Hopeless Romantic Dress

$100 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make him fall in love on that first date when you walk in wearing this sultry Elizabeth and James chiffon dress. A delicate and angelic style to romance him while sipping cocktails. Go with dainty earrings like the kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings and a statement piece like Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips; curvier women should consider sizing up for backup
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips; curvier women should consider sizing up for backup
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Blush silk chiffon (100% silk). Cap sleeves with cut-outs and front keyhole. Open back with tie closure. Asymmetric hemline. 38'' from shoulder to shortest point of the hem. 58'' from shoulder to longest point of the hem.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
August 17, 2012
Felt fab!
Felt fabulous! I had everyone from waiters to the bride asking me where my dress was from! Few issues: dress was frayed in one section, RTR did not include the return mailers in my box so I had to mail it back myself (they did refund my shipping costs however). I would still rent from RTR because I loved the dress so much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 14, 2012
I was told I looked like I'd stepped out of a fashion magazine ad - really can't beat that!
I rented this gown for a friend's outdoor summer wedding. The light fabric was ideal for dancing in the warm evening without overheating and the sheer layers and high-low cut added a trendy edge to an otherwise classic gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 14, 2012
One-of-a-Kind Dress
I rented this as a possibility for my reception dress. It feels romantic and old-fashioned on, and the floating overlay adds drama! I was concerned that my less-than-perfect body would look a bit dumpy, but the gown was surprisingly flattering. I was really torn between this and another RTR gown, and ultimately decided against this dress because I was afraid that the trailing fabric would be a hazard while dancing. If it hadn't been for that, I would have worn it. Hopefully, I will have another occasion where I can give it a go!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Great service, wonderful selection, amazing dress!!
The dress was stunning. I loved the Hi-Lo and the fit and color was beautiful. I do think that it runs a little small and make sure you have a low back bra. I got both the 4 and the 6 (I am usually a 4 in dresses) and the 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 8, 2012
Beautiful and Simple!!
I absolutely LOVED wearing this dress!! It is very lightweight and airy, so you don't have to worry about getting hot if you are at an outdoor wedding like I was!! I ordered both the 4 and the 6, I usually wear a 4, but I am built very straight down (not many curves or hips), so the 4 had a tighter waist because it narrows at the waist. The 6 fit perfectly since it was not as narrow at the waist!!! It is slightly long...I am 5'4", and I wore 4 inch heals so that I did not trip on the train. It still was a bit too long (about another 1/2inch or so on the ground), but when you walk, the dress just flows and is gorgeous so you won't trip on it. I can't tell you HOW many compliments I recieved on this dress...it was SO beautiful and flowing, and I wish I could have kept it!! :) It is SO much more beautiful that it is in the picture. If you are at all thinking about getting this dress, don't hesitate...you will love its simplistic yet unique look!!!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 7, 2012
best compliment- when my husband told me he was proud to walk in with the prettiest girl in the room- i blame the dress
I am obsessed with this dress!! It could be worn so many different ways! I went to a casual wedding, so I dressed it down with brown and received compliments all night :) I generally wear a 4, but i put on a few this summer, so I went with the 6. Good thing RTR sends 2 sizes!!!! There isn't much of a difference in size- if you have a small waist, go with the smaller size- i unfortunately do not.... Fit- I am 5'3", so it was a little long, but nothing that a high pair of heels won't fix! Wear a NuBra- I am not wearing one in the picture because this was taken the following day (i forgot). I wore the Nu-Bra with this dress to the wedding I attended and it was perfect. This dress worked for me, but I picture it looking much more elegant on someone tall and thin- but then again, what doesn't. Either way, this dress is gorgeous and I'd highly reccomend renting through RTR. The process was easy and convenient! <3
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 2, 2012
I felt soo beautiful the whole night! I received compliments from everyone, and my boyfriend couldn't believe how stunning it was!
I rented this dress for a wedding that was going to be at a banquet hall on Lake Michigan. Having read the awesome reviews of how the dress fit and flowed in the wind, I knew this is the dress I had to wear. After putting it on, the dress looked better than I could have ever imagined!! I got compliments from everyone, including the bride! When you walk, the train flows beautifully behind you, and the overall fit was amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 21, 2012
Beautiful and flattering
I think that this is the most beautiful dress I've ever worn and I'm including my wedding dress in that statement. I ordered this in a 2 and a 4 and wore the 2. They both fit well, but the 2 felt tailored exactly to my body. I said that it runs large because, for a designer dress I didn't expect mainstream vanity sizing. The material is thick enough so that you don't have to wear a bra if you can get away with it. I used those stick-on silicone pasties, as I'm nursing. I got a ton of compliments on this dress.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
July 10, 2012
The compliments I received and the fast delivery of my dress
I rented this dress for my Wedding shower I received so many compliments everyone asked me where I bought my dress My fiancee loved it I felt like a movie star I will definately be renting again I also think I gained you some new customers very happy will be renting for the Bachelorette party !!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
July 5, 2012
Now that is something you don't see every day. reminds me of that iconic photo of the sailor kissing a woman. Stunning! Breathtaking!!!
I rented it for my engagement photos. Astonishing! The only thing wrong with it was that I had to send it back! Of course, thanks to the best photographer ever: Alain Martinez!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
June 21, 2012
I had multiple wedding guests ask me where I got my dress and they were sooo excited when I told them about RTR!
This dress made me feel like a modern day princess! I wore this to a Beach wedding at a yatch club and it was everything I hoped for...romantic, classy, and modern yet time timeless. The icing on the cake was how comfortable it was (i didn't have to wear a bra!).
MeredithJune 26, 2012
wait wait please explain about the bra because im dying to rent this dress but I'm also a d!
jaxJune 26, 2012
the fabric of the top is gathered so it conceals surprisingly well (even for such a thin, light color!)... I was even dancing through out the night. If you are a bit nervous/uncomfortable though you could always wear a nu-bra or the pasty cups.
BellaJuly 20, 2012
Did you rent the necklace from here as well?
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Hi Bella- yes she did and we love it! The necklace is KATE SPADE NEW YORK ACCESSORIES Solarium Bib Necklace
rubyJuly 25, 2012
Hey Jax - dress looks beautiful! How low is the back? I'm the same height as you and wondering if the line sits at your true waist or if it dips lower int he back?
RTRJuly 30, 2012
Hi Ruby, the back of this dress goes down to the waist band, but not further. Hope that is helpful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
June 18, 2012
Looks like an angel
I didn't end up wearing this dress, because I went to a formal party at the MOMA, and the Queen of the Nile was more festive, BUT this dress was simply stunning. I wished I'd had rented it longer to give my self some time to wear it. It fit like a glove, and moved beautifully. Perfect for a wedding, or similar affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 12, 2012
Wearing a dress that made me feel beautiful!! And anything that can make a woman feel beautiful is unforgettable!
Words cannot describe how wonderful and beautiful I felt in this dress! I received more compliments than I could count! Everyone LOVED IT! Especially me! This dress is seriously elegant and feminine. I flows so gracefully over your body and is so fun to dance in which surprised me! It was a true hit and I am so sad that I have to send it back! I'd buy one in every color if I could! If you are thinking about getting this dress....think no more. I promise, you will not regret it! I promise! The pictures I uploaded do not do it justice, all I had in the moment. This dress is simply heavenly!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2012
Flows beautifully!
The best thing about the dress is when you walk! The dress flows beautifully behind you; it makes you want to strut! I got a ton of compliments! The dress was a bit darker than expected but it went really well with my complexion (I'm a bit tanner). I wore 4 inch heels and that was about perfect for the dress. The only reason I gave it a 4 and not a 5 was because of the open back. I went to a conservative wedding, so I wore a cami underneath. That way, I could wear a bra as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2012
There is never a better sound for a girl to hear than her guests gasp when she walks into the room. This dress will do that for you.
After 5 1/2 years, we decided why not get married? We didn't want anything stressful so decided to elope. Of course that meant throwing a party afterward. So I needed a killer dress! I fell in love with this dress the second I laid eyes on it online. It was even more beautiful in person. I can't even count the number of compliments I received. Most people used words like ethreal, grecian, fairy princess. Everything you want to hear. We had our party on the 23rd floor so it got a little windy which only added to the magic of the dress. The way it blows in the wind would make you want to manufacture wind to see the way it floats through the air. So, the only thing I can think of that might be bothersome to some is that there were a couple tiny snags on the front up around the bust area. However, I think it's impossible to have a dress in this material without that happening and it lays so nicely and the lining underneath matches so perfectly, it really wasn't noticeable. The only other person who noticed was my good friend who was in charge of helping me get ready. I hate mailing this back. I will absolutely rent from here again. In fact, I think I may never buy another dress. I hear RTR has a monthly subscription that I may need to treat myself to. You will not regret wearing this dress. Oh, lastly size - I'm usually a 4 or a 6, depending on how fitted a dress is. The 4 fit perfectly. I was worried by some reviews that it may be too big so I ordered a 2 and a 4. Never needed to even try the 2 on. Have fun!!!
MarleenNovember 13, 2012
you look gorgeous in this dress, what a beautiful sunset, as well!
JessicaNovember 29, 2012
Thank you so much!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
June 11, 2012
Beautiful but not what's shown
This dress is beautiful but what you receive is not what you see worn on the model. Check the customer photos for accurate look of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2012
Compliments galore!!!!
I felt like a fairy in this dress - so light and flowy! It fit perfectly and was totally appropriate for the afternoon wedding i attended. I got loads of compliments. Don't be fooled by the "R" title, the dress can work for women of all heights.
ClareJune 5, 2012
I am looking into wearing this dress to an upcoming wedding. I am looking into renting the 4 or 6 but was wondering if you would recommend it for girls with a bigger waist size or if you think it only would work for girls that are smaller? Thanks so much!
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Clare, this dress runs true to size and we think it would look great in size 4 or 6!
CaitlinJune 18, 2012
Is this dress dressy enough for a black tie wedding?
RTRJune 19, 2012
Hi Caitlin, this dress may need some great "bling" accessories to make it black tie appropriate! Due the fabric and cut, it's more cocktail attire.
melissaJune 28, 2012
Catilin...this dress is perfect for a black tie wedding...I added a very long strand of pearls which I wrapped around my neck several times...elegant!! It runs true to size.
jennyJuly 5, 2012
what did you wear for a bra???
RTRJuly 24, 2012
We recommend a NuBra or sticky flower petals if you are smaller busted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 24, 2012
My stylist Stephanie!
The dress was a hit with my guests and I loved it! MY future husband loved it too. I felt flawless in the dress. It runs a bit bigger than expected, I odered a 2 and 4 thinking the two might be a bit small on my bust (32DD) but turned out the 2 fit fine at the bust but was a bit large at my waist (25). None the less I loved it!! Thanks RTR!!!
AnastasiyaMay 31, 2012
What did you wear it with? A NuBra as they recommend or something else? I am a DD and wondering whether I can make it work.
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Anastasiya, we recommend a NuBra with this style due to the open back.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 15, 2012
Wore it for a Spring Wedding
Perfect for a wedding! Beautiful dress.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
May 7, 2012
So dreamy!
Fit - I usually wear a dress size 4 and I assume this is a loosely fit dress so the 4 fit a little loose just as the picture. The dress was very comfortable, airy, and so beautiful! I loved it, didn't want to return it. Length - it's pretty long in the back for me. I am 5 feet 4.5 inches and i wore 3.5 inches heels and that was barely enough to get the dress off the floor. So a warning if you're shorter :)
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×