ERIN erin fetherston

Wedding Cake Dress

$60 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look sweet as ever in this super feminine frock by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Perfect for a bridal shower or brunch with your girlfriends. Shown here with the Kendra Scott's Grayce Necklace and Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and straps run slightly on the long side
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra or a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Cream jacquard(100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

224 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 108
Large 98
Photos 127
Diane
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Classy, timeless & beautiful! Perfect for soon to be brides!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Smallest part of the dress is the waist. The straps run a bit long so you annot wear a bra.
Ann
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Everyone loved it!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
it was a little big.. but not too bad. the material was a little itchy but i looked awesome!
MARYNA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

I LOVED THIS DRESS - IT WAS FOR MY WINTER FORMAL <3

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
THIS WAS A WONDERFUL DRESS - EVERYONE LOVED IT - THANKS RTR!
Lynsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Feb 12, 2013

Highly Recommend!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is beautiful!! I received compliments all night, not to mention it was very comfortable to wear.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2013

I wore this dress to my engagement party and received tons of compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was happy with the quality of fabric of the dress. It was fully lined. The straps were slightly too big, but not enough to worry about. I liked the shape of the dress and how it accented my curves. Many of my girlfriends agreed that it was very flattering.
ksm44
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Classy, but awkward fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented both the 4 and the 6. I found the dress to be tight and loose in the wrong places. The 4 fit better on me, but it was way too tight in the chest area. I am a 34 small C. I would have worn it without a bra, but the shoulders in the dress were way too loose, so I was afraid that It would slip down. I wore the 6 and I felt like it was a little too big, and made me look larger than I am. Overall I thought the dress was really cute, If I owned it, I would have had it tailored.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

It was the perfect dress for my engagement photos.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ended up returning it and buying the dress to own since it was on clearance on her website. I needed the straps take up a couple inches and had it take in at the waist a bit.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Perfect for my bachelorette dinner!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The straps on this are long so I ended up sizing down. The heavy material was very flattering. I loved wearing this dress and would definitely rent it again!
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2013

Perfect for my Bridal Shower!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely perfect and fit me like a glove. Everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it from. Many reviewers had issues with the longer straps, but for me they were the perfect length. Recommend this dress for any wedding activity!
Ele
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

Perfect!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful! I wish I didn't have to send it back. I went to a Barrister's Ball (law school prom) in it and it was very appropriate. Dress came 2" above my knee and the straps were a tad long for my torso. Had to pin it up. One thing I didn't like a lot was the feel of the material. Don't get me wrong- it looked so pretty, but it was kind of scratchy. I rented the 10 when I normally wear an 8 and it was fine. I just didn't want to feel like a sausage after the three course meal. The shape of the dress is SUPER complimentary too. OVERALL, I got a ton of compliments and I felt like a model. RENT IT
Jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 8, 2013

I absolutely love this dress and I received so many compliments! I wore it to the ACM's for work!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is a great fabric and great fit. However, they did not have a size 2 so I could only go with the 4 and the other reviews were spot on - the straps are big. I tried to use fashion tape and also pin the straps but neither worked. I would recommend going a size smaller!
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Everyone kept complimenting how classy I looked and my date was left speechless

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm normally a size 4 but the dress is only fitted in the waist so the 2 was perfect. It was definitely a good idea to order a size down. It emphasized how small my waist was and the bubble skirt covered my big butt. The only thing was the straps were slightly to large.
S_C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Lovely and unique

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like everyone else has commented, this dress is more ivory than white with such a beautifully-detailed embroidery pattern throughout. I also had to pin the straps. Not sure if I tried to squeeze into too-small a size but the dress hit a bit high (natural waist-ish) it felt 60's retro in a fun, flirty way! Lots of compliments on this dress
Lainey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

great dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
longer than it looks on the model
Meg
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Classy and stunning!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was awesome! I didn't want anything too over the top for my friends junior prom, so I chose this short, cream dress. When it arrived I was thrown off because the color is actually cream and not white like it shows in the models picture (most close to the second picture). Clearly, in pictures it shows up as white. The dress has exquisite detailing with thick lace. Over the course of the night my arms did chaff against the sides. The torso piece did fit a little tight, which I did not mind at all However, the arms on the dress were a little loose, yet I could not have gone a size lower due to my torso. I felt so elegant in this dress, like Marilyn Monroe!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
May 7, 2013

Cute, easy-to-wear dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
While it did reveal a large amount of cleavage, it was a great dress that I loved wearing. Very flattering around the waist and hides a bra perfectly. Absolutely loved it.
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 8, 2013

I wore this to prom at my school and it was a huge hit! I felt so pretty :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great for me as I am pretty tall. If you're shorter than I am, though, the straps may be a little long. I usually wear a 6 but I fit into a 4. The 6 also fit but I liked the snugness of the 4. Overall I loved it! The waist of the dress made me look like I had a waist when I'm actually very lacking in that department. I would definitely wear it again!
Kori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
May 13, 2013

Love this dress! I am now a fan of Erin Fetherston!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was worried about the fit so I ordered this as my second dress. The straps were a little long on me like others mentioned, but I wore it to my bridal brunch and I wasn't going to wear it that long so I didn't care! I love love love the shape of this dress! So feminine and classic. I would want to own this if it weren't for the long straps! The fabric is much thicker than expected but very pretty. I loved both Erin Fetherston dresses I rented and even wore one of her dresses that I own to another event that weekend. Will definitely rent one of her dresses again!
Paulette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 14, 2013

Perfect for bridal shower

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is very classic and pretty with the flattering v-neck line with slight volume in the skirt. The fabric is on the heavy side but I stayed cool. As other reviewers have mentioned the straps on the dress are a little too long. I have a large chest and even though it was a little snug in the bust, the straps were still a little too long.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
May 15, 2013

I rented this dress for my bridal shower-it was BEYOND perfect! It photographs really well :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had read many of the reviews and checked out a lot of the other girls's pictures and I found the reviews and pictures to be very accurate. The size fits true to form, and just like the other girls said, the straps were long (I do have a short torso) and I pinned them back and they were fine. I got many compliments and felt great! I was so happy with this dress, and with the company, that I am renting another dress for an upcoming wedding, one for my bachelorette, and one for my dress rehearsal!
Noel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 28, 2013

unlike anyone else's, comfortable, flattering

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The cut is great for any shape, it was totally comfortable and fit like a glove. Best worn with a statement necklace.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 31, 2013

Perfect dress for a bride (with lots of fashion tape)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner. The waist fit perfectly on the 4 but the straps were huge. I ended up taping/folding over almost two inches. I wore a shawl to cover the back because the folds looked awkward. The a-line is also a little more intense than pictured on the model.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Straps too long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fabric, but the color wasn't what I was expecting. Looked a little weird against my skin. Pretty dress, but as other reviewers have said, the straps are too long. I also found the bodice pretty loose but I have smallish ribs.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Loved the detail in the dress and the style

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this after my wedding reception so I could go out and still feel bridal. The straps were really big and kept slipping, but the dress was so pretty that I didn't mind. Definitely runs big
Coli
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

The perfect dress for a bride-to-be!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to my rehearsal dinner, and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect for the occasion - fun and flirty, yet fancy enough to fit into the occasion. My friends could not believe how great it looked and how well it fit, especially that it was a rental. I absolutely loved it, and will likely rent it again! The reviews are true - the fabric is a bit scratchy, and the straps a bit large. Otherwise pretty true to size. Pair it with a great pair of pumps and you're set!
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 15, 2013

Perfect for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a perfect choice for my bridal shower. The fabric is gorgeous with rose details and gold thread throughout. As other reviewers have said the straps are very long but I was able to wear the dress as is anyway. By the end of the day my arms were a little scratched from the fabric, but it was so worth it!
Malaika
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Jun 17, 2013

People lit up when they saw me and gushed over how beautiful I looked. It was a winner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs big so definitely go down a size in this dress for a perfect fit. I usually wear an 8 and the size 6 fit perfect. Some people said they found the skirt to be too wide but I feel like its just right since the dress really accentuates your waist line. This dress is ladylike sexiness! So if that's what you are looking for do it! I rocked it for my Winter White birthday party but its versatile to wear when and where ever you want.
Corrie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Perfect classy party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress. Super cute. Comfortable. Fit perfect.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

Loved that in came in a garment bag, great customer service.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I fit in the size 10 but with it being an outdoor bridal shower for myself I picked the 12 so it would be loose since it was 90 degrees out. The straps in the reviews are right, they were too long but it didn't bother me. The fit was so cute and I had so many compliments on it. I will say though after a few hours, the fabric was rubbing against the inside of my arms when I had them down. Other than that I loved the dress and it was a perfect choice for my bridal shower! Thanks RTR.
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

My boyfriend couldn't stop staring at me!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I'm 5'8", and the bodice fit well! Great fit- I typically wear a size 2 in most designers on RTR, and I wore the 0. Definitely make your backup size a smaller size. Loved this dress! Make sure to have a statement earrings or necklace, or a belt because the dress needs "something" to make it all come together.
Malika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 3, 2013

Great dress for sorority formal, but fit is a little strange

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The straps for the shoulders on this were strangely large. I'm pretty busty for my height and still had room in the front. I would have worn the 2 since the waist fit better, but had to go with the zero because of the shoulder/bust area. Otherwise gorgeous dress, the fabric has almost a brocade feel. Very easy to dress up.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 3, 2013

Felt elegant and bridal for my wedding rehearsal

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fabric of this dress is lovely and very well made. It is somewhat heavy, especially for a summer event, but I kept cool enough. As other reviewers have said, the straps are long and will fall down if you don't pin them. Other than that, I loved the dress. It is fitted in the waist and has a cute flare out at the hips. I received many compliments on the dress at my rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. Even my priest told me that if the dress was longer, it could be a wedding dress!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal with the Kate Spade Marquee necklace. Same complaints as others - the straps are far too long! I was able to pin them and it looked fine. It runs a little large, I usually wear a 4 but the 2 fit well. This was actually my back-up dress. The material is heavy, it kind of feels like you're wearing a curtain - but it's beautiful and I got many, many compliments. Makes your waist look small!
jeannie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

That I felt really comfortable and gorgeous.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was perfect for me, I'm completely happy, my wedding ceremony was incredible beautiful more than I was spectated.
Gia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

Beautiful ivory brocade!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. In person, it's more ivory and beige than white, but it photographs so well!! I received a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks wearing it. The straps were just a tad too big, but it wasn't a huge issue. I opted for no strapless bra, although the dress does allow for strapless or regular. I highly recommend it!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Very easy to rent. Arrived on time and return is a cinch!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress, great quality. Although I felt like under the arms were too low because there was to much material for the straps. Also made my hips feel very wide. Overall not my style of dress.
Laurel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Such a gorgeous, detailed dress that was easy and fun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I anticipated this dress for 5 months from when i ordered it, because I wanted to use RTR so badly! My friend and I rented together (she is the blonde in the other picture wearing the red Parker Flavor of the Month Dress that is not available anymore) and loved the process! The Wedding Cake Dress is definitely not bright white, it's more of an off white/ivory color, and the straps are REALLY long, so you might need fashion tape. It worked ok for me. The size fit well, maybe a TAD bit big, but it was mostly the straps that made it big. I felt very comfortable with the length, not to short or too long! I wore this for my high school's homecoming, and some girls had on dresses that, well, were not as classy as I'd say this dress is. Also, the quality was out-the-door fantastic by Erin Fetherstone. Loved having a designer dress on!
Katelin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 7, 2013

I ordered this dress for my engagement party and it was perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric was heavy so it was perfect for fall but also scratchy and I noticed it kept rubbing up against my arms. The straps fit fine, but it ran quite small in the waist but perfect everywhere else. Overall it is a beautiful bride-y dress, and the details of it really pop in photos.
Kasie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

GORGEOUS material, waaaaay awkward straps.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I just did not have luck this time around with the two dresses I rented for my wedding weekend events (sadly). The dress is gorgeous. The material is amazing. I loved the overall look, however, the straps are an EXTREMELY awkward size. Difficult to explain. The waste fit fine, but straps run WAAAAAY large. I felt like I was fidgeting all night because I kept pulling on the straps in hopes that they would not fall off.
Parker
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Was Not Very Appealing

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Paying attention to the past reviews I ordered a 0 and a 2 when I usually order a 2 and 4. For this event I wore a 0 because the 2's straps were longer. The dress overall was gorgeous, and it stands out. Especially at a high school homecoming where most girls where black sleezy dresses. Yet the overall fit was poor. In multiple pictures I looked three sizes bigger then I was really was. The straps were too long and folded out in the back. I thought having a long torso the straps would be fine but there were too long. I would not suggest this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×