Babcock Belted Romper

$112 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your waistline and become obsessed with this ERIN Erin Fetherston three quarter length sleeve black romper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash and elastic waistband; not recommended for women with longer torsos as that can cause the romper to become too short
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe. Surplice neckline with shawl collar and single button closure. Silk satin bow tie with elastic waist. Side pockets. Measures 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(32)
True to Size
(112)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 42
June 7, 2015
Felt gorgeous all day!

Wore this for a summer rooftop work party - received tons of compliments. The fabric is thick and stretchy, so it's both comfortable and flattering. The shorts are short, so you have to be ready to show a lot of leg!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2016
Not for tall women.

Wore this for NYE and it worked okay. While the chest area fit perfectly, it does not seem like this romper was made for tall and/or curvy women. I'm 5'9-5'10 and it was riding up in all of the wrong places ;( Luckily for me, I don't have much junk in the trunk. I would not rent this again but maybe shorter women will have a little more luck with this one.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 22, 2016
Rosie the riveter

This did nothing for my figure. It was comfy and fit well but it was not flattering on me. Once again I also think my torso is too long for rompers. Not sure it would have been comfortable to wear out. I would have had to readjust the entire time. I ended up not wearing either outfit that I rented.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 29, 2014
Fun, comfortable, FABULOUS!

Great outfit for Vegas! Super cute and comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 1, 2015
I felt so chic!

This romper is to die for! The fit is perfection and the fabric is thick enough to conceal any not-so-perfect areas. I wore it out on a date and my boyfriend said I looked classy, yet sexy. #winning

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2011

This was a cute, trendy and versatile look. I thought the fit was a bit big and glad I ordered down a size. The shawl on the collar was a little off when it was buttoned...king of turned it in funny, so I had to pin that down to fix it. I also needed double stick tape because the top part was a bit large and bulged out when I moved a certain way or sat down. The downfall of the double stick tape was that I would then have to ruin it in order to get *out* of the outfit to use the ladies room, lucky I figured all this out before I left for my party so I could bring my roll of double stick with me to redo as needed. This would be super cute with a pocket square, too, to kind of play up the "mens wear" aspect of the look.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2011
Cute

Liked it/ Wore it but thought it ran big on top. I forgot to bring the double stick tape with me to the hotel and had to worry about wardrobe malfunctions through the night. All in all it was cute, but I probably would have liked it more if it were a little tighter.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 30, 2012
My sister and cousins at my bachelorette party!

I rented this for my bachelorette party and I loved it. I would say it runs large, but not enough to get a smaller size. My regular size is an 8 and it was fine. It is very low cut in the front though so I wore a cami underneath it. The neckline is great for a statement necklace though. Since it is winter and cold I wore black tights underneath. I got a lot of compliments on it. Definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 5, 2012
Great Party Outfit

Loved this outfit! Rented it on a whim as a back-up in case the dress I ordered did not work and ended up going with this instead of the dress. It's very flattering and very sexy. Since it was for a ladies only party I tried to make it less sexy by wearing it with tights. I received a ton of compliments! I will warn you that the neck line is very low. The model photo is a little deceiving in this regard but it wasn't anything a safety pin couldn't fix.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 4, 2012
Meh

I didn't like the material all that much - but the style was still cute. If only I'd gone down 2 sizes. It was much too large for me. I normally wear either a 4 or a 6, depending, but I needed a 2 in this.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2012
Comfortable and Cute

I rented this for a more laidback wedding, and it was perfect! The material is much sturdier than I expected, and it fell nicely on the body because of it. I wore this after two straight weeks of traveling (and therefore lots of food and zero exercise), and the 2 was a bit roomy, so for that reason I would say it runs a little big. Also, it's very low cut so you will probably need fashion tape or a safety pin. Finally, I'm only 5'4" and I wouldn't have wanted the shorts any shorter, so taller girls, beware! But for short people like me, it fits perfectly. Another great rental from RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 2, 2012
I rented this for my boyfriend's birthday trip to Chicago!

I rented the 2 since the 0 was unavailable. Probably runs more true to size as the 2 was a little large on me. I'm fairly short so was a little lower cut on me than it appeared on the model. But with plenty of tape it was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 25, 2012
Sexy suit!

This was fun, if a little difficult to pull off. It is a thick material, like a structured wool suit, which was great. It wasn't flimsy. But it is very low cut, as well as very short. I thought the short length made it really sexy and fun - I loved that. But the deep V-neck was difficult, especially since I have ample cleavage. If I hadn't been going to an all-women event, I would have felt uncomfortable. I tried pinning it, but it didn't work, so I just wore it open, with a black satin bra. You could also wear it with a camisole I suppose. Flat-chested women will have more luck with this piece. I did love it though, and I recommend it. The fit is generous enough to go down a size.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2013
Loved this romper!!

This romper is very flattering and comfortable. The top runs somewhat large and does come down pretty low so I wore a bralette from victorias secret and it worked perfectly. This is definitely an outfit that can be dressed up or down depending on your occasion. I wore it to a company holiday party and it was a hit!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2013
sexy and unique

this is a great, comfortable romper. it runs pretty large through the body, though it's short in the torso -- i could've used a 0 to make it snugger, but it would've then probably had too short of an inseam (and i'm very short waisted!) because it's very low cut (and would be difficult to tape or pin), it may not be best for those with a fuller chest, but it's a great, sexy option for those ladies with a small bust.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 18, 2013
Sexy with an edge!

Rented this for an Alicia Keys concert in Vegas and loved it! Super flattering, high quality and definitely stylish. Received so many compliments and fel like a million bucks. Would definitely recommend using fashion tape to secure the plunging neckline. LOVE this outfit!

PinkBlackDivaMarch 18, 2013
Rock it girl.....super sexy look
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
April 1, 2013
The perfect balance of sexy and flirty

I wore this to my friend's birthday. He warned me that the event was at an upscale club and I wanted something sexy but not too over the top. I loved this outfit. It was the perfect balance between sexy and flirty. I was at my top weight and was pushing a size 10/12 in other items I tried on recently. I was worried the 6 would not fit, but I had more than enough room, without any shaping undergarments. I love this romper, I would rent it again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 12, 2013
Too big, awkward on my body type

I rented this for an audition for a classy and clubby look, but unfortunately I ended up not wearing it because it was just way too big. I was surprised that even though I have a full bust, it was baggy up top and the neckline was not flattering or sexy due to where it came to on me. My small hips and booty could not fill out the shorts either. I would recommend sizing down, especially if your lower half is not very curvy. The material was not what I was expecting either, because it was stiff and not as flowy as it appears in the picture. Oh well! I can see how it would be cute in the right size one someone with a different body type.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!

I loved this romper. I wore it with tights and heels when I was in NY and it was perfectly warm. It runs a bit big and I wish I would have had a 4, but I was able to wear the 6 anyway and just tied it really tight at the waist.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2013
Definitely was a head turner.

This was an adorable and sexy. I have great legs so it really accented by best asset. It does run short in the torso but fit me well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2013
Legs for Days!

I got this outfit for a bachelorette party. My husband absolutely loved this outfit. He said I looked hot and sexy. But I wasn't the biggest fan. Being tall and lanky, not curvy, I felt like it was too baggy for me. Maybe I should have tried a size smaller, but it wasn't available. However, it made my legs really long. I did get a lot of looks everywhere I went. For my body type, I need to stick with things that are more form fitting.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 2, 2013
Super hip outfit that made me feel SO sexy. I was DEFINITELY the belle of the ball.

I rented this to attend a swanky jazz concert. I certainly turned heads in this rural mountain town! LOL. I received more compliments on my look than I could have ever imagined...women and men just LOVED it! I took a picture before leaving home and realized that a necklace AND earrings were too much so I removed the earrings. A statement necklace was all it needed. I took a second picture in a back room at the venue to show the outfit without the earrings..but it's not as nice a photo. I usually cannot wear jumpsuit styles but this seemed to work well. The material is slightly stretchy so there is some give. I usually wear an 8 but decided on the 6 as the 8 was very loose fitting on the top and provided no structure. When moving to the 6, I lost some coverage on the thighs as the 6 was shorter, and the rise was a bit short too... but not uncomfortable. Overall , the fit with the 6 was much better. (I decided that the point of wearing this number was to show some leg so I went for it!!) I would recommend ordering the size smaller for your second size...especially if you don't mind showing some leg. The top IS tricky to keep closed. I pinned it together and it held nicely without pulling. However, if I had had a great bra, I would have just let it show. The fabric is a thicker fabric and worked very well on a cool spring night. I would NOT wear this in summer but a perfect outfit for spring or fall. I would rent this again...just for all the attention I got. I felt amazing and sexy!!!

ShelleyJuly 2, 2013
Work girl...
MichelleJuly 2, 2013
You look amazing! Represent for the over 40 crowd.
PinkBlackDivaJuly 2, 2013
You go girl.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 23, 2013
So Sexy!

I loved everything about this! Sexy, perfect length,comfy. The perfect outfit for a night out. Wore this in Vegas. So many compliments. This romper needs a big necklace as it runs large on top.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2013
Cute outfit - didn't love the fit or fabric, got tons of compliments nonetheless

I usually wear an 8 but can totally swing up or down depending on style. In this case, I ordered an 8 and a 10 but should have ordered an 8 and a 6. After I pulled the drawstring as hard as I possibly could, the 8 fit me ok but I could see this outfit looking better if it were even more fitted. So I would have wanted to try the 6 and have a hunch it would have been better. The big question in my mind for the smaller size was length since I didn't want to wear something too too short. The 8 on me was at about mid thigh and I am 5'3". It was short but not tacky. All that said, my most fashionable friends were loving this outfit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2014
Legs for days!!!

My Rent the Runway package came right on time with tons of helpful tips that came through emails (i.e. your package will arrive soon, tips for if neither size fits). Normally I wear a 2, but since I have a longer torso, the rise was a bit short. I decided to go with the 4, even though it was a little big in the shoulders, because the rise was much better. Still, though, you really couldn't tell it was big in the shoulders, it just felt that way. The fabric was amazing, the silk tie at the waist was the perfect touch and the shorts were the perfect length. By far my favorite outfit I have ever worn on New Years Eve. Its cute and sexy to boot. I got so many stares and compliments!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
February 4, 2014
Felt amazing at my birthday!

This was my first romper experience. I was hesitant since I assumed they only look good on tiny people but the other reviews convinced me to go for it. I rented this for my birthday brunch -- didn't want to look too fancy but still wanted to feel special -- and I loved it. I ordered the 6 and after chatting with a go-to girl, I got the 4 as my backup. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the 4 fit perfectly and I still had room to put my arms up sans camel toe. I consider myself pretty curvy and was happy to see that the shorts didn't hug my thighs or butt like most shorts do. I used the Braza Strapless Adhesive Reveal bra since it's pretty low cut, which worked well on my 32DDD's. Overall, a great first RTR experience and I can't wait to rent again!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 2, 2015
I was in Vegas for a bachelorette party with my best friends.

It was a little big on me so for the next time I will order a size down. Other than that it was extremely comfortable and I got compliments all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 28, 2013
Flirty, Fantastic, Fun!

I wore this jumper to an Elton John concert; it was perfect for the event. I thought the outfit was a blast to wear and I noticed several people checking it out. I was a little surprised how short it was on me, as I didn’t notice that in other RTR customer photos.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
September 21, 2012
Nice quality

THis is a really nice quality crepe outfit.. on the thick side but I did wear it to a summer night time dinner/dance, and it was fine. The length is good.. not too short, not too long. It was a little large in the waist... I felt like there was simply too much material width wise. I had to tie the bow as tight as I couldl, but even then it just seemed a little bulky in the middle.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 173lbs
February 11, 2013
So cute! Great for a party night

I really like this outfit, very cute and a little different from the LBD. BUT...get fashion tape or a pin, as it cuts very low (or a low bra). Great for showing off legs.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
April 12, 2013
Cute outfit, didn't fit

So, I will admit that when my normal size (10) was not available, I ordered an 8 and a 6 instead of what I should have done, which was go to a 12 and an 8. What others have said is true--you want to go down a size for the fact that it runs kind of big up top and it looks better closely fit. I was going to wear the 6, but a friend talked me out of it for the short length. The shorts are very short (you can tell in the picture, and I wasn't really surprised by the length). The worst part, though, is that the torso is very short. I'm 5'6", so I'm not super-tall, and I have long legs so I thought I would be able to get by with it, but it was cutting me extremely tightly in the shorts. I have a butt, so this could have factored in to things, but I was surprised with how disproportionate it seemed to be... I could have gone all the way down to a 4 in the top, but the bottoms were extremely small. That being said, my experience was pretty great... Love the free samples (particularly since I love Neutrogena anyway!), and the packaging was super cute. It makes me want to rent again... hopefully something that fits this time!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
July 19, 2013
Returned it.

Unfortunate fit. Rompers usually look really good on me. Way too big. The fabric was much too thick. I felt like I was a little girl wearing my dad's suit jacket with a play sash around it. Also, no amount of pulling could make the sash much tighter.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
March 3, 2014
I have a long torso and this fit like a glove.

A smid big on top however I have a small chest. Would fit a busty girl great. I just safety pinned the top and wore a cute bra underneath when it showed.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 24, 2014
So cute and fun!

I normally wear a 10, but read comments that this run big. I ordered bot a 10 and 8 and wore the 8. If you are modest you will need a safety pin. The neck line goes pretty low.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
April 25, 2014
Didn't end up wearing...

I rented a size 0 and 2 and the 0 was a little big. I was going to wear it to a bachelorette party but it's more formal, maybe for a work event or date would be better. I would have worn the size 0 and a little double-sided tape would have made the outfit fit. It's super cute but just didn't work for me.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 25, 2014
Very comfortable

Little low in the chest area.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
July 22, 2014
Beyonce

I reserved the 6 and 8 but the 6 was damaged. I was about to pick another style but I didn't like it so I wore the 8. It was very loose on me and I had to adjust the top quite a bit.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
November 7, 2011

I loved this romper, although I thought it ran a little bit on the small side. Very comfortable and chic. Runs short, not good for long torso

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 25, 2012
Didn't wear it b/c it was too short in the stride. SUPER cute, great fabric, I was so disappointed.

It is very low cut and short. I'm 5"6 so maybe the 8 would have been longer in the torso and wouldn't have looked like (sorry to say, going up my bum). Wish I would have gotten another size to try. I would definitely try again in an 8.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2013
Probably won't work if you are tall

I really loved the look of this romper. The material is nice and if it fit I'm sure I would have been really happy with it. But it was so small length-wise that I definitely could not wear it. The space for the butt was up on my back--it was not even close to long enough for me. I'm between 5'7" and 5'8" and tried on the size 2.

See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×