Fly a Kite Dress

$65 rental
$320 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

To celebrate your birthday in style, go with this flirty Erin by Erin Fetherston strapless dress. You'll be able to twist and twirl all night long. Shown here with the kate spade accessories' Solarium Bib Necklace and Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust with built in boning for support
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra due to the boning for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal crepe. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(62)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 16, 2014
Beautiful color on
Appropriate length for a summer wedding. The bodice made the dress very flattering and the fabric was light and breezy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2014
Great dress!
Fit very well, nice and tight in the busy area. Didn't feel like I had to pull it up all night long
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 26, 2014
Bachelorette Party!
While I loved the color and style of this dress, it was lower cut than I was expecting (or maybe my bust a bit to large for the size I wore). Overall it's a fun party dress, and I got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
June 11, 2014
So many compliments. Fit was great.
Perfect length for my petite size. Cut was great for my big bust. Fun and flirty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 18, 2012
I got so many great compliments!
I rented this dress for a friend's brunch and it worked perfectly. The dress was very comfortable, and ran true to size. The bodice contained boning to ensure a secure fit and no falling down! I wore a strapless bra with it and had no problems. The dress hit me mid thigh when I was wearing 3" wedges. I would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 28, 2012
Loved the color!
This was such a beautiful dress! I loved the turquoise color and the way it cinched my waist! There is boning in the bust area, which was amazing because I didn't have to wear a bra and I still felt very supported. If you are larger busted I would size up in this dress. There is plenty of room in the skirt and overall the dress was really comfortable! Pair it with a statement necklace, and you will look great for any event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 10, 2012
Beautiful color and material! I wore this to my wedding rehearsal dinner.
The fit was a little loose. I wish I would have brought a belt to wear with this dress. It just needed a little something to cinch the fit around my waist better and break up the solid color. I got a lot of compliments in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Easy to return and receive the dress!
Rented this for a beach wedding in Cape Cod. Fitted great and received lots of compliments on the color and fit. Was prefect for dancing!
CamilleNovember 17, 2012
Well you're PERFECT. Dress looks really good!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
The pictures! I just felt amazing in the dress and couldn't stop smiling :)
This is the second dress I've rented by Erin Featherston. It fit perfectly and stayed up remarkably well for a strapless dress. The color was perfect for summer, and the simple design meant I could still rock some bling :) It photographed well (very important for a wedding) and I received so many compliments. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
I felt perfectly styled thanks to RTR!
I wore this exact outfit for my birthday this past August and absolutely loved the dress and the necklace. The color looks great with a little tan and blonde hair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
Great color!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. The dress was very comfortable, but the bodice of the dress has boning in so it did not provide much stretch. Also, I felt it needed a belt at the waist. But all around a great dress!
anjaDecember 26, 2012
Great belt! What/where is it?
AlisonDecember 27, 2012
Anja - The belt is nude patent from JCrew...it was perfect to cover up the elastic waist on the dress!
jasmineJuly 6, 2013
I love the necklace! Where is it from?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
October 2, 2012
The vibrant color of the dress was beautiful for a summer wedding!
This dress was so much fun to wear! The turquoise color is really lovely in person, and I felt like it definitely stood out from the crowd. Another element of the dress that I loved is the exposed silver zipper in the back - very cool and gives the feminine dress just the tiniest hint of an edge. As far as fit goes, I ordered the 0 and the 2 and the 0 fit perfectly. I'm super short (only 5'1), but the length was very nice and didn't feel frumpy in the slightest. I also rented the Lily Pulitzer "Summer Chic Clutch" which was adorable and looked great with the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 27, 2012
Fit great. Lots of compliments.
Not too short. Top stayed up. Looked expensive.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2013
Perfect for seaside wedding!
Beautiful color, slightly more green in person than the picture shows. The bust is a little roomy (I'm a 32C) so I wished I had a more substantial bra on but the rest fit perfectly! I also fit the size 4, but it was a little less comfortable. Also, it was longer on me than on the model but not too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2013
Perfect for any event!
I got this for my husband's annual work gala and it was perfect! Even though I ordered it as my backup dress it ended up being the better choice for my skin color and shape. The lenghth was also perfect, which is hard for me being so short. I would say to size up if you carry your weight more in your mid section, the dress as a lower waist/bust line that a typical dress, so I had to size up a bit to fit the largest part of my body. But with the right bra the rest fit perfectly. I would highly recommend this dress for anything from a garden party to a fancy event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2014
Perfect start to summer
This was a back up dress so I wish I had gone down a size. It was structured enough that the larger size was ok, but it felt a little big. I have a larger bust so strapless is sometimes tricky- this dress worked and stayed up most of the time. The flowy skirt was perfect for dancing the night away and the bright blue was a great warm tone and perfect compliment to all my friends in orange and pinks. I especially like the extra detail in the front, but it's hard to see in pictures. Overall- great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 30, 2015
this dress is beautiful and I got so many compliments!!!
it was tight at the top and flow in the bottom it was perfect for homecoming!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 12, 2012
Backup Dress - Did not wear
I rented this dress and did not end up wearing it because I did not like the fit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 22, 2012
A Home Run
I rented this dress for a July afternoon wedding with the Kate Spade bib necklace pictured. I have never in my life received so many compliments on an ensemble. The dress is incredibly comfortable with mesh on the sides and back to stretch with you but still has enough of a structure to look streamlined. The top fits snug but not tight and I don't think I had to adjust the top once the entire evening. I opted not to wear a bra and felt completely supported. Absolutely Fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful color - fun party dress - tight up top
I've never been one to ever complain about 'top too tight' as I'm your average pear shape - small up top, big down below. But the structure of the boning in the top pushed my ever-growing chest (thanks carbs and fat!) up and...a little out there. I'm not complaining as I never have cleavage, but for large chested ladies this may be problematic. I forgot I had rented this dress for a wedding weekend and when it came in it took all the guesswork out of what to wear for reception party the night before - which is when a little cleavage is acceptable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2012
Did not wear.
I usually wear a size 2 and unfortunately this dress was too large!
abbeyOctober 3, 2012
How big was it? Like as in too long, or too loose? Would a 0 have been okay? I am also 115 lbs and 5'4 and I ordered this dress but don't want ut to be too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2012
Great color and fun dress!
AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 19, 2012
Adorable!
I rented this dress for my birthday dinner party, and paired it with a pair of cowboy boots. The entire look was absolutely adorable and everyone commented on how cute my outfit was!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2012
Great dress for a summer wedding!
I rented this dress for a summer wedding in Rhode Island and loved it. It runs true to size in my opinion. The color was great - I would definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2012
I wore this for my birthday dinner and was very pleased
The dress was adorable! Strapless is always a challenge when you are a small girl who wears a 34D. This dress fit everywhere perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2013
It was a nice color
I thought this was bigger and longer than I expected. I usually wear a 8/10, but probably could have gone 4/6
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2013
Best dress I've rented so far!
Out of several RTR dresses I've rented, this one was by far the best! I usually wear a 4, but all my past dresses ran small so I went a size up just in case (6). It was a little big, but fit very comfortably. This dress definitely runs true to size or maybe even a bit big if anything. I received several compliments, even from the beautiful bride! I would absolutely recommend this dress, especially to those looking for something that fits comfortably. Also, the color is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 9, 2014
It was 100+ degrees!
Fit was perfect, and even though I am small busted, there was no problem keeping the top of the dress "up."
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2014
Gorgeous color
Perfect vibrant dress for a summer wedding.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×