Elizabeth and James

Monet Flower Maxi

$160 to buy
$665 retail
Stylist Notes

Grab those newly purchased wedges, put on a fab necklace and flirt at the party wearing this Elizabeth and James floral asymmetric maxi.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length (in the back) - One length. Long measures 37'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Floral printed silk chiffon (100% Silk). Square neckline. Flutter sleeves with grosgrain straps. Grosgrain belt at waist. Asymmetric hemline. 37'' from shoulder to shortest length of the hem. Available only in one length.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
December 29, 2014
Static! Static! Static!
I rented this to see if it would work for my mother for our Hawaii wedding. Pros: beautiful print, nice straps and shape, good flow Cons: very static-y material. The dress has a high low hem but the low part is really low!! She would have had a train longer than mine! Fit: She is normally a 10 but she fit into the 6 really nicely so the dress runs big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2015
I did not end up wearing the dress as it was too large for me.
I rented this dress with a free rental coupon. I would have worn it, but it was way too big on me.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
July 26, 2015
Great dress!
My only disappointment is this dress arrived without the photographed belt. This was the case for several other reviewers. It runs quite long; I'm just shy of 5'6" and was in a kitten heel (about 3") and the dress still dragged on the ground. I'm 28 weeks pregnant and 20 lbs up from my normal weight (sitting around 145 right now) and this was very comfortable. I ordered my typical pre-pregnancy dress size. I'm not sure if sizing down would work if I wasn't pregnant though because it would likely be too narrow across the bust and back. I had a great service experience with RTR. Smart packaging, painless return.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
August 21, 2015
This dress was perfect with a leather jacket and fringe bag and fit over my athletic back.
Fit great. Flow lay. The train was a little long though. I noticed in pics there was a belt it mine didn't come with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 27, 2015
It's a dress that will make you feel ultra feminine!
I'm petite, but the 0 long, was the only size available. I'm 5'2 so I just wore stacked heels and it ended up just dragging the floor a bit on the back train of the dress. I wore it for a French/floral themed day on a Bachelorette weekend in Napa and loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2015
Train flows elegantly
I've actually rented this dress twice now. It's my absolute favorite!! It does run big and one time it came without the belt. Not a huge deal since I worn a teal belt instead. Was complimented all night and it was a blast to dance in! Will rent a 3rd time in the spring!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2016
flattering and feminine
This dress was perfect for my sister's baby shower! Pros: beautiful floral print, unique hem, flattering for small bust, flowing fabric on straps covers just enough, forgiving for my "new mom tummy" Cons: runs extremely large - wore a size 0L but normally wear a size 4R, did not come with belt
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 15, 2016
Stunning dress
Just the perfect summer dress. Read that it wears large so I probably could have worn down to a 0/2 but the 6 was the only long available. I loved it. It was effortless and beautiful and the compliments came nonstop. It didn't come w the belt but I wore it unbelted and didn't mind at all. You could pin the back w a safety pin from the inside for a more fitted look. I love this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 32
October 27, 2016
Perfect for early pregnancy
This dress was perfect for my brother's outdoor farm wedding. Accentuated my bust and roomy for my first trimester belly bump. Very comfortable and the print is just gorgeous- everyone loved it. I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
April 4, 2012
Just a beautiful dress. I was afraid it would wash me out, but it is even more beautiful in pictures.
I love this dress! I loved it the moment I saw it for sale and I knew I had to rent it when it became available. I thought it would be perfect for my sister's garden wedding, but it was unavailable. Instead I rented another Elizabeth and James dress of similar design. I'm glad I was able to try on the style before I rented this exact dress. I am short, about 120 lbs, and usually wear a size 4. I rented the first style in size 4 with a 2 for a back-up since it looks like a looser fit. I wore the size 2 for mys sister's wedding. The size 2 still fit loose in the shoulders, though. This time when I rented this dress I chose a size 2 with a 0 for a back-up. I was able to wear the size 0. It still was a little long...someone stepped on it :( It was worth it, though, it is beautiful and I received compliments all night long, including from the woman who stepped on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2012
This dress!
I saw this dress in Carrie Underwood's music video for "Good Girl" and I just had to have it! I was so happy to find it on here. I wore this out for my 27th birthday with friends and felt as fabulous as the country music sweetheart!
RTR CustomerMay 12, 2013
I am 5'7' and weigh 129 but is also 34 c. What size should I order.
jennaMay 14, 2013
I am in love with this dress!!! I would get the size 2 and 4. It does fit large. Hope you love it too! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2012
It was an easy way to score a fabulous designer dress for a special event at a fraction of the cost!
I loved this dress, it was light and flowy...the perfect companion for an expectant mother attending a hot summer wedding! It does run a little large, I probably would have gone with an 8 if I had time to exchange it, but since it was a flowy dress anyway the belt took care of that problem. I received a ton of compliments on it too, but be prepared to pick up the train when you are on the dance floor so no one steps on it. :)
FiAugust 1, 2012
does this dress have a tight-fitted slip underneath? i am also an expectant mom :-) ...will be 7 months when i planned to wear this to a wedding and i like the shape of the dress for those of us with a bump, but was wondering whether the slip underneath would fit around my growing belly...? thanks!!
RTRAugust 2, 2012
Hi Fi, there is not a fitted slip under this style and it should work great with a bump!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
July 11, 2012
pretty but loose and VERY long
The belt is essentail bc otherwise this fits like a nightgown. I went a size down and it was still loose. It is pretty, but very long- I'm 5'6 and in 4inch wedges, the hem was still trailing on the ground and getting caught under my heels. But its very comfy- I could see it working even for pregnant women.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
August 20, 2012
Amazing dress
This dress is the perfect ethereal, bohemian maxi. The colors are amazing and the cut of the dress just flows. I ordered it for my engagement photos (on the beach), it was the perfect contrast... It does run rather big, I ordered my normal size (2) and luckily a backup (0). The 2 was really big and even with the belt, I couldn't make it fit. The 0 was much better, but the fit of the dress isn't meant to be tight, so it was still very loose. The belt and a big bra helped make it look more tailored. Its a great dress for any occasion that is more relaxed and less formal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 9, 2012
.
Fit a little large so I went a size down. It was very comfortable, flowy, and elegant. Only problem was the back is so long I had to make sure I didn't step on it. Would recommend wearing with high heels or high wedges, not flats.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 3, 2012
So much fun to dance in but is a lot of material!!
The dress is gorgeous, but a lot of fabric! Made me feel much wider and larger then I am. The belt did very little to accentuate my waist. I didn't feel as though this was a flattering dress at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2012
Such a pretty feminine dress!!! I loved it!
Great dress, I would definitely get it a size or two down because it runs large. I got so many compliments in it and felt so comfortable and great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
January 14, 2013
Beautiful print, baggy fit.
Much too large, drapes around. Not for a formal affair, more for a wedding or garden party. Beautiful print, go down one or two sizes. If you are a zero or two I do not recommend this dress as a top choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 30, 2013
It was a total miss which was disappointing
I'd gotten the dress for a garden party on a hot weekend. I'm 5'8-1/2" and weigh 134lbs with an athletic build. I could have worked with it's loose fit, but the length was so long that I only could wear very high heels that would have sunk in the grass.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 15, 2013
Engagement Photo; Sensational
I chose this as one of the dresses for my engagement photo, and let's just say the photographer and I were SO in love with it, I didn't even do an outfit change. If you carry most of your weight on the bottom half of your body, you can and should definitely go down a size. I'm 150 pounds and wore a size 2 - still, the straps were too long and I had to use double-sided tape to keep them in place. I highly recommend buying the double-sided tape, too. This way, you can wear the sleeves slightly off your shoulder - it's a beautiful neckline.
DestinyJune 5, 2013
Your picture is awesome! We are the same exact size and I'm wondering if I should get this for my picnic wedding this August - please email me more pics of your dress if you are ok with that - destinylil@hotmail.com - Thank you! Look forward to chatting - there are so many options and I can't afford more than this for a dress so.....
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
One of my favorite dresses I have ever worn!
Beautiful dress! I wore it to prom and it was easy to dance in and I got so many compliments. It was really long though, and I kept on stepping on it with my heels but that is my only compliant. I usually would wear around a 5 so i got a 4 and a 6 but my mom ended up calling and getting a 2 sent and it fit me perfectly. So i would get a smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2013
Gorgeous pattern!
This is a VERY loose size 0. The dress is beautiful, but looks quite a bit like a nightgown. The 0R was not available when I rented, and the 0L was much too long on me (5'7"). With the right accessories and shoes, though, you could definitely make this work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
Beautiful dress. Long.
Not necessarily the most flattering, but the dress is gorgeous. Perfect for any spring/summer occasion. Or even a beach wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2013
Fun to wear!
This dress definitely stands out, and I received a lot of compliments on it. Although it runs a bit large, the belt made a difference and the chest was well-fitted. I didn't mind the train, it looked beautiful when I walked, and I was just extra careful on the dancefloor and going up and down stairs to pick up the train and make sure no one stepped on it.
MariahApril 7, 2014
Looks beautiful on you! What did you end up wearing as a bra with it? I'm the same measurements!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 29, 2013
beautiful dress!!! perfect for a Spring/Summer Wedding!!! I received a ton of compliments!!!
Runs a little big - I usually take a 2 and wore a 0 It also runs a little long too
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 29, 2013
Felt Amazing!
Love this dress. I rented it when 5 months pregnant 32D bra, small bump. (Pre-prego: size 4, 32c bra). It is very comfortable, flowy, loose fitting and feminine. Drapes beautifully. I tied the ribbon belt over my bump... looked great. The size 6 was still very roomy in the bust and waist. Received tons of compliments! I would rent again in smaller size now ; )
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2013
PERFECT Dress. Comfortable and flattering.
I rented this for an evening June wedding near the beach. It was comfortable and flowing. A little tricky if there is lots of dancing since it was to the floor.. Would have done better with a 10, not 10L. But because the front is much shorter, I was glad I had the longer length in the front. I received lots of compliments and felt like I had on the perfect dress for the location and occasion. It doesn't come with a belt but I added a soft pink one and it really helped make it more flattering. It has belt loops so I am glad I found a great one. I wore it with tan platform pumps with sparkles and a soft pink clutch. Recommend a strapless bra since the straps are narrow. It has a flattering neckline which can handle either chunky or delicate necklace. I think you'll have fun with this dress if you choose it and feel comfortable and airy...I DID
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
July 27, 2013
Great dress, flattering, flowy and feminine
This is a really nice dress. It is just a very flattering cut. It has a lot of material and flow...it is definitely long in the back. So be careful about stepping on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 9, 2013
n/a
I read that this dress runs large so I ordered 2 sizes smaller than what I usually wear (I usually wear a 4 so I ordered the 0 and 2). I wore the 0 and it fit fine. I am 5'6" and wore 4-inch heels, the dress swept the ground a little bit but I wasn't tripping over the tail. The dress flows beautifully, I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2013
beautiful pattern and material but WAY too long
I loved everything about this dress except for the length. I am 5'6" and wore a size 2 and even in 3 inch heels it was dragging big time in the back. So much so that I couldn't wear it. Just looks messy and not quite finished.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Age: 36
April 12, 2014
Gorgeous, girlie, bump friendly dress!
Gorgeous, girly dress! Wore it to my baby shower at 7months pregnant, so it is definitely bump friendly. Loved it! It did arrive without the sash, so I had to wear one of my own belts- no biggie though
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2014
Lovely, feminine dress for a spring party!
This is one of the few RTR dresses touting itself as "bump-friendly" that fits the bill (it's wild to me that RTR doesn't have far, far more pregnancy-appropriate dresses!) I wore a size 4 at almost 7 months pregnant, and it worked great. As other reviewers noted, neither it nor the other size came with the grosgrain belt promised. Plan ahead and have your own belt ready. With the 4, the length wasn't a problem for me (I'm 5'7" and wore a 2-inch wedge), but I would have had to wear taller shoes with the 6.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 28, 2014
Awesome dress.
Very comfortable , slightly larger than I anticipated but belt is self adjustable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2014
Perfect for a casual summer event
The train on this dress is amazing. I got a million compliments on it, felt like a fairy princess and twirled and twirled all night long. It was awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 22, 2015
This dress was in poor shape
This dress was in poor shape - it had clearly been worn a ton and showed it. The straps were dingy and frayed and the lining was pulled and slightly discolored. Further, it came without a sash/belt, despite having loops for one. It was my backup dress and I didn't wear it . The fit was fine but big - I'm 5' 9" and the long would fit me in flats, but would definitely be too long if you were 5' 6" or under. I'm also pregnant and normally wear a size 4/6 and the 6 left ample room for my nearly-third-trimester bump.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
June 17, 2015
Beautiful dress. Runs big.
It is a very roomy dress. I am usually a 6 and the 4 was slightly large for me. Wore it with a different belt. It looked great. I had to tape the straps to make them not fall off as they were a little long (only the L was available). Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2015
DOES NOT COME WITH BELT!
The material and cut of this dress are gorgeous. I love Elizabeth and James' more feminine pieces, and this dress was great for an early evening wedding in spring. I got the 8 and the 6, both run very loose and very long, though wasn't much of an issue with my height plus 2" heels. The only bummer of this dress is that despite sending 2 sizes, RTR did not send any belts. They gave me a credit and handled the issue professionally as always. If you plan ahead and bring your own belt, it should be a great day to evening dress especially for someone with a baby bump.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 24, 2015
Great summer dress. I wore it for my baby shower and everyone complimented me.
I usually wear size 4 and now that I am pregnant size 6 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 1, 2015
Pretty!
I got this as a backup dress for my sister-in-law's wedding. Sadly I didn't get a picture, since I didn't end up wearing it out. I ended up getting the smallest size, after seeing other reviews, and it definitely worked. If you're having this shipped to a hotel, bring an extra belt with you just in case the belt doesn't come with it (mine did). The length wasn't too long in the back for me - would have been totally fine with some short heels. Overall, I would definitely get this one again, knowing how nice it looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2012
Billowy and beautiful!
I wore this dress to an afternoon wedding. It was perfect style - not too formal but still dressier then your average maxi. The floral print and silk material were beautiful in person and so comfortable to wear. My only issue was the length. I'm 5'8 and had 4 inch wedges on and the ruffles in the back were still long and hit the ground.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×