New Beginning Sheath

$40 rental
$498 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party! Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Delicate Azure Drop Earring for a little extra sparkle and shine!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
185 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size132
Small33
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
May 1, 2016
Perfect dress for graduation!
The dress fit snug but was true to size. I'd order up one size for backup just in case. Gorgeous dress, received many compliments throughout the day at my graduation. Would be perfect for wedding too. This was my first RTR experience, and I'll definitely be doing many more!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2016
Solid choice.
I've rented this dress before. Great for date, event, etc. Solid choice, not too sexy, but great fit, very flattering. Paired with nude heels it's a winner. Highly recommend it. It's not the trendiest choice but it's a solid dress that will deliver. I wear between a 4 and 6 and the 6 fit me fine so it may run a little small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
March 29, 2016
Easy
Beautiful fit great true to size. Lots of compliments. Love the purple inside.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 26, 2016
Pretty, Comfortable Dress
I wore this for my cousin's bridal shower. It was a pretty dress but I would have chosen this for a late fall event, rather than spring. It was very thick lace, but overall a pretty dress. This particular one was a little worn and may need to be moved from the rentals soon BC it seems as though A LOT have worn it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 173lbs
March 23, 2016
This dress looked gorgeous on! I loved it! Highly recommend it for a fancy brunch or day wedding.
No con's. This dressed rocked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 6, 2016
Dress was beautiful. Perfect for a night on broadway
Was true to size. I have wide hips and the 8 fit perfectly. The slit in the back was a little high, made my boyfriend walk behind me when going upstairs. I think that's because I have a very long torso though. Overall loved it would buy it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 27, 2015
Was a great dress. Got many compliments on it.
Was true to size. Beautiful blueish color. Detail of dress was gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
December 6, 2015
Absolutely stunning, classic dress great for dancing and walking all night
I was concerned initially because I have a rather large chest with a petite bottom half, but the size 12 fit like a glove. The lace is very flattering and lays flat all the way down your body to give it a great fitted look. I also like the lace on the top of my arms for photo reasons. It was so comfortable to wear and dance in at a work holiday party. As I'm only 5'1", the dress hit right at my knees, so it was a more elongated elegant look that I paired with nude pumps. And yes, I rented the necklace as well (Slate & Willow - Daniella necklace)!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
November 19, 2015
This was a good choice for me.
The dress fit very nicely and I had lots of compliments. I would recommend it to others.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 17, 2015
Loved the purple lining and the cutout floral sleeves and neckline!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding and was overall very happy with it. I'm usually between a 4 and a 6 but rented a 6 and an 8 based on other reviews (specifically if you had a bigger chest to go up in sizes). The 6 fit nicely but was a little loose in the waist/tummy area. If you have a small waist/midsection I would definitely order a size down. I'm short, curvy and 36D and was able to wear my normal bra without the dress being too tight. The material was super soft and comfortable and I was able to dance and move freely all night. As pretty as the dress looked on other women and on the hanger, I felt it lacked a 'WOW' factor for me. Maybe if it were a little tighter I would have felt it. But I do I highly recommend the dress. It's beautiful and classy, and the pop of purple underneath the navy floral design was gorgeous. I saw some women mentioned the slit being too high but it was fine for me - I'm short but wore 3.5 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 16, 2015
Very pretty dress
I love this dress but it was cut too straight for me. I'm short and the fasteners in the back didn't hit me in the right place. The dress was beautiful though. I wore another dress instead
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 25
October 22, 2015
Aged Me
Wasn't a huge fan of this dress. I had ordered it for my law school graduation so I wanted something more conservative, but when I tried this on I felt like someone's grandma. If I could have gotten a size 4 instead of the 6 it might have fit a little better, but unfortunately the 4 wasn't available. I ended up wearing a completely different dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 19, 2015
This was perfect for the wedding I attended, great for dancing and I got so many compliments!
This was actually my backup dress, but I liked it so much more on than the other one I ordered. I wore it to my boyfriend's sisters wedding, so I was looking for something slightly more conservative but that didn't feel like I would wear it to work. I got so many compliments on this dress, it was the perfect choice! I have wider hips and a flat chest, so I was concerned about fit, but it was true to size and was form fitting without being tight and uncomfortable (or too loose on top). The slit in the back wasn't too high, but I would caution against wearing the spanx that go to mid-thigh because you could totally see them when bending over because of the slit (I tested before I left because of the reviews I read and decided against them).
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
October 12, 2015
Dress was so elegant!
Loved this dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
October 7, 2015
The dress was true to size and fit perfectly.
I was very nervous as this was my first RTR order. They only had one size available so I had to go with what I thought I was and thank goodness it worked; the dress fit great! It was perfect for the event I was attending and I received a lot of compliments. I will say, the dress has seen better days in terms of quality. I think it has been rented and washed one too many times. The dress is navy blue and has a purple underlay. The navy was faded and there were some strings were a little loose. I think that need to retire this particular dress. Overall, I loved my experience and I would do it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding in Colorado!
Fit is true to size, and like a few others mentioned the slit in the back is a little high but not a huge issue. The length is perfect for dancing without worrying about it riding up, and the lining is super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 11, 2015
The dress fit!
I'm 5'1, 152#s. I'm pregnant and this dress fit my growing belly well. The dress was comfortable and made with stretchy material. Only con was the zipper was hard to zip up, even though it was loose in the back -- zipper just kept getting stuck! This was my first RTR rental and I would definitely rent again. Overall great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 38
August 18, 2015
The dress fit perfectly and I got so many compliments on it!
It doesn't have any stretch, but that was ok because it fit well. True to size. The length was great too. If worn when it's hot, you will feel it as it does not breathe at all because of the lining.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
August 3, 2015
Very small
It so small I couldn't wear it. I usually wear a 0 or 00, but this 0 didn't fit. So cute though! The 2 would've been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 2, 2015
Nice Dress
It was a nice dress, but not my favorite of the bunch. Less lacy and more crochet - not a very light dress, but that's good for keeping any lumps and bumps from being super apparent.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
July 23, 2015
Comfortable dress, but looked a little too comfortable. Very conservative look.
I have a very straight waist, but am busty, making me look like a frumpy sausage in the dress. I do think it would be very nice on someone with more of a natural waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 20, 2015
Stunning fabric with understated elegance
This dress was amazing!!! It fit perfectly, hugged all the right places, and was such an elegant dress in an understated way! I felt gorgeous in this dress and have been looking for it to make it a permanent part of my wardrobe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 19, 2015
Classy, classic, comfy dress!
This dress was great. Very simple and elegant. The slit up the back didn't give me too much trouble, and I was able to fit into the 6 (true to size).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2015
Beautiful dress! I received compliments all night. Wore with nude pumps and red lipstick.
Zipper was really hard! Overall fit was true to size.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 23, 2015
Best friend's wedding and amazing venue in NYC.
Fit was perfect. I love this designer and already knew the fit and size would work for me. Perfect dress for a wedding with a timeless look.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2015
Not my favorite rental
I wore this dress to a wedding and it looked nice but the fabric is stretchy with a crochet overlay that was not comfortable to sit on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 3, 2015
I wore this dress for a bridal shower, and it perfectly suited the event!
I got many compliments on this dress, and found it very comfortable to wear! The length is appropriate - I didn't feel like I was constantly pulling it down, which is a pet peeve of mine! The underlay is a purpley-blue, which you can't see in pictures, but is really beautiful! The only con is that the zipper on my particular dress was really stubborn - but I assume that's a unique case due to wear and tear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2015
Good friends!
Color was just as pictured and it fit nicely but a bit on the small side. Pretty lace detail and surprisingly good length on my short frame. One con: the back slit was higher than I realized. Looking at pictures later on it was quite high! I'm hoping all eyes were on the bride instead. Otherwise, beautiful dress!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2015
My first rental! Loved it!
Very comfortable dress. The purple lining is subtle but very pretty. Runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 9, 2015
Amazing dress for Navy Dine Out
This was my first RTR dress and my experience was amazing! Dress came at 4pm the day before the event so I had time to try it on and accessorize . I ordered the 8/10 and the 8 fit me perfectly! I know a lot of reviews said the slit in the back was really high but I am 5'5" and the slit seemed perfectly appropriate for me. I absolutely loved this dress and am looking forward to doing RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 9, 2015
Dress fit perfectly! Sophisticated and stylish!
Plenty of give slightly stretchy , perfect for active dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 28, 2015
First of many more rentals
It was exactly what I wanted and expected
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 28, 2015
Comfortable and flattering dress!
This dress fit great and was very comfortable. I wore this to a daytime wedding and got tons of compliments. Love the navy color and the slightly purple underlayer. I am 5'3" and the dress hit me at the perfect height, not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2015
Great dress for wedding or other event!
This is a great dress for a wedding and I received a lot of compliments! I recently had a baby so I wasn't sure what size I would be. I was a size 2 previously but hadn't fully lost all the baby weight. I decided to order a 4 and 6 based on the reviews of others. I ended up wearing the 6 due to bust size (34D). I loved this dress and the pictures do not capture the purple under the lace which makes it really nice in person. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
April 15, 2015
Perfect fit. I use RTR for all weddings!
This dress is very true to size. It fits extremely well and is made of a very thick lace that keeps the dress from being wrinkled. It was very comfortable! The only thing I'd mention is the slit comes a little high in the back. A larger size may make the dress less tight so that wouldn't be a problem. However, this is minor, and I'll definitely be renting this dress again! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 10, 2015
I got compliments all night on the color and the fit.
The fit like a glove in all the right places, but I picked the 10 so that I had room to dance, since the wedding band was the best in town. I was a little disappointed that the purple didn't show through the navy as much as the original picture showed, but navy is my color, so I still go plenty of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 8, 2015
LOVED this dress
Wore this to an outdoor wedding. It's nice, fun, and flirty but also classy and subtle which is great for meeting your boyfriend's entire extended family. (His brothers wedding.) I wish I owned this. Also, it's worth noting that it doesn't show (embarrassing) spills.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
April 6, 2015
This dress is beautiful, with great style and a beautiful color--and it was comfortable!
This dress was true to size and a perfect fit. I got many compliments on the style and color (beautiful navy) of this dress. It was nicely tailored, had a comfortable material and was easy to wear---I liked it so much, I may rent it again next month when I go to a bar mitzvah!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2015
The dress was beautiful and wasn't too long on me. I normally wear petite sizes.
It looked beautiful I received lots of compliments. Loved the experience .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 18, 2015
Gorgeous dress, but not my favorite.
I really wanted to like this dress. It was stunning out of the bag and the colors look so good together - the purple underlay is really rich and doesn't stand out too much against the dark navy lace. But once I'd had it on for more than a few minutes, I wished I'd rented something else. For one, the slit in the back is WAY TOO HIGH - I'm 5'9 and had to use two two-inch safety pins to make it acceptable. It was also much too short for me - it hit me at mid-thigh, so not quite acceptable for the event. The lining also seemed to be longer than the lace, and I was constantly tugging at it. A few of the lace details were ripped or frayed, and one was so damaged the dress didn't sit properly on my left side/hip - something else to make me self-conscious. It looked great with my red hair (and the jewelry I snagged from the hotel gift shop after I left mine three states away!) but I wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×