Black Eclipse Dress

$60 to buy
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this insanely sexy Halston Heritage off the shoulder dress. Curves, sass, and beauty all in one!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Satin Waist Inset. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
138 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(105)
Small
(28)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2014
Satin side panels and shoulder baring top make for chic cocktail!
I adore this dress and cut. I've already rented and wore this same dress in red. I'm incredibly broad shouldered and felt comfortable on both size 6 and 8 but opted for extra wiggle room (as my event required long periods of sitting) and length that the 8 provided. It's classic, curve hugging, glamorous and my go to order. A must have!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 20, 2014
I didn't wind up wearing this dress. It's a beautiful material but fitted in all the wrong places.
Fits too snug in tummy. Won't work if you have any pudge whatsoever.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2014
I went to an high school friends wedding and thanks to the dress I felt absolutely gorgeous!!
The dress was everything I wanted for the night. I wore pantyhose the beginning of the night be soon after I arrived I took them off because it didn't seem to agree with the dress fabric and kept rising the dress but soon as I took them off I had no problems. I also wish I ordered an 8 instead of a 6, luckily the dress didn't feel too tight but I feel like it would've looked better. Other then that the dress was fun, sexy and stunning!! Thanks RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
Sexy LBD and surprisingly comfortable
This dress is a knockout as long as you have the proper undergarments. I would suggest that anyone with a bust cup larger than a C, get a strapless bustier type bra. The dress is tight, but the fabric is thick so it feels like it really slims and shapes you. However, it can also flatten your bust and make for a strange silhouette if you do a regular strapless bra. The bustier gives a little lift, SO - given the proper bra, it looks awesome. This is not a dancing dress. I wore this to a black tie gala which was perfect. I think for a wedding (where there is way more dancing) it would have been really annoying. Lastly, the arm holes are a little awkward. I think its designed for women with smaller chests, but again, because the fabric is tight and stretchy, it can flatter a larger bust.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2014
Really sexy and classy little black dress!
It fit perfectly!! I felt my armpit was a little exposed but that's hardly a con. I have nothing bad to say about this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2014
v day dress
i didn't end up wearing this dress although my husband loved it. i think the other reviewers captured it great. its prefect for a night you'll just be sitting in one spot and not moving. it also was very tight but in a good way if you like to show off your curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2014
Felt very sexy, but still classy in this dress. Lots of compliments, thanks RTR!
Size 2 fit true to size - normally I wear a 0 and was afraid it would be too big, but it was perfect! Perfect LBD for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 14, 2014
Head-turner!
I loved this dress!!! The neck line was great, but do be careful about 'side boob'. Thankfully I have nothing to worry about there and was able to wear a regular strapless bra without it showing. I can see where that would be an issue if you had any more than an a-cup size chest. I loved the slimming fit all the way through, and it stretched wonderfully so I didn't feel like I was suffocating after we had dinner. My only complaint would be that it rides up when walking. It's not a huge issue, but I noticed it a couple of times. Another fabulous experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2014
Beautiful! Wish I could buy it!
It was very fitted, went up to size 8 so that I felt more comfy. No need for spanx, really hugged in all the right areas!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2014
The dress was classic and fit wonderfully!
The fit was perfect for my body type. I expected it to be form fitting, but it was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 25, 2014
Sexy LBD!
Rented this for a NYE party and it was great! Material is thicker than I expected, and it hugs the body in a very flattering way. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2014
Sleek dress but not comfortable
The off shoulder sleeves were uncomfortable. I expected this and still thought the dress looked nice.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2014
tight but comfortable
I was worried that the dress would show all the flaws of the body shape. But somehow the body-con dress framed my body well and at the same time really comfortable. Love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 31, 2014
rented for Charlotte Fashion Week and fit right in!
Loved this dress... it was a comfortable. It was sexy without being too revealing and the fabric was good quality. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 17, 2014
Knock out, little black dress!!!
I normally wear a size for but ordered back up size2. Very happy i did because this dress is meant to be sexy, small & tight! Shoulders/neckline is supper flattering.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 16, 2014
Great Dress/ Great Experience!
First time ordering. The dress and the experience were both wonderful! The dress was comfy and stunning, which in my opinion is the best combination. I can't wait to order again! I looked and felt beautiful!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2014
Beautiful, but hard to move arms!
The dress fit true to size and was stunning! It was very elegant and sexy at the same time. However the off the shoulder top made it very difficult to dance. I felt like I couldn't move my arms so there were some pretty awkward hugs going on. Also there was a huge hole for your arm. I'm not sure if this would be the case for someone with a smaller chest but I had to be careful when posing for pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 161lbs
January 14, 2014
I fell in love!
This dress is both amazingly comfortable and sexy! I originally rented it for New Years and had it sent to my best friend's house so it was there when I arrived. Due to a chance in plans I wasn't able to wear it that night so instead I wore it on a date the next night. It blew my date away! I'm glad I got the 8 and the 10 because I just recently lost a little weight and while the 10 fit, the 8 was made for me. From beginning to end the order process was so easy. I'm never buying another dress that I'll only wear once, instead I will be renting dresses for every occasion from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 10, 2014
Sexy and perfect for NYE!
Fit like a glove and looked AMAZING, but if you're going to be walking around or taking your coat on/off, make sure you have a "shoulder sleeve buddy" to fix your shoulders each time you take your coat off and after walking around a while you'll be pulling down on the bottom of the dress as it rides up a bit. I probably could have used a 2, but only ordered this as a backup dress so the size 0 had to do. No problem with "underarm" gaps that some other complained of, but maybe that's a tradeoff with the smaller size. Wore with huge pearls to up the glam factor (and play down the "this might be a bit too tight and short" factor). Perfect NYE dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
The dress fit true to size, but the top did not lay right.
The dress fit true to size, but the top did not lay right. The armholes and neckline were awkward.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 3, 2014
Cute LBD, flattering cut and fabric! Can be dressed up or down for any occasion.
I wore this dress for a formal dinner over the holidays. The size 4 fit perfectly throughout the body and the hemline hit just below mid-thigh. The heavy fabric and satiny side panels are very flattering! As in other reviews, the arm holes are a little larger than they appear on the model; hence, I couldn't wear a bra and had to be conscious of my movements to avoid exposing too much side-boob. I wouldn't recommend this dress for dancing or moving around excessively, but it was perfect for a sit-down dinner and drinks. To dress it down a little, I wore black nylons and black suede booties.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2014
Classy LBD
I wore this dress for a NYE dinner date. It is a very sophisticated and classy dress but because it is fitted, it is still sexy. I found this dress to be true to size and did not have any issues with the straps sliding up, as noted in some other reviews. I was also sitting all night and not dancing, etc., so that may have made a difference. There is some paneling of a different material on the sides, which I did not really notice on the model photo. These panels highlight your waist and make it look tiny! I would recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 15, 2013
Loved it, got tons of compliments!
The dress fits very nicely. Runs very true to size. Thank you RTR!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2013
Comfortable, cute and classic
Great, classic and comfortable dress. The only downfall is that it tends to ride up if you're walking up stairs.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 7, 2013
Beautiful Dress..
This dress is so pretty. It's classy and looks great on. Because it's so form fitting I had one issue with it; for some reason the bottom of the zipper was creating a little bulge and it looked like I had a small tail. I really wish I could have worn it, but that was a deal breaker! Otherwise, great style, beautiful fit and looks even better in person.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 5, 2013
Cute dress. Weird fit.
The dress was cute but it fit awkwardly. I rented size 0 and size 2 but both were cut in so far under my armpit that it showed too much of the sides of my chest making it inappropriate for the wedding I was attending. So unfortunately I did not wear the dress. The dress might be better for someone with a smaller chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2013
body hugging, sexy, comfortable!
i am still trying to find a photo as i wore this last april to a wedding... this dress was form fitting and accentuates all of your curves. very sexy! the material is stretchy so it is very comfortable. i wore a nude strapless and it did not show through the arm holes. the length was perfect, a bit longer than on the model - classy... if only my shoes that night were as comfy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 2, 2013
Classic look
Overall I loved this dress, however the straps are a bit tricky. In some photos they make a look a bit awkward if they lower on you and the bust area is a bit looser-- a bulge is created. I only noticed it a few times so it's not a big issue. Ideally I would have loved to wear my usual size (4) but I was a bit bigger at the time. Also - the band is a lot thinner that how it looks on the model. I think had the bust/ribcage area fit me better and had I been able to wear the 4, the straps may have laid nicer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 25, 2013
Pretty but don't plan on dancing!
This is a very elegant dress. Sexy and slimming and fits perfectly. The only thing is that if you lift up your arms, the shoulder sleeves move around and get messed up. You have to monitor them throughout the night. Good for a dinner party; not good for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2013
Too small
Ordered a size 8, which I wear pretty much across the board, but the dress was just too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 14, 2013
It was a gorgeous dress and I got so many compliments on it!
Perfect fit...couldnt have asked for a more comfortable dress. However, the dress does ride up while moving so be careful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
September 13, 2013
Fun and flattering LBD.
This dress was great. As other reviewers have mentioned, the straps were a bit annoying, but I ended up wearing one off the shoulder and it worked out great. I got a ton of compliments and had a wonderful time in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2013
Disappointing dress
I have rented this dress twice now, hoping that a 4 would fit me after the 2 I had previously ordered was wayyy too small. I am usually a size 2 so I thought the 4 would definitely fit me, but even the 4 was way too short and tight. I don't think sizing up to 6 or 8 would've helped either -- I really wanted to make this dress work since I love the off-the-shoulder look, but the dress was the least flattering dress I've tried from RTR on my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2013
I NEED this dress!!
This dress was absolutely amazing! It fit like a glove and was the perfect combination of sexy and sophisticated at the same time. It does have some stretch to it and the side underarm area is pretty open so you couldn't wear a regular bra with it, not even a strapless. I wore the Nubra, but if i had big enough boobs i'd probably go braless! You will not be disappointed :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
June 23, 2013
Stepping out of my comfort zone by wearing something I normally wouldn't and feeling really sexy.
Although it's fit was true to size this dress is meant to be tighter than clothes I typically wear, so it took me a while to feel comfortable going out in it. However, once I was out I was approached by a number of guys which is a-typical for me; needless to say that boosted my confidence and I had a great night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2013
not YMCA proof, but sleek
This dress fit like a glove, DEF need spanx to smooth out any bumps. I loved the idea and look of the dress, sadly it did not pass my YMCA dance move test, the straps would have been a pain if you were planning on doing any dancing. I would consider renting this is i was standing still with my arms at my side all night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 14, 2013
The dress was great, I got lots of compliments and felt very pretty!
I wear a 0 or 2 in dresses usually, and the 2 fit perfectly. It is definitely form-fitting, so you have to be comfortable in that sort of thing (which I sometimes am not). But my boyfriend absolutely LOVED it. And it was form-fitting but also very classy. I only wore one sleeve which I thought looked nice and felt much more comfortable. It did ride up a little while dancing, but I definitely still danced the night away, luckily I'm not super tall! All in all, a great dress, and RTR was awesome and got here quickly when I was in a pinch!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 4, 2013
The perfect little black dress!
This dress was a show stopper! Classy and sexy! My boyfriend loved it. People gave me numerous compliments and I felt absolutely gorgeous in it. I wish I owned!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2013
BEAUTIFUL! AND V FLATTERING!
If you want something that accentuates your body shape this is the dress for you!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 25, 2013
I felt sexy and classy!
The dress is definitely true to size. I would go with your usual dress size and one up. The fit is very flattering and snug, yet comfortable. After a long dinner and two hour Cirque show, I was still comfortable in it! I never once needed to lift my arms up, but I can see how the thick straps can rise up. Fortunately, they stayed in place all night. The dress does bunch up a little while walking, but that's typical with this type of material. I personally don't think you can wear a strapless bra with it. The openings under the arms are quite large, so you could totally see a bra, and just very very minor side boob. I chose to wear a seamless adhesive bra, similar to the Nubra, but I got mine at Target for much less, and it looked great. I was also able to wear my higher power Spanx with no detection because the dress was long enough. I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×