Wedding Cake Dress

$109 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
269 reviews
Fit
Large
(107)
True to Size
(123)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Easy to rent, okay fit.
This was my first time renting a dress via internet without trying a dress on before purchasing. The renting and returning process was easy. The dress fit great in certain places but was a bit loose around the waist area and of course you can't alter it so that was a bit of a bummer.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
I had to return it.
This dress had a very awkward fit. The straps were too long in both the 8 and the 10 and in both dresses the bottom half of the slip was too tight. The way the zipper was sewn in the lining and the dress made a very noticeable bump on my butt and made the fit horrible. I have been happy with previous rentals but this dress was not satisfactory.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
Great Winter Special occasion dress!
It is a great fit, but since I am very petite the straps were very long. I pinned them in the back so they would fit, and paired it with a small cardigan.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress!
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. I loved it because of course it is like mini beautiful wedding dress! It is not perfect white it is ivory with a gold tint to it. It photographs so beautifully. I am 5'9" so I did not have the same problems with the straps that other reviewers have mentioned. It was the perfect dress to start the wedding celebrations off right!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 13, 2013
So many compliments!
I had so many compliments on this dress! I wore it for my senior social and out of the majority of the girls that were there I was definitely\y dressed the most classy and the most mature. The straps were a little big, but it just helped me to keep my posture up!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2013
Dress was OK - the fabric is think and slightly itchy but its a nice dress.
A little long, i am 5'4''. Also will work will for bustier girl - i am a 32b
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
January 27, 2013
This dress was perfect for my bridal shower. It's a lot prettier in person but runs large!
This dress was awesome! It fits large and the straps were long but overall I felt great all day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 3, 2013
This dress was very pretty but I chose to wear another dress.
I rented this dress for my bridal shower as a back up and I decided to go with the other dress. I really did like this dress but I liked the other Erin bridal dress better. I still would recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2013
Beautiful fabric, ran large.
I got this dress as a back-up for my senior formal. The fabric was gorgeous, thick, and textured. The cut would have been flattering if not for the abnormally large bust. I'm petite and couldn't fill out the top, and the shoulders were way too big. If you have broader shoulders and a bigger bust, it would probably look great! Luckily it was only a back-up and the dress I planned on wearing fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2013
I LOVED THIS DRESS - IT WAS FOR MY WINTER FORMAL <3
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL DRESS - EVERYONE LOVED IT - THANKS RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
February 12, 2013
Highly Recommend!!!
The dress is beautiful!! I received compliments all night, not to mention it was very comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
Awesome surprise! Feels more formal than the photo looks
I didn't originally order this dress but it was sent to me in lieu of another dress I ordered that got damaged and couldn't be sent. Thought the sylists at RTR did a great job choosing this for me and I LOVED the style and fit, it was just too fancy for the baptism I rented it for! The fabric is substantial enough that I felt structured and "contained" in my "problem" areas (ie my tummy). Would definitely order it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 26, 2013
Classy, but awkward fit
I rented both the 4 and the 6. I found the dress to be tight and loose in the wrong places. The 4 fit better on me, but it was way too tight in the chest area. I am a 34 small C. I would have worn it without a bra, but the shoulders in the dress were way too loose, so I was afraid that It would slip down. I wore the 6 and I felt like it was a little too big, and made me look larger than I am. Overall I thought the dress was really cute, If I owned it, I would have had it tailored.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2013
It was the perfect dress for my engagement photos.
I ended up returning it and buying the dress to own since it was on clearance on her website. I needed the straps take up a couple inches and had it take in at the waist a bit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2013
Wore it to my bridal shower
Love the floral details, fit perfectly. Sweet and delicate, yet super fun and flirty
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2013
Perfect for my bachelorette dinner!!
The straps on this are long so I ended up sizing down. The heavy material was very flattering. I loved wearing this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2013
Runs REALLY big!
This dress runs EXTREMELY large. I ordered it as a backup and definitely didn't end up wearing either of the sizes I got. I am usually a 2, so ordered a 2 and a 4. The two was so big that I'm not even sure a 0 would have fit. I have a very small chest, so that was really big, but it was even super loose in the hips. Also, the fabric looked and felt cheap. I wouldn't recommend this dress to small figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 17, 2013
Straps are too long!
This was my first choice to wear to my bridal shower. But when I tried it on the straps were just too long. It was not comfortable. If I pinned the straps to make it fit better the bunched up fabric was very noticeable on my shoulder. I would recommend this dress to someone with a long torso. The bottom of the dress looked amazing. It was unfortunate that the straps were too long.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2013
Perfect!
This dress is beautiful! I wish I didn't have to send it back. I went to a Barrister's Ball (law school prom) in it and it was very appropriate. Dress came 2" above my knee and the straps were a tad long for my torso. Had to pin it up. One thing I didn't like a lot was the feel of the material. Don't get me wrong- it looked so pretty, but it was kind of scratchy. I rented the 10 when I normally wear an 8 and it was fine. I just didn't want to feel like a sausage after the three course meal. The shape of the dress is SUPER complimentary too. OVERALL, I got a ton of compliments and I felt like a model. RENT IT
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 29, 2013
Great look but a little too short.
I really loved this dress and it worked out well for my engagement photos. I didnt give it 5 stars because of the length...I would have prefered to wear a size smaller which would have fit my waist better however it was so short i couldn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Everyone kept complimenting how classy I looked and my date was left speechless
I'm normally a size 4 but the dress is only fitted in the waist so the 2 was perfect. It was definitely a good idea to order a size down. It emphasized how small my waist was and the bubble skirt covered my big butt. The only thing was the straps were slightly to large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2013
Not what I expected.
I was very excited to get this dress I thought it was gorgeous on the model and was hoping it would be the same on me. It wasn't. Maybe I'm too short for the dress. The shoulders didn't fit me well and the length was almost to my knees. The fit was all off and the pattern reminded me of my grandmas curtains. It was nothing like I thought it would be. A major disappointment and I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
April 12, 2013
I FELT LIKE A PRINCESS
I RENTED THIS FOR MY BRIDAL SHOWER, AND IT FIT ME LIKE A GLOVE. I FELT LIKE THE PRINCESS OF MY PARTY. RENT THE RUNWAY WAS ABLE TO WORK WITH ME, WHEN THEY DIDNT HAVE ANOTHER DRESS I ORDERED BC SOMEONE DIDNT RETURN IT. OTHER THAN THAT ITS WAS FAB!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 19, 2013
Lovely and unique
Like everyone else has commented, this dress is more ivory than white with such a beautifully-detailed embroidery pattern throughout. I also had to pin the straps. Not sure if I tried to squeeze into too-small a size but the dress hit a bit high (natural waist-ish) it felt 60's retro in a fun, flirty way! Lots of compliments on this dress
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2013
Cute but not super comfortable
I love the idea of this dress and think it could be great if tailored. For me, the straps were too long and the bust too tight. I usually wear a 4, but there's no way those straps were staying on, and there was a huge gap in the back. So luckily I had a back-up size 2 which still didn't fit great. It squeezed my chest which wasn't flattering because it's also VERY low cut; but at least the straps were a little tighter. Overall it was still cute for my bridal shower and I got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2013
Cute, classy but way too big
The shoulder straps were so long/big that I had to return the dress and did not wear it
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Classy and stunning!
This dress was awesome! I didn't want anything too over the top for my friends junior prom, so I chose this short, cream dress. When it arrived I was thrown off because the color is actually cream and not white like it shows in the models picture (most close to the second picture). Clearly, in pictures it shows up as white. The dress has exquisite detailing with thick lace. Over the course of the night my arms did chaff against the sides. The torso piece did fit a little tight, which I did not mind at all However, the arms on the dress were a little loose, yet I could not have gone a size lower due to my torso. I felt so elegant in this dress, like Marilyn Monroe!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2013
Not what I expected.
I will admit, it was my fault for not paying closer attention to the details of the dress. I got the dress for my engagement photos and sent it back the same day. However, I did not expect the fabric, I had assumed it would be a lighter fabric, it was heavier and more like my grandma's drapes. If you know this, then you will love the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2013
Really cute!
The dress would've been perfect if I could have ordered a 2. It was way too big on me. But very pretty fabric and I'm very upset it didn't work out!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2013
The number of compliments I got for this dress. AND the free Neutrogena products!
I have 2 critiques for this dress.. 1) The straps are too long (had to use safety pins). 2) The fabric is beautiful but it can be a little itchy at the underarm area.. like it starts to be a little painful/irritating. But other than that, I got so many compliments for this dress and I felt really pretty in it :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2013
Cute, easy-to-wear dress
While it did reveal a large amount of cleavage, it was a great dress that I loved wearing. Very flattering around the waist and hides a bra perfectly. Absolutely loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
May 13, 2013
Love this dress! I am now a fan of Erin Fetherston!
I was worried about the fit so I ordered this as my second dress. The straps were a little long on me like others mentioned, but I wore it to my bridal brunch and I wasn't going to wear it that long so I didn't care! I love love love the shape of this dress! So feminine and classic. I would want to own this if it weren't for the long straps! The fabric is much thicker than expected but very pretty. I loved both Erin Fetherston dresses I rented and even wore one of her dresses that I own to another event that weekend. Will definitely rent one of her dresses again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2013
Nice dress, but didn't wear...
It was a really nice dress that I saw on Anthropologie's website, but when I received it, it was a weird shape. The size 6 was too big up top for me and in size 4, it smushed my boobs. So I ended wearing a dress from Saks that I bought for my engagement party.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 15, 2013
I rented this dress for my bridal shower-it was BEYOND perfect! It photographs really well :)
I had read many of the reviews and checked out a lot of the other girls's pictures and I found the reviews and pictures to be very accurate. The size fits true to form, and just like the other girls said, the straps were long (I do have a short torso) and I pinned them back and they were fine. I got many compliments and felt great! I was so happy with this dress, and with the company, that I am renting another dress for an upcoming wedding, one for my bachelorette, and one for my dress rehearsal!
DianaOctober 3, 2013
Just curious, how did you pin the sleeves back? Up top or at the bottom near your back? THANKS! Looks great :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 16, 2013
Very cute dress!
Straps were really long so I had to pin them back but overall the dress fit well.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2013
unlike anyone else's, comfortable, flattering
The cut is great for any shape, it was totally comfortable and fit like a glove. Best worn with a statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was a back up, but it is a beautiful material!!
I am 5'9'' and it was very short and also very tight around the bust, but still a very beautiful fabric and design, if you have pale skin just be weary that it could wash you out
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 31, 2013
Perfect dress for a bride (with lots of fashion tape)
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner. The waist fit perfectly on the 4 but the straps were huge. I ended up taping/folding over almost two inches. I wore a shawl to cover the back because the folds looked awkward. The a-line is also a little more intense than pictured on the model.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
I was so excited for wear this for my graduation but found the dress awkward and unflattering.
As much as I wanted to love this dress, I found the bust area fit awkwardly, so much so that I had to return both sizes to RTR. The straps were too long on both the size 4 and 6 for me, and despite the size 4 fitting almost everywhere else, the bust area smushed my chest and was extremely unflattering. The size 6 was too large, again with the exception of the bust area. I would not recommend renting this dress if you are over a D cup, or do not have a long enough torso to accommodate the straps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2013
Loved the detail in the dress and the style
I wore this after my wedding reception so I could go out and still feel bridal. The straps were really big and kept slipping, but the dress was so pretty that I didn't mind. Definitely runs big
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×