Halston Heritage

Black Eclipse Dress

$60 to buy
$475 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this insanely sexy Halston Heritage off the shoulder dress. Curves, sass, and beauty all in one!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Satin Waist Inset. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
138 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(105)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 7, 2012
Great Dress, Tons of compliments...

This was overall a great dress... classic, high quality, sexy but not too sexy. My only complaint is the strap over the shoulder. I couldn't seem to get it to stay rolled over enough. It would slip up, restrict movement a bit, etc. Not overly annoying and I may even rent again for another event. Just worth mentioning.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
The perfect little black dress!

By far my favorite dress I have rented so far. Wore this to a 10 year high school reunion at a yacht club. Fit like a glove. I'm typically a 0 or a 2. I rented a 2 and 4 based on the size chart and ended up wearing the 2. Also wore 4 1/2 inch heals with the dress and LOVED the off the shoulder look. It's the perfect "little black dress!"

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
October 11, 2012
Fits like a glove. Very comfortable.

Looks different in person. Tight fit and very comfortable. I really liked this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 14, 2012
i loved it!

the top folds over. i thought it was ill fitting until i realized this.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2012
Would definitely rent again!

Gorgeous dress! Was very elegant - perfect for the evening wedding that I attended.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2012
This dress fit like a glove! It was classy yet sexy at the same time.

This dress hugs all your curves and fits true to size. The material has some stretch to it which can be forgiving if you're not sure on your size. I'm 5'7" and the dress was a few inches above the knee. The only down side is that you can't lift your arms too high with the off the shoulder straps. The dresses I had were also in excellent shape. They seemed brand new. I highly recommend if you have a similar body type.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
Great basic black dress!

This was perfect for a cocktail attire evening wedding! It's very versatile and was easy to dress up with some fun jewelry and an up-do. The only drawbacks were the arms were constricting and were cut lower on the sides. Overall I was very happy with this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2012
I glanced at myself in the mirror in the theater and thought, "Wow - I look like a movie star!"

My friend and I celebrated our birthdays by going to see Wicked. I wore the black eclipse dress with the Badgley Mischka Tiered Deco Earrings and the Chamak by Priya Kakkar Smoky Mirror Bangle set. The dress is gorgeous, but I definitely wouldn't rent it for a wedding - I can't imagine trying to dance in this dress. The off-the-shoulder straps do not stay put, and the bottom of the dress creeps up up up when you walk. Fortunately, most of our evening was sitting. There are 3 ways to wear this dress depending on how you wear the sleeves. I have broad shoulders and can't imagine wearing both sleeves on the side of my arms.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
Perfect little black dress

Dress was near perfect. The material was extremely flattering, the length was perfect for a sexy yet classy fit...and my fiancé loved it! I wasn't able to raise my hands high while dancing because of the way the dress fit on top but I would HIGHLY recommend this gorgeous dress if you want a little black dress that is anything but boring.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
Form fitting, but marvelous!

I wore this dress for an Interior Design Hall of Fame dinner and the compliments were ENDLESS! I love that it's off the shoulder, so you can show off that collar bone, without feeling like you're showing too much (like maybe with a strapless). I always hesitate to wear strapless dresses, because I feel people just stare at "the girls," but this dress was absolutely perfect. It's tailored well, and the material doesn't bunch at all. Love love love!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2012
Fun party dress

I wore this to a charity event and I loved it. I think it ran true to size, although it's sexier on than the model makes it look in the photos. Material was stretchy and hugs your curves. The only negative is that it would ride up a little when you walked. But for standing around at a party its fabulous!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2012
Crazy Amount of Compliments! Loved the Way it Looked & Great Fit!

Although the dress was snug, it hit in all the right places. My BF's mouth literally dropped once he saw me in the dress. Incredible. Absolutely amazing. I would definitely consider renting this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
very pretty dress, great for a wedding

the shoulders are difficult to keep in position so made it hard to dance at the wedding, other than that this is a beautiful dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 20, 2012
Wore this for a holiday party on a Friday evening.

It is absolutely stunning. The less you do with it the better. All eyes were on me when I walked by in it. This little black dress is highly recommended and fits like a glove.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2012
Super comfortable, versatile and pretty dress!

This dress was simple, yet gorgeous and very versatile!! I wore it with a jeweled belt to make it a bit fancier, since I wore it to a black tie wedding, but it can definitely be dressed down as well. The fabric is stretchy, and while it fits true to size and well, it wasn't too tight. It was the perfect length for me, but I'm 5'2'', so it might come up a bit higher for someone taller. Definitely would recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 29, 2012
Very classic but tough to wear.

Rented this Halston for a photo shoot with a local model. It's a beautiful dress, but was disappointed in the holes made under the armpits. They're wide and as the dress shifts, they show a lot. The dress can actually be worn several different ways and it looked best with the wrap portion only over one shoulder (see outdoor shot).

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2013
Very Chic black dress with a flattering fit

Beautiful off-the-shoulder cocktail dress - very polished and chic look while very comfortable and flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
Fun and Flattering!

I almost felt silly for renting a LBD when I have several hanging in my closet, but I was so glad I did! I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party, and it was perfect for the occasion. It's a body-hugging number, but the thick fabric is forgiving and comfortable. The satin paneling is a nice detail, but the dress itself is simple enough that you can get creative with accessories. It's a great "party dress," and I had so much fun in it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 27, 2013
This dress is so classy and elegant!

I really liked the dress, but gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the way the arm openings are cut. Some other reviewers also mentioned this as well. They are cut extremely large and if someone is wearing a bra that is a bit tight, or is a little bigger on top, they may not be happy with the way it fits as it has the potential to show your bra and/or a little skin. It has a really beautiful, retro, "Mad Men" era look to it, which I love. The dress is comfortable and fits very well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 18, 2013
This is beautiful dress made with thick luxurious material.

I love the neckline on this dress, but I did find it a bit contrictive. Also, in the back of the dress, you see the area where your back upper arm meets your back... AND even for a very small lady, this is not flattering. It was a wonderful experience working with RTR, but I wouldn't rent this dress again. Overall, it's a great dress that met my needs for the evening, but I wouldn't wear again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
February 24, 2013
felt great dancing in this dress!

beautiful dress, that can definitely be dressed up or down. i wore it to a fundraising event/ masquerade ball with tights and a pair of pink heels. the top fit great and was flattering on my smaller chest. there was a little room in the hips, but it actually made it more comfortable for dancing. lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 10, 2013
WOW! LUVED this LOOK!

Another stunner from RTR! THis Halston Heritage dress fit like a glove and was so comfortable to move and dance in. I wore it to a winter black-and-white masquerade event - a full night of dancing! (I went with Batman - *grin*) The material is on the heavier side and stretchy. The dress does ride up a bit as others have mentioned. And I had to make a conscious effort to prevent the off-the-shoulder straps from riding up (I noticed this in photos after the fact).... so a little double-sided tap on the straps might be a good idea. I wore the 4 and loved the length on me (I'm only 5'3). I didn't have the back-up option available to me but based on reviewed I was quite confident that the 4 (my usual size) would fit without an issue and thankfully that was the case. I had also chosen a second dress option, which I also liked, but this one definitely fit the formal function better - sexy yet elegant and most definitely my style. I also rented/wore the Badgley Mischka Ocean Moon Earrings - a gorgeous addition of bling for my event. What a great look!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 25, 2013
great dress!

This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and it was a great experience! The dress fit very well. It's very fitted but not in a way that makes it inappropriate. The arms are a little hard to move in but it's worth it because of how pretty the dress looks! Definitely recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2013
Very sexy but a tough cut

I have a love hate relationship with this dress. It photographs beautifully and did great things for my curves; there are these panels of shinier fabric around the waist. I was a little uncomfortable in it though. I kept pulling at the arm holes so that my bra wouldn't show.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 14, 2013
The dress was great, I got lots of compliments and felt very pretty!

I wear a 0 or 2 in dresses usually, and the 2 fit perfectly. It is definitely form-fitting, so you have to be comfortable in that sort of thing (which I sometimes am not). But my boyfriend absolutely LOVED it. And it was form-fitting but also very classy. I only wore one sleeve which I thought looked nice and felt much more comfortable. It did ride up a little while dancing, but I definitely still danced the night away, luckily I'm not super tall! All in all, a great dress, and RTR was awesome and got here quickly when I was in a pinch!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2013
not YMCA proof, but sleek

This dress fit like a glove, DEF need spanx to smooth out any bumps. I loved the idea and look of the dress, sadly it did not pass my YMCA dance move test, the straps would have been a pain if you were planning on doing any dancing. I would consider renting this is i was standing still with my arms at my side all night.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2013
I NEED this dress!!

This dress was absolutely amazing! It fit like a glove and was the perfect combination of sexy and sophisticated at the same time. It does have some stretch to it and the side underarm area is pretty open so you couldn't wear a regular bra with it, not even a strapless. I wore the Nubra, but if i had big enough boobs i'd probably go braless! You will not be disappointed :)

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
September 13, 2013
Fun and flattering LBD.

This dress was great. As other reviewers have mentioned, the straps were a bit annoying, but I ended up wearing one off the shoulder and it worked out great. I got a ton of compliments and had a wonderful time in it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 25, 2013
Pretty but don't plan on dancing!

This is a very elegant dress. Sexy and slimming and fits perfectly. The only thing is that if you lift up your arms, the shoulder sleeves move around and get messed up. You have to monitor them throughout the night. Good for a dinner party; not good for dancing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2013
Classic look

Overall I loved this dress, however the straps are a bit tricky. In some photos they make a look a bit awkward if they lower on you and the bust area is a bit looser-- a bulge is created. I only noticed it a few times so it's not a big issue. Ideally I would have loved to wear my usual size (4) but I was a bit bigger at the time. Also - the band is a lot thinner that how it looks on the model. I think had the bust/ribcage area fit me better and had I been able to wear the 4, the straps may have laid nicer.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
body hugging, sexy, comfortable!

i am still trying to find a photo as i wore this last april to a wedding... this dress was form fitting and accentuates all of your curves. very sexy! the material is stretchy so it is very comfortable. i wore a nude strapless and it did not show through the arm holes. the length was perfect, a bit longer than on the model - classy... if only my shoes that night were as comfy!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 5, 2013
Cute dress. Weird fit.

The dress was cute but it fit awkwardly. I rented size 0 and size 2 but both were cut in so far under my armpit that it showed too much of the sides of my chest making it inappropriate for the wedding I was attending. So unfortunately I did not wear the dress. The dress might be better for someone with a smaller chest.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2013
Comfortable, cute and classic

Great, classic and comfortable dress. The only downfall is that it tends to ride up if you're walking up stairs.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 15, 2013
Loved it, got tons of compliments!

The dress fits very nicely. Runs very true to size. Thank you RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
April 5, 2013
Fling. Liked, but didn't love.

It was baggy in the chest and fit well everywhere else.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2014
Classy LBD

I wore this dress for a NYE dinner date. It is a very sophisticated and classy dress but because it is fitted, it is still sexy. I found this dress to be true to size and did not have any issues with the straps sliding up, as noted in some other reviews. I was also sitting all night and not dancing, etc., so that may have made a difference. There is some paneling of a different material on the sides, which I did not really notice on the model photo. These panels highlight your waist and make it look tiny! I would recommend this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 3, 2014
Cute LBD, flattering cut and fabric! Can be dressed up or down for any occasion.

I wore this dress for a formal dinner over the holidays. The size 4 fit perfectly throughout the body and the hemline hit just below mid-thigh. The heavy fabric and satiny side panels are very flattering! As in other reviews, the arm holes are a little larger than they appear on the model; hence, I couldn't wear a bra and had to be conscious of my movements to avoid exposing too much side-boob. I wouldn't recommend this dress for dancing or moving around excessively, but it was perfect for a sit-down dinner and drinks. To dress it down a little, I wore black nylons and black suede booties.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
The dress fit true to size, but the top did not lay right.

The dress fit true to size, but the top did not lay right. The armholes and neckline were awkward.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 10, 2014
Sexy and perfect for NYE!

Fit like a glove and looked AMAZING, but if you're going to be walking around or taking your coat on/off, make sure you have a "shoulder sleeve buddy" to fix your shoulders each time you take your coat off and after walking around a while you'll be pulling down on the bottom of the dress as it rides up a bit. I probably could have used a 2, but only ordered this as a backup dress so the size 0 had to do. No problem with "underarm" gaps that some other complained of, but maybe that's a tradeoff with the smaller size. Wore with huge pearls to up the glam factor (and play down the "this might be a bit too tight and short" factor). Perfect NYE dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 161lbs
January 14, 2014
I fell in love!

This dress is both amazingly comfortable and sexy! I originally rented it for New Years and had it sent to my best friend's house so it was there when I arrived. Due to a chance in plans I wasn't able to wear it that night so instead I wore it on a date the next night. It blew my date away! I'm glad I got the 8 and the 10 because I just recently lost a little weight and while the 10 fit, the 8 was made for me. From beginning to end the order process was so easy. I'm never buying another dress that I'll only wear once, instead I will be renting dresses for every occasion from RTR.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×