Up in the Air Dress

$71 to buy
$335 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You'll flirt your way through the party in this adorable ERIN Erin Fetherston white and yellow color blocking dress. Look fab for the summer fun days but going with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ivory Genesha Bangle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust, fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White and yellow crepe(100% polyester; lining:100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(102)
Small
(63)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2014
Too Small, not flattering
This dress was too small, even for the size up that they recommended. Very unflattering to a large bust. The white top looked dingy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2014
I ended up not wearing this dress.
This dress just didn't look that great on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2014
Comfortable, elegant and bright!
Wore to a wedding. Got a size 2 and 4, as others have said it runs small. I probably could've worn the 2, but it was just a little bit tight and the 4 looked the same but was more comfortable. There were no problems and it was great for dancing all night. Highly recommend for spring/summertime wedding/formal affairs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
May 5, 2014
Dress runs super small & not great quality fabric
I was super excited to rent this dress to attend a graduation, but sadly it didn't work out. Size - I normally wear a size 6 in almost everything, but I could barely get the zipper up half way on this dress which was a major disappointment. I also felt like the top part (white part) was very long and would have fit someone with a larger chest and is much taller, so even if the zipper had zipped up, I'm still not sure if this dress would have worked out anyway. Fabric Quality -Like others were saying, the dress is a crepe-like quality and felt scratchy to touch. I really wanted to like this dress and was disappointed overall - ended up returning for credit as my event was the next day and didn't have time to have RTR overnight me a new dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
December 19, 2014
Didn't even end up wearing - If you have hips, beware! :)
I wear a size 4 pretty standardly. I'm tall, and I have hips, so sometimes I have to go up - but the size 6 was not available in my timeframe, so I just went with the size 4. It's a beautiful dress, and it fit...but if you have hips like I do, you know how things can get bulky at times around that region. And dang, did this. I didn't even wear it because it made me look so chubby - and I'm a size 4. In all honesty, I should've known by looking at it and seeing where it cut that it wouldn't be the best fit for me - but rarely do I dislike a fit as much as I disliked this one. If you are thin through the hips, its an amazing dress! But I am very hourglass, and it was not a good look.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2015
Pretty dress for the summer. I recommend popping it with a turquois necklace.
Fit well. It zips on the side so it made it a tad bit more snug then most size 6 dresses but was a great dress. Flowy, flirty and fun. Very comfortable and was a great choice for a summer wedding. Received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2015
Pretty on the model, but runs very, very small
Beautiful dress in the model photos, however, it really didn't work for me. First, the dress runs very, very small. Second, there is a lot of boning in the bust area which made a snug fit extremely uncomfortable. I had lots of red imprints on my skin after wearing this dress. The 1-shoulder strap is constructed a bit odd as well... You'll see in some of the candid photos that the armhole almost extends toward your chest and then the strap crosses back over your shoulder. The color is a cream of off-white, not really a bright white. And the yellow skirt looked kind of cheap. Was really looking forward to moving around in this dress and loving it, but it just was not meant to be for me....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2015
Cute dress, runs a little small... RTR Customer was service amazing, yet again.
Sadly, I didn't get to wear this dress. It runs small. This dress was overnighted to me as a replacement for a dress that ran too large haha. Luckily, RTR send a back-up with the back-up :) I'd this again and size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2015
Cute dress for a wedding guest!
What more can I say... rented it for a wedding and it was an appropriate dress for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 24, 2015
Pretty dress!
I rented this for a wedding. I don't usually wear yellow because I have lighter skin and blond hair, so it can wash me out, but I loved the color. I paired it with gold shoes and accessories. My backup size (2) wasn't available so I only got the 0 and that's what I wore. It was VERY tight through the rib cage. I am quite petite on top and have a small bust, so many 0s are even a little loose on the top, but this one was very tight and made it a little hard to fully breathe in. Not so bad that I couldn't wear it, but I would have liked to try the size 2. The front came to the top of my knee and the back was a little longer. Overall, I loved the dress and the material, but if I were renting it again I would definitely try a size up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2012
After the event multiple people asked me where I got my dress because they wanted it!
This dress was the perfect dress for the wedding I went to. It was fun and just right for summer. I was twirling around on the dance floor all night long (literally), because the bottom part of the dress is very "princess-like".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
July 19, 2012
One of my coworkers came up to me the night of the event and said, "Wow you have this in your closet? This is absolutely beautiful!" I laughed and said, "Nope, it's a Rent the Runway dress!" She asked me to send her daughter an invite to the site that night!
This is the perfect dress for formal affairs during the summer. The bright colors look great on any color skin and I received so many compliments I felt like the prettiest person there. I did feel like it ran a little big in the torso area, but I'm not sure a smaller size would have fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Just feeling so good in this dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was so comfortable and just gorgeous! I felt so pretty it in all night:) I wanted to keep this dress and was so sad when I had to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 13, 2012
spinning in this dress on the dance floor!
This dress is bright and made me smile :) The flow of the skirt is the best part - especially when you are dancing. It fit well, except that the top was a little big. The dress also tends to flatten your chest a bit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Ordering was easy and the dress came on schedule. I'll definitely continue to order from RTR!
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding and got tons of compliments. The dress is much prettier in person and I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 27, 2012
RTR is honestly my favorite site ever. The service is great, the dresses are top notch, and I feel like $1 million every time I rent a dress. People could not stop talking about how perfect the dress was for an outdoor wedding. LOVE IT!!!
The dress is a little tight in the rib cage area which makes it a little tough to zip up. That said, if you pull the fabric straight the zipper should come right up without too much of a hassle. Aside from that, this dress is perfect for a wedding! It is comfortable, fun to dance it, the colors pop and if you are self-conscious at all about your lower half, it conceals everything very well. My one complaint (even though everyone disagreed with me) is that there is a lot of ruffles up top on the dress, which if you have a small top half it felt like it added a little bulk to the area. Again, everyone disagreed so maybe I am just crazy. Overall, a great dress and perfect for a summer wedding!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
September 5, 2012
This dress was a hit!
It is tight in the waist but the rest of the dress fit perfectly. It flowed so beautifully behind me when I walked and the one shoulder made me comfortable because I did not have to worry about the dress showing to much boob. Loved it so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 7, 2012
I loved wearing this dress! It was perfect for me and the occasion! I was told it suited my body type very well and that I looked slimming
The size was perfect, it looked great! I loved wearing it and showing it off!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great Dress
Wore it to a rehearsal dinner, but was originally for the wedding. Many compliments, very pretty dress. Top fits tight. I sometimes wear a strapless bra with some "extra help," but was not able to wear that one for this dress. Wore a bra with just a little help.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2012
This dress was so wonderful and perfect for my mom's casual wedding.
The fit was true to size - my only issue was that it was a bit longer on me than it would be on someone with longer legs.. The yellow was very vibrant, but not so much that it wasn't wearable. I usually shy away from yellow, but I loved this dress the minute I saw it online. Thanks again RTR! (Note: the woman I pictured with was a bridesmaid... it was a pirate wedding).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
This dress was absolutely gorgeous, but a little small...
The top part is actually more of an ivory than white, but still beautiful. The dress was perfect for an outdoor summer wedding. A big problem though: It was soooo small on the top, I could hardly zip it closed. There was no room for a bra, and I had to have my friend help squeeze me in. I came so close to not being able to wear it. In the end though, I don't think anyone noticed...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
November 24, 2012
Fun and flowy
The fit was a little stange up top and my bra kept sticking out by if you can find a good strapless its worth it, overall fun to wear.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 9, 2013
Perfect dress for the setting!
I wore this dress for one of my engagement photo sessions and loved how flowy and comfy it was! It was a bit loose on me and wish I had gotten a 2. I also accessorized with a thin black belt and cute shoes to complete the look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Strangers were complimenting me!
I wore this dress for an afternoon wedding ceremony following by an evening reception in late spring/early summer. The white top is more of a cream but overall the dress is gorgeous! The fit was really flattering and super comfortable! I was able to dance all night without being uncomfortable. Was able to sit down without worrying if it would be too short (given my height). The dress was a huge hit with everyone... I even had a couple people I didn't know at the wedding come up to me and compliment me on it! LOVED THIS DRESS!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2013
Comfortable yet sexy
This dress fit great! I usually wear a size 4 but went up a size for my bust and belly. I'm 8 month pregnant here and felt great during the whole event. Very happy with this dress!
KateOctober 16, 2013
gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 29, 2013
Great dress for petite women.
I normally wear a 4 but wore a 6 for this dress. It runs small, tight in the bust area too. I was not a fan of the high waist so I added a belt for definition. Still, it is a great dress and will get you noticed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2013
Pretty dress for a destination wedding!
Very comfortable, somewhat tight in the chest (I'm an A cup and was hard to zip with a strapless bra on), but the bottom flows nicely. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 28, 2014
Best dress of the night!
This dress was comfortable, easy to wear and stunning. I was expecting the top to be more white but it was a cream/off white color. I wore this to a spring wedding at the beach in NC. A friend of mine came up to me and said that the other women at the wedding had voted and my dress won for best dress. :) I am normally very fair skinned and this dress did wash me out but that was easily fixed with a quick trip for a light spray tan. Just FYI for those fair skinned ladies out there wanting to rent this dress. The top was snug but once I got it zipped up I was comfortable all night long. Didn't need the next size up. Great first experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2014
Love the color! The yellow was light and bright - perfect for an outdoor wedding.
The dress runs small but since there was boning and it was tight I didn't need a bra... A huge plus for me! I def wish that my back up size was available. Oh well, still got lots of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2014
fun dress, got lots of compliments! wore it to a May wedding and it was perfect!
small up top..Im 5'6 106lbs with 32B chest. Easily fit into the 0 but could have easily worn the 2. would rent again!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2012
great summer dress
I LOVED wearing this dress. It's great for an outdoor summer wedding and so much fun to dance in. I am usually a 4 but had to wear the 6 because I found the top slightly snug, I'm 5'5 and it was just about knee-length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
June 18, 2012
too small
Dress fit well, up until it had to be zippered on my side, closer to my breast. It was a beautiful dress, looked very rich in material and style. I was very upset I could not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Airy dress
Easy and airy dress. Usually I wear size 4 but it ran really small on waist line. I had to wear size 6!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 23, 2012
Worn at 23 weeks pregnant
I usually wear a size 2, but while pregnant I wasn't sure which size to get. They didn't have a 6, but I think that's what I needed. The 8 didn't fit very well up top. I still got compliments on the dress, though! The zipper was extremely hard to get up past the change in fabric from bottom to top. I had to get someone to help me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 24, 2012
Summer wedding
I loved this dress in the pictures and when it arrived I was wondering how I would like it on me. I did feel beautiful in this dress, loved the asymmetry of the hem and the one shoulder. I would rate this dress as "sweet" more than "sexy." It makes for a lovely dress to wear to a summer wedding. Loved the bright yellow, had never worn that color before.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
September 10, 2012
Felt so pretty!
This was such a cute fun dress. I received lots of compliments and it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 19, 2012
So pretty and so comfortable!
Fit perfectly and loved the flowy skirt! I received lots of compliments.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
September 24, 2012
It was an amazing dress and I was the only one in anything like it.
I rented this for a wedding and it fit fine except for around my ribs. It was tighter than I expected and took 2 people to zip me up. Once I had it on, it was fine and was surprisingly comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
October 13, 2012
Small on Top
It seemed like the arm holes were too small. I usually wear a zero, but this was way too tiny in the bust for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2012
I wasn't able to wear this-ran small!
I am typically a 10 and this dress ran super small and I didn't end up wearing it :(
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×