Madison Ave Dress

$52 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Heading to a holiday party? Slip into this classic look by ERIN Erin Fetherston.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout mid-section
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mini length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout mid-section
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mini length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe with lace inserts. Cap sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(45)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2014
Classy and Sexy
Great fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2014
The dress was very short
The dress was so short that I was unable to wear it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 8, 2014
Cute dress, just didn't fit quite right
I knew this dress would be short, but I'm only 5'3 so most dresses are much longer than me than on the model. But this dress ended up being too short to be appropriate to wear to the family event that I rented it for. Might have been ok with tights underneath but I rented it in the summer so it just wasn't possible. I also felt like the place where it hit on the thigh made it a little less flattering. Cute dress, just not right for me or this event. Would be better for a girls night out or New Year's Eve type event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 21, 2014
A night in Chicago of celebrating and dancing.
More this for a bachelorette party. It is really comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments. It is really short so be prepared with spanks or just general awareness.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 22, 2014
Great fit! Shoulders add a touch of glam to LBD
The dress fit very well around curves. The lining made it super comfortable and easy to wear. The sizing is regular, but the length is definitely short. The silver/beige paneling gave it a very classy feel! The only complaint I have with this dress is the fabric is a little more thin than other RTR dresses I have had, so you may need spanx for the stomach area. Overall, the dress is beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 1, 2014
Love this dress!
I went to the RTR store in the city and fell in love with the dress. I originally tried on the 4 which was a little too small so I ordered the 6. The 6 had extra space in the back and gaped a little bit but I covered with my hair. The lace on the sides makes it super flattering and slimming but it's also very form fitting and super short so it's not appropriate for a conservative event. I got tons of compliments and would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 6, 2014
Legs for days!!
This was much shorter than I anticipated! But it was fun being out of my comfort zone for the night. The dress is very comfortable, and the faux sheet panels were a plus!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
January 3, 2012
Refined and eye-catching
This dress had a good body-con fit, and the fabric was nice (like a thick ponte knit). I thought the lace cap-sleeves and side-panels were great for drawing attention to my exposed limbs and creating the illusion of a more curvaceous figure. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 2, 2014
Pretty dress, but not my favorite
This dress was nice but not my favorite RTR dress. The dress rides up a lot and even though I have 4'11. It hit a few inches above my knees. It is a pretty dress and super comfy, just not my fav.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2014
Cute, but so short!
I thought this dress looked a little boring in the picture, but I ordered it anyway. It was really cute and the overall cut was flattering; the comfortable material and interesting side panels were a bonus. (I thought the panels would be sheer but they were actually nude-colored fabric with grey lace over it.) HOWEVER! I ordered this for a work holiday party and even with tights I could not bring myself to wear it in public! It was toooooo short; "above my fingertips" short. I MIGHT wear this to a party or on a date - with thick opaque tights!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2015
small but cute
This was a bit small and a LOT short. I think size up and it could be a fun dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 4, 2015
I wore this out for one night of my bachelorette party. Perfect little black dress.
I loved the cap sleeve details and matching side panels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 31, 2012
Saw my ex for the first time in years, this dress made his jaw drop!
Gorgeous and super comfortable LBD with lace panels. I thought it may not be as formal as I would need it to be, but it worked out smashingly well. The jersey knit was breathable and cooling on a hot summer day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2012
Wore this out for my birthday, and I got a lot of compliments. Great dress!
It fit exactly how I thought it would. The fabric was super soft, and it was very comfortable. It gave the illusion of an hourglass figure, and I was able to dress it down with black tights and flats. I'm 5'8, so without flats/tights, it might have look a little too short for me. Overall, I really enjoyed renting this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
February 14, 2013
Great dress.
Rented this for an event that was, sadly, rescheduled due to a blizzard. When I tried it on, however, it was flattering. RTR was very good about reimbursing me for the dress and I was able to re-rent it for the rescheduled event. I wore the 4. Low bun and red lipstick (and some fabulous earrings also courtesy of RTR) and was ready to go!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 14, 2013
Great fit!
The material is of high quality and does not stretch throughout the night, which I loved! I received multiple compliments throughout the night! It's a sexy yet classy dress and I'd be happy to rent this again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 120lbs
July 16, 2014
The dress was cute but ran small.
The dress I feel runs a size small. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 4. I only wore the dress to the wedding ceremony and ran home and changed before the cocktail hour. The dress rode up as I walked and it was annoying that I had to constantly pull it down. I do not recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2011
Really nice dress
I didn't end up wearing the dress only because it wasn't totally right for the occasion, but I did love it! I do agree with the other post about wearing it with tights because it is a little short. But overall it was very form-fitting yet flattering (but I would recommend wearing Spanx!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
January 4, 2012
Nothing Special
Body-hugging style is unforgiving even though the thick fabric. The bottom hem is tight so I would not suggest this for a pear shape. Also the dress is short so I would not consider it work appropriate. Overall I only gave this dress 3 stars because it didn't have a wow factor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 16, 2012
Hot hot hot
I rented this dress for a date on my birthday. It was the perfect combination of covered up, but tight - and it is pretty short (even on my 5'1" frame). With the peekaboo lace on the sides, it was definitely hot! I felt the dress worked perfectly for both dinner at a nice restaurant, and the club we went to after - a very fine line for a dress to be able to walk! I marked it as "runs small" - it fit me really well and actually hit in all the right places, but I'm very short, so I can see how it would probably be too short on a taller person.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2012
Loved it
This dress was perfect for a nice date night out. I am only 5'2 and it was very short on me. I am typically a 2 and ordered a 4 as a backup and the dress was still quite snug so keep that in mind and size up for sure. It hugged in all of the right places and really emphasized curves. Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
June 13, 2012
Not my fav...
I rented this dress and ended up not wearing it. I didn't like how it pulled at the center. Instead of the triangles on the side bringing in my waist, it pulled it weird so it didn't synch my waistline at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 22, 2012
Gorgeous dress, very flattering!
Amazing fit, extremely sexy and flattering. Runs true to size. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 17, 2012
Loved the dress, would rent again!
Fits a bit small and is a little short for my 5'8 height. I wore with tights since it was a chilly night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 2, 2012
Didn't wear
Runs so small and short - not even my one size up fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 25, 2012
So cute, but too big!
I loved this dress, but it just didn't fit me right. My regular size was way too big and hung off funny. I did get the side smaller and that was still too big in the waist. I wished it fit me better because it is a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2013
Cute but SHORT!
This dress was super cute, and I would say true to size. Very flattering in the upper body and midsection. The downside is it was really (really, really) short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2013
slim fit
The slim cut of this dress made it pretty short, could be becuase im on the busty side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2016
Great for an office Christmas party
Wore this dress paired with opaque tights and heels to an office Christmas party. The dress was classy, maybe a bit short with the heels, but the tights took care of that. If I wore the dress for non-work related function the length without the tights would have been fine...just like to be conservative with work attire.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×