ERIN erin fetherston

Riding the Wave Sheath

$50 rental
$225 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party. Statement accessories like Dannijo's Ajak Earrings and Halston Heritage's Bronze Snake Clutch are all you need to make a grand entrance.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

188 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 160
Large 20
Photos 109
Jacki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 2, 2013

The dress was extremely comfortable and easy to dance in

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I don't think the pink color went well with my skin tone. I am light skinned.
Ife
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 5, 2013

N/a

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Longer than appears on model
Ada
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

What a dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my back up and I swear, if I could have pulled off a wardrobe change so that I could wear both dresses at one event, I would've I so regret not being able to wear this dress. I'm usually wary of these types of dresses, as a larger female. But the cut is just right and the design is very flattering. Go for this dress, it'll surprise you :)
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

Sexy & Sophisticated

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a work awards dinner. I'm glad I chose this in 2 sizes and I would have worn the size 6 but it had a stain on the back of the dress like the last person sat in something. I did wear the 4 but felt it was a little tight and had to wear spanks under it. I feel the dress is appropriate for a work event. You look good but it is not low cut or anything to sexy.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Great dress! Comfortable and beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received many compliments on the dress! It was comfortable and easy to dance in.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Too clingy

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not wearing this dress - it fit right, but showed EVERYTHING! You have to have the perfect body to wear this dress....or some REALLY good spanx!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

Great Dress; Perfect for Special Night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 0 and 2 in this dress. I didn't notice a big difference between the two sizes but because I'm short (5'2") I went with the 0 as it was a bit shorter. Length hit me close to the knee. The dress hugs the body and the pattern accentuates curves. Great dress for a fun and flirty night out!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

Amazing Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party, and it was perfect! The dress was flattering, fit like a glove, and the fabric/colors were so slimming. It was perfect for dancing all night - It stayed in place and didn't ride up. I would definitely, definitely rent this again
angie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

everyone loved the dress and the way it fit perfectly

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
very nice dress, comfortable and elegant
A
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Simple yet classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was nervous as this was my first time ordering from RTR. They normally send a second size, but my size was unavailable for the date I needed it. The size I wanted was a size 0, which was unavailable. I ordered a size 2. I have to say I was very happy. The size 2 was perfect and contoured very well. The dress fits true to size. I wanted a simple yet classy dress for a office party. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I did not particularly care for the zipper down the back of the dress. But when matched with a pair of classic black pumps, bracelet and earrings, the back of the dress no longer became an issue. The dress exceeded my expectations. I will definitely order again from RTR!!! Thank you RTR!! XOXO
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Felt classy and sexy at the same time

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing my back up of 6 since I heard it ran large - it was still a little big but only noticeable to me. Beware - it is curve hugging so you can see everything! Seamless bra/spanx recommended.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

SOOOO many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits like a glove, no matter who you are! perfect length, and the thickness and type of material is tight, but with some spanx, makes you feel like wonder woman. I felt awesome wearing this dress!
Charlotte
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

This was my first dress and I rented it for my work holiday party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was PERFECT! I'm 5'11" and I was nervous about how long it would be. It was right above my knees. The sheer at the top was such a good touch. I got compliments all night on it. Highly recommended!!
Lam
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

love the fit

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
get fit around bust. I am a 38DD and I worn the 10 for my class reunion. Amazing many complements
Klysicia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2013

Perfect! I loved the fit and its was perfect for my banquet!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was the perfect dress for my banquet!! Lots of compliments everyone loved it!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 21, 2013

Black and.. not pink

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nice fit, and weight of fabric, but the dress in this size had been subject to heavy use. It had been dry-cleaned so many times that the pink had faded to what used to be called flesh tone. The pink color provides contrast and feminizes the black dress, and when faded, it is just another dress. I would not have been able to wear the pink shoes I had ready for this, because the dress had no pink in it. I did not wear it. If you look at the photos submitted, you'll see a LOT of variation in the pink color for wearers other than me.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Accentuated my curves beautifully

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really great dress, unfortunately it wasn't the best for my occasion. I got it as a backup to wear to a Christmas party with my boyfriend's family and since the top part is sheer, I really didn't want to be fussing with a strapless bra all night. I would definitely consider renting it again for a different occasion, however.
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Stand out dress, sexy and classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit perfectly, accentuates curves nicely
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

BEAUTIFUL LINES! Looks amazing on curves

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't realize top of dress was mesh/see through, but it worked fine being that the dress was for an evening cocktail party. May not have been appropriate for a daytime event.
Megan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 27, 2014

So Many Compliments! <3

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit exceptionally well. I normally wear a 12, but the 10 had a better fit and hugged all the right places so I decided to wear that instead. I wore it throughout the day and it was extremely comfortable and then throughout the night for a concert. I got tons of compliments and a few guys' phone numbers. Because of my school's policy and that I am very self-conscious of my arms so I wore a shrug, but wouldn't have needed one otherwise. The sheer part on the top isn't actually that noticeable, either. However, you do see it and can feel it against your skin, although it did not feel uncomfortable for me. The dress was sort of short due to me wearing it during school, but I'm also not that tall and wore tights so it worked. Overall it was an amazing dress and I wish I hadn't forgotten to take some pictures because I looked FAB-U-LOUS! It gave me a lot of confidence and I recommend it to anyone who is thinking about it as it looks good on almost every body shape!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Great color and fit. Thick material.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little short for a wedding.
Leila
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

This dress was comfortable and sexy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit perfectly! I was worried about the tightness of it, but it wasn't too tight nor too loose. I wore it to see Beyonce and it was a dream dress for a dream concert! Very good length!
Jonille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

This dress is unique and gorgeous!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a wine tasting event, and turned a lot of heads. The fabric is stretchy, but not gauzy. Wear it with spanx if you're king of lumpy like me, lol!
Dina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Unlined! Fit like a baggy t-shirt

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Did not like the quality of this dress. Hard to believe it was designer made. Unlined, exposed seams on the underside lent itself to bumps, baggy areas. I am petite, and have toned body, and this looked awful on. Couldn't wear.
Nesia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

The quality of the dress and the material fit my body perfectly, I received several compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit great!
Kerin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 179 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Sophisticated and comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was extremely comfortable (has good stretch) and looked amazing on. I felt like a million bucks and had lots of compliments. I would highly recommend this dress for an evening date, cocktail party, etc.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

This is my third time renting a dress. It simple and deliver is always on time.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Comfortable. My only con is you have to wear a strapless bra because of the sheer portion on top. Otherwise this dress is perfect.
nakishia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 3, 2014

I didn't think I would like this dress but I was so wrong, I wear it to a wedding

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of the dress runs a little big, so I had to wear the size 10, which fitted perfectly. I am full busted and curvy and it filled all the right places.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Nice concept, poor fit

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Ended up returning this dress. It was not flattering on and the shoulders were a bit big, even in the smaller of the two sizes I ordered. Was disappointed that this rental did not work out.
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

Beautiful and easy to wear

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great, fabric extremely comfortable and the sheer detail at the top was perfect.
mariesd
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 28, 2014

this dress... A to the Mazing!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in both 10 and 12 for a wedding. Both fit me, but I felt like the size 12 was a little more forgiving. It's stretchy, but thick enough so you dont feel every little bump is on display. I received multiple compliments all evening. I wish I owed this dress!
Shellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 95 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Loved it! Easy to wear, sharp silhouette!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The was fun, but not one to necessarily wow the crowd. This is perfect as an understated LBD with a pop of something else. It fit great with no problems at all...very comfy and easy to move in. I know it looked great, but it's not the kind of dress that will fetch a lot of compliments, though I felt great in it. I feel that this would be more for the after-work crowd, cocktails or a quiet dinner.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great, true to size. The material is light and stretchy which makes it great for dancing and didn't ride up. Definitely recommend it!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

This dress fit like a glove - hello curves!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The sheer top was a bit stretched out, so I opted to wear the smaller size. Was a great fit and received lots of compliments. Would highly recommend!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Cute but couldn't wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I only got one size (10) and it was too big. The 8 or 6 probably would have been perfect.
Kersten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Work event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was a little snug without much stretch, but overall, a good dress for a work event. Wore it with a blazer and black pumps to professionalize it up a bit.
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Sleek and sexy -- got a lot of compliments and really liked wearing this.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm on the shorter side so it was longer on me than in the pic, but still really liked it!
Janie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Awesome and Comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress and it was very flattering for a curvy figure like mine.
Missy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

First Rental, did not disappoint!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore for a holiday party and felt super comfortable and received lots of compliments, would rent it again!
claire
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2014

I really loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was surprised how sheer the top section was, but really liked it. Definitely need a strapless bra. The fit is snug and flattering.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×