Barrier Reef Gown

$70 to buy
$395 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look gorg-o-drama in teal! This beaded figure flattering ERIN Erin Fetherston gown is one head turning style.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal chiffon (100% polyester). Strapless. Sweetheart neckline with boned bodice. Full skirt. Removable elastic jeweled belt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. Imported.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(112)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 24, 2013
This Dress Was So Elegant And Runway-esque!!!
The fit was very true to size and the dress had no problem staying up yet the long was almost a little long on me, yet didn't look bad at all. I didn't end up wearing the belt because I thought the dress looked more elegant without it, plus my necklace clashed with it and also there was a small stone missing on the belt (barely noticeable). This was my second choice dress (my first was the white ERIN by Erin Fetherston Simone Gown), but this one was so much prettier I got loads of compliments on this dress and there was no one who had the same dress as me at prom. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone :D
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 27, 2013
A perfect choice for prom, everyone loved it and i felt completely comfortable in the dress.
The dress fit great. i was worried about it fitting around my chest but the size the stylist recommended was a perfect fit. i wore flats and the dress was a perfect length. had i been wearing heels i would have definitely got the long size. i wore it without a bra and felt completely comfortable. i used the fashion tape provided and it held up the entire night. one thing was that in the picture the belt looked gold, it's actually more silver than gold.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 28, 2013
Beautiful, elegant, and fun!
I wore this beautiful dress to a Memorial Day weekend black tie wedding in Boston and it was perfect. I felt absolutely stunning and the material was nice and light. I love the color and it was definitely not the same old boring black. I decided to get the long as I was planning on wearing 4" heels and it was a perfect decision; the dress fell right to the floor. I did trip a little once I took my shoes off to dance but I think it was worth it - just hike it up and keep on dancing!! One thing I wish I had done differently was leave the strapless bra at home. I have a fabulous one that I got for my own wedding and it looked perfect. However, this dress has built-in support and started to get a little tight once we got through some of the delicious food at the wedding. I wanted to sneak into the bathroom and take it off, I should have known better!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2013
Lovely, solid dress choice!
The color and drape of this dress is flattering and comfortable, and it's a great, safe, choice for nearly any formal occasion (or a good second choice if you've picked a more risky first look). Because of the cute blingy belt it looks best with silver accessories, but if you swapped the belt, the blue/green will look great with gold/bronze, or any other metallic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
June 6, 2013
Just OK, tried on but didn't like it, never wore it.
I ordered this dress for a black tie wedding but did not end up wearing it. I was very worried about choosing a dress online without ever trying it on, and when it arrived my fears were confirmed. The dress is very pretty, I just plainly did not like it. The color and style just feel VERY bridesmaid and not modern or fashion forward in person. It seems more like a dress you are forced to wear, not something you would select as a wedding guest. Also, I found the natural waist sort of enhances the hips and is not the most figure flattering silhouette.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 13, 2013
I felt like a red carpet celeb in this dress!
I really think his dress would be flattering on most body types! I am 5'9 and ordered the 4R and it was plenty long for me to wear with kitten heels. The bodice was perfectly sung so that I did not have to pull up on the dress all evening, but not so tight that it was difficult to breath. The dress flowed beautifully while walking and fell comfortably while sitting. Although I was attending a formal military function, I felt I was dressed appropriately/conservatively, while having a bit of fun too. I received so many compliments and am truly sad to send the dress back. If RTR EVER wishes to sell this dress, please contact me b/c I will be waiting with credit card in hand!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 14, 2013
This dress was great, so much prettier in person :)
I have never done Rent the Runway before so I was a little nervous about it but everything turned out great! The dress came on time and it was super comfortable! I normally wear a size 6 so the fitting specialist suggested I get a 6 and 8 regular; I did not wear heels and the 6R was actually really long. I did a lot of dancing and was holding it up the whole time so that nobody stepped on it. But other than it being super long, the top fit great and I got a lot of compliments! It was sad to send it back but I will most definitely rent again :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 15, 2013
Great dress! Sad I had to return it!
This dress was amazing. I usually don't feel comfortable in strapless, but I didn't have to adjust all night. The flow to the material when I moved felt so great, and the belt was such a fun touch! Also, no one else at the party of 500+ of my co-workers had the same dress (or even the same colored dress). I'm 5'10" and the long was perfect for a 3 1/2" pair of heels. I would absolutely recommend this dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2013
So easy, great service and a gorgeous dress!
Loved the color!! Fits well...only issue I had was a missing hook. I called and they sent me another dress overnight in time for the wedding. Will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 22, 2013
A happy surprise for a special moment
When my first choice dress wasn't available in the size I needed because the last renter didn't return it, customer service went above and beyond. They were able to send me the backup size which fit great, but they offered and an alternate as well. It turns out I loved this EVEN MORE than my original choice and thanks to the great stylist who helped me pick it, I had an amazing gown that rocked! It fit snug around the ribcage, but is true to size and very flattering. And the color is show-stopping. Definitely get this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2013
Gorgeous color!
I rented this dress and two others for a professional portrait session. I live in L.A. and the session was in Seattle, so I just had RTR send all 3 dresses to the hotel I was staying in; I didn't even have to pack anything! This one was just a beautiful color, a great fit. I'm wearing a very padded bra to give some curve to this, but it has a built in bra so you don't really need to do that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 16, 2013
Perfect Dress for a Formal Affair
The fit of the dress was fine. I went with the 8L because the description suggested ordering a long size for 5'7" and up. I'm 5'9", so I didn't want the dress too be too short. It ended up being very long, and I wore 3 inch heels so I wouldn't be tripping over my dress the whole night. It wasn't a problem at all, but If I were to order this dress again, I would go with the 8R. I got lots of compliments on the color and style of the dress. I also loved the belt as an accessory.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 17, 2013
To the rescue with a long dress for a formal wedding
I have a sort of long torso, so I'm often wary of strapless dresses that feel like they sit too low in the front. This one had a lot of structure in the bodice so I felt secure that it wouldn't slip down through a night of serious dancing. Fit true to size, and the material and construction were high-quality. My one complaint is the belt seemed smaller than the dress size, it was elastic but kept riding up in the back.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2013
Everyone loved the color of the dress.
The Long was the only one available to rent, and it was really long. The bustier was a little constricting but not terribly uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2013
Beautiful dress and the color is awesome on any skin tone!
I didn't have a problem with this dress at all. The over all fit is great. I'm 5ft and the length was long but the length was great for the even this dress was intended for. The color is awesome against my skin. I also preferred the dress with the belt because it breaks up the dress a little bit. Overall very happy with this dress and didn't want to return it.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2013
LOVED this dress. Wore it to an awards night ceremony. I got a ton of compliments!
The dress definitely runs long. I'm 5' 4" and wore 3" heels and it was still a little long. I could have worn the size 8 but when I put the 6 on it held everything in just a little bit better. However, the bust area was flat so it was good to fit a push up bra. You could wear it without a bra but it would not be obvious that there were boobs under the dress much. The belt was a nice touch. Most people hadn't had necklaces in the pictures but I liked the one that I had. The fabric was flowing and felt very high quality.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 7, 2013
Gorgeous color stands out in a crowd!
I wore this to a Black Tie fundraising event, and had compliments all night on the style and color. The 4R was perfect with 3" heels; it still skimmed the floor. The bust fit perfectly, and I didn't have to spend all night pulling the dress up - even on the dance floor! I chose not to wear the belt, I actually didn't even try it on, and didn't feel like the dress was lacking anything. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the hook at the top of the zipper poked me no matter how I tried to move it around. Other than that, very comfortable all night!! Definitely would recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
December 12, 2013
Dress was perfect for a summer black tie event!
It was a little long for me, but I just wore higher shoes. I would definitely rent it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
THis was the perfect dress for my occasion.
This was a beautiful color and fit perfectly. I would recommend this dress to each and every person!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 13, 2014
Beautiful Dress
Dress was beautiful although a bit long. I probably needed to wear higher heels. The color was beautiful and I received tons of compliments. The fit other than length was great. Would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2014
The belt added such a cute touch to the dress
The dress was perfect. I was nervous having a strapless dress but it worked out great. the color was beautiful and you could wear gold or silver jewelry!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 15, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal
Got this for my daughter. She's 5' 2", 115, 34C. Fit like a glove. Loved the belt too...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 27, 2014
The dress is very flattering. Wore it to my sorority formal!
True to size. But it does not come with the belt that is pictured, and I did not know that before ordering!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 17, 2014
Loved the Dress!
I was 8 weeks post partum & really nervous about getting a dress that fit. I ordered a 10 & a 12. I'm normally a 6 but gained a bunch of weight while pregnant. I ended up wearing the 10 (currently about 165 pounds) and it fit great. Lots of room in the tummy area so it would be great for preggos or post partum. It was a tad long on me (5'3) but nothing horrible. Very cute & Comfy dress!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2014
It was wonderful being able to rent a beautiful gown for Mardi Gras instead of having to buy one!
Not the most flattering photo, but the best I have of the dress. I wore the dress to a Mardi Gras ball, and was pretty happy overall. I was worried that it would slide down during the night since i have a small bust, and it did, but it wasn't too bad. I just had my friends check my back every once and a while. My strapless bra was close enough to my skin color that it wasn't horribly noticeable. I ordered the regular length and wore nude flats, and the dress hit the floor perfectly. The color was a little darker than I expected, but still gorgeous. I'm looking forward to renting another dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 23, 2014
Gorgeous dress, compliments all night!
Decided to wear the 8 instead of the 6 for comfort, though I'm usually in the middle (8 was best for large bust). The long was perfect for me at 5'11 with 4 inch heals, much longer than expected- great surprise! I've never gotten so many compliments from people I didn't know! Perfect formal wedding outfit. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 26, 2014
Simple, classy, & beautiful!
I was on Homecoming Court at my university and wore this dress in front of the entire school during halftime of the game. The dress is a beautiful teal color and goes great with any skin tone. I ordered the regular length because I read reviews that it ran long. I would suggest that girls over 5'9 who plan on wearing heels should order the long but it was pretty much a perfect length for me with about 3" heels. The dress was really flattering for me and was very comfortable to wear for the night! I would highly recommend it. The belt is a cute accessory too :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 27, 2014
Easy to wear and accessorize with.
Fit great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 9, 2014
Beautiful dress but too long to wear
This was the dress I ordered as backup, and it was so beautiful! I wanted to wear it instead of my first choice, but the length on the Regular (not the Long!) was way too long for even 4" heels. I was worried I would step on it or someone else would, so I didn't wear it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2014
Classy and comfortable
Loved this dress! Flowy and very flattering, and the color was absolutely beautiful. The belt was such a great accent too. It fit great - I didn't have to pull the dress up at all the entire night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2014
Loved it! It's been a year since I wore it but I still remember how beautiful the dress was!
Lovely dress, very flowy-ish so I could eat during the ceremony. A dress to impress, that's for sure(:
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
March 21, 2014
Elegant, flattering.
Wore this beautiful dress to my 10-year highschool reunion. I was the bell of the ball if I do say so myself and I received so many compliments all evening. The color was great for my skin tone. I often flush and my skin has pink undertones. I have lost about 7-8lbs since I wore it, so if you are looking at my weight and dress size below to help with sizing I was 5'7", 36"D, and 150lbs when I wore the size 8R, which fit great. I did not wear the belt. It was a little tight and I didn't think it added anything to the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 26
March 30, 2014
Beautiful color and a great fit!! I was receiving compliments all night!
LOVED the color of this dress. It does run larger up top, I'm a 34 DDD and the ten fit perfect on my bust but was still kind of loose still in the waist. I got the regular length and it was VERY long. I am between 5'4" and 5'5" and I wore 4 and a half inch heels to prevent it from dragging! If you're shorter than 5'4" be careful when ordering this. Other than the length, I LOVED this dress! It was super comfortable and beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2014
Incredible dress! absolutely stunning and I received a million compliments!
The fit was pretty good! a little long on me but I am super short (5'0). I had to wear pretty high heels but thats okay! It is extremely comfortable and easy to move and dance in. It's a super flowy soft fabric. I didn't have to pull it up all night which was nice! I really didn't want to send it back it was so beautiful! I had a million compliments on how beautiful I looked and felt like a greek goddess! The color was really beautiful as well! I would highly recommend this dress because it's simple yet elegant!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
April 8, 2014
I honestly felt like a princess that night.
I rarely wear long dresses, but this was a black tie wedding. I decided to go big and order this beautiful dress. I ordered the long because I am tall and was planning on wearing heels. Unfortunately, the long was too long so I was holding up the hem while dancing and walking. That didn't stop me from getting tons of compliments (many from people that I didn't even know).
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
April 13, 2014
Easy, quick, and great quality!
Awesome fit! a little long, but I wore heels so that helped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
April 17, 2014
Pretty but too long
I ordered this dress for a black tie optional event. I was about 12 weeks pregnant and had just a tiny bump. The dress fit snug around the bust and I was not able to fit a strapless bra with it, but there are lined cups in the dress itself so a bra was not necessary. The waist was perfect for a small bump. The problem was that the length was too long, even with 4+ inch heels. I would have had to hold my dress the entire evening, so I opted to go with my short backup dress. If you are short and committed to wearing this dress you will likely need hem tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 20, 2014
went to the navy ball. flowed very nicely
i was bloated and the belt really made me look slimmer
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143lbs
April 21, 2014
The color was amazing and fit my prom venue/theme perfectly!
When ordering my dress, I was really nervous about getting a strapless one because i'm a size 36DD in the bust area. I ordered a 6 & an 8 considering I've never ordered a dress online before and my jean size is a size six. A little advice, DO NOT ORDER ACCORDING TO YOUR JEAN SIZE. The dress was too small BUT luckily i was able to call the stylists, in which they kindly let me order a size 10 & 12 that was delivered the next morning. I had to order a size 10L because a 10R was not available. Nevertheless, the dress was very beautiful and though it was long, i still had very few issues dancing, only really walking. Even though I wore a size 10 dress, i wore the size 6 belt that came with the other dress. Keep in mind that if you order a bigger dress to fit your bust area, you will probably need a smaller dress belt.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
May 6, 2014
The color of the dress was gorgeous and the fit!
It was a little long but I loved the dress!! Perfect!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×