Elizabeth and James

Purple Bardot Dress

$128 to buy
$365 retail
Stylist Notes

He won't be able to keep his eyes off of you in this sporty and sexy sheath by Elizabeth & James.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size – slightly fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless or racerback bra. Try Hollywood’s Bra Converting Clips.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple ponte (54% polyester, 38% viscose, 8% elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Racer back. Pencil skirt with asymmetrical hem and slit. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
211 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(132)
Small
(47)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 6, 2014
Compliments all night!
The 4 was a lot tighter than I expected but the 6 was too big. I think I am just not used to wearing skin tight dresses ha! Received tons of compliments and the color was spectacular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2014
Another great dress by Elizabeth and James!
I almost rented a different dress, but I'm so happy I went with this one. The material wasn't quite as thick as the Blue Parrot dress by Elizabeth and James, but it was still very comfortable and flattering. I could have probably worn my usual size 6, but the size 8 still worked out well. I felt great all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2014
Very flattering dress in a gorgeous color
The 8 I got fit perfectly but was a little short (Too revealing for a formal dinner party) so I wore the 10. It gapped a little at the bust but it still hugged my figure in a very flattering way. The color is gorgeous and the material is thick so it hides all the lumpy bits :). If you're super tall, definitely go a size up because the slit can be a little too high if the size isn't right.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 21, 2014
Just ok
Fabric wrinkles at the waist if seated for prolonged period of time (dinner) super tight dress and great for curves but tight under arms and on legs. More of a stand around at a party dress than a dinner or dancing dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 3, 2014
Got SOOOO MANYYY Compliments
The color is a gorgeous mix between royal blue and deep purple - looks amazing with gold and beige accessories. Wore to a wedding in Florida and got SO MANY compliments! The length is perfect since I am self-conscious about my legs and the cut around the shoulders is so different. Wish I bought this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 30, 2014
Rent this! Just size up! A bit tight...
It fits very similar to what is on the model... even though she is probably a size 00 and 5 foot 11. I am ALWAYS a 0 or 2 dress depending on the designer/style. ALL dresses in this brand are snug! I wore the 2 and it was still snug. It does give a little room by the end of the evening will hold the form fitting effect. Simply it will not look stretched out. Beautiful dress. I have a thin frame but am not very toned. This dress made me feel like I had a rock hard body. I would love to buy this dress. If you are an in-between size definitely get the larger size and possibly a back up even larger. Again- I am a 0 or a 2. Next time I will order a 2 and a 4 as my back up. All of the photos from the event ended up not showing the dress. Guys never take full body shots - what is wrong with them? We wear pretty dresses for a reason! Anyhow... these aren't great photos but they will have to do. Also, you can comfortably wear a strapless bra no problem.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
May 23, 2013
My Eldest daughters Mizzou college graduation! Friday night's ceremony! This is a fabulous dress
I ordered the 0, my usual size, and the 2 as a backup. I LOVE the backup service! If you are an hourglass figure and have a larger bustline. definitely size up. I also ordered the necklace as pictured and it is a perfect compliment to the dress.. The ensemble is elegant, flattering, and sexy all at the same time. It really shows off your shoulders and arms and shows off your curves. The racerback style is fabulous although I did not wear my long hair up for full effect. I love RTR and have marked this dress as one of my favorites! I RECOMMEND this dress and necklace, I paired it with simple diamond studs and open toe black pumps. Fantastic.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
June 3, 2013
good quality material, very flattering
very sexy fit. i normally wear a 2 but this is pretty form fitting. my hips are quite full so the 2 fit a bit tight there and perfect everywhere else. i could have worn the 2 but would not have been able to sit comfortably, so i went with the size 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 7, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress.
This dress accentuated all of my flaws. I am tall and thin, with a small chest, but this dress still made me look curvy. Even though the dress fit me, it was naturally a very form fitting and tight material. So, it hugged my hips and really accentuated them. Though my hips are not very wide, the dress made them look that way. Regardless, I loved the color and it was a quality material. I just wish it wasn't so tight! I didn't end up wearing this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2013
Perfect dress! Loved the shape and color!
This dress definitely runs small. I do have wider hips and bit of a booty, which is where this dress was the tightest on me. However, I agree with the other comments that the material is thick enough so that the snug fit is not unflattering- it kind of smooths everything out. The dress was sexy and classy and I got soo many compliments (and many recruits to Rent the Runway!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 22, 2013
Didn't work for me.
I am giving this only 3 stars because of the fit. Unfortunately, this dress did not work for me. Both the sizes 6 and 8 were too snug. I am typically a size 6 in most dresses, and often can wear a size 4 (i.e. Banana Republic, J. Crew). I am 135 lbs, 5'10", 34 C with an athletic build. It could be that because of my height, the dress hugged in all of the wrong places. Too bad - it's a great style with the racer back neckline and a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2013
Dress was a perfect fit and a hit!
Comfortable fit. Great lines. I had lots of compliments and felt amazing. Another hit from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 28, 2013
Super easy
Renting was super easy, and easily returned. The dress runs SMALL! Consider sizing up and taking two sizes up as your second. There is a strange flare to the hip, and the racer-back is kind of weird. I couldn't wear a racer-back bra with it and had to go with a strapless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2013
Feeling sexy and confident at a recent benefit
This dress strikes the perfect balance between being elegant and sexy. Something about the way the dress is constructed (the shoulder, the seams, the slit) makes it very figure flattering - it creates a really nice hourglass effect. The dress is well lined so I was able to wear it without a bra no problem. I am usually a 6 and I wore an 8 in this. A 6 would have worked but the 8 was more appropriate for my event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2013
This dress was beautiful, but tight across the chest/back.
I was so sad that I didn't get to wear this dress! I'm an athletic girl, a size 6 or sometimes a size 4, so I ordered those two. I wish I would have played it safe and ordered a 6 & 8. The dress is beautiful, but quite tight. It fit great across my hips and stomach, but it wouldn't zip over my chest and back. I'd recommend getting your usual size and one size up just to make sure you can wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 12, 2013
Great for a wedding or formal event
Great fall wedding dress. Although I am not generally a purple fan, the color appears more of a deep blue in person. I thought the dress shape, particularly the neckline, was very unique and flattering. Be aware, however, this dress is very tight so it might not be great for an event where you will be eating a lot. I am usually a 0 in dresses but I ended up wearing the 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2013
Classy, Sexy with a lot of Confidence!
I wore the Purple Bardot Dress, and paired it with the Carte Blanche Necklace and a tweed 3/4 sleeve black and white jacket for my friend's November wedding dinner rehearsal. I think the necklace was a great contrasting statement piece with the solid colored dress that I didn't need any other standout accessories. The purple was a great color, and the sporty neck line and front slit were really fun and flirty details. I'm usually a size 2 or 4 in dresses, and based on the reviews I shipped the size 4 and 6. I went with the size 6 because it was a very tight dress, super form-fitting and really hugs all your curves. That's what I mean by classy, sexy with a lot of confidence! The dress was a beautiful, heavy and quality material. I wore a strapless bra and spanx underneath. I received a lot of compliments throughout the night and felt great in it. This was my first RTR rental and really enjoyed the experience. I would definitely recommend RTR to anyone, especially for the opportunity to just try RTR, see how the dresses feel on you and learn what else you might like!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2014
Hugely flattering, body skimming but polished. Loved this dress.
It's definitely tight but it's a thicker fabric that is very smooth. I would go a size up from what you normally might order.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2014
Hot and polished.
This sucker is snug but the material is such a great quality spanks were not necessary. I say it runs small though. I wore a size up from what I normally wear and it was still snug. Great for a night you are trying to ride the line between classy and smokin'. Get a fun statement necklace and the look is complete.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32H
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 18, 2014
Simple and classy, great neckline.
I rented this for a Bar Mitzvah and ended up wearing the 4 because the 2 was tight tight. It's a super simple dress and definitely needs serious statement jewelry. The color is beautiful and the cut is fun for such a basic dress. Just know you should be happy with your stomach because it shows a lot. I wore a strapless bra because I didn't want straps showing, but the dress is tight enough it holds the girls down no problem.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
March 24, 2015
Runs Small
I absolutlet loved the dress and the quality of it but sadly it ran a bit to small. I ordered a 2 and size 4 for back up and the size 4 was still really snug. I wish it fit good cause it was a really nice dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
May 21, 2015
Perfect Dress!
First rental with RTR and this was an awesome dress! So sad when I had to send it back. I went off of everyone's recommendations and got a size up from my normal size as this dress does run small. I normally wear a 4 and wore this dress in a 6. Received so many compliments on the color and style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2015
Tiiight!
Turned out to be too tight for me-- I usually fit in a 4, sometimes a 6, but this wasn't available in the 6 for my dates. Couldn't wear it, but my sister did! Otherwise, it's flattering but revealing. Lovely color.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
June 5, 2015
Loved the fit. high quality fabric. Flattering on my athletic/straight body type. Very comfortable
Wore a size up from my normal size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 168lbs
July 14, 2015
Stunning and Sexy Dress!!!
Wore it to my brothers wedding which was a little less formal than cocktail. The dress was sexy and yet appropriate. it was a perfect length for me and the slit didn't make it too short and I'm over 6 feet tall! The dress fit me like a glove, but there isn't much give or stretch so I really got lucky. The fabric is fairly thick too and very flattering in person. If they have it in more colors I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 20, 2015
This is a show stopper!
Wow, this dress was a real stunner. Body-hugging fit to show off curves and the longer knee length really elongated my entire body. This dress is sexy, classy, and most importantly, so comfy. I was dancing in this all night and really felt like a million bucks. I suggest getting the back up size (size up), just in case your usual size is too tight. I ended up wearing an 8, which is a size larger than my usual, but felt that a 6 would've worked too, if it was available. Also, spanx was a life saver, to keep curves looking smooth. I would definitely rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 18, 2016
This was sexy, simple, and extremely flattering.
Knit is thick, which makes it quite flattering. The cut of the shoulder is surprisingly sexy, and the slit is just the right height. I got a zillion compliments, and felt perfect. The eight fit exactly like a six usually does on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2016
This dress was great!
Great dress. I only ordered the size 0, and it was a big snug. But the dress was stretchy and had some give. It was extremely comfortable! Great for dancing! I would suggest renting a statement necklace, because without one the dress might seem a bit plain.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
June 24, 2013
Beautiful!
I love this dress! The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because A. The slit is completely different than shown (much smaller in real life). and B. it runs about 2 sizes smaller than your normal size. I ordered the biggest size they had and definitely had to squeeze into it. I could have definitely used a size up. All that aside, it was still gorgeous and very flattering! I got a ton of compliments! I would definitely rent this again. In fact, I would buy this if I could find it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36B
April 6, 2014
Tons of compliments on this dress and the blue is the perfect shade.
Usually wear an 8 but with the cut of this dress I found the 10 to be more comfortable. It is a very slimming dress which is exactly what I wanted.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 19, 2014
I rented this dress for a co-worker's wedding.
The dress ran a little smaller than I expected based on the reviews. I definitely needed Spanx to make it work and it was a tight fit, but I was able to make it work. I would recommend sizing up in this dress by one size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2014
Fun to pair with statement jewelry!
I rented this dress with the Kate Spade Mayan Alabaster neckless and it looked great together. The dress is form fitting so you may want to size up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2015
Tons of compliments all night
I ordered the 6 and 8 in this dress. I typically wear a 4 or 6 but in this dress I could barely get into the 8. I put on some shapewear and was happy with the overall look. The dress is beautiful - nice thick material with just enough stretch and the length was classy yet sexy at the same time. It showed enough leg but did not ride up at all. I loved the racerback which added a nice detail and I received compliments all night long. I would definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2014
Great color
I ordered this dress as my backup. I wore another E&J dress made out of the same material in a size 4; however, this size 4 fit too tightly around my barely-there bottom. It was bubbling where the zipper met my seat - not attractive. The color was amazing and I may just rent this in a 6 for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 11, 2014
Loved the fit & color
Great color and fit, though I did wish my upper body was in slightly better shape (a tiny bit of "squish" around my arm sockets. Beautiful dress, though, and got tons of compliments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
December 7, 2013
I was unable to wear the dress.
Way to small. Wasn't worth it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 5, 2016
LOVE THIS DRESS!
This is a very tight fitting dress, but very classy. The material is a great quality and thick, it did not ride up when walking. Not too short and the slit is perfect. I wore it a wedding and received so many compliments. I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
July 20, 2016
Clean, modern + curve-hugging
I felt so great in this dress! I loved the chic, minimalist silhouette and rich color. It was perfect for a city wedding. The fabric hugs curves in a flattering way and the side slit adds a little something extra. I will definitely rent Elizabeth and James styles in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 5, 2016
Gorgeous BLUE Dress
Don't be fooled by the dress name, this is certainly a blue dress, not purple. I am a size 0 and found I had a bit of trouble getting this dress above my hips, but I did it without ripping the dress or breaking into a full sweat. It is certainly formfitting, but overall looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
May 6, 2014
Sleek and Sophisticated!
I wore this dress for a friend's wedding where she asked her house party to wear dark purple. The dress fit great & had some stretch which was nice. As a lover of Spanx, I had to keep an eye on the slit and make sure they weren't showing but I think the extra "support" made the dress look even better! Loved this dress & wish I could own it!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×