Rent the Runway

ERIN erin fetherston

Rumor Says Dress

$50 rental
$275 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this little red peplum ERIN Erin Fetherston style to make him fall in love on that first date. He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you! Pair with Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Peplum detail at waist. Pencil skirt. Hidden center back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

143 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 96
Large 40
Photos 81
Keely
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

So many compliments! The perfect mix of classy and sassy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is Beautiful! I recieved many compliments! I ordered the 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2. While, the fit was nice, the bodice was still rather large. I probably could have been comfortable in a 0 but was happy with the overall fit. The fabric is Very nice. I wish it could stay in my closet!
Joanna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

This is such a fantastic company to work with!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Stunning dress!! Stretchy and conforms to your body throughout the night! I am a true hourglass shape, about 5'6", large bust and this fit me perfectly. It was true to size but get a size up as well to see to see which is more comfortable for you. I can't wait to rent this dress again!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Nov 24, 2012

I felt amazingly confident all day!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is incredible. I cannot even count he number of compliments I received. I wore it to my nephew's Bar Mitzvah, and just felt like a million bucks all day. Almost everyone I spoke to complimented me on the dress and wanted to know where I got it. It really just fit perfectly. I think this is the type of dress that would be good for all body types. I styled it with tan heels that I own, plus I rented the handbag that the model is wearing.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Beautiful, classy & formal.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress. It is formal. I usually wear a 6, but the 4 fit nicer. I do have a full bust and it was very accomodating! The material is stretchy so it is super comfortable.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Very classy. Nice bright and red!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I usually wear a 6. This size 6 ran large. If you are short, this dress needs to be worn with heels. I tried to wear it with flats and it made my legs look stubby because the dress is long enough to hit below the knee. It was comfortable, and covered my stomach area. Loved it.
Alexa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

The dress was so unbelievably comfy. Every said I looked so elegant, my confidence was up all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little big on me. The bust was the perfect size but everywhere else was a bit big, but it made me feel great that I'm normally a size 6 and I needed a size 4!
Lolis
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 4, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Red is now my new favorite color! I love the material and design of the dress, it fit great and received lots of compliments...even from men! Wore it to my husband's holiday party. Thank you rent the runway!!!
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved everything about it! The material had stretch and it was easy to move in. I received tons of compliments!
sschneider
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Loved this dress - would buy or rent again

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my husband's company holiday party. It was perfect. Very classy and feminine. The color was vibrant and prefect for the holiday vibe. Erin Fetherston is one of my new favorite designers. I rented a size 8 & 10 and wore the 8. There is no slit in the narrow pencil style skirt so it can be limiting when dancing... but I did ok! I wore it with a Kate Spade necklace, also rented on RTR. It was perfect!
Chanel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Perfect work holiday party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved wearing this dress for my work holiday party. I got a lot of compliments on it. It was a great color red and fit like a glove. I am usually somewhere between a 2 and a 4 and unfortunately the 4 wasn't available when I ordered the dress so I risked it and got the 2 after reading other reviews that it ran a bit on the large side. I'm glad I took the gamble because the fit was perfect. I wasn't sure how the peplum would work since I don't usually like full skirts on my body but it was actually very flattering. My only complaints would be that i wish there was a slit in the skirt. It's pretty fitted so without a slit it was hard to walk up stairs etc. I also wish it was a little lower cut in the back since it is a very full-coverage dress...I guess its a sexy shape without showing too much skin :) I would definitely order again!
Chop
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

I wore this dress for my father's 50th Birthday Party. Fit great! Comfortable! Classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress totally accented my cursed in a very classy manner. The dress as a little snug because there is no split but not uncomfortable. I am normally a 2, but when I heard the dress ran small I tried a 0, and it really fit perfectly. I would recommend this dress.
Deana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Loved the total look.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have worn size 8 in other rental dresses but had but a little weight on and was worried about the sizing. I order a size 8 and 10 for my back up. The 8 fit good so I did not try on the 10. I am only 5'1" so I used the heming tape to shorten one hems length and it camp to my knees. The gold leaf was the perfect touch and I received many compliments on both items. I have two more dresses reserved one for January and one for February. They will be my 5th and 6th rental. Thank you for providing this service RTR.
April
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Very cute dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress ran large. Am normally a size 6, but ended up going with the size 4.
Melanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jan 12, 2013

I felt GORG in this red peplum number!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit perfectly!Felt amazing, would totally recommend if you want to be classic & fabulous. Got so many compliments! Especially if you have olive skin tone or just look great in the color RED! The only thing I would look out for is the bottom is pretty fitted and not stretchy so had to take smaller steps, wasn't uncomfortable at all though! LOVED!
Alex
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

The dress was beautiful, and it made me feel beautiful, too!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was initially worried that the dress wouldn't fit up top, but it fit perfectly! Also, it was stretchy enough at the bottom to fit my hips. I got the size lower, however, because I had noticed in the reviews that this dress ran particularly small. The dress arrived on time and it was super easy to send back! Loved it!
AStorm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 26, 2013

This dress is perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Unexpected gem! I ordered this as a backup and it was perfect. Fabric was casual, but fit really well. Peplum draped nicely and was a little "edgy." Really comfortable to wear and made me feel very confident for my interview. Got a ton of compliments and the job!
Sierra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Sexy, sophisticated, sleek

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time to use Rent the Runway. I ordered this dress in a size 4 and 6 for my fiance's semi-formal work party in San Francisco. Both sizes fit, but the 6 was a little baggy around the waist so I chose to wear the 4. I felt like it was sexy yet sophisticated and got compliments from several people throughout the night. I have to say that it is pretty tight fitting around the hips and through the thighs/butt so if you plan to be doing a lot of dancing, be careful! Other than that, it is a beautiful dress and would be great for a wedding, date, girls' night our or work party.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

Loved this dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on this dress! What a confidence booster! The only thing that I disliked was that it was a little snug at the bottom, which made it difficult to walk, but I'd rather have the dress hug my curves than be too loose. Definitely may have to rent this again!
Casi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Classy, flattering, perfect for the charity event!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a "cocktail" type charity event for the American Heart Association. I usually where a size 6 but was pleasantly surprised when the 4 fit perfectly. This dress hugs in all the right places and the peplum is very flattering. I am 5'7' and have a bit of a "booty" so sometimes dresses like this are just TOO short or TOO tight. This one was perfect...there was no pulling it down the entire night and because the top was sleeveless I could wear a regular bra for ultimate comfort. I paired it with a "statement" necklace and a belt (dresses that fit my lower body tend to be a bit large around my waist...so the belt was a great final touch. I'd recommend this dress to anyone!
chloe'
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 14, 2013

Classic and trendy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Very formfitting but not too much which was nice. It fit my chest well without making me appear large, which is sometimes hard to find when you have bigger breasts. I wore it to my friends engagement party and felt like it could've easily been dressed up more if necessary. I normally wear a 4 but was able to wear a 2.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

Absolutely Stunning & Comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! It was very flattering - the peplum is in the perfect location on the waist - and very comfortable. It fit as I expected, it was a bit tight around the legs since it didn't have a slit, but it didn't look too small and wasn't uncomfortable. I would recommend this for a cocktail party, a work function, a wedding or a date. Very sexy without being revealing at all. Loved it!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

I got so many compliment and was completely comfortable all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
4 fit perfectly. I could probably have also worn a 2, but with no slit in the skirt it was nice to have a little extra room. The material is heavier but so soft with just enough stretch. It was nice to find a dress that was both fun and appropriate for a professional event.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

This dress was perfect for my son's baptism and the process was so easy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I really liked the fit and the way the peplum flattered my midsection.
Randi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

This color was really great - poppy in a sea of black dresses!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was very flattering especially from the front. I was comfortable in the length and the fabric. There is not a ton of give in the skirt or armholes as others had mentioned, but still was perfect. I got lots of compliments. Nude sandals made it less conservative and more fun!!!
Ashley
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 9, 2013

Fit great. Looked great. Perfection.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress met all my expectations. The fabric was thicker than I anticipated but did not cause any troubles. The only negative is it was a bit tight in the hips, but that's my fault for not working out for a few months.
JaneT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
May 20, 2013

Felt like a ROCKSTAR in this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Incredible fit, incredibly comfortable, and absolutely awesome dress. The fit and cut was perfect. I am 6 foot tall and everything hit in the right spots! I was a little nervous to see if the peplum would make my hips look wider but it had a great slimming affect. I would wear this again....and again...and again!!
ASH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

classy and comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I received a ton of compliments. Great for any occasion!
Liz
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

I was referred to as "the girl in the red dress" throughout the evening - seems I made an impression

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was the most comfortable dress! I had such a blast at this wedding and this dress definitely made me feel awesome. It was great for dancing. I wore it to an evening wedding where the dress was semi-formal. I got compliments throughout the night about the dress. Normally I wear black and white dresses to formal events, but with RTR I was able to go outside my comfort zone and try something new and boy did I have a great time! I wish I could have kept this dress. Typically I wear a size 12, but the 10 fit better (and that made me feel great too!). I would definitely recommend this dress!
Hayley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Wore it to SMU's Barrister's Ball

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my boyfriend's Barrister's Ball/"Law Prom" in the Spring. First off, the color is amazing! A super rich red, so I wore nude pumps and a simple chain gold necklace to balance it out. The fabric is extremely comfortable. I ordered a size 0 with a size 2 as a back up. I ended up wearing the size 0. Because the fabric had so much give, the size 0 made it a little tighter. I think if I had been going to a business function rather than a party I would've worn a size 2 which was a little bit looser.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Dress runs long

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for yet another wedding, but the dress ran very large! It was so long that it went down to my knees practically. It was heavy and not at all what I imagined. I think it would fit better on someone who was taller.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 18, 2014

Dress was beautiful.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I suggest pulling the front of the dressdown so that the back lies flat. Goes great with gold accesories.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Flattering!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I totally love this dress.. I was surprised at how flattering the peplum was on my hourglass-ish shape. I gave birth to my son about 7 month ago.. I haven't seen many of the people at this wedding in over a year. I had several people ask if I had a baby because it didn't look like it. I can't wait to rent it again!! My biggest gripe is that the bottom hem is super tight.. Obviously I dealt with it though.
Cherri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Nov 1, 2014

It was fun, flirty, yet professional. Perfect for what I had to do!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I hosted a fundraiser-- and the dress was perfect. I looked great, it felt great and I got lots of complements. My only issue was that it had a funny smell. I used my dry cleaner refresher and it worked fine.
melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 27, 2014

I received endless compliments on this dress! It was perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My quarrel with this dress is that it was a bit hard to walk in, by that I mean that the skirt part fits perfectly around hips and thighs but there is no slit to allow for easy walking and moving. Other than this the dress was absolutely perfect!
Martha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 179 lbs
Jan 13, 2015

Very comfortable and beautiful dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I think the fit is probably on the bigger side, but this dress fit the bill for me. I had recently gained some weight and this dress was a great option. It was flattering and comfortable. Easy to move in, got lots of compliments. Would definitely rent again
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 19, 2015

Classy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a work party in Vegas. Beautiful color and really comfortable.
Chrissie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Gorgeous and classy

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect on me. I wore a size 2. The color is vibrant, and it was very classy. The peplum added a nice touch, and I loved that it was longer peplum than most styles, so it was more forgiving.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Apr 1, 2015

Birthday Party Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color is great, it's a sassy dress that commands attention. However, I was pretty disappointed in this dress. There is no slit in the skirt, which makes it difficult to dance and walk. Due to the missing slit, I think the dress was so worn that the hem was loose and would catch on my knee everytime I walked. The dress looks cheap and the seams are very pulled apart.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 12, 2015

Not for petite girls

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I would not recommend this for a short girl, the peplum hits very low, creating a frumpy look. For everyone else, I recommend going a size down. However, the material is very comfortable and the dress itself is super cute!
DC
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 2, 2015

Bright pop of color for a casual spring wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lovely dress! I got many compliments on it. Fit was true to size, maybe even slightly loose in the upper half. Bottom skirt (under the peplum) was very fitted and I found it awkward at times to walk up and downstairs -- but overall a great rental.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×