Halston Heritage

Black Eclipse Dress

$60 to buy
$475 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this insanely sexy Halston Heritage off the shoulder dress. Curves, sass, and beauty all in one!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Satin Waist Inset. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
138 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(105)
Small
(28)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 28, 2016
I loved the way this dress hugged my form. It was the perfect NYE dress.
The shoulder fit was something to get used to, but I ended up like it in the long run. I think the underarm holes were cut a bit too wide and I had to watch to make sure my strapless bra didn't show on the side. Other than that, it was a fun dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 30, 2012
Felt so confident!
This dress really flatters in all the right places. While this dress is very form fitting the stretch in the dress makes it very comfortable and not too restricting. Such a sexy dress without being over the top, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
September 11, 2012
great classy dress
when i ordered this dress i was nervous it would be to big on me, but it fit perfect. it was sexy and classy. the only thing was, if you wore the top the way the model shows, you cant lift your arms much, without the dress folding back up.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
September 18, 2012
Nice dress but for the shoulder area.
Love the way the dress flatters your figure. It's not too loose or tight. Only reason why I took away two stars was because the shoulder area is too tight. If you wear it as shown on the model you cannot raise your arms. I suggest wearing it as a one strap dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
awkward fit
The quality of the dress is great; I loved the fabric and the details. However, the top strap is very awkward and i felt restricted (i couldnt lift my arms up without disturbing the strap). I rented a 2 and 4, in fear of the fit being very form-fitting, but the 2 was still too baggy around my stomach. I really wanted this dress to work, but it just didn't. I think you can do better with another dress--e.g., the catherine malandrino smoking shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 20, 2012
Fabulous anniversary dinner dress!
This was a great dress! I wore it for a fancy wedding anniversary dinner with my husband and it was exactly what I wanted - classy and a little sexy. It fit perfectly and I really liked the versatility of the sleeves - you can wear them up, down (like the model) or one up and down (like I did) for a little modern twist. The material was really nice and length was great. I would definitely recommend this dress, I was thrilled with it and felt great in it all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 25, 2012
Absolutely love love love! AMAZING DRESS!
This Dress was very comfortable. It looked great and was true to size. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
super pretty
I was told this item ran small so i sized up.. If I would have rented my actual size it would have fit perfectly and I would have given it 5 stars. It was still beautiful. Order your regular size!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 3, 2012
sexy
This is a very sexy dress. It's definitely a bodycon dress - fits very snugly. I liked the neckline, and you can style it different ways, but I found myself fidgeting with it a bit because it felt a bit awkward at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 4, 2012
Fun, sexy party dress!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding. I wanted to go for a fun, flirty yet classic look and I think this dress was perfect for it. It fit me like a glove yet the material does stretch so I was able to dance all night long with no issues. I love how it showed just enough skin to still be sexy, the length was perfect for me. This is a dress I would def buy and wear for multiple occasions. Very happy with this rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 7, 2012
Great Dress, Tons of compliments...
This was overall a great dress... classic, high quality, sexy but not too sexy. My only complaint is the strap over the shoulder. I couldn't seem to get it to stay rolled over enough. It would slip up, restrict movement a bit, etc. Not overly annoying and I may even rent again for another event. Just worth mentioning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
The perfect little black dress!
By far my favorite dress I have rented so far. Wore this to a 10 year high school reunion at a yacht club. Fit like a glove. I'm typically a 0 or a 2. I rented a 2 and 4 based on the size chart and ended up wearing the 2. Also wore 4 1/2 inch heals with the dress and LOVED the off the shoulder look. It's the perfect "little black dress!"
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
October 11, 2012
Fits like a glove. Very comfortable.
Looks different in person. Tight fit and very comfortable. I really liked this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 14, 2012
i loved it!
the top folds over. i thought it was ill fitting until i realized this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2012
Would definitely rent again!
Gorgeous dress! Was very elegant - perfect for the evening wedding that I attended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2012
This dress fit like a glove! It was classy yet sexy at the same time.
This dress hugs all your curves and fits true to size. The material has some stretch to it which can be forgiving if you're not sure on your size. I'm 5'7" and the dress was a few inches above the knee. The only down side is that you can't lift your arms too high with the off the shoulder straps. The dresses I had were also in excellent shape. They seemed brand new. I highly recommend if you have a similar body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
Great basic black dress!
This was perfect for a cocktail attire evening wedding! It's very versatile and was easy to dress up with some fun jewelry and an up-do. The only drawbacks were the arms were constricting and were cut lower on the sides. Overall I was very happy with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
Sexy and flattering, but not for dancing.
Despite the rave reviews, I found this dress to be a bit too constricting for my taste. It tended to ride up and I couldn't raise my arms without the off-the-shoulder straps going awry (a problem on the dance floor!). This would be a great dress for a cocktail party or date night, just not for a long, active event, such as a wedding. The dress is very slim with no zip (it goes over your head, so watch your make up!). Very flattering and fit like a glove- almost like a wet suit! It definitely brings out your best figure features.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2012
I glanced at myself in the mirror in the theater and thought, "Wow - I look like a movie star!"
My friend and I celebrated our birthdays by going to see Wicked. I wore the black eclipse dress with the Badgley Mischka Tiered Deco Earrings and the Chamak by Priya Kakkar Smoky Mirror Bangle set. The dress is gorgeous, but I definitely wouldn't rent it for a wedding - I can't imagine trying to dance in this dress. The off-the-shoulder straps do not stay put, and the bottom of the dress creeps up up up when you walk. Fortunately, most of our evening was sitting. There are 3 ways to wear this dress depending on how you wear the sleeves. I have broad shoulders and can't imagine wearing both sleeves on the side of my arms.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
Perfect little black dress
Dress was near perfect. The material was extremely flattering, the length was perfect for a sexy yet classy fit...and my fiancé loved it! I wasn't able to raise my hands high while dancing because of the way the dress fit on top but I would HIGHLY recommend this gorgeous dress if you want a little black dress that is anything but boring.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
Form fitting, but marvelous!
I wore this dress for an Interior Design Hall of Fame dinner and the compliments were ENDLESS! I love that it's off the shoulder, so you can show off that collar bone, without feeling like you're showing too much (like maybe with a strapless). I always hesitate to wear strapless dresses, because I feel people just stare at "the girls," but this dress was absolutely perfect. It's tailored well, and the material doesn't bunch at all. Love love love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2012
Fun party dress
I wore this to a charity event and I loved it. I think it ran true to size, although it's sexier on than the model makes it look in the photos. Material was stretchy and hugs your curves. The only negative is that it would ride up a little when you walked. But for standing around at a party its fabulous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2012
Crazy Amount of Compliments! Loved the Way it Looked & Great Fit!
Although the dress was snug, it hit in all the right places. My BF's mouth literally dropped once he saw me in the dress. Incredible. Absolutely amazing. I would definitely consider renting this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 17, 2012
Pretty dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was REALLY small. You should definitely size up (or two). The fabric is nice with a good stretch to it. The only thing I didn't love about it (besides that it was SO tight) was that the arm holes were a little big. You could see way too much of your skin underneath your arm. not in a good way. Then again that might have attributed to the bad fit. Would be perfect for a wedding reception or cocktail party. It was sexy without being TOO obvious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Lots of compliments!
This was my first experience with RTR and I was thrilled that there was no telling these dresses from new dresses. They were lovely fabric, quality construction, arrived on time and well packed/not wrinkled. I decided to wear the size 6 (my usual size being 4) because A) the off-the-shoulder aspect was a bit slim fitting for my athletic frame and B) the dress does ride up a bit when you are walking around. Overall I felt that it was a great, sexy style and I received many compliments. I would say this style is not easy to wear because of the size of the armhole... it looks a bit large when the dress is pulled smoothly in the front, and if you close the hole (pulling the dress up a bit) then the fabric puckers a bit in front.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
very pretty dress, great for a wedding
the shoulders are difficult to keep in position so made it hard to dance at the wedding, other than that this is a beautiful dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2012
Wore this for a holiday party on a Friday evening.
It is absolutely stunning. The less you do with it the better. All eyes were on me when I walked by in it. This little black dress is highly recommended and fits like a glove.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2012
Super comfortable, versatile and pretty dress!
This dress was simple, yet gorgeous and very versatile!! I wore it with a jeweled belt to make it a bit fancier, since I wore it to a black tie wedding, but it can definitely be dressed down as well. The fabric is stretchy, and while it fits true to size and well, it wasn't too tight. It was the perfect length for me, but I'm 5'2'', so it might come up a bit higher for someone taller. Definitely would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 29, 2012
Very classic but tough to wear.
Rented this Halston for a photo shoot with a local model. It's a beautiful dress, but was disappointed in the holes made under the armpits. They're wide and as the dress shifts, they show a lot. The dress can actually be worn several different ways and it looked best with the wrap portion only over one shoulder (see outdoor shot).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 2, 2013
not suitable for work (parties).
I was sent this dress as a last-minute replacement when the LBD I had originally rented was unavailable at shipping time. Unfortunately, I was renting with the intention of wearing the dress to a holiday work party... an event to which the Black Eclipse dress would be entirely inappropriate. The super form-fitting cut, the off-the-shoulder neckline, and satin side panels make this dress wearable for a bachelorette party or night out dancing, but certainly not for a work event or wedding. I explained this to an RTR stylist, and she promptly overnighted another dress to me (thanks for the great customer service!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2013
Very Chic black dress with a flattering fit
Beautiful off-the-shoulder cocktail dress - very polished and chic look while very comfortable and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
Fun and Flattering!
I almost felt silly for renting a LBD when I have several hanging in my closet, but I was so glad I did! I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party, and it was perfect for the occasion. It's a body-hugging number, but the thick fabric is forgiving and comfortable. The satin paneling is a nice detail, but the dress itself is simple enough that you can get creative with accessories. It's a great "party dress," and I had so much fun in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 27, 2013
This dress is so classy and elegant!
I really liked the dress, but gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the way the arm openings are cut. Some other reviewers also mentioned this as well. They are cut extremely large and if someone is wearing a bra that is a bit tight, or is a little bigger on top, they may not be happy with the way it fits as it has the potential to show your bra and/or a little skin. It has a really beautiful, retro, "Mad Men" era look to it, which I love. The dress is comfortable and fits very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2013
So small and didnt love it
if you are straight up and down, i think it may look good. Sleeves were tough too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 18, 2013
This is beautiful dress made with thick luxurious material.
I love the neckline on this dress, but I did find it a bit contrictive. Also, in the back of the dress, you see the area where your back upper arm meets your back... AND even for a very small lady, this is not flattering. It was a wonderful experience working with RTR, but I wouldn't rent this dress again. Overall, it's a great dress that met my needs for the evening, but I wouldn't wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
February 24, 2013
felt great dancing in this dress!
beautiful dress, that can definitely be dressed up or down. i wore it to a fundraising event/ masquerade ball with tights and a pair of pink heels. the top fit great and was flattering on my smaller chest. there was a little room in the hips, but it actually made it more comfortable for dancing. lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 10, 2013
WOW! LUVED this LOOK!
Another stunner from RTR! THis Halston Heritage dress fit like a glove and was so comfortable to move and dance in. I wore it to a winter black-and-white masquerade event - a full night of dancing! (I went with Batman - *grin*) The material is on the heavier side and stretchy. The dress does ride up a bit as others have mentioned. And I had to make a conscious effort to prevent the off-the-shoulder straps from riding up (I noticed this in photos after the fact).... so a little double-sided tap on the straps might be a good idea. I wore the 4 and loved the length on me (I'm only 5'3). I didn't have the back-up option available to me but based on reviewed I was quite confident that the 4 (my usual size) would fit without an issue and thankfully that was the case. I had also chosen a second dress option, which I also liked, but this one definitely fit the formal function better - sexy yet elegant and most definitely my style. I also rented/wore the Badgley Mischka Ocean Moon Earrings - a gorgeous addition of bling for my event. What a great look!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 25, 2013
great dress!
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and it was a great experience! The dress fit very well. It's very fitted but not in a way that makes it inappropriate. The arms are a little hard to move in but it's worth it because of how pretty the dress looks! Definitely recommend.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2013
I FELT FABULOUS!!!
THE DRESS WAS HOT! SOO MANY COMPLIMETNS. I ACCESSORIZED WITH RED SHOES AND NECKLACE....IT WAS AN ABSOLUTE HIT. THERE WAS A WOMAN, WHOM I NEVER MET, AT THE WEDDING WHO TRIED TO SET ME UP WITH HER SON...SHE FOUND ME STUNNING...I GIVE THE DRESS ALL THE CREDIT. I NORMALLY WEAR A SIZE 4 WHICH WAS MY FIRST SIZE CHOICE BUT I ENDED UP LIKING THE 2. IT FIT JUST A LIL BIT BETTER IN THE WAIST
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 11, 2013
Such a classy fit for a wedding or cocktail party!
I loved how the sleeves were off the shoulder. I felt very classy wearing this dress to the wedding I attended in March.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×