going with the 10 because this dress was so low cut. With the 10, there was more room in the top so I actually used a safety pin around the halter so it was less revealing in the chest (pulled it up and pinned instead of using buttons for around the neck). The wedding was for my husbands coworkers - if it has been for a friend I might have gone with the 8, but didn't feel that much cleavage was appropriate for this group. Dress for great everywhere else.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
if your have a smaller bust, be sure to get some fashion tape!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Didn't wear it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Back up size 4 wasn't available and the 6 (even though I'm a C cup) was way to big in the bust. It kept bagging out and even with fashion tape it looked uneven. I ended up wearing a dress I owned.
Scandia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Drowning in dress!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wanted to like this dress but I ended up hating it. It zips true to size in the waist section. The bottom of the dress is too much fabric and not in a cute or flattering way. To top it off the entire chest area gapes and the halter is really loose. You can't really "size down" because then it won't zip! Unfortunately, I had to return.
Ashlie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Fun, fabulous and flirty!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was gorgeous and so comfortable. I started the night wearing a stick on bra but changed to using the petals as the top of the dress was secure and covered enough to not allow anything to show. I would definitely rent this LBD again!!
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

No good for large bust!!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented the 6 and 8 for a wedding. The dress is ADORABLE but for sure not made for big boobs. Other reviews stated some tape or a pin fixed the low cut issue of the top for them, but there is no tape in the world that could have pulled the top together enough for me :(. The fabric is great and I loved the dress. Would absolutely recommend for someone smaller on top. Not for me, but a great dress
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Great spin on the LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an semi-formal evening wedding at the end of summer and it worked really well- just the right amount of fancy and casual. And I'm a sucker for anything with pockets! The only down side was that the pleating wasn't pressed very well when it arrived and the halter hooks were almost completely unattached, but I have no doubt that the great team at RTR has taken care of all of that for future renters. Dressed up or dressed down, this is a great spin on the Little Black Dress!
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Elegant, sumptuous, and Wowsa!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lots of "Wow" looks come your way in this Marilyn-Monroe-esque design. It's an amazing, classy design. It gave my straight figure great curves and made me feel really glamorous. The substantial weight of the fabric reminds you you're in a designer-level creation and it's an awesome feeling. I needed a little bit of fashion tape and a small safety pin to make this dress workable for the wedding I attended and for my own comfort level. You are definitely reminded that there is a limited waistline on this - so I didn't want to eat too much or drink anything bubbly! But it was a TO DIE FOR dress. I absolutely adored it - and SO did my date - whose "Wow" looks were constant!
Ms. C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Not your typical LBD.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress has some pleats that add volume but not make you look huge. It also has pockets. The neckline is low, if you are small chested you may need tape to secure the dress in place, I'm a 36C and didn't have any problems with neckline - didn't use tape or bra. The cut of the dress gives you a tiny waste.
Jacquie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Wore this dress to a formal work holiday party. Everyone seemed to love it-perfect for the occasion

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as a backup because the first one I ordered was damaged and could not be sent. The fit was great, true to size I would say. Its a bit low cut, but I wore an adhesive bra to keep everything in place. The skirt was super fun and flirty, and the pockets added a nice touch. I would say this is a fantastic option if you're looking for a comfortable LBD! :)
Becky
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

This dress was way too big and made me look frumpy. I rented 2 and 4 and swam in both,

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Horrible look to this if you are petite. I rented a 2 and a 4 because I'm usually one of those and definitey think that even the 0 would've been too big. The pockets just make the bottom too puffy and look not good at all
Lindsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

n/a

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the look of the dress but both sizes were too large so unfortunately I couldn't wear the dress.
Jena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

I didn't end up wearing this because on my 5'3" frame it was shockingly, VERY low cut.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is an awkward fit. I needed the four everywhere but my bust so I would have chosen the 6, except that it was VERY low cut. I ended up wearing something from my own closet instead.
amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

amazing dress! elegant but sexy... received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
amazing dress! elegant but sexy... received lots of compliments! deep v-neck so probably best on medium to small chests. best looking dress I've worn in years.
Madison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

it was great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit well the length was good. it was a little tight through the ribs at first, but once i started moving it became more comfortable.
Ellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Large in the bust for this A/B cup gal.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Loved everything about it, except it didn't fit my chest so it end up looking baggy. Would recommend for someone with C cup, not my A/B. I just didn't fill it out.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×