You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Black Eclipse Dress
Rental $40 Retail $475
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Knock their socks off at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this insanely sexy Halston Heritage off the shoulder dress. Curves, sass, and beauty all in one!

Also available in red.
Chat with a Stylist
Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Satin Waist Inset. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos65

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Sep 9, 2012
When my husband saw me for the first time dressed for the wedding and he was totally speechless!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a perfect fit. I’m so glad I opted for the size 4 instead of the size 6 as it would have been too big. I am only 5’3”, so it came down closer to the top of my knee not like the model’s picture, but it was perfect for my cousin’s wedding. I was definitely the BEST dressed there! I got so many compliments on the dress and how I looked in it. It was a 10 out of 10!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Aug 30, 2012
Felt so confident!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress really flatters in all the right places. While this dress is very form fitting the stretch in the dress makes it very comfortable and not too restricting. Such a sexy dress without being over the top, I loved it!
Nicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5423
Mar 27, 2014
v day dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
i didn't end up wearing this dress although my husband loved it. i think the other reviewers captured it great. its prefect for a night you'll just be sitting in one spot and not moving. it also was very tight but in a good way if you like to show off your curves.
Cellis
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4422
Mar 14, 2014
Head-turner!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress!!! The neck line was great, but do be careful about 'side boob'. Thankfully I have nothing to worry about there and was able to wear a regular strapless bra without it showing. I can see where that would be an issue if you had any more than an a-cup size chest. I loved the slimming fit all the way through, and it stretched wonderfully so I didn't feel like I was suffocating after we had dinner. My only complaint would be that it rides up when walking. It's not a huge issue, but I noticed it a couple of times. Another fabulous experience with RTR!
mthors
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5544
Mar 11, 2014
Beautiful! Wish I could buy it!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was very fitted, went up to size 8 so that I felt more comfy. No need for spanx, really hugged in all the right areas!
Gabs
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Mar 3, 2014
The dress was classic and fit wonderfully!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect for my body type. I expected it to be form fitting, but it was comfortable.
Tawny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2524
Feb 25, 2014
Sexy LBD!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a NYE party and it was great! Material is thicker than I expected, and it hugs the body in a very flattering way. Would rent again!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Feb 20, 2014
Sleek dress but not comfortable
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The off shoulder sleeves were uncomfortable. I expected this and still thought the dress looked nice.
TIna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3334
Feb 2, 2014
tight but comfortable
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried that the dress would show all the flaws of the body shape. But somehow the body-con dress framed my body well and at the same time really comfortable. Love it!
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 31, 2014
rented for Charlotte Fashion Week and fit right in!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress... it was a comfortable. It was sexy without being too revealing and the fabric was good quality. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 17, 2014
Knock out, little black dress!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a size for but ordered back up size2. Very happy i did because this dress is meant to be sexy, small & tight! Shoulders/neckline is supper flattering.
Danee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6421
Jan 16, 2014
Great Dress/ Great Experience!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First time ordering. The dress and the experience were both wonderful! The dress was comfy and stunning, which in my opinion is the best combination. I can't wait to order again! I looked and felt beautiful!
timileigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jan 8, 2014
The dress fit true to size, but the top did not lay right.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit true to size, but the top did not lay right. The armholes and neckline were awkward.
Alys
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Dec 15, 2013
Loved it, got tons of compliments!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits very nicely. Runs very true to size. Thank you RTR!
Erika
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 1, 2013
Comfortable, cute and classic
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great, classic and comfortable dress. The only downfall is that it tends to ride up if you're walking up stairs.
Angie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2623
Nov 7, 2013
Beautiful Dress..
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so pretty. It's classy and looks great on. Because it's so form fitting I had one issue with it; for some reason the bottom of the zipper was creating a little bulge and it looked like I had a small tail. I really wish I could have worn it, but that was a deal breaker! Otherwise, great style, beautiful fit and looks even better in person.
Renee
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Nov 5, 2013
Cute dress. Weird fit.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was cute but it fit awkwardly. I rented size 0 and size 2 but both were cut in so far under my armpit that it showed too much of the sides of my chest making it inappropriate for the wedding I was attending. So unfortunately I did not wear the dress. The dress might be better for someone with a smaller chest.
Kati
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5544
Nov 4, 2013
body hugging, sexy, comfortable!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i am still trying to find a photo as i wore this last april to a wedding... this dress was form fitting and accentuates all of your curves. very sexy! the material is stretchy so it is very comfortable. i wore a nude strapless and it did not show through the arm holes. the length was perfect, a bit longer than on the model - classy... if only my shoes that night were as comfy!
Noelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Nov 2, 2013
Classic look
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall I loved this dress, however the straps are a bit tricky. In some photos they make a look a bit awkward if they lower on you and the bust area is a bit looser-- a bulge is created. I only noticed it a few times so it's not a big issue. Ideally I would have loved to wear my usual size (4) but I was a bit bigger at the time. Also - the band is a lot thinner that how it looks on the model. I think had the bust/ribcage area fit me better and had I been able to wear the 4, the straps may have laid nicer.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Oct 25, 2013
Pretty but don't plan on dancing!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a very elegant dress. Sexy and slimming and fits perfectly. The only thing is that if you lift up your arms, the shoulder sleeves move around and get messed up. You have to monitor them throughout the night. Good for a dinner party; not good for dancing.
Carreen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Oct 14, 2013
It was a gorgeous dress and I got so many compliments on it!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit...couldnt have asked for a more comfortable dress. However, the dress does ride up while moving so be careful!
phdiva
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Sep 10, 2013
Disappointing dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have rented this dress twice now, hoping that a 4 would fit me after the 2 I had previously ordered was wayyy too small. I am usually a size 2 so I thought the 4 would definitely fit me, but even the 4 was way too short and tight. I don't think sizing up to 6 or 8 would've helped either -- I really wanted to make this dress work since I love the off-the-shoulder look, but the dress was the least flattering dress I've tried from RTR on my body type.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
May 28, 2013
BEAUTIFUL! AND V FLATTERING!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you want something that accentuates your body shape this is the dress for you!!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
May 22, 2013
Classic and Sexy!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fit of this dress. The collar/foldover part was a little confusing once you put it on. I'm not sure if it was because of the fit on me but it didn't want to fold over correctly to begin with and then seemed a little shorter than the model's look when I got it to work. Didn't ultimately matter because everyone complimented me on the dress and it looked fab :)
Jane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Apr 29, 2013
Flirty and sophisticated!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got this dress in a 2 and 4 and really struggled with which one to wear. I'm usually a 2 and this dress does run small, so the 4 fit very well and the 2 was on the tighter side. I ended up going with the 2 and only wearing the strap on one shoulder, which looked great and was perfect for the event. I got tons of compliments all night! The dress will definitely cinch you in and is very flattering. I also loved that it was kind of sexy but without being too showy. Overall, great pick!
caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Apr 16, 2013
I planned to wear this to Christmas, but chose not to.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress fit awkwardly. There's no other way to describe it. I think it would look great on a taller girl, maybe with smaller breasts. Ultimately, it looked so awkward I found something I already had to wear instead.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Apr 11, 2013
Such a classy fit for a wedding or cocktail party!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved how the sleeves were off the shoulder. I felt very classy wearing this dress to the wedding I attended in March.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2422
Apr 5, 2013
Fling. Liked, but didn't love.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was baggy in the chest and fit well everywhere else.
katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Mar 29, 2013
I FELT FABULOUS!!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
THE DRESS WAS HOT! SOO MANY COMPLIMETNS. I ACCESSORIZED WITH RED SHOES AND NECKLACE....IT WAS AN ABSOLUTE HIT. THERE WAS A WOMAN, WHOM I NEVER MET, AT THE WEDDING WHO TRIED TO SET ME UP WITH HER SON...SHE FOUND ME STUNNING...I GIVE THE DRESS ALL THE CREDIT. I NORMALLY WEAR A SIZE 4 WHICH WAS MY FIRST SIZE CHOICE BUT I ENDED UP LIKING THE 2. IT FIT JUST A LIL BIT BETTER IN THE WAIST
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Mar 25, 2013
great dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and it was a great experience! The dress fit very well. It's very fitted but not in a way that makes it inappropriate. The arms are a little hard to move in but it's worth it because of how pretty the dress looks! Definitely recommend.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Mar 13, 2013
Great fit
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for valentine's day and my boyfriend loved it. Very sophisticated-sexy.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
Mar 11, 2013
This dress got so many compliments! I wanted to keep it afterwards afterwards!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like a glove. There were no cons! It made me feel gorgeous, it made people turn their heads!
jess
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Feb 24, 2013
felt great dancing in this dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
beautiful dress, that can definitely be dressed up or down. i wore it to a fundraising event/ masquerade ball with tights and a pair of pink heels. the top fit great and was flattering on my smaller chest. there was a little room in the hips, but it actually made it more comfortable for dancing. lots of compliments!
Kikmonster
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Feb 18, 2013
This is beautiful dress made with thick luxurious material.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love the neckline on this dress, but I did find it a bit contrictive. Also, in the back of the dress, you see the area where your back upper arm meets your back... AND even for a very small lady, this is not flattering. It was a wonderful experience working with RTR, but I wouldn't rent this dress again. Overall, it's a great dress that met my needs for the evening, but I wouldn't wear again.
lala33
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Feb 6, 2013
So small and didnt love it
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
if you are straight up and down, i think it may look good. Sleeves were tough too.
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Feb 4, 2013
Simple, chic LBD
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to our office Christmas party and then a friend's Christmas party just after. It was great because it was sleek and chic without being overtly sexy so it worked well for both parties. It was tighter than I expected though
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
Jan 27, 2013
This dress is so classy and elegant!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really liked the dress, but gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the way the arm openings are cut. Some other reviewers also mentioned this as well. They are cut extremely large and if someone is wearing a bra that is a bit tight, or is a little bigger on top, they may not be happy with the way it fits as it has the potential to show your bra and/or a little skin. It has a really beautiful, retro, "Mad Men" era look to it, which I love. The dress is comfortable and fits very well.
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jan 24, 2013
Classy & Sexy
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore tthis dress for a holiday party. This dress is super sexy and classy. Picture doesn't quite do the construction of this dress justice. Has enough ummph factor to take your little black dress up a factor. This dress was definitely a win.
LJD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Jan 13, 2013
Very Chic black dress with a flattering fit
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful off-the-shoulder cocktail dress - very polished and chic look while very comfortable and flattering.
ec
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Jan 2, 2013
not suitable for work (parties).
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was sent this dress as a last-minute replacement when the LBD I had originally rented was unavailable at shipping time. Unfortunately, I was renting with the intention of wearing the dress to a holiday work party... an event to which the Black Eclipse dress would be entirely inappropriate. The super form-fitting cut, the off-the-shoulder neckline, and satin side panels make this dress wearable for a bachelorette party or night out dancing, but certainly not for a work event or wedding. I explained this to an RTR stylist, and she promptly overnighted another dress to me (thanks for the great customer service!)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress