ERIN erin fetherston

Riding the Wave Sheath

$30 – $50 rental ?
$225 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party. Statement accessories like Dannijo's Ajak Earrings and Halston Heritage's Bronze Snake Clutch are all you need to make a grand entrance.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

185 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 157
Large 20
Photos 108
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 17, 2013

This dress is super comfortable and easy to wear. Someone told me I had the best dress of the night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved wearing this dress. I'm 5'3" and I thought the length was perfect. I'm normally a size 4 or 2, I ordered both and ended up wearing the 4. It was not as tight and I thought it was easier to wear. FYI: It does show underwear lines, I went comando since I hate spanx, but others might not be comfortable with that.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 17, 2013

WHERE CAN I BUY IT?!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I felt so sexy in it. The placement of the nude blocking did wonders for my curves. (wish I would've gotten a pic standing up) And the sheer part on top definitely gave it a little extra something-something. The material is not very thick, but not in a bad way. Loved loved LOVED this this dress!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2013

sophisticated and sexy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was awesome! Super comfortable and the material has some stretch to it! Definitely would recommend this!! loved it! I had no trouble at all with the dress and loved the mesh detail on the top! it made choosing a bra very easy and I didn't have to worry about it!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
May 26, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove! I normally order an 8 and a 10 because I am in-between sizes. In this case, the 10 fit better. If you are a full bust and like to wear a traditional bra, the straps will show, but lucky for me, it was colder than expected so I was able to put a blazer on and go.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 28, 2013

So sexy!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is a great combo of elegant and sexy- I would definitely rent again!
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

This dress fits like a glove! Curve hugging and gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am a high school teacher and I always have a difficult time finding dresses to wear to work events that are both professional AND flattering. This dress was exactly what I needed. It is the perfect amount of conservative and sexy all in one. The 4 fit perfectly; I didn't even bother with the 6!
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Jun 18, 2013

Work Event

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect its sexy without being too revealing. It reaches about knee length but it does show off curves.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 22, 2013

Felt sexy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was a little underwhelmed when I received this dress, but I think that was just me. The night I wore it out I felt fantastic in it. It was perfect for the occasion. I attended a concert at the Walt Disney Concert Hall and then an after party and I felt I fit in great. It was comfortable and the sheer top was nice, but not too fragile. It did ride up when walking so I was consistently adjusting it, but I guess that didn't bother me too much. I thought it was simple, but still a statement with it's clean lines and form fitting. Makes you feel sexy. Bonus: I wore it a second night out to a Birthday dinner celebration and again was very eye catching. ;) I would definitely rent this one again if the occasion called for it.
abby
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 6, 2013

So great, even for chasing after my 10 month old date :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect dress; so flattering and comfortable. I could wear a regular bra (my strap needed adjusting after nursing my son. it usually wasn't sticking out) but I also did wear spanx because there was some serious VPL on the pink side. Weeks later, people are still giving me compliments on it. The rental process itself was very easy too. I'm definitely going to be a repeat customer to RTR!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

Accentuates All The Right Curves

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. The wave pattern accentuated my waist and took attention away from any trouble spots (though I would have preferred to have the cream on the front versus across the tush!). It was comfortable and had enough stretch to be great for dancing, but didn't stretch out at all. The top part of the dress is mesh, so you'll definitely need a strapless bra. And due to the tight, hug-your-curves style, I wore a seamless thong. It was a fun dress to wear - I wish I owned it!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2013

Simple Elegance

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a work event in which I was running around like a maniac. It was simple, elegant, and moved with my body. Very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Rena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 22, 2013

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a gorgeous dress, made me feel very sexy and classy. I didn't realize that the top part was mesh-- that made it even dressier, which was a good thing for a wedding. The 2 was snug but not tight. I'm usually between a 2 and 4 and wore the 2 in this one.
Jenny
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

Great dress! I wore it for opening day at the Del Mar horse races.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, not too tight, but still makes your body look great. Was knee length and the mesh top was the perfect touch. Fabric was light and breathable.
Jazmeen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

I really enjoyed hearing all of the complements that I received! The dress is very slimming!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The perfect dress for the occasion! I had a video shoot at my house for a commercial and the dress was perfect, I got tons of complements and had a great time. The dress has lots of stretch and is very stylish but comfortable. Its also good to have spanx.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Perfect for a dinner out or a classy party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! It's stretchy & very comfortable. It is pretty form-fitting to the booty, so I wouldn't personally wear it to work during the daytime, but it's classy enough to wear out to a nighttime social business function. The top black part is mesh, so wear a strapless bra.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

My Husband said how great I looked!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
quick review: HAVE TO USE SPANX OR GO COMMANDO. Very form fitted, strapless bra better, did have to pull down several times during the night but I think I was worried my spanx would show. I just got home from an Italian vacation and the pasta did not make me feel great but the curves of the dress made me feel better. The sheer top also added a nice little touch. I was deciding between the 0 and 2. The 2 definitely gave me more room in the waist and hips but, the sheer top was very loose. The 0 was also a bit loose but not really noticeable. I put up my embarrassing picture to show you what "seamless underwear" looks like in this dress. HAVE TO USE SPANX OR GO COMMANDO. I had to go out and buy spanx that day, luckily found some, but the dress was long enough to go commando. (I just wasn't brave enough too) Also tried the clear straps as another customer did, but you can see the reflection and it takes away from the beauty of the dress- go with a strapless nude (notice the side pic I put up) I had a black one but the arm holes were slightly larger than I usually wear and you could see the top of the bra.
Bullet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Love this dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got so many compliments on the way I looked in this dress. Its stretchy and very comfortable. The zipper in the back kept tugging on my hair but other than that it was a nice dress.
Liliana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Love the dress, sexy yet classy!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the dress, I ordered a size 8 and 10, the 8 fit nice but wore the 10 just to give me some room. I was comfortable wearing it and many love the dress. It was sexy but yet very classy. I love the Rent the Runway! I highly recommend it!!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 2, 2013

looked great!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first experience with RTR, and I loved it! I only ordered the 10, which is what I normally wear. The 10 fit great, I think I would have even been able to go down a size. Being shorter I did find the length a bit long- it was below the tops of my knees when pulled all the way down, but I still loved it and got compliments. I definitely recommend wearing spanx or going commando in this dress.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 21, 2013

Comfortable and flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great fit.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 10, 2013

Flatters Every Curve

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4 and probably would have preferred it if it hadn't been ruined before I received it but the 2 hugged every curve in a very flattering way. I got tons of compliments and it is a perfect dress for a wedding.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

Simple & classic

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 0 and 2 in this dress. With the amount of stretch, I really didn't notice a huge difference between the sizes but because I'm on the shorter side, I went with the zero. The pattern accentuates curves amazingly. One of the bridesmaids told me I was the most stunning guest at the wedding and asked where my dress was from. Of course, I filled her in on the amazing world of RTR!
Liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

Perfect for an evening wedding and true to size

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for an evening wedding. It was very true to size and comfortable. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I have to say I will 100% do this again based on my experience
Marijana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

I loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit perfectly!
Eda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Classy dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was gorgeous i had many compliments , i recommend !
Kerian
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

A dress the recieved loads of compliments that didn't break the bank!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Attended a military retirement party and am so glad I got this dress. It fit true to form, was very comfortable and stretchy. The dress clearly speaks for itself when you walk into a room, so no need for over the top accessories. Subtlety works very well for this dress. For a curvy woman such as myself it accentuated all the positives and camoflauged the negatives. The length was perfect, the top mesh was slightly loose, but hardly noticable. Absoutely LOVED it! Returning it the next day was simple and easy with the accompanied pre-paid UPS packaging. Given it had to be in the mail before noon, it gave me plenty of time to work on my hangover!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Rented this for a NYE party and loved it! Super comfortable and looks great in pictures.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size! Soft material and stretchy!
Joyce
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Classy yet sexy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits great! (with a Victoria Secret bombshell bra haha). If you don't have a butt then the dress will runched up a bit in the back (check out picture). The color wave does extenuate my non-existent curves. I wore Shaping Pantyhose by ASSETS and that works perfectly fine! No lines whatsoever. Dancing (as in real couple dancing) was achievable, however it was a bit tight to go super crazy. Overall got many compliments! Will rent again (:
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

Loved this dress! Wore it to a bar mitzvah and it was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Looked great, fit like a glove--VERY comfortable the whole night! Dress was sleek, beautiful and elegant. Very figure flattering. Would definitely rent again!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

My boyfriend's reaction: "Can I buy that dress for you?"

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Super sexy dress, perfectly fitted and flattering for a lady with curves. If you love your hour glass figure, this is definitely the dress for you. I loved the mesh top as well. All night I felt super confident in my look!
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

This dress was perfect for a company holiday party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit well. Yes, you will need to wear with a strapless bra, because the mesh on the shoulders is sheer. Also, don't forget nude undies/Spanx because black underthings show through the blush side of the dress. I'm not sure if it runs big, or if my daily trips to the gym have been paying off, but I was able to go with the smaller size on this - a 4. This was simple and chic, didn't knock my socks off, but certainly got the job done at a company party.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jan 29, 2014

Super comfortable and flattering.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The design of the dress is extremely flattering no matter what your shape is, you'll have curves in all the right places. The dress was very comfortable and well structured. I am a little on the short side so the dress hit my knees. I wore spanx because on the lighter side of the dress it was hard to avoid lines of some sort showing. Loved the dress, would definitely rent again!
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Sexy lil thang...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I went with the size 6 because the 4 was just a little too snug overall. The dress is fairly stretchy which is great. I still wore spanx under the dress but I felt very sexy!
NE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Looked great. Felt great.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering and super comfortable dress. Top part, straps and upper back were sheer which I didn't realize but was OK with. Underwear is pretty much out of the question because of the fit and color. Got a lot of compliments and felt great in it!!
Beatriz
Age: 29
Mar 27, 2014

Great fit and comfortable!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding and it was extremely comfortable to be in. Many people gave me compliments. I was hesitant in renting this dress because of my body type/weight and normally do not like to wear anything that is so tight fitting. However, some spanx took care of it and liked it. I wore it with some Vince Camuto peep-toe shoes, a couple of gold/black bracelets and earrings. No necklace. This dress was also comfortable in dancing with and wasn't worried about it running up.
U'nek
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Ordered this for NYE. Great party dress!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs big. I wish I ordered a size smaller. The lines great such a great shape. If your going to be dancing the night away this is the dress for you. Wear spanx or risk some serious VPL.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Very flattering! Fit perfectly!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Strapless needed because of mesh top. Goes great with black shoes and jewelry.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

It was a cousins wedding and had a blast! I very rarely get dressed up and this was a great time.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly! I wore the size 4 and it hugged all the right spots but wasn't too tight. It was ideal for a wedding, I danced the night away and the dress didn't creep up or get uncomfortable at all. I wore a backless bra and boy shorts with it and it worked out great. The dress came to my knees but I am short and expected that. What drew me most to this dress was the design and how it accentuated my curves. I can't wait to rent my next dress!!
RTR Customer
Apr 2, 2014

Looked Amazing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove! And got so many compliments! #birthday #rtr #mynewgoto
Chris
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

I received so many compliments from everyone!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! The material had a great seamless stretch and never bunched or rode up! The block coloring in the dress hit my curves in all the right places!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×