Elie Tahari

New Beginning Sheath

$40 rental
$498 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party! Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Delicate Azure Drop Earring for a little extra sparkle and shine!

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

167 reviews

Fit
Small 30
True to Size 124
Large 3
Photos 67
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 20, 2015

Not my favorite rental

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and it looked nice but the fabric is stretchy with a crochet overlay that was not comfortable to sit on.
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 17, 2015

My first rental! Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable dress. The purple lining is subtle but very pretty. Runs true to size.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 9, 2015

Amazing dress for Navy Dine Out

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR dress and my experience was amazing! Dress came at 4pm the day before the event so I had time to try it on and accessorize . I ordered the 8/10 and the 8 fit me perfectly! I know a lot of reviews said the slit in the back was really high but I am 5'5" and the slit seemed perfectly appropriate for me. I absolutely loved this dress and am looking forward to doing RTR again!
Ria
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 9, 2015

Dress fit perfectly! Sophisticated and stylish!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Plenty of give slightly stretchy , perfect for active dancing!
Raquel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

First of many more rentals

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
It was exactly what I wanted and expected
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Great dress for wedding or other event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great dress for a wedding and I received a lot of compliments! I recently had a baby so I wasn't sure what size I would be. I was a size 2 previously but hadn't fully lost all the baby weight. I decided to order a 4 and 6 based on the reviews of others. I ended up wearing the 6 due to bust size (34D). I loved this dress and the pictures do not capture the purple under the lace which makes it really nice in person. Would definitely rent again!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Perfect fit. I use RTR for all weddings!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very true to size. It fits extremely well and is made of a very thick lace that keeps the dress from being wrinkled. It was very comfortable! The only thing I'd mention is the slit comes a little high in the back. A larger size may make the dress less tight so that wouldn't be a problem. However, this is minor, and I'll definitely be renting this dress again! Thank you RTR!
Bridget
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

I got compliments all night on the color and the fit.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit like a glove in all the right places, but I picked the 10 so that I had room to dance, since the wedding band was the best in town. I was a little disappointed that the purple didn't show through the navy as much as the original picture showed, but navy is my color, so I still go plenty of compliments.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Gorgeous dress, but not my favorite.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to like this dress. It was stunning out of the bag and the colors look so good together - the purple underlay is really rich and doesn't stand out too much against the dark navy lace. But once I'd had it on for more than a few minutes, I wished I'd rented something else. For one, the slit in the back is WAY TOO HIGH - I'm 5'9 and had to use two two-inch safety pins to make it acceptable. It was also much too short for me - it hit me at mid-thigh, so not quite acceptable for the event. The lining also seemed to be longer than the lace, and I was constantly tugging at it. A few of the lace details were ripped or frayed, and one was so damaged the dress didn't sit properly on my left side/hip - something else to make me self-conscious. It looked great with my red hair (and the jewelry I snagged from the hotel gift shop after I left mine three states away!) but I wouldn't rent it again.
Genevieve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

Very comfortable and elegant dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a back-up sent after the original dress I ordered was returned damaged to RTR so they could not sent it to me. They sent a 2 which fit perfect, but typically I am a 4 so I guess this dress runs a bit large. I wore this to a very formal wedding and it was comfortable and elegant. The only issue is what others have mentioned here that the slit in the back goes pretty high up. I ended up just going with it but had to pull down the dress a lot and carefully sit up and sit down. Overall, I was happy with the dress but it's not my favorite RTR experience. I does not really stand-out but it's very comfortable and looks nice.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

This fit like a glove and made me feel so beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The slit in the back is definitely a little high, but I honestly didn't even notice until I got home that night and looked, so really I didn't feel overly exposed or inappropriate. I ordered the 6 and the 8 based on others' reviews and the 6 fit like it was cut exactly for me. I have a true hourglass figure (last time I was fitted for a bridesmaid dress my waist was a 4 and my chest/hips around a 8/10), so it's difficult to find something off the rack that meets all measurements and this doing so was such a lovely treat! The crochet lace is heavier than I thought it would be but for an outdoor October wedding it ended up being perfect. The dress is extremely flattering and comfortable (even to dance in.) Another plus is that I could wear a normal bra with it. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would even consider renting it again. You won't regret it.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

Customer service

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a recommendation based on previous dresses I had rented when the dress I had ordered wasn't available at the last minute. Great dress, tons of compliments but it was a bit thick for weather in the 90s Labor Day weekend! Loved it though!!
AnyoneButJordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Bridesmaids Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as a bridesmaid in a summer wedding. I didn't read closely enough to see that the underlay is actually purple and note navy (the color of the lace) but it didn't look out of place next to the other navy dresses. I was surprised by how high the slit in the back was! I ended up pinning the top of the slit to keep it from showing too much when I was walking down the isle. Even with the pin it was more than I would have chosen to show. However, the dress was very flattering and overall a good rental. Not something I would keep in my queue as a a repeat rental but I'm glad to have worn it once.
RTR Customer
Jul 24, 2014

This was my first rental. I was skeptical at first but it arrived when promised and it was awesome!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 10 and 12 but 10 was a little too tight. The dress was comfortable and very flattering. The crochet on the dress was in perfect condition, no snags. Received many compliments!
Jenn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 4, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful and very well made. It fit beautifully and hugged all my curves, but it did run small or maybe it was the fact that it really didn't have a lot of give to it. I normally wear a size 6 in dresses but wore the 8. The only other thing I can say is the dress is a heavy fabric- probably better in the fall or spring. It was very hot and humid at this July wedding, but luckily we were inside in the air conditioning so it wasn't an issue. Just a warning though if you are considering this for a summer wedding. All in all, I loved it and got a lot of compliments on it! Great dress!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Loved the dress, great customer service.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got the 2 and 4. Ended up wearing the 4 even though it came with a tear on the sleeve. Called customer service and they issued a credit for this. 4 fit perfectly. Wish I could've kept this dress, it was gorgeous and I got tons of compliments on it.
Tess
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

Very classy dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Simple but elegant, I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding reception. It was a bit hot and the dress doesn't breathe, but I received lots of compliments.
K
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Classy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rented this for a charity event and was very pleased. As others reviewers noted, the back slit is high, so I did go up a size and wear spandex shorts underneath. The fit was flattering when I sized up -- not too tight but not too demure, and didn't add pounds. Only complaint is that the zipper mechanism on this dress is very delicate, and was showing lots of wear from previous rentals. No one would ever notice in person, but it did make it a challenge to get on without assistance. Whole experience was very pleasant overall -- great dress for less than the cost of purchasing, timely delivery, and no need to worry about the dry cleaning. Highly recommend.
RTR Customer
Jun 3, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm generally somewhere between an 8 and 10. Both sizes fit but the 8 was a little more form fitting so I went with that one. The lace is blue but the silk underlay is closer to purple. A beautiful dress...got many compliments. The only problem I had...I live by myself and could not get the dress zipped all the way up. It zips from your waist to the neckline. I had to have a neighbor finish zipping it and then had a friend start the unzip process before I left the wedding (otherwise I would have been sleeping in it). All in all, very happy with the dress and the rental process. Will definitely rent again.
Hillary
Age: 33
May 27, 2014

Classy comfortable dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I actually didn't choose this dress but I'm so glad it was sent to me when the dress I had chosen was damaged. I would say it runs pretty true to size. The size six was snug but the 8 allowed me to feel more comfortable. I'm a 34dd so it's so hard to find a dress that fits. Overall it was a success!
Angela
Age: 35
May 1, 2014

Wearing such a fun, beautiful dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a formal dinner. The fit was true to size. I usually wear a 10 or 12 in dresses. Beautiful lace and details, so pretty, and very comfortable.
SS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

The dress was extremely comfortable and perfect for an outdoor wedding! Great for all the dancing :)

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a ton of compliments on this dress and it was so comfortable! Be sure not to wear jewelry that will catch though, the sheath overlay could get caught.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Looks heavy, but actually comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried when the dress came in that it would be super heavy and hot, but it wasn't. It looked fab on and I got a lot of compliments. The dress fit perfectly and I loved it.
morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

I felt so great in this dress at a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am obsessed with this dress! It was so beautiful and accentuated in all the right places! It is very high quality fabric and is thick fabric with deep luscious color! I received so many compliments and I cannot wait to "Rent the Runway" again!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Simple and stylish

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The first thing that I need to note about this dress -- it was impossible for me to zip it up on my own in either size. This is not a flaw with the dress, really, but be advised that it will be a good idea to have someone help you when you're getting dressed. The zipper pull itself is delicate, and the mechanism moves slowly, and there's just a point in the middle of your back where budging it either way was not possible for me for fear of damaging the dress. That said, this dress is so cute. I was a little disappointed that the purple lining wasn't more visible under the navy lace as seen on the RTR model, but this dress is still SO pretty. I paired it with the Montana Blue Drops earrings and Silver Glitz bangles and thought they all went perfectly together.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 11, 2014

Classically beautiful dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a really gorgeous dress- the color is beautiful, and the patterned lace is lovely. My one complaint is there is a slit in the back that went up much higher than I was expecting. Thus, while I would normally wear a size 0, I ended up wearing a 2 in this dress, as I felt much more comfortable in terms of the slit wearing the larger size. Admittedly, the fabric of this dress doesn't give very much at all, so the slit is important in terms of mobility, but be forewarned that it is significantly higher than it looks on the model. Also, I thought the dress was somewhat shorter than it looked on the model (ironic since, being so much shorter than these lovely models, I almost never have this complaint). For those picking a dress in which to interact with their boyfriend's family (as I was), be forewarned that you may want to go a size up from what you normally wear to counteract having too short a dress on while meeting the parents.
cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Beautiful and Elegant

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my son's baptism. It was perfect!!! I still have a bit of baby weight and this dress was fitted, but still flattering. I felt very lady like, but didn't feel like a total Mom. I got many compliments in it.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

Perfect dress for a wedding! Comfortable enough to dance in! Got so many complements!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am typically a size 8 and requested an 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 10 because of the bust. The fabric does not have any stretch so consider your largest measurement when ordering. I got so many complements that night! Would definitely recommend this dress that can be dressed up with accessories!
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

Wish I owned this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this is one of my favorite rentals. Although it does run small... and beware of the really high back split in the dress. I probably couldve worn the smaller size except for the back. otherwise, totally comfortable and lots of compliments.
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Beautiful sheath with classic elegance!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
From the moment I opened the garment bag I was excited to get this dress on. I am a full figured woman and was hesitant that this dress wouldn't fit my figure right. I am so glad I was wrong! It fit like a glove. It accented me in all the right places and made me shine. I didn't give it 5 stars because the floral lace seems a little bulky for a dress that looks so elegant. Otherwise a great dress that is comfortable the whole night through.
Briana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

beautiful!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is form fitting so I went with the 8 to have more room for dancing. It looked a little off to me in the rear area, hence my 4 stars, but that may have just been in my head as my boyfriend loved the dress. It should be noted that the lining is purple, not navy as you may think. I loved it regardless and think it photographed really well. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Tons of compliments

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this dress. I wore it to a friend's bridal shower. I'm usually between an 8-10, but like others said the slit in the back came up a little too high so I wore the 10. It hugs you in all the right places. I'm pretty sure I got RTR a lot of business.
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

love!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! My brother just got married at the end of September and I wore this dress to his wedding. I got so many compliments and it was so comfortable. I usually wear a 6-8 and got the 8, but I think the 6 would have fit great. The 8 was a little roomier so I chose that in order to dance. Also - people are NOT kidding that the slip in the back goes up really high especially if you're as tall as I am. I had planned to safety pin it a little because the wedding was at a church but decided against it and it ended up looking great. I was looking for fushia shoes to pair with it but I found a great peach orange color instead.
Casey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

I received lots of compliments in this dress. It is really beautiful and classic.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The navy lace is beautiful. The underlay is really more of a purple but the combination looked great. The dress runs small. I usually wear a size 10 in most dresses and pants but had to take the 12 in this. It is a little on the short side which also made me more comfortable with the larger size. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments. Loved this dress!
Apryl
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

This was a first RTR for me and the ease of it was very worth doing again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered size 6 and 8 in this dress. My normal dress size is a 6, but I took advice from previous reviews and ordered up. I chose to wear the size 8 because the length seemed to be better for me. I am 5'5 and was wearing heels. I was the mother of the bride; walking her down the isle very appropriate dress. I received many compliments from beautiful to very classy looking dress.
Kelly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Great dress, true to size. Felt great wearing it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a fantastic dress. It's short, so be prepared. I felt I had to be pretty delicate with the zipper as well when putting it on/taking it off. I paired the dress with crystal drop earrings and a nude pump. Received many compliments the whole night. Easy to sit in, easy to dance in. Great dress!
kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 29, 2013

I received so many compliments on my dress and I couldn't have been happier wearing it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. It was super comfortable and I was able to dance in it without feeling restricted. I have a very large chest so being able to wear my regular bra was great.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Classy and comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! It was perfect for a summer/fall wedding. I got the 8 and the 10 - I really didn't notice a difference between the two sizes and could have worn either - I chose the 10 because the 8 had a small tear on the outside layer in the back. (I called RTR when I noticed it just to let them know - it was barely noticeable, but I didn't want to risk it getting any bigger) It was very comfortable, and I got a bunch of compliments. They lining underneath is actually purple - it's very pretty. It hugs your body in the right places without being too tight our clingy - it is very flattering - good for hourglasses.
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Beautiful

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I typically stay away from body hugging dresses, but this one was beautiful. It was extremely flattering (I am fairly proportionate) and my boyfriend loved it. The underlay made me feel confident, and the lace laid perfectly flat. The color is blue/purple which doesnt show up in the picture as much. Perfect for a wedding.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 30, 2013

Great dress for a Kentucky Wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was super comfortable dress. The dress had just enough stretch, to give you some comfort while sitting. It was a great length for me, being 5'2". I got a lot of compliments and felt really great!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×