Elie Tahari

New Beginning Sheath

$139 to buy
$498 retail
Stylist Notes

This navy lace Elie Tahari sheath is perfect for your next dinner party. Simply pair with pumps for a classic look.

Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted through midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy lace over purple lining (100% cotton). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (95% polyester, 5% elastane). 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
192 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(135)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
Curve Hugging Insanity (in the best way possible)
I rented this dress for a work holiday party and couldn't have been happier when it arrived. The online pictures don't do this dress justice. The lace is a purple color and the underlay is this gorgeous blue - sounds kinda funky - but when you see it you will fall in love. Especially if you appreciate quality fabrics. I'm normally a 4 on top and a 6 on the bottom but I was a 6 in this dress. Since I'm pear shape I'm normally cautious when a sheath catches my eye, they can be ill-fitting. This dress fit BEAUTIFUL, like INSANE. The thick lace overlay was SO forgiving. I loved the length - perfect for a slightly more conservative event yet the curve hugging fit of the dress added a little oomph. Perfect experience, thanks RTR. I would absolutely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2013
Comfortable and flattering
conservative dress except for the tight form fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 30, 2013
Great dress for a Kentucky Wedding.
This was super comfortable dress. The dress had just enough stretch, to give you some comfort while sitting. It was a great length for me, being 5'2". I got a lot of compliments and felt really great!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
July 23, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I didn't want to return it. Very classy and fit beautifully.
I'm 5'11" and I felt like it was a great length. I was a little worried the slit would be too high (based on other reviews), but it wasn't at all. Very comfortable, classy, and even sexy. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2013
Classy and comfortable
I love this dress! It was perfect for a summer/fall wedding. I got the 8 and the 10 - I really didn't notice a difference between the two sizes and could have worn either - I chose the 10 because the 8 had a small tear on the outside layer in the back. (I called RTR when I noticed it just to let them know - it was barely noticeable, but I didn't want to risk it getting any bigger) It was very comfortable, and I got a bunch of compliments. They lining underneath is actually purple - it's very pretty. It hugs your body in the right places without being too tight our clingy - it is very flattering - good for hourglasses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 95lbs
August 25, 2013
The Beginning to my Fairy Tale
My fiancé family came to ask for my hang in marriage. This dress was perfect! and so classy! Fit perfectly! I recieved so many complements.. very classy and elegant dress. I got so many compliments! you can't go wrong!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2013
Elegant and sexy at the same time
This was my first RTR experience and it was great. I absolutely loved this dress. I rented it for a wedding Labor Day weekend. It fit perfectly, and the dress was super comfortable. I danced all night in it. The lace was elegant but not too heavy, and the slip underneath was a beautiful purple shimmer - enough to add interest but not be weird or distracting. I'm curvy, and the dress hugged the right places but wasn't too tight. I'm 5'2", so the length was perfect - just above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2013
Dress looked good on. Wasn't what I expected.
Tried this on for my "At Home Try On". Dress was pretty short (but not inappropriate). And knit material (thought it looked more like lace) which made it heavy. I would probably be hot in this dress in the summer, even though it's short. Was flattering on though. Probably won't be renting it...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
September 13, 2013
Great for weddings!
I wore this dress to a friend's summer wedding. The bridesmaids had a similar navy/lace dress so I looked like I was part of the wedding party, but I got so many compliments on the cut of the dress, how thin it made me look and how great it fit! I'd wear this dress again in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 16, 2013
Great dress, true to size. Felt great wearing it.
It was a fantastic dress. It's short, so be prepared. I felt I had to be pretty delicate with the zipper as well when putting it on/taking it off. I paired the dress with crystal drop earrings and a nude pump. Received many compliments the whole night. Easy to sit in, easy to dance in. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2013
Great dress for a more conservative event.
I rented this for my engagement party. It's a very pretty dress, great quality, but too conservative for my taste. I would have liked it to have been a bit more form fitting, but a smaller size would not have worked. It's just the cut of the dress. Definitely recommend this for a more conservative affair, like a baptism or meeting the parents etc.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 22, 2013
This was a first RTR for me and the ease of it was very worth doing again!
I ordered size 6 and 8 in this dress. My normal dress size is a 6, but I took advice from previous reviews and ordered up. I chose to wear the size 8 because the length seemed to be better for me. I am 5'5 and was wearing heels. I was the mother of the bride; walking her down the isle very appropriate dress. I received many compliments from beautiful to very classy looking dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
September 30, 2013
I received lots of compliments in this dress. It is really beautiful and classic.
The navy lace is beautiful. The underlay is really more of a purple but the combination looked great. The dress runs small. I usually wear a size 10 in most dresses and pants but had to take the 12 in this. It is a little on the short side which also made me more comfortable with the larger size. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 3, 2013
love!
I loved this dress! My brother just got married at the end of September and I wore this dress to his wedding. I got so many compliments and it was so comfortable. I usually wear a 6-8 and got the 8, but I think the 6 would have fit great. The 8 was a little roomier so I chose that in order to dance. Also - people are NOT kidding that the slip in the back goes up really high especially if you're as tall as I am. I had planned to safety pin it a little because the wedding was at a church but decided against it and it ended up looking great. I was looking for fushia shoes to pair with it but I found a great peach orange color instead.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2013
The dress is beautiful! It's fun and flirty while still being classy and sophisticated.
I was very pleased with the dress - it looked great on and I had 3 different women walk up to me and comment on how gorgeous it was! I ended up wearing the 6, which was a little snug for my preference, but the slit in the back on the 8 was ripped - almost another inch higher than what was already a fairly high slit. I would've preferred the 8 so that i could move more freely, but the 6 still looked good. Definitely recommend checking the slit once you receive the dress to make sure that it's in tact and you're able to wear the size most comfortable to you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2013
beautiful!
Dress is form fitting so I went with the 8 to have more room for dancing. It looked a little off to me in the rear area, hence my 4 stars, but that may have just been in my head as my boyfriend loved the dress. It should be noted that the lining is purple, not navy as you may think. I loved it regardless and think it photographed really well. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 10, 2013
This dressing looked amazing! I am a size 14, but I wore the size 12.
The dress had some stretch to it. I had so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 12, 2013
Wasn't for me.
The dress was very heavy and the overlay felt sweater-like. The nice thing is that it's very forgiving as far as curves goes, but I didn't feel like it was very sexy. Just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
Fantastic look - conservative with a touch of fun.
Great dress - it did arrive a bit worn (some of the lace was a torn and the zipper was difficult) but you didn't notice it unless you were really looking. Otherwise, fit well, had a fun purple under layer and was a very classy look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
November 16, 2013
Beautiful sheath with classic elegance!
From the moment I opened the garment bag I was excited to get this dress on. I am a full figured woman and was hesitant that this dress wouldn't fit my figure right. I am so glad I was wrong! It fit like a glove. It accented me in all the right places and made me shine. I didn't give it 5 stars because the floral lace seems a little bulky for a dress that looks so elegant. Otherwise a great dress that is comfortable the whole night through.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2013
Sophisticated and lovely.
I needed a dress that would would be fun for a night out but also appropriate for a semi-conservative crowd. This dress was perfect. The dress is sophisticated and a nice alternative to LBD. The lace is a heavy (nice for fall/winter) navy blue. The sheath underneath is also navy but with a bit more purple. It fit like a glove and hit me about 3 inches above the knee. I have broad shoulders so could have used a bit more room there but not a showstopper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
November 26, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner. It was comfy and flattering. I went with the 6, but could have worn the 4, I just liked the roomier fit of the 6. The dress was a bit worn at the ends, I think the lace overlay is a little more delicate than most fabrics. It was also a thicker dress, which was great for the cold temps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2013
Wish I owned this dress!
this is one of my favorite rentals. Although it does run small... and beware of the really high back split in the dress. I probably couldve worn the smaller size except for the back. otherwise, totally comfortable and lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
December 10, 2013
Very pretty
This dress was very nice. Nothing super special about it and I wouldn't say I fell in love with it, but it is a lovely dress, beautiful silhouette, great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding! Comfortable enough to dance in! Got so many complements!
I am typically a size 8 and requested an 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 10 because of the bust. The fabric does not have any stretch so consider your largest measurement when ordering. I got so many complements that night! Would definitely recommend this dress that can be dressed up with accessories!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
July 29, 2013
Beautiful dress! I received so many compliments!
Fits true to size
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 18, 2013
Dress fit great and received lots of compliments!
n/A
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 18, 2013
I was complimented all evening on this dress and everyone wanted to know where it was from!
The 8 fit my body perfectly with the exception of my chest where it completely flattened me out, so I ended up wearing the 10. The dress was comfortable and I felt great in it all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
Great Party Rental
This was a last minute replacement dress, and as a side note, the stylist was so helpful when it came to picking out a new dress after the one I ordered did not work out. I received lots of compliments on the dress, the only complaint I had was that the party I wore it to was very dark and you could not see the purple lining under the navy lace. This dress would be perfect for an outdoor event. I usually wear a 10 or 12, but the 10 wasn't available and I was surprised that the 12 was tight, so I was happy with the 12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2013
Beautiful and Elegant
I wore this dress for my son's baptism. It was perfect!!! I still have a bit of baby weight and this dress was fitted, but still flattering. I felt very lady like, but didn't feel like a total Mom. I got many compliments in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2014
The dress is beautiful. I wore it for my daughter's rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments
The dress fits true to size and it fit perfectly from top to bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2014
Perfect mix of modern and traditional with lots of comfortable mixed in!
Best dress I have rented so far (have rented 4x). Perfect for a hospital fundraiser, you can dress it up or down - paired it with small hoop diamond earrings and simple diamond necklace, and sparkly gold shoes. Most comfortable formal dress I have ever worn besides my wedding dress. Fit perfectly, was in great shape, dark color hid back fat and slimmed hips. Enough give but not stretchy looking. Awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful, classy dress!
Wore this dress for my white coat ceremony for my doctorate. Received so many compliments from young to old. Length was great; however, slit in the back was a bit high, so be careful if you have longer legs. I felt like I was tugging it down throughout the day. Form fitting but still very classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
January 27, 2014
Pretty, but not worn
This was my back up dress. It was pretty, but not a show stopper. The lining hung below the lace in the back. I'm not sure anyone would really notice it, but it's worth mentioning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2014
This dress looked great on me and was perfect for my white coat ceremony!
The dress is very well made and fit well. It was a bit shorter than I would have like because it was a professional event but overall, it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
February 15, 2014
Valentine's dinner at one of our favorite restaurants that is moving.
I saw this dress in the window of the Elle Tahari store. I loved it. I am glad that I had both the 8 and the 10 sent. The 8 was too tight in the arms and chest. It was very comfortable to wear. I would recommend it for a date or wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2014
Elegant, comfortable, unique
I rented this for a winter birthday party at a bar and it was a great choice. The sleeves were the perfect length where they are not 100% cap sleeves that cut into your arms, but not all the way short sleeves that can make your arms look large. The length and the fit were perfect- able to wear with tights and heels or boots. Lace was wonderful, such a lovely dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
Simple and stylish
The first thing that I need to note about this dress -- it was impossible for me to zip it up on my own in either size. This is not a flaw with the dress, really, but be advised that it will be a good idea to have someone help you when you're getting dressed. The zipper pull itself is delicate, and the mechanism moves slowly, and there's just a point in the middle of your back where budging it either way was not possible for me for fear of damaging the dress. That said, this dress is so cute. I was a little disappointed that the purple lining wasn't more visible under the navy lace as seen on the RTR model, but this dress is still SO pretty. I paired it with the Montana Blue Drops earrings and Silver Glitz bangles and thought they all went perfectly together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2014
Beautiful fit for last minute dress
Rented this dress from the Bendel's store because my rental did not work out perfectly for my engagement party. Thank goodness I did because this dress was so perfect. I got a ton of compliments, everyone told me how classy the dress looked. It fit well, it hugged my curves but wasn't too tight or unflattering. Only drawback was that there's a relatively high slit in the back of the dress and being so tall it came pretty much up to my butt, so I was fidgeting a little but thank goodness I was mostly seated. Definitely would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 30, 2014
I felt so great in this dress at a black tie wedding!
I am obsessed with this dress! It was so beautiful and accentuated in all the right places! It is very high quality fabric and is thick fabric with deep luscious color! I received so many compliments and I cannot wait to "Rent the Runway" again!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×