Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Black Eclipse Dress

$60 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this insanely sexy Halston Heritage off the shoulder dress. Curves, sass, and beauty all in one!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Satin Waist Inset. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

135 reviews

Fit
Small 28
True to Size 102
Large 1
Photos 82
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Felt so confident!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress really flatters in all the right places. While this dress is very form fitting the stretch in the dress makes it very comfortable and not too restricting. Such a sexy dress without being over the top, I loved it!
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

When my husband saw me for the first time dressed for the wedding and he was totally speechless!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a perfect fit. I’m so glad I opted for the size 4 instead of the size 6 as it would have been too big. I am only 5’3”, so it came down closer to the top of my knee not like the model’s picture, but it was perfect for my cousin’s wedding. I was definitely the BEST dressed there! I got so many compliments on the dress and how I looked in it. It was a 10 out of 10!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Fabulous anniversary dinner dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was a great dress! I wore it for a fancy wedding anniversary dinner with my husband and it was exactly what I wanted - classy and a little sexy. It fit perfectly and I really liked the versatility of the sleeves - you can wear them up, down (like the model) or one up and down (like I did) for a little modern twist. The material was really nice and length was great. I would definitely recommend this dress, I was thrilled with it and felt great in it all night long.
Maryann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Absolutely love love love! AMAZING DRESS!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This Dress was very comfortable. It looked great and was true to size. I would definitely rent it again!
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Fun, sexy party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fall wedding. I wanted to go for a fun, flirty yet classic look and I think this dress was perfect for it. It fit me like a glove yet the material does stretch so I was able to dance all night long with no issues. I love how it showed just enough skin to still be sexy, the length was perfect for me. This is a dress I would def buy and wear for multiple occasions. Very happy with this rental.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

The perfect little black dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
By far my favorite dress I have rented so far. Wore this to a 10 year high school reunion at a yacht club. Fit like a glove. I'm typically a 0 or a 2. I rented a 2 and 4 based on the size chart and ended up wearing the 2. Also wore 4 1/2 inch heals with the dress and LOVED the off the shoulder look. It's the perfect "little black dress!"
Stacey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Oct 11, 2012

Fits like a glove. Very comfortable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looks different in person. Tight fit and very comfortable. I really liked this dress.
Sloan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 15, 2012

Would definitely rent again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress! Was very elegant - perfect for the evening wedding that I attended.
valarie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

customer service/quality

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I live in Oregon but the wedding was in NJ, so I planned on having it delivered the day before my flight to NJ. The week of the wedding, I get an email -monday that my dress had shipped and it would be here on the scheduled day (thursday) for my flight -friday. Now, on Tuesday I get a phone call - Uncle had passed and I needed to BE IN NJ on Thurs AM! Not only do I stress about switching my flight around, I won't be home to get my dress for the wedding!! I call RTR's customer service number and am immediately greeted by a gal, which put me at ease that I didn't have to talk to a ROBOT! I tell the gal my dilemma, and at the time my dress was in route and was currently in Iowa. The gal re-routed the dress that was in transit back to their warehouse and sent a completely new (but same) order to my fathers house in NJ and said it would be there the next day! She said it was no problem!?! I couldn't believe it!! And she was right, I got the emails showing it had shipped and made it to my fathers house by noon the next day! What a relief! When I fly home and get the package, the dresses were nicely packaged in garment bags, plastic, with tags like they were brand new dresses! ( I was worried it would come and I'd have to iron the dress from being folded to be delivered ). I was very happy with the fit and look of the dress and everyone complimented me at the wedding. Even though it was just a plain black cocktail dress, the quality was great! I told all my close friends and relatives where I had gotten the dress. I am definitely going to be renting from you guys again! I know they are all going to try it out now, too. THANK YOU SO MUCH RTR!!!! I wish I could remember the gal who I talked to on the phone, because she really made the overall experience very pleasant. Thanks again!
Lara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 22, 2012

Sexy and formal!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved wearing this dress! It fits true to size, even with a padded, strapless bra. You will get compliments! I am definitely renting this one again. Thanks, RTR!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

SO SEXY!!!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am very petite and this dress fit me perfectly, like it was made for me. I LOVED it!!!!!
Kattie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

I glanced at myself in the mirror in the theater and thought, "Wow - I look like a movie star!"

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My friend and I celebrated our birthdays by going to see Wicked. I wore the black eclipse dress with the Badgley Mischka Tiered Deco Earrings and the Chamak by Priya Kakkar Smoky Mirror Bangle set. The dress is gorgeous, but I definitely wouldn't rent it for a wedding - I can't imagine trying to dance in this dress. The off-the-shoulder straps do not stay put, and the bottom of the dress creeps up up up when you walk. Fortunately, most of our evening was sitting. There are 3 ways to wear this dress depending on how you wear the sleeves. I have broad shoulders and can't imagine wearing both sleeves on the side of my arms.
Leah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Beautiful and Classy!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I received so many compliments and it was very flattering to my figure. The material is snug but has some stretch in it. I would recommend going up one size up in this dress.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 11, 2012

Perfect little black dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was near perfect. The material was extremely flattering, the length was perfect for a sexy yet classy fit...and my fiancé loved it! I wasn't able to raise my hands high while dancing because of the way the dress fit on top but I would HIGHLY recommend this gorgeous dress if you want a little black dress that is anything but boring.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Form fitting, but marvelous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for an Interior Design Hall of Fame dinner and the compliments were ENDLESS! I love that it's off the shoulder, so you can show off that collar bone, without feeling like you're showing too much (like maybe with a strapless). I always hesitate to wear strapless dresses, because I feel people just stare at "the girls," but this dress was absolutely perfect. It's tailored well, and the material doesn't bunch at all. Love love love!
EMILY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 23, 2012

Fun party dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a charity event and I loved it. I think it ran true to size, although it's sexier on than the model makes it look in the photos. Material was stretchy and hugs your curves. The only negative is that it would ride up a little when you walked. But for standing around at a party its fabulous!
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Wore this for a holiday party on a Friday evening.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is absolutely stunning. The less you do with it the better. All eyes were on me when I walked by in it. This little black dress is highly recommended and fits like a glove.
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Dec 20, 2012

Super comfortable, versatile and pretty dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was simple, yet gorgeous and very versatile!! I wore it with a jeweled belt to make it a bit fancier, since I wore it to a black tie wedding, but it can definitely be dressed down as well. The fabric is stretchy, and while it fits true to size and well, it wasn't too tight. It was the perfect length for me, but I'm 5'2'', so it might come up a bit higher for someone taller. Definitely would recommend this dress!
Amberlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 18, 2014

SEXY DRESS

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my birthday and I really loved it. It was classy but very form fitting. The neck line is pretty flexible so you can choose how low on your shoulders you wear this one.
linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 19, 2014

tight and sassy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is awesome. the material feels almost like a wetsuit...and is very fitted, but has some stretch to it. Wore it to a charity event...didn't have to lift my arms to dance or anything so I really liked how it hugged my shoulders. Appropriate length....the arm wholes could have been a little smaller, as my bra tended to peak out, but it wasn't horrible. Would rent it again :)
Suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

Hugs you in all the right places

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful, long enough for a formal gala; eye catching form, makes you stand up straight and sucks in your tummy; It was very slimming, but it helps to be in shape. People stopped me about my dress all night! I felt super sexy and chic.
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

I received so many compliments on this dress! It's truly timeless.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 2 and the 4 and ended up wearing the bigger size. The straps did ride up at times but it never looked bad. Timeless dress!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Great dress! But the straps were annoying!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely made me feel sexy, but the straps were so annoying!! I felt constricted. Rent this for a dinner but not a wedding... or any event that involves dancing :(
RTR Customer
Jul 1, 2014

It was so easy! I am definitely going to rent again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was sleek and comfortable. I am 5'11" and it was a great length for a wedding! I was able to dance the night away without feeling uncomfortable. The dress had a lot of give to it which was wonderful. Overall, I definitely recommend renting this dress!!
nd
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Jul 13, 2014

Amazing dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect
karrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 15, 2014

this dress was perfect for a wedding, very comfy. It was very form fitting.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the dress hugged my body perfect. I liked the cut of the dress, showed of my back nicely.
seven
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

get the red one

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
it's a good dress, i got the red one for comparison and it's better. something about the shiny parts of the black dress that makes it look slightly less classy. both are great though so you can't go wrong.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 22, 2014

This dress was fabulous! So many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great and it looked elegant yet sexy! I had a problem with my first dress and RTR overnighted me this dress and it made it perfectly on time. I loved it and so did my husband!
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109 lbs
Aug 15, 2014

?

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very nice. It looks sexy without being slutty. I wore this to a black tie event and I loved it. I would recommend this dress to others.
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

GORGEOUS dress! A little hard to wear, but definitely worth it. Would rent again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was perfect; true to size. Off the shoulder neckline was my favorite part. So flattering!
Sbsp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2014

Loved the fit and style

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is very figure flattering, I ordered up one size for comfort and it fit like a glove. I had to wear a nu bra to prevent the lines from showing under the arms. It would be difficult to wear to a wedding or event where you need to move your arms a lot. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect. Would definitely recommend it!
Jenni
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Oct 14, 2014

WOW!!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding, all I have to say is wow! The dress fit amazing, it was sexy and classy. I received compliments all night. The length was perfect on my petite frame, It hit right above the knee and the panels on the side make your waist tiny! The only drawback was dancing could be difficult at times due to it being off the shoulder, they would ride up a little. I wish I could buy this dress. Loved it!!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Too short for me

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a family event but didn't wear it because it was a bit shorter than I had expected - it looked fantastic when I tried it on and would be great for a party or night out maybe
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Awkward fit but cute idea

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit around the neckline was strange - it wouldn't sit across the shoulders as well as the model in the photos, and it gaped around the arm holes.
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Great dress that fit like a glove. Would definitely recommend it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
very slimming
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 18, 2014

Not for me

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really wanted to like this one! I just couldn't get it to fit right - the top was big, the bottom was tight, it was an odd length, and the scuba type material wasn't my thing. Have to say this one looks better online - not a fan, didn't wear at all.
JD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Didn't end up wearing -- arm holes were huge!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
While this was a cute dress, the arm holes were huge and showed a ton of side boob/my bra in a way that was more trashy than at all sexy. It just didn't work.
Cokie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Fashionable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This is a beautiful dress, perfect for a date night. It was slightly on the small side and is very unforgiving as it is tight and the fabric doesn't have much structure to it. I don't even think you could wear spanx without it showing. The top is a little annoying because if you want to wear a strapless bra with it is cut in a way that it is hard to conceal the under armpit view of the straps unless you are pulling up your dress all night. I just went with a colorful bra and let it show. Overall I felt very modern and high fashion. A nice dress and glad I rented it for a night but not one I would want to buy.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Feb 2, 2015

Pretty dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Great dress, ran a little small but fit decent in the larger size.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

The look....

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
love it.......
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×