You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Call The Kettle Black Dress
Rental $30 Retail $455
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This infamous little black dress by Halston Heritage is a must have staple item for every girl’s wardrobe. Figure flattering on all body types and perfect for a special date night.
Chat with a Stylist
Black crepe (81% cotton, 19% silk). Sleeveless. V-neck halter with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. 35 inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs slightly large at the bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos33

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Sep 11, 2013
I love this dress! Just have to be careful with the top, leaning down could get a little scandalous.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect but being a b cup the top was pretty loose. Loved how it looked though, very flattering!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Aug 12, 2013
great pockets, imperfect fit
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
love this dress, but i needed a lot of tape to create the right fit. i was constantly adjusting the tape throughout the event, so as much as i love the dress, it just didn't fit perfectly. i am a consistent size two and the bust and shoulders were just a little off.
Madeleine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Aug 7, 2013
Overall made me feel confident.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Fits great, really flattering, but just a little big...I'm normally a true 2 but wish I'd gone with a 0 for this. Overall a great, classy look with just a slight amount of edge!
Heather
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Aug 6, 2013
Very comfortable, not as short on shorter people!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Soft and comfortable material. Easy to dance in, wearing a halter top bra worked best for me and was completely hidden by the strap.
Kylie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jul 9, 2013
Fun to accessorize - I paired with black and yellow sandals!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Great Party Dress, but it definitely runs big - especially up top if you're not particularly well in doubt. This isn't a showstopper, but it's comfortable, versatile when you don't know what others will be wearing and easy to accessorize!
Whitney
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Jun 27, 2013
Classic dress. Pockets! High quality material. Very comfortable.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a little large. I pinned the top, as I was attending a catholic wedding
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jun 11, 2013
Pretty dress, just not for me
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful. The material was thick so its not really for a summer occasion. I loved the top of the dress but was not thrlled with the bottom. It poofed out too much and made my hips look larger than they are. The material was thick so I think that made it worse. I am normally between a 2 and 4 but the 2 was better. Pretty dress, just didnt look great on me.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Jun 6, 2013
Lovely neckline, but not flattering for a petite girl.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this in a size 4, which was still too big even though i usually wear a 6. This dress had a lovely neckline that accentuated shoulders, but it didn't flatter me as I hoped it would. I am a petite 5'1" and the bottom just flared out too much and looked cupcake-y. Also, the top was just a tad too big as well. I could see it look really classy vintage Hollywood on the right person.
Emma
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4423
May 29, 2013
This dress is probably better suited for a 5'10 model. At the height of 5'2, it looked like a tent.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ended up not wearing this dress and being really dissapointed as I got it for my birthday night out... which also turned out to be my engagement night. I am petite and only 5'2 and skirt of the dress went down past my knees. It looked like i was wearing an apron. The halter was also too long. It just did not fit well. Better suited for a tall, full busted girl. Even if I went down a size, it would not fit bc the rib cage area was true to size.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6624
May 27, 2013
Very pretty, but very low cut.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my second choice for a wedding I was attending. The reviews were correct in that it was very low cut. It was a beautiful dress, but not appropriate for the event I was going to so I didn't wear it.
sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4644
May 17, 2013
Everthing was exactly as I expected. I was very pleased with my first RTR experience.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit me perfectly. The fabric is rich and perfect heft,so no wrinkles. I tried to tape the front together so it was not so low cut, but it did not stay in place. I got tons of compliments.
Messie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 6, 2013
Perfectly classy!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress. I did have to pin and use fashion tape for the front but that can be expected since the 2 panels don't attach until the waist. someone with more chest may not have to do that. very comfortable.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 5443
Apr 16, 2013
Classic look!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful! The halter/open back was stunning and it fit well for the most part. One thing about the dress that I would caution is that the V in the neck is a lot lower in person. I was constantly fixing the dress all night because I felt exposed. It was also a little difficult to find a bra that worked successfully with the cut of the dress. Despite that, it was beautiful and I received many compliments!
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Apr 16, 2013
Sexy/classy for a girl with hips.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress worked out great for me. I think I have a size 6 waist and size 8 hips. I'm a 36B so the smaller size (6) fit best. I didn't need to use tape or a bra or anything. The full skirt with bonus pockets made for a lovely shape. This was my first RTR experience. Everything about it was great. My dress options arrived in perfect shape and even came with a little bonus pack of beauty products and some fashion tape in case I needed it. I just now stuffed the dresses into the pre-addressed UPS envelope for the return. I love this. Now I just need to go to more fancy parties!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Apr 11, 2013
Cute LBD, top fits different than on model
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented the size 2 and size 4, glad I got the 2. It is a much lower V than on the model, also there is a lot volume in the top
Dee
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8534
Apr 10, 2013
Fun, Comfy and sexy
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was cute and flirty. I got many compliments. The only problem was the top was really big so i had to pin it down. Be prepared to show the girls off! I was told that i looked like a dark Marilyn Monroe ;) Overall, i'm very happy that i rented this dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Apr 9, 2013
Cute and fun, but neckline could be an issue...
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner. It fit great and I loved it- the bubble shaped skirt is sassy, the low back is so pretty, and the fabric is nice and heavy. The only issue, as other reviewers have noted, is that the top is REALLY plunging. If I were out at a bar I'd be all for this, but it was too much for a dinner, and I was not clever enough to figure out how to adequately pin the neckline together. More of a caution than a negative- if you aren't a whiz with the safety pins save this one for more casual events where you don't mind showing significant cleavage.
Hallie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Apr 1, 2013
Pretty, classic but runs large
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm not sure if it was just the particular dress I got but I ordered a size 2 and a size 4. The size 2 fit SO BIG. I didn't realize it was so big at at first but later in the night, my friend ended up having to pin me into this dress. I usually wear a size 4 so that was surprising. I would say that there was a good half inch of fabric on each side that I ended up pinning. In general, the dress is very classic and pretty. The pockets are great! The neckline is low but not scandalous. I wore a backless stick-on bra and that worked well. The dress definitely isn't as short as it looks on the model.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 4, 2013
.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to love this dress, and it looked beautiful when it arrived, but it was terribly awkward once I put it on. It runs pretty large, and the 0 ended up fitting (relatively speaking), but the material looked like it was going to swallow me whole. The top fit well, but the bottom was a long, poofy disaster. The material is extremely thick, which makes it feel expensive, but it also ends up making it fit like you're wearing curtains on the bottom. Unless you are 5'10 and want something very poofy, I would definitely choose something else. I ended up having to pick a different dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7641
Feb 25, 2013
Was short and adorable. felt great.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size..looks very cute, has pockets, yay!
Catherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jan 24, 2013
Too large
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'4" 130 lbs, on the short waisted side and the size 2 was enormous on me. Gaping in the chest and waist, waist hit about 3 inches below my waist, had to return.
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Jan 22, 2013
Classy sex kitten!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an inaugural cocktail party and it was just a perfect twist on the classic LBD. It's a little longer than the picture shows and you will definitely need some fashion tape for the top. I paired it with some sparkly pumps and a funky multi-colored necklace. It was comfortable yet I felt sexy in the dress the whole night. I wish I would have taken a full-length picture to share!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Jan 7, 2013
Felt like a million bucks!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress. Although I wish I had gotten a 2 since the 4 was a bit big around my bust. I expected smoother/silkier fabric for some reason but loved the shape and hold to this dress. It gave my curves an added oomph! I felt like Audrey Hepburn. I highly recommend this dress. Just make sure you have a bra that goes low enough in the back!
Erin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Jan 7, 2013
Loved it! Sexy and Flattering!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As other reviewers have said, It does have a very deep V (even for a New Year's Eve Party!) But, with a safety pin in the right place, it's still sexy and very flattering!
Georgia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3633
Dec 28, 2012
Fun dress, loved the low back and full skirt.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It runs small.I wore it to a holiday dinner. The low back makes it sexy but its subtle and the fabric skirt stays full-loved it!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5524
Dec 9, 2012
Such a cute dress but unfortunately the front was way too low for me so wasn't able to wear it.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size but front is extremely low.
Olivia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Nov 7, 2012
didnt wear it!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress does not look llike it does int eh photo! Length is over the knee (Im 5'9) Very poufy and not a satin or silk material, it looks more like a sundress.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7341
Nov 4, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress (I ordered it as a backup size) but it was very pretty.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The front is lower than it looks in the photo, so I couldn't wear it since I didn't have a halter bra. If you feel comfortable going without a bra that would probably work too.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress