Madison Ave Dress

$52 to buy
$295 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Heading to a holiday party? Slip into this classic look by ERIN Erin Fetherston.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout mid-section
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mini length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe with lace inserts. Cap sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(45)
Small
(20)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 11, 2012
Great dress! Perfect for a night out even after it was in a suitcase for 2 days!

Very figure flattering with the cutouts at just the right places to slim you down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 2, 2013
Cute dress, but not the right fit.

I rented this dress for a winter cocktail party, but did not end up wearing it. The event was a work function and thus I wanted to keep my dress on the fun-but-conservative side. I rented a size larger (4) from my normal size (2), as many other reviewers mentioned that the dress ran small and had minimal stretch. Unfortunately, the dress was too big on me. It is, however, a fun and easy-to-wear LBD as long as you can get the sizing right. The length, cut, and lining beneath the lace details make this dress appropriate for a number of different winter events.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2013
Lovely Dress!

The dress fits snug but comfortable. It stretches and you can dance all night long wearing this. I am shorter and the hem was above my knee which was great. The color and design would flatter anybody.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2013
Nice dress, just not for me

I rented this dress in a 10 &12. The 10 fit perfect throughout the whole dress but it was short, and I mean SHORT. I tried on the 12 and the 12 proved to be way too boxy all over. I paired the 10 with opaque tights and even with the tights, it wasn't working. I should mention that I have a "bubble butt" but the difference in the two sizes didn't make for a comfortable or flattering fit. The fabrc of the dress tends to ride up which also didn't help the fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2013
Absolutely perfect.

I chose this dress as an option and it was the one I went with! It fit perfectly and was very flattering. This dress received so many compliments and head turns by the end of the night! I was so sad to see it go, but I will definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2013
This dress would have been perfect if it were longer

The overall fit of this dress was perfect for my body...except the length, it was way too short for a wedding. I would rent it again for a cocktail party, or new years eve. It says in the description to wear a strapless bra but the lace has lining under it so you don't see bra straps at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
November 13, 2013
Pretty Holiday party look.

Very flattering dress. Love the gold sleeves.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 12, 2014
Very comfortable

I had read that this dress ran true to size so to be safe I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 fit perfectly, the 8 seemed about the same except it kind of had extra fabric that bunched below the hips (where the bottom tip of the side lace parts are). It was shorter than I expected - I'm 5'2 and it hit the same length as the model in the photo (I guess I thought it would be longer on a short person!) Still, not so short that I felt embarrassed to wear it to a wedding. *added later: After reading some more reviews I thought I should go back and emphasize that yes this was much shorter than I expected. Not scandalous but, short enough that I did tell my boyfriend if I dropped something he would have to pick it up for me because I couldn't possibly bend over to pick it up! I still loved this dress and give it five stars. It was super comfortable, and stretchier than I though it would be, not stiff at all. Didn't have to tug at it or rearrange anything throughout the event, and it was great being able to wear a regular bra.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2014
I ordered it for a wedding but couldn't wear it because it was SOOO short.

I'm 5'7 and 135 lbs, with long legs. The size 8 was SOO short that when I raised my arms ALL of my underwear showed. I definitely could not wear this out of the house. It was a cute dress for someone shorter though

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 29, 2014
Cute dress for Vegas date

This dress was really comfortable and cute for a date in Las Vegas. I gave it 4 stars because it is really short. I wore tights but was concerned about any bending over whatsoever. Nice fabric and comfy for sure.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2014
Classy and Sexy

Great fit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2014
The dress was very short

The dress was so short that I was unable to wear it

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 8, 2014
Cute dress, just didn't fit quite right

I knew this dress would be short, but I'm only 5'3 so most dresses are much longer than me than on the model. But this dress ended up being too short to be appropriate to wear to the family event that I rented it for. Might have been ok with tights underneath but I rented it in the summer so it just wasn't possible. I also felt like the place where it hit on the thigh made it a little less flattering. Cute dress, just not right for me or this event. Would be better for a girls night out or New Year's Eve type event.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 21, 2014
A night in Chicago of celebrating and dancing.

More this for a bachelorette party. It is really comfortable, and I got a lot of compliments. It is really short so be prepared with spanks or just general awareness.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 22, 2014
Great fit! Shoulders add a touch of glam to LBD

The dress fit very well around curves. The lining made it super comfortable and easy to wear. The sizing is regular, but the length is definitely short. The silver/beige paneling gave it a very classy feel! The only complaint I have with this dress is the fabric is a little more thin than other RTR dresses I have had, so you may need spanx for the stomach area. Overall, the dress is beautiful!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 1, 2014
Love this dress!

I went to the RTR store in the city and fell in love with the dress. I originally tried on the 4 which was a little too small so I ordered the 6. The 6 had extra space in the back and gaped a little bit but I covered with my hair. The lace on the sides makes it super flattering and slimming but it's also very form fitting and super short so it's not appropriate for a conservative event. I got tons of compliments and would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 30A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
January 3, 2012
Refined and eye-catching

This dress had a good body-con fit, and the fabric was nice (like a thick ponte knit). I thought the lace cap-sleeves and side-panels were great for drawing attention to my exposed limbs and creating the illusion of a more curvaceous figure. I would definitely rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 2, 2014
Pretty dress, but not my favorite

This dress was nice but not my favorite RTR dress. The dress rides up a lot and even though I have 4'11. It hit a few inches above my knees. It is a pretty dress and super comfy, just not my fav.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2014
Cute, but so short!

I thought this dress looked a little boring in the picture, but I ordered it anyway. It was really cute and the overall cut was flattering; the comfortable material and interesting side panels were a bonus. (I thought the panels would be sheer but they were actually nude-colored fabric with grey lace over it.) HOWEVER! I ordered this for a work holiday party and even with tights I could not bring myself to wear it in public! It was toooooo short; "above my fingertips" short. I MIGHT wear this to a party or on a date - with thick opaque tights!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 4, 2015
I wore this out for one night of my bachelorette party. Perfect little black dress.

I loved the cap sleeve details and matching side panels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 31, 2012
Saw my ex for the first time in years, this dress made his jaw drop!

Gorgeous and super comfortable LBD with lace panels. I thought it may not be as formal as I would need it to be, but it worked out smashingly well. The jersey knit was breathable and cooling on a hot summer day!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
December 5, 2012
Wore this out for my birthday, and I got a lot of compliments. Great dress!

It fit exactly how I thought it would. The fabric was super soft, and it was very comfortable. It gave the illusion of an hourglass figure, and I was able to dress it down with black tights and flats. I'm 5'8, so without flats/tights, it might have look a little too short for me. Overall, I really enjoyed renting this!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
February 14, 2013
Great dress.

Rented this for an event that was, sadly, rescheduled due to a blizzard. When I tried it on, however, it was flattering. RTR was very good about reimbursing me for the dress and I was able to re-rent it for the rescheduled event. I wore the 4. Low bun and red lipstick (and some fabulous earrings also courtesy of RTR) and was ready to go!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 14, 2013
Great fit!

The material is of high quality and does not stretch throughout the night, which I loved! I received multiple compliments throughout the night! It's a sexy yet classy dress and I'd be happy to rent this again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2011
Really nice dress

I didn't end up wearing the dress only because it wasn't totally right for the occasion, but I did love it! I do agree with the other post about wearing it with tights because it is a little short. But overall it was very form-fitting yet flattering (but I would recommend wearing Spanx!)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
January 4, 2012
Nothing Special

Body-hugging style is unforgiving even though the thick fabric. The bottom hem is tight so I would not suggest this for a pear shape. Also the dress is short so I would not consider it work appropriate. Overall I only gave this dress 3 stars because it didn't have a wow factor.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
June 13, 2012
Not my fav...

I rented this dress and ended up not wearing it. I didn't like how it pulled at the center. Instead of the triangles on the side bringing in my waist, it pulled it weird so it didn't synch my waistline at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
September 22, 2012
Gorgeous dress, very flattering!

Amazing fit, extremely sexy and flattering. Runs true to size. Highly recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2013
Cute but SHORT!

This dress was super cute, and I would say true to size. Very flattering in the upper body and midsection. The downside is it was really (really, really) short on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2016
Great for an office Christmas party

Wore this dress paired with opaque tights and heels to an office Christmas party. The dress was classy, maybe a bit short with the heels, but the tights took care of that. If I wore the dress for non-work related function the length without the tights would have been fine...just like to be conservative with work attire.

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×