Riding the Wave Sheath

$79 to buy
$225 retail
Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
222 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(178)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2013
The dress was extremely comfortable and easy to dance in
I don't think the pink color went well with my skin tone. I am light skinned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2013
Simple & classic
I ordered the 0 and 2 in this dress. With the amount of stretch, I really didn't notice a huge difference between the sizes but because I'm on the shorter side, I went with the zero. The pattern accentuates curves amazingly. One of the bridesmaids told me I was the most stunning guest at the wedding and asked where my dress was from. Of course, I filled her in on the amazing world of RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
November 5, 2013
Perfect for an evening wedding and true to size
This dress was perfect for an evening wedding. It was very true to size and comfortable. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I have to say I will 100% do this again based on my experience
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2013
I loved it!
It fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2013
Sexy & Sophisticated
I rented this for a work awards dinner. I'm glad I chose this in 2 sizes and I would have worn the size 6 but it had a stain on the back of the dress like the last person sat in something. I did wear the 4 but felt it was a little tight and had to wear spanks under it. I feel the dress is appropriate for a work event. You look good but it is not low cut or anything to sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
It was comfortable and yet I got tons of compliments! Great combo
The dress was awesome! Great, easy fit. It is a little body-con so be aware of that. It was comfortable and I was able to dance the whole night at the wedding without worrying about anything! It was a little stretchy, not the mesh part though, and that made it really forgiving and comfortable. The pattern was flattering too. Everyone was complimenting me, so that felt good! I wore it with a strapless bra (you have to because the top black panel is mesh) and spanks, which I'd recommend because of the stretchy material of the dress. I think it would've showed VPL with anything else. It was covered enough to wear to church with a wrap and yet was fun and sexy enough for the reception, without being over-the-top sexy. It was just enough! I loved wearing it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2013
Too clingy
I ended up not wearing this dress - it fit right, but showed EVERYTHING! You have to have the perfect body to wear this dress....or some REALLY good spanx!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 20, 2013
Great Dress; Perfect for Special Night
I ordered the 0 and 2 in this dress. I didn't notice a big difference between the two sizes but because I'm short (5'2") I went with the 0 as it was a bit shorter. Length hit me close to the knee. The dress hugs the body and the pattern accentuates curves. Great dress for a fun and flirty night out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
December 6, 2013
Amazing Dress!
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party, and it was perfect! The dress was flattering, fit like a glove, and the fabric/colors were so slimming. It was perfect for dancing all night - It stayed in place and didn't ride up. I would definitely, definitely rent this again
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 7, 2013
A dress the recieved loads of compliments that didn't break the bank!
Attended a military retirement party and am so glad I got this dress. It fit true to form, was very comfortable and stretchy. The dress clearly speaks for itself when you walk into a room, so no need for over the top accessories. Subtlety works very well for this dress. For a curvy woman such as myself it accentuated all the positives and camoflauged the negatives. The length was perfect, the top mesh was slightly loose, but hardly noticable. Absoutely LOVED it! Returning it the next day was simple and easy with the accompanied pre-paid UPS packaging. Given it had to be in the mail before noon, it gave me plenty of time to work on my hangover!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
December 10, 2013
Simple yet classy
I was nervous as this was my first time ordering from RTR. They normally send a second size, but my size was unavailable for the date I needed it. The size I wanted was a size 0, which was unavailable. I ordered a size 2. I have to say I was very happy. The size 2 was perfect and contoured very well. The dress fits true to size. I wanted a simple yet classy dress for a office party. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I did not particularly care for the zipper down the back of the dress. But when matched with a pair of classic black pumps, bracelet and earrings, the back of the dress no longer became an issue. The dress exceeded my expectations. I will definitely order again from RTR!!! Thank you RTR!! XOXO
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
December 11, 2013
Felt classy and sexy at the same time
I ended up wearing my back up of 6 since I heard it ran large - it was still a little big but only noticeable to me. Beware - it is curve hugging so you can see everything! Seamless bra/spanx recommended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2013
SOOOO many compliments!
It fits like a glove, no matter who you are! perfect length, and the thickness and type of material is tight, but with some spanx, makes you feel like wonder woman. I felt awesome wearing this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2013
This was my first dress and I rented it for my work holiday party
It was PERFECT! I'm 5'11" and I was nervous about how long it would be. It was right above my knees. The sheer at the top was such a good touch. I got compliments all night on it. Highly recommended!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
December 16, 2013
love the fit
get fit around bust. I am a 38DD and I worn the 10 for my class reunion. Amazing many complements
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2013
Perfect! I loved the fit and its was perfect for my banquet!
It was the perfect dress for my banquet!! Lots of compliments everyone loved it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
June 18, 2013
Work Event
This dress is perfect its sexy without being too revealing. It reaches about knee length but it does show off curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2013
Comfortable and flattering.
Great fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 2, 2013
Classy dress
Dress was gorgeous i had many compliments , i recommend !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2013
N/a
Longer than appears on model
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 9, 2013
everyone loved the dress and the way it fit perfectly
very nice dress, comfortable and elegant
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2013
Black and.. not pink
Nice fit, and weight of fabric, but the dress in this size had been subject to heavy use. It had been dry-cleaned so many times that the pink had faded to what used to be called flesh tone. The pink color provides contrast and feminizes the black dress, and when faded, it is just another dress. I would not have been able to wear the pink shoes I had ready for this, because the dress had no pink in it. I did not wear it. If you look at the photos submitted, you'll see a LOT of variation in the pink color for wearers other than me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 1, 2014
Accentuated my curves beautifully
Really great dress, unfortunately it wasn't the best for my occasion. I got it as a backup to wear to a Christmas party with my boyfriend's family and since the top part is sheer, I really didn't want to be fussing with a strapless bra all night. I would definitely consider renting it again for a different occasion, however.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
Rented this for a NYE party and loved it! Super comfortable and looks great in pictures.
True to size! Soft material and stretchy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 8, 2014
Classy yet sexy
The dress fits great! (with a Victoria Secret bombshell bra haha). If you don't have a butt then the dress will runched up a bit in the back (check out picture). The color wave does extenuate my non-existent curves. I wore Shaping Pantyhose by ASSETS and that works perfectly fine! No lines whatsoever. Dancing (as in real couple dancing) was achievable, however it was a bit tight to go super crazy. Overall got many compliments! Will rent again (:
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
January 12, 2014
Loved this dress! Wore it to a bar mitzvah and it was perfect!
Looked great, fit like a glove--VERY comfortable the whole night! Dress was sleek, beautiful and elegant. Very figure flattering. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2014
My boyfriend's reaction: "Can I buy that dress for you?"
Super sexy dress, perfectly fitted and flattering for a lady with curves. If you love your hour glass figure, this is definitely the dress for you. I loved the mesh top as well. All night I felt super confident in my look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2014
Stand out dress, sexy and classy
fit perfectly, accentuates curves nicely
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 13, 2014
This dress was perfect for a company holiday party.
It fit well. Yes, you will need to wear with a strapless bra, because the mesh on the shoulders is sheer. Also, don't forget nude undies/Spanx because black underthings show through the blush side of the dress. I'm not sure if it runs big, or if my daily trips to the gym have been paying off, but I was able to go with the smaller size on this - a 4. This was simple and chic, didn't knock my socks off, but certainly got the job done at a company party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
January 17, 2014
BEAUTIFUL LINES! Looks amazing on curves
I didn't realize top of dress was mesh/see through, but it worked fine being that the dress was for an evening cocktail party. May not have been appropriate for a daytime event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 29, 2014
Super comfortable and flattering.
The design of the dress is extremely flattering no matter what your shape is, you'll have curves in all the right places. The dress was very comfortable and well structured. I am a little on the short side so the dress hit my knees. I wore spanx because on the lighter side of the dress it was hard to avoid lines of some sort showing. Loved the dress, would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2014
Sexy lil thang...
I went with the size 6 because the 4 was just a little too snug overall. The dress is fairly stretchy which is great. I still wore spanx under the dress but I felt very sexy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
February 6, 2014
This dress was comfortable and sexy!
It fit perfectly! I was worried about the tightness of it, but it wasn't too tight nor too loose. I wore it to see Beyonce and it was a dream dress for a dream concert! Very good length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
February 9, 2014
This dress is unique and gorgeous!
I wore this dress to a wine tasting event, and turned a lot of heads. The fabric is stretchy, but not gauzy. Wear it with spanx if you're king of lumpy like me, lol!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 19, 2014
Unlined! Fit like a baggy t-shirt
Did not like the quality of this dress. Hard to believe it was designer made. Unlined, exposed seams on the underside lent itself to bumps, baggy areas. I am petite, and have toned body, and this looked awful on. Couldn't wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 27, 2014
Sophisticated and comfortable
It was extremely comfortable (has good stretch) and looked amazing on. I felt like a million bucks and had lots of compliments. I would highly recommend this dress for an evening date, cocktail party, etc.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2014
This is my third time renting a dress. It simple and deliver is always on time.
Comfortable. My only con is you have to wear a strapless bra because of the sheer portion on top. Otherwise this dress is perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2014
Looked great. Felt great.
Very flattering and super comfortable dress. Top part, straps and upper back were sheer which I didn't realize but was OK with. Underwear is pretty much out of the question because of the fit and color. Got a lot of compliments and felt great in it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 24, 2014
Nice concept, poor fit
Ended up returning this dress. It was not flattering on and the shoulders were a bit big, even in the smaller of the two sizes I ordered. Was disappointed that this rental did not work out.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
March 27, 2014
Great fit and comfortable!
I wore this for a wedding and it was extremely comfortable to be in. Many people gave me compliments. I was hesitant in renting this dress because of my body type/weight and normally do not like to wear anything that is so tight fitting. However, some spanx took care of it and liked it. I wore it with some Vince Camuto peep-toe shoes, a couple of gold/black bracelets and earrings. No necklace. This dress was also comfortable in dancing with and wasn't worried about it running up.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×