ERIN erin fetherston

Madison Ave Dress

$40 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Heading to a holiday party? Slip into this classic look by ERIN Erin Fetherston.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout mid-section
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mini length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout mid-section
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mini length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe with lace inserts. Cap sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

67 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 43
Large 5
Photos 18
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 6, 2014

Legs for days!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This was much shorter than I anticipated! But it was fun being out of my comfort zone for the night. The dress is very comfortable, and the faux sheet panels were a plus!
Hania
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Love this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went to the RTR store in the city and fell in love with the dress. I originally tried on the 4 which was a little too small so I ordered the 6. The 6 had extra space in the back and gaped a little bit but I covered with my hair. The lace on the sides makes it super flattering and slimming but it's also very form fitting and super short so it's not appropriate for a conservative event. I got tons of compliments and would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 22, 2014

Great fit! Shoulders add a touch of glam to LBD

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit very well around curves. The lining made it super comfortable and easy to wear. The sizing is regular, but the length is definitely short. The silver/beige paneling gave it a very classy feel! The only complaint I have with this dress is the fabric is a little more thin than other RTR dresses I have had, so you may need spanx for the stomach area. Overall, the dress is beautiful!
Meredith
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

The dress was cute but ran small.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress I feel runs a size small. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 4. I only wore the dress to the wedding ceremony and ran home and changed before the cocktail hour. The dress rode up as I walked and it was annoying that I had to constantly pull it down. I do not recommend this dress.
Emi G
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 14, 2013

Great fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material is of high quality and does not stretch throughout the night, which I loved! I received multiple compliments throughout the night! It's a sexy yet classy dress and I'd be happy to rent this again.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

Absolutely perfect.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress as an option and it was the one I went with! It fit perfectly and was very flattering. This dress received so many compliments and head turns by the end of the night! I was so sad to see it go, but I will definitely rent again!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 14, 2013

Great dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for an event that was, sadly, rescheduled due to a blizzard. When I tried it on, however, it was flattering. RTR was very good about reimbursing me for the dress and I was able to re-rent it for the rescheduled event. I wore the 4. Low bun and red lipstick (and some fabulous earrings also courtesy of RTR) and was ready to go!
HollyGolightly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Wore this out for my birthday, and I got a lot of compliments. Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit exactly how I thought it would. The fabric was super soft, and it was very comfortable. It gave the illusion of an hourglass figure, and I was able to dress it down with black tights and flats. I'm 5'8, so without flats/tights, it might have look a little too short for me. Overall, I really enjoyed renting this!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

This was the one

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this and an additional dress. This was the one, it looked amazing and was perfect with the chunky gold necklace and nude pumps I already had. It was comfortable I sized up and would definitely go back down to a 10 if i rent this again.
Linsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2012

This dress was the perfect combination of modest and sexy - perfect for the unexpected funeral.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit was fantastic. I was worried the side panels were transparent, but they are lined. Got a ton of compliments. Props to RTR!
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Simple yet elegant dress, easily paired with a bun and red lipstick and you're ready to go!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented both the size 2 and the size 4 and ended up wearing the 2 as it just was a better fit for my shoulders but I could of easily worn the 4 as well as it was a tad bit longer and fit relatively the same.
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Simple yet elegant dress, easily paired with a bun and red lipstick and you're ready to go!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented both the size 2 and the size 4 and ended up wearing the 2 as it just was a better fit for my shoulders but I could of easily worn the 4 as well as it was a tad bit longer and fit relatively the same.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Saw my ex for the first time in years, this dress made his jaw drop!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous and super comfortable LBD with lace panels. I thought it may not be as formal as I would need it to be, but it worked out smashingly well. The jersey knit was breathable and cooling on a hot summer day!
Jessica M.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 11, 2012

I received a lot of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress in a 2 and a 4 for a January wedding. I did receive several compliments on it. I ended up wearing the 2, but it pulled in the hip area a bit. The 4 had a big fabric wrinkle in the back where I am short waisted. After seeing some professional photos a few weeks ago, I'm wondering if this dress was a tad inappropriate. I could see a whole lot of bright white leg. Maybe it would look better with tights?
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 3, 2012

Renting this LBD was great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for NYE. I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and I ended up wearing the 4. They both fit about the same but the 6 was longer and I am short (5'2") so I wanted the shorter one. It does have a conservative neckline, but it is super tight and short (if you want it to be) so that adds something to it.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

SOOO many compliments when I wore this! And my sister wore it to prom!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I would wear this again almost anywhere. It has a conservative neckline but hugs your curves (in a good way!) It does ride up so wear tights if thats not the look your going for.
linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

small but cute

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a bit small and a LOT short. I think size up and it could be a fun dress :)
Lala
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Cute, but so short!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress looked a little boring in the picture, but I ordered it anyway. It was really cute and the overall cut was flattering; the comfortable material and interesting side panels were a bonus. (I thought the panels would be sheer but they were actually nude-colored fabric with grey lace over it.) HOWEVER! I ordered this for a work holiday party and even with tights I could not bring myself to wear it in public! It was toooooo short; "above my fingertips" short. I MIGHT wear this to a party or on a date - with thick opaque tights!
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Pretty dress, but not my favorite

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was nice but not my favorite RTR dress. The dress rides up a lot and even though I have 4'11. It hit a few inches above my knees. It is a pretty dress and super comfy, just not my fav.
Christianna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

A night in Chicago of celebrating and dancing.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
More this for a bachelorette party. It is really comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments. It is really short so be prepared with spanks or just general awareness.
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Cute dress, just didn't fit quite right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I knew this dress would be short, but I'm only 5'3 so most dresses are much longer than me than on the model. But this dress ended up being too short to be appropriate to wear to the family event that I rented it for. Might have been ok with tights underneath but I rented it in the summer so it just wasn't possible. I also felt like the place where it hit on the thigh made it a little less flattering. Cute dress, just not right for me or this event. Would be better for a girls night out or New Year's Eve type event.
Miriam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

The dress was very short

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was so short that I was unable to wear it
cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Short, short short.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was way too short for my taste. It's a mini mini!
yen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

The fact that you could see my underwear if I leaned over. Ridiculously short.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Incredibly short. I couldn't wear it.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Cute dress for Vegas date

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was really comfortable and cute for a date in Las Vegas. I gave it 4 stars because it is really short. I wore tights but was concerned about any bending over whatsoever. Nice fabric and comfy for sure.
Jamie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 23, 2014

Classy and Sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit!
morgen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

I ordered it for a wedding but couldn't wear it because it was SOOO short.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'7 and 135 lbs, with long legs. The size 8 was SOO short that when I raised my arms ALL of my underwear showed. I definitely could not wear this out of the house. It was a cute dress for someone shorter though
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 12, 2014

Very comfortable

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had read that this dress ran true to size so to be safe I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit perfectly, the 8 seemed about the same except it kind of had extra fabric that bunched below the hips (where the bottom tip of the side lace parts are). It was shorter than I expected - I'm 5'2 and it hit the same length as the model in the photo (I guess I thought it would be longer on a short person!) Still, not so short that I felt embarrassed to wear it to a wedding. *added later: After reading some more reviews I thought I should go back and emphasize that yes this was much shorter than I expected. Not scandalous but, short enough that I did tell my boyfriend if I dropped something he would have to pick it up for me because I couldn't possibly bend over to pick it up! I still loved this dress and give it five stars. It was super comfortable, and stretchier than I though it would be, not stiff at all. Didn't have to tug at it or rearrange anything throughout the event, and it was great being able to wear a regular bra.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Cute but way too short

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I tried both the 8 and the 10- the 8 fit perfectly but was so, so incredibly short- there was no way I could wear it in public! The 10 was a little too loose, and still way too short. Too bad, it's a pretty dress and feels very well made.
Karlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 25, 2013

Cute and comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was nice. It definitely shows of the legs
bvivian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

slim fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The slim cut of this dress made it pretty short, could be becuase im on the busty side.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Cute but SHORT!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super cute, and I would say true to size. Very flattering in the upper body and midsection. The downside is it was really (really, really) short on me.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

WAY too short!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't able to wear this dress because of how short it was! I rented for a winter wedding and planned on wearing with tights and booties. I tried both sizes on and they both came right to the bottom of my bum - and I'm only 5'5"! Could definitely be good for a party, but certainly not appropriate for a church wedding.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Nov 13, 2013

Pretty Holiday party look.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering dress. Love the gold sleeves.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 22, 2013

This dress would have been perfect if it were longer

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The overall fit of this dress was perfect for my body...except the length, it was way too short for a wedding. I would rent it again for a cocktail party, or new years eve. It says in the description to wear a strapless bra but the lace has lining under it so you don't see bra straps at all.
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

oh my this dress is short!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. I am not particularly tall (5'4'') but this dress barely (and I mean BARELY) covered my bum. I had to pick up another dress as a substitute - although I did wear it out the night before the wedding and got lots of compliments (it was in New Orleans so short dress was fine). I do think this dress would be adorable for a winter wedding with black tights. But for this girl - way too short! Also - size up.
Meaghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

too short

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
too short
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Teeny Tiny

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was remarkably small. I've rented very similar ones that fit entirely differently. I had rented it for a work event but, it was so short and so tight I looked like I was going to the club. Had to pass.
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

I wore this to my boyfriend's fraternity formal.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was a nice fit, and I am very busty. However, it is fell longer on me (closer to the knees) than I would have liked. I am 5'3". However, overall, I received tons of compliments all night and it was very comfortable! I went with the 4 because the 6 was way too big on me! And I usually wear a 6.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

Nice dress, just not for me

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress in a 10 &12. The 10 fit perfect throughout the whole dress but it was short, and I mean SHORT. I tried on the 12 and the 12 proved to be way too boxy all over. I paired the 10 with opaque tights and even with the tights, it wasn't working. I should mention that I have a "bubble butt" but the difference in the two sizes didn't make for a comfortable or flattering fit. The fabrc of the dress tends to ride up which also didn't help the fit.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×