Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 retail
Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with a gold bangle and strappy heels.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
163 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 28, 2013
Great Dress!
It fit well and was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 28, 2013
I love how I don't have to worry about my dress. I just come home after work and it's waiting there.
The fit runs a bit large. I usually wear a size 4, but wore a size 2 comfortably. The color is great! I received lots of compliments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 1, 2013
Loved this dress!!
Loved this dress the color was very vibrant and the fit was comfortable. The dress conplemented every aspect of my body and curves. The only thing I would have liked was for the dress to be a bit tighter in the thigh area. Overall very nice dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
June 3, 2013
classy and comfortable!
The dress fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I received a ton of compliments. Great for any occasion!
JmonthaJune 24, 2013
I see that you're petite! I'm 5' 0". :) What did you think about the length of this dress? It looks great on you, but I just wanted to make sure it's not too long & end up looking frumpy.
ASHJune 25, 2013
Thank you! :) The length was fine for me. I'm 4"11 and it was at the knee. It won't look long or frumpy. I'm wearing 6" heels :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 5, 2013
I was referred to as "the girl in the red dress" throughout the evening - seems I made an impression
This was the most comfortable dress! I had such a blast at this wedding and this dress definitely made me feel awesome. It was great for dancing. I wore it to an evening wedding where the dress was semi-formal. I got compliments throughout the night about the dress. Normally I wear black and white dresses to formal events, but with RTR I was able to go outside my comfort zone and try something new and boy did I have a great time! I wish I could have kept this dress. Typically I wear a size 12, but the 10 fit better (and that made me feel great too!). I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2013
Lot's of compliments, felt like a movie star!
Loved this dress, it has just enough stretch that it didn't feel too tight at all, especially across the chest. I am top heavy and have a really tough time finding dresses, after speaking to a fit specialist she recommended that I order a 4 and a 2 as my back up, didn't have to try the 2, the 4 fit like a glove. As some of the others have mentioned it has no slit in the skirt, so I had to hike it up a bit when I was getting into the car, not sure why it wouldn't have a slit, it would just add to it's sexiness. Loved the vivid red, more on the blue-red scale than the orange-red scale. The dress hit me just below my knee, but really was just so sexy. I wore nude heels, a necklace from RTR and the Diane Von Furstenburg handbag, an allover amazing outfit. I hate to have to ship this back I love it so much. If I had more of a social like I would totally buy this dress. Loved everything about my RTR experience, dresses delivered right to my door, well packed and includes a mailer to ship it all back. The purse and the necklace were in their own boxes inside the shipping box, very well organized, I was highly impressed. I will most definitely be back to rent again for the next event I have.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 7, 2013
It was just so hassle free. The dress came the day before, it fit perfectly, and just mailed it back
The dress fit perfectly! I loved wearing it, and it was perfect for the occasion. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 9, 2013
Great dress - many compliments!
The material is a little stretchy, which is great for dancing on the wedding dance floor :) The material was also a little heavier than I anticipated, which makes me think this is a little better for fall/winter, but luckily I was inside AC so it worked out. The length was perfect and the peplum accentuated the right places (which I was a little nervous about). I matched with nude shoes and a nude purse as I saw several others do on RTTR and I think it worked out well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2013
Love this dress!
I was skeptical that the dress would work on me. as I typically don't love peplum, but it was so flattering! It does call for a really bold necklace because of such a strong solid color and a higher neckline. I got a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks! Also, it looks so much better on than on the hanger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!
Rented this dress for the reception party for my parents wedding. The dress was very comfortable and form fitting in all the right places. I'm 5'2 1/2 and the dress isn't too long for us short girls. The peplum design is cute for any body type. I was able to dance comfortably in it all night. It was a knockout dress and everyone wanted to have it. Thanks again RTR! I would recommend wearing this with gold jewelry.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2013
In a sea of black and gray, if you want to stand out at a wedding, wear red. Tons of compliments.
Very comfortable. I would happily rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2013
Classy Look I Was Going For
I really wanted to post a photo with my review but I can't find the USB cable for my camera, so I'll do my best in just words. First off, I wore this dress for my post-baccalaureate program graduation. It was a small group of students with family and friends and our professors. Since it was held at a catering hall at noon, I wanted to look classy but without overdoing it. This dress was perfect! It was conservative enough for the occasion (didn't want to look too sexy in front of my professors!) but stylish and fab enough to stand out. As for the fit, I wish I would've paid a little more attention to the other ladies who mentioned that this dress runs large. I tried on the 12 and it fit well without me having to squeeze into my Spanx. Now, I usually wear clothes that runs a little bigger to hide my chubs but with this dress I wish I would've worn the 10 with the Spanx. In my photos I can see how the 12 fit a little big. I still loved it but in hindsight I think the 10 would have been a bit more flattering. There was extra room around my waist which made me look a little bigger than I am. Luckily, the style of the dress with the peplum helped to give an appearance of a cinched waist. I'm about 5'7 with heels and the length of the dress hit right at my knee which was okay but I think the 10 would've given a length just above my knees. Overall, the dress was beautiful and comfortable. I accessorized with gold jewelry similar to what the model is wearing. I received many compliments and I was very satisfied with the outcome. Definitely recommend! Just remember to size down!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2013
The dress was beautiful and very flattering!
The dress was true to size and fit beautifully!! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2013
Great dress, very sophisticated.
I wore this dress to a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The color is great too. My only complaint would be the length of this dress. It's a little long, runs just to the knee (I'm 5'3"), but other than that I really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
September 29, 2013
This was my back-up dress but I knew when I put it on it would be the one I would wear!
The fit for me was perfect. The waist hit at just the right spot. The fabric had just enough stretch to be very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2013
Great dress, very comfortable!
This fits true to size, and it is very comfortable. The fabric is stretchy, which accommodates those of us with bigger hips. The top was a little big on me, but that usually happens with dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Great dress for a wedding!
Dress was perfect for the occasion. It fit well, is cut great, and is flattering on all shapes. Both the 4 and 6 fit, but I went with the 6 for the extra length and room to boogie :) Had it been a girls night, date night, etc I would have gone with the 4. I paired it with a gold and white clutch, nude shoes and gold necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2013
Returned! Didnt work for my body!!
I was nervous about this dress from the second I reserved it. I put it on and almost instantly sent an email to RTR that I would be returning it. The top was baggy (even in the size 2), the peplum hit me in a weird place, and the bottom half just didnt look right. I have a post baby body so my lower half is a little larger then my top but even the top I was surprised at the fit. RTR was amazing and Hanna got back to me right away and overnighted another dress to me. Although this dress was a disappointment, RTR experience was an A+!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2013
This is the perfect dress. I wore it for a RTR fashion show and it was a hit!
True to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress was amazing! It was so comfortable, flattering and fashionable. I received a ton of compliements and felt great! This dress would be flattering on nearly any body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
October 30, 2013
Fun yet professional
This dress was very comfortable - the jersey material was great! It was different then what I would normally wear so I felt a little self-conscious with the narrow bottom but the peplum was cute and I received a lot of compliments on the color (which was a tad bright for me). I think I would have loved this dress more in a darker color. I also felt like I had to wear the bigger size because I felt a bit body-conscious. It was the perfect style for the event I attended though (a work gala) and I'm glad I rented something from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2013
Great dress and described perfectly
Love Rent the Runway. This was my first experience and am so impressed with the process. I look forward to renting again. I did love this dress, however I felt it was starting to show it's wear. The ponte knit was not as fresh as it would be new. Still looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2013
Definitely renting this again!
I rented this for an engagement party and after much thought, I went with another I ordered. My problem with peplums is I find that the legnth of the dress and the fullness of the peplum don't balance out making me look "squat"/much more wider in the hips, but this dress doesn't cause that problem. It nipped in my waist perfectly and the pleats in the peplum helped it fall and flatter my hips. If I had another event to go to the weekend I rented this, i would have worn it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
November 18, 2013
Got many compliments with this dress. The fit is very flattering, color is great and true to picture
Loved this dress for the casual elegance, color and flattering fit. It does run big so I wore the smaller size I ordered. Pretty stretchy fabric too (the skirt felt slightly tight around the bottom but I could still dance and walk easily.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2013
Good fit , very comfortable.
The dress was a change from the usual LBD. Very comfortable and stylish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2013
Back-up dress, did not wear
I rented this as a back-up dress and did not wear it. I ordered the 10 because I thought it looked snug. I could have worn a 6. Not the most flattering on my shape (straight) but a very pretty, well-made dress. I will probably try again in a smaller size. Color was a lovely red - not too bright with blue undertones.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 1, 2014
Great for my office holiday party!
Great dress for a work/holiday party. Ran a little large in size, so I went a size down to a 10. Looked great with gold pumps. Bracelet was fun also - a great added piece. I was able to wear this to a work party and a christmas get-together the following night! This was a great dress, but I think it would be better suited for women with straight figures (and not curvy or hourglass shapes). The dress made me look more bottom heavy. I think this dress would be perfect on a straight figure to give someone a more curvy shape. I don't really need help with this, so the dress made me a look a little heavier... Not terrible overall, but I doubt I will rent this (or something like this) again in the future.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
January 23, 2014
My sister wearing this to my civil ceremony
It fit my sister like a glove and since she had not been exercising for some time :) she had a little something something around her waist ( to put it nicely) The way the dress is designed it flatters every body shape and hides flaws and the color is simply gorgeous My sister is size 6 145 pounds gorgeous woman :)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 9, 2014
the attire for the event required everyone to wear red. no one else had on the same dress as me
wore leopard pumps to break up the red ... the dressy fit adds for stretch to curvy figures. very comfortable easy to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 11, 2014
Beautiful dress. Easy to dance in
Easy for dancing. Classy and form fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 148lbs
March 18, 2014
The moment when everyone had to look twice to recognize me
This dress fit me perfectly! I was worried at first about fitting into a size 8 but it worked out perfectly in the end. The dress hugged my every curve in the right way and was the perfect length for my event. I received tons of compliments from guys and girls about my dress. They didn't recognize me at first with how I did my hair and makeup! The only negative thing about this dress is the non elastic band around the bottom of the dress around your legs. It made going up and down stairs a little tricky. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 1, 2014
Parent-Approved
It fit wonderfully and was very flattering. I wore it to a formal event that included my date's mother. I was very pleased that it was modest and classy, yet still cute. The photo is not as flattering but we're not the photo-taking type so it's all we got!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2014
Great color
Perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
April 5, 2014
Comfortable and trendy!
Overall, the dress fit well. There was a decent amount of stretch in the fabric, which made it very comfortable to wear. I chose not to wear this dress because the zipper was extremely stubborn when I tried it on. I would not have had my friends' help to zip me into the dress when I needed them. Also, the middle seam fell just above my natural waist, and so the peplum was a little higher than I expected. Not the most flattering silhouette for my figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
All of the compliments received!
Fit was PERFECT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2014
Pretty cocktail dress
I was really excited about this dress, and while I ended up wearing it, I wasn't thrilled about the fit. I was between the 2 sizes, but ended up wearing the smaller size as it was more flattering on the top. As other reviews indicate, the bottom is very snug. The peplum made did help make it flattering despite the snug fit. I would say it runs slightly large, so order a smaller size as your back up. I enjoyed wearing this dress, but would not have bought it if I tried it on in a store (as the fit wasn't perfect).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 11, 2014
Great dress, received a lot of compliments!
The fit was true to size. This dress is great because it accentuates a small waist and can hide problem areas in the hips/stomach. It was a little bit longer than I had originally thought it would be, it hit slightly above my knees. The color is fantastic! I wore this to a wedding where most of the women were in neutral colors and the red definitely stood out in a good way! I paired it with a belt and nude heel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
May 13, 2014
Comfortable & flattering
I ordered the 6 & the 8 and ended up wearing the 6. Its very fitted but the fabric is think enough that it smoothed everything out while still being light enough to wear to a Florida wedding in April. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
The color was beautiful! Bold statement
The bottom is long and tight, so difficult to pull up, but a beautiful fitted dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2014
Loved it!! Can't go wrong with red!
Got lots of compliments! Very figure flattering. Would rent again for sure!
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×