Riding the Wave Sheath

$79 to buy
$225 retail
Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
222 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(178)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2014
Sexy lil thang...
I went with the size 6 because the 4 was just a little too snug overall. The dress is fairly stretchy which is great. I still wore spanx under the dress but I felt very sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2014
This is my third time renting a dress. It simple and deliver is always on time.
Comfortable. My only con is you have to wear a strapless bra because of the sheer portion on top. Otherwise this dress is perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 5, 2013
This dress is fabulous!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments! The 0 was snug so I opted for the more conservative fit of a 2. I would DEFINITELY wear this dress again! It was a huge success!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2014
It was figure flattering with the swerve of the dress. I'd recommend for those who are hourglass.
I thought it ran a little small, so I went up a size. The waist was a little big on me in the 8, but the hips were tight in a 6. I thought it looked great when you could see the whole dress. However, when you took pictures from the waist up, I thought it looked like I had a casual tank top on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2013
Stylist Review!
This dress is beyond chic, yet still super comfy and easy to wear! I loved the color-blocking and the mesh detail at the shoulders. The stretchy ponte material is so comfortable and flattering. It's fitted all throughout but not too tight at all. This is the perfect day-to-night dress, and I will definitely be renting it soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 5, 2013
Comfortable great looking dress
Nice quality stretchy fabric that fit well, looked good. One thing that doesn't really show in the photo is the top black part is actually sheer, which made it just partyish enough. I wore it to a wedding but it's conservative enough you could wear it to a work event. I had both the 10 and the 12. The 12 the top part was a little large for me the 10 the top fit perfect but I wanted to eat so wore the 12. I wore a black cardigan over it anyway (it was cold) so the slight gap wasn't an issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 17, 2013
The dress was FABULOUS, SPECTACULAR and everything in between!!!
The dress hugs your body. After a few hours, it gets a little loose but not a big deal. Awesome for formal affairs since it's not short. I would rent it again any day! :D
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2013
Absolutely stunning.
This dress fit like a glove. I thought the four was going to be too tight, but it relaxes the longer you wear it. The size six was to loose up top. This dress accentuates all the right spots.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 25, 2013
Stylist Review
This dress was a very easy fit, and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it, as it did not wrinkle the whole night I wore it. The swirl detail compliments your curves in just the right places!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 26, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dress. Perfect for my event...A MUST RENT DRESS!
This dress is super comfortable, although, don't be fooled by the mesh on the neckline. You must look closely but its there and adds the finishing touch to this amazing dress. The length was just right for my black tie event, I was worried it would be too short but I couldn't have been more happier. When I tried on the 8 it fit snug on my bum, but my spanx slimmed everything. The 10 was a great fit also, except the top was a little loose on the sides (which the 8 fit great on top). I will definitely be renting more dresses in the future. Love the service and everything that Rent the Runway had to offer. Satisfied!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
April 1, 2013
This dress is very comfortable!!
The dress is true to size. Fits really well and the color blocking shows your curves really well! I'm 4"11 and the length of the dress came right at the knee.
kimMay 19, 2013
was the dress too long on you? i am 5'2" and am a bit concerned about that...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2013
Super comfortable, fitted dress!
Loved this dress. It ran true to size but is incredibly fitted and unforgiving! Finding undergarments to wear with this dress is tough. Commandos do not even work with this! Loved the fit and the colors.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
Loved this dress! Comfortable, sexy, and simple.
Did I say comfortable? The dress was perfect for a summer/spring evening wedding. I ordered the 2 and 4 in case the dress ran big, but I wore the 4 (which is my normal size). The 2 fit, but felt a little too snug. The hem fell right at the top of my knee (despite how it looks on the model). The dress was what I would call conservative sexy -- it was simple and covered everything, but I felt oh so sexy in it. It hugs your curves but is very forgiving at the same time. I still have a little baby weight to lose in my midection, and the area where the nude and black fabric met in the front masked it perfectly! No spanx for me! The top is sheer but I decided to just swap out the detatchable straps in my bra for clear ones for more security. In person you couldn't tell, but in some of my pictures you can see a slight glare from the straps. Oh well. I got lots of compliments...even from the bride herself! I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 30, 2013
Chic
Rented this for an afternoon wedding in April. I am typically a 10 or 12, albeit a fit 12, in dresses depending on how the dress is shaped. While both dresses fit better in different places, I am smaller up top compared to my hips, I went with the 12. I wore a pair of light compression spanx to smooth things out under the dress, but not enough that it would have changed the size I chose to wear. I wore a shrug over the dress, to hide my arms. The dress was extremely comfortable and the fabric was so soft. I loved the exposed back zipper and mesh upper details. I would love to own this dress, and I'll search for a good deal to find it. There was a sort of smell the dresses had, but letting them hang in a breezy room eliminated that. Please excuse my messy room in the photo, will try to get a picture from the wedding
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
Dress fits perfectly!!!
The dress is true to size. Hugs every curve. Easy to wear with a regular bra. I will rent this dress again. Wish I owned it. I wore the dress to my son's ring ceremony. The dress is great for day time or night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
May 11, 2013
great fit beautiful dress
fit was true to size although I opted for the 6 instead of the 4 because i preferred a looser fit for the occasion - business related event. good fabric great quality only rode up minimally which usually happens with dresses like this - another reason I opted for the larger size. It is however a little longer than pictured the dress was about knee length on me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2013
Perfect Dress for my Graduation!
I definitely will be using Rent the Runway for years to come! This dress arrived on time, fit perfectly, and was even more beautiful in person than in the picture. I loved it so much, I didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2013
sophisticated and sexy!
The dress was awesome! Super comfortable and the material has some stretch to it! Definitely would recommend this!! loved it! I had no trouble at all with the dress and loved the mesh detail on the top! it made choosing a bra very easy and I didn't have to worry about it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
May 24, 2013
So beyond fabulous!
LOVED this dress! It is so striking on and gives such a great look! Rented a 12 and 10 and although I'm usually a 12, the 10 fit better because it was tighter... definitely need this to be a form fitting dress! Would definitely rent again & would love to own!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 28, 2013
So sexy!!
The dress is a great combo of elegant and sexy- I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2013
Classy but fun dress!
The dress fit great, I would say true to size, if not a bit large. The "wave" added a subtle hint of fun to the dress since it is rather conservative. The meshing at the top was a nice touch to make it a little more "party"...I'd recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 16, 2013
Not for large busted girls
I really wanted to love it, but it made my breasts look huge! I rented it for a business presentation/meeting and just couldn't do it. The nude color across the breasts and bottom is probably great for smaller busted gals, but definitely not what you want if you have a larger chest and/or bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2013
Classy, not too revealing but complimented my curves - perfect for a black tie optional wedding.
I loved this dress! The fabric felt expensive, while still being cotton-y with stretch, so it felt like a second skin. It complimented my curves- and would look awesome on someone who needs a little assistance creating curves for a straighter body. I wore it to a black tie-optional wedding and got so many compliments on it. Felt comfortable and sexy while dancing the night away. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 22, 2013
Felt sexy!
I was a little underwhelmed when I received this dress, but I think that was just me. The night I wore it out I felt fantastic in it. It was perfect for the occasion. I attended a concert at the Walt Disney Concert Hall and then an after party and I felt I fit in great. It was comfortable and the sheer top was nice, but not too fragile. It did ride up when walking so I was consistently adjusting it, but I guess that didn't bother me too much. I thought it was simple, but still a statement with it's clean lines and form fitting. Makes you feel sexy. Bonus: I wore it a second night out to a Birthday dinner celebration and again was very eye catching. ;) I would definitely rent this one again if the occasion called for it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 25, 2013
Perfection
Fit ike a glove, sexy, yet alluring. Hugs your curves. Great for cocktail events and then nightlife
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 27, 2013
The way my husband looked at me in the dress :)
The dress fit great. I am def. glad i went ahead and ordered the size 2 because the 4 was slightly lose. The dress was perfect for the summer time wedding in Philly! The only thing I have to say is that the beige seemed to be a little more of a pinkish beige but that did not stop me from loving the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
July 1, 2013
Cute & comfy dress
I thought this was a very cute dress, and even though it is form fitting, it was extremely comfortable! The lighter areas on the dress are more of a sand/khaki color (it looks more ivory on the website). I ordered both the 4 and the 6, as my hips are a bit bigger, but the 4 was a better fit especially in the bust. I think this may look more flattering on someone with a petite or hourglass figure, but I thought it was fairly cute on me, as well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 5, 2013
Nice fit, easy comfortable dress but nothing special
Wore this to a wedding. I needed a dress last minute and this was comfortable/easy but it wasn't anything special.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2013
Accentuates All The Right Curves
This dress fit like a glove. The wave pattern accentuated my waist and took attention away from any trouble spots (though I would have preferred to have the cream on the front versus across the tush!). It was comfortable and had enough stretch to be great for dancing, but didn't stretch out at all. The top part of the dress is mesh, so you'll definitely need a strapless bra. And due to the tight, hug-your-curves style, I wore a seamless thong. It was a fun dress to wear - I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2013
Simple Elegance
I wore this to a work event in which I was running around like a maniac. It was simple, elegant, and moved with my body. Very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 22, 2013
Fit like a glove!
This was a gorgeous dress, made me feel very sexy and classy. I didn't realize that the top part was mesh-- that made it even dressier, which was a good thing for a wedding. The 2 was snug but not tight. I'm usually between a 2 and 4 and wore the 2 in this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 23, 2013
Great dress! I wore it for opening day at the Del Mar horse races.
Great fit, not too tight, but still makes your body look great. Was knee length and the mesh top was the perfect touch. Fabric was light and breathable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
August 11, 2013
My Husband said how great I looked!
quick review: HAVE TO USE SPANX OR GO COMMANDO. Very form fitted, strapless bra better, did have to pull down several times during the night but I think I was worried my spanx would show. I just got home from an Italian vacation and the pasta did not make me feel great but the curves of the dress made me feel better. The sheer top also added a nice little touch. I was deciding between the 0 and 2. The 2 definitely gave me more room in the waist and hips but, the sheer top was very loose. The 0 was also a bit loose but not really noticeable. I put up my embarrassing picture to show you what "seamless underwear" looks like in this dress. HAVE TO USE SPANX OR GO COMMANDO. I had to go out and buy spanx that day, luckily found some, but the dress was long enough to go commando. (I just wasn't brave enough too) Also tried the clear straps as another customer did, but you can see the reflection and it takes away from the beauty of the dress- go with a strapless nude (notice the side pic I put up) I had a black one but the arm holes were slightly larger than I usually wear and you could see the top of the bra.
LoriOctober 29, 2013
Can't you just wear any no show seamless thong to fix the vpl?
ElizabethNovember 7, 2013
I tried "seamless underwear" and a thong.I did not have seamless thong to try. The problem was the one beige part on the hip that showed everything. You couldn't see any lines on the black side of the dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 12, 2013
Love this dress!!
Got so many compliments on the way I looked in this dress. Its stretchy and very comfortable. The zipper in the back kept tugging on my hair but other than that it was a nice dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2013
Great dress
This dress was super comfortable. Wore it for a dinner party and it was the perfect choice. Would definitely recommend it. Wish it was in my closet permanently.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 19, 2013
Love the dress, sexy yet classy!!
Love the dress, I ordered a size 8 and 10, the 8 fit nice but wore the 10 just to give me some room. I was comfortable wearing it and many love the dress. It was sexy but yet very classy. I love the Rent the Runway! I highly recommend it!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2013
60's glam
so i rented this dress for a formal affair... and i wore jacket and dep red lipstick... i felt like out of a magazine with the 60's glam... the material is amazing and molds to your body it made me look amazing!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
September 2, 2013
looked great!
This was my first experience with RTR, and I loved it! I only ordered the 10, which is what I normally wear. The 10 fit great, I think I would have even been able to go down a size. Being shorter I did find the length a bit long- it was below the tops of my knees when pulled all the way down, but I still loved it and got compliments. I definitely recommend wearing spanx or going commando in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
September 4, 2013
Good Dress to Rent
There is some give to the dress so it can strech but give you shape. I would recommend for a wedding or formal event. Its quite sophisticated. I also wrote spanks. I would suggest, seamless underware.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2013
Loved it! Got compliments all night
Really loved this dress. Not super formal but just dressy enough for a wedding. Fit really well and everyone kept asking where I got it from.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×