ERIN erin fetherston

Madison Ave Dress

$40 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Heading to a holiday party? Slip into this classic look by ERIN Erin Fetherston. Glitz it up with a few pieces of sparkle like the kate spade new york accessories’ Putting on the Ritz Bangle and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Gold Links Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout mid-section
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mini length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout mid-section
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mini length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe with lace inserts. Cap sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

66 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 43
Large 5
Photos 18
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 15, 2011

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very simple, but classically gorgeous nonetheless. It was much more fitted than I expected. It would be perfect for a date night or a night on the town with your girlfriends. I would not suggest renting this dress for a work event or a company party unless you get the next size up for an appropriate work fitting.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 20, 2011

Really nice dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't end up wearing the dress only because it wasn't totally right for the occasion, but I did love it! I do agree with the other post about wearing it with tights because it is a little short. But overall it was very form-fitting yet flattering (but I would recommend wearing Spanx!)
Jenn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Refined and eye-catching

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress had a good body-con fit, and the fabric was nice (like a thick ponte knit). I thought the lace cap-sleeves and side-panels were great for drawing attention to my exposed limbs and creating the illusion of a more curvaceous figure. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Dapperette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Nothing Special

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Body-hugging style is unforgiving even though the thick fabric. The bottom hem is tight so I would not suggest this for a pear shape. Also the dress is short so I would not consider it work appropriate. Overall I only gave this dress 3 stars because it didn't have a wow factor.
FP
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 11, 2012

Cute cocktail dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a daytime wedding, because I wanted something a little different from the typical LBD. It fit the bill! The lace cutouts give it some sex appeal while making your waist appear smaller. I had to pull down the dress a few times, it tends to ride up a bit, but overall the fit was good and the dress was comfortable.
shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Hot hot hot

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a date on my birthday. It was the perfect combination of covered up, but tight - and it is pretty short (even on my 5'1" frame). With the peekaboo lace on the sides, it was definitely hot! I felt the dress worked perfectly for both dinner at a nice restaurant, and the club we went to after - a very fine line for a dress to be able to walk! I marked it as "runs small" - it fit me really well and actually hit in all the right places, but I'm very short, so I can see how it would probably be too short on a taller person.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 17, 2012

Loved it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for a nice date night out. I am only 5'2 and it was very short on me. I am typically a 2 and ordered a 4 as a backup and the dress was still quite snug so keep that in mind and size up for sure. It hugged in all of the right places and really emphasized curves. Would rent again!
Nena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Feb 18, 2012

beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wore this to a wedding and i must say it was a choice well made. rented the bracelets also to give the outfit a bit of glitz. dress is body conscious and the lace panels really do enhance/give an illusion of a waist.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
May 22, 2012

Slimming, but tough to size

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a very cute and VERY slimming dress! I usually wear a 4, and ordered a 4 and 6 at the advice of other reviews - neither really fit. I chose to go with the 4 (which was short and a bit snug) over the 6 which was huge in the hips and chest.
Kara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 11, 2012

beautiful!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an evening wedding. It fit like a glove, and my boyfriend said it looked beautiful. I have a 36-38 D bust and it didn't pull at all. I usually wear between a 10 and a 12. I would suggest wearing spanx underneath because it is very fitted. It's also short, but not so short that your butt will fall out. Wear it with really high stiletto pumps, and you'll look fierce.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 13, 2012

Not my fav...

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress and ended up not wearing it. I didn't like how it pulled at the center. Instead of the triangles on the side bringing in my waist, it pulled it weird so it didn't synch my waistline at all.
Linds
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 27, 2012

I think i'm in love

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am in love with this dress, I am so sad to have to send it back. I got a 4 and 6, both fit but the 4 was just the right amount of tight. I did not need to wear a bra at all, and it felt like wearing a comfy cotton dress but I looked dressed to the 9s!
Roche
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Lots of Leg

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great. The fabric is super comfortable and stretchy, but hugged my body all night (didn't stretch out). I loved that I was covered up top and my legs were the focal point. It's the kind of dress that women compliment and men just love.
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Great dress, fits like a glove

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a formal holiday event I attended. I'm quite short so I didn't expect the dress to either fit or be flattering.. but thankfully I was wrong! The 0 fit beautifully and wasn't too long or too short! This dress was fantastic and I got tons of compliments!
Maddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Jazzy enough to get those digits!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is absolutely fabulous! It is super slimming and the lace on it is so cute in person. The picture doesn't do it justice. This is a must rent!
mibellchic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Gorgeous dress, very flattering!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Amazing fit, extremely sexy and flattering. Runs true to size. Highly recommend!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Pretty basic- don't think it is the best look for an hourglass shape.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The detailing was nice, but it didn't seem like a show-stopper. I would save this for a casual event.
CS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Oct 3, 2012

Cute!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was very comfortable, and ran very true to size. The fabric was a little stretchy, which was nice, and it hugged in flattering places. However, I was not a huge fan of the cap sleeves, although the lace detail was nice. Overall I thought this dress was cute, but very ordinary. I didn't end up wearing it.
Amber
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

It was pretty restrictive.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress runs a little small, but mostly true to size. Had there been some stretch to the material, I probably would've worn it; as it was, though, I couldn't lift my arms and it looked unflattering.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Loved the dress, would rent again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fits a bit small and is a little short for my 5'8 height. I wore with tights since it was a chilly night.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Didn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs so small and short - not even my one size up fit.
Carey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Super flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress kind of has a weird cotton fabric but still very cute and classy
danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Nov 25, 2012

So cute, but too big!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, but it just didn't fit me right. My regular size was way too big and hung off funny. I did get the side smaller and that was still too big in the waist. I wished it fit me better because it is a beautiful dress!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Great dress! Perfect for a night out even after it was in a suitcase for 2 days!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very figure flattering with the cutouts at just the right places to slim you down.
Georgia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

I was in between sizes

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The 4 was too big in the hips. The 2 fit me, but then the waist sat too high and it was too short. Had it fit it would probably have been very comfortable.
ec
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Cute dress, but not the right fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a winter cocktail party, but did not end up wearing it. The event was a work function and thus I wanted to keep my dress on the fun-but-conservative side. I rented a size larger (4) from my normal size (2), as many other reviewers mentioned that the dress ran small and had minimal stretch. Unfortunately, the dress was too big on me. It is, however, a fun and easy-to-wear LBD as long as you can get the sizing right. The length, cut, and lining beneath the lace details make this dress appropriate for a number of different winter events.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×