Wedding Cake Dress

$109 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
269 reviews
Fit
Large
(109)
True to Size
(123)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2012
This dress is not for small busted ladies.
I rented this dress as a back up for a formal Navy ceremony. This dress definitely for small busted ladies. The top of the dress did not fit me at all- extremely baggy. It ran to my knees also. I loved the print of the dress. It is definitely more gold than it shows in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 20, 2012
The dress was used for my engagement pics.
The dress straps were very long, but that is really the only problem with the dress. The outside material is semi scratchy, and the dress is not bright white. It worked for what I needed in the pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2012
Perfect for sorority masquerade formal!
Beautiful dress, love the feminine cut. Both the 4 and the 6 fit me fine, if you have a thinner waist you could size down in this dress if you want the top to be more fitted.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
December 7, 2012
First homecoming dance
Beautiful Dress! I loved it and everyone loved it as well!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 16, 2012
This is a gorgeous dress, I got a ton of compliments but it did run too big.
Beautiful fabric, runs big and straps are really long.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Easy to rent, okay fit.
This was my first time renting a dress via internet without trying a dress on before purchasing. The renting and returning process was easy. The dress fit great in certain places but was a bit loose around the waist area and of course you can't alter it so that was a bit of a bummer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 27, 2013
This dress was perfect for my bridal shower. It's a lot prettier in person but runs large!
This dress was awesome! It fits large and the straps were long but overall I felt great all day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2013
Beautiful fabric, ran large.
I got this dress as a back-up for my senior formal. The fabric was gorgeous, thick, and textured. The cut would have been flattering if not for the abnormally large bust. I'm petite and couldn't fill out the top, and the shoulders were way too big. If you have broader shoulders and a bigger bust, it would probably look great! Luckily it was only a back-up and the dress I planned on wearing fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
February 12, 2013
Highly Recommend!!!
The dress is beautiful!! I received compliments all night, not to mention it was very comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 26, 2013
Classy, but awkward fit
I rented both the 4 and the 6. I found the dress to be tight and loose in the wrong places. The 4 fit better on me, but it was way too tight in the chest area. I am a 34 small C. I would have worn it without a bra, but the shoulders in the dress were way too loose, so I was afraid that It would slip down. I wore the 6 and I felt like it was a little too big, and made me look larger than I am. Overall I thought the dress was really cute, If I owned it, I would have had it tailored.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2013
Perfect for my bachelorette dinner!!
The straps on this are long so I ended up sizing down. The heavy material was very flattering. I loved wearing this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2013
Runs REALLY big!
This dress runs EXTREMELY large. I ordered it as a backup and definitely didn't end up wearing either of the sizes I got. I am usually a 2, so ordered a 2 and a 4. The two was so big that I'm not even sure a 0 would have fit. I have a very small chest, so that was really big, but it was even super loose in the hips. Also, the fabric looked and felt cheap. I wouldn't recommend this dress to small figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 17, 2013
Straps are too long!
This was my first choice to wear to my bridal shower. But when I tried it on the straps were just too long. It was not comfortable. If I pinned the straps to make it fit better the bunched up fabric was very noticeable on my shoulder. I would recommend this dress to someone with a long torso. The bottom of the dress looked amazing. It was unfortunate that the straps were too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 29, 2013
Great look but a little too short.
I really loved this dress and it worked out well for my engagement photos. I didnt give it 5 stars because of the length...I would have prefered to wear a size smaller which would have fit my waist better however it was so short i couldn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Everyone kept complimenting how classy I looked and my date was left speechless
I'm normally a size 4 but the dress is only fitted in the waist so the 2 was perfect. It was definitely a good idea to order a size down. It emphasized how small my waist was and the bubble skirt covered my big butt. The only thing was the straps were slightly to large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2013
Not what I expected.
I was very excited to get this dress I thought it was gorgeous on the model and was hoping it would be the same on me. It wasn't. Maybe I'm too short for the dress. The shoulders didn't fit me well and the length was almost to my knees. The fit was all off and the pattern reminded me of my grandmas curtains. It was nothing like I thought it would be. A major disappointment and I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2013
Cute but not super comfortable
I love the idea of this dress and think it could be great if tailored. For me, the straps were too long and the bust too tight. I usually wear a 4, but there's no way those straps were staying on, and there was a huge gap in the back. So luckily I had a back-up size 2 which still didn't fit great. It squeezed my chest which wasn't flattering because it's also VERY low cut; but at least the straps were a little tighter. Overall it was still cute for my bridal shower and I got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2013
Cute, classy but way too big
The shoulder straps were so long/big that I had to return the dress and did not wear it
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2013
Really cute!
The dress would've been perfect if I could have ordered a 2. It was way too big on me. But very pretty fabric and I'm very upset it didn't work out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2013
Cute, easy-to-wear dress
While it did reveal a large amount of cleavage, it was a great dress that I loved wearing. Very flattering around the waist and hides a bra perfectly. Absolutely loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2013
Nice dress, but didn't wear...
It was a really nice dress that I saw on Anthropologie's website, but when I received it, it was a weird shape. The size 6 was too big up top for me and in size 4, it smushed my boobs. So I ended wearing a dress from Saks that I bought for my engagement party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 16, 2013
Very cute dress!
Straps were really long so I had to pin them back but overall the dress fit well.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2013
unlike anyone else's, comfortable, flattering
The cut is great for any shape, it was totally comfortable and fit like a glove. Best worn with a statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2013
Loved the detail in the dress and the style
I wore this after my wedding reception so I could go out and still feel bridal. The straps were really big and kept slipping, but the dress was so pretty that I didn't mind. Definitely runs big
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2013
It was a sad moment!
I'm sad to report this but I never actually got wear the dress. I rented it for my wedding as my second dress. Once I actually tried on the dress it was to big :-(. My wedding was the next day so it was to late to return the dress. Over all I was sad I couldn't wear the dress but I have to say that the over all RTR experience was quick and easy. I hope to rent from RTR again in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 9, 2013
Perfect dress for my bridal shower!
This dress is beautiful on! I received so many compliments! I added a skinny braided gold belt & wore neutral pumps. The straps were a little long for me but I wore the rental necklace that took up chest room. Otherwise I felt bare without it. The dress hit me just above the knee which was good for my event. Def recommend this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 17, 2013
People lit up when they saw me and gushed over how beautiful I looked. It was a winner!
This dress runs big so definitely go down a size in this dress for a perfect fit. I usually wear an 8 and the size 6 fit perfect. Some people said they found the skirt to be too wide but I feel like its just right since the dress really accentuates your waist line. This dress is ladylike sexiness! So if that's what you are looking for do it! I rocked it for my Winter White birthday party but its versatile to wear when and where ever you want.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2013
My boyfriend couldn't stop staring at me!
I'm 5'8", and the bodice fit well! Great fit- I typically wear a size 2 in most designers on RTR, and I wore the 0. Definitely make your backup size a smaller size. Loved this dress! Make sure to have a statement earrings or necklace, or a belt because the dress needs "something" to make it all come together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2013
Great dress for sorority formal, but fit is a little strange
The straps for the shoulders on this were strangely large. I'm pretty busty for my height and still had room in the front. I would have worn the 2 since the waist fit better, but had to go with the zero because of the shoulder/bust area. Otherwise gorgeous dress, the fabric has almost a brocade feel. Very easy to dress up.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 8, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal with the Kate Spade Marquee necklace. Same complaints as others - the straps are far too long! I was able to pin them and it looked fine. It runs a little large, I usually wear a 4 but the 2 fit well. This was actually my back-up dress. The material is heavy, it kind of feels like you're wearing a curtain - but it's beautiful and I got many, many compliments. Makes your waist look small!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
July 10, 2013
That I felt really comfortable and gorgeous.
The dress was perfect for me, I'm completely happy, my wedding ceremony was incredible beautiful more than I was spectated.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2013
Elegant and classy dress!
I wore this dress for a night out with the gals. It looks great with a statement necklace and gold heels. The material is quite thick, which I didn't expect, but it wasn't a bad thing! Since I'm tall it hit me in the same spot as the model on the website, but I can see it being quite long on others. Not sure if that's helpful, but I felt like mentioning it! I would recommend this for a brunch, dinner date, or afternoon garden party type of event. It's not quite right for a night out dancing at bars, but I made it work :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
August 30, 2013
Runs large
The material is heavy. I would equate it to drapery and wear it during the winter. Cute though, but I didn't wear it. Returned it for an Erin Fetherston dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2013
straps and waist disproportionate
I rented this dress to wear to my law school graduation. The dress fits very weird as the waist was super tight and the dress short but the straps wayyy too long. I couldn't even pin them without it looking terrible because there was just too much material. The straps would have to have been undone and completely altered in order for this to fit me. Maybe if you have an abnormally long torso this could work? Its a shame because the material is beautiful!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2013
Such a gorgeous, detailed dress that was easy and fun!
I anticipated this dress for 5 months from when i ordered it, because I wanted to use RTR so badly! My friend and I rented together (she is the blonde in the other picture wearing the red Parker Flavor of the Month Dress that is not available anymore) and loved the process! The Wedding Cake Dress is definitely not bright white, it's more of an off white/ivory color, and the straps are REALLY long, so you might need fashion tape. It worked ok for me. The size fit well, maybe a TAD bit big, but it was mostly the straps that made it big. I felt very comfortable with the length, not to short or too long! I wore this for my high school's homecoming, and some girls had on dresses that, well, were not as classy as I'd say this dress is. Also, the quality was out-the-door fantastic by Erin Fetherstone. Loved having a designer dress on!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2013
This dress runs large.
I rented the 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the 0 (which still was too big). It was a little loose in the stomach area, which wasn't a big deal. But I had to pin the straps and make this ugly fold for it fit right. If you have a small torso, this dress is not for you. Other then that, the material is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
GORGEOUS material, waaaaay awkward straps.
I just did not have luck this time around with the two dresses I rented for my wedding weekend events (sadly). The dress is gorgeous. The material is amazing. I loved the overall look, however, the straps are an EXTREMELY awkward size. Difficult to explain. The waste fit fine, but straps run WAAAAAY large. I felt like I was fidgeting all night because I kept pulling on the straps in hopes that they would not fall off.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2013
Was Not Very Appealing
Paying attention to the past reviews I ordered a 0 and a 2 when I usually order a 2 and 4. For this event I wore a 0 because the 2's straps were longer. The dress overall was gorgeous, and it stands out. Especially at a high school homecoming where most girls where black sleezy dresses. Yet the overall fit was poor. In multiple pictures I looked three sizes bigger then I was really was. The straps were too long and folded out in the back. I thought having a long torso the straps would be fine but there were too long. I would not suggest this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2013
I ordered this dress for my bridal shower. It was perfect for the event!
The only issue with the dress was that it was just too big. I ordered the size 4 and 2 and had them shipped to my parents house as my shower was being held there and I was not coming into town until the night before. I arrived and tried the dresses on. I really should have ordered the size 0 but made due with the size 2 and just kept standing tall and had people pull the middle in from behind when taking pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
great dress
longer than it looks on the model
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×