Elizabeth and James

Hopeless Romantic Dress

$100 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Make him fall in love on that first date when you walk in wearing this sultry Elizabeth and James chiffon dress. A delicate and angelic style to romance him while sipping cocktails. Go with dainty earrings like the kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings and a statement piece like Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips; curvier women should consider sizing up for backup
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blush silk chiffon (100% silk). Cap sleeves with cut-outs and front keyhole. Open back with tie closure. Asymmetric hemline. 38'' from shoulder to shortest point of the hem. 58'' from shoulder to longest point of the hem.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 6, 2013
Elegant and Ethereal
Wore this dress for a wedding. I got so many compliments. It was airy and elegant. Perfect for the romantic event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2013
Wimsical and darling.
absolutely loved this dress (and so did my very picky boyfriend).... I didn't want to send this one back. It is long, I am 5'8, wore 5in heels and I still worried about steppin on the back of the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 14, 2013
So many compliments!
A friend was having a "Merchant Ivory" themed 30th and all of us were struggling to grasp the concept. Luckily, I found this dress on RTR and it was perfect. The dress was a little loose around the waist and a little long in the back (even with 4in. wedge sandals) but the looseness was fine because it fit with the over all flow of the dress and the length worked out to just skim the ground behind me like a train. The only thing I'd warn about is that, unlike the picture, the under-layer of the dress is cut at the same length and bias as the sheer top-layer so there isn't a sheer skirt at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 24, 2012
My stylist Stephanie!
The dress was a hit with my guests and I loved it! MY future husband loved it too. I felt flawless in the dress. It runs a bit bigger than expected, I odered a 2 and 4 thinking the two might be a bit small on my bust (32DD) but turned out the 2 fit fine at the bust but was a bit large at my waist (25). None the less I loved it!! Thanks RTR!!!
AnastasiyaMay 31, 2012
What did you wear it with? A NuBra as they recommend or something else? I am a DD and wondering whether I can make it work.
RTRJune 6, 2012
Hi Anastasiya, we recommend a NuBra with this style due to the open back.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 21, 2012
I had multiple wedding guests ask me where I got my dress and they were sooo excited when I told them about RTR!
This dress made me feel like a modern day princess! I wore this to a Beach wedding at a yatch club and it was everything I hoped for...romantic, classy, and modern yet time timeless. The icing on the cake was how comfortable it was (i didn't have to wear a bra!).
MeredithJune 26, 2012
wait wait please explain about the bra because im dying to rent this dress but I'm also a d!
jaxJune 26, 2012
the fabric of the top is gathered so it conceals surprisingly well (even for such a thin, light color!)... I was even dancing through out the night. If you are a bit nervous/uncomfortable though you could always wear a nu-bra or the pasty cups.
BellaJuly 20, 2012
Did you rent the necklace from here as well?
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Hi Bella- yes she did and we love it! The necklace is KATE SPADE NEW YORK ACCESSORIES Solarium Bib Necklace
rubyJuly 25, 2012
Hey Jax - dress looks beautiful! How low is the back? I'm the same height as you and wondering if the line sits at your true waist or if it dips lower int he back?
RTRJuly 30, 2012
Hi Ruby, the back of this dress goes down to the waist band, but not further. Hope that is helpful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
Great service, wonderful selection, amazing dress!!
The dress was stunning. I loved the Hi-Lo and the fit and color was beautiful. I do think that it runs a little small and make sure you have a low back bra. I got both the 4 and the 6 (I am usually a 4 in dresses) and the 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2012
The stopped counting after the 10th compliment. Truly a great dress!
At first I wasn't sure about this dress. I'm not a fan of the fishtail hemline so I looked at this dress a few times. But I rented it anyway and I am so glad I did. It fit great and looked even better than on the hanger. I had so many compliments (I think the most I have ever had in a RTR dress) I opted to wear flats so that I could make the dress a little more casual but I loved it!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2012
I wore this to a beach wedding. (That's me with family, holding my daughter - in a swimsuit!)
Well....what can I say. I was supposed to be sent two different sizes but I only ended up being sent the smallest one (the one I suggested as my back up). It was such a beautiful dress that I really wanted to wear it, so, I uncomfortably squeezed into it and wore it for a brief minute, but I had to change. If I had been sent the right size (I'm unsure why I wasn't - RTR has been mum on that), I think it would have been glorious. It was PERFECT for the beach - I ended up wearing a maxi dress most of the time that I kept tripping over - the length and flow of this was perfect. Anyway, lovely, lovely dress and very flattering...but...again, it's hard for me to review without considering the mishaps, which since this was my first RTR rental, makes me unsure if this is a common experience.
elyciaSeptember 16, 2012
did this dress have a side or back zip? i dont see on the fit notes, bit it would be strange if it didnt.
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Elycia! This dress has a zipper on the side!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 22, 2012
Great dress for a daytime wedding or evening! The dress was comfortable and romantic!
Fit was true to size. Nice length. Fabric stains easily and catches, so you have to be careful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 22, 2013
Perfect dress for this Maid of Honor
The length was perfect with my 3" heels. I have a pretty small waist- so I thought the 4 would maybe fit, but it was snug and the 6 fit perfectly. The top was big, but that was expected as I'm pretty flat, but it still looked nice. It was great to twirl around on the dance floor in! It is also lined fully in the skirt hem unlike the photo they show for it- which looks nicer!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
June 11, 2012
Beautiful but not what's shown
This dress is beautiful but what you receive is not what you see worn on the model. Check the customer photos for accurate look of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 14, 2012
One-of-a-Kind Dress
I rented this as a possibility for my reception dress. It feels romantic and old-fashioned on, and the floating overlay adds drama! I was concerned that my less-than-perfect body would look a bit dumpy, but the gown was surprisingly flattering. I was really torn between this and another RTR gown, and ultimately decided against this dress because I was afraid that the trailing fabric would be a hazard while dancing. If it hadn't been for that, I would have worn it. Hopefully, I will have another occasion where I can give it a go!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Unique and romantic
Absolutely loved this dress! It was beautiful and flowly - very delicate. It was a bit longer than I expected but still was absolutely lovely. I received lots of compliments on the dress and would absolutely rent again.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
August 31, 2012
Unique and ethereal
This dress was extraordinary. I fit very well and was easy to wear. It looked exotic and stood out because of its unique color, material, cut-outs, and back. It had a classy feel, but was not too overly fancy. It seemed a little ballerina-ish, which is good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2012
Favorite Rental Yet!
This dress is amazing! I wore it for my wedding reception/cocktail party. The color is even prettier than in the pictures. I wore it with red satin peep-toe pumps and it was striking. I received many complements on it all evening. The dress fits well and is comfortable. You will need a Nu-bra due to the open back. I am 5'5" and wore 2 inch heels. The dress just skimmed the floor. I would definitely rent this dress again as it is my favorite so far!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2012
the dress seemed to have been a favorite, looking very closely it appeared a bit worn
overall beautiful dress
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 2, 2012
beautiful dress...
I usually wear 0 or 2, but both sizes were booked so I rented size 4 R. I was a little bit worried about the size because many comments said that the dress runs large.But when I tried it on I was happily surprised. It fitted like a glove.. However I couldn't wear the dress because it was completely worn out... damaged. They tried to fix ( sew) one of the damages located on the left side (front), and because the fabric is so thin it was very noticeable. Thank God my second option was in great condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2013
classy and sexy!
beautiful dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2013
I wore this for the rehearsal dinner of my wedding. It was beautiful! I got so many compliments.
This dress is so well made. The fabric hangs beautifully and it was figure flattering. I'm 5'2'' and wore 4'' heals and it was still a little too long.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 18, 2014
Perfect for summer wedding
Beautfiul Dress, got many compliments
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×