Riding the Wave Sheath

$35 rental
$225 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sexy in swirls! Go for a bold look in this illusion sheath by ERIN Erin Fetherston for the party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted at waistline
HIPS: Very Fitted –curvier women should consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra (due to sheer fabric on shoulders)
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and nude ponte (65% rayon 31% nylon 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Sheer mesh paneling detail. Pencil skirt. Exposed zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
216 reviews
Fit
Large26
True to Size173
Small5
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2014
NIce, Sleek and held everything in
The fit was perfect. Perfect fit, perfect length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 9, 2014
Sophisticated + unique LBD
Fits true to size. The design is slimming and complimentary. I wore this dress to a fall semi-outdoor wedding. It was the perfect amount of class and sass.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2014
Perfect fit and comfortable!
This was actually a backup, backup, backup, backup, dress for me for a late summer wedding. I had rented 2 other dresses (in 2 sizes of each), and all of them weren't able to be shipped to me due to damage from the previous renter. This one wasn't even on my radar but the stylist picked it out and it fit like a glove! Nothing I can say bad about this dress at all.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2014
First RTR rental: So easy and loved the dress!
This dress was super comfortable and perfect for the family wedding I attended. I wore a nubra and seamless underwear, both of which I recommended for this dress. I got compliments all night long- will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 26, 2014
Amazing fit- hugged in all the right places.
I am currently wearing a size 10 (still have baby weight), but this dress totally complimentary me in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2014
Classic Look
I wore this dress for a wedding, and it was extremely comfortable. I felt great in this dress and was able to move around easily. Seamless underwear is a must though. Great dress overall!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2014
Comfortable to wear all night
The contrast black and white was very slimming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2014
Did not wear this dress.
Absolutely loved this dress. It was a back-up sent to me as my original size in another dress was not wearable due to a previous renter. This dress was so comfy and very flattering for all body types. Just wound up not wearing it as it wasn't as fancy as I wanted for the party I was going to. Overall would rent for a different occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2014
Flattering and comfortable
The dress definitely runs large--order down at least one size. However, when in the right size, the dress is very complimentary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
November 10, 2014
The dress was gorgeous, that was perfect, in the comfort was not to be believed.
I wore this dress to my 40th high school reunion, and was complimented on it all night. One of the best compliments I had received was: "you never look like that in high school". I guess when you dress from rent the runway, you get better with age Lololol!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 29, 2014
This dress is simple but very elegant. It caught everyone's eye. Received many compliments.
It fit like a glove. Very comfortable. It didn't ride up or snug anywhere. Totally recommend to a modest event or a nice dinner. Nothing lavishly about this dress but very elegant and chic.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 19, 2014
Best dress ever!
I rented this dress for a wedding (it was actually a replacement for a different dress) and I couldn't be happier. I loved being able to wear a regular bra with the dress and I received so many compliments when wearing it. I will absolutely rent this again! I wish I could keep it in my closet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 13, 2014
Only OK
The dress itself seemed well made, it just wasn't for me. The pinky-beige colour made me look washed out and sallow. I recommend spanx.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 11, 2014
Dress makes you feel so slim and sexy but comfortable!
This dress is perfect for any cocktail event. Not only did the dress fit like a glove, but it was so soft and stretchy too. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 6, 2014
Favorite dress I have ever worn!
As great as this dress looks in photos, it looks even better in person. The fit is very true to size. I ordered the size 2 and would have chosen the size 0 for my backup dress but it was unavailable. Good news is that the size 2 was perfect - fitted but not too tight. I received so many compliments and felt very comfortable the entire night in this dress. I was very sad to return it and even considered just paying the retail for it so I could keep it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
October 2, 2014
Modern minimizer
Fit really well and hugged my curves but accentuated my hips better than I expected. Chose this for a Derby party but wore it for Sunday brunch instead.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 23, 2014
First #RTR experience....fantastic! Everything I hoped it would be!
This dress fit very well, nice and snug but not too tight. (size 4, didn't even try on the 2) Of course the zipper down my back didn't lay perfectly flat against my body but that's to be expected, and it was definitely better than any non-designer dress with a zipper I have worn. Overall, fantastic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2014
This was a great, sophisticated option for my friend's wedding!
This dress is very comfortable and very flattering.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 16, 2014
Cute, comfortable bodycon dress.
The dress fit true to size. I had no issues fitting into the size 8; it zipped up very easily. The dress was form fitting and has no lining, so spanx were necessary to smooth out undesirable body bulges. A strapless bra is recommended as the top part of the dress is see through, but you can probably get away with wearing a black racer-back bra. Other than the lack of lining, I have no complaints on the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 11, 2014
Great Dress
I wore this to my husband's after tax party. It fit well without being too tight like most midi dresses. I didnt have an issue with it being see through either.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2014
Cute, but didn't wear
This dress was really cute and comfortable and was true to size, I just didn't wear because it wasn't quite flashy enough for a bachelorette party.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 5, 2014
Had fun with my husband picking out a dress!
Loved this dress! Right mix of classy and sexy! ;-) It fit great and was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2014
Didn't choose to wear this piece but it was beautiful.
Hits the curves and hides imperfections easily.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 1, 2014
.
Excellent dress. Form fitting but not too tight - still wore spanx to help hide flaws. Perfect length for my 5'11" frame. Wish the neckline had been slightly more shear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
August 18, 2014
Let there be curves!
I don't have that pretty hourglass figure, but this dress totally made me feel curvy!! A little fitted, but the black part kind of hides your tummy!! I loved this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 13, 2014
Perfect fit! This dress was made out of material that worked well with dancing all night long!
The hourglass design perfectly contoured to my body and slimmed me down. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6, so I ordered both. The 6 fit but you could tell the pattern wasn't hitting where it was supposed to on my body. The 4 fit like a glove and looked great but I was a little concerned at first that it would be restricting. Not so! Super comfortable and I ended up not even wearing my spanx with it!! Obsessed with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2014
Tons of compliments!!
I truly loved the entire experience. I got a ton if compliments, and one astonished boyfriend. The dress was in mint condition--you would never know it was a rental! I felt so classy and comfortable in it. I can't wait for my next RTR dress. The only problem I had was that I am not very 'busty', so I had trouble filling the top part out. Not the dress's fault! #goRTRorgohome #RTRistheway
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2014
It was figure flattering with the swerve of the dress. I'd recommend for those who are hourglass.
I thought it ran a little small, so I went up a size. The waist was a little big on me in the 8, but the hips were tight in a 6. I thought it looked great when you could see the whole dress. However, when you took pictures from the waist up, I thought it looked like I had a casual tank top on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 31, 2014
RTR never disappoints !
The dress fit true to size , but it tended to ride up and the material was a bit cheap, however it fit great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 25, 2014
Lovely dress, but it's not Black and White!
Lovely dress. Fits nicely and it's well made, with cute details (like the see-through fabric and the chunky silver zipper on the back). I was expecting a black and off white dress though, instead it's black and beige (almost skin color). I am not a big fan of the color combination—as I think BW would have been more elegant. Oh, the dress came with a bad of Neutrogena samples, which was a nice unexpected touch :) There is very little difference between size 6 and size 8—I can wear them both as a matter fact.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 22, 2014
seriously awesome
i loved this dress and received a million compliments in it! it accentuates all the right places - like will make you look like you have a banging body - i had a stranger come up and tell me i was perfect (which is farrrrr from the truth - it was all the dress)! would highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 21, 2014
Great go-to cocktail dress
I rented this dress for a work cocktail party in NYC. I flew in just for the night and had ordered the dress super last minute, so RTR had the dress delivered to my hotel room. It was a little annoying because I kept having to call the front desk and stay on top of them (seems they don't get deliveries often even though it's a fancy place??) - but I finally got it just in time for me to slip it on and head out to the party. Dress fits beautifully. I wore the larger size because it was more comfortable, but the smaller size would've been fine as well. Very flattering, hugs in all of the right places. In all of my rush, I didn't get a photo of the dress - but it worked out perfectly. Also, it was great to be able to return the dress in the mail from my house since I didn't have time to stop at a mailbox on my way to the airport the following morning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
July 15, 2014
A sexy dress for a summer night out to celebrate my 30th with my best friends in my former city.
Sexy dress that was very flattering in the right places and not too over the top. High quality dress too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
July 6, 2014
So hot!
I wore this for a date with my new beau. It hugged all of my curves and I felt pretty sexy in this dress. It fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 21, 2014
2 Michelin star restaurant in a 5 star dress.
This dress made me feel totally comfortable in such a beautiful restaurant. The fit is true to size and the fabric had a "hold you in" spanx-like quality. I felt like Gloria on Modern Family with all the curves it accentuated. Tip: plan your undergarment carefully! It will show everything.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 17, 2014
I received tons of complements on how cute the dress was.
Loved the dress. The material was really comfortable. The lighter color is more on the beige side than I thought it would be.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2014
I wanted to look classy and still sexy at the same time. Mission Complete!
This dress was great. The sheer top made it looks sexy while still being class at the same time. The color blocking is very slimming. It's tight but not TOO tight. I could fit into the 6 but decided to wear the 8 because I was going to be eating a lot that day. It was a great dress, I will wear it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 15, 2014
Loved the fit and very comfortable!
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding and it was perfect! Very comfortable and had great stretch to it. If you are looking for a flattering, curve hugging dress then definitely rent this one! My friend is also wearing a RTW dress which was fabulous (and also one of my favorites!). It is the ML Monique Lhuillier dress called Never Let You Go sheath. We both love RTW and will definitely be renting from here for all our events!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2014
Wore dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Got tons of compliments.
I wear a size 4-6. 6 was definitely to large.Size 4 was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
great customer service
I ordered this dress for a wedding in sizes 2 and 4. The 4 was big on me and the 2 fit but just didn't look good on my body. i have a short torso and the dress looked unflattering with my midsection. I would recommend for those with a more classic hour glass figure or a longer torso. Shape-wear is definitely a must. The dress was beautiful in person though and makes your bum look great.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×