Up in the Air Dress

$71 to buy
$335 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You'll flirt your way through the party in this adorable ERIN Erin Fetherston white and yellow color blocking dress. Look fab for the summer fun days but going with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Ivory Genesha Bangle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust, fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White and yellow crepe(100% polyester; lining:100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
174 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(63)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2012
I wore this dress to my brother's wedding and everyone LOVED it! Even the photographer wanted a pic
The dress was true to size and fit perfectly. I loved the "mullet" style. It was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2012
White was not so white
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding and was not able to wear it because the top was more of an off-white and didn't look right. Also, the material for the dress is thin (making it very lightweight and ideal for summer occasions) and there were lots of tiny pulls on the fabric. Although it didn't look unclean, it just looked worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2013
Perfect for a Beach Wedding
I wore this dress to a beach wedding in Mexico. It fit perfectly, although the zipper was a little hard to zip. Strangely, my backup size (6) felt smaller than the size 4 I ended up wearing. The skirt is a little shorter in front than I anticipated, but not unwearably so. Looks great with nude and gold accessories.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 15, 2013
Pretty but made me look wider on top than I really am.
The white on top looked a bit worn and made me feel bulky, but the skirt was pretty and flowed nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
March 7, 2013
Great for my Jamaican beach wedding!
Dress fit great considering the tiny baby bump I was hiding, got lots of compliments which it was my own!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
February 9, 2013
Great Dress
This dress was great, but i ended up wearing the other dress I rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 11, 2013
Fun dress!
Length was great! Very fun and flirty dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2013
I loooved this dress!!! It fit perfectly and was so fun to dance around in :) The colors were great!
The dress was not too tight at the top, so if you're a bit smaller up top- you may want to go down a size! Otherwise, the dress is perfect for dancing because it is not too restrictive and covers up all the flaws that a dress SHOULD :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
March 28, 2013
Dance night
Rented this dress for dancing with the husband. It was very flowing and perfect for spinning while dancing. Comfortable, normal size zero. Not very fitting for small waists.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 7, 2013
Felt like a gorgeous, sun-kissed goddess in this dress!
This dress was everything I was expecting and more! I rented it for a fashion blogger event in California. I know, what on earth does one wear to that? So much pressure! I chose this dress mainly for the lovely yellow color (which in person, looks exactly like the photos). The skirt was flowy and ethereal. I felt so feminine and unique in it! I rented a size 6 and 8, and ended up wearing the 8 so that it wasn't too tight on my waist. The bust was a little loose but nothing the magic body tape couldn't fix. Looked great with a turquoise necklace. Would highly recommend this gorgeous party dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 20, 2013
Great for my bridal shower; one of the dresses did have the plastic boning stick through the top.
The fit of this dress is pretty true to size. I did go for the larger size, mainly because the boning in the smaller size was poking through the top, and it was very uncomfortable. It may have been just from frequent wear. It was perfect for my bridal shower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2013
Replacement dress for one I'd ordered that was damaged.
The original dress I ordered came back too damaged and Rent the Runway was awesome, offered to let me rent any replacement dress regardless of price. Unfortunately, they didn't have my first 3 choices available, so I went with this dress. It was ok, but I didn't love it. The ribcage was pretty snug and no give at all to the fabric, I couldn't wear a strapless. My favorite part of the dress was the yellow skirt, I really liked the color and how it offset the white top. I added a skinny brown belt because it felt a little too plain at the waist and wore it for my birthday wine tasting with brown wedges. I wouldn't rent this one again but will continue to use Rent the Runway, I was really impressed with their customer service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 10, 2013
It was the perfect fun dress i was looking for to wear to a friends wedding!
Absolutely loved this dress and received tons of compliments all night long. It definitely looked worn; seams were coming out but it didn't bother me too much. Someone would only notice it if they were starting at the top of the dress. I am so glad i emailed the stylist for size recommendations b/c people mentioned it ran small but she confirmed i should order the 0 and the 2 and the 0 fit me perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
May 13, 2013
Perfect with boots and fun to wear!
I rented this last fall for my rehearsal dinner. I wanted something dressy but casual enough to go with cowboy boots and this dress was perfect! The skirt was flowy and fun to wear. It looks longer in the picture but the front hem was just above my knees.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 3, 2013
Loved this dress SO much I was sad to send it back!
I couldn't have been happier with this dress. The size 4 fit perfectly, but I could see how it could be a little tight up top if you are larger in the chest area. It was very comfortable, the material was thick and good quality, the length was longer than I would normally wear but I loved it for the style of this dress. I dressed it up with a turquoise statement necklace, gold bangles and some nude colored wedges. I received so many compliments and felt great in it. This was my 2nd dress from RTR and I can't wait to come back for more!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 5, 2013
Perfect for my bridal shower!
This dress was true to size for me. I ordered the size 0 and 2. The size 0 looked perfect but I was a little disappointed with the somewhat worn appearance on the upper cream/white part. I could see too many threads sticking out so I opted for the size 2 (still had threads sticking out but not as many) which still fit great. The top fit well and I was able to wear a bra no problem. The fabric does make it a bit hard to zip up. The skirt fan out a bit at the hip and I was worried it made me look shorter then I really was!! BUT after the hair/makeup/earrings I felt polished and put together! I wore the dress with the Kendra Scott - Nyla Emerald Earrings Overall the dress worked for what I wanted.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 11, 2013
This dress was beautiful! Great for dancing, so cute.
I wore this to a large party, and it was adorable. I got compliments all night, was always comfortable dancing and twirling, and the colors are great. The bodice is more fitted and not very stretchy, so perhaps get a second size in a larger one just in case you can't zip the smaller size. I loved the way I felt wearing it, it's one of the few RTR dresses I wish I could buy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 8, 2013
tons of compliments on my first RTR dress
Just a little long but it looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 30, 2013
Simple and flowy - loved the look!!
This dress was so beautiful and fit true to size (I ordered the 2 and the 0, but ended up wearing the 2). The top part of the dress was tight, and I definitely needed help zipping it up (the zipper wasn't easy to move up and down) but once it was on, it felt comfortable and didn't have to adjust at all during the wedding. The top part also looked a little worn, but you really couldn't tell unless you were the person wearing it (me). The bottom part of the dress was so flowy and very bright. It added the splash of color I wanted. I also got the mystery bling and they sent the Alexis Bittar Serpentine Quartz Cuff that matched perfectly (you can't really see it in this picture). All in all, it was perfect for a summer evening wedding. I love renting dresses from Rent the Runway - they make it so easy! Totally recommend this dress!!!!
Brandy April 27, 2014
What a perfect photo of you in this dress! You look stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2013
Great colors for an August wedding - paired w/ KJN turquoise and gold earrings.
Dress was very pretty but the fit wasn't great. The 8 fell off of me and I had to pin the 6 so it would stay up. Also the waist hits funny...I paired with a gold belt to cinch it. Overall pretty but not my favorite rental.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 24, 2013
Nice dress, didn't end up wearing it
I ordered the 4 and the 2, the 2 fit better. The skirt was pretty see-through so I would recommend wearing a short slip if you rent this dress. Unfortunately I decided at the last minute to not wear this dress, so I had to return it without wearing it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 30, 2013
My first time using RTR was a great experience! I received a ton of compliments at the wedding!
Ordered the dress in a size 0 and 2. My bust size is what made me wear the size 2. It would have been way too tight with the 0. So if you're a little busty, definitely get one size up just in case. Overall, i am happy with the outcome! The dress was super comfortable and flowy! Perfect for a sunny south Florida day! I will definitely be using RTR again for my next event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2013
Comfortable and sexy!
Dancing in this was great, I didn't realize the dress flowed so much when I moved. They didn't have the size 6 when I ordered the dress, but it didn't matter, the 4 zipped up and fit me very snugly. Don't be afraid the compliment the yellow with some other bright colors!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 30, 2013
Very flattering dress true to fit and size. A little long.
I loved this dress, but for me it was a little too long. I am young, so I like to show off a little more leg. It comes just above the knee. I ordered both the 6 and the 8. The 6 fit best, but the 8 would have worked too. It is very comfortable and easy to move around in. It is a nice dress for a more conserved event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2014
I ended up not wearing this dress.
This dress just didn't look that great on me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
December 19, 2014
Didn't even end up wearing - If you have hips, beware! :)
I wear a size 4 pretty standardly. I'm tall, and I have hips, so sometimes I have to go up - but the size 6 was not available in my timeframe, so I just went with the size 4. It's a beautiful dress, and it fit...but if you have hips like I do, you know how things can get bulky at times around that region. And dang, did this. I didn't even wear it because it made me look so chubby - and I'm a size 4. In all honesty, I should've known by looking at it and seeing where it cut that it wouldn't be the best fit for me - but rarely do I dislike a fit as much as I disliked this one. If you are thin through the hips, its an amazing dress! But I am very hourglass, and it was not a good look.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2015
Pretty dress for the summer. I recommend popping it with a turquois necklace.
Fit well. It zips on the side so it made it a tad bit more snug then most size 6 dresses but was a great dress. Flowy, flirty and fun. Very comfortable and was a great choice for a summer wedding. Received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2015
Cute dress for a wedding guest!
What more can I say... rented it for a wedding and it was an appropriate dress for the occasion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2012
After the event multiple people asked me where I got my dress because they wanted it!
This dress was the perfect dress for the wedding I went to. It was fun and just right for summer. I was twirling around on the dance floor all night long (literally), because the bottom part of the dress is very "princess-like".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Just feeling so good in this dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was so comfortable and just gorgeous! I felt so pretty it in all night:) I wanted to keep this dress and was so sad when I had to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Ordering was easy and the dress came on schedule. I'll definitely continue to order from RTR!
I rented this dress to wear to a wedding and got tons of compliments. The dress is much prettier in person and I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 27, 2012
RTR is honestly my favorite site ever. The service is great, the dresses are top notch, and I feel like $1 million every time I rent a dress. People could not stop talking about how perfect the dress was for an outdoor wedding. LOVE IT!!!
The dress is a little tight in the rib cage area which makes it a little tough to zip up. That said, if you pull the fabric straight the zipper should come right up without too much of a hassle. Aside from that, this dress is perfect for a wedding! It is comfortable, fun to dance it, the colors pop and if you are self-conscious at all about your lower half, it conceals everything very well. My one complaint (even though everyone disagreed with me) is that there is a lot of ruffles up top on the dress, which if you have a small top half it felt like it added a little bulk to the area. Again, everyone disagreed so maybe I am just crazy. Overall, a great dress and perfect for a summer wedding!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 7, 2012
I loved wearing this dress! It was perfect for me and the occasion! I was told it suited my body type very well and that I looked slimming
The size was perfect, it looked great! I loved wearing it and showing it off!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great Dress
Wore it to a rehearsal dinner, but was originally for the wedding. Many compliments, very pretty dress. Top fits tight. I sometimes wear a strapless bra with some "extra help," but was not able to wear that one for this dress. Wore a bra with just a little help.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2012
This dress was so wonderful and perfect for my mom's casual wedding.
The fit was true to size - my only issue was that it was a bit longer on me than it would be on someone with longer legs.. The yellow was very vibrant, but not so much that it wasn't wearable. I usually shy away from yellow, but I loved this dress the minute I saw it online. Thanks again RTR! (Note: the woman I pictured with was a bridesmaid... it was a pirate wedding).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
November 24, 2012
Fun and flowy
The fit was a little stange up top and my bra kept sticking out by if you can find a good strapless its worth it, overall fun to wear.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Strangers were complimenting me!
I wore this dress for an afternoon wedding ceremony following by an evening reception in late spring/early summer. The white top is more of a cream but overall the dress is gorgeous! The fit was really flattering and super comfortable! I was able to dance all night without being uncomfortable. Was able to sit down without worrying if it would be too short (given my height). The dress was a huge hit with everyone... I even had a couple people I didn't know at the wedding come up to me and compliment me on it! LOVED THIS DRESS!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2013
Comfortable yet sexy
This dress fit great! I usually wear a size 4 but went up a size for my bust and belly. I'm 8 month pregnant here and felt great during the whole event. Very happy with this dress!
KateOctober 16, 2013
gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2013
Pretty dress for a destination wedding!
Very comfortable, somewhat tight in the chest (I'm an A cup and was hard to zip with a strapless bra on), but the bottom flows nicely. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 28, 2014
Best dress of the night!
This dress was comfortable, easy to wear and stunning. I was expecting the top to be more white but it was a cream/off white color. I wore this to a spring wedding at the beach in NC. A friend of mine came up to me and said that the other women at the wedding had voted and my dress won for best dress. :) I am normally very fair skinned and this dress did wash me out but that was easily fixed with a quick trip for a light spray tan. Just FYI for those fair skinned ladies out there wanting to rent this dress. The top was snug but once I got it zipped up I was comfortable all night long. Didn't need the next size up. Great first experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×