So Delicate Dress

$30 rental
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

Look oh so feminine in this chic ERIN Erin Fetherston cream lace party dress. Great for that bride to be for her showers or dinner rehearsal. To dress up this look finish with Lauren Merkin's Gold Eve Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Metallic lace.Crew neckline. Pleated skirt. Satin ribbon at waist. Back keyhole. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
429 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(269)
Small
(50)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2012
Perfect dress
I rented a size 2 and a back up size 4. I found the size 2 to be a little snug in the bust area. I ended up wearing the back up size 4 just to have a little more breathing room, though I could have easily worn the size 2 and would have been happy. This dress was absolutely perfect! The silver threading added the perfect amount of sparkle. I would recommend wearing a slip or nude underwear as it is a bit shear. Will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 21, 2012
cute but short waisted
This dress is darling---the silver metallic lace is perfect for any bridal occasion. I wore it to an evening shower. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and the 2 fit better in the bust and torso. The skirt is very flouncy so beware if you don't like a fuller skirt. The only complaint is that it was a bit high waisted on me. It would probably look better on a much shorter person. It hit me at a weird not-quite-empire waist, which isn't great with a full skirt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2012
The perfect dress for a special occasion
This beautifully made dress was perfect for the occasion...an award ceremony for 15 consecutive years of dance. The shimmer was perfect for the stage. She looked lovely and elegant. So pretty. She received so many complements. Her sister liked the dress so much that she tried on the other size. I snapped a couple of pictures which hope to post just to show the dress on a couple of different body types. One caveat...my daughter is about 5' 1" and the dress was a little long for her liking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2012
Super Cute!
I rented this for a semi-formal hospital fundraiser and received so many compliments on it! It's very classy. Short enough to be sexy and cute, but not so short that you have to worry about bending over. It's quite shear, but long enough to wear a normal skirt slip. I think it runs a little large. I'm a 6 and it was too big in the waist. I almost returned it, but instead found a belt to wear with it. It would have been perfect in a size smaller.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 29, 2012
n/a
I rented the 4 with the 2 for backup; both would have worked, but the 4 felt more comfortable (a bit more room at the waist). Overall, the dress worked out, but I did think it looked better on the hanger than on me. The cut of the waist was not quite empire, but not quite the normal spot, so it hit at a weird place for me. Also, the cut at the shoulders was a bit broader/wider than I'd have liked. However, on the plus side, I loved the material. Just the right amount of shine to make it a little dressier than a casual sundress or party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 19, 2012
Didn't fit like a glove
The fabric of the dress is beautiful but very sheer and without much structure. I expected it to fit similarly to shoshanna and lilly pulitzer dresses, but the waist was much looser as was the bust, while the skirt kind of fell flat. The waist could've been about an inch smaller to greatly improve the fit, and it did not hit at natural waist, but I am short waisted. Undergarments could probably improve this dress, but I didn't have time to find the right ones so I didn't end up wearing it. If you are a petite hourglass or pear shape with small to average bust, I'd recommend a shoshanna instead since they always seem to fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2012
Bridal shower elegance
I wore this dress to my shower and it looked great. It photographed really well and was very comfortable.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
July 4, 2012
received many compliments on this dress. Very unique!
Absolutely loved this dress!!!! It was very delicate and girly. I felt so feminine and pretty in this dress. Perfect for an event or party where you want to feel like a lady. A lot of detail, looks good in pictures but better in person. Also loved the flowy bottom. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 19, 2012
My wedding shower was one of the happiest times of my life and I felt like a beautiful bride in my RTR dress.
I definitely looked the part for my Wedding Shower in this dress. It is very light and comfortable. Everyone raved over the dress and asked me where I got it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
July 23, 2012
Top is too small
The length was great but the top runs small/ tight...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
August 15, 2012
Perfect for the occasion!
I wore this dress to a friends annual summer party. The dress was PERFECT! I was complimented on it the entire time. I was so happy with the fit and felt like a celeb in it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 17, 2012
Everyone asking me where I got my dress and how great it looked!
I got this for a 1 year anniversary party my parents threw for my husband and me. It looked different than expected which freaked me out at first, but I wound up loving it. It looked really nice in pictures and I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 21, 2012
Climbing on a pile of mattresses.
I rented this dress for a client to wear in a photo shoot. Like the other dress I rented it was a lot longer than expected. I will make note for future reference that the model are 5'10". Otherwise very cute and photographed well.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
Beautiful dress but...
Runs extremely large. Wasn't able to wear it but it was a very pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2012
Great for Rehearsal Dinner
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and loved it. I was torn between wearing the 2 or 4 but went with the 4 since it is snug in the chest and the fabric has no give to it. I got tons of compliments! I would highly recommend this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for my dates sisters wedding. It fit well and lived much up to my expectations!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2012
Perfect "Sunday Brunch" dress
Cute and classy dress, with detailed white lacing and a champagne-colored underlayer. Received so many compliments during rush!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 3, 2012
Engagement Party Dress!
I typically wear a 0 and this dress definitely ran large - I could have used a 00
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 4, 2012
Beautiful dress for small bust
I am a 34B and the bust was still a little small and kind of weirdly shaped. There was a part right across that flattened me a bit on the middle, but my date (obviously) did not notice. I rented this for my birthday dinner with my boyfriend at a very nice restaurant in Charleston, SC. It looks absolutely beautiful.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect for my Bridal Shower Brunch & Wine Tasting
The dress was nice and dainty - exactly what I was looking to wear for my bridal shower. Since I am on the shorter side, the dress fell longer than I would have liked. Looking back I probably should have gotten sizes 0 & 2 instead of 2 & 4 because of the fit in the torso area. I think a belt is a necessary accessory for this dress. For shoes I wore nude Via Spiga Rochelle pumps. Lastly, the dress looked whiter in photos than it was in person. I would have loved it in ivory. For indoor photos in natural light and outside on a sunny summer day - the champagne layer was clearly there.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2012
Not for Me... Maybe for a Super Sweet 16 Party?!
I rented a few different dress options for my rehearsal dinner party. I thought this one would be my favorite, but I was very disappointed in the fabric, fit and overall look of the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2012
Lots of compliments from friends and family- this dress is classy with a twist!
Definitely a cute dress for an Engagement Party/Bridal Shower/Rehearsal Dinner. Class it up with a statement cuff and nice pair of earrings! I was a little scared of the sizing (because I'm pretty petite, so I am very thankful I ordered my usual size (4) and one size down (2). The Four was a little baggy, but the two worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 26, 2012
Too big to wear :(
I rented this but was not able to wear it because it was too big! The dress is adorable, but ran too large, especially around the waist. Too bad I didn't rent it in a smaller size :(
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
I did get compliments on the dress, but it wasn't my favorite
Looked like a much subtler style on the website. It's actually very sparkly and wasn't really the daytime look I was going for.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2012
Beautiful Dress for an Unforgettable Day!!!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. I got married in City Hall and wore it as my wedding dress. Loved how classy it looked. I usually wear a size 2, but the size 2 was a little too big on the chest area since I am a 32 B. The good thing is that rent the runway sends two dresses and the 0 fit perfectly!! I was very pleased with the quality of the dress & everything with rent the runway. Will definitely order from this website again!!! Made my day unforgettable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and it was perfect - I got SO many compliments!
Fit true to size and very comfortably. The dress is not as short on me as it is on the model - I'm 5'7" and it hit comfortably above the knee. The layer of shimmery lace also helps if you want to feel more covered up. LOVED it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 5, 2012
Super cute!
Runs a bit large. I probably could have worn a 2, but the 4 was comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 6, 2012
It got me noticed by EVERYONE
I ordered this dress for my Rush Week for the Preference Night portion of it. Never before had I gotten so many compliments! I was going for a sweet innocent look and this dress is all that. I became a representative for RTR since so many people asked me about the dress. I cannot wait to order another dress from RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
October 11, 2012
I wore this for a special night with my boyfriend and it was the perfect dress!
It runs true to size, is very flattering to smaller figures, and for those of us who have a square-ish frame, it really made me feel like a woman!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
October 23, 2012
i wore this to a wedding and felt feminine and beautiful!
This dress is so much prettier in person! It was actually my back up dress but after putting it on, I knew I had to wear it. I'm only 5'0 and it hit just above the knee so it may be a bit short for taller girls. Also, I'm not sure if this was just the case for me, but because of the little gold seam sewn onto the dress, it elongated my torso and made me look taller! I felt great and had so much dancing in this dress. All night long my boyfriend told me how beautiful iI looked. I would recommend this dress to anyone looking for something feminine and fun! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely be using it again for the next wedding I attend.
TammyMay 1, 2013
This dress has silver but definitely looks white-ish in the picture. Was it okay to wear to a wedding?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Tammy, I think this dres is okay to wear to a wedding. I would just make sure that you don't wear shoes that are too dressy!
MichelleMay 3, 2013
I was a bit nervous wearing this dress to the wedding since it does have an almost ivory/white feel to it. I don't know shoes would dress down the white...but I would suggest a cute colored pashmina. The silver overlay is visible though, so you should feel fine!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2012
Loved using RTR, loved the dress, definitely using it again!
This dress was perfect for my occasion! The only thing I would change, is I probably should have ordered the zero since the two was a little large on my body type. It was loose around the waist and sort of an awkward length but I just paired it with a belt and it fixed it right up so it was not even a problem! The dress has sort of a gold sheen to it, just as a heads up so if you buy your jewelry and shoes before just keep that in mind. I will definitely be using RTR again for my next formal event since I hate re-wearing dresses! I would 100% recommend using this dress and this company!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
October 25, 2012
Not what I expected, but still great.
I thought that the dress would be white and lacy, it ended up being a stiff silver fabric over nude. Because I'm so tall, dresses with a seam at the waist (as opposed to detachable belt, or just a tight dress) are hard to choose a fit for. The little gold belt section at the waist didn't fit at my real waist, but the shape still looked flattering. I wore it with nude heels and the Nicole Miller Accessories Star Light Star Bright Bracelet. The picture I included is now my facebook profile picture. I put it up a week ago and I'm still getting compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
October 31, 2012
runs too big, not a good dress for short petite girls.
I had rented this dress for my college graduation/ graduation party along with the rebecca taylor blue smoke tiered dress (also on rent the runway) I had intended this girl to be THE dress and the rebecca taylor as the back up. But once i tried it on, i knew there was no way it would work out. I am a pretty tiny girl, and this dress flew below my knee and the chest area was too big even though i rented the smallest size possible. Overall it was just baggy in all the wrong places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 1, 2012
I felt amazing in this dress! So flattering!
I wore this dress for my wedding reception and it was the perfect dress. I have larger hips and a smaller waist, I am normally a size 4 but the size 2 fit perfectly. It was the perfect length (mid thigh) and the color had a gold tone to it. I have never felt better in any dress...ever. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
MeganDecember 27, 2012
Where did you get your shoes?
RTR CustomerDecember 28, 2012
They are from Nordstrom, Michael Kors fall 2011 :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2012
Absolutely beautiful!!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party. And while I had it I had some engagement photos done. I felt so pretty in this dress. Perfect length, no hip hugging, true to size, fit perfectly. Gorgeous lacing and details. The only complaint I would have is that the lace is a little scratchy under the arms, but not unbearable - more of an annoyance. As I am on the east coast I paired it with a jacket and boots to stay warm. I would recommend this dress. Very classy & sophisticated.
ClareDecember 3, 2012
Alicia, I absolutely adore the way you styled your look! I am hoping to rent this dress for a christmas party, also on the east coast, and pairing it in a similar fashion (boots, sweater/jacket); did you find this dressed down easily? what are your thoughts on a casual take, similar to your own? thanks!
AliciaDecember 11, 2012
Hi Clare! Thank you so much for the compliment. I definitely found this easy to dress down. The leather jacket and boots, were more casual than say heels and a cardigan. I wore my hair in a sock bun for my bach party, but down for my engagement photos. Wearing it down with more natural shades of makeup was more casual. To dress it up, more of a smokey eye and fake lashes. I personally love wearing boots with dresses (especially is I am cutting a rug lol!), more my style and I am obsessed with leather jackets. It is a very beautiful dress and looks great casual and dressed up. The lace overlay is absolutely beautiful. Good luck and I hope I see your photos uploaded to Our Runway soon.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Unfortunately the dress did not work.
I rented this dress and thought it was cute but it runs VERY small in the bust. I couldn't wear it because it was smashing my chest in so much and looked ridiculous. If I would have gone up in size it would have been too big everywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
November 15, 2012
I loved the subtle metallic tone of this dress and the cappuccino color. I felt floaty and ethereal.
The fit was true to what I expected, no surprises there. Online, the dress looked much more silvery and the cappuccino color didn't seem so prominent. In person, the metallic tone was more subtle and the nude/cappuccino color was much more obvious. The dress wasn't the most comfortable, but I wasn't ever truly uncomfortable in it, which was a huge plus as I wore it for 6 or more hours. I got a lot of complements since this dress is gorgeous but quite unique. I felt very floaty and serene, almost ethereal in this dress. What was really important to me in this dress was the length. I'm very tall for a girl (5'10) and so I usually get worried about dress being much too short, sometimes spending the whole night pulling down the back. with this dress, I didn't have to worry at all. It was short enough to be a little sexy and cute, but I never once worried about it flying up or flashing anyone.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
Tight in the chest area.
I wouldn't wear this if your boobs are over an A cup. It smushed my boobs and made them look so weird.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2012
This was perfect for my wedding cocktail party!
fit was great, right length skirt and perfect fit chest--especially for those with smaller tops than bottoms. Loved this dress and got compliments all night!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 26, 2012
The dress look great at my graduation party.
I wore this for my high school graduation. It fit great, loved the shine and sparkles beautiful color but had to wear nude underwear bc it was a bit sheer. But overall i absolutely loved this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×