Elie Tahari

New Beginning Sheath

$139 to buy
$498 retail
Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party. Simply pair with pumps for a classic look.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
192 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(135)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2014
Beautiful dress!

Had to go up to a size 8, usually wear a 6. Overall dress fit great!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 9, 2014
Classy!

Rented this for a charity event and was very pleased. As others reviewers noted, the back slit is high, so I did go up a size and wear spandex shorts underneath. The fit was flattering when I sized up -- not too tight but not too demure, and didn't add pounds. Only complaint is that the zipper mechanism on this dress is very delicate, and was showing lots of wear from previous rentals. No one would ever notice in person, but it did make it a challenge to get on without assistance. Whole experience was very pleasant overall -- great dress for less than the cost of purchasing, timely delivery, and no need to worry about the dry cleaning. Highly recommend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 1, 2014
Beautiful!

This is a really beautiful dress. It runs small, ladies. (I'm usually a 4/6, and I wore an 8.) The purple lining and navy lacy detailing is exquisite. I got compliments all night. I wore a regular bra without issues. It's a really terrific dress. I would rent it again.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 4, 2014
Beautiful Dress!

This dress is beautiful and very well made. It fit beautifully and hugged all my curves, but it did run small or maybe it was the fact that it really didn't have a lot of give to it. I normally wear a size 6 in dresses but wore the 8. The only other thing I can say is the dress is a heavy fabric- probably better in the fall or spring. It was very hot and humid at this July wedding, but luckily we were inside in the air conditioning so it wasn't an issue. Just a warning though if you are considering this for a summer wedding. All in all, I loved it and got a lot of compliments on it! Great dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
August 25, 2014
LOVED this dress!

It does run a little small and even though I am petite I had to wear the 2 because the slit in 0 would have caused a scandal at the wedding. The color is gorgeous, the length is perfect and I got a TON of compliments. Perfect for an evening wedding at a country club!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
December 28, 2014
I loved the lace. It was a very beautiful dress

it fits really nicely.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
August 3, 2015
Very small

It so small I couldn't wear it. I usually wear a 0 or 00, but this 0 didn't fit. So cute though! The 2 would've been perfect.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 16, 2015
Very pretty dress

I love this dress but it was cut too straight for me. I'm short and the fasteners in the back didn't hit me in the right place. The dress was beautiful though. I wore another dress instead

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
December 6, 2015
Absolutely stunning, classic dress great for dancing and walking all night

I was concerned initially because I have a rather large chest with a petite bottom half, but the size 12 fit like a glove. The lace is very flattering and lays flat all the way down your body to give it a great fitted look. I also like the lace on the top of my arms for photo reasons. It was so comfortable to wear and dance in at a work holiday party. As I'm only 5'1", the dress hit right at my knees, so it was a more elongated elegant look that I paired with nude pumps. And yes, I rented the necklace as well (Slate & Willow - Daniella necklace)!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 4, 2013
Very sweet and classy

I wore this to one of my bridal showers and got a lot of compliments! When I first tried on this dress I was a little nervous about the fit; the slit in the back was REALLY high and it seemed snug in the chest/shoulder area. But the dress had a beautiful silhouette and I was determined to make it work. When I got ready the next morning, I paired it with sheer black spanx (kinda glad the weather turned out to be colder than I thought!) which made me more comfortable about the high slit in the back. I also went braless and gained more room up top. Wore with black wedge pumps and sparkley blue drop earrings. I was very pleased with the final look! :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2013
Great Dress for Graduation!

I received so many compliments on this dress! I ended up wearing the 8 instead of the 6 because the slit in the back was so high and being tall it was not a good look. If you are taller I would recommend sizing up for length. The dress still fit great in the size up. I wore this to a graduation dinner and it was perfect for the occasion, really flattering cut.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 11, 2014
Classically beautiful dress

This is a really gorgeous dress- the color is beautiful, and the patterned lace is lovely. My one complaint is there is a slit in the back that went up much higher than I was expecting. Thus, while I would normally wear a size 0, I ended up wearing a 2 in this dress, as I felt much more comfortable in terms of the slit wearing the larger size. Admittedly, the fabric of this dress doesn't give very much at all, so the slit is important in terms of mobility, but be forewarned that it is significantly higher than it looks on the model. Also, I thought the dress was somewhat shorter than it looked on the model (ironic since, being so much shorter than these lovely models, I almost never have this complaint). For those picking a dress in which to interact with their boyfriend's family (as I was), be forewarned that you may want to go a size up from what you normally wear to counteract having too short a dress on while meeting the parents.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 5, 2013
The dress was perfect! I wore it to a fundraiser and it was comfortable yet chic. I loved it.

I am usually an 8 but the 10 was a better fit. It runs small. I'm 5'6" and it came to my knee. Perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2013
Elegant and Fun, but SHORT

This dress was comfortable but SHORT, so I went a size up. The slit in the back was very high also, I was conscious of it the whole night, and afraid to bend over. I feel that this dress would do better on someone under 5’6.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 14, 2014
Very short in the back!

I really loved this dress, however, I thought it ran very small. Also, the slit in the back makes the dress VERY short. I was super self conscious about it and felt like I kept pulling it down to make sure I was fully covered.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2014
I did not wear this dress because it was too small at the bust. It is a beautiful dress!

This dress ran too small at the bust. The detail on this dress is remarkable and pictures don't do it justice. It looks very classy. I would order one size larger.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2014
Opening night of a New Musical

Loved this dress. I read reviews that it tended to run small, especially in the bust. I didn't try the 6 but I was happy with the size up. The color was stunning, the dark blue and black was lovely. Will be trying more dresses from this designer.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 173lbs
March 23, 2016
This dress looked gorgeous on! I loved it! Highly recommend it for a fancy brunch or day wedding.

No con's. This dressed rocked!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2016
I got a ton of compliments on this dress!

I normally wear a 4-6 and I got the 6 because other reviews said to size up, and I think that's appropriate. The 6 fit great but I think a 4 would have been too snug. It's a slim fit. The sleeves were perfect, and the lining underneath kept it from being see through. I wore a regular bra too, which is awesome. I wore it with nude heels at the beginning and changed into black flats for the reception and both looked good with it. The only thing was the overlay had a couple snags, but when I hugged someone it got caught on his belt so I can see how that might happen. This was my first time using RTR and I have been very impressed. The process has been seamless and I have told everyone about it. I will definitely use it again!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 20, 2017
Great fit! Wore to a military event and got tons of complements.

If you're a little bit short, might be a bit too long. Because mine was a conservative affair, it was appropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 27, 2012
Flattering sheath - pretty purple underlay!

This sheath is super flattering. I don't normally go for anything remotely fitted, but the navy lace with an unexpected pop of purple underneath is so pretty! The fabric has a little bit of stretch, which makes it very comfortable to wear as well.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 10, 2012
Lovely dress!

I wore this to a company Christmas party - the only complaint I had about it was that I was too short! It would have been perfect for me if I was 3 inches taller. But that will be true of any dress in your collection since they are all geared toward tall models. The dress on the model is about 3 inches ABOVE her knee - it fell below the knee on me so I felt it was a little "matronly" on me. But as I said, it is a lovely dress, well-fitted, comfortable to wear and have fun in. I thought it looked better with big jewelry for a party and more delicate jewelry for a formal occasion such as a wedding. Very well made.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 11, 2012
Perfect for a work dinner/awards ceremony!

I loved the dress as soon as I took it out of its various packing materials :) The lace overlay is a nice substantial weight, so I wasn't worried about it snagging. The underlay is a nice purply color, but it doesn't contrast very much with the navy blue crochet material - just a subtle detail. The fit is awesome - I felt super comfortable and was able to both eat a formal dinner as well as bust a move. Win-win. I got lots of compliments on the fit; it hangs really well, tucks in in the right places, etc. and doesn't ride up at all. Overall, I really liked it and was told by more than one person that I should just go ahead and buy it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 13, 2012
The dress was a hit!

I picked this dress for our company holiday party, and it was far better than I could've imagined! The dress fit perfectly to my curves, which i was nervous about. The lace is gorgeous! Originally I hoped to order a similar black lace dress, thinking it would be easier to match shoes, but I wore sparkly silver pumps, and found a silver matching bag. As you can see, it is a more of a midnight blue while the lining has a hint of indigo/purple. People came up to me all night to pay me compliments!!!! It was elegant but still had a little sex appeal with the lace and the nice fitting. I would highly recommend this dress. One small word of caution, be careful reaching your arms as the lace is snug over the shoulders ( as it should be). This was my first time using Rent The Runway. I rented another as back up, but didn't need it. I was really very pleased overall with the experience, the packaging, the convenience...everything about it. It was a pleasure to wear something designer luxurious and high quality without the pricetag!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2012
Great Work Dress

If you're looking for a dress that's good for a formal work affair this is it. Great fit, looks awesome just not a lot of pazaaz.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 14, 2013
Right fit, right style, perfect choice!

This dress was perfect for my company holiday party. It was super classy and fit true to size. It also worked for my slightly large bust size. It hit right above the knee on my 5'5" frame and didn't bunch despite the fact that I have barely any hips. I was so happy with this choice!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 26, 2013
Felt AMAZING in this dress

I own a couple of Elie Tahari dresses that I wear to work so I knew I was a size 4 (though typically when I rent, I order a size 6). This dress fit me like a glove - not too tight, not too loose - just perfect. I wore it to a holiday party where everyone was standing around having drinks and hors d'oeuvres, and it was so comfortable through all the consumption. This will always be a first choice of mine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2013
Great dress. Got lots of compliments!! Only minor issue was a small tear by the end of zipper.

Wore this dress to a fundraiser and got to meet the Vice President of the United States! Loved the color, I got lots of compliments and gave a shout out to RTR everytime. My friend's husband apparently went to college with the founder of RTR! Only in Wyoming!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
February 15, 2013
Valentine's dinner dress - very nice!

The dress fit amazing and was totally comfortable. It was conservative enough for work and dressy enough for a dinner date.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 18, 2013
This dress is super comfortable and I received compliments on it all night!

The dress fit true to size and has a little give to keep it comfortable. The zipper is a little tricky because of the overlay but nothing I couldn't do on my own. The dress is very flattering and hides any lumps, bumps, or imperfections. The length made me feel covered but sexy. The cut of the sleeve allowed the shoulders fit very well which was a great surprise for me because I have broad shoulders and sometimes can't move if the cut isn't right. It matched my shoes and jewlery easily. Wonderful dress and would recommend to anyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 26, 2013
Too long

Fits nicely but more for an older woman, as it covers a lot!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 28, 2013
Wish I could buy this one!

I wore this dress for my engagement party. This dress was really pretty! I got so many compliments. The color is beautiful. I would definitely recommend this to any one.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2013
Great fit, beautifully made

This was my first success with RTR. First time, neither of the dresses fit, so I tried again after reading reviews & looking at your photos. I usually wear a 4 but got a 6, too in case. 4 fit like a glove - not skin tight, but really just cut perfectly to show off what you've got. Sleeves are beautifully capped, not too tight on arms. I actually wore this to work, then out to a photo show and jazz club. Got compliments from everyone from my colleagues to the coat check guy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Apple
March 1, 2013
Classic, chic

The dress fits great. Pulls in the waist. Not much give in the fabric underneath the lace.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
March 3, 2013
Perfect for cocktails and a date night at the symphony

The dress fit really well and was comfortable. The length for me fell just a little above the knee. The lace is really soft and the lining is a very pretty purple. I received compliments from lots of random strangers.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 4, 2013
Elegant and flattering

I wore this dress to a cocktail attire wedding and felt I was dressed tastefully for the occasion. The size 2 fit, however the slit up the middle, in the back of the dress came up too high. The 4 however, was perfect. Overall, the rent was a success- I would purchase this dress for future occasions.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 19, 2013
Shipping was prompt and the condition of the dress was impeccable.

Definitely fit true to size. I received a lot of compliments on the dress and I couldn't help but have a mischievous smile knowing that I had rented it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 25, 2013
Great dress, lots of compliments

The dress came and I was a little worried, looked small on the hanger....but once I got it on, it fit like a glove, plenty of room in the bust (which is always a concern for me). This dress is fitted, so if you don't like a close fit, this dress might not be for you. The only drawback with the dress is the zipper was somewhat finicky..found if I didn't zip it all the way down it was easier to zip up. Overall loved it and my husband loved it!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 26, 2013
Great dress for a wedding! Highly recommend.

Great dress! The blue is really pretty - got tons of compliments throughout the night. I opted for the larger size (10) because of the length. Both sizes fit fine but the 8 was a few inches above the knee and didn't feel appropriate for a wedding. The 10 came to the knees and was perfect.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
March 29, 2013
Classy!

Wore this to my brother in law's rehearsal dinner in January. Very beautiful color combination with the light purple sheath underneath (which doesn't get captured very well by camera). Was a tad on the short side for me as I am 5'9, and the slit in the back came up high, but I felt that the high neck and sleeves compensated for that. Very comfortable and hid any waist lines from stockings well.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×